View Full Version : Scotland v England

Pages : 1 [2] 3

10-06-2017, 05:02 PM
Kinda agree with earlier post that we're showing them too much respect

Feels like Strachan trying to stay in the game as long as possible and sneak a goal. That game plan is f#cked as soon as we lose a goal though!

Get someone with bit more energy on to get near Griffiths.... Naismith maybe and have some ambition.

10-06-2017, 05:02 PM
I'm at the game but at the opposite end to Craig Gordon and low down.

What has he done wrong so far?

For starters he got Deano sent off at Tynecastle. :grr:

10-06-2017, 05:03 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/mike7dunn/status/873577514232406016?s=08

alihibs1
10-06-2017, 05:07 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/mike7dunn/status/873577514232406016?s=08
I noticed that at the time and was surprised no one was complaining. Great goal-scoring opportunity if the ref gives that.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

10-06-2017, 05:13 PM
Yeah the STV coverage is a shambles!

:agree: changed to "Sky" - much btter
Pretty poor entertainment overall :confused:

10-06-2017, 05:16 PM
What a tremendous player Kieran Tierney is. Really exciting young talent with huge potential!

OxoHibby
10-06-2017, 05:17 PM
Kinda agree with earlier post that we're showing them too much respect

Feels like Strachan trying to stay in the game as long as possible and sneak a goal. That game plan is f#cked as soon as we lose a goal though!

Get someone with bit more energy on to get near Griffiths.... Naismith maybe and have some ambition.

In some ways I must be watching a different game to many. I feared a humping but been much better than that. Agree with you about Strachan trying to sneak a win. Griffiths has been totally isolated and needs help up top

10-06-2017, 05:19 PM
What a tremendous player Kieran Tierney is. Really exciting young talent with huge potential!

Not bad for an Englishman! I never knew until today that he was born in the Isle of Man.

10-06-2017, 05:20 PM
I feel Scotland could be a good side with two or three better players.

If only we could find a Bale or even an Ali.

Or a Burke.

10-06-2017, 05:21 PM
At the moment the game looks there to be won. Need someone to show that bit of quality in final third

Both sides look like they're just back from 2 weeks holidays though

10-06-2017, 05:22 PM
I take it draw is no use to us?

BS44
10-06-2017, 05:23 PM
The famous Hampden Roar is coming across loud and clear on the radio.

10-06-2017, 05:25 PM
Not bad for an Englishman! I never knew until today that he was born in the Isle of Man.

Is the Isle of Man part of England??

10-06-2017, 05:25 PM
Is the Isle of Man part of England??

Nope. It's a crown dependancy but it's not officially a part of the UK let alone England.

10-06-2017, 05:26 PM

Although Im not complaining, its a bit of a shame that two of Scotlands best players both play in the same position.

10-06-2017, 05:27 PM
Snodgrass. £10m. A perfect example of an over inflated market.

10-06-2017, 05:27 PM
Nope.

Didnae think so

10-06-2017, 05:28 PM

To be fair he was on fire for hull. Been brutal since moving to West Ham,

OxoHibby
I take it draw is no use to us?

Pretty much

Had a poor game but is a cracking player.

10-06-2017, 05:29 PM
Pretty much
Thanks

OxoHibby
10-06-2017, 05:30 PM

I think he had a great game. Unlike most on here

10-06-2017, 05:31 PM
Its been coming

Inevitable. 1-0 Them:rolleyes:

Straight at Gordon. Got to do better there.

What the **** is Gordon doing there. He's been shaky all game. Brutal attempt at a save.

10-06-2017, 05:32 PM
2 mistakes by Gordon. So casual from the pass back and the shot went straight through him.

Tierny should have cut that out.

Gordon started that by making a mess of the pass back aswell

Shaky the whole game

Gordon has been howling.

30 seconds earlier, we had a free kick almost on the edge if their box.

Gordon been dodgy all day. All started from him making a mess of the pass back as well.

Austinho
Awful Craig Gordon. Game over, we look tired.

10-06-2017, 05:33 PM
Can't really argue with English fans song re GS and his team!

Poor defending. Chamberlain is quality on his day though.

I think he had a great game. Unlike most on here

At fault for the goal

10-06-2017, 05:34 PM
Brown should be off

Gordon been dodgy all day. All started from him making a mess of the pass back as well.

He made an outstanding save a few minutes ago. Smalling given acres of room to shoot. Not Gordon fault

This will end 3-0

Poor defending. Chamberlain is quality on his day though.

That is the best thing I have ever seen him do.

10-06-2017, 05:35 PM
english number 10 holding his face after the challenge from scott brown...what's that all about cheating boy

At fault for the goal

Craig Gordon clearly the man at fault

Scotland have played ok, over all, but we just dont look like scoring or even threatening to score.

English not even in top gear here.

It is what it is!

S§§TE

10-06-2017, 05:36 PM
Again the fans are better than the players

He made an outstanding save a few minutes ago. Smalling given acres of room to shoot. Not Gordon fault

Not Gordon's fault? Really? It was straight at him and he went down far too early. Should have been a simple save.

This will end 3-0

Aye

Brown should be off

:agree: He's an idiot. Lucky to stay on.

You're joking? Looks like he was scared the ball would maybe hit him. Right at him and he dived out the way.

Scotland have played ok, over all, but we just dont look like scoring or even threatening to score.

You can say this for pretty much every Scotland game for as long as I've been watching them.

What was Brown doing for their goal, needs hooked and has been poor the whole game. Gordon looks nervous to me and was poor at the goal too.

10-06-2017, 05:37 PM
Craig Gordon clearly the man at fault

Aye .

Tierny with the dodgy pass back and then shat it to close the guy down.

Gordon should have saved it though.

I don't think we've forced a save out of their keeper. Unless you count a Griffiths trundler early on.

You're joking? Looks like he was scared the ball would maybe hit him. Right at him and he dived out the way.

Do I look like a Comedian?

English not even in top gear here.

It is what it is!

S§§TE

I think this is their top gear. Extremely over rated.

It was his fault. He should have cleared instead of outting it out for a throw to them.

Wull
At fault for the goal

was the worst attempt at a SAVE I have seen in a long time, tosser

10-06-2017, 05:38 PM
Brutal defending for the goal.

10-06-2017, 05:38 PM
was the worst attempt at a SAVE I have seen in a long time, tosser

I hope you don't mean me :-)

10-06-2017, 05:39 PM
Aye .

Tierny with the dodgy pass back and then shat it to close the guy down.

Gordon should have saved it though.

The pass back was fine. Gordon made it look dodgy.

OxoHibby

You have to look at the Manager for that. Griffiths up front by himself and isolated. Balks being pumped to him as a target man ffs

At least now we can focus on not qualifying for Euro 2020.

I think this is their top gear. Extremely over rated.

Which makes it even worse. We just shouldn't do this international football lark.

Wull

your quite fine :thumbsup:

10-06-2017, 05:40 PM
Do I look like a Comedian?

Dunno. What do you look like? Big red nose? Funny hair? Big comedic shoes and a flower that shoots out water?

murray26
10-06-2017, 05:41 PM
Going out with a whimper here..

10-06-2017, 05:41 PM
Which makes it even worse. We just shouldn't do this international football lark.

Yeah because losing to the richest footballing country in the world means it’s pointless.

10-06-2017, 05:42 PM
Forget Russia.
Forget Qatar.
This is p15h.

You have to look at the Manager for that. Griffiths up front by himself and isolated. Balks being pumped to him as a target man ffs

Griffiths plays up front on his own for Celtic but he has better players around him and less negative.

You can say this for pretty much every Scotland game for as long as I've been watching them.
Cant argue with you.

Forget Russia.
Forget Qatar.
This is p15h.

Stop posting

10-06-2017, 05:43 PM
Yeah because losing to the richest footballing country in the world means it’s pointless.

Easy, chief. I'm hurting, not hating.

That would be 🇷🇺 then 😉

Stop posting

Why

10-06-2017, 05:44 PM
Griffiths plays up front on his own for Celtic but he has better players around him and less negative.

It's no really up front on his own though. Roberts and Sinclair are basically up front too.

10-06-2017, 05:44 PM
Moyes next, ffs....

10-06-2017, 05:45 PM
We're being found out as a team with zero pace......we can't get behind them, or hurt them by running at them.

10-06-2017, 05:46 PM
and another england player holds his face as if injured...shower o cheatin fudleys

BS44
What was Brown doing for their goal, needs hooked and has been poor the whole game. Gordon looks nervous to me and was poor at the goal too.

Can't remember who but some ex pro was in the papers last week saying Scott Brown could play in the EPL. Does anyone else on here think Brown is good enough for the English top league?

10-06-2017, 05:47 PM
get in :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: cashed out on engerlundy 2 mins ago :greengrin:thumbsup:

Forever_Green93
Yaaaaasss!!!!

hibIBZ
Almost identical to tynecastle!!

Super Leigh!

Super Leigh........I love you man

Mr Grieves
I love you Leigh!

Wull
10-06-2017, 05:48 PM
sparky beautie gone yursell

Super Leigh 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

What a free kick!

Sparky. Quality.

10-06-2017, 05:49 PM
That's ****ed a few bets!!

10-06-2017, 05:50 PM
And again !!!!!!!!!!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

What the ****

Thought we were going to see some exuberance there!

Get me pregnant Leigh!

He's something special!! :greengrin

Mr Grieves
I'll have one of your babies, Leigh!

Gosh

Forever_Green93
Ya f***ing beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

****ing yassssss!

absolutely superb :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup:

10-06-2017, 05:51 PM
Sparky. Quality.

Like I said.

10-06-2017, 05:52 PM
Unbelievable. - Roy of the Rovers stuff.

Fantastic, Leigh

Wull
unfreakin believable sparke + 50 million

£50 down, but worth it!

Green Reaper
Oops he's done it again!

i cashed out on england winning 2 mins before sparky's first, £40 in my wallet

10-06-2017, 05:53 PM
Just got the news, just boarded a flight so canny watch it. Super Leigh!

2-2

Ffs!

Gordon thrown it away for us

we just simply could not hold on like professionals for 3 mins huh

Forever_Green93
10-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Armstrong ya twat!!! terrible pass.

McCoist said before the game a point would be a success anyway.

Awe *****

Mr Grieves
That was ****ing awful, 2 passes on there!

The spotty lanky streak of pish should have been out taking that one, man and ball

we just simply could not hold on like professionals for 3 mins huh

Only Scotland..

Wull
10-06-2017, 05:55 PM
the worst defendin ever

Armstrong just needs to launch it up the park there, why is he trying to play a pass in that situation?

Gifted them that. Awful.

10-06-2017, 05:56 PM
Only Scotland..

yeah well, can't disagree with that

Armstrong's woeful pass and the ball watching piss poor defending just cost Scotland 3 points!!

Oh well

Armstrong absolutely ****ed us there. Easy pass or boot it away to ****. What's he playing at man.

10-06-2017, 05:58 PM
Ah well. Confirms whit ah already ken. ENGLAND ARE PI5H.

10-06-2017, 05:58 PM
easy to say now i guess, other players were getting slated during the game but i thought armstrong was pretty rank throughout

10-06-2017, 05:59 PM
It's amazing that Gordon gets a game

A total waste of space

10-06-2017, 06:00 PM
Armstrong should have blottered that ball as far away as he could have. 😕

That's really really hard to take. Sickner.

Armstrong just needs to launch it up the park there, why is he trying to play a pass in that situation?

Playing a pass was absolutely the right thing to do. The way he played the pass was the problem there. Scandelous.

So who all had England -3?... Lol

10-06-2017, 06:02 PM

Me and I actually thought that was the least they would get. Thank you Scotland and Strachan for proving me wrong. That was one of the best endings to a game I've seen in years bar our final

although i didn't join in with the scotland bashing i did bet on england to win, then just had one of those feelings that something was going to happen and cashed out just before we got the first free kick, and only lost out on an extra £7 :)

I still maintain England are not a great side. Much better teams than Scotland would have beaten them today.

10-06-2017, 06:03 PM
It's amazing that Gordon gets a game

A total waste of space

Its only down to options?

The alternative would be Hamilton?

Gordon usually a good shot stopper, but tonight he flapped at the first and never moved for the second!!!

Forever_Green93
Why the **** did armstrong try and pass it to griffiths? when there was another player to his left in wide open space or he could have just punted it up the pitch. 1 bad pass has cost us the game and bad goalkeeping from gordon the useless ******.

Ill. Ill. Ill.

10-06-2017, 06:04 PM
While I was watching the game I thought Oxlade-Chamberlain's goal was just a great finish, but when I saw the replay it was clearly a goalkeeping error IMO. I really like Armstrong as a player usually, but he was poor today and has to take responsibility at least partly for the 2nd Engerlund goal.

10-06-2017, 06:04 PM
The hibs.net ingurlund boyz must be delighted with that point.

10-06-2017, 06:05 PM
It's the hope that kills ye.

10-06-2017, 06:05 PM
England lucky to escape from Hampden with a point and celebrating at the end like they've just won the World Cup for the second time. Automatic qualification won't be a problem but they'll fall at the first hurdle in the proper tournament.

Both England goals could have been avoided. That's the big disappointment.

10-06-2017, 06:06 PM
Craig Gordon has cost us that.

The Captain....
10-06-2017, 06:08 PM

Yep..could have done better with both goals. Armstrong didn't help with the poor pass either mind.

BS44
Only Scotland..

Nah, I've seen Hibs **** it up in similar circumstances numerous times

Would have taken a point at the start so not too down.

Quality from Kane at the end.

OxoHibby
10-06-2017, 06:09 PM
This. I had no hope at the start but was still gutted by the end

10-06-2017, 06:10 PM
Nah, I've seen Hibs **** it up in similar circumstances numerous times

I've seen Hearts do it a bit more recently.

Losing a last minute goal to make it 2-2?

10-06-2017, 06:11 PM
Great end to the game. Gordon looked nervous throughout. I thought he did well to get out of the way for the first one and that looks an easy enough claim considering where the ball came in from for the second. Saying that it was two terrible passes from Brown for the first and Armstrong for the second that caused the bother in the first place. A draw was about right in the end but we shot ourselves in the foot for the two goals. Griffith was excellent throughout. He has no right to be winning those high balls but he really got in the faces of the England centre halves and his work rate was outstanding. The free kicks were both excellent but his play over the 90 minutes was head and shoulders above the other Scotland players.

OxoHibby

Armstrong cost us as much as Gordon

Austinho
Ex Hibs player put us on the course to victory with two goals, ex Hearts player chucked it all away with both goals.

10-06-2017, 06:12 PM
Decent end to the game apart from Martins theatrics to get the free kick that lead to goal.

Caversham Green

:agree: Thought Sparky had Hibsed it there, but Gordon managed to Jambottle it.

just watched replays of that 2nd engerlund goal...........an amatuer keeper would have came and collected that cross without any problems, big fearty coward that he is

10-06-2017, 06:13 PM
Armstrong cost us as much as Gordon

Nah not having that. Gordon should save the first goal, no question. The second he should catch the freekick as it's straight at him but he weakly palms it away then fails to come out for the cross. He was woeful all afternoon.

10-06-2017, 06:14 PM

Not delighted at all, disappointed with the performance, enjoyed the drama of the late goals but tht's about it.

BS44
10-06-2017, 06:15 PM
I've seen Hearts do it a bit more recently.

Losing a last minute goal to make it 2-2?

That game against the dogs was far more important than a World Cup qualifier....😀

calamitus
10-06-2017, 06:16 PM

Yup, abysmal from Gordon. Made himself smaller and looked like he might have actually punched the first one into the net, and for the second stood frozen with the attacker running in on the inside of the defender instead of narrowing the angle.

euro Hibby
10-06-2017, 06:17 PM
i thought charlie Mulgrew was caught ball watching at the end and spotty could have come to collect but the sun might have been in his eyes. A point is about right. Great goals from our leigh but to be honest Scotland are not very good and England are over rated.

Johnny Clash
10-06-2017, 06:17 PM
Would have taken a point at the start so not too down.

Quality from Kane at the end.

Football drives you crazy. If it had ended after we equalised we'd be on a high!!

Sioux
10-06-2017, 06:19 PM
Craig Gordon is one of the worst keepers Scotland have had. Apart from the goals he was a bomb scare throughout. Why does he always try to swat the ball away as if he's a tennis player ffs?

The first one's a disgrace. Straight at him, but he manages to get out the way of it. Pathetic.

OxoHibby
10-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Craig Gordon is one of the worst keepers Scotland have had. Apart from the goals he was a bomb scare throughout. Why does he always try to swat the ball away as if he's a tennis player ffs?

The first one's a disgrace. Straight at him, but he manages to get out the way of it. Pathetic.

The first one was awful from him but there was 3 awful attempts at a tackle before that. The 2nd was shocking defending

10-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Not delighted at all, disappointed with the performance, enjoyed the drama of the late goals but tht's about it.

Most of my family are from down south, I text them and they are embarrassed how England played. I myself couldn't believe how poor you lot were but the fact we still couldn't win shows the gulf I suppose.

Scotlands usual hard luck story continues.

Caversham Green
10-06-2017, 06:24 PM

TBF he was decent enough at Hertz (never £9m worth though), but has dropped his standards hugely.

On the other hand, was Joe Hart ever a good keeper?

10-06-2017, 06:29 PM
So how many games do we have left and is there still an outside chance we could qualify?

(can't be bothered to google! :greengrin)

10-06-2017, 06:30 PM
The first one was awful from him but there was 3 awful attempts at a tackle before that. The 2nd was shocking defending

of which one of them was armstrong again, far too slow to put a tackle in

10-06-2017, 06:30 PM
Worst possible result, at least a gubbing would've killed any idea of qualifying and Strachan would've been out on his arse at the end of the campaign.

Instead the SFA will paint this as a huge revival and laughably tell us to get behind the team so we can aim for the play offs and Strachan will be given another campagin to finish 4th or 5th again.

MartinfaePorty
10-06-2017, 06:31 PM
In isolation, a great result which most countries would be happy with. However, absolutely gutted.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

10-06-2017, 06:34 PM
Decent end to the game apart from Martins theatrics to get the free kick that lead to goal.
Your at it Scouse. What about Cahill holding his face. Theatrics indeed and as for your manager showing the imaginary card to get Brown a second yellow.

Southgate a typical bitter Englander.

OxoHibby
10-06-2017, 06:36 PM
So how many games do we have left and is there still an outside chance we could qualify?

(can't be bothered to google! :greengrin)

Err naw

10-06-2017, 06:38 PM
Worst possible result, at least a gubbing would've killed any idea of qualifying and Strachan would've been out on his arse at the end of the campaign.

Instead the SFA will paint this as a huge revival and laughably tell us to get behind the team so we can aim for the play offs and Strachan will be given another campagin to finish 4th or 5th again.

Worst possible result. I'll hang on to any slim hopes of us reaching the play offs instead of sitting here trying to get over us getting a tanking from England. A couple of minutes from beating a team which does have some great players but sadly it didn't happen.

10-06-2017, 06:39 PM
Err naw

Helpful, thanks :greengrin

mghibs
10-06-2017, 06:40 PM
The thing that gets me is that after every big game there seems to be the same discussion of 'if Scotland keep this up, they will be alright/won't have a problem qualifying/are on the right track', only for us to chuck it against other teams. We can't capitalise on good positions in games where we are ranked as outsiders, and then don't produce the same level of performance in the games we are actually expected to compete in. Gutted and a sense of same old same old from me, despite probably being happy with a point pre match.

10-06-2017, 06:48 PM
Worst possible result. I'll hang on to any slim hopes of us reaching the play offs instead of sitting here trying to get over us getting a tanking from England. A couple of minutes from beating a team which does have some great players but sadly it didn't happen.

Hopes of reaching the play offs :faf:

10-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Firstly well done Leigh Griffiths, fantastic.

But Gordon sold the jerseys. OK Armstrong didn't play well and lost the ball when he should have passed it left but he was knackered after putting in a shift. Gordon was his usual casual self.

Hopefully the end of Scott Brown's international career. Awful today.

10-06-2017, 06:52 PM
Gordon had some good saves but he could have come out for the second. Kane was left totally unmarked though.

Was he unsighted or blinded by the sun for the first? I noticed Hart was wearing a cap but Gordon wasn't.

10-06-2017, 06:56 PM
Lets face it. Gordon was kack the whole game and was completely at fault for both England goals.
Who takes his place now?

10-06-2017, 07:01 PM
Hopes of reaching the play offs :faf:

Still mathematically possible. Okay probably have to win our remaining four games but you never know. :wink:

10-06-2017, 07:05 PM
just watched replays of that 2nd engerlund goal...........an amatuer keeper would have came and collected that cross without any problems, big fearty coward that he is
Looked like he thought Deano was going to come and get him.

10-06-2017, 07:10 PM
Lets face it. Gordon was kack the whole game and was completely at fault for both England goals.
Who takes his place now?

Why wasn't Marshall playing?

For me McGregor is No.1, Marshall No. 2 then Gordon. Hamilton is No. 392

10-06-2017, 07:11 PM
I defended Gordon at half time as I hadn't seen him do anything wrong up to that point.

He sold the jerseys in the second.

Absolute 5hitebag.

Dithering cretin who just watched the ball come in for the second goal.

I'm still furious. That is a massive couple of points we've dropped there, before you get into the Scotland v England stuff.

K-Zazu
10-06-2017, 07:13 PM
Terrible goal keeping for the second goal. Just come out and catch it typical Jambo bottling it

10-06-2017, 07:18 PM
Just got the news, just boarded a flight so canny watch it. Super Leigh!

You've probably had the best flight ever thinking we just gubbed England in barnstorming fashion.

10-06-2017, 07:28 PM
Emotionallly exhausted coming out from Hampden:

We only had to hold on for a few more seconds.

10-06-2017, 07:35 PM
Your at it Scouse. What about Cahill holding his face. Theatrics indeed and as for your manager showing the imaginary card to get Brown a second yellow.

Brown should have walked for that one - don't kid yourself.

Wull
10-06-2017, 07:36 PM

your quite fine :thumbsup:

10-06-2017, 07:37 PM
Apart from the crazy last 5 or so minutes, I felt that was really insipid for a Scotland v England match, and a World Cup qualifier too.

How does Scott Brown get away with not getting sent off so often? Also, Gordon has to come and collect the ball into the box leading to Kane's goal. Basic goalkeeping. He looked shaky all afternoon.

Aside from that, if a team keeps giving the ball away cheaply, eventually it will get punished.

10-06-2017, 07:58 PM
Spoke to my mates who were in the England end. We've both agreed that the last few moments are why we love this game. What a rollercoaster emotions wise. I could hardly hold my beer when we looked like winning. Haven't felt as bad when they scored for a long time. They were opposite!

10-06-2017, 08:10 PM
With 3 minutes to go we were getting beat so from that point of view a draw's a decent result and I'm sure the majority of us would have taken a point before the game.

It's so frustrating not to see it out at the end though. Pathetic attempt at a pass from Stuart Armstrong.

10-06-2017, 08:26 PM

Brown should have been off for sure, as for the rest I plead a Wenger.

10-06-2017, 08:27 PM
Similar feelings after watching Scotland rugby team throwing away what would've been a monumental victory In the rugby World Cup. Yet another for the large book of 'Scotland: what if...'! Nightmare.

10-06-2017, 08:29 PM
Brown was fortunate not to get sent off in the first few minutes, his tackle was ridiculous. He should have certainly been off after his challenge in the second half.

Mantis Toboggan
10-06-2017, 08:33 PM
Biggest kick to the baws of all time. And I was at the 4 4 game.

Mantis Toboggan
10-06-2017, 08:34 PM
Brown should have walked for that one - don't kid yourself.

Absolutely. Completely mindless.

Mantis Toboggan
10-06-2017, 09:09 PM
With 3 minutes to go we were getting beat so from that point of view a draw's a decent result and I'm sure the majority of us would have taken a point before the game.

It's so frustrating not to see it out at the end though. Pathetic attempt at a pass from Stuart Armstrong.

Nah we had to win. And we did then somehow did not.

10-06-2017, 09:16 PM
Nah we had to win. And we did then somehow did not.

A draw today was always going to leave qualification difficult but considering the opposition a point was always going to be deemed a decent result.

10-06-2017, 09:25 PM
They sold chips at Hampden. Must have bought the right from Hearts.

10-06-2017, 09:32 PM
Was there a glass curtain?

E10 Rifle
10-06-2017, 09:34 PM

Agreed. You're no captain if you feel that setting the tone for your country is getting a yellow within 10 mins. Numbskull.

10-06-2017, 09:47 PM
So it's Slovakia we need to catch and they are 4 points ahead of us. I think we need to play them at home and they need to go to Wembley, we've already been there so assuming they lose there then that's potentially the difference made up.

I realise it's a big ask but it's not the impossible mission some are saying.

I realise Slovenia are also above us but I'm assuming as we beat them recently they're not beyond reach either.

10-06-2017, 09:49 PM

I was very surprised to hear that no one had ever been sent off in a Scotland England football match.

Maybe Brown wanted to be the first.

10-06-2017, 09:53 PM

Tbf the steak pie was good today.

10-06-2017, 09:54 PM
I was very surprised to hear that no one had ever been sent off in a Scotland England football match.

A man of his experience should know better than to leave himself on a knife edge for most of the game.

10-06-2017, 10:40 PM
A man of his experience should know better than to leave himself on a knife edge for most of the game.

You could say that...or you could say he wanted to put a marker on Dele Alli...who in the 85 mins after the booting from Brown, did nothing.

10-06-2017, 11:00 PM
Agreed. You're no captain if you feel that setting the tone for your country is getting a yellow within 10 mins. Numbskull.

Or you could spin it round and say that Broony was fully committed to the Scotland cause and putting down a marker. I liked it.

10-06-2017, 11:09 PM
1st september -

Lithuania v Scotland
Slovakia v Slovenia
Malta v England

4th september -

england v slovakia
scotland v Malta
Slovenia v Lithuania

5th October

England v Slovenia
Malta v Lithuania
scotland v slovakia

8th October

Lithuania v England
Slovakia v Malta
Slovenia v Scotland

could do with engerlund beating both slovakia and slovenia

10-06-2017, 11:28 PM
You've probably had the best flight ever thinking we just gubbed England in barnstorming fashion.

It probably would have been but I just got the result before take off. Lucky b******s.

Mantis Toboggan
11-06-2017, 12:15 AM
A draw today was always going to leave qualification difficult but considering the opposition a point was always going to be deemed a decent result.

Yeah I know. The manner of it all was beyond torture though. I was literally on the floor when they equalised.

Mantis Toboggan
11-06-2017, 12:16 AM
Yup, abysmal from Gordon. Made himself smaller and looked like he might have actually punched the first one into the net, and for the second stood frozen with the attacker running in on the inside of the defender instead of narrowing the angle.

Gordon has always been weak on crosses but that was something else.

11-06-2017, 12:57 AM

He should and DA knew he would try.

11-06-2017, 01:14 AM
Don't get all the Brown hate in here. Stupid foul and probably thought he'd get away with it so early on in the game. As I said, stupid. But from the off he let Alli know he wasn't going to get an easy night and, for the majority of the game Alli was anonymous. And Brown didn't get a second yellow during the game.

Mantis Toboggan
11-06-2017, 02:18 AM
Don't get all the Brown hate in here. Stupid foul and probably thought he'd get away with it so early on in the game. As I said, stupid. But from the off he let Alli know he wasn't going to get an easy night and, for the majority of the game Alli was anonymous. And Brown didn't get a second yellow during the game.

But he should have had a second yellow
I agree he did well in the second half all things considered

11-06-2017, 04:17 AM
For me Scotland were poor most of the game then two bit of magic from LG had it in the bag only to undone by pathetic goalkeeping by plooky

11-06-2017, 06:16 AM
For me Scotland were poor most of the game then two bit of magic from LG had it in the bag only to undone by pathetic goalkeeping by plooky

I wouldn't say we were poor. I thought we did okay and we are two or three players away from being a good team. If we had a Bale or at least players with pace and trickery up front, we would be a considerably better team.

I felt we handled England well up until the final third, but never looked like scoring.

England on the other hand have the players. Their bench was better than our team. However, when they come together, they always under-perform.

Velma Dinkley
11-06-2017, 06:35 AM

Cahill could have been sent off for assaulting Ryan Fraser and diving to the ground holding his head pretending he had been fouled.

11-06-2017, 07:27 AM
Still gutted.

Victory and in that manner would have rounded off a fantastic 18 months for us selfishly as Hibs and Scotland fans. Right back to the league cup Johnstone semi final and up to yesterday, so many highlights.

But we blew it and in particular that spineless gutless average goalkeeper who did a Craig Levein on 3rd May 1986.

An ex Hibee scores two wonder goals and has Hampden rocking, while and ex Jambo conceded two of the softest goals and was a coward. Say it all!

11-06-2017, 09:18 AM
Stuart anderson gave the ball away cheaply. Rather than launching it wide or up the park. They then turn it over and one superb ball from sterling wipes out the whole defence.

11-06-2017, 09:34 AM
I feel Strachan set up his team not to loose with Leigh playing the loan striker role. Scotland never looked like scoring in open play & did well to capitalise on the 2 late free kicks. In all honesty I found it a dull game, but then I'm of a generation that watch Joe Jordan, Holton, McQueen etc.

11-06-2017, 09:53 AM
You could say that...or you could say he wanted to put a marker on Dele Alli...who in the 85 mins after the booting from Brown, did nothing.

That's the way forward then?

11-06-2017, 09:56 AM

Although he should have.

11-06-2017, 10:09 AM
That's the way forward then?

It's been pretty standard practise in football for as long as I can remember.

11-06-2017, 10:10 AM
Although he should have.

Aye, and Armstrong should have cleared the ball and we should have won 2-1, but we didnae. Should haves don't matter a jot.

11-06-2017, 10:11 AM
I feel Strachan set up his team not to loose with Leigh playing the loan striker role. Scotland never looked like scoring in open play & did well to capitalise on the 2 late free kicks. In all honesty I found it a dull game, but then I'm of a generation that watch Joe Jordan, Holton, McQueen etc.

Looking back on the game it was pretty dull most of the time. England had most of the ball and occasionally looked like they were about to do something but never did. They look a good squad but not a good team (been like that for some years now). Most English punters would pick roughly the same squad so is it all down to the manager(s). Scotland upped their game as usual but never looked like scoring, two great free kicks from Sparky and a trundler from him were the only shots on target.
To sum up I would say IMO that England had the better players who under performed and Scotland had poorer individuals but raised their game which just about cancelled each other out in a very tedious affair. Unfortunately neither team will get far against decent opposition.

11-06-2017, 10:13 AM
It's been pretty standard practise in football for as long as I can remember.

Makes it right then?

If Brown had done that against a Hibs side in a League or cup game you would be singing a very different song.

11-06-2017, 10:32 AM
honestly never been a part of a celebration like that before. even Gray's goal wasn't as loud or nuts as that.

11-06-2017, 10:36 AM
So it's Slovakia we need to catch and they are 4 points ahead of us. I think we need to play them at home and they need to go to Wembley, we've already been there so assuming they lose there then that's potentially the difference made up.

I realise it's a big ask but it's not the impossible mission some are saying.

I realise Slovenia are also above us but I'm assuming as we beat them recently they're not beyond reach either.

Slovenia have got to go to Slovakia, Wembley and play us last game in Slovenia. We are still in the hunt. Next game we need a win in Lithuania.

Which we should be aiming to get.

11-06-2017, 10:39 AM
Makes it right then?

If Brown had done that against a Hibs side in a League or cup game you would be singing a very different song.

I'd no be greeting about it. It's part of the game.

11-06-2017, 10:46 AM
I'd no be greeting about it. It's part of the game.

And the band played 'believe it if you will'.

11-06-2017, 10:54 AM
And the band played 'believe it if you will'.

Believe what you want. I wasn't greeting about Ian Black doing it to Griffiths in that cup final. I was pissed the ref did nothing, no annoyed that Black did exactly what I'd expected him to do.

11-06-2017, 10:58 AM
I wasn't troubled by Scotland's tactics of letting England have the ball in their own half .... what we did poorly was fail to make the most of what possession we did have with poor passing and poor decision making. In the first half we had a guy in acres of space down the left wing and the guy in possession chose to launch a punt towards a player on the right with three England players round him. A similar dumb decision by Armstrong at the end cost us an equaliser !!!

Scott Brown .... I don't care if 'that's his game' .... getting yourself booked in the first 10 minutes was dumb beyond belief, no wonder Deli Ali was laughing when he got up. He should have had a second booking later on and was very lucky he didn't. But no wonder Brown plays like he does, he was allowed to get away with 3 blatant obstructions on Aberdeen players in the Scottish cup final which on two occasions prevented Aberdeen attacks developing and has had a red card overturned for what was nothing short of a revenge assault against a Ross County player ... perhaps if Scottish refs and the red card review panel didn't give him a free ride all the time he would screw the nut in internationals .... not that he will play many more surely.

Craig Gordon ...... Made a couple of decent saves, but I know an 80 year old goalie from walking football with stronger wrists. He was binned by Sunderland after he wilted under an aerial assault by Stoke City and never recovered from it as far as his career down south is concerned, he has to face the fact that he let a cross go that 90% of keepers at that level would have claimed easily, or at the very least would have got a hand to.

Leigh Griffiths ............. I feel heart sorry for him, he should have walked away from a 2 - 1 victory forever a Scotland legend for his two sublime free kicks ... I doubt there's a player in that team, especially Armstrong and Gordon who doesn't owe the guy a bloody apology.

IMO that last minute equaliser has cost us any chance we might have had of making a play off place, we probably need to win all of our remaining games to do it and I simply cant see that happening.

England:

As usual they are bullying their way through qualifying against a bunch of relative minnows ... the game at Hampden was as close as they will get to the type of game they will face at the actual tournament and they were found wanting. Play anything like that against the big boys and they will be on the way home pretty quickly ..... again :greengrin

11-06-2017, 11:01 AM
I know it's not mathematically impossible for Scotland to qualify, but I think we all know it's not going to happen. The writing's effectively been on the wall since failing to beat Lithuania right at the start of the campaign.

I think now might be the right time for Strachan to stand down. Two failed campaigns is more than most Scotland managers get. His Braveheart-style rhetoric post-match about what an incredibly good side England are and what a magnificent showing Scotland turned in just doesn't wash. They may have a decent squad on paper but England are a distinctly average side. By all accounts this was a dull game livened up by a dramatic finish.

We're in a pretty p*** poor group yet still find ourselves fourth and while the players clearly like playing for him, we're simply no closer to qualifying for a tournament than we have been in the last 20 years. With a few months now until the next game it might be an appropriate time for Strachan to bow out on a perceived 'high'.

11-06-2017, 11:04 AM
His Braveheart-style rhetoric post-match about what an incredibly good side England are and what a magnificent showing Scotland turned in just doesn't wash. They may have a decent squad on paper but England are a distinctly average side.

In what universe is that Braveheart-style rhetoric?

11-06-2017, 11:18 AM
Believe what you want. I wasn't greeting about Ian Black doing it to Griffiths in that cup final. I was pissed the ref did nothing, no annoyed that Black did exactly what I'd expected him to do.

Were you not pissed that the ref did nothing yesterday?

11-06-2017, 11:19 AM
Were you not pissed that the ref did nothing yesterday?

He didn't do nothing, he booked him. If he had done nothing, why would I be pissed?

11-06-2017, 11:40 AM
Having now watched the highlights, I'd blame Brown and Gordon for the first goal, and Armstrong for the second.

Weak tackle from Brown on Chamberlain, and then a shot straight at Gordon which he just palms into the net. It wasn't even a hard shot really!

Painful to watch the equaliser when you see Tierney in absolute acres to Armstrong's left but he decides to go to Griffiths and woefully underhits the pass. Maybe Tierney didn't shout loud enough, but Armstrong had to go left, or else launch it high over the top to Griffiths. Crazy decision that cost us the game.

Tbh, the game was very average up until that first free kick went in and I've got mixed views on Strachan staying on. Had it finished 1-0 after a dreary game I'd probably have been calling for him to go.

11-06-2017, 11:42 AM
He didn't do nothing, he booked him. If he had done nothing, why would I be pissed?

The ref let him stay on the park. First assault borderline red, second assault yellow all day long. I have nothing against hard, uncompromising challenges/tackles that stay within the rules, that is part of football. Whacking someone with intent is not part of football, sure lots get away with it but only through weak refereeing. If refs were stronger this crap would die out and the game would be all the better for it. If it's wrong then it's wrong whether it's done by your player or an opposing player. No double standards.

11-06-2017, 11:53 AM
The ref let him stay on the park. First assault borderline red, second assault yellow all day long. I have nothing against hard, uncompromising challenges/tackles that stay within the rules, that is part of football. Whacking someone with intent is not part of football, sure lots get away with it but only through weak refereeing. If refs were stronger this crap would die out and the game would be all the better for it. If it's wrong then it's wrong whether it's done by your player or an opposing player. No double standards.

Never in a million years was the first tackle borderline red.

Also, no idea what you're on about with no double standards. Of course there's double standards, otherwise we'd all be neutrals watching every game.

11-06-2017, 11:55 AM
I thought we were really unlucky, and we need to be careful where we apportion blame for the result.

I thought the gameplan was fine. We were playing against a good side, a very fit side, who man for man are better players than every player we have, yet we nearly beat them.

Strachan's conservative approach was perfectly justified. Keep them at bay and who knows what you might nick up front, either on the break or from a set piece.

When the team was announced, I guessed 10 or the 11 players. Berra was the only player I wouldn't have picked but I thought he did fine in the game.

Gordon sold the jerseys. He wasn't strong enough for the first, but that in itself wasn't a huge error. For the second, any goalkeeper worth their salt would have come off their line and plucked that cross out the sky, but he dithered on his line and we paid the price. It was an individual mistake, an error of judgment but could anyone argue that he shouldn't have started the game? No, he was the right choice. He just made a mess of it.

We can still qualify but we have to win all of our games. A win yesterday would have put us in a brilliant position but it wasn't to be.

We've flogged ridiculous goals for a few years now, and when you give away the type of goal we've got used to giving away then you get nowhere.

It's a shame because we've got some good players and there's a core of a decent side there.

11-06-2017, 12:09 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fh2bf9mIZjA

Monktonhall 7
11-06-2017, 12:12 PM

Just shows how good SOL really is.

11-06-2017, 12:31 PM

Don't know why some folk take videos in portrait mode. Just turn the phone 90 degrees. Simples.

11-06-2017, 12:34 PM
Similar to the Poland game in the last qualifiers, we need to learn how to see games out! Lack of concentration has cost us again.

11-06-2017, 02:12 PM
I thought we were really unlucky, and we need to be careful where we apportion blame or the result.

I thought the gameplay was fine. We were playing against a good side, a very fit side, who man for man are better players than every player we have, yet we nearly beat them.

Strachan's conservative approach was perfectly justified. Keep them at bay and who knows what you might nick up front, either on the break or from a set piece.

When the team was announced, I guessed 10 or the 11 players. Berra was the only player I wouldn't have picked but I thought he did fine in the game.

Gordon sold the jerseys. He wasn't strong enough for the first, but that in itself wasn't a huge error. For the second, any goalkeeper worth their salt would have come off their line and plucked that cross out the sky, but he dithered on his line and we paid the price. It was an individual mistake, an error of judgment but could anyone argue that he shouldn't have started the game? No, he was the right choice. He just made a mess of it.

We can still qualify but we have to win all of our games. A win yesterday would have put us in a brilliant position but it wasn't to be.

We've flogged ridiculous goals for a few years now, and when you give away the type of goal we've got used to giving away then you get nowhere.

It's a shame because we've got some good players and there's a core of a decent side there.

Finally recovered enough to begin feeling like a normal human again, and I'd agree.

Pre match we got to our seats sharp so standing for half an hour pre match I got extremely nervous, more so than I've ever done for a Scotland match. But being a derby, regardless of how many superstars the opposition had, it was a 50/50 game if we set up correctly and played aggressively.

The team sheet - only surprise for me was Berra, massively surprised when Russell Martin wasn't on the team sheet.

Some of the comments aimed at Craig Gordon imo are embarrassing. He has been an outstanding player for his country to date. Didn't have a great game yesterday and I'm disappointed in that but it happens. Gordon, along with Brown, mulgrew and Armstrong were culpable for the England goals.

I said pre match as long as we don't beat ourselves I'd accept that - both goals I feel we've let ourselves down badly.

Super Leigh Griffiths! The modern day James Mcfadden for the next batch of upcoming TA members. Can score from absolutely anything and even prior to the goals put in a helluva shift.

The atmosphere - never felt an emotion or euphoria like I had when the 2nd free kick went in following Scotland. Amazing.

Chances of reaching world cup? Same as pre match for me. We got a point against the top seeds. We now have 4 games we must win. We've played our 3 toughest fixtures. Slovakia and Slovenia have tough games coming up.

Reaction - it just shows that for all the "I don't care about Scotland" brigade, when the game kicks off people are interested.

English reaction is why they're mostly hated. Chief reporting for bbc said kane saved them from an "embarrassment" while harry kane referred to Griffiths as "their lad" absolute no regard or knowledge on our players.

Disappointed in the way the draw came about but there's been way too many times hibs and Scotland have done that to me to get me too upset about it. Looking forward to the season kicking off with hibs then back to the international scene in Oct.

11-06-2017, 03:59 PM
Don't know why some folk take videos in portrait mode. Just turn the phone 90 degrees. Simples.

:agree: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bt9zSfinwFA

11-06-2017, 04:18 PM
:agree: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bt9zSfinwFA

11-06-2017, 04:27 PM
Didn't see the game but just saw the goals. It could be argued both goalkeepers cost their side victory. Gordon has to do better at the 1st and the ball was in the air for an age at the 2nd with no pace on it, he has to come for that as it was little more than the type of cross he'll deal with 15 times in a warm up.

Griffiths has hit 2 very good free kicks but Hart has to do better, particularly with the 1st which was at a decent height, not in the corner and again travelled a long way in the air. A genuinely top class international goalkeeper would have saved that. He'll be replaced for the midweek friendly and if Forster does well I'd be suprised to see Hart start the next qualifier. With Forster, Butland, Pickford and Heaton all involved across the England set up there's too much competition for them to stick with a guy who is costing them goals.

11-06-2017, 06:36 PM
https://youtu.be/q0eGzKSjRHI - my video of Flower of Scotland yesterday from the Sir David Gray end of Hampden...in landscape too :wink:

A rousing rendition it was!

11-06-2017, 06:43 PM
Craig Gordon man.I've never played 5 minutes in goal and even i would have tried to punch it away.

11-06-2017, 07:01 PM
https://youtu.be/q0eGzKSjRHI - my video of Flower of Scotland yesterday from the Sir David Gray end of Hampden...in landscape too :wink:

A rousing rendition it was!

Landscape. You know it makes sense. :greengrin