RIP Bestie
10-05-2017, 08:29 PM
You'll need 17 new signings to challenge Celtic you absolute dreamer haha

Which would be UNREALISTIC.

Mantis Toboggan
10-05-2017, 08:36 PM

No need to shout!
I would take to your point tbf. Would be surprised if we go straight to challenging for second. Even when we came up with Sauzee and Latapy we only came sixth the first year back

10-05-2017, 11:57 PM

17 players is only 2 signing windows if we adopt our poor neighbours strategy.

Be disappointed if anyone connected with this club thought Aberdeen are too far above us to challenge. They are ok, but nothing special.

Of course, all comes down to who we have next season but I am hoping Lennon comes up with a couple of exciting additions to the squad.

:flag::flag:

houstonhibbee
11-05-2017, 12:09 AM
I think we can challenge every team on a one on one which our cup runs have shown however that doesn't mean at the first time of asking we will have the necessary consistency over the season

Big L
11-05-2017, 12:19 AM
17 players is only 2 signing windows if we adopt our poor neighbours strategy.

Be disappointed if anyone connected with this club thought Aberdeen are too far above us to challenge. They are ok, but nothing special.

Of course, all comes down to who we have next season but I am hoping Lennon comes up with a couple of exciting additions to the squad.

:flag::flag:

Dons will be losing a few players soon, Jack and possibly Hayes. That's maybe why they wanted Maloney.

11-05-2017, 12:31 AM
I think we can challenge every team on a one on one which our cup runs have shown however that doesn't mean at the first time of asking we will have the necessary consistency over the season

Does not mean we definitely won't have the necessary consistency. As many others on here have stressed, IF (Sorry BH for shouting) we strengthen and improve our squad then I don't really see what difference the first year or second year makes at all. It is all about who leaves and who we get in.

Indeed, maybe the first year back in the top flight results in a 'bounce'. Hearts second year has not been an improvement. Hamiltons best year in the top flight I think was their first year up. Possibly even Dundees. I am too lazy to check but regardless it is all about what happens with the squad. If we improve we should not limit ourselves to consolidating top flight status or just scraping a top 6 finish. But, if for any reason the players we would all like to see to come in do not then we might have to temper our enthusiasm.

I just feel optimistic that good things are going to happen. Great season ticket sales, a manager who I think will thrive in that division, a new and upbeat stewardship of the club. Some settled players like McGregor, Stevenson, Gray, Bartley.

Bring it on :greengrin

22-06-2017, 08:18 PM
Whittaker is pretty much done and dusted.

22-06-2017, 08:21 PM
Excellent news.

22-06-2017, 08:21 PM
Aren’t we just waiting on his contract to expire?

22-06-2017, 08:25 PM

👍

22-06-2017, 08:27 PM
Aren’t we just waiting on his contract to expire?

Probably a factor, but terms would still need to be agreed. Good news if true!

Pete70
22-06-2017, 08:31 PM
I wouldn't be too unhappy if he signed but I don't see where he would fit in or see him as a priority. I would rather we got a couple of strikers in first.

22-06-2017, 09:59 PM
Aye, but to which team ?

22-06-2017, 10:19 PM
1st place is unrealistic, and i also dont think we will make 2nd place, but with the right signings we could challenge Aberdeen for 2nd place.

Would you say thats unrealistic, or are you just being a dick for the sake of it?:rolleyes:

McInnes is staying but he's lost quite a few key players this summer.

It's all to play for and Lennon isn't being shy about his ambition.

23-06-2017, 02:17 AM
I wouldn't be too unhappy if he signed but I don't see where he would fit in or see him as a priority. I would rather we got a couple of strikers in first.

Right back.

23-06-2017, 05:26 AM
1st is achievable and would be classed as a Leicester type miracle. 2nd would be less of a miracle but still amazing.

It's really not. Second is though! But being honest jumping up a league it's about staying up (which we will) then we'll aim too six (which we'll get) then it's just about doing what we can from there.

I'm looking forward to it though that's for sure.

23-06-2017, 06:47 AM
It's really not. Second is though! But being honest jumping up a league it's about staying up (which we will) then we'll aim too six (which we'll get) then it's just about doing what we can from there.

I'm looking forward to it though that's for sure.

Finishing above the yams is very important as well as maintaining our unbeaten run against them.

23-06-2017, 07:04 AM
Finishing above the yams is very important as well as maintaining our unbeaten run against them.

:agree:maintaining and extending our domination over them is a priority

23-06-2017, 07:08 AM
2nd is the goal but difficult to achieve, I think top 4 should be achievable, not withstanding any serious injury crisis. I know we've just come up but we've argued we've had a better squad than most SPFL teams for a few seasons now and there aren't many players from those other teams I'd take in place of those in our squad.

Obviously we're light on numbers just now but there are signings still to come, that's a certainty. The quality of those will give us a realistic idea of where in the top 6 we should be looking to finish. Agree that above Hearts is a must, ideally above Rangers too.

23-06-2017, 07:19 AM

Yep, couldn't agree more. 👍🏼

23-06-2017, 10:36 AM

I agree. No point in continuing to dominate them in games but failing to finish above them.

23-06-2017, 11:17 AM

Gubbing them every game preferably.

24-06-2017, 06:53 PM
So is he signing or not?

MacGruber
25-06-2017, 10:53 PM
So is he signing or not?

Yeah i think so, but he hasn't quite yet... I don't think.
So in summary before somebody else chips in, I don't know. On Friday he never said. Just said Lafferty was going to meet Budget and was coy on Hibs.

26-06-2017, 07:30 AM
Just said Lafferty was going to meet Budget and was coy on Hibs.

I'm not sure if Budget is a typo or intentional but it's a great nickname for the current Hearts owner

MacGruber
26-06-2017, 07:54 AM
I'm not sure if Budget is a typo or intentional but it's a great nickname for the current Hearts owner

Haha - true. Bit of both then :)

26-06-2017, 06:11 PM
Looks like Hearts are signing some right back from Peterborough. Surely boosts our chances of getting Whittaker.

26-06-2017, 06:14 PM
Looks like Hearts are signing some right back from Peterborough. Surely boosts our chances of getting Whittaker.

SW will be a hibs player for the coming season.

IF i'm wrong you can boot me off here Admin lol :greengrin

This deal is a 100% over the line

26-06-2017, 06:15 PM

Hearts have so much fans in the world they usually sign a player for each position for each stand.

26-06-2017, 06:20 PM
Heard he has signed this afternoon.

Not sure when it will be announced though.

26-06-2017, 06:24 PM

His Norwich City contract officially expires this Friday.

26-06-2017, 07:04 PM
His Norwich City contract officially expires this Friday.

Let's wait and see..

26-06-2017, 07:53 PM

3 weeks on Thurs probably 👍😂

26-06-2017, 09:38 PM
You know, everybody's wetting their knickers about us possibly signing a 33 year old and an ex-Rangers huddy. Sorry but I'm not on this train. I'd far rather see some of our young players break through and blossom the way Deek, Broony and the rest did. Fwiw, I thought Sammy was going to make it with us, likewise Calum Booth. Both showed a lot of early promise.

26-06-2017, 09:45 PM
You know, everybody's wetting their knickers about us possibly signing a 33 year old and an ex-Rangers huddy. Sorry but I'm not on this train. I'd far rather see some of our young players break through and blossom the way Deek, Broony and the rest did. Fwiw, I thought Sammy was going to make it with us, likewise Calum Booth. Both showed a lot of early promise.Agreed . If we sign SW fine but if we don`t fine as well . Would rather see us sign a hungry player 10 or 12 years younger . Is Paul Dixon still at Dundee United or was Scobbie signed to replace him ? The Morton left back Mark Russell ? Or maybe someone from much further afield .

26-06-2017, 09:47 PM
You know, everybody's wetting their knickers about us possibly signing a 33 year old and an ex-Rangers huddy. Sorry but I'm not on this train. I'd far rather see some of our young players break through and blossom the way Deek, Broony and the rest did. Fwiw, I thought Sammy was going to make it with us, likewise Calum Booth. Both showed a lot of early promise.

Ex Rangers huddy? Wow. He is one of, if not the best right backs we've had in absolutely ages and won a cup with us. Show him a touch of respect ffs.

26-06-2017, 09:48 PM
Ex Rangers huddy? Wow. He is one of, if not the best right backs we've had in absolutely ages and won a cup with us. Show him a touch of respect ffs.

He's talking about Lafferty.

26-06-2017, 09:49 PM

A huddy?? 😂 Get real!

26-06-2017, 09:50 PM

No he isn't. Lafferty is 29.

26-06-2017, 09:50 PM

No he's not. Lafferty is not 33.

26-06-2017, 09:51 PM
No he isn't. Lafferty is 29.

Think he was referring to both players.

26-06-2017, 09:51 PM
No he's not. Lafferty is not 33.

Signing a 33 year old AND an ex-Rangers huddy. 2 separate entities.

If he'd said a 33 year old ex-Rangers huddy, then yeah. People are antsy just now eh.

26-06-2017, 09:54 PM
Agreed . If we sign SW fine but if we don`t fine as well . Would rather see us sign a hungry player 10 or 12 years younger . Is Paul Dixon still at Dundee United or was Scobbie signed to replace him ? The Morton left back Mark Russell ? Or maybe someone from much further afield .

Paul Dixon is now pretty much garbage

Sam didnt or hasnt made it because he isnt (yet) and possibly never will be good enough

Same goes for pretty much every other youngster who didnt make it at Hibs

Id rather we had good players, regardless of age

Whittaker is still a more than decent signing

How many years did he have in the EPL/Championship

26-06-2017, 09:57 PM
Signing a 33 year old AND an ex-Rangers huddy. 2 separate entities.

If he'd said a 33 year old ex-Rangers huddy, then yeah. People are antsy just now eh.

Then I've thoroughly misread and jumped in with both feet like a dafty. Apologies all round.

26-06-2017, 09:58 PM
Dont see Whitty age a problem looks like taken care of self and good player at SPL level with experience of higher level and our club. I dont see him as critical signing however if returning Scotland rather played for us than them. Folk wet pants about Mixu signing JJ this looks a much better fit.

26-06-2017, 09:59 PM
Then I've thoroughly misread and jumped in with both feet like a dafty. Apologies all round.

A transfer drought like we're currently going through will break the strongest man. Not that I'm one to overreact like.

26-06-2017, 10:06 PM
Paul Dixon is now pretty much garbage

Sam didnt or hasnt made it because he isnt (yet) and possibly never will be good enough

Same goes for pretty much every other youngster who didnt make it at Hibs

Id rather we had good players, regardless of age

Whittaker is still a more than decent signing

How many years did he have in the EPL/Championship

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYou may be right about Dixon . He looked okay in televised games I saw last season but if we`re looking to challenge for top 4 we should be looking for someone to replace Lewis not someone to step in from time to time . Whittaker might be a good signing though I wonder how many people are basing their opinion on what he was like when at Hibs before or at Rangers rather than last season . Also a younger player might have sell on value .

26-06-2017, 10:40 PM
You may be right about Dixon . He looked okay in televised games I saw last season but if we`re looking to challenge for top 4 we should be looking for someone to replace Lewis not someone to step in from time to time . Whittaker might be a good signing though I wonder how many people are basing their opinion on what he was like when at Hibs before or at Rangers rather than last season . Also a younger player might have sell on value .

Dixon was never near level of whitty and all signings are a gamble. Jim Leighton and Sauzee were finished when they came to Hibs. If he signs we dont know Lennons plans for place in team or even that he just wants to have as cover. West ham just let go left back they paid hamilton 1.75 million for maybe he is worth a try if available to try rebuild career like Allen Fyvie.

26-06-2017, 10:40 PM
Are some folk seriously questioning the signing of Whittaker?! If it happens that is.

MartinfaePorty
26-06-2017, 10:49 PM
Dixon was never near level of whitty and all signings are a gamble. Jim Leighton and Sauzee were finished when they came to Hibs. If he signs we dont know Lennons plans for place in team or even that he just wants to have as cover. West ham just let go left back they paid hamilton 1.75 million for maybe he is worth a try if available to try rebuild career like Allen Fyvie.
I'll let others answer re Le God, but we got a great 5 years out of Jim Leighton who then went on to join Aberdeen and play, albeit very briefly, in a Scottish Cup Final with them.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

26-06-2017, 10:50 PM
I'll let others answer re Le God, but we got a great 5 years out of Jim Leighton who then went on to join Aberdeen and play, albeit very briefly, in a Scottish Cup Final with them.

Sorry meant were meant to be finished.

MartinfaePorty
26-06-2017, 10:52 PM
Sorry, I re-read that after I posted and realised what you meant! Fair point.

26-06-2017, 10:52 PM

And turned out just fine. Leighton wasnt getting his game at Dundee

26-06-2017, 10:53 PM
Are some folk seriously questioning the signing of Whittaker?! If it happens that is.

Yep, they're out there. Wait till you see the amount of positive praising threads throughout the year if he signs! The guy would greatly improve us and would be a bit of a coup

26-06-2017, 10:58 PM
IMO if we are trying to sign players like SW then that for me makes 2nd place possible.

26-06-2017, 10:59 PM
Yep, they're out there. Wait till you see the amount of positive praising threads throughout the year if he signs! The guy would greatly improve us and would be a bit of a coup
It's not just Whittaker - every single player we're linked with has some people up in arms. It's incredible. I'm not sure what some people's expectations are....other than unrealistic.

27-06-2017, 01:37 AM
It's not just Whittaker - every single player we're linked with has some people up in arms. It's incredible. I'm not sure what some people's expectations are....other than unrealistic.

As with the Lafferty pursuit.

Easy for people to complain about the signings of specific individuals....butvIndon't see many serious alternatives proposed.

From what I can see as far as strikers go anyway, there ain't many good ones available on our budget.

If there is let Hibs know.......

27-06-2017, 02:01 AM
A transfer drought like we're currently going through will break the strongest man. Not that I'm one to overreact like.

Haha. A transfer drought, hardly. Rangers apart, has any other side signed more than us in our league?

27-06-2017, 04:58 AM
Agreed . If we sign SW fine but if we don`t fine as well . Would rather see us sign a hungry player 10 or 12 years younger . Is Paul Dixon still at Dundee United or was Scobbie signed to replace him ? The Morton left back Mark Russell ? Or maybe someone from much further afield .

Dixon is 30, and has been poor in his second spell at United. Why would he be preferable to Whittaker?

If a younger player is coming through, I also don't see this sort of signing stopping them long term due to Whittaker's age.

27-06-2017, 07:38 AM

It's true! Someone like Whittaker would be a big name signing to help us establish ourselves in the SPL.

I don't want us going straight back down again and guys like him will help guard against that happening.

27-06-2017, 07:41 AM
Dixon is 30, and has been poor in his second spell at United. Why would he be preferable to Whittaker?

If a younger player is coming through, I also don't see this sort of signing stopping them long term due to Whittaker's age.

:agree: An experienced international player will also be invaluable in helping to develop young players. Win win.

27-06-2017, 07:42 AM
Haha. A transfer drought, hardly. Rangers apart, has any other side signed more than us in our league?

Motherwell maybe, but I can't remember the names of the players, they were that good. :greengrin

27-06-2017, 08:21 AM
Phew . That saved a ten pager :)

27-06-2017, 08:48 AM
Steven Whittaker still has a good couple of season left in him at our level, i think he's better than Gray, and would fit in at right back very easily.

He'd also cover for left back and a couple of positions further forward in midfield.

I hope we do sign him, as he is the type of player we need to help us consolidate and hopefully push on as a real challenger for a top 4 finish.

28-06-2017, 10:13 AM
Incredibly I've just met him in Dubai

Nice guy

28-06-2017, 10:14 AM

Nice guy

And........

scuttle
28-06-2017, 10:30 AM

Nice guy

Did you no ask him if he was signing ?

Salt N Sauzee
28-06-2017, 10:39 AM

Nice guy

Is he aye?

Cause that's the kind of info we're wanting...

28-06-2017, 10:46 AM

Nice guy

Should he not be training

28-06-2017, 10:49 AM
This place is unbearable just now.

Tobias Funke
28-06-2017, 10:53 AM

Honestly cant think of a time where I have least enjoyed reading the main forum. The moron count is at record levels.

28-06-2017, 10:54 AM

Absolutely

28-06-2017, 10:55 AM

Honestly cant think of a time where I have least enjoyed reading the main forum. The moron count is at record levels.

PM board ain't much better.

Corstorphine Hibby
28-06-2017, 11:02 AM

The darkest hour is before the dawn ?

28-06-2017, 11:04 AM
Is this the longest "done deal" without actually being a deal? It seems so have been a "done deal" for about three weeks.

28-06-2017, 11:19 AM
Is he aye?

Cause that's the kind of info we're wanting...

😂👌

28-06-2017, 11:40 AM

Nice guy

Is it true that people from Dubai don't like the Flintstones? But the people from Abu Dhabi do?

Mikeystewart
28-06-2017, 11:43 AM
Is it true that people from Dubai don't like the Flintstones? But the people from Abu Dhabi do?
[emoji52][emoji595]

28-06-2017, 11:45 AM

Have to agree. People are getting tetchy at the smallest thing. JC going and a bid for SJM plus no recent signings has got everybody on edge!

28-06-2017, 11:50 AM
Is this the longest "done deal" without actually being a deal? It seems so have been a "done deal" for about three weeks.

Nah the Hendo done deal has just had it's first birthday.

28-06-2017, 11:54 AM

It's not done. Clearly.

Nah the Hendo done deal has just had it's first birthday.

What about Commons? :rolleyes:

28-06-2017, 12:02 PM
It's not done. Clearly.

What about Commons? :rolleyes:

That one is just round the corner... :greengrin

28-06-2017, 12:06 PM

:greengrin:aok:

28-06-2017, 12:47 PM

No, Whittaker to rangers was even worse.

RamblingJack
28-06-2017, 01:07 PM
Is this the peoples front of Judea?

28-06-2017, 01:11 PM

I hate pre season, bring back the ****ing football 😭😭😭

28-06-2017, 01:43 PM
Is this the peoples front of Judea?

Splitters!

28-06-2017, 01:55 PM
its quite sidesplitting some of the posts on here, folk getting their knickers in a twist about not making enough signings etc,,, jees, my Dutch club only have 13-14 players on their books and three of them are goalkeepers, nobody here is panicking, mind you, weve been struggling for a while but the windaes open for a wee while yet.
As long as Hibs dont sign unfit players but decent players that are ready to go I will be happy. Need tae get off tae a flyer against Thistle.
Why do I have the feeling we will get 3 million for McGinn and then sign Stokes.:wink:

Ken
28-06-2017, 06:52 PM
Whittaker is a done deal. Official announcement before the weekend

28-06-2017, 07:05 PM

I like your style - which weekend?

28-06-2017, 07:11 PM
Believe it when i see it.

28-06-2017, 07:16 PM
Is it just me that isn't that bothered about Whittikar? Think I'd rather a young energetic right back to compete with SDG

28-06-2017, 07:19 PM
its quite sidesplitting some of the posts on here, folk getting their knickers in a twist about not making enough signings etc,,, jees, my Dutch club only have 13-14 players on their books and three of them are goalkeepers, nobody here is panicking, mind you, weve been struggling for a while but the windaes open for a wee while yet.
As long as Hibs dont sign unfit players but decent players that are ready to go I will be happy. Need tae get off tae a flyer against Thistle.
Why do I have the feeling we will get 3 million for McGinn and then sign Stokes.:wink:

My thoughts exactly. It's ridiculous the season starts so early that's a discussion for another day. It's holiday time and I just don't get people getting all worked up over transfer stories. We enquired about Lafferty but only because he wanted to speak to us and probably increased his salary. We hopefully will have Marciano and whittaker confirmed which along with swanson,ambrose and Murray isn't a bad window to me. Getting the right strikers is the tricky bit and we shall wait and see what happens. As for sjm,what will be will be. I'm sure hibs have a figure in mind they will listen to but until that's reached there is no point having endless pontification over it. The money from Cummings I'm sure means we will be competitive in getting players so I'm not worried on that score. The fact that Lafferty spoke to us shows the pull our manager has. Let's enjoy the break and although the league cup is important the main thing in my eyes is having the team in place for the Partick game. Im sure we have enough in the squad to qualify from our group in the league cup.

28-06-2017, 07:28 PM
Is it just me that isn't that bothered about Whittikar? Think I'd rather a young energetic right back to compete with SDG

I think he could be a very good effective signing to improve the squad but it's certainly not one to get the pulses racing.

28-06-2017, 07:34 PM
Anyway that was a long flight.

Only a personal opinion but from our chat I don't see it happening. I mentioned there was a mega thread on him, he said he was surprised to hear that

He did say however that all his options are still open

28-06-2017, 07:35 PM
I want Whittaker in asap. I'd be gutted if Hearts got him. They'd be fairly loving it if they managed Laffterty and Whittaker from us. For what it's worth I think Ambrose and Mcgregor will absolutely stroll it against Lafferty, but Whittaker can do damage further forward as well as being effective at the back. Will be a good piece of the puzzle to have!

28-06-2017, 07:39 PM
I want Whittaker in asap. I'd be gutted if Hearts got him. They'd be fairly loving it if they managed Laffterty and Whittaker from us. For what it's worth I think Ambrose and Mcgregor will absolutely stroll it against Lafferty, but Whittaker can do damage further forward as well as being effective at the back. Will be a good piece of the puzzle to have!

Think Hearts are signing a right back from Peterborough so you'd think that rules them out.

Nemo
28-06-2017, 07:50 PM

me too

Too slow and ponderous for my liking

28-06-2017, 07:50 PM

No it's not and no it won't.

28-06-2017, 07:52 PM

Ken kens.

28-06-2017, 07:55 PM
Henderson played part of Celtic's friendly in Austria tonight. So I doubt it's a done deal to us or Aberdeen

Ken
28-06-2017, 08:52 PM
No it's not and no it won't.

Just a hunch or have you heard something different?

28-06-2017, 09:32 PM
Think he is currently on holiday in Mexico.

The Captain....
28-06-2017, 09:53 PM

I really enjoyed watching Whittaker first time round....his energy and pace were his major assets imo. In the, all be it few occasions, I have seen him in the past couple of years he didn't show much..I suppose it comes down to his desire...it all seems too cosy, him coming back to edinburgh to be near family. I want hungry players ready to bust a gut. Whittaker may turn out to be that but I have some doubts tbh too.

Thats if we're anywhere near signing him, which I also doubt.

28-06-2017, 10:04 PM
Think he is currently on holiday in Mexico.

Dubai isn't it? Back on Sunday?

28-06-2017, 10:06 PM
I really enjoyed watching Whittaker first time round....his energy and pace were his major assets imo. In the, all be it few occasions, I have seen him in the past couple of years he didn't show much..I suppose it comes down to his desire...it all seems to cosy, him coming back to edinburgh to be near family. I want hungry players ready to bust a gut. Whittaker may turn out to be that but I have some doubts tbh too.

Thats if we're anywhere near signing him, which I also doubt.Agree . Most people who hope we sign him are probably remembering what he was like with us a long time ago now or on odd occasions for Scotland also a while ago now I presume . If we sign him and he`s still fit and motivated great but I`d like to think we`ve looked at a lot of alternatives first . Presumably we have someone in charge of scouting and scouts or at least contacts in many parts of Europe ensuring our signing targets are not limited to former players , players NL knows and others whose agents approach us .

28-06-2017, 10:59 PM
We appear to be the only team who can't sign anyone until the player, the manager, the chief executive, the playing squad, the groundsman and the player's wife's cousin's stepfather's dog are all back from holiday.

29-06-2017, 05:52 AM
Dubai isn't it? Back on Sunday?

He's already home.

Where did Mexico come from ha

polarbear
29-06-2017, 06:04 AM
I think he's a decent signing but not sure that we need him.

MacGruber
29-06-2017, 06:12 AM
I think he's a decent signing but not sure that we need him.

He's not signed.
I think he will/is on the verge.
He has gone quiet so no updates from him in the last week.
Only update since he went on hols was him saying about Lafferty talking to Hearts.
Last snippet I got from family was Monday.
,'Don't worry mate, he's signing for Hibs'
Sounded good. A bit concerned his mate has just pitched up with them but hopefully not.
Think we are very close but nothing signed.
Of course it may have changed in the last day or 2.

29-06-2017, 06:30 AM

Do you often make things up, Ken?

29-06-2017, 06:37 AM

5pm announcement I heard....from his dad.

29-06-2017, 06:46 AM
5pm announcement I heard....from his dad.

There's nothing to suggest that isn't the case. 150k is the figure I'm hearing.

Slim Shady
29-06-2017, 06:46 AM
Ken's Dad Kens Ken

Marco G
29-06-2017, 06:58 AM
There's nothing to suggest that isn't the case. 150k is the figure I'm hearing.
Signing on fee? - cause he was released by Norwich! [emoji81]

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

29-06-2017, 08:20 AM
Signing on fee? - cause he was released by Norwich! [emoji81]

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

Golden hellos are done all the time in fitba

29-06-2017, 08:44 AM
I don't get the impression he's going to sign. He could've signed weeks ago.

29-06-2017, 09:36 AM
I don't get the impression he's going to sign. He could've signed weeks ago.

He could also have signed for someone else weeks ago. Keep the faith.

29-06-2017, 10:54 AM
To be honest I could take or leave Steven Whittaker

I know him and his family from years back and thought he was a great player for us first time around.

I have no doubt he will still be more than decent however my personal priorities for recruitment would be forwards and midfield, (presuming Rocky has / will sign) not some full back who we could maybe convert to midfield.

Gray is an adequate enough full back for our requirements.

It concerns me that we may blast a big part of the budget on him to the detriment of these areas.

I am also concerned at how relatively little football he has played since moving to Norwich. You could interpret that's as a guy quite happy to sit back and take the cash unfussed whether he played or not or he would have moved on when he signed his extension last year.

That's not the Steven Whittaker I knew but it is a possibility.

In conclusion I would be happy for him to sign, but not broken hearted if he didn't.

Gordy M
29-06-2017, 11:46 AM

I know him and his family from years back and thought he was a great player for us first time around.

I have no doubt he will still be more than decent however my personal priorities for recruitment would be forwards and midfield, (presuming Rocky has / will sign) not some full back who we could maybe convert to midfield.

It concerns me that we may blast a big part of the budget on him to the detriment of these areas.

I am also concerned at how relatively little football he has played since moving to Norwich. You could interpret that's as a guy quite happy to sit back and take the cash unfussed whether he played or not or he would have moved on when he signed his extension last year.

In conclusion I would be happy for him to sign, but not broken hearted if he didn't.

I really dont see him being signed as just a right back. I can see him being used right along the back line and possibly sitting in midfield, dare i suggest in the role that has been vacated by Fyvie?? I think thats a role that Whittaker can play...as well as cover in defence?

29-06-2017, 11:59 AM
Golden hellos are done all the time in fitba

I'm sure Gary Locke always insists on one before signing.

29-06-2017, 12:13 PM

Personally I'd be delighted if we do sign him. Experienced player who can provide cover for both full back positions, can play in midfield and brings some goals with him. Admittedly I only read it on here but if he signs for us it will in preference to some better offers from down south. If he's fit and healthy no reason why he can't play well in the Scottish top flight for another 2-3 years. And while I have absolutely no inside knowledge I'd be surprised if we were spending a large part of the budget on signing him.

29-06-2017, 12:35 PM
I think he will be DCM role and not RB

Willis1875
29-06-2017, 12:45 PM
Could play midfield and drop seamlessly into right back position whenever SDG gets up the park,something I think McGeouch does a lot of whenever he plays

29-06-2017, 01:09 PM

He played an infamous game for Norwich at CDM and was dreadfully uncomfortable there - the fans still talk about it. I can't see him playing there for us.

GreenOnions
29-06-2017, 02:02 PM

Could play midfield and drop seamlessly into right back position whenever SDG gets up the park,something I think McGeouch does a lot of whenever he plays

I think this could be one of the main options NL will consider :agree:

Willis1875
29-06-2017, 02:05 PM
I think this could be one of the main options NL will consider :agree:

Plus provides cover at both Full back areas,get the feeling NL is looking at utility type players that can play 2/3 different roles

29-06-2017, 02:11 PM
Yams deal with the NI Peterborough right back has apparently fallen through. Don't know if that changes anything re Whittaker.

29-06-2017, 03:24 PM
"Hopefully 😉" was the answer i got from the horses mouth today.

Source? :greengrin

broondog
29-06-2017, 03:29 PM
will be a great signing if we can pull it off. Offers great versatility and a much needed player of proven quality to add to the squad.

must be happening soon no? feels like it´s going on forever

29-06-2017, 03:34 PM
Do we actually need Whittaker? We've got Gray and then Ambrose for cover. Seems to me like he'd be a bonus but I wouldn't be signing him if it's gonna disadvantage us in any way in signing strikers and a midfielder.

29-06-2017, 03:37 PM
"Hopefully 😉" was the answer i got from the horses mouth today.

You mean, hopefully he says you'll have a shave soon🤣

29-06-2017, 03:38 PM
Do we actually need Whittaker? We've got Gray and then Ambrose for cover. Seems to me like he'd be a bonus but I wouldn't be signing him if it's gonna disadvantage us in any way in signing strikers and a midfielder.

You really think we are not going to sign another striker because we sign Whittaker?

29-06-2017, 03:43 PM

Yes I agree, we're signing someone who plays in a position where we have good options and I can't see him being signed to sit on the bench. Meanwhile we're really short up front, midfield and wide. I know he offers good options, is a quality player with experience and wants to sign for us. If he wasn't on the scene though I don't think anyone would be panicking about our RB slot given the other holes in the squad at the moment. Having said that I would still like to have him but not at the expense of other priorities.

29-06-2017, 03:44 PM
You really think we are not going to sign another striker because we sign Whittaker?

No. He'll be a high earner though and seems to me like a bit of a luxury. If it means we have less to offer in terms of wages to other essential targets then I wouldn't be very keen. I don't know what our budget is though and I don't know the affects this would have.

29-06-2017, 03:45 PM
Came here to share information I got from the player and back it up with a photo proving it unlike most on here and get abuse.

Don't even know why I come here anymore its full of fake rumours and toxic.

You have almost 20,000 posts on a message board mate, and my bird loves my beard. Get a life.

Are you one of the sad 50+ on this site that sits and makes the threads of the CRINGEWORTHY "song for..." Variety?? 😂

You OK?

29-06-2017, 03:48 PM
and my bird loves my beard.

I now have an image of a nesting sparrow in the beard. Is this a hipster thing?

29-06-2017, 03:51 PM
Signing Whittaker would be continuing the trend of upping the quality throughout the squad.

If Lennon wants the cover and experience he provides then that is good enough. We can't dither on signing quality as it becomes available because fans are hungrier for striking options.

We will add to our strike force. Let the club worry about the budget.

29-06-2017, 03:52 PM
Came here to share information I got from the player and back it up with a photo proving it unlike most on here and get abuse.

You have almost 20,000 posts on a message board mate, and my bird loves my beard. Get a life.

Are you one of the sad 50+ on this site that sits and makes the threads of the CRINGEWORTHY "song for..." Variety?? 😂

hahahah....its only a beard. Calm down dear. :aok:

GreenPJ
29-06-2017, 03:52 PM
If he does sign could this be the opportunity for Dylan to have the operation and time off required and get him back fit for the last quarter of the season.

I know there is the argument that what is the point in keeping a player who is always sidelined but I wouldn't want to miss out on that quality if the operation and recovery could work.

29-06-2017, 03:53 PM
No. He'll be a high earner though and seems to me like a bit of a luxury. If it means we have less to offer in terms of wages to other essential targets then I wouldn't be very keen. I don't know what our budget is though and I don't know the affects this would have.

We are ok to sign him and still have plenty for 2 good strikers.....and maybe more. More players leaving soon....

29-06-2017, 03:57 PM
Came here to share information I got from the player and back it up with a photo proving it unlike most on here and get abuse. Don't even know why I come here anymore its full of fake rumours and toxic. You have almost 20,000 posts on a message board mate, and my bird loves my beard. Get a life. Are you one of the sad 50+ on this site that sits and makes the threads of the CRINGEWORTHY "song for..." Variety?? dde02

Easy tiger ... think Billy wiz Gavin a laugh not a dig !!

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

29-06-2017, 03:59 PM
Came here to share information I got from the player and back it up with a photo proving it unlike most on here and get abuse. Don't even know why I come here anymore its full of fake rumours and toxic. You have almost 20,000 posts on a message board mate, and my bird loves my beard. Get a life. Are you one of the sad 50+ on this site that sits and makes the threads of the CRINGEWORTHY "song for..." Variety?? dde02

That is for the snippet but I have a wee question for you! Where's the abuse??

Bit of an over reaction to a cheeky one liner about your beard and getting a shave?? NO

29-06-2017, 04:00 PM
We are ok to sign him and still have plenty for 2 good strikers.....and maybe more. More players leaving soon....

Brian Graham one of them by any chance?

Hibstrooper

What's with these posters dissing my beard
Why do they got to front
What did we ever do to these guys
To make them so violent

Forster gone I see!! Hopefully see a few more in this week??

29-06-2017, 04:05 PM

I think he was just joking around pal.

29-06-2017, 04:05 PM
Why do they got to front
To make them so violent

Get a life.

29-06-2017, 04:11 PM
Maybe SDG will be the one providing cover

Jag7
29-06-2017, 04:14 PM
Forster gone I see!! Hopefully see a few more in this week??

Since when ?

29-06-2017, 04:16 PM
Why do they got to front
To make them so violent

Like it :)

29-06-2017, 04:21 PM
Get a life.

What the matter babe, are you feeling sick?

What's a matter, what's a matter, what's a matter you,
What's a matter babe, are you feeling blue? Oh-oh.

Etc

29-06-2017, 04:25 PM

He was 100% gently yanking your chain

Look at the guys other posts, he has absolutely no previous

An apology might be in order?

Btw and I honestly don't know the answer to this, but is it the over 50's who make up these songs?

I would be surprised as they do my tits in and I have said so in the past and I don't know any over 50's who would do such a thing or even consider it and I know a few.

29-06-2017, 04:28 PM
Just seen SW at the ERI. Just visiting someone in the same ward nothing further to add

29-06-2017, 04:28 PM
Billy Whizz is fast,
He is good,
He had Rivers Cuomo on the run.

29-06-2017, 04:33 PM
He was 100% gently yanking your chain

Look at the guys other posts, he has absolutely no previous

An apology might be in order?

Btw and I honestly don't know the answer to this, but is it the over 50's who make up these songs?

I would be surprised as they do my tits in and I have said so in the past and I don't know any over 50's who would do such a thing or even consider it and I know a few.

Just did a quick search on "song for" as an opening thread title - first 3 ages of thread starters 17, 39 and none shown.

We need to get an over fifties group going, count me out obviously, Im more of a shouter and a swearer.

29-06-2017, 05:10 PM
Just did a quick search on "song for" as an opening thread title - first 3 ages of thread starters 17, 39 and none shown.

We need to get an over fifties group going, count me out obviously, Im more of a shouter and a swearer.

Congratulations, you have now passed the exam to qualify as a Daily Mail journalist 🕺

29-06-2017, 05:14 PM
Congratulations, you have now passed the exam to qualify as a Daily Mail journalist 🕺
F**#@$# Daily Mail. Don't get me started. One of the reasons I don't buy newspapers any more.

I can feel a song coming on[emoji6]

29-06-2017, 05:35 PM
Brian Graham one of them by any chance?

Murrawell?

29-06-2017, 05:39 PM

What, you can't take a joke!

29-06-2017, 05:44 PM

Watch that tone now Billy!! dde06

Don't want to upset anyone!! 😝

29-06-2017, 05:47 PM
You one of those over 50 year olds that comes on here making up jokes?

Shouldn't be allowed[emoji6]

29-06-2017, 05:51 PM
Watch that tone now Billy!! dde06

Don't want to upset anyone!! 😝

Sorry Aldo, hope he accepts my apology

29-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Sorry Aldo, hope he accepts my apology

Tee hee!

Hiding behind that keyboard too!! Tsk tsk

29-06-2017, 06:05 PM
Anyhow, to get back on track: Whittaker, do we need him?
With a choice of Stevenson, Hanlon, Fontaine, Ambrose, McGregor, Gray and Forster already to pick from?

I like/rate Whittaker but bearing in mind the players we already have I'd much rather we were splashing the cash on 2-3 decent strikers instead.

29-06-2017, 06:10 PM
With a choice of Stevenson, Hanlon, Fontaine, Ambrose, McGregor, Gray and Forster already to pick from?

I like/rate Whittaker but bearing in mind the players we already have I'd much rather we were splashing the cash on 2-3 decent strikers instead.

I think we do, can play a few positions, and is an experienced player. I don't think his signing will have any effect on us getting strikers

Ozymandias
29-06-2017, 06:18 PM
We appear to be the only team who can't sign anyone until the player, the manager, the chief executive, the playing squad, the groundsman and the player's wife's cousin's stepfather's dog are all back from holiday.

Apart of course from the players we've already signed.

MacGruber
29-06-2017, 06:32 PM
I've been convinced he'd sign
Not so confident anymore
English team in again.
Hearts not going away. His mate's just pitched up there.
Nothing done with Hibs yet
Hopeful now more than confident. I reckon we are still favourites, but not by much now.

29-06-2017, 06:36 PM
Thought this was a done deal weeks ago? Ah well, this proves it's not a done deal until it's announced by the club like Rocky

MacGruber
29-06-2017, 06:37 PM
Thought this was a done deal weeks ago? Ah well, this proves it's not a done deal until it's announced by the club like Rocky

It's far from done

29-06-2017, 06:46 PM
His mate's just pitched up there.

If you can judge a man by his friends, I don't want him anywhere near us.

29-06-2017, 06:49 PM
I've been convinced he'd sign
Not so confident anymore
English team in again.
Hearts not going away. His mate's just pitched up there.
Nothing done with Hibs yet
Hopeful now more than confident. I reckon we are still favourites, but not by much now.

No surprise yams back in having just been bumped by the NI right back they were close to signing.

29-06-2017, 06:56 PM
No surprise yams back in having just been bumped by the NI right back they were close to signing.

Where are you seeing that this other guy has bumped them? Not seen it reported at all.

29-06-2017, 07:37 PM
Where are you seeing that this other guy has bumped them? Not seen it reported at all.

A yam on Brokeback saying he has signed for a team down south.

29-06-2017, 07:41 PM

Why would he turn down the biggest team in Edinburgh and 3rd biggest in Scotland. Fool.

29-06-2017, 07:45 PM
My what a saga this is turning into. Just sign for somebody and we can move on.why do footballers take so long to accept contracts. Its now becoming tedious to be honest. Glad in a way we are not hearing who hibs are after as makes you think it's decent quality were after.

29-06-2017, 07:47 PM
Why would he turn down the biggest team in Edinburgh and 3rd biggest in Scotland. Fool.

Lol. And the added bonus of being managed by Cathro.

29-06-2017, 07:49 PM
My what a saga this is turning into. Just sign for somebody and we can move on.why do footballers take so long to accept contracts. Its now becoming tedious to be honest. Glad in a way we are not hearing who hibs are after as makes you think it's decent quality were after.

When you have many suitors you don't have to rush.

29-06-2017, 08:09 PM
If he wanted to be here he would have signed already. I get the feeling he is using us as a bargaining chip to squeeze more money out of someone else. Screw him - it's time to move on, as he is not exactly a priority signing.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

29-06-2017, 08:12 PM
If he wanted to be here he would have signed already. I get the feeling he is using us as a bargaining chip to squeeze more money out of someone else. Screw him - it's time to move on, as he is not exactly a priority signing.

True getting sick of this saga. Time to withdraw the contract offer

29-06-2017, 08:15 PM
I seen him today at the Royal and I asked if he was signing and he just smiled and said 'wait and see'

Platinum Scotty
29-06-2017, 08:16 PM

Surely he can't sign for anyone yet - still under contract?

29-06-2017, 08:17 PM
Not fussed if he signs, we've more concerns in the final 3rd and need money spent there.

29-06-2017, 08:21 PM
He's been home from holiday 1 day. Calm down folks!

29-06-2017, 08:47 PM
Surely he can't sign for anyone yet - still under contract?

If true maybe a pre contract agreement? This is the quote from the Yam on Brokeback:

'We won't be signing Michael Smith from what I have heard. He didn't show up and has signed on down south. Pulled a Lafferty on us.'

MacGruber
29-06-2017, 09:33 PM

Sorry but that's wrong. He's already got better offers than Hibs on the table. One better offer from Hearts. I'm sure he wants a good deal for himself wherever he ends up but he's not chasing the coin.

Whether Hibs walk away withdrawing the offer on a timed out basis is another thing entirely. Seems to be one rule for some!

29-06-2017, 09:58 PM
Why do they got to front
To make them so violent

Excellent work sir

30-06-2017, 11:56 AM
It's far from done

I wonder where he got the idea that it wasn't far from done?

...he's very close to a return.

Whittaker deal still very likely

I would now be surprised however if we don't see him in a Hibs top very soon

Super_JMcGinn
30-06-2017, 12:04 PM
It's far from done

I think and hope you're wrong.

30-06-2017, 12:13 PM

We won't get involved in that kind of nonesense because we don't have an obsession to feed.

30-06-2017, 12:18 PM

Firstly, 5 of those players you list are centre backs - a position Whittaker does not play.

Secondly, there is no indication anywhere that signing Whittaker would mean we would have no money to bring in Strikers.

30-06-2017, 12:22 PM

😂👍

Green Blood
30-06-2017, 12:25 PM

Maybes's aye maybe's naw, maybes's aye maybe's naw, maybes's aye maybe's naw, I'm going to leave old Norwich town but where am I headed, who knows!!!

Not a priority signing, can't believe how hyped this potential return seems to be! You would have to question the hunger and desire he has let alone stamina and speed etc. If he comes back then we will get behind him, if not we won't be that bothered, NL needs to look from middle to front, goal scoring midfielder still needed and two strikers!

30-06-2017, 12:26 PM
Sorry but that's wrong. He's already got better offers than Hibs on the table. One better offer from Hearts. I'm sure he wants a good deal for himself wherever he ends up but he's not chasing the coin.

Whether Hibs walk away withdrawing the offer on a timed out basis is another thing entirely. Seems to be one rule for some!

I would say he signs or we move on. Give him a day or so. With all these suitors and offers Whittaker must grasp the nettle. Even when on holiday, life goes on and I'm sure he will be able receive e-mails or whatever.

Earlydelivery
30-06-2017, 12:36 PM
He's gave lennon a verbal agreement that he'll sign .

Baw187
30-06-2017, 12:37 PM

We all know the value in that!!

Earlydelivery
30-06-2017, 12:40 PM
We all know the value in that!!
Think we'll be ok on this one .

Baw187
30-06-2017, 12:40 PM
Think we'll be ok on this one .

Hope you're right!

BH Hibs
30-06-2017, 12:45 PM

Here we go again.

30-06-2017, 12:51 PM
Seems like we have a whole new class of "ITK" posters. I must have missed the graduation ceremony announcement.....

30-06-2017, 12:59 PM

Well he needs to get the finger oot and sign as pre season has started.

30-06-2017, 01:02 PM
I confirm I know nothing

30-06-2017, 01:06 PM

Do we have any lawyers on here? Is this binding in Scots employment law?

30-06-2017, 01:11 PM
Do we have any lawyers on here? Is this binding in Scots employment law?

Not a lawyer but I am sure verbal offer and acceptance is binding in Scotland.

30-06-2017, 01:18 PM

Unless your name happens to be Maurice Johnston

Green Blood
30-06-2017, 01:22 PM
Unless your name happens to be Maurice Johnston

Priks are excluded in law! Ask Kyle Slaverty the biggest Irish slaver since Frank Carson!

30-06-2017, 01:23 PM
I confirm I know nothing

And winter is coming.

30-06-2017, 01:28 PM

Difficult to prove if one word against another though. Couldnt see it being proven in court especially with regard to football contracts.

30-06-2017, 01:30 PM
Difficult to prove if one word against another though. Couldnt see it being proven in court especially with regard to football contracts.

Yep, of course, evidence is therefore more difficult .... but still think it's regarded as binding in Scotland, not everything needs to be in writing.

30-06-2017, 01:39 PM
I confirm I know nothing

I know exactly the same as you, There's a guy I don't know, who isn't a relative of the guy who cleans Tam Courts windows and he hasn't told me anything.

30-06-2017, 01:41 PM
Yep, of course, evidence is therefore more difficult .... but still think it's regarded as binding in Scotland, not everything needs to be in writing.

Yep think you are right and covers I think when no contract and the behaviour that then follows e.g agreement to deliver something to someone else, you deliver it for a few weeks then stop doing that you cant then claim there was no contract.

All that might be total rubbish of course. :greengrin

30-06-2017, 01:44 PM
Yep think you are right and covers I think when no contract and the behaviour that then follows e.g agreement to deliver something to someone else, you deliver it for a few weeks then stop doing that you cant then claim there was no contract.

All that might be total rubbish of course. :greengrin

It was a small part of my accounting studies; and it's some years ago now.

However I remember also the invitation to tender; which made me realize most shoppers in Scotland think you're entitled to pay the price of an item as it's marked - but if wrong, actually the shop don't need to accept... when most people argue the shop have to accept the price per the tag. Not correct.

anyway, for the avoidance of doubt, my knowledge of law is sketchy.

30-06-2017, 01:46 PM
It was a small part of my accounting studies; and it's some years ago now.

However I remember also the invitation to tender; which made me realize most shoppers in Scotland think you're entitled to pay the price of an item as it's marked - but if wrong, actually the shop don't need to accept... when most people argue the shop have to accept the price per the tag. Not correct.

anyway, for the avoidance of doubt, my knowledge of law is sketchy.
You're correct about the verbal contract....but it's academic in this case. If he were to sign for someone else, we wouldn't be able to enforce our contract. And what would we sue for?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

30-06-2017, 01:47 PM
You're correct about the verbal contract....but it's academic in this case. If he were to sign for someone else, we wouldn't be able to enforce our contract. And what would we sue for?

Can't someone just print out this page form hibs.net and send it to the SFA? What should we say it was that he agreed? 2 year deal?

Then we'll have him signed, registered, and he won't be able to sign for anyone else.

Sorted. :greengrin

30-06-2017, 01:48 PM

We'd only enlarge our hatred for Hearts :)

Agree that it often counts for little. But I was answering a question earlier only, didn't mean to create a hibs of law :)

30-06-2017, 01:49 PM
Can't someone just print out this page form hibs.net and send it to the SFA? What should we say it was that he agreed? 2 year deal?

Then we'll have him signed, registered, and he won't be able to sign for anyone else.

Sorted. :greengrin

Yep and we could just copy his signature from previous contracts. Sorted. :greengrin

30-06-2017, 01:49 PM

All the ****ing whining we'd have to put up with on here.

30-06-2017, 01:51 PM
And winter is coming.

Source?

30-06-2017, 01:51 PM
Yep and we could just copy his signature from previous contracts. Sorted. :greengrin

Don't need it. Verbal contract is agreed, it says so on here. :greengrin

30-06-2017, 02:10 PM

£500 a game, pay-as-you-play... and a bag of sweeties.

Rod who?

30-06-2017, 02:50 PM

If that's true/correct, that'll do for me ! SW was never the loud, attention-seeker type - I always felt (when he started playing for us) that he was one of those players who couldn't believe his luck at getting paid well for doing something he loved ! And despite the fact he went to the Hun, I still believe he managed to hold on to some of his moral-character and love of the game which, for me, makes his 'word' perfectly acceptable.

30-06-2017, 03:02 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Earlydelivery http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=5085721#post5085721)
Did Scott McDonanld not do the same .

30-06-2017, 03:15 PM
"A verbal agreement is not worth the paper it's written on" - Sam Goldwyn

30-06-2017, 03:19 PM
Let's all just accept that we are not signing anyone until August 30th when Danny Haynes, Pa Kujabi and Rowan Vine will al resign.

30-06-2017, 03:23 PM
Let's all just accept that we are not signing anyone until August 30th when Danny Haynes, Pa Kujabi and Rowan Vine will al resign.

All 3 over lafferty any day.

30-06-2017, 03:24 PM
Well Hearts have signed this right back from Peterborough so that's surely a good thing for us trying to get Whitty.

K-Zazu
30-06-2017, 03:35 PM
I wish I knew things

30-06-2017, 03:44 PM

None of them played for Celtc. Surely we're more likely to sign Momo Sylla, Paddy McCourt and Marc Antoine Fortune

30-06-2017, 03:49 PM
None of them played for Celtc. Surely we're more likely to sign Momo Sylla, Paddy McCourt and Marc Antoine Fortune
Any chance of getting George Connolly?

Younger posters can google him :wink:

30-06-2017, 03:50 PM

Samaras will be our marquee signing. :greengrin

Ollie Reed
30-06-2017, 04:11 PM

See him often, will have a wee word. Might be slightly past it now though :greengrin

30-06-2017, 04:12 PM

Very good player but liked the odd sherry at Xmas if I recall correctly

30-06-2017, 04:21 PM
"Welcome to BBC Sportsound: Chick Young Jr. is live from Easter Road with some transfer talk."

"Thanks Richard. So, as the Summer transfer window opens for the 2121-22 season, I'm going to put the question to Hibs manager Antoine Sauzee: is this the transfer window you can finally finish negotiations with Steven Whittaker and sign him for the first time in 114 years?"

30-06-2017, 04:30 PM
Samaras will be our marquee signing. :greengrin

That would be a statement of intent! 😄

Earlydelivery
30-06-2017, 05:00 PM
He's on the list .

30-06-2017, 05:03 PM

Is he not a bit camp?:wink:

30-06-2017, 05:11 PM
Is he not a bit camp?:wink:

With you're wee winky smiley. Are you trying to tell us something?? Just open the closet door, you'll feel better for it!!

Slavers
30-06-2017, 05:40 PM
Could SW do the FF role in midfield? I think he could and would be better at it.

30-06-2017, 06:45 PM
"Welcome to BBC Sportsound: Chick Young Jr. is live from Easter Road with some transfer talk."

"Thanks Richard. So, as the Summer transfer window opens for the 2121-22 season, I'm going to put the question to Hibs manager Antoine Sauzee: is this the transfer window you can finally finish negotiations with Steven Whittaker and sign him for the first time in 114 years?"

Think it's been 114 days since it was a done deal

30-06-2017, 06:56 PM
Could SW do the FF role in midfield? I think he could and would be better at it.

I fancied that as well but the poster on here from Norwich said Whittaker was pretty stinking in that role at Norwich. I've no idea how well it would work but I'm keen to see how well Ambrose would do in there.

MacGruber
30-06-2017, 11:02 PM

Thanks for that Beefster

Got some of the idea from Steven and some from his family - don't we all ;)

It's a difficult concept granted but he hasn't made up his mind and been back and forth. I guess even today the landscape might have changed with Hearts signing Smith. I don't know whether it has or not I've not heard. You would imagine it might, how much budget can they have?

What I was told was Bolton were now in (& Hearts were still in but that was pre Smith)

I'm still hopeful he'll sign, Bolton interest is a new worry although I think he'll still choose us and hopefully soon now he's home.

I'll leave the snippets I get out & come back once the thing is signed and sealed. I suppose all these threads are pointless in the meantime anyway.

01-07-2017, 09:56 AM
The saga continues. Either sign or we move on. It he wants a last payday just say so then we can look elsewhere. It's dragged on so long it will feel like an underwhelming signing which I don't think it would be.

01-07-2017, 10:09 AM
Thanks for that Beefster

It's a difficult concept granted but he hasn't made up his mind and been back and forth. I guess even today the landscape might have changed with Hearts signing Smith. I don't know whether it has or not I've not heard. You would imagine it might, how much budget can they have?

What I was told was Bolton were now in (& Hearts were still in but that was pre Smith)

I'm still hopeful he'll sign, Bolton interest is a new worry although I think he'll still choose us and hopefully soon now he's home.

I'll leave the snippets I get out & come back once the thing is signed and sealed. I suppose all these threads are pointless in the meantime anyway.

Bolton still have no money remember and the high wages that they were paying are all but gone ( still a couple on old contracts). Bolton players all walked out of training yesterday morning as they hadn't been paid ( again). This was a big payday as bonuses were due to be paid also for their promotion

01-07-2017, 10:16 AM
Bolton still have no money remember and the high wages that they were paying are all but gone ( still a couple on old contracts). Bolton players all walked out of training yesterday morning as they hadn't been paid ( again). This was a big payday as bonuses were due to be paid also for their promotion

In the circumstances decribed above, why would anyone sign for them?

I think we should move on from this one and look at other players. Ambrose can cover right back. Maybe we should be looking to sign guys that don't need weeks before they decide they want to play for Hibs. Decent player in his day, but that day was a while ago.

I can't work out how Fyvie is given a time limited option to sign, nae coming back from it, yet we have a guy with an seemingly endless offer on the table. How does that one work?

01-07-2017, 10:44 AM

I think we should move on from this one and look at other players. Ambrose can cover right back. Maybe we should be looking to sign guys that don't need weeks before they decide they want to play for Hibs. Decent player in his day, but that day was a while ago.

I can't work out how Fyvie is given a time limited option to sign, nae coming back from it, yet we have a guy with an seemingly endless offer on the table. How does that one work?

We want one player more than the other. That's life.

01-07-2017, 10:44 AM

Indeed, how long was Fyvie given to sign until he was told offer had been withdrawn

01-07-2017, 12:35 PM
Thanks for that Beefster

FWIW and I seldom post on such things, I work closely with an in-law of his and all that part of his family knows is that it looks like Hibs, but Steven keeps everything close to his chest.
Fair play to him for not blabbing to all sorts about his career moves then.
Wait and see right enough.

01-07-2017, 01:02 PM
FWIW and I seldom post on such things, I work closely with an in-law of his and all that part of his family knows is that it looks like Hibs, but Steven keeps everything close to his chest.
Fair play to him for not blabbing to all sorts about his career moves then.
Wait and see right enough.

Good for SW, keeping things close to his chest. I'd rather he sign for. Bolton than us or Hearts tbh. How long has he got to make up his mind? Presumably the same as FF :stirrer:

01-07-2017, 01:15 PM
Good for SW, keeping things close to his chest. I'd rather he sign for. Bolton than us or Hearts tbh. How long has he got to make up his mind? Presumably the same as FF :stirrer:

**** knows. The offer is close to Hibs' chest as well I suppose. I'd imagine we were still paying Fraser when we made him the offer to stay though? Maybe Norwich did the same?
Like I said. **** knows.
And FWIW I'm glad he isn't one to tell every **** his intentions. Salary and shoe size seem readily available to far too many sorts on here some of whom don't even seem to go to the games..