View Full Version : 1972 league cup souvenir poster - Marie Curie Charity Cycle

11-05-2017, 06:34 AM
I have kindly been given permission from the EEN, to reproduce this fabulous poster that is close on 45 years old. It's all for my fundraising and charity cycle. £10 each 420 x 594 (smaller than original) and the quality of the printing is 10/10👍

I only picked then up yesterday and will be making a plan of action within the next few days, possibly over the weekend (working)

GGTTH 💚🏆👍

Col_0762
11-05-2017, 06:53 AM
Good stuff. I'll take one for sure when you get it all sorted 👍🏻

Roxyhibee
11-05-2017, 07:13 AM
Yes please. Well done.

11-05-2017, 07:16 AM
Had this as a boy, always wanted another. Demand will be high, well done Leithen.

Ps: put me down for 1 too.

Newry Hibs
11-05-2017, 07:29 AM
Excellent idea. I too had one.

I'm surprised a similar one hasn't been produced for last May.

tanfield
11-05-2017, 08:32 AM
I'll take one! 🖒

11-05-2017, 08:42 AM
Yes please

11-05-2017, 09:36 AM
Yes, please.

hibbybob
11-05-2017, 10:16 AM
I'll take one too!
Great idea!

11-05-2017, 10:28 AM
I've still got the original. The artist was Gilzean and some of the caricatures are absolutely brilliant.

It's well worth having and of course you'll be donating to a great charity.

SCHAEDYSHORTS
11-05-2017, 10:52 AM
Thanks for the reply to my pm, count me in 👍🇮🇪

11-05-2017, 12:06 PM
Stick me down foe one. :thumbsup:

11-05-2017, 12:33 PM
I've still got the original. The artist was Gilzean and some of the caricatures are absolutely brilliant.

It's well worth having and of course you'll be donating to a great charity.

Harry Gilzean of the Evening News:

http://www.thenationalfootballcollection.org.uk/evening-news-hibernian-cartoons-by-gilzean/

I used to have the book pictured in that link but think it fell apart. Gilzean used to be at Easter Road one week and Tynecastle the next and would draw a cartoon round-up of the match for the back page of the Monday paper. I used to love reading them as a kid. I think he was a Hibs fan but I'm not certain.

As has also been mentioned on this forum before, there was a weekly Hibs/Hearts cartoon in the Saturday evening 'Pink' by E W Wright, featuring the terracing observations of a pair called Boab and Eck, one Hibby and one a Jambo. In the close season the venue switched from the football terraces to the bowling green.

11-05-2017, 12:44 PM
Harry Gilzean of the Evening News:

http://www.thenationalfootballcollection.org.uk/evening-news-hibernian-cartoons-by-gilzean/

I used to have the book pictured in that link but think it fell apart. Gilzean used to be at Easter Road one week and Tynecastle the next and would draw a cartoon round-up of the match for the back page of the Monday paper. I used to love reading them as a kid. I think he was a Hibs fan but I'm not certain.

As has also been mentioned on this forum before, there was a weekly Hibs/Hearts cartoon in the Saturday evening 'Pink' by E W Wright, featuring the terracing observations of a pair called Boab and Eck, one Hibby and one a Jambo. In the close season the venue switched from the football terraces to the bowling green.

He was a Hibs fan. He also had a shop off the top of Cockburn Street.

11-05-2017, 12:51 PM
The EN takes a fair bit of stick on here and quite rightly so to be honest but, on this occasion they deserve a bit of praise for allowing this. Oh aye, I'll have one too.

11-05-2017, 12:54 PM
Still got the book in question, bought from that very shop as far as I can remember.

my left peg
11-05-2017, 01:05 PM
Fantastic effort mate ....and a great cause....I would definitely purchase one.

11-05-2017, 01:11 PM
Me as well 😀

11-05-2017, 02:13 PM
Definitely G, definitely.

11-05-2017, 02:18 PM

Flesh market close. It was a brilliant wee shop. JESUS SAVES! But Brownlie nets the rebound.
He made me a Jam Tarts The Muppet Men badge which was much admired.
I have managed to retain my grubby copy of the book but I can't recall if I got it at his shop or the club shop.

I've also managed to hold on to A4 caricatures he sold of Stanton, Brownlie and Blackley but they are in some nick.

11-05-2017, 03:15 PM
Flesh market close. It was a brilliant wee shop. JESUS SAVES! But Brownlie nets the rebound.
He made me a Jam Tarts The Muppet Men badge which was much admired.
I have managed to retain my grubby copy of the book but I can't recall if I got it at his shop or the club shop.

I've also managed to hold on to A4 caricatures he sold of Stanton, Brownlie and Blackley but they are in some nick.

Did it become a sandwich shop? Apart from Alfie's the barber and the two pubs I can't think of any other businesses on Fleshmarket Close though it's a while since I've climbed those steps.

TrinityHibby
11-05-2017, 04:14 PM
I have kindly been given permission from the EEN, to reproduce this fabulous poster that is close on 45 years old. It's all for my fundraising and charity cycle. £10 each 420 x 594 (smaller than original) and the quality of the printing is 10/10👍

I only picked then up yesterday and will be making a plan of action within the next few days, possibly over the weekend (working)

GGTTH 💚🏆👍

Great idea and cause I'd like to order one too 😀🇳🇬🏆

11-05-2017, 04:31 PM
Fantastic cause, they do amazing work. I would be interested in a poster please.

donald_paterson
11-05-2017, 04:54 PM
One of true two main charities I regularly support so yes please

11-05-2017, 05:00 PM
Stick me down for one

11-05-2017, 07:07 PM
Did it become a sandwich shop? Apart from Alfie's the barber and the two pubs I can't think of any other businesses on Fleshmarket Close though it's a while since I've climbed those steps.

It seems like another world away its been that long. There was definitely an old style pet shop right close to it.

penihibs
11-05-2017, 07:19 PM
I'm in please great cause.

11-05-2017, 07:41 PM
Me please. Another Hibs picture to 'ruin' the house.

11-05-2017, 07:41 PM
Yes please great cause I would two if possible.

at last 61
11-05-2017, 09:28 PM
1 here as well I think I've got the original but it's for a good cause and you can't get too much of a good thing can you

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Loopz
11-05-2017, 09:35 PM
A good cause, I will take one to hang beside my calendar. Well done for all your efforts Lh.

11-05-2017, 09:35 PM
I'll have one too, I know every micro metre of the damned thing, it lived above my bed for 6 years and I stared at it most nights until it was replaced with a poster of Debbie Harry in a white see through dress, I'd buy that again too if you want to reproduce it. Gilzeans shop was across the steps from the back entrance to The Evening News offices, he made me loads of badges, he'd draw anything you asked for, stick it on his badge machine and hit you for 25p...I was never out of the place, got a Midlothian The Diddy Men effort made up after they started calling us Muppets, that passed as cutting edge humour in The Seventies, Easter Road is Heaven but Schaedler is no Angel was another popular one. My Hibs scarf looked like a christmas tree, thankfully we never had camera phones in those days, Id have to get facial reconstruction if I saw old pictures of myself at games back then.

11-05-2017, 09:47 PM
I'll definitely take one, maybe even two. Great memento to have.

WellingtonHibby
11-05-2017, 10:48 PM
I will take two please

11-05-2017, 11:22 PM
It seems like another world away its been that long. There was definitely an old style pet shop right close to it.

Yeah, the pet shop was at the top of Fleshmarket Close just a few steps down on the left, same side as Gilzean's shop.

11-05-2017, 11:48 PM
I'll take one.

EastThomasSTboy
12-05-2017, 12:44 PM
I will take two as well, for my "Green Room".

Happy Days.:flag:

12-05-2017, 03:22 PM
It's just a pity the season has come to an end as I would have been at the Hibs Club and surrounding areas, before and after games.

P&P is working out at £3.90 (UK) Total £13.90 each. (for me, seriously worth it and I'll not even mention, Trainspotting :greengrin

PM me your address and I'll get it sent out to you. Or on Facebook - https://goo.gl/lF1KOp

By making payment to my justgiving page the charity will also receive gift aid (if you're a UK taxpayer)

Payment - https://goo.gl/j3Z6MM :aok:

420x594 (approx)

12-05-2017, 03:34 PM

Here's a pic of the pet shop (I think):

https://m.facebook.com/lostedinburgh/posts/1200834446640903:0

So what exactly WAS Gilzean's? A football memorabilia shop?

12-05-2017, 05:49 PM
Thank you for the recent donations, it's very much appreciated👍

GGTTH💚🏆

12-05-2017, 06:25 PM
Here's a pic of the pet shop (I think):

https://m.facebook.com/lostedinburgh/posts/1200834446640903:0

So what exactly WAS Gilzean's? A football memorabilia shop?

He sold badges and prints of his cartoons

13-05-2017, 10:25 AM
Huge thanks to everyone showing an interest in this piece of Hibernian FC history.
Flying out the door :aok:

Make payment on my JG page - https://goo.gl/j3Z6MM (£10 +£3.90 p&p)

PM me your full name, address and how many you'd like, and I'll get it sorted..

norhfc
13-05-2017, 10:38 AM
I had the original up on my bedroom wall, so that's a yes from me.

13-05-2017, 10:55 AM
Just purchased two. Get in there whilst still available netters,

13-05-2017, 02:37 PM
I had the original up on my bedroom wall, so that's a yes from me.

Just purchased two. Get in there whilst still available netters,

Thank you for your support, it's very much appreciated. :thumbsup:

SuperAllyMcleod
13-05-2017, 05:19 PM
I'll have one too, I know every micro metre of the damned thing, it lived above my bed for 6 years and I stared at it most nights until it was replaced with a poster of Debbie Harry in a white see through dress, I'd buy that again too if you want to reproduce it. Gilzeans shop was across the steps from the back entrance to The Evening News offices, he made me loads of badges, he'd draw anything you asked for, stick it on his badge machine and hit you for 25p...I was never out of the place, got a Midlothian The Diddy Men effort made up after they started calling us Muppets, that passed as cutting edge humour in The Seventies, Easter Road is Heaven but Schaedler is no Angel was another popular one. My Hibs scarf looked like a christmas tree, thankfully we never had camera phones in those days, Id have to get facial reconstruction if I saw old pictures of myself at games back then.

I believe this is the Debbie Harry poster that we also need reproduced. My copy fell apart mid way through the 80s.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170513/0e4e832c996fcb3bcd0c46ffe91ca855.jpg

14-05-2017, 02:51 PM
Very much appreciate all the support from the Hibs family, brilliant.

Interest has come in from far and wide to secure this magical piece of our clubs history, should you be interested, don't hesitate to get in touch.

Turnbull's Tornadoes...GGTTH

14-05-2017, 06:00 PM
Donated and PM sent.

S.

14-05-2017, 06:36 PM
Donated and PM sent.

S.

Received with thanks :wink:

G.

15-05-2017, 10:31 PM
Thank you so much to everyone who has donated and shown an interest thus far, it's very much appreciated. :aok:

Loopz
17-05-2017, 10:49 AM
Thank you so much to everyone who has donated and shown an interest thus far, it's very much appreciated. :aok:

Donation sent will PM address. Well done again.

17-05-2017, 12:01 PM
Are these stil available? I'm after one. PayPal?

17-05-2017, 03:19 PM
Are these stil available? I'm after one. PayPal?

Absolutely, will update once I'm home from work👍

GGTTH 💚

17-05-2017, 09:22 PM
Just a wee update - postal tubes arrived today so I'll make every effort to get the poster(s) sent out asap.

As long as you lovely people want this poster I shall make every effort to make it available.
Thanks again for your support.

Just make a payment of £10 per poster and £3.90 p&p with all proceeds going to Marie Curie - Also PM me your full name and address. :aok:

Payment - https://goo.gl/j3Z6MM

18-05-2017, 08:56 AM
Tried to pm you bud - your inbox is full :aok:

EastThomasSTboy
18-05-2017, 09:09 AM
Hi Gordon.

Unable to PM you as your inbox is full. Ta.

George.:flag:

18-05-2017, 09:10 AM

What this man sad.

You got an email?

18-05-2017, 09:13 AM

Thanks for that.

Can't say I'm surprised, these posters are flying.

I'll deal with it tonight folks 👍 (working)
GGTTH 💚🏆

18-05-2017, 06:12 PM

Hi Gordon.

Unable to PM you as your inbox is full. Ta.

George.:flag:

What this man sad.

You got an email?

Hi folks, sorry about that. You should be able to PM me your details now, fingers crossed.

Thanks again for the support you are all showing, fantastic, and very much appreciated. :aok:

18-05-2017, 06:53 PM
PM Sent, cheers :thumbsup:

18-05-2017, 07:38 PM
PM Sent, cheers :thumbsup:

Yeah, inbox cleared, so fill your boots folks.. :greengrin

18-05-2017, 07:41 PM

BigT-Hibeez
18-05-2017, 08:26 PM
I actually have the original somewhere..

But it has a big crease from being folded so might take you up on one

18-05-2017, 08:55 PM
I actually have the original somewhere..

But it has a big crease from being folded so might take you up on one

Don't think there are many that survived over the years, and the fans that have them will never part with it now.

420 x 594 (smaller than original) But still a cracking size if framed :aok:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GUESTS - Can also PM Facebook https://goo.gl/lF1KOp :aok:

EastThomasSTboy
18-05-2017, 09:53 PM
Hi Gordon.

PM Sent.

Good luck with the bike ride.:flag:

18-05-2017, 10:12 PM
PM sent, cheers.

18-05-2017, 10:18 PM
Hi Gordon.

PM Sent.

Good luck with the bike ride.:flag:

PM sent, cheers.

Received with thanks.

Keep your eyes peeled for the postie :greengrin

18-05-2017, 10:43 PM
Donation made.
PM on its way.

18-05-2017, 11:04 PM
Is that the one in Renton's bedroom?

18-05-2017, 11:52 PM
Is that the one in Renton's bedroom?

It is indeed, A2 in size so smaller than the original, but class none the less.

GGTTH 💚

19-05-2017, 02:09 PM
It is indeed, A2 in size so smaller than the original, but class none the less.

GGTTH 💚

Can you estimate when they will be posted out? Keen to get my hands on the ones I ordered, one is a present, needed for the end of the month.

19-05-2017, 03:13 PM
Can you estimate when they will be posted out? Keen to get my hands on the ones I ordered, one is a present, needed for the end of the month.

Sorted, they were all sent out today👍

Woman in the post office didn't look too pleased when I rolled up with a truckload of poster tubes 😀 💚

19-05-2017, 03:15 PM

Woman in the post office didn't look too pleased when I rolled up with a truckload of poster tubes 😀 💚

Did you lick all the stamps yourself G, or do your family have a yam for such things?

Roxyhibee
19-05-2017, 05:25 PM

You're working well Leithen. No rush for me but well done.!

Glory Glory..

20-05-2017, 12:11 AM
You're working well Leithen. No rush for me but well done.!

Glory Glory..

👍 All good things come to those who wait, ha 😉

GGTTH 💚

20-05-2017, 08:29 AM
This would make a cracking Father's day present, while not breaking the bank :wink:

Make payment on my JG page - https://goo.gl/j3Z6MM (£10+£3.90 p&p)

20-05-2017, 11:27 AM

Cheers pal. Can't wait to set eyes on it again and pass on the joy.

I worked out how to share it on Facebook too!

Wondering if the club shop couldn't be persuaded to sell it? It would reach a wider audience, the place will be hootching when the new strip is in stock!

20-05-2017, 02:24 PM
Cheers pal. Can't wait to set eyes on it again and pass on the joy.

I worked out how to share it on Facebook too!

Wondering if the club shop couldn't be persuaded to sell it? It would reach a wider audience, the place will be hootching when the new strip is in stock!

Excellent idea, SFH. :wink:

For those willing to share on their FB Page (even for an hour) - https://goo.gl/igE4aV

You can also donate by texting - SOLO71 £'s to 70070

Very much appreciated as always :aok:

20-05-2017, 06:39 PM
Did you lick all the stamps yourself G, or do your family have a yam for such things?

20-05-2017, 09:38 PM

Aw, please don't encourage him, FS.😉

GGTTH💚

20-05-2017, 09:43 PM
Aw, please don't encourage him, FS.😉

GGTTH💚

Go on, I don't get out much.:greengrin

Loopz
22-05-2017, 01:23 PM
This would make a cracking Father's day present, while not breaking the bank :wink:

Make payment on my JG page - https://goo.gl/j3Z6MM (£10+£3.90 p&p)

Arrived today, cracking picture. Now I just need to hint for a Fathers day frame.

22-05-2017, 04:20 PM
Arrived today, cracking picture. Now I just need to hint for a Fathers day frame.

Excellent, glad you like it.

It's got to be said, it's rather special 💚

Newry Hibs
22-05-2017, 05:37 PM
Arrived today. Very pleased.

penihibs
22-05-2017, 07:08 PM
Arrived today. Very pleased.

Received today absolutely delighted with it thanks and well done buddy.
GGTTH.

22-05-2017, 07:14 PM
:aok: Got mine today. Brilliant.

22-05-2017, 08:08 PM
I have kindly been given permission from the EEN, to reproduce this fabulous poster that is close on 45 years old. It's all for my fundraising and charity cycle. £10 each 420 x 594 (smaller than original) and the quality of the printing is 10/10��

GGTTH ������

Have you many left? I'll be in touch to order one if so.

Out of interest, did you have your own original poster reproduced? If so it looks as though the printers have done a great job with it. Or did the Evening News actually have access to the original template or a good quality version of the poster? I'd be amazed if they had either to be honest as I know the value of this sort of memorabilia wasn't really recognised back in the day. Somebody once told me that to make room in the photo library the Scotsman picture editor binned vast numbers of glass negatives including all sorts of great Edinburgh moments (among them being pics of the Famous Five etc) which are now lost forever.

22-05-2017, 08:47 PM
Mine came earlier mate thanks again. Shall get it framed and hung up on the Hibs wall over the weekend!

22-05-2017, 10:44 PM
Have you many left? I'll be in touch to order one if so.

Out of interest, did you have your own original poster reproduced? If so it looks as though the printers have done a great job with it. Or did the Evening News actually have access to the original template or a good quality version of the poster? I'd be amazed if they had either to be honest as I know the value of this sort of memorabilia wasn't really recognised back in the day. Somebody once told me that to make room in the photo library the Scotsman picture editor binned vast numbers of glass negatives including all sorts of great Edinburgh moments (among them being pics of the Famous Five etc) which are now lost forever.

Still available :aok:

Make payment on my JG page - https://goo.gl/j3Z6MM (£10 each+£3.90 p&p)

Also, huge thanks to everyone who has supported the cause thus far. :aok:

SCHAEDYSHORTS
22-05-2017, 11:21 PM
Got mine yesterday, as promised, absolutely love it, brings all those memories of us winning the league cup as a boy, will look great framed next to my cup final shirt from last year, great times, great memories & here's to more to come.

Thanks Gordon & every success with your fund raising :flag:

23-05-2017, 11:44 AM
Received yesterday. Looks fantastic. Need to find a frame big enough for it now.:greengrin

Thanks again. Hope you smash your target.

24-05-2017, 08:51 PM
Received yesterday. Looks fantastic. Need to find a frame big enough for it now.:greengrin

Hope so :wink: Just delighted that everyone seems to be happy with it. :aok:

Still available ...

Huge thanks to everyone who has supported the cause thus far. :thumbsup:

27-05-2017, 08:17 AM
Hope so :wink: Just delighted that everyone seems to be happy with it. :aok:

Still available ...

Huge thanks to everyone who has supported the cause thus far. :thumbsup:

Bump.. GGTTH 💚

27-05-2017, 01:17 PM
Thanks G.
Beautiful thing. I'm tempted to get it full of drawing pin holes and sellotaped edges like the one that clung to my wall.
Thanks and keep up the good work old son.

28-05-2017, 10:38 AM
Thanks G.
Beautiful thing. I'm tempted to get it full of drawing pin holes and sellotaped edges like the one that clung to my wall.
Thanks and keep up the good work old son.

Aw S. I'm just delighted that you and everyone else who has given their hard earned cash to my challenge, absolutely delighted.��

If anyone is interested in such an iconic piece of our clubs past glories, don't hesitate to contact me anytime.

GGTTH ����

31-05-2017, 12:16 PM
I just wanted to Thank everyone thus far who has donated to my challenge and is now proudly displaying this cracking poster from a time that goes back, almost 45 years. :aok:

Still Available

420x595 approx..

GUESTS - can contact me on Facebook also. - https://goo.gl/lF1KOp

04-06-2017, 05:19 PM
I still have a few left and will probably make them available once the season starts.....:aok:

04-06-2017, 05:55 PM
Just to say to Leithen that we are very happy with our posters. They are excellent quality and gery good value for money.

Hats off to you pal, all for a very good cause.

05-06-2017, 10:09 PM
Just to say to Leithen that we are very happy with our posters. They are excellent quality and gery good value for money.

Hats off to you pal, all for a very good cause.

Aw, your kind words are very much appreciated. 👍 Thank you.

GGTTH 💚

Roxyhibee
05-06-2017, 10:33 PM
Not just fantastic to have it, but brings back great memories of that amazing Final with my dad and all the other Tornado times we had together. More than a poster. Thanks Leithen.

Any chance you could get something for the 91 Final sorted for your next charity event.? Haha, sorry - it's just hard to get something iconic poster-wise of that day.

07-06-2017, 11:09 AM
Not just fantastic to have it, but brings back great memories of that amazing Final with my dad and all the other Tornado times we had together. More than a poster. Thanks Leithen.

Any chance you could get something for the 91 Final sorted for your next charity event.? Haha, sorry - it's just hard to get something iconic poster-wise of that day.

There was a poster produced by EEN after the '91 Final. Here you go.

07-06-2017, 11:14 AM
Had a look the other day, thanks very much. Gonna look great on ma Paw's wall.

10-06-2017, 03:33 PM
Bump

GGTTH 💚👍

Roxyhibee
10-06-2017, 10:10 PM
There was a poster produced by EEN after the '91 Final. Here you go.

Never seen that before, yet was sure I'd got all the papers and stuff produced at the time. Many thanks.!

HappyHibby93
21-06-2017, 06:10 PM
Thought I'd give this a wee bump as I bought one recently. Cracking bit of memorabilia and for a good cause. :flag:

24-06-2017, 10:21 AM
Thought I'd give this a wee bump as I bought one recently. Cracking bit of memorabilia and for a good cause. :flag:

Much appreciated HH93 :aok:

Supporting our Nurses that care for our loved ones..........

Drop me a PM if interested. Or Facebook - https://goo.gl/lF1KOp

GGTTH.

30-06-2017, 12:58 PM
Much appreciated HH93 :aok:

Supporting our Nurses that care for our loved ones..........

Drop me a PM if interested. Or Facebook - https://goo.gl/lF1KOp

GGTTH.

Bump👍

GGTTH💚

26-07-2017, 05:24 PM

I'm sure the poster will look brilliant once you have it framed. :thumbsup:

These posters are still very much available.

Now that the season has kicked in, I shall try to make them easier to obtain.

03-08-2017, 06:59 AM
I'm sure the poster will look brilliant once you have it framed. :thumbsup:

These posters are still very much available.

Now that the season has kicked in, I shall try to make them easier to obtain.

Bump :aok: