View Full Version : Can anyone date this picture?

15-05-2017, 11:20 AM
Saw this image posted online but don't have a date for it. Anyone know?

http://i65.tinypic.com/rvejrs.jpg

NYHibby
15-05-2017, 11:23 AM
18 October 1913

15-05-2017, 11:24 AM
Between 1911 and 1914.

http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/08/hibernian-football-club-in-the-great-war/

Saturday Boy
15-05-2017, 11:26 AM

Not ideal looking at the image on my phone, but it looks like the original grandstand, which was replaced mid 1920s from the transfer fee Arsenal paid for Harper, the goalkeeper. That probably dates it to 1910 to 1924, very roughly. I'm sure some of the posters with better eyesight might recognise some of the players.

15-05-2017, 11:30 AM
18 October 1913

That's pretty concise! Thanks :aok:

15-05-2017, 11:35 AM
James Hendren at Hibs from 1911-15
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=5704

Daniel Fleming from 1914-15
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=5728

Samuel Fleming from 1911-17
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=5706

15-05-2017, 11:37 AM
...Hendren to deliver ...

NYHibby
15-05-2017, 11:45 AM
That's pretty concise! Thanks :aok:

Google image search is your friend for these kind of questions.

15-05-2017, 11:50 AM
There any other photos of the original stand and how long was it up for?

15-05-2017, 11:52 AM

Lost 3-0.

Petrie. :grr:

15-05-2017, 12:08 PM
Good photo.
Love seeing old pictures of the Club/team

Falkirk at Easter Road !

What's new?
Hope that doesnt happen next term.

Good luck to the Arabs this week in the play off games.

PS
I used a magnifying glass and spotted a young Peter Houston in the stand!

15-05-2017, 12:13 PM
'Hendren and Fleming of Hibs are repelled by the Falkirk defence....... ' Even back then Falkirk were repulsive.:greengrin

15-05-2017, 12:14 PM
Got to love these proper old images of Hibs.

An old relative of mine played for Hibs between 1916 - 1919 (John Meaney) and I have been trying for years to find a picture of him in the green of Hibs without success sadly.

15-05-2017, 12:22 PM
i bet houston was bumpin his gums back then anaw

15-05-2017, 12:26 PM

An old relative of mine played for Hibs between 1916 - 1919 (John Meaney) and I have been trying for years to find a picture of him in the green of Hibs without success sadly.

It would be wonderful for you and your family if someone could trace a photo.

I googled John Meaney as soon as i saw your post.
Interesting information here on this link
(although i guess you may already have read it)

http://www.scottishleague.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2195

PS
i am still trying to trace a photo of myself(1960s) being huckled oot the cave,for accidentally,not on purpose, hitting a polisman over the head with a banner pole:duck:

I never got the banner back, either:fuming:

NYHibby
15-05-2017, 12:33 PM
PS
i am still trying to trace a photo of myself(1960s) being huckled oot the cave,for accidentally,not on purpose, hitting a polisman over the head with a banner pole:duck:

Several years ago (2011ish) I was in the front row at Tynecastle and was semi-headbutted in the nuts by a Hearts player. Apparently you could see it on Sky Sports. I am also trying to find a picture of it.

I googled "Meaney Hibernian football" but all I found was this picture of Colm Meaney in a burger van during the world cup. Probably not what you are looking for... http://l7.alamy.com/zooms/b8d0230396494bcb9c0959b005b68881/the-van-the-van-anne-1996-uk-colm-meaney-donal-o-kelly-ralisateur-b7xt2g.jpg

15-05-2017, 12:39 PM
It would be wonderful for you and your family if someone could trace a photo.

I googled John Meaney as soon as i saw your post.
Interesting information here on this link
(although i guess you may already have read it)

http://www.scottishleague.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2195

PS

TBH I thought you may have been spoiled for choice there Mick!! :wink:

15-05-2017, 03:35 PM
'Hendren and Fleming of Hibs are repelled by the Falkirk defence....... ' Even back then Falkirk were repulsive.:greengrin

:clapper:

15-05-2017, 04:01 PM
:clapper:

I'm assuming that you've spotted yourself in the crowd.

Skol
15-05-2017, 05:28 PM
If you go by the way Falkirk play football I reckon that photo is within the last three seasons.

16-05-2017, 01:07 PM

Just a misunderstood wee laddie !
The Cave was my domain!

Nae wonder i never got any comps!

16-05-2017, 05:25 PM
Watching football must have been a nightmare in the old days with virtually every team wearing grey shirts.

I can just imagine Cathros equivalent at Tynecastle working his battle plans out with an abacus and slide rule.

16-05-2017, 05:37 PM
18th October 1913 (as someone posted earlier)

Hibs 0 Falkirk 3 attendance given as 12,000, our average for the season was 8,073

Hibs finished the season 13th, the league was won by Celtic, no change there then. Rangers were second and our good neighbours third (thats Hearts not Edinburgh City).

Our team that day was Allan, Girdwood, Templeton, Kerr, Paterson, Lamb, Williamson, Fleming, Hendren, Innes and Smith.

Our best win that season was a 6-0 tanking of Hamilton and our biggest defeat was 5-0 reverse at hme to Ayr.

To think the madness of WW1 was just around the corner.

The Pointer
16-05-2017, 05:38 PM

Was huckled out of Tynie on a Wednesday night in the seventies. Case of mistaken identity and just happened to be trying to push my way through the throng to the bog in the corner when a surge carried me to the front of the ongoing rammy where I was greeted by L & B's finest. Got back in just in time to see Paddy score the equaliser at the School End.

16-05-2017, 09:44 PM
18th October 1913 (as someone posted earlier)

Hibs 0 Falkirk 3 attendance given as 12,000, our average for the season was 8,073

Hibs finished the season 13th, the league was won by Celtic, no change there then. Rangers were second and our good neighbours third (thats Hearts not Edinburgh City).

Our team that day was Allan, Girdwood, Templeton, Kerr, Paterson, Lamb, Williamson, Fleming, Hendren, Innes and Smith.

Our best win that season was a 6-0 tanking of Hamilton and our biggest defeat was 5-0 reverse at hme to Ayr.

To think the madness of WW1 was just around the corner.

I reckon the madness had started prior to WW1

Niffy
17-05-2017, 06:31 AM
On a slightly similar note, when my fam moved to Dunbar to take over a hotel ( in 1975 ), in an old cupboard we found this ancient squad photo of Hearts. My dad phoned them to tell them , thinking they might appreciate it and whoever we spoke to sounded very keen and invited us to Tynie with it.

I would have been 9, and a Hibby but still keen to see the inner workings of a 'famous' club. Anyway we go there , introduce ourselves. Left waiting for 10 minutes then someone appeared looked at photo, said " that's great thanks" turned around and walked off with it.

Pricks.

17-05-2017, 09:12 PM
I googled "Meaney Hibernian football" but all I found was this picture of Colm Meaney in a burger van during the world cup. Probably not what you are looking for... http://l7.alamy.com/zooms/b8d0230396494bcb9c0959b005b68881/the-van-the-van-anne-1996-uk-colm-meaney-donal-o-kelly-ralisateur-b7xt2g.jpg

Brilliant film, absolutely superb book - highly recommend it.