View Full Version : Banner

Johnny Clash
06-05-2017, 08:49 PM
Caught a glimpse of a huge 'Dublin Hibs' banner as the lads exited the East today. Looked great. Any photos of it?

06-05-2017, 08:53 PM
Caught a glimpse of a huge 'Dublin Hibs' banner as the lads exited the East today. Looked great. Any photos of it?

This one was in the West.

Topographic Hibby
06-05-2017, 08:57 PM

That one was above my head at Hampden on 21/5.....

06-05-2017, 08:57 PM

Johnny Clash
06-05-2017, 09:15 PM
Wasn't that one mate - the Dublin one was all green with a huge gold Harp on it. I just saw it briefly as I was leaving the East.

06-05-2017, 09:35 PM
Saw the one in the West, didn't see a Dublin banner at all, great to hear there was one on show today though. From the above description it sounds a good one.

stevie-bee
06-05-2017, 09:35 PM
I thought it was ccs banner ,

06-05-2017, 10:30 PM
I thought it was ccs banner ,

That's what I thought but couldn't make it out, anyway the Dublin boys :aok:

06-05-2017, 10:32 PM
The green white and black Union Flag is a CCS linked banner. I saw pics of a Hibs/ Shamrock Rovers one on show in what looked like the Hibs Club.

The Pointer
07-05-2017, 01:12 AM
Wasn't overly happy with the James Conolly image and content. Leave that to Celtc please.

07-05-2017, 01:31 AM
Wasn't overly happy with the James Conolly image and content. Leave that to Celtc please.

James Connolly was a Hibs fan. As well as a fighter of working class rights - If these guys want a Connolly Hibs Supporters banner then it's fine by me ....

07-05-2017, 01:32 AM

why ? he was a ballboy for Hibernian Football club

and a Hibby

Navids Numpties
07-05-2017, 01:52 AM

That's a CCS flag for all the hibs boys and associated who have died.

07-05-2017, 03:07 AM

Why? Connolly has nothing whatsoever to do with Celtic.

07-05-2017, 05:18 AM

James Connolly flags are very much welcome at Easter Road in my opinion. A great part of Hibs history and a devoted Hibee!

07-05-2017, 05:24 AM
James Connolly was a Hibs fan. As well as a fighter of working class rights - If these guys want a Connolly Hibs Supporters banner then it's fine by me ....

Agree. Greatest ever Hibee, born in Edinburgh and a fighter for the rights of the working class here in the city and the fight for Irish independence.

07-05-2017, 05:59 AM
There's been a few of the Dublin boys drinking in Tamsons recently, usually catching the last plane back over to Dublin on the Saturday.

07-05-2017, 08:32 AM

James Connolly would have been proud last year that his beloved Hibernian at last won the Scottish Cup.
On the 100th anniversary of the Easter Rising,too.
When living in Dublin,James was once asked what he missed about his birthplace.
Top of the list was...... Hibernian.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-05-2017, 08:33 AM
Agree. Greatest ever Hibee, born in Edinburgh and a fighter for the rights of the working class here in the city and the fight for Irish independence.
a great man and a great hibee, we shouldn't feel like we can't celebrate one of our own just because Celtic do as well, if that was the case we'd never have Albert Kidd Day😉

07-05-2017, 08:39 AM

Nonsense. He has got nothing to do with Celtic.

07-05-2017, 08:46 AM
The Connolly flag in the East looked brilliant pre-match.

07-05-2017, 08:52 AM

I loved the James Connolly banner, he came from the very community Hibs were formed to assist. One of my political heroes.
At the risk of being accused of blasphemy though I think Lugton over-egged his Hibs connections.

07-05-2017, 08:59 AM
As a Grassmarket boy and proud descendant of great-grand and grand parents who lived in Little Ireland,Hibernians to a man and woman.
I am proud and moved to see the younger Hibernian fans of today expressing and celebrating our history and roots.
Banners are a way of expressing such and long may that continue.
Like many others, i was delighted and just a wee bit emotional,when our current club badge, particularly with the harp, was designed and adopted.
We have a very unique social and football history,not least the reasons for our foundation.
That should not be lost or denied.

Glory Glory to The Cowgate and St Patrick's:hibees

Jamesconnolly
07-05-2017, 09:01 AM

Spot on!

07-05-2017, 09:06 AM
James Connolly flags are very much welcome at Easter Road in my opinion. A great part of Hibs history and a devoted Hibee!

I agree

07-05-2017, 09:07 AM
I loved the James Connolly banner, he came from the very community Hibs were formed to assist. One of my political heroes.
At the risk of being accused of blasphemy though I think Lugton over-egged his Hibs connections.

Just a tad.

Agree with the rest, banner looked great and James Connolly is a genuine hero of the 'working class'. It's a disgrace that he is so often overlooked, even ignored, in his home city.

Earlydelivery
07-05-2017, 09:18 AM
Absolute fabulous flag :thumbsup:

07-05-2017, 09:24 AM
Just a tad.

Agree with the rest, banner looked great and James Connolly is a genuine hero of the 'working class'. It's a disgrace that he is so often overlooked, even ignored, in his home city.

There was a few councillors back in the 1980s who would have supported a genuine recognition of one of Edinburgh's most famous sons
The establishment and the bigots would have none of it.
Yet they named a square up Lothian Road after a South African freedom fighter.
( and i had no problem with that)

A daughter of the Cowgate,The Venerable Margaret Sinclair, is known and revered world wide.
Yet little recognition in her own City
I can only but guess as to the why ;-)

PS
My maternal grandfather was at school with Margaret and was proud of that.

Jamesconnolly
07-05-2017, 09:32 AM
It's about time James had a statue.

07-05-2017, 09:37 AM
There was a few councillors back in the 1980s who would have supported a genuine recognition of one of Edinburgh's most famous sons

A daughter of the Cowgate,The Venerable Margaret Sinclair, is known and revered world wide.

PS

I suggested Margaret Sinclair may be an appropriate candidate to be put forward for the campaign to have a new statue of a woman commisioned in Edinburgh. This was on social media and my suggestion had one reply: 'no way should it be a pape'. Make of that what you will.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-05-2017, 09:39 AM
I suggested Margaret Sinclair may be an appropriate candidate to be put forward for the campaign to have a new statue of a woman commisioned in Edinburgh. This was on social media and my suggestion had one reply: 'no way should it be a pape'. Make of that what you will.
disgusting, but not overly surprising.

07-05-2017, 10:04 AM

Daft comment. If you know your history, if you don't its worth reading.

If you know anything about Connolly, you would know his work was all about the people who support this club and his image would be welcome.

chewbaccy
07-05-2017, 12:22 PM
The flag is a tribute to CCS boys who are no longer with us.:flag:

chewbaccy
07-05-2017, 12:25 PM
Quite agree- celebrate our history-don't ignore our roots:aok:

07-05-2017, 12:27 PM
The flag is a tribute to CCS boys who are no longer with us.:flag:

I once met the old CCS and sons on a flght Bratislava for a Hibs game. They thought I was undercover police. Only when I was greeted by Kano in the square in Maribor did they relax.

07-05-2017, 12:39 PM
disgusting, but not overly surprising.

Their was talk once she be made a Saint. Did it ever happen ?

07-05-2017, 12:49 PM

Still on going. The procedure can take many years. Hope it happens in my lifetime.
As for James Connolly, not only did he support the Hibs, he was employed to carry the players kit to games. Even in his later life he was apparently depressed whenever Hibs were beaten.
All about opinions, but IMO, the greatest Hibs man of all time.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-05-2017, 12:59 PM
she was announced as "venerable" by Pope Paul VI in 1978, however the cause for her to become a saint still persists, although it can take a long time for the process to be completed.
However, on the topic of James Connolly he was arguably one of the finest politicians of his period and one of my genuine heroes. A true champion of the working classes and without him there may not have been an Irish Republic today, so god bless him as far as I'm concerned.

07-05-2017, 01:11 PM
James Connolly was first and foremost a family man, socialist, trade union activist/organiser,as well as being a great Hibernian supporter;-)
He moved his family to Dublin to take up a trade union job there.
James,of course, became involved in Irish Republicanism and is mostly remembered (and in some quarters demonised) for his leadership in the cause for Irish freedom.
He IS a part of Hibernians history.
The banner depicting Connolly certainly has a place at The Holy Ground.
His early life,social and trade union activity in Edinburgh was certainly in keeping with Hibernian values and aims.

Southsider
On Margaret Sinclair.

Interesting and informative article in the Scotsman just last week

http://www.scotsman.com/200voices/margaret-sinclair/

CathroMustStay
07-05-2017, 01:21 PM
The banner was magnificent.

James Connolly = Scottish and Irish hero, Hibs fan and hater of all injustice

ColinNish
07-05-2017, 03:11 PM

I have heard that too, worked as a kit boy for Hibs for a time but that's about it. Is there any actual evidence that Connelly was a Hibs fan?

07-05-2017, 03:22 PM
I have heard that too, worked as a kit boy for Hibs for a time but that's about it. Is there any actual evidence that Connelly was a Hibs fan?

People that share Connelly's politics will always look for ways to associate him with the club, regardless of how strong his links were.

I'd rather keep politics well away from football, regardless of whether I agree with the views or not. Otherwise we'd be flying both Margo Macdonald and Kezia Dugdale banners.

The Baldmans Comb
07-05-2017, 03:36 PM

A great man who helped form an independent country respected throughout the world as well as fighting for working class rights worldwide.

A Hibs ball boy, born in the Grassmarket a stones throw from where the club was formed.

I cant think of any single more important person in Hibs non playing history.

You are downright weird.

07-05-2017, 03:41 PM
A great man who helped form an independent country respected throughout the world as well as fighting for working class rights worldwide.

A Hibs ball boy, born in the Grassmarket a stones throw from where the club was formed.

I cant think of any single more important person in Hibs non playing history.

You are downright weird.

Think STF takes the most important person. No issue with James Connolly

07-05-2017, 04:01 PM
Its Connolly, not Connelly;-)

There is a wide range of documentation/evidence that James Connolly supported, worked for(paid and unpaid) and followed Hibernian.
There is no evidence that he brought politics to bear in that support for the club,although he was a social justice champion for the working classes of the times.
As was John McLean in Glasgow.
Both in my mind were "working class heroes"

From a young age ,and i am now 65, i was made aware of the History of Hibernian from older relatives who were born(Cowgate area) in the first and second decade of the 20th Century.
I take their word and knowledge, as well as reputable football and social historians (Lugton included), as to James Connolly's connection to Hibernian.

The Connolly family were steeped in St Patrick's Church,Church of the Sacred Heart, the CYMS ,and The Hibernians, as were the majority of Irish Catholics in the Cowgate/Grassmarket area of that time.

Ok..that sounds all very Catholic !

That was the world they lived in as immigrants in the 19th Century.
Shunned by many in the wider Edinburgh community of the day.

Glory! Glory !

07-05-2017, 04:08 PM

Yes and those who know me and my family will confirm that James was indeed a Hibee.

07-05-2017, 04:12 PM
Can anyone show a pic of the flag ?

07-05-2017, 04:22 PM
Can anyone show a pic of the flag ?

That would be nice .
Love to see it.
I could not make the game yesterday (was at the Western, seeing a consultant)
Had my Hibernian polo shirt on though to express my disappointment on getting a Saturday afternoon appointment;-(

ColinNish
07-05-2017, 04:28 PM
Yes and those who know me and my family will confirm that James was indeed a Hibee.

Any links then?

07-05-2017, 04:52 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170507/85337da4913a3d031072d551d16937fc.png

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170507/ea8aa5b9aabe9e84ce6df77dad7929bd.png

These were on Twitter.

07-05-2017, 05:04 PM
Cheers for that. Looks brilliant. GGTTH

07-05-2017, 05:16 PM

These were on Twitter.

07-05-2017, 05:17 PM

PS

Mick, when my Dad was on the council he proposed & it was agreed that a plaque commemorating James Connolly be placed on George 1V bridge at a point overlooking the Cowgate. This was
nearest really visible point to where James' house once stood.
Unfortunately the plaque was constantly defaced & removed until finally it wasn't replaced. My family legend says my grandad, born in 1875 was a great friend of James & travelled with him, assisted in setting up wagons etc for his speeches. James was known as a fervent Hibee in our family, that's good enough for me.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-05-2017, 05:30 PM
Mick, when my Dad was on the council he proposed & it was agreed that a plaque commemorating James Connolly be placed on George 1V bridge at a point overlooking the Cowgate. This was
Unfortunately the plaque was constantly defaced & removed until finally it wasn't replaced. My family legend says my grandad, born in 1875 was a great friend of James & travelled with him, assisted in setting up wagons etc for his speeches. James was known as a fervent Hibee in our family, that's good enough for me.
sure i read somewhere that if the Easter Rising had successfully lead to an Irish Republic in 1916 and he had not been executed he was planning to start a revolution in Scotland too? Not sure on he accuracy of that especially with the size of the protestant (mainly loyalist although probably not all) population in scotland, it would be unlikely he would get anywhere near enough volunteers? Interesting if true though

07-05-2017, 05:52 PM
Apologies for my earlier spelling error.

I'm still seeing nothing to suggest that Connolly was a key figure in Hibs history. He didn't score the winning goal in 1902, didn't play for us for many years and wasn't a successful manager or key committee member of the club.

From what I've read on this thread he helped out for a while in a minor supporting role. His contribution is therefore a long way behind that of Cecil Graham or Tam McCourt, to name just two. All the praise for Connolly is based on his politics, which have nothing to do with football.

07-05-2017, 06:11 PM

I'm still seeing nothing to suggest that Connolly was a key figure in Hibs history. He didn't score the winning goal in 1902, didn't play for us for many years and wasn't a successful manager or key committee member of the club.

From what I've read on this thread he helped out for a while in a minor supporting role. His contribution is therefore a long way behind that of Cecil Graham or Tam McCourt, to name just two. All the praise for Connolly is based on his politics, which have nothing to do with football.

I don't see anyone on here claiming he played a major role in the history of Hibernian Football Club but you are correct in that the praise of him is based on his politics and his active support for the struggles of poor people and the hatred and villification of him solely based on his Irish ancestry/Catholic religion.

However, I think for a Dublin Hibernian Supporters branch there can be no more natural link between us. Born in the Grassmarket/Cowgate area to poor Irish immigrant parents, supported Hibs as a boy and if true was sometimes a ball boy, a fighter against poverty and injustice who was executed as he sat already dying in a chair.

He gets my vote for the Dublin Boys wonderful banner.

07-05-2017, 06:12 PM

Other than you there's no posts on here saying that either. What people are saying is he was a key figure in the history of GB & Ireland in the early 20th century & he was also a keen Hibs supporter. I'm not sure why that should concern you so much.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-05-2017, 06:16 PM

Aye fair point, see if he'd played as many games as the likes of Andy Murray or been a manager like Charlie Reid, then fair enough but you know, he was just another fan🙄

Johnny Clash
07-05-2017, 06:37 PM

There is a wide range of documentation/evidence that James Connolly supported, worked for(paid and unpaid) and followed Hibernian.
There is no evidence that he brought politics to bear in that support for the club,although he was a social justice champion for the working classes of the times.

From a young age ,and i am now 65, i was made aware of the History of Hibernian from older relatives who were born(Cowgate area) in the first and second decade of the 20th Century.
I take their word and knowledge, as well as reputable football and social historians (Lugton included), as to James Connolly's connection to Hibernian.

The Connolly family were steeped in St Patrick's Church,Church of the Sacred Heart, the CYMS ,and The Hibernians, as were the majority of Irish Catholics in the Cowgate/Grassmarket area of that time.

Glory! Glory !

Great post! Also... thanks to others on this thread for posting images.

Saw a few of the Dublin Hibs stickers outside Easter Road when I was up earlier today!

07-05-2017, 06:39 PM

Brog
indeed. Yer dad was a bonny fechter oan the cooncil :greengrin
"Veteran" Labour Councillors and activists i knew later on remembered him well and fondly.

Yes, the plaque did constantly get vandalised.
Love yer family legend, about your grandad.

As i said in an earlier post.
Its wonderful that today's younger supporters are wanting to know so much more about the history of the Club.
Its as much an education in social history as it is football.

You will ,as i do,remember when some at the club would have liked to erase some of that.

One chairman wanted to change our club colours!

Glory Glory ,Brog.

Thank you for the pictures.
I think the Dublin SC banner is a cracker !!
Look forward to seeing it next season, along with the St Patrick's Branch banner.

I cannot get enough of the Hibernian Harp.
I still call the Toby Carvery in Corstorphine.. The Harp !

gillythehibby
07-05-2017, 06:40 PM

I'll take Connolly anyday. Good socialist and Hibby. And lets not forget Scottish. Need mare connolly rememberence !

hibs#1
07-05-2017, 06:42 PM
Needs a song.any Suggestions?👀

gillythehibby
07-05-2017, 06:42 PM
As a Grassmarket boy and proud descendant of great-grand and grand parents who lived in Little Ireland,Hibernians to a man and woman.
I am proud and moved to see the younger Hibernian fans of today expressing and celebrating our history and roots.
Banners are a way of expressing such and long may that continue.
Like many others, i was delighted and just a wee bit emotional,when our current club badge, particularly with the harp, was designed and adopted.
We have a very unique social and football history,not least the reasons for our foundation.
That should not be lost or denied.

Glory Glory to The Cowgate and St Patrick's:hibees

This 👍🇳🇬

07-05-2017, 06:46 PM
I am Scottish and have no family connections to Ireland but I have no problems whatsoever with this. Connolly was and still is a hero to millions. He was born in Scotland and went on to help set up an independent, socialist country free from English rule. He was a Hibernian supporter. I have so much in common with him and am happy for him to be remembered at ER as a Hibby

07-05-2017, 06:46 PM
I'm usually wary of any political stuff at hibs games but Connolly was a hibs supporter who played a big part in Irish history so if hibbies from dublin wish to fly his flag I say fair play to them, they're well entitled. Plus the photo of it looks absolutely fantastic :thumbsup:

07-05-2017, 06:55 PM

There is a famous song dedicated to James Connolly

It is not likely to be sung in the stands at Easter Road, though.

The Dublin Boys might give you an rendition in Tamsons next time they are over :music:

gillythehibby
07-05-2017, 07:08 PM
There is a famous song dedicated to James Connolly

It is not likely to be sung in the stands at Easter Road, though.

The Dublin Boys might give you an rendition in Tamsons next time they are over :music:

Never mind the Dublin boys, I'll sing it for yez 😂👍🇳🇬🇳🇬

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
07-05-2017, 07:41 PM

Glory! Glory !

Good post mate!

ColinNish
07-05-2017, 07:59 PM
Still waiting on this documented evidence other than hearsay that he was a Hibee.

07-05-2017, 08:12 PM
Still waiting on this documented evidence other than hearsay that he was a Hibee.

not an expert...but there are copies of his letters from his travels , as he wrote home he was enquiring as to how the Hibs were doing...lots of history in Lugton's early book about JC and his contemporaries in the early decades of Hibs..

ColinNish
07-05-2017, 08:25 PM
not an expert...but there are copies of his letters from his travels , as he wrote home he was enquiring as to how the Hibs were doing...lots of history in Lugton's early book about JC and his contemporaries in the early decades of Hibs..

Cool, thanks for the info.

07-05-2017, 09:31 PM
Other than you there's no posts on here saying that either. What people are saying is he was a key figure in the history of GB & Ireland in the early 20th century & he was also a keen Hibs supporter. I'm not sure why that should concern you so much.
Last time I looked we were a football club, not a political society.

Let's keep the two separate, or at least leave the political stuff to the Holy Ground and not on the football forum.

07-05-2017, 09:47 PM

Let's keep the two separate, or at least leave the political stuff to the Holy Ground and not on the football forum.

Ah, so a retreat from 'keep it apart from the club' to post about the connection on a different forum.

A couple of more pages of this thread and you'll be cartwheeling down the Falls Road.

I'm sorry but your 'solution' does not address the issue of the banner at Hibs games or the commemoration of Jame Connolly in general

Leith Mo
07-05-2017, 09:51 PM

A large crowd had gathered....

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-05-2017, 09:53 PM
purely to play devils advocate... During the Irish Home Rule campaigns of 1890 Hibs players and staff regularly attended political meetings and protests in favour of Home Rule:na na:
Tend to agree however, but Connolly was a significant part of history and don't see why we should be put off celebrating one of our own just because of a certain team in the west, but thats just me

07-05-2017, 09:53 PM
Ah, so a retreat from 'keep it apart from the club' to post about the connection on a different forum.

A couple of more pages of this thread and you'll be cartwheeling down the Falls Road.

I'm sorry but your 'solution' does not address the issue of the banner at Hibs games or the commemoration of Jame Connolly in general

I'd rather not see banners for political figures at a football ground full stop, but if people want to talk about him on .net then the Holy Ground is the correct place. The discussion on here has nothing to do with football and everything to do with politics.

Would you be happy with a Margo Macdonald or Kezia Dugdale banner? How about a Tory one (assuming any Tories support us)?

Jamesconnolly
07-05-2017, 09:54 PM
James Connolly is a legend and was one of our own

07-05-2017, 10:44 PM
A large crowd had gathered....

...outside of Kilmainham...

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=the+song+james+connolly&qpvt=the+song+james+connolly&view=detail&mid=088B409EA08D934A495A088B409EA08D934A495A&FORM=VRDGAR

08-05-2017, 12:42 AM

These were on Twitter.

Brillant brings a tear to my eye. Love a Connolly Hibs T-shirt.

08-05-2017, 12:48 AM
I'd rather not see banners for political figures at a football ground full stop, but if people want to talk about him on .net then the Holy Ground is the correct place. The discussion on here has nothing to do with football and everything to do with politics.

Would you be happy with a Margo Macdonald or Kezia Dugdale banner? How about a Tory one (assuming any Tories support us)?Uuuhhhmmmm., well,clet's put this into perspective. James Connolly national hero in Ireland, with massive support and connections in Scotland and huge sections of the Southside and East of EDIN. to be blunt. Margo, a massive hero in Scotland including the west of the central belt. Kezia, a labour party person, who will find it hard to make any inwards in a country that used to support her political party .Mr. Connolly also has on his side, the FACT that he was a kit boy, and a supporter of a football club formed in his neighbourhood called Hibernians. End of.

Fisherrow Harp
08-05-2017, 02:15 AM

Indeed👍

Fisherrow Harp
08-05-2017, 02:18 AM
Brillant brings a tear to my eye. Love a Connolly Hibs T-shirt.

Aye I have to agree, fantastic!

08-05-2017, 02:57 AM
James Connolly was a Hibs fan... edinburgh born n bred

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk

08-05-2017, 03:11 AM
Already has one...
James Connolly fell into a ready made grave 🎶🍀🍀🎶

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk

sadtom
08-05-2017, 04:34 AM
Fantastic banner. :thumbsup: more power to yer elbow guys.
As many have already said, an internationally renowned working class hero and one of Edinburgh's greatest ever sons.
A man who fought for the rights of working people, in Scotland, the U.S and in Ireland.
As a known supporter of our club we should be proud to celebrate his name - and not to forget his brother John who, i believe had involvement in the founding of Trades Council in Embra.
Like Hibernian and JC, many Hibs fans will have family roots in the Cowgate. As previously stated, plenty on here will have great grandparents etc, who will have known the man.
It is a disgrace that Connolly's name and deeds are not given the reverence they deserve in his own city. A tragic irony that attempts to elevate JC's memory and profile, have been constantly thwarted by the same bigotry and narrow minded sectarianism that acted as the catalyst for our clubs inception 140 odd years ago.
The powers that be might not want to recognize the man...no doubt preferring to shell out for yet another statue of some inbred tit on a horse or suchlike...It damn well shouldn't stop us shouting his name from the rooftops.

08-05-2017, 04:54 AM

Would you be happy with a Margo Macdonald or Kezia Dugdale banner? How about a Tory one (assuming any Tories support us)?

I respect your view except you retreated from a banner to a forum.

Hibs.Net has absolutely nothing to do with banners.

Stay firm on your objection to to Connolly on a banner at Easter Road if you believe that but do not then try and conflate it with which forum James Connolly should be debated on.

green leaves
08-05-2017, 05:46 AM

Dunno if one of the "miracles" attributed to her was saving Jimmy Savilles life has put things on the back burner

08-05-2017, 08:23 AM
Keep politics out of football, some cried!

In the case of the history of Hibernian FC ,that was not always easy.

Below is a link to a talk by historian Ian Wood to the St Patrick's Branch on

"The Irish of Edinburgh and Hibernian Football Club"

I am sure some will learn more about Hibernian from this video/talk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwRYfXTFOvM

08-05-2017, 08:34 AM
While the thread title is 'banner' this now looks much more like a flag debate.

If a supporters club wants to call itself the James Connolly, Margo MacDonald, Kez Dugdale or anyone else Hibernian Supporters Club then that in my view is entirely up to them. There are certainly Hibernian supporters of all political persuasions from the hard left to hard right and everything in between. The name and the images used say more about what binds that particular group of Hibernian supporters together than anything else.

The Connolly flag shown in this thread is a cracker - as is the CCS one that was displayed in the West Stand.

Once we start tipping over into a discussion about politics - for whatever reason - it really should become a matter for the Holy Ground. All politics has a way of quickly turning divisive, by its nature that is what politics does. At least on the Holy Ground people are choosing to go there to discuss politics etc.

As an aside I don't see how Connolly can be the greatest ever Hibernian. That accolade surely must be a player or manager? Perhaps a separate discussion would be over who is the greatest person ever associated with the club.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
08-05-2017, 08:38 AM
Keep politics out of football, some cried!

In the case of the history of Hibernian FC ,that was not always easy.

Below is a link to a talk by historian Ian Wood to the St Patrick's Branch on

"The Irish of Edinburgh and Hibernian Football Club"

I am sure some will learn more about Hibernian from this video/talk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwRYfXTFOvM

I was taught by him at uni - he was brillant, and i often see hin at Easter Road - top man

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
08-05-2017, 08:40 AM

These were on Twitter.

That flag is an absolute belter!

Good effort boys - looks great

08-05-2017, 11:36 AM

I'm not a huge fan of overplaying Hibs Irish links as anybody who has seen my posts on the subject will know .... not because I am in any way down on them, but simply because I think of Hibs as a Scottish club with Irish roots and I don't want us to be like Celtic who appear to see themselves not as a Scottish club with Irish roots, but as an Irish club stuck in Scotland ..... not something I want for Hibs.

But having said that ..... If these guys are Dublin Hibs fans I cant see anything wrong with them paying homage to an Irish hero on their flag who not only had links to Hibs but also to Edinburgh and Dublin. If James Connolly had made the same impact in any other country's fight against oppression and social injustice than Ireland's there would be a statue to him up in Princes street and tourist guide books to 'historic Edinburgh' would feature him prominently.

Unfortunately the controversy that would cause amongst the Edinburgh establishment mean its never gonna' happen.

08-05-2017, 12:21 PM
I'm not a huge fan of overplaying Hibs Irish links as anybody who has seen my posts on the subject will know .... not because I am in any way down on them, but simply because I think of Hibs as a Scottish club with Irish roots and I don't want us to be like Celtic who appear to see themselves not as a Scottish club with Irish roots, but as an Irish club stuck in Scotland ..... not something I want for Hibs.

But having said that ..... If these guys are Dublin Hibs fans I cant see anything wrong with them paying homage to an Irish hero on their flag who not only had links to Hibs but also to Edinburgh and Dublin. If James Connolly had made the same impact in any other country's fight against oppression and social injustice than Ireland's there would be a statue to him up in Princes street and tourist guide books to 'historic Edinburgh' would feature him prominently.

Unfortunately the controversy that would cause amongst the Edinburgh establishment mean its never gonna' happen.

This is where I am, and I also completely recognise him as a Hibernian fan whatever he happened to do in his life outwith Hibs.

08-05-2017, 12:37 PM
Connolly has nothing to do with Celtic, let's get that straight.

Forthview
08-05-2017, 12:41 PM
That flag is an absolute belter!

Good effort boys - looks great

That's a beautiful sight.

AndyM_1875
08-05-2017, 12:49 PM
I thought the Connolly banner from Dublin Hibs was superb and I also like the In Memorium flag that Mr B and his chums displayed from the West in tribute to absent friends.
Both excellent and welcome as part of the fabric of our wonderful club.

Johnny Clash
08-05-2017, 04:22 PM

A few years ago I was given a tour of the rebuilt Liberty Hall (Connolly's HQ shelled by a British gunship moored on the river Liffey) by the Irish Transport Workers Union (now called SIPTU) - who James Connolly had been an organiser for. They have some cracking portraits of James that I'd never seen before. Anyway, as I was about to give my 'Connolly was a proud Hibby' speech when their General Secretary said 'of course, like you, Connolly also supported Hibs". In fact all Siptu activists and officials I spoke to knew about Connolly's love for Hibs. I was well impressed.

08-05-2017, 04:23 PM
Ill second that.

08-05-2017, 04:45 PM
If James Connolly had made the same impact in any other country's fight against oppression and social injustice than Ireland's there would be a statue to him up in Princes street and tourist guide books to 'historic Edinburgh' would feature him prominently.

The "Edinburgh Establishment" excel in parochialism so never mind, there's already a beautiful statue of Connolly in Dublin.

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-05-2017, 06:14 PM
The "Edinburgh Establishment" excel in parochialism so never mind, there's already a beautiful statue of Connolly in Dublin.

brilliant tribute to the man, however he's more than deserving of proper recognition in his home town and it's well over due in my book

Johnny Clash
08-05-2017, 06:35 PM

A few years ago I was given a tour of the rebuilt Liberty Hall (Connolly's HQ shelled by a British gunship moored on the river Liffey) by the Irish Transport Workers Union (now called SIPTU) - who James Connolly had been an organiser for. They have some cracking portraits of James that I'd never seen before. Anyway, as I was about to give my 'Connolly was a proud Hibby' speech their General Secretary said 'of course, like you, Connolly also supported Hibs". In fact all Siptu activists and officials I spoke to knew about Connolly's love for Hibs. I was well impressed.

08-05-2017, 07:00 PM
After four pages everyone has agreed that Connolly was a good man committed to both socialism and Irish independence, who happened to support Hibs.

No-one has provided any evidence that his contribution to Hibernian FOOTBALL Club was any greater than that of thousands of players, hundreds of staff or dozens of managers and directors.

So it's very clear that the banner was a result of Connolly's politics and not what he did for Hibs.

I'm a great believer in keeping sport and politics separate because sport should be inclusive and politics is divisive. Anyone questioning that should consider how they would regard a banner referencing Connolly had he been a fascist who favoured the use of violence to oppose Irish independence.

So I'm comfortable saying that any political banner at Easter Road is inappropriate, regardless of who is featured, and that a discussion about someone's political beliefs belongs on the Holy Ground and not the football forum.

I'll now ignore the rest of this thread.

hibs#1
08-05-2017, 07:09 PM
After four pages everyone has agreed that Connolly was a good man committed to both socialism and Irish independence, who happened to support Hibs.

No-one has provided any evidence that his contribution to Hibernian FOOTBALL Club was any greater than that of thousands of players, hundreds of staff or dozens of managers and directors.

So it's very clear that the banner was a result of Connolly's politics and not what he did for Hibs.

I'm a great believer in keeping sport and politics separate because sport should be inclusive and politics is divisive. Anyone questioning that should consider how they would regard a banner referencing Connolly had he been a fascist who favoured the use of violence to oppose Irish independence.

So I'm comfortable saying that any political banner at Easter Road is inappropriate, regardless of who is featured, and that a discussion about someone's political beliefs belongs on the Holy Ground and not the football forum.

It'll annoy the huns though🤔

08-05-2017, 07:10 PM

These were on Twitter.

Superb :aok:

A great man and one of our own. Connolly deserves our remembrance, and the name of the supporters club is the James Connolly, after all. It's hardly surprising an Irish branch would be named after him.

08-05-2017, 07:21 PM

These were on Twitter.

Brilliant flag.

Welcome home guys.:aok:

vercol36
08-05-2017, 07:39 PM
On a side note...does anyone know how to get in touch with these guys? I moved to Dublin in October and sent an email to irishhibees@mail.com (which is meant to be the email address for the Dublin supporters club) but no answer still! Would be good to have a group of folk to watch the games with, as my girlfriend can't take it much longer.

08-05-2017, 08:00 PM
It'll annoy the huns though��

More exuberance ,please!

Seriously though,Connolly was above that nonsense.
Not a sectarian or bigoted bone in his body.

It is appropriate for Hibernian and fans to recognise James as a Hibernian.

His contribution to the cause of Irish Independence is, of course, well documented.

Let us also remember this brave man and his contribution to "Little Ireland" in Edinburgh and his love for Hibernian Football Club.

The Dublin Supporters banner at Easter Road has led to this current debate.

I welcome the Dublin Hibernians and the banner they brought to The Holy Ground.

And my family. here and gone. would also be proud of that.

Haste ye back, The Dubliners !

Erin go Bragh !

If you know your history !

08-05-2017, 08:37 PM

The discussion in this thread has more to do with Hibs than politics imo. That's why it hasn't been moved.

If there had been an andy murray flag on display I doubt a thread about it would be moved to the other sports sub-forum, even if some non-tennis fans wanted it to be.

08-05-2017, 08:44 PM

These were on Twitter.

Cracking flag:not worth

12-05-2017, 11:36 PM
This article from the Irish Post is almost a year old but the news passed me by:

http://irishpost.co.uk/football-fan-erects-plaque-outside-hibernian-fc-ground-honor-irish-republican-rebel-james-connolly/

vuefrom1875
13-05-2017, 10:32 AM
Spot on!

Never forget your HISTORY 🍀