View Full Version : Dundee utd v Falkirk

16-05-2017, 05:41 PM
Play-off first leg tonight.Remember we where in the same position as utd and the awful referee we got.
Great to able to watch rather than take part this time.

16-05-2017, 05:45 PM
So glad we're not involved in this.

The games are actually quite entertaining when your own team isn't playing.

16-05-2017, 05:46 PM
Looking forward to this, come on Falkirk

16-05-2017, 05:48 PM
Not sure who I want to win!

16-05-2017, 05:50 PM
I don't want Falkirk up and part of me doesn't want DU up - especially at the first time of asking...

So I can watch and just enjoy!!

16-05-2017, 05:50 PM
Havent got BT so Im tuning into Reading v Fulham, which I think will have more drama being the second leg of the play offs than Arsenal and City matches that are also on Sky.

Im a fan of the playoffs too, not pleasant to lose in obviously but they can be sheer theatre.

For what its worth I'd stick my pound on Falkirk but overall I think we'll be the only team from the Championship promoted this season.

16-05-2017, 05:56 PM
Thank god we are on the beach and resting up for next season! Mind the income from a couple of 20,000 home crowds would have come in handy.

The game is on BT Sport so definitely worth a watch.

I feel that I would far rather have DU eventually win promotion because the thought of Houston and his cloggers pitching up at ER next season makes me feel desperately depressed.

Granted United parked the bus in the first game and had only one shot ( a header) on goal in the 90 minutes, but the 3 -0 night was a great occasion.

You can bet your bottom dollar Falkirk we be in destroy mode and will contribute nothing to the spectacle tonight.

16-05-2017, 05:57 PM
I hope Dundee Utd score with a last minute maradona esque handball.

16-05-2017, 05:57 PM
Hope Utd win. Houston deserves nothing.

16-05-2017, 06:12 PM
United to win with a bad referee decision. That'll do nicely thanks !

16-05-2017, 06:13 PM
We will remain as the only top league team relegated as a result of the present play off system I suspect.

guthrie01
16-05-2017, 06:15 PM
Hope Dundee Utd win by 5 or 6, least that Houston and that team deserves

16-05-2017, 06:17 PM
Uncle Fester speaks well but he doesn't half go on about luck etc Lets hope he is unlucky tonight

16-05-2017, 06:18 PM
Nice to see our manager :)

16-05-2017, 06:20 PM
Remember this?

https://youtu.be/hkiNES44zYM

Come on United.

HFCdeb
16-05-2017, 06:25 PM
I fancy Utd for this but Falkirk have far more experience in these ties so who knows.

16-05-2017, 06:28 PM
oh the hibees are gay :hilarious falkirk fu@s

16-05-2017, 06:29 PM

Lennon getting tight from the Falkirk pavement dancers.

Cmon united.

16-05-2017, 06:30 PM
Lennon gettin some stick from the Falkirk fans.

16-05-2017, 06:31 PM
Lennon said 6 of the squad had signed new contracts, we already know 5 so is the 6th Boyle, Fontaine or Fyvie?

BarneyK
16-05-2017, 06:32 PM
Sure he said Fontaine

3-0 Dundee United.

Please.

vuefrom1875
Lennon said 6 of the squad had signed new contracts, we already know 5 so is the 6th Boyle, Fontaine or Fyvie?

Fontaine.

Fontaine. Lennon confirmed it earlier in the show.

Sure he said Fontaine

:aok: missed that bit

16-05-2017, 06:34 PM

Thanks falkirk fans you made up my mind, 'mon UTD!

16-05-2017, 06:34 PM
A wee double, bairns to win and Ross County -1. 12/1

16-05-2017, 06:36 PM
Looking forward to this. Falkirk have loads of playoff experience so think that gives them the slight edge. Tie may be decided on pens though

Keyser Sauzee
16-05-2017, 06:36 PM
Ray MacKinnon doesn't fill me with any confidence, Falkirk to win both ties I think.

davhibby
16-05-2017, 06:37 PM
"We try and win every game" great quote from Houston there

16-05-2017, 06:43 PM
We an embarrassing excuse for a crowd

16-05-2017, 06:43 PM
Thank god we are on the beach and resting up for next season! Mind the income from a couple of 20,000 home crowds would have come in handy.

We would have seen very little of it, as the SPFL get a massive cut

HFCdeb
16-05-2017, 06:45 PM
Ray MacKinnon doesn't fill me with any confidence, Falkirk to win both ties I think.

Yeah he was really unconvincing there.

16-05-2017, 06:47 PM
Mon United. Get it right up that fat, bald, red faced yam fanny.

16-05-2017, 06:48 PM
Christ remember when resident arshole was trying to tell us all just how many supporters they had?

:faf::faf:

16-05-2017, 06:48 PM

Whole stand behind the goal empty, disgraceful

guthrie01
16-05-2017, 06:49 PM

That has been Dundee United's problem all season, manager and fans who don't believe enough. Could of really pushed us after taking 1st around January but they never really looked like they believed in themselves.
That said I still hope they can get through the play-offs, rather than giving a top spot to Falkirk or Hamilton.

16-05-2017, 06:51 PM

Yup, that is shocking. Can't be more than about 4k or so? Hope the referee gifts Dundee Utd a few goals.

The game is on BT Sport so definitely worth a watch.

I feel that I would far rather have DU eventually win promotion because the thought of Houston and his cloggers pitching up at ER next season makes me feel desperately depressed.

Granted United parked the bus in the first game and had only one shot ( a header) on goal in the 90 minutes, but the 3 -0 night was a great occasion.

You can bet your bottom dollar Falkirk we be in destroy mode and will contribute nothing to the spectacle tonight.

Does the income go to the clubs?, I thought the league got the money after costs (which is why they interfered in the pricing)

hibs#1
***** crowd ***** team.

16-05-2017, 06:52 PM
Ross county 1-0 Hamilton

Motherwell 1-0 Kilmarnock

16-05-2017, 06:54 PM
We will remain as the only top league team relegated as a result of the present play off system I suspect.

Aye probably. It's more likely to be repeated than our achievement of winning the Scottish cup while being out of the top flight is though.

hibs#1
Ross county 1-0 Hamilton

Motherwell 1-0 Kilmarnock

Results as they stand make motherwell safe if my maths is correct.

Hope Utd pump them.

16-05-2017, 06:59 PM
Results as they stand make motherwell safe if my maths is correct.

As things stand, Hamilton and Inverness will occupy either 11th or 12th place at the end of the season.

16-05-2017, 07:02 PM
1-0 Dundee Utd.

16-05-2017, 07:03 PM

1-0 utd.

hibs#1
As things stand, Hamilton and Inverness will occupy either 11th or 12th place at the end of the season.

Yip that's what I was getting at.You however worded it better.

16-05-2017, 07:04 PM
pleasing

Good finish

Whole stand behind the goal empty, disgraceful

United refused to give Falkirk any more than the bare minimum number of tickets, so tickets for the Falkirk end were like gold dust for this game.

United don't get a substantial amount of money for selling more tickets to away fans as ticket proceeds are pooled in the play-offs. They wanted to avoid having a big, noisy away support cheering on Falkirk and harming United's chances in the game. Promotion is worth a lot more to United than a few hundred / couple of thousand tickets sold to away fans.

My mate supports Falkirk and was absolutely spewing about it.

hibs#1
***** crowd ***** team.

Still a ***** crowd at least.

16-05-2017, 07:05 PM
United refused to give Falkirk any more than the bare minimum number of tickets, so tickets for the Falkirk end were like gold dust for this game.

United don't get a substantial amount of money for selling more tickets to away fans as ticket proceeds are pooled in the play-offs. They wanted to avoid having a big, noisy away support cheering on Falkirk and harming United's chances in the game. Promotion is worth a lot more to United than a few hundred / couple of thousand tickets sold to away fans.

The point is that they should have a big enough home support to have at least some fans in each stand

16-05-2017, 07:07 PM
Just occured to me If it's utd v Hamilton in the final playoff, Tony Andreu.

davhibby
16-05-2017, 07:08 PM

Falkirk didn't sell out

16-05-2017, 07:09 PM
What are peoples views on the falkirk left back Leahy?

I have always been impressed with him whenever i have seen him in the past, i wonder if he'd be a good addition to our squad?

16-05-2017, 07:10 PM
murrawell 1 killie brownings pies 1

16-05-2017, 07:11 PM

I have always been impressed with him whenever i have seen him in the past, i wonder if he'd be a good addition to our squad?

Yes, good call. Surprised he's not got a move yet ...

16-05-2017, 07:12 PM

Like him. Might be better than Lewis going forward but is he a better defender? Not convinced.

16-05-2017, 07:14 PM
1-1

kin booooooooo

Dundee Utd 1-1 Falkirk

ShinyFantastic
Good goal

16-05-2017, 07:16 PM
ross co 1 accies 1

16-05-2017, 07:17 PM
kin booooooooo

16-05-2017, 07:19 PM
Like him. Might be better than Lewis going forward but is he a better defender? Not convinced.

Thats the thing, i only really see him against us, tonight i'm actually watching a game i'd not normally watch.

Be interesting to see him without Hibs being the opposition.

In contrast, i have never rated the lad Murray, but he's looked decent tonight and i can see why Lennon wanted him earlier in the season.

16-05-2017, 07:19 PM
Decent finish tbf.

16-05-2017, 07:20 PM
The point is that they should have a big enough home support to have at least some fans in each stand

Yep, agreed. Mental that any home team wouldn't sell more tickets for a game of this size.

Falkirk didn't sell out

Really? My mate must have been at it.

To be fair, I've just been on Facebook and there was a picture of a guy I know who supports Dundee going in the away end (I thought only Jambos behaved in this way but clearly not) so it can't have been that hard to get hold of tickets.

I've had 3 years worth of faux outrage from my Falkirk-supporting mate so I've started zoning out a bit when he gets started.

16-05-2017, 07:21 PM
been a good game so far

16-05-2017, 07:22 PM
Thats the thing, i only really see him against us, tonight i'm actually watching a game i'd not normally watch.

Be interesting to see him without Hibs being the opposition.

In contrast, i have never rated the lad Murray, but he's looked decent tonight and i can see why Lennon wanted him earlier in the season.

He blows hot and cold.

He's busy, energetic and when things are coming off for him he looks a cracking player.

When things aren't going his way he looks like a headless chicken.

16-05-2017, 07:24 PM
Good game, Durnan unlucky to be booked was soft as ..

16-05-2017, 07:25 PM
United starting to look frail at the back.

johncrobertson@
16-05-2017, 07:27 PM
How poor are United? Typical Falkirk - Austin holding his face when there was no contact?

16-05-2017, 07:28 PM
What were the falkirk fans singing at Lennon?!

16-05-2017, 07:30 PM
Yup, that is shocking. Can't be more than about 4k or so? Hope the referee gifts Dundee Utd a few goals.

I'd say about double that but yeah poor turnout. Should be a near sellout.

16-05-2017, 07:36 PM
I'm sad to say that Falkirk have been the better side since they scored.

Dundee Utd are a very poor side.

Robinho08
16-05-2017, 07:37 PM
Houston in the papers again this week going on about Dundee Utd having a bigger budget than Falkirk. 😦 that doesn't get old at all.

SJNB Hibby
16-05-2017, 07:42 PM
It's on Sportsnet World for anybody in Canada not aware
If I'd known i'd have left work earlier

16-05-2017, 07:46 PM
Houston in the papers again this week going on about Dundee Utd having a bigger budget than Falkirk. 😦 that doesn't get old at all.

Still he doesn't seem as keen to mention Dundee United having a far bigger budget than Ross County when he was manager in the cup final or how Falkirk haven't had to pay to build their own community owned stadium or Stirling uni's training facilities.

16-05-2017, 07:46 PM
It's on Sportsnet World for anybody in Canada not aware
If I'd known i'd have left work earlier

just had a look, is there a bit on now about liverpool and the kop?

16-05-2017, 07:50 PM
What's with Dundee United playing the love tunes at half time :confused:

KingFranck
16-05-2017, 07:51 PM
Lennon getting tight from the Falkirk pavement dancers.

Cmon united.
Don't want Falkirk fans anywhere Easter Road
Cmon United

16-05-2017, 07:51 PM

Not sure about it being 8. Maybe 4 was being a bit harsh though.Stadium only holds 14, one stands closed, the stand down the side of the pitch is maybe half full as the sides are empty. 6k possibly? Although to be honest I can't guess attendances!

16-05-2017, 07:54 PM
Watching Leahy in the first half, he's hardly what i'd call a traditional left back. He seems to be further forward than most of their midfielders half the time.

16-05-2017, 07:54 PM

There were only 6k at the home tie v Morton last week, and that was boosted by a big Morton support. A United supporting colleague of mine says the fans know they're simply not good enough and it would be better for them to stay down and rebuild (the problem with that being it would kill them financially with no other 'big' clubs left in the Championship)

Personally I hope Falkirk win the tie. Despite Houston they deserve to progress more than United.

16-05-2017, 07:55 PM
When they sent us down in '98 the fans sang "Ollofs in the air" (Kjell Ollofson, their centre forward at the time) to that tune.

16-05-2017, 07:57 PM
2-1 Utd

Blair Spittal

Just occured to me If it's utd v Hamilton in the final playoff, Tony Andreu.

What about him?

16-05-2017, 07:58 PM
2-1 utd.

pleasing

What about him?

Made his name at hamilton. Now playing for utd..

Think the keeper should be doing better there.

16-05-2017, 07:59 PM
Houston is going the same colour as his top

16-05-2017, 07:59 PM
Finish. Roond ye Houston.

vuefrom1875
16-05-2017, 08:00 PM
Finish. Roond ye Houston.

Roaster going radge.. Brilliant 😀

16-05-2017, 08:01 PM
ah the falkirk thuggery making an appearance

ref evens things up by not booking flood :)

16-05-2017, 08:03 PM
2-2

Cracking free kick

16-05-2017, 08:04 PM
Some quality goals in this game.

Keepers at fault for both those goals in my opinion, both should have done better.

Keyser Sauzee
Great free kick, guys in the wall need to get a head on that though goes right past their heads.

16-05-2017, 08:05 PM
crackin FK

16-05-2017, 08:05 PM
ah the falkirk thuggery making an appearance

It amazes me how the refs let them away with so much

16-05-2017, 08:11 PM
no bookings for throwing the ball away nowadays

7034 😑

Why wasn't Sibbald booked ??

Keyser Sauzee
Is Danny Rodgers injured??

SJNB Hibby
16-05-2017, 08:13 PM
just had a look, is there a bit on now about liverpool and the kop?
Possibly, I switched over to the City game. There's never any extras on the Scottish games at half time, always some kind of EPL filler

16-05-2017, 08:15 PM
Is Danny Rodgers injured??

Not sure - he's on the bench though!!

16-05-2017, 08:15 PM
Possibly, I switched over to the City game. There's never any extras on the Scottish games at half time, always some kind of EPL filler

It was that, its about 30 seconds behind Bt sports. :aok:

16-05-2017, 08:17 PM
It amazes me how the refs let them away with so much

Those smoldering 'come-to-bed' eyes get Houston out of a whole heap of trouble.

16-05-2017, 08:19 PM
Those smoldering 'come-to-bed' eyes get Houston out of a whole heap of trouble.

That's enough to put you off your dinner

16-05-2017, 08:23 PM
Falkirk score, ruled offside

16-05-2017, 08:24 PM

Shame.

16-05-2017, 08:25 PM
That was most satisfying

16-05-2017, 08:25 PM
Seeing John Baird sad is one of life's wee pleasures.

16-05-2017, 08:27 PM

Blimey that was a close call!!!

Even better hearing Houston is raging!!

Brunswickbill
16-05-2017, 08:29 PM
I feel sorry for Houston...NOT

7,034 is the attendance. That's pretty sparse.

I still maintain that Durnan is the worst defender I've ever seen.

Keyser Sauzee
16-05-2017, 08:30 PM
Was looking forward to getting a good look at Andreu tonight, he's been non exsistent tho.

Keyser Sauzee
16-05-2017, 08:31 PM

Yep, he's woeful.

16-05-2017, 08:32 PM
How good is it not to be involved in the play offs this year.

16-05-2017, 08:34 PM
that andreu(sp) is utter rank..as is durnun

16-05-2017, 08:35 PM
United the better football side but Houstons hackers work their socks off

16-05-2017, 08:36 PM
Ross County 3-2 Hamilton

16-05-2017, 08:36 PM
Holy s*** that was close for united

16-05-2017, 08:37 PM
no luck for hamilton, 3-2 ross co

16-05-2017, 08:37 PM
7,034 is the attendance. That's pretty sparse.

Reasonable, if not spectacular for Dundee Utd.

SON OF PADDY
16-05-2017, 08:38 PM
Fair play to both teams, not a bad game of football.
Friday should be a cracker,
Last minute winner for Utd would be nice.

16-05-2017, 08:39 PM
Was looking forward to getting a good look at Andreu tonight, he's been non exsistent tho.

thought he would have been a good signing . not after that perfomance .

16-05-2017, 08:43 PM
Reasonable, if not spectacular for Dundee Utd.

5500 Utd fans for a massive game at their own stadium.

That's rubbish

16-05-2017, 08:43 PM
In other news Reading beat Fulham 1-0 to go through to the play off final for the Premier League. Rangers players currently getting battered by exuberant fans on the pitch.

16-05-2017, 08:44 PM
Not a bad game of football tonight, better than some of the dross we see from the SPL.

16-05-2017, 08:44 PM
That was a fun game to watch and the final score tees it up nicely for Friday. Bring it on. Glad we're not involved though :greengrin

16-05-2017, 08:46 PM
DU will struggle to go through now imo. They're a very poor side. Not one of their players would get into our side from the season just finished.

16-05-2017, 08:49 PM
5500 Utd fans for a massive game at their own stadium.

That's rubbish

Our play-off crowds weren't exactly impressive either tbf.

16-05-2017, 08:50 PM

lol I always think the same ever time I see him total gash.

Andrau is one of those players that can be totally non existent in games probably why he's at united he needs to find consistency in his game

16-05-2017, 08:51 PM
lol I always think the same ever time I see him total gash.

Andrau is one of those players that can be totally non existent in games probably why he's at united he needs to find consistency in his game

A poor mans shinnie

16-05-2017, 08:52 PM
In other news Reading beat Fulham 1-0 to go through to the play off final for the Premier League. Rangers players currently getting battered by exuberant fans on the pitch.

When you compare the handball incident for Reading's penalty tonight against the one we didn't get against falkirk in last year's play-off... you really have to wonder what was going on with the ref at easter road.

Sorry to bring it up again but that penalty and falkirk drawing 2 2 in a playoff semi-final has brought it to mind.

16-05-2017, 08:52 PM
Hamilton could still finish bottom and no one else has anything to play for.

16-05-2017, 08:53 PM

Last season we had 11,830 at the ER leg & there was 7,851 at the Falkirk stadium!!

16-05-2017, 08:53 PM
Good game and a couple of great goals.
Well done both teams.
Enjoyed more because we weren't playing.

yonder1875
16-05-2017, 08:57 PM
Good advert for our game, that. Great game to watch.

16-05-2017, 09:00 PM
Hamilton could still finish bottom and no one else has anything to play for.

Inverness realistically need to win their last two games to avoid automatic relegation which I can't see happening.

I personally think they'll go down and Hamilton will be in the play off. I have a feeling it will be against Falkirk.

16-05-2017, 09:02 PM
Inverness realistically need to win their last two games to avoid automatic relegation which I can't see happening.

I personally think they'll go down and Hamilton will be in the play off. I have a feeling it will be against Falkirk.

It's doable though against teams thinking about their summer holidays. Would prefer a confident ICT going for a great escape against Falkirk than a dismal Hamilton side who are punching about their weight in the SPL anyway.

16-05-2017, 09:04 PM
Muirheads dive was one of the worst I have ever seen. Should be banned.

16-05-2017, 09:11 PM
It's doable though against teams thinking about their summer holidays. Would prefer a confident ICT going for a great escape against Falkirk than a dismal Hamilton side who are punching about their weight in the SPL anyway.

Yep I reckon Falkirk would beat Hamilton if that's who the two teams are in the play off final.

16-05-2017, 09:12 PM
Last season we had 11,830 at the ER leg & there was 7,851 at the Falkirk stadium!!

We sold out our away allocation in minutes too

16-05-2017, 09:40 PM

He is what we used to refer to as an animal. (Sorry for offending real actual animals anywhere who might be reading this). Hun written all over him, then Hertz then probably Airdrie as his hopeless attempt at a career spirals the central belt.

16-05-2017, 10:47 PM

Yes, not a great turnout, home league crowds never once went that low this season.

16-05-2017, 11:24 PM
Muirheads dive was one of the worst I have ever seen. Should be banned.

Agreed. Chris Sutton was praising him for not making a meal of it!!😂

17-05-2017, 05:35 AM

Agreed but way more than 5500!

One reason will be that season tickets aren't valid.

17-05-2017, 06:52 PM
That was a fun game to watch and the final score tees it up nicely for Friday. Bring it on. Glad we're not involved though :greengrin

Even more fun that were not involved. We were the best team 2 seasons in a row in the "semi-final" and didn't make it to the "final". We did make another 2 other finals last year and managed to go to the wrong one 😕

17-05-2017, 08:52 PM
If Inverness manage to finish second bottom neither of these two are getting promoted imo.

17-05-2017, 08:57 PM
If Inverness manage to finish second bottom neither of these two are getting promoted imo.

That's the way I see it. I'd rather have United than Caley but I'd rather have Caley than Falkirk!

18-05-2017, 08:27 AM

Yeah, if Inverness manage it at the weekend they'll be on a massive high :agree:

18-05-2017, 11:27 AM

Yes, should ICT escape the momentum will be with them and I'd expect them to defeat Falkirk or DU over two legs.

18-05-2017, 01:38 PM
Would be happy with any of ICT, United and Falkirk next season.

United are one of my home town teams, Falkirk are nearby and haven't been to ICT yet + would be a good trip to the Highlands.

Hamilton offer zero to the top flight and we should have never given them the opportunity three years ago.

19-05-2017, 12:55 PM
Ideal scenario for me would be Dundee United or Inverness in the top league next year.

Hamilton offer nothing to that league really + Houstons a prick.

19-05-2017, 02:01 PM
I'd rather Inverness went down and Falkirk stayed down. Either Utd or Hamilton in the Premier would be the ideal scenario.

19-05-2017, 02:04 PM
I'd rather Inverness went down and Falkirk stayed down. Either Utd or Hamilton in the Premier would be the ideal scenario.

Hamilton add nothing to the top league. Crowds crap, stadium crap

I'd prefer tonight's winners to come up even if it's Falkirk

Godsahibby
19-05-2017, 03:07 PM
Hamilton add nothing to the top league. Crowds crap, stadium crap

I'd prefer tonight's winners to come up even if it's Falkirk

Aye but it's easy to get to and Hamilton aren't Falkirk.

19-05-2017, 03:24 PM
Aye but it's easy to get to and Hamilton aren't Falkirk.

Yep dont see the notion of wanting Falkirk up over anyone.

19-05-2017, 04:15 PM
Game's on BT from 7.30.

I'm hoping for a Utd win. Top league will be better with them in it.

19-05-2017, 05:09 PM
Ideal scenario for me would be Dundee United or Inverness in the top league next year.

Hamilton offer nothing to that league really + Houstons a prick.

Even if Falkirk don't get promoted, I can see Houston picking up a job in Gorgie when Hearts at bottom of the SPL at Christmas !