View Full Version : Pre Season Matches

15-05-2017, 10:39 AM
I've heard a few noises regarding a few games in Ireland, when are the pre season matches announced? Does anyone know the clubs plans? Im holding off booking a holiday just in case theres a nice wee jaunt lined up for Hibs.

15-05-2017, 10:45 AM
Where did you hear that?

I'd absolutely love to go see the Hibs in Ireland

15-05-2017, 10:48 AM
Where did you hear that?

I heard it on the grapevine

Stranraer
15-05-2017, 10:55 AM
Where did you hear that?

Same here, would be a cracking weekend.

NYHibby
15-05-2017, 10:56 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkbA3E363So

Ardenttwo
15-05-2017, 11:59 AM

Marvin Gay told me. He heard it on the Grapevine

15-05-2017, 11:59 AM
Hopefully a few English trips. FC United of Manchester would be class

15-05-2017, 12:07 PM
Anywhere near Manchester would do me nicely.

15-05-2017, 12:10 PM
Hopefully a few English trips. FC United of Manchester would be class

Would be fun but football wise that would just be a waste of time IMO.

Considering we'll already have to spend some of our pre-season playing sheit teams in the League Cup we should be aiming to organise games against better opposition than 6th-tier English sides

15-05-2017, 12:12 PM
Was there not a whisper of Newcastle?

15-05-2017, 02:07 PM

Ooohhh!

Newry Hibs
15-05-2017, 02:29 PM
I've heard a few noises regarding a few games in Ireland, when are the pre season matches announced? Does anyone know the clubs plans? Im holding off booking a holiday just in case theres a nice wee jaunt lined up for Hibs.

Ooooh - yes please!

15-05-2017, 02:36 PM

Was that not for Lewis's testimonial?

15-05-2017, 02:57 PM
Was that not for Lewis's testimonial?

Newcastle away would be amazing.

If it's a testimonial game then I'm assuming it would be at ER though.

15-05-2017, 02:58 PM
Belfast again please. :cb

15-05-2017, 05:06 PM
New York please.

BigT-Hibeez
15-05-2017, 05:08 PM
Tranent Juniors @ Foresters Park!!

15-05-2017, 05:10 PM
Newcastle away would be amazing.

If it's a testimonial game then I'm assuming it would be at ER though.
No chance of that unfortunately. Bigger English teams will never host clubs like Hibs, Aberdeen, dare I say it Hearts due to sheer ignorance of the Scottish game.

15-05-2017, 05:12 PM
Tranent Juniors @ Foresters Park!!

Naw the Belters would steal our players.
They have form (KT) :nerd:

15-05-2017, 05:24 PM
No chance of that unfortunately. Bigger English teams will never host clubs like Hibs, Aberdeen, dare I say it Hearts due to sheer ignorance of the Scottish game.

Nah I know we can dream though.

15-05-2017, 06:40 PM

Bolton and Blackburn where higher placed than Newcastle when they entertained us.

Stranraer
16-05-2017, 08:49 AM
Rochdale @ Spotland would be great.

16-05-2017, 08:50 AM

Stranraer would be great 😀

16-05-2017, 09:01 AM
I'd be surprised if we get any away games in England against and team from the top two leagues. Could see Newcastle at ER for LS though

16-05-2017, 09:29 AM

Fingers crossed it includes a trip to Sligo...Gorgeous scenery, loads of great pubs & about a €1 cheaper for a pint of Guinness than Dublin :wink:

16-05-2017, 09:37 AM
Bolton and Blackburn where higher placed than Newcastle when they entertained us.
Fair point but in my opinion those two are nowhere near as big a club as Newcastle, even when they were higher than them in the leagues.

Don't get me wrong I'd love to see Hibs play away at a club like Newcastle but I just can't see it.

16-05-2017, 09:52 AM
Newcastle have only played one home friendly in each of the last 3 pre seasons.

Vitesse Arnhem last season, Gladbach the season before and Real Sociedad the season before that.

edit to add, that seems to be the way the bigger clubs down south seem to play pre season. They play alot more matches on tours and generally away from home.

archiebald
16-05-2017, 10:08 AM

Why ?

therealgavmac
16-05-2017, 10:11 AM
Over the years I've seen Hibs in both Ireland and Ulster, in England, and yes I'm being selfish but it's about time they came to Wales. May I suggest Carmarthen Town and Swansea?

16-05-2017, 01:45 PM
Fair point but in my opinion those two are nowhere near as big a club as Newcastle, even when they were higher than them in the leagues.

Don't get me wrong I'd love to see Hibs play away at a club like Newcastle but I just can't see it.

I agree on both counts friend. Sunderland away on the other hand....or 'Boro.....

BigT-Hibeez
16-05-2017, 01:52 PM
Naw the Belters would steal our players.
They have form (KT) :nerd:

Aye that went well :)

16-05-2017, 05:09 PM
Anyone in the know about the Ireland trip rumour?

bubblesmorrison
16-05-2017, 05:12 PM
New York please.

Yes please. NYCFC could even just play them at their training ground at purchase.

17-05-2017, 06:33 AM
Over the years I've seen Hibs in both Ireland and Ulster, in England, and yes I'm being selfish but it's about time they came to Wales. May I suggest Carmarthen Town and Swansea?
No, you may not. Won't argue with Wrexham or any of the North Wales coastal teams though!

17-05-2017, 08:09 AM
Blackpool were in the Premier League when Hibs played there and won.

17-05-2017, 08:46 AM

Was that he last premier league away pre season game?

I was moving house the next day so no way I could have headed up for the day.

Stranraer
17-05-2017, 10:03 AM
Stranraer would be great 😀

I think Stranraer will have their hands tied with this big friendly against FC Twente and then they usually participate in a Stena Cup with Irish teams.

17-05-2017, 10:08 AM
Bournemouth please.

17-05-2017, 10:28 AM
Bournemouth please.

Yes please, only an hour and 45 minutes drive for me.

17-05-2017, 10:57 AM
Yorkshire is the clear winner then.

hibsforeurope
17-05-2017, 11:25 AM
Hopefuly we are playing a game against Vale of Leithen again this year. I've missed these games everytime we've played there.

17-05-2017, 03:58 PM
Yes please. NYCFC could even just play them at their training ground at purchase.

Red Bulls would be easier for me :greengrin

17-05-2017, 05:43 PM
I love these threads. Basically everyone just naming teams. For those of outwith Edinburgh, we just name the local teams.

So for me a Bristol City, Rovers and Swindon Town tour would be great please.

17-05-2017, 07:04 PM
I love these threads. Basically everyone just naming teams. For those of outwith Edinburgh, we just name the local teams.

For those within Edinburgh, I'd like to nominate Spartans, Edinburgh City and Bonnyrigg Rose as the tour.

17-05-2017, 07:17 PM
I actually fancy Ireland, preferably Wexford.

Keyser Sauzee
17-05-2017, 07:19 PM
For those within Edinburgh, I'd like to nominate Spartans, Edinburgh City and Bonnyrigg Rose as the tour.

Was it summer 2016 we played Edinburgh City?

17-05-2017, 07:25 PM
Was it summer 2016 we played Edinburgh City?

Yes, and I think we won 6-1.

therealgavmac
17-05-2017, 10:31 PM

Actually, this would be good too :greengrin

therealgavmac
17-05-2017, 10:32 PM
No, you may not. Won't argue with Wrexham or any of the North Wales coastal teams though!

Aye, that'll do too :agree:

18-05-2017, 12:49 AM
Over the years I've seen Hibs in both Ireland and Ulster, in England, and yes I'm being selfish but it's about time they came to Wales. May I suggest Carmarthen Town and Swansea?could live with that. those places are do-able from my Son's family residence in Monmouth (Trefynwy) and I do like a pint of Brains black Welsh beer:greengrin

18-05-2017, 01:10 AM
I want us to play in Provence or Tuscany or a Greek island. I fancy a scene from a summer broadsheet novel like affair where a handsome chap from Merchiston falls for a dusky skinned Latin maiden whilst enjoying a Hibernian preseason contest.

18-05-2017, 02:11 AM

Decent quiz question in that.

Velma Dinkley
18-05-2017, 06:06 AM
Arawak Cement Youth Milan II, Carib Eden Stars and Caribsurf Paradise.

18-05-2017, 06:35 AM

I'd like to nominate Stenhousemuir, Alloa, Stirling Albion, Stirling Uni and to crown it an Airth select down the park 👍

18-05-2017, 07:16 AM
What I don't want is Hibs to bugger off to Spain again for training and behind doors friendlies, that worked out well the last time. A couple of smaller friendlies to start us off, then finishing with a couple of games at ER against decent opposition, like English championship clubs.

18-05-2017, 07:39 AM
Whatever we do I want it to be geared towards having the best possible start to next season.

Under Lennon we flew out of the traps and that put us in a position where we could afford to be wasteful later. Without that start we might have had a different outcome to our season.

I always thought we started seasons half-arsed under Stubbs, similar to how Everton often do/ did.

We all love a jolly but we should mean business.

18-05-2017, 09:05 AM
Whatever we do I want it to be geared towards having the best possible start to next season.

Under Lennon we flew out of the traps and that put us in a position where we could afford to be wasteful later. Without that start we might have had a different outcome to our season.

I always thought we started seasons half-arsed under Stubbs, similar to how Everton often do/ did.

We all love a jolly but we should mean business.

Totally agree, I want to win the league cup, not simply use it as a pre season fixture list, thankfully I get the impression that Neil Lennon will be of a similar mindset.

BigT-Hibeez
18-05-2017, 09:27 AM
I want us to play in Provence or Tuscany or a Greek island. I fancy a scene from a summer broadsheet novel like affair where a handsome chap from Merchiston falls for a dusky skinned Latin maiden whilst enjoying a Hibernian preseason contest.

Mills & Boons: The Cretin and the Cretan

25-05-2017, 12:06 PM
Confirmed match away to Dunfermline on July 6th (Thurs night) - love a trip through there for pre season

26-05-2017, 01:35 PM

:greengrin:not worth

26-05-2017, 01:58 PM
a wee friendly in Ulan Bator would be interesting

26-05-2017, 02:04 PM
Saw on twitter that the Juve-Real game is to decide which one of them gets to come to ER for a friendly at the start of July. Anyone else heard this? :hyper

26-05-2017, 04:28 PM
Saw on twitter that the Juve-Real game is to decide which one of them gets to come to ER for a friendly at the start of July. Anyone else heard this? :hyper

Hibs are training at St Andrews for a bit when they come back. Remember Barcelona used to train there too, maybe a wee friendly with them being lined up instead

26-05-2017, 09:14 PM
Hibs are training at St Andrews for a bit when they come back. Remember Barcelona used to train there too, maybe a wee friendly with them being lined up instead

Dundee Utd are permanently there nowadays I believe.

26-05-2017, 09:36 PM

Zidane wants a selfie with David Gray.

26-05-2017, 09:47 PM
Zidane wants a selfie with David Gray.

Sounds reasonable. Will Zidane ever captain a team to a trophy after a 114 year gap? Zidane needs to know his place.

26-05-2017, 10:20 PM
Bolton will be playing Alloa and Hibs and will be staying in St. Andrews. Don't know the dates

26-05-2017, 11:13 PM
Bolton will be playing Alloa and Hibs and will be staying in St. Andrews. Don't know the dates

Bolton away would have been good after the last time.

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2017, 01:24 AM

Take out the Gas heads and replace with Cheltenham and i'm with you

27-05-2017, 08:01 AM
Did I mention my preference for a tour of Bavaria?

I did? Oh well, must have slipped my mind.

Anyway, A tour of Bavaria please. :wink:

--------------------------

Oh and that has to include a visit to Unterhaching, to see their world famous cheerleaders, The Unterhaching Dollies

27-05-2017, 08:14 AM
Take out the Gas heads and replace with Cheltenham and i'm with you

Why not? Cheltenham is a lovely place.

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2017, 11:56 AM
Why not? Cheltenham is a lovely place.

I know, and it has a Hibs pub as well :thumbsup: