View Full Version : Brechin City v Raith

10-05-2017, 12:31 PM
Can anyone explain why this fixture is happening?

Why aren't the play offs between 2nd tier and 3rd tier the same format, where Raith would play whichever team emerges from the play offs in the division below them?

10-05-2017, 12:32 PM
Because the top league plays 38 games in a normal season compared to 36 in the lower leagues. The team who gets through to the premier league play off should therefore have played as many games as the premier league team.

This isn't the case with the lower leagues where all teams have played the same amount of games.

10-05-2017, 12:33 PM

Why aren't the play offs between 2nd tier and 3rd tier the same format, where Raith would play whichever team emerges from the play offs in the division below them?

Why make Scottish football simple when it can be complicated

10-05-2017, 12:36 PM

Because the cards are deliberately stacked in favour of the Premier League team...sadly not in favour enough to offset Terry Butcher's buffoonery.

10-05-2017, 12:38 PM
No coverage on BBC Alba

BH Hibs
10-05-2017, 01:37 PM
No coverage on BBC Alba

UEFA gravy train on tonight mate.

StevieT
10-05-2017, 03:11 PM
I'm going along to this one so should be able to add some updates.

10-05-2017, 04:03 PM
UEFA gravy train on tonight mate.

Yeah, but it's laughable not to able to show a Scottish 3rd tier game.

10-05-2017, 04:58 PM
Because the top league plays 38 games in a normal season compared to 36 in the lower leagues. The team who gets through to the premier league play off should therefore have played as many games as the premier league team.

This isn't the case with the lower leagues where all teams have played the same amount of games.

Thanks for the explanation but it seems bizarre to me.

10-05-2017, 05:07 PM

Thanks for the explanation but it seems bizarre to me.
I think the explanation given is the poster's interpretation. The lower league play-offs have been around for a while. The "Premiership" play-off was only introduced fairly recently and was obviously stacked in favour of the premier team - so a different format in place for promotion to the top league.

10-05-2017, 05:10 PM
I think the explanation given is the poster's interpretation. The lower league play-offs have been around for a while. The "Premiership" play-off was only introduced fairly recently and was obviously stacked in favour of the premier team - so a different format in place for promotion to the top league.

Correct. It's the only way they could get the top league sides to sign up to it. I mean why else would they raise the risk of relegation?

10-05-2017, 05:18 PM

Nothing to stop the game being shown other than the SFA being unwilling to risk a UEFA sanction - erse lickers that they are. Unlike the governing body down south.

10-05-2017, 05:56 PM
Nothing to stop the game being shown other than the SFA being unwilling to risk a UEFA sanction - erse lickers that they are. Unlike the governing body down south.

I thought the agreement between the league association and UEFA ended in March [emoji848]

10-05-2017, 06:02 PM
Nothing to stop the game being shown other than practically no one would watch it. Crazy talk.

Slavoj Zizek
10-05-2017, 06:21 PM

I wholeheartedly agree.

But them's the rules that every country who is a UEFA member signed up to.

Unless a club/broadcaster has a spare million in their HBOS account....

No dice.

10-05-2017, 06:59 PM
I see Skacel has started for Raith.

Thought Yogi knew better than that.

Hell mend them.

Moan the Brechin!!!

Baw187
10-05-2017, 07:34 PM
1-0 Brechin!

10-05-2017, 07:36 PM
Nothing to stop the game being shown other than practically no one would watch it. Crazy talk.

But how do smaller clubs get more audience without more coverage?

I understand UEFA's ruling for other elite leagues, but when does a club like Brechin get a chance to be on tv?

10-05-2017, 07:37 PM
Ross Caldwell (remember him?) with the goal.

Would be just my luck for an Angus team to be promoted the year we left the Championship.

10-05-2017, 07:37 PM
I thought the agreement between the league association and UEFA ended in March [emoji848]

I'm just going on the fact that various English games have been covered live in competition to Champs League games. Not aware of any changes that came in in March?

Leith's finest
10-05-2017, 07:39 PM
Ross Caldwell (remember him?) with the goal.

Would be just my luck for an Angus team to be promoted the year we left the Championship.

Always remember ross caldwell after the winner at tynecastle, another youngster ruined by butcher

10-05-2017, 07:41 PM
Always remember ross caldwell after the winner at tynecastle, another youngster ruined by butcher

Substituted 10 mins after going on up at Ross County iirc?

StevieT
10-05-2017, 07:42 PM
Raith Rovers are very poor and Brechin doing ok. Skatchel been non existent other than picking up a yellow. Also, nae pies left at half time

10-05-2017, 07:58 PM
Airdrie 1 Alloa 0

10-05-2017, 08:14 PM
Brechin 1 Raith 1

Archie89
10-05-2017, 08:20 PM
Raith Rovers are very poor and Brechin doing ok. Skatchel been non existent other than picking up a yellow. Also, nae pies left at half time

What's Handling​ been like?

StevieT
10-05-2017, 08:23 PM
What's Handling​ been like?

Not done anything of note

Skol
10-05-2017, 08:49 PM

Works if the 2nd place team win, but if the 3rd or 4th do, then they have played 40 before the SPL team with 39 games play them

Marco G
10-05-2017, 09:11 PM
Gutted. Forced to watch Atletico v Real instead. Don't get me wrong, if I was a Brechin or Raith fan I would be there. But complaining cause UEFA rules are the reason it's not on TV? I don't think so!

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

StevieT
10-05-2017, 09:23 PM
Just home from the game. Raith were very poor and caused Brechin very little problems. Raith pumped ball after ball up the park but Brechin defended if pretty easily. Handling was poor and didn't get involved in the game much at all. Skatchel was worse though and was hooked early in the second half after being booked in the first. Ross Caldwell done a lot of tireless running and took his penalty well. Graeme Smith will be disappointed with goal he let in from a free kick. One thing is for sure, Yogi has his work cut out

10-05-2017, 10:07 PM
Works if the 2nd place team win, but if the 3rd or 4th do, then they have played 40 before the SPL team with 39 games play them
Its already been explained earlier. It has nothing to do with the amount of games played in each division.

10-05-2017, 10:10 PM
Gutted. Forced to watch Atletico v Real instead. Don't get me wrong, if I was a Brechin or Raith fan I would be there. But complaining cause UEFA rules are the reason it's not on TV? I don't think so!

Not sure that anybody is complaining about this particular game missing out. The most obvious recent examples where it has affected a chunk of our support are the two recent cup replays at ER against hertz where a lot of folk couldn't watch because of the farcical rule.

11-05-2017, 06:29 AM
Not sure that anybody is complaining about this particular game missing out. The most obvious recent examples where it has affected a chunk of our support are the two recent cup replays at ER against hertz where a lot of folk couldn't watch because of the farcical rule.

The rule is no longer in place.

11-05-2017, 07:00 AM
The rule is no longer in place.

So live games can be shown while Champs League games are on without risk of UEFA fines? Is this effective now or from next season? Someone mentioned something about the rule ending in March.

Marco G
11-05-2017, 07:03 AM
Sorry, but I was replying to the comment that it was down to these rules that the Brechin game was not shown. iirc it is BT Sport and ALBA that decide what games to televise and they are doing later playoff ties from semi final and final stages, so this would never have been shown whenever it was played!

Agree that the Champions League ban was daft but it sounds like someone is saying it was stopped in March?

11-05-2017, 07:24 AM
So live games can be shown while Champs League games are on without risk of UEFA fines? Is this effective now or from next season? Someone mentioned something about the rule ending in March.

Immediately as of the meeting they held at the end of March according to the reports at the time.

11-05-2017, 08:01 AM
Immediately as of the meeting they held at the end of March according to the reports at the time.

Ok thanks.

ClewsHibs
13-05-2017, 02:03 PM
At the game today. Handling starts

13-05-2017, 03:11 PM
Ross Chisholm scores to put Brechin ahead on the day and on aggregate

13-05-2017, 03:14 PM
Ross Chisholm scores to put Brechin ahead on the day and on aggregate Caldwell

I also have Raith on my coupon so if they don't win then they deserve to be relegated

StevieT
13-05-2017, 03:19 PM
Caldwell

I also have Raith on my coupon so if they don't win then they deserve to be relegated

I was at the game in Brechin and Raith were stinking rotten. If they go down then it could be big budget cuts and, as a result, a while 'til they get back up again.

13-05-2017, 03:21 PM
I was at the game in Brechin and Raith were stinking rotten. If they go down then it could be big budget cuts and, as a result, a while 'til they get back up again.

Nothing could about it. They have not cut their cloth accordingly in the last few years and if they fail today then there is a strong possibility of part time football!.

Players will be out and crowds will desert them like a sinking ship!

StevieT
13-05-2017, 03:28 PM
Nothing could about it. They have not cut their cloth accordingly in the last few years and if they fail today then there is a strong possibility of part time football!.

Players will be out and crowds will desert them like a sinking ship!

Agreed. I still maintain that those two stands behind the goals have been like an albatross around the necks of both Raith and Dunfermline

13-05-2017, 03:30 PM
Agreed. I still maintain that those two stands behind the goals have been like an albatross around the necks of both Raith and Dunfermline

Difference between those 2 teams is quite big tbh!

Raith struggled to get anywhere near 1500 fans at times whereas Dunfermline are 3500 to 4000.

So to get relegated would be massive and I would think that crowds would drop to 1000

13-05-2017, 03:34 PM
1-1 now

13-05-2017, 03:36 PM
Never really cared for Raith to be honest. My closest team location wise but prefer Dunfermline

13-05-2017, 03:37 PM
Never really cared for Raith to be honest. My closest team location wise but prefer Dunfermline

East Fife for me. 10 minute walk at most!

StevieT
13-05-2017, 03:38 PM
Difference between those 2 teams is quite big tbh!

Raith struggled to get anywhere near 1500 fans at times whereas Dunfermline are 3500 to 4000.

So to get relegated would be massive and I would think that crowds would drop to 1000

True Aldo. Part time football, poor crowds, not looking good

13-05-2017, 03:39 PM
1-1 now

Yes, big Mvoto has scored

13-05-2017, 03:40 PM
East Fife for me. 10 minute walk at most!

Always look out for their results 👍

13-05-2017, 03:40 PM
True Aldo. Part time football, poor crowds, not looking good

Even if they win today they will play either Alloa or Airdrie which will probably be harder opponents than Brechin (no disrespect to Brechin)

13-05-2017, 03:43 PM
2-1 to Brechin!

13-05-2017, 03:44 PM
1-2 Brechin.

Does that mean Raith need to score 2 or do away goals only count aet

Even if they win today they will play either Alloa or Airdrie which will probably be harder opponents than Brechin (no disrespect to Brechin)

Whereas, if Brechin win. 1-2 now :greengrin

Looks like things aren't going well for Hughes when it comes to the football match.

13-05-2017, 03:45 PM
2-1 to Brechin!

They'll probably give Airdrie or Alloa a tougher game. No disrespect to Raith.

13-05-2017, 03:48 PM
Yogi is woeful.

The new Terry Butcher

13-05-2017, 03:48 PM
1-2 Brechin.

Does that mean Raith need to score 2 or do away goals only count aet

Away goals don't count for anything.
But only a couple of minutes to get an equaliser

13-05-2017, 03:49 PM
Yogi is woeful. The new Terry Butcher

Tbh Raith have been in free fall even before he took over!

I was indifferent regarding Raith, they can do one now though after being Heartsed in the last two seasons.

Keyser Sauzee
Raith goal

13-05-2017, 03:50 PM
2-2

13-05-2017, 03:50 PM
2-2!!!!

13-05-2017, 03:51 PM
After Skacel's childish histrionic display at ER. 5 -1 sign, horrible fousl, taking his time to get off the park, throwing jersey into the crowd, I am hoping karma kicks in. Unfortunately 2-2 now but moan the Brechin!!!

13-05-2017, 03:51 PM
Elvis Costello 91 minutes

ClewsHibs
13-05-2017, 03:53 PM
Handling named MOTM

13-05-2017, 03:53 PM
Away goals don't count for anything.
But only a couple of minutes to get an equaliser

they must count for something :greengrin

SJNB Hibby
13-05-2017, 03:58 PM
Extra Time

13-05-2017, 03:59 PM
Had a soft spot for them since they stood up to the new club. Maintain they led the smaller clubs in standing up to the sfa and spl

13-05-2017, 04:01 PM
Elvis Costello 91 minutes

He scored the equaliser in the first leg as well.

13-05-2017, 04:01 PM
Tell you what, the playoffs are great (thank god we're not involved though)

13-05-2017, 04:15 PM
32 raith

13-05-2017, 04:25 PM
3 - 3

Brechin goal 3-3 7 mins left

penalties Alloa v Airdrie

Handling named MOTM

I take it he's played well?

To get motm in a pressure game like this takes cojones, I'm chuffed for him.

13-05-2017, 04:26 PM
BBC Scot put the commentary on for the last few minutes

13-05-2017, 04:29 PM

all over
Penalties

13-05-2017, 04:32 PM
ex Hibs keeper Graeme Smith in goal for Brechin facing the penalties

13-05-2017, 04:34 PM
Alloa beat Airdrie on penalties

13-05-2017, 04:35 PM
ex Hibs keeper Graeme Smith in goal for Brechin facing the penalties

Saves penalty 2

13-05-2017, 04:35 PM
https://www.pscp.tv/w/1mrGmglVorvxy

13-05-2017, 04:37 PM
Saves penalty 2

Saves again

SJNB Hibby
13-05-2017, 04:38 PM
Saves again
Almost Loganesque

13-05-2017, 04:39 PM
Sudden death
3-3 after 10 pens

13-05-2017, 04:39 PM
Scott Robertson misses for Raith

13-05-2017, 04:40 PM
Raith out

Well done Brechin.

Great scenes there.

Allov v Brechin final, Raith down

See ya rudi !

Brechin play Alloa in final

Conj
13-05-2017, 04:41 PM
Raith down then

13-05-2017, 04:41 PM
Maybe Yogi should rethink his coaching skills!! His kit mans team talk didn't work.

13-05-2017, 04:42 PM
I hope Bobby Barr enjoyed the pinnacle of his career at Raith in trying to wind up the Hibs support. Enjoy your night you prick! ☺️

13-05-2017, 04:42 PM
the writing was on the wall when raith wanted to be mini hertz

13-05-2017, 04:43 PM
Get that up you Rudi

See ya rudi !

He won't care

Players like him never do

Only interested in the pay cheque

I hope Bobby Barr enjoyed the pinnacle of his career at Raith in trying go to wind up the Hibs support. Enjoy your night you prick! ☺️

13-05-2017, 04:44 PM
Bye rat boy

13-05-2017, 04:45 PM
I hope Bobby Barr enjoyed the pinnacle of his career at Raith in trying to wind up the Hibs support. Enjoy your night you prick! ☺️

Missed a pen as well shame. :wink:

Fabulous result for Brechin well done to them. :not worth

13-05-2017, 04:46 PM
Raith? Rudi?

13-05-2017, 04:47 PM
Dunfy will miss out on a couple of home derby games now

Mantis Toboggan
13-05-2017, 04:49 PM
Aha. Ahahahhaha. Hah.
Rudi Skacel is playing division 3..

Quarters
13-05-2017, 04:50 PM
Barr is a former Brechin player as well; that worked out well for him...

Hope Bobby Barr is seething tonight

Gary Lockes dream of relegating two clubs in one season lives.

13-05-2017, 04:51 PM
Has Bobby Barr ever heard of Karma?

13-05-2017, 04:52 PM

What did he do? Can't remember!

13-05-2017, 04:52 PM
Have I missed something regarding Bobby Barr?

13-05-2017, 04:53 PM
Boo's all round at the end.

Kind of feel for their fans as we did something similar a few years ago and it sucks. Lots of potential there and it smacks of gross mismanagement.

13-05-2017, 04:53 PM
Attendance:2,932 Raith v Brechin

Attendance:1,181 Alloa v Airdrie

13-05-2017, 04:55 PM

Yip he is a bitter wee hun welt who tries his best to wind us up

13-05-2017, 04:55 PM

He's a horrible wee hun that tries really hard to be relevant by attempting to wind up Hibs fans whenever he plays us.

13-05-2017, 04:56 PM
Gary Locke is to blame for that surely, his record at raith was embarrassing

13-05-2017, 04:57 PM
Barr and Skacel. Two obnoxious people.

Karma. What goes round comes round. Lap of honour, throwing your jerseys to the crowd because you get a draw at Easter Road and you'd think you had won the world cup.

Can't express how happy I am about these two getting their come uppance.

13-05-2017, 04:57 PM

He was all over Twitter when they got a draw with us at ER going on about Hibs fans and Rudi. Horrible wee hun. Karma is a bitch

13-05-2017, 04:58 PM
See ya Gonzo

13-05-2017, 05:01 PM

He doesn't like Stokes or David Gray for some reason.

13-05-2017, 05:04 PM
He's a horrible wee hun that tries really hard to be relevant by attempting to wind up Hibs fans whenever he plays us.

Just gave him a wee tweet 😁

13-05-2017, 05:06 PM
Maybe Yogi should rethink his coaching skills!! His kit mans team talk didn't work.

Did he get him to do the team talk again today?! It worked last week but unlikely to have the same effect 2 weeks in a row.

13-05-2017, 05:12 PM
And to think, were Raith not top of the league for a couple of weeks at the start of the season.
Just shows how things can pan out eh?

13-05-2017, 05:13 PM
Part time football for Raith.
Disaster for them.
Val and Gordon won't be happy.

13-05-2017, 05:14 PM

https://m.popkey.co/f7f4f0/1VRKL.gif

13-05-2017, 05:14 PM

Absolute prick.

He was the one who got Bartley sent off at Stark's Park which was later rescinded. He was also on Twitter that night making suggestive remarks which I took to mean that he had done it deliberately. Also at the first game at Easter Road he was diving all over the place and winding us up after it by smiling and laughing at the fans as he had got away with it.

Wee scroat of a guy who I hope enjoys his journey into League One. :bye:

13-05-2017, 05:15 PM
What did he do? Can't remember!

Also got Marvin sent off earlier in the season ably abetted by the joke ref.

13-05-2017, 05:17 PM

Me too. Copied in skacel because I'm going for the holy trinity of being block by Hearts, Foulkes and Skacel.

OxoHibby
13-05-2017, 05:17 PM
Aha. Ahahahhaha. Hah.
Rudi Skacel is playing division 3..

Could easily make a song out of that
😀

13-05-2017, 05:22 PM
Barrs tweet

Gutter not holding on for win but decent point at easter road! Hope raith fans have a good xmas! Hibs fans not so much😘 #skacel

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

13-05-2017, 05:22 PM
Me too. Copied in skacel because I'm going for the holy trinity of being block by Hearts, Foulkes and Skacel.

Haha wish I thought of copying him in now.

13-05-2017, 05:24 PM
In all seriousness Locke wasting money on Rudi has probably cost them their place in the Championship.

13-05-2017, 05:29 PM
Maybe they shouldn't have sacked Grant Murray. Did they think they could do better?

13-05-2017, 05:32 PM
Maybe they shouldn't have sacked Grant Murray. Did they think they could do better?

He could string a coherent sentence together at least..

13-05-2017, 05:33 PM

Undoubtedly shocking decision

13-05-2017, 05:57 PM
Did Skacel not even have the bottle to take one of their six penalties?

13-05-2017, 05:59 PM

Glad for the wee hun prick.

13-05-2017, 05:59 PM
Did Skacel not even have the bottle to take one of their six penalties?

Never got on.

13-05-2017, 06:07 PM
Never got on.Unused sub in a championship relegation decider.
How are the mighty fallen.

13-05-2017, 06:14 PM
In all seriousness Locke wasting money on Rudi has probably cost them their place in the Championship.
No but sending Vaughan out on loan to make room for Ryan Stevenson certainly did.

13-05-2017, 06:17 PM
Fitba folk ken whits gaun oan

13-05-2017, 06:22 PM
I don't get all the hatred for yogi. A former player and manager who loves the club. I'm still glad Raith went down though. The barman and Barr can get it right up themselves.

13-05-2017, 06:24 PM
RRFC Official‏Verified account @RaithRovers_FC 7m7 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/RaithRovers_FC/status/863458088724160513)

Management team departs http://www.raithrovers.net (https://t.co/jN8dd8juY2)

7 replies 38 retweets 14 likes

HibeeHendo
13-05-2017, 06:24 PM
Yogi sacked.

13-05-2017, 06:25 PM
I don't get all the hatred for yogi. A former player and manager who loves the club. I'm still glad Raith went down though. The barman and Barr can get it right up themselves.

He is just a slaver. I remember being near the dugouts for Murray testimonial and Yogi was talking rubbish about Hibs fans not being happy when he had us 4th.

13-05-2017, 06:27 PM
He is just a slaver. I remember being near the dugouts for Murray testimonial and Yogi was talking rubbish about Hibs fans not being happy when he had us 4th.

I agree he's a slaver.

13-05-2017, 06:32 PM
Might be after the ER kitman's job. Obviously views it as a good career move.

Wonder if he would prance about ER in the buff?

Tam, you could have your work cut out!!!

13-05-2017, 06:33 PM
Yogi sacked.

He was only contracted until the end of the season anyway

Don't get this Yogi hate on here

13-05-2017, 06:34 PM
Hope it was Yogi who told them where to go

13-05-2017, 06:36 PM

Undoubtedly. Feel sorry for the Raith fans that their club has been used this way. I'm sure when Skacel is pulling pints down Gorgie way he will have a good chuckle with his pal Lockey.

Turnbull Hutton must be spinning in his grave.

13-05-2017, 06:40 PM
Wonder if they'll be back in for Grant Murray and if he'd go back?

13-05-2017, 06:42 PM

Hope not, doing a great job here

13-05-2017, 07:04 PM
Gary Locke's updated CV:

Hearts - Relegated
Killie - Relegation playoffs
Raith Rovers - Relegated
Cowdenbeath - Relegation playoffs

13-05-2017, 07:11 PM
Pish record

Edinburgh Green
13-05-2017, 07:19 PM
No but sending Vaughan out on loan to make room for Ryan Stevenson certainly did.

Yip, a really bizarre decision. The raith fan at my work always told me that Vaughan was their best player. His goals pretty much kept Dumbarton up.

vuefrom1875
13-05-2017, 07:20 PM
Absolute prick.

He was the one who got Bartley sent off at Stark's Park which was later rescinded. He was also on Twitter that night making suggestive remarks which I took to mean that he had done it deliberately. Also at the first game at Easter Road he was diving all over the place and winding us up after it by smiling and laughing at the fans as he had got away with it.

Wee scroat of a guy who I hope enjoys his journey into League One. :bye:
Absolutely delighted.

OsloHibs
13-05-2017, 07:27 PM
I don't get all the Yogi hate either. He has Leith running through his veins. I'll always want him to do well.

13-05-2017, 07:32 PM
I don't get all the Yogi hate either. He has Leith running through his veins. I'll always want him to do well.

This. He's a good guy.

13-05-2017, 07:38 PM
Yip, a really bizarre decision. The raith fan at my work always told me that Vaughan was their best player. His goals pretty much kept Dumbarton up.

Word is that Craig Barr took offence after the match re Vaughan's efforts for Dumbarton, apparently Barr felt he shouldn't have played.

Emotions running high I guess if true.

Topographic Hibby
13-05-2017, 08:17 PM
Undoubtedly. Feel sorry for the Raith fans that their club has been used this way........Turnbull Hutton must be spinning in his grave.
I feel genuinely sorry for Raith and their fans for this. Hutton was nearly the only one who stood up and was counted when the Sevco nonsense all kicked off.

If he was still around, we would not be suffering the ongoing nonsense from the SFA or at least he would be making lots of people wriggle and squirm.

And Locke and Co would never have got near his club.

And Raith would still be in the Championship.

A good man lost to Scottish football and his club and supporters are suffering as a result.

13-05-2017, 08:21 PM
I feel genuinely sorry for Raith and their fans for this. Hutton was nearly the only one who stood up and was counted when the Sevco nonsense all kicked off.

If he was still around, we would not be suffering the ongoing nonsense from the SFA or at least he would be making lots of people wriggle and squirm.

And Locke and Co would never have got near his club.

And Raith would still be in the Championship.

A good man lost to Scottish football and his club and supporters are suffering as a result.

Said. :agree:

13-05-2017, 09:40 PM
I don't wish any harm on John Hughes but in my opinion he caused at least some of the problems which lead to them going down.

They had two games left against St Mirren and Ayr and they were above the relegation places following defeat to us when Hughes comes out and says that he would take his chances in the play offs.

What manager worth their salt publicly announces with two games left that he'll be happy with his club finishing in a worse position than they were in at the time of him making the statement? Especially with those two games coming against the two sides directly below his own!

Absolutely incredible statement to come out with and the pish about morals and society that he came out with a few days later after they were humped by St Mirren was just nonsense rambling.

He's got a lot to answer for in my opinion.

13-05-2017, 09:45 PM
Don't see a lot of hatred towards Yogi just more the Hearts reserves that they became and clowns like Barr.

13-05-2017, 09:47 PM
I don't wish any harm on John Hughes but in my opinion he caused at least some of the problems which lead to them going down.

They had two games left against St Mirren and Ayr and they were above the relegation places following defeat to us when Hughes comes out and says that he would take his chances in the play offs.

What manager worth their salt publicly announces with two games left that he'll be happy with his club finishing in a worse position than they were in at the time of him making the statement? Especially with those two games coming against the two sides directly below his own!

Absolutely incredible statement to come out with and the pish about morals and society that he came out with a few days later after they were humped by St Mirren was just nonsense rambling.

He's got a lot to answer for in my opinion.

Wouldn't disagree

connerg
14-05-2017, 02:37 AM
Gary Locke's updated CV:

Hearts - Relegated
Killie - Relegation playoffs
Raith Rovers - Relegated
Cowdenbeath - Relegation playoffs

He also has a League Cup Runners Up medal as a player. Losing 5-1 to Hibs. :faf:

14-05-2017, 02:54 AM
This. He's a good guy.

Yogi was mad to take raith gig. Most likely its finished him for a short term gig

14-05-2017, 08:35 AM
Where's the yogi hate guys?? Is this something if you repeat it enough it becomes a .net truth?? Few people saying he's a slaver...true. But all the hate appears to be directed at Gonzo and the wee hun Barr

14-05-2017, 08:42 AM
He also has a League Cup Runners Up medal as a player. Losing 5-1 to Hibs. :faf:

Brilliant...

14-05-2017, 08:50 AM
Never liked Hughes ever since he set out his Falkirk team at ER to simply boot us off the park. Turned into one of the nastiest non-OF/Hertz games I've seen.

14-05-2017, 09:39 AM
Well done Brechin City. Raith Rovers deserve to go down. They are terrible. Jambo tribute act.

14-05-2017, 09:41 AM

A resounding NO , And that's straight from Grant himself , He was sacked as the chairman wanted a top 4 finish in a league that had hibs hearts and rangers and he delivered there first trophy in 20 years and was shabbily treated imo.

Grant is quite happy where he is and is well respected by Lennon and the backroom staff

Im personally delighted RR are down

14-05-2017, 09:55 AM
Sat in the Raith end when we put them out cup (last minute decision to attend and Hibs end sold out). Was surprised at the ammount of derogatory sectarian abuse directed at us (not me personally). Quite pleased they are down.

ben johnson
14-05-2017, 09:59 AM
Never liked Hughes ever since he set out his Falkirk team at ER to simply boot us off the park. Turned into one of the nastiest non-OF/Hertz games I've seen.

Yes , bang on. Disgrace that day inc Liam Craig sent off and he was a sub. He never got on the park before bring sent off. All orchestrated by Hughes. Disgrace from so called fitba and rumoured Hibs man

14-05-2017, 10:03 AM
Sat in the Raith end when we put them out cup (last minute decision to attend and Hibs end sold out). Was surprised at the ammount of derogatory sectarian abuse directed at us (not me personally). Quite pleased they are down.

I'm not going to tar every single RR supporter with the same brush, but you're right in what you say above about the abuse. It doesn't entirely surprise me though.

A fairly large percentage of RR supporters really don't like Hibs, to put it mildly. That's been my experience in the past.

14-05-2017, 10:08 AM
I'm not going to tar every single RR supporter with the same brush, but you're right in what you say above about the abuse. It doesn't entirely surprise me though.

A fairly large percentage of RR supporters really don't like Hibs, to put it mildly. That's been my experience in the past.

Maybe to do with the fact Raith and Hertz won World War I together.

14-05-2017, 11:16 AM
Maybe to do with the fact Raith and Hertz won World War I together.
Two cheeks same erse[emoji6] this season anyway. Yam tribute act for most of the season. Hopefully they'll sort themselves out as I liked Turnbull Huttons Raith and always saw them as a decent club.

14-05-2017, 11:53 AM
Two cheeks same erse[emoji6] this season anyway. Yam tribute act for most of the season. Hopefully they'll sort themselves out as I liked Turnbull Huttons Raith and always saw them as a decent club.

Yup not forgetting Thomson, McTattie and others couldn't even clap the Hibees onto the park during the guard of honour

14-05-2017, 11:56 AM
Yup not forgetting Thomson, McTattie and others couldn't even clap the Hibees onto the park during the guard of honour
Poor players plummeting towards their level especially McTattie who was much heralded by the yam. He's still got a way to fall.

14-05-2017, 12:20 PM
It was a horrendous decision to appoint JH. Horrendous manager.

14-05-2017, 12:20 PM
Hughes talks big but I bet he's a right bully as a manager. As we know with Mr Butcher, it doesn't work with players who lack confidence.

14-05-2017, 12:35 PM
When Yogi in charge with his 4-2-4 we were completely overun in midfield after 5 mins by every team in the league. Stokes and Riordan saved us only to be on bench for drubbing in Slovenia.

14-05-2017, 12:52 PM
When Yogi in charge with his 4-2-4 we were completely overun in midfield after 5 mins by every team in the league. Stokes and Riordan saved us only to be on bench for drubbing in Slovenia.

That was a ridiculous management decision that ultimately cost us any chance of going through or at least getting an away goal. Liam Miller playing as our furthest forward player was baffling.

Then there was the 6-6 game, laughing and joking on the park at full time after we'd just blown a 4 goal lead in the last 20 minutes. Joke of a manager.