18-05-2017, 09:23 AM
Absolutely gutted to hear of this. Rebel was one of my early heroes. RIP Eric

18-05-2017, 09:26 AM
Oh no. My first Hibs hero. RIP.

EastThomasSTboy
18-05-2017, 09:33 AM
He was one of my first Hibby heroes and I have not long finished reading his very interesting autobiography.

Was a joy to watch. RIP.

Eaststand
18-05-2017, 09:45 AM
RIP Eric.
A great player from a fantastic era in our clubs history.

18-05-2017, 09:50 AM
Saddly passed away

18-05-2017, 10:04 AM
Great player, great Hibby, great guy. So sad. Joe Davis is up there just waiting for Eric to win him some penalties in heaven!

EVENTUALLY
18-05-2017, 10:07 AM
Greatly admired by the Hibs supporters of his day. A very skillful and very consistent winger. Brilliant player for the Hibs.
RIP Eric.

bournehibby
18-05-2017, 10:08 AM
Sad news that he has sadly passed away. RIP Eric

Stevie was a member of the Walter Galbraith side of the early sixties, when my love affair with Hibs first began.
Wonderful memories of standing high up on the old East and watching Eric gallop doon the slope terrifying full backs on the way.

RIP Stevie, and thanks for the great memories.

bh

half.time.draw.
18-05-2017, 10:09 AM
I spoke to Eric regularly when he had his shop in Poltonhall, he would never let you out the shop without talking hibs.
A real diehard,a real legend.

RIP.

Tamhere1875
18-05-2017, 10:11 AM
RIP The Rebel

Hibbykk
18-05-2017, 10:11 AM
Absolute hero!!

18-05-2017, 10:16 AM
My sincere sympathies to the family of Eric Stevenson.

Eric was my boyhood hero.
I was once given a pair of Eric's football boots .
I certainly could not fill them.

A great memory for me, though faded now.
Eric scoring two goals in a 4-0 win over Hearts at Tynecastle.

A Great Hibernian.

Eric "The Rebel" Stevenson

Rest in Peace

Hedlund12
18-05-2017, 10:16 AM
Never saw Eric play for Hibs but loved hearing his stories. An absolute gentleman who will be missed but many.
Devastated at your passing Eric and we all miss you.
Shine bright. 💚

18-05-2017, 10:17 AM
He was one of my first hero's. I loved to see him coming down that slope towards us in the old shed skimming defences. He never got the full recognition he deserved for national team inclusion more often. RIP Eric. Thanks for the memories.

hibeerealist
18-05-2017, 10:23 AM

Very sad news I too worshipped the Rebel on the wing, what a player and as his book states (I am currently reading it too) HBS THROUGH AND THROUGH!

RIP Eric

18-05-2017, 10:36 AM

One of mine, too. Terrorised defences and won so many penalties through the frustration of defenders who couldn't get the ball off him.

RIP Stevie the Rebel.

GGTTH :flag:

18-05-2017, 10:37 AM
Extract from Pat Stanton's Hibernian Dream Team:

"Eric was hugely underrated. He could wrong-foot defenders in his sleep. If he was playing now he'd get at least 50 Scotland caps"

And from Pat Stanton's The Quiet Man:

"Joe Davis was a stylish left back who developed into a penalty ace. He scored 43 goals for Hibs, some record for a full back, but he owed a lot of them to Eric Stevenson. Eric was a very fine winger who would regularly cut into the box whereas too many wingers tend to just hug the touchline."

18-05-2017, 10:43 AM
So sad. An early hero of mine.

RIP Eric.

18-05-2017, 10:54 AM
I'm upset at this. He played in the first Hibs match I went to in 1964.

He had a distinctive style - not a speed merchant but with great dribbling skills and, of course, the ability to suddenly drag it past a defender and win a penalty, usually dispatched by Jim Scott or Joe Davis.

That's another part of my youth gone. Was he really only ten years older than me?

Topographic Hibby
18-05-2017, 10:58 AM
From the generation of players just before I started going to matches. But an older guy I knew spoke highly of him, including running rings round them all at primary school!!

The story on the official site about the League Cup final is simply brilliant. RIP Eric. :flag:

Argylehibby
18-05-2017, 11:15 AM
I spoke to Eric regularly when he had his shop in Poltonhall, he would never let you out the shop without talking hibs.
A real diehard,a real legend.

RIP.

:agree: I moved into my house in Bonnyrigg 30 years ago with the help of family including my dad. Walked down to the local shop to get some stuff to feed the helpers and walked in to see Eric behind the counter. It was quite some time before I returned to the house having talked Hibs with Eric for a while. When I got in, my dad asked where the **** I'd been he was starving. "Talking to Eric Stevenson, he owns the shop...." No more complaints from dad, just questions on what we had spoken about.

RIP Eric.

18-05-2017, 11:22 AM
RIP eric stevenson :(

18-05-2017, 11:25 AM
Very sad to hear of the passing of this Hibernian star. RIP Eric.

stuart-farquhar
18-05-2017, 11:28 AM
Aw a legend for me.

18-05-2017, 11:29 AM
Taken far too young

hughio
18-05-2017, 11:38 AM
Taken far too young

Had the chance to tell him recently in hospitality what a great footballer I thought he was.
Modest man.

Terrorised defenders by running straight at them.

Oh for more of that.

18-05-2017, 11:40 AM
So sad. An early hero of mine.

RIP Eric.
And mine. May God rest your Soul, Eric.

madsen5
18-05-2017, 11:42 AM
And mine. May God rest your Soul, Eric.

Mine as well R.i.p a true Hibs legend.

18-05-2017, 11:44 AM
Before my time but doesn't mean I'm not aware of the significance and legacy of a player as good as Eric Stevenson.

Always sad to hear of the passing of a good Hibby. Especially a legend.

RIP Rebel

hibby67
18-05-2017, 11:45 AM
Sad day RIP Eric

18-05-2017, 11:47 AM
One of his finest games came in a League Cup game v Aberdeen at ER. We won 4-0 ant it was 4-0 after about 15 mins shooting down the slope. Eric that evening was just sensational.

18-05-2017, 11:51 AM
I remember the 11-1 win against Hamilton that was mentioned in the official site

He could have won the game on his own that day

He terrorised them

Great player was Eric

Fanforlife
18-05-2017, 11:56 AM
R.I.P Eric, one of the very best to have graced the Holy Ground.

ozhibs
18-05-2017, 12:05 PM

He was one of mine too, I actually spoke to him for the first and only time in the Hibs club the night before THAT cup final. He was so pleased to hear that he was my favorite player. I was telling him how we used to get excited anticipation when he got on the ball. Its not true that he could dive from the half way line. Great player RIP

I was speaking to Jimmy O'Rourke about him and he turns up about an hour later. I'm still not sure if jimmy arranged it or not as their was a book signing at ER (Peter Cormack I think) but it certainly made my day.

ozhibs
18-05-2017, 12:07 PM
He was one of my first hero's. I loved to see him coming down that slope towards us in the old shed skimming defences. He never got the full recognition he deserved for national team inclusion more often. RIP Eric. Thanks for the memories.

The quote quite often was "the best uncapped left winger in Scotland"

18-05-2017, 12:49 PM
RIP Eric!!!!

He scored the best goal I've ever seen at the Cow Shed end on a Wednesday cup game, cross came over from the right Eric Dived to head it at the back post, missed it then back healed it into the roof of the net in the same movement.

Pure Genius!!!!!

Sherlock Jones
18-05-2017, 12:55 PM
Some player. Sad news.

18-05-2017, 12:58 PM
Very sad news. RIP Eric

18-05-2017, 01:08 PM
Great servant to the club, RIP Eric.

18-05-2017, 01:17 PM
Eric was my first Hibs hero. My brother and I used to stand at the bottom of the east terracing so that he could watch him in action.

I was thrilled to meet him in later life. As with many of his era, he was a very modest man. He was gentle in nature and a loving father and grandfather. As so many have said, he was Hibs to the core and a true legend for our club.

Rest in peace, Eric.

vahibbie
18-05-2017, 02:06 PM
Really gutted to hear this, Eric was also an early Hibs hero of mine. Was always a quote that he was the best uncapped Scottish left winger. He would stroll into the team of today.
RIP Rebel.

18-05-2017, 02:16 PM
Sad news. Was playing for Hibs when I first starting watching them in the mid 60's. Great player and one of my all time favourites.

RIP Eric. Thanks for the special memories

18-05-2017, 02:19 PM
Another Hibernian legend taken from us far too soon. Eric was without a doubt one of the most talented players I've ever seen in a green jersey. Had he played for either of the Old Firm he would've had Scotland caps galore instead of the one solitary appearance for the Scottish League team.
God bless you Eric and thanks for some wonderful memories which will stay with me.
Sincere condolences to Eric's family and friends.

RIP Rebel

18-05-2017, 02:28 PM
Was one of my boyhood heroes too.

Remember the game at Tynecastle where him and Jimmy O'Rourke both scored a double early doors.

I'm an old fart, and at the other side of the world now, but I've still got an autograph book with Eric's autograph in it.

18-05-2017, 02:44 PM
Was playing in my first Hibs match in 1968 and he was the player I remember from that match.
RIP Eric

18-05-2017, 03:04 PM
First real memory of Eric was in a Tynecastle derby.

Hearts 0 - 4 Hibs, All 4 goals in the first 10 minutes, 2 for Eric and 2 for Jimmy O'Rourke .

Sad news.

18-05-2017, 05:52 PM
A real hero of mine in the 60s, a great player for us, remember him well scoring his double against the deluded cheats when we won in a canter 4-0 at the PBS

RIP Rebel.

18-05-2017, 06:05 PM
Eric Stevenson was a terrific footballer. He had the ability to go past full backs like they weren't there, and then put a good cross into the box.

Another of my favourite Hibs players from the past now sadly gone. RIP.

Roxyhibee
18-05-2017, 06:22 PM
Eric Stevenson (just saying his name gives me Hibee shivers) was in that 60's team I was first taken along to see as a young boy, along with Davis, Martin, McNamee, Stanton, O'Rourke.

Never met him personally but I wish I had to tell him the thrills he gave me at Easter Road.

What a player, what a man.

Thanks for the memories Eric, your name is etched in Hibernian history forever..

18-05-2017, 06:27 PM
Great to hear all the old stories about a true Hibs great.
Thoughts are with his loved ones.

Pete70
18-05-2017, 06:55 PM
I never got to see him play as he retired around the time I started going to Hibs matches. I was told of how good a player he was though. It's always sad to hear of the passing of a Hibs legend.

justlikebrazil
18-05-2017, 07:03 PM
Loved going into Eric's shop in Poltonhall and him talking hibs to me as a queue of woman tutting waiting to get served 😀 RIP Eric a Hibs legend a gentleman and a friend.

jockspanner
18-05-2017, 07:37 PM
Loved going into Eric's shop in Poltonhall and him talking hibs to me as a queue of woman tutting waiting to get served 😀 RIP Eric a Hibs legend a gentleman and a friend.

one of my first heroes, won loads of penalties in his career (without diving), you could feel the crowds excitement whenever he had the ball, RIP Eric.

confused
18-05-2017, 08:46 PM
So sad to hear this, ERIC WAS A TRUE HIBBY , he was one of my early heros , I got to know him quite well, but lost touch for the last 30 years , then I met him again at his book signing, he remembered me straight away , a true gent , he was delighted to see his old Blazer Badge that the team wore on the america trip all these years ago , I will treasure that momento R.I.P.

18-05-2017, 09:01 PM
Very sad to hear this. Way before my time but I met him at a London Hibs supporters club do in 2011 along with Jim Scott. A real gentleman and loved playing and beating the Hearts if I recall correctly.

18-05-2017, 09:17 PM
There's been a lot of posts, rightly, re the 4-0 game at PBS in 1965. What's sneaked under the radar is we scored 4 again in our next Sept visit 2 years later. We scored our 4th late on. We were attacking the school end & Eric had the ball on the right touchline. He was killing time, playing with the ball & actually playing keepy uppy until a Yam defender broke ranks & dived at Eric. He flicked the ball into the path of Pat Quinn who volleyed in our 4th. Wonderful. RIP Eric

18-05-2017, 09:32 PM
A PS to my post above. Pat Quinn scored a hat trick that day having not scored for 2 years before that. I waited, with Ted Brack, Hibs author, to greet the players coming out. Pat, said Ted, was that your 1st ever hat trick? Son, said the bold Pat, am seek of scoring them!! Happy days!!

GloriousHibs
18-05-2017, 09:48 PM
Was proud to call Eric a friend.
He was very supportive of my own football as a kid when playing for the school team and Sherwood boys club in Bonnyrigg.
In later years he was very complimentary after watching my wee boy playing in a tournament at Dalkeith . Telling me he was impressed and should be encouraging him to play at a higher level. My heart nearly burst with pride.
Thanks for everything Stevie

Risboro Hibby
18-05-2017, 10:32 PM
Sad news. Eric is one of the main reasons I am a Hibby today. He used to socialise in my Mum's Hotel the Dean with some of the other great Hibs players of that era Jim Scott, Willie Hamilton, Joe Baker etc

Can always remember the Buzz in the ground when Eric was on the ball going down the slope and heading for the penalty area.

Was lucky enough to meet up with him again about 3 years ago when Jim Scott and him were guests of honour at the London Hibs Burns Night.

When speaking to him about his times at the Dean was really chuffed when he said to Jim Scott and I was nearly 60 at the time. Here,s the Bairn from the Dean

Dalkeith Boy
19-05-2017, 11:19 AM

Mine too John..sad news indeed. Many fantastic memories of Eric as a football player, but even better was his kind happy personality. I lived near Eric's shop in Poltonhall and he was always smiling and and happy to see and speak with you. I was once in his flat in Bonnyrigg when I was about 14 yrs old and he played keepie uppie with an orange.....then he did it with a penny!

GIBBY NEWTON
19-05-2017, 11:26 AM
He was a great player full of so many tricks,quality person on & off the park !!! R.I.P

inglisavhibs
19-05-2017, 03:41 PM
Shevlane Davis
Stanton. Madsen. Cousin
Scott Quinnn. Stein. Cormack. Stevenson

Or something like that! Stevenson is fouled and Davis scores the penalty.

R.I.P Eric.

Hedlund12
24-05-2017, 06:27 PM
Details for Eric's funeral as follows:

Service at Mortonhall Crematorium, Main Chapel, on Thursday, May 25, at 3 pm, to which all family and friends are invited.
Family flowers only.

Feed McGraw
24-05-2017, 07:49 PM
R.I.P. Eric, a Hibs fan who lived the dream and became one of the most popular players of the modern era. One of my first true heroes, when Eric got in that penalty box you knew something exciting was likely to happen. Never forgotten.

esjorto
24-05-2017, 08:51 PM
R.I.P. Eric....true legend and a truly great Hibee.

This from John Mackay's book THE HIBEES......

Eric Stevenson, a teenage inside-forward whom Hibs signed after the SFA had cancelled his registration with Hearts and fined both the Tynecastle club and their manager.

25-05-2017, 08:19 AM
R.I.P Eric.. Used to chat to Eric quite a bit way back in the 90's when i worked in booker cash&carry Joppa and he would come in daily for his shopping, Lovely lovely man who could spend all day talking about hibs , IIRC his daughter was exactly the same and very very polite. One of life's good guys.

25-05-2017, 09:44 AM

Me too, John.

Terrific player - on his day utterly unstoppable. Most right-backs just kicked him - if they could get close enough, that is.

When the news broke that he was going to retire, many fans' reaction (and mine) was, "How on earth will we ever replace him?"

67 - not old. Condolences to his family.

25-05-2017, 02:45 PM
RIP Eric, hope he is having a great send off today. The sun is appropriately shining on Leith.

26-05-2017, 10:59 PM
Someone I work with was at Rebel's funeral and it sounds like he had a great send off at Mortonhall with GGTTH and Sunshine on Leith being performed by the mourners before all adjourned to the 1875 Suite.

27-05-2017, 05:09 PM
Someone I work with was at Rebel's funeral and it sounds like he had a great send off at Mortonhall with GGTTH and Sunshine on Leith being performed by the mourners before all adjourned to the 1875 Suite.

Glad to hear it.
Thanks for posting.

27-05-2017, 05:19 PM
Glad to hear it.
Thanks for posting.

Remember the football cards we bought as kids with the buble gum. Found a bundle of them on of which was Eric. On the back was 'A highly skilled ball player.Stevenson can play at inside forward or his original position of wingman. Cards must be 50 year old now.

27-05-2017, 09:34 PM
Remember the football cards we bought as kids with the buble gum. Found a bundle of them on of which was Eric. On the back was 'A highly skilled ball player.Stevenson can play at inside forward or his original position of wingman. Cards must be 50 year old now.

I've still have those. The cards had a blue coloured back with some blurb about the player on a white centre section.
Was a bit hacked off with Eric at the time as he was one of the most common cards in Galashiels. Remember got, got, no got etc.
I can still picture the photograph of Eric in my minds eye.