View Full Version : What should we call them?

Austinho
30-04-2017, 03:59 AM
Now that we've agreed on another thread that Tynecastle should be renamed The Begging Bowl, what should our universal pet name be for those over the road?

I've always found the term Yam pretty cringeworthy, and would happily never read it on here again. Merrick and G*nts aren't much better IMO. With so much ammunition, we can do better I reckon.

For starters:

Sc*mbos
The Scam-bos
Handout of Midlothian
The Blooded Turds
The Used Tampons
Heart of Midtable
Heart of Mismanagment
Heart Throbbers (or just the Throbbers)
The In-famous
The Tynie Cocks
Gorgierrhea
The Gorgoyles
The Front Bottoms
The Ham Wallets
The Empty Wallets

30-04-2017, 05:15 AM
the sc*mbos was always my favourate as a youngster , suits them

30-04-2017, 05:24 AM
The fameless :greengrin

30-04-2017, 06:47 AM
'Handout of Midlothian' - I like that one, very fitting !

Failing that, what about some Gaelic - 'Dhunna-nash-wi-the-Charity-cash' ??

30-04-2017, 07:18 AM
Yam is perfect.

No reason we can't have several others though!

30-04-2017, 07:25 AM
Can barely remember anyone calling them yams other than on here. "Them" is my preferred option.

30-04-2017, 07:34 AM
Yam is perfect.

No reason we can't have several others though!

where did yam even come from ? its cringe worthy :confused:

HFCdeb
30-04-2017, 07:35 AM
They've always been sc*mbos to me.

Big90inOz
30-04-2017, 08:00 AM
Poppy thieves, they hate it

green leaves
30-04-2017, 08:10 AM
Judging by their fundraising efforts The beg team

30-04-2017, 10:03 AM
I efectionally refer to them as the "fuds"

30-04-2017, 10:04 AM

👌

30-04-2017, 10:06 AM
Never called them Yams, never will. It's a **** wind up name.

Any on that list is preferable.

Edit: Poppy thieves I like.

HFCdeb
30-04-2017, 10:08 AM

Does anyone know the answer to this?

30-04-2017, 10:09 AM
The Beg Team is perfect for them.

HFCdeb
30-04-2017, 10:10 AM

This is a winner👌

30-04-2017, 10:11 AM
I call them Hearts or the Jambos.

I find anything else a bit infantile, but feel free to fill your boots etc.

BS44
30-04-2017, 10:12 AM
dogs

30-04-2017, 10:14 AM
Hearts or The Filth.

30-04-2017, 10:26 AM
I call them Hearts or the Jambos.

I find anything else a bit infantile, but feel free to fill your boots etc.

Glad it's not just me. :greengrin
I do often front-load it with an expletive, though...

30-04-2017, 10:31 AM
Maroonics.

30-04-2017, 10:37 AM
Now that we've agreed on another thread that Tynecastle should be renamed The Begging Bowl, what should our universal pet name be for those over the road?

I've always found the term Yam pretty cringeworthy, and would happily never read it on here again. Merrick and G*nts aren't much better IMO. With so much ammunition, we can do better I reckon.

For starters:

Sc*mbos
The Scam-bos
Handout of Midlothian
The Blooded Turds
The Used Tampons
Heart of Midtable
Heart of Mismanagment
The In-famous
The Tynie Cocks
Gorgierrhea
The Gorgoyles
The Front Bottoms
The Ham Wallets
The Empty Wallets
Yams? What's not to like? Misshapen maroon coloured vegetables. Been calling them that since I was a youth.

To be fair an assortment of disparaging names is perfectly acceptable and I won't cringe at any.

Sioux
30-04-2017, 03:44 PM
Hertz b......s

Anything else completely misses the point.

30-04-2017, 03:50 PM
Puddle drinkers.

I have never heard any Hibs fan in "real life" describe them as Yams. I don't get that one at all.

kevo1875
30-04-2017, 07:14 PM
Vermin

30-04-2017, 07:18 PM
Puddle drinkers.

I have never heard any Hibs fan in "real life" describe them as Yams. I don't get that one at all.

Only ever seen on hibs.net, never once actually heard anyone use it.

Skol
30-04-2017, 07:20 PM
what ever happened to ' jam tarts'

Not sure where this Jambos thing came in....

30-04-2017, 07:22 PM
Puddle drinkers.

It's a family forum, mate. If we used the terminology of day to day life, it would only appear on here as *****, ***** and ***** :greengrin

30-04-2017, 07:22 PM
I prefer to keep them built up and always refer to them as the big team.

30-04-2017, 07:24 PM
The cake bakers

30-04-2017, 07:32 PM

They call themselves that.

30-04-2017, 07:43 PM
The cake bakers
Master bakers, Shirley?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

30-04-2017, 07:44 PM

Ah, the wet farts, the false starts, the spare parts, the broken Hearts.

HFCdeb
30-04-2017, 07:46 PM
Vermin

I cringe like ***** when they refer to us as that. It's just so so bad 😂

30-04-2017, 08:15 PM
The Famous.

Only right and proper we refer to our superiors by their correct title.

30-04-2017, 08:37 PM
The Kidds.

30-04-2017, 08:52 PM
Sharts

30-04-2017, 09:13 PM
I prefer a simple 'shower of see you next tuesdays'

30-04-2017, 09:43 PM
The Famous.

Only right and proper we refer to our superiors by their correct title.

:agree: I think it's only right that we acknowledge the fact that we know our place.

Forever in their shadow and all that.

Clarence
01-05-2017, 05:52 AM
For me "the jambos" sounds far too affectionate so I would never refer to them as that. I don't think they are even worth a specific name these days. Cathro on the other hand needs something better than Cathy, poor wee discombobulated soul that he is.

01-05-2017, 07:21 AM

Does anyone know the answer to this?

Was it not because someone decided that we should stop calling them jam tarts because they were to tasty so he decided "yam" would be more appropriate?

Poor choice since sweet potatoes are delicious!

01-05-2017, 07:46 AM

For starters:

Sc*mbos
The Scam-bos
Handout of Midlothian
The Blooded Turds
The Used Tampons
Heart of Midtable
Heart of Mismanagment
The In-famous
The Tynie Cocks
Gorgierrhea
The Gorgoyles
The Front Bottoms
The Ham Wallets
The Empty Wallets

The Sc*mbos is the only one out of that list. I agree about Yams though, it's a terrible name and I've never actually heard someone use when not on these forums.

Leith's finest
01-05-2017, 08:21 AM
Refer to them in talks in the pub as "they cants"

01-05-2017, 11:19 AM
Maroon supremacists, because they are convinced that they are the big team.

01-05-2017, 11:24 AM
Whatever happened to the yamasaurus? Pretty popular if I recall correctly. Bound to have been something in there😉

01-05-2017, 11:34 AM
Whatever happened to the yamasaurus? Pretty popular if I recall correctly. Bound to have been something in there😉

Here you go (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?74108-The-Yamasaurus-1st-Edition&highlight=yamasaurus).

Deserves a sticky in my opinion.

01-05-2017, 11:34 AM
Here you go (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?74108-The-Yamasaurus-1st-Edition&highlight=yamasaurus).

Deserves a sticky in my opinion.
Cheers!

01-05-2017, 11:56 AM
Yams has to remain - at least on .net - as a legitimate term along with others if only because to abandon it would lose us the magnificent LTYF (Launch This Yam Fud).

I can confirm from personal experience that 'Poppy Thieves' does indeed drive them absolutely foaming-mouthed nuts. Principally, I think, because they know that is true and irrefutable.

01-05-2017, 12:01 PM
Poppy thieves, they hate it

:agree: And so they should.

HFCdeb
01-05-2017, 12:06 PM
The fluffy bunnies.

01-05-2017, 02:04 PM
Another vote for the Poppy Thieves.

Gets them nice and rancid every time.

01-05-2017, 08:41 PM
Poppy Thieves + Jam Tarts = Pop Tarts

05-05-2017, 05:16 PM
For me "the jambos" sounds far too affectionate so I would never refer to them as that. I don't think they are even worth a specific name these days. Cathro on the other hand needs something better than Cathy, poor wee discombobulated soul that he is.

How about "the bampots" then?

Austinho
04-04-2018, 09:19 PM
I saw US Soccer guy refer to them as the Burgundy Bhoys recently.

I like the Jam Donuts and the Pop Tarts as pet names seeing as we own them these days.

04-04-2018, 09:28 PM
Yams has to remain - at least on .net - as a legitimate term along with others if only because to abandon it would lose us the magnificent LTYF (Launch This Yam Fud).

I can confirm from personal experience that 'Poppy Thieves' does indeed drive them absolutely foaming-mouthed nuts. Principally, I think, because they know that is true and irrefutable.

Ah “LTYF”.. definitely more cringeworthy than the term “yam”. In fact, even more cringeworthy is all this “cringe” caused by football nicknames :)

As for where “yam” came from. Someone told me years back it’s simply derived from the rhyming.. hearts, jam tarts, yams. I’d never challenged the idea until now...

04-04-2018, 09:33 PM
I thought it was because yams are maroon turnips?
Either way I've never heard it used in real life.

04-04-2018, 10:06 PM
Will stop using Yams. Just not derogatory enough.
Cannae whack a good spoonerism.
Corgie Gunts.

RedHibby
04-04-2018, 10:12 PM
Keep it simple and to the point "The Beggars".

04-04-2018, 10:16 PM
We refer to them as Yams, while they call us vermin, ****, junkies, HIVees etc.

Easy to see how the term ‘Hibs class’ came to fruition.

AltheHibby
05-04-2018, 07:52 AM

I prefer "yaks" as a lazy derivative of "yams". It also fits well because Yaks are hairy, smelly creatures. 😏

05-04-2018, 08:02 AM
Not so much about names but I've noticed Hearts fans have a real obsession about location when it comes to Hibs. I always hear references to us being 'fae Pilrig', 'Lochenders' and who could forget the utter cringe of the rugby chap trying to be one of the boys with his 'docksiders' fail that they all loved?

It's about as insulting as us calling them 'Stenhousers' or 'brewery siders'.

05-04-2018, 08:02 AM

I have never heard anyone use the term "yam" in real life though, only on here.

To be honest, it grates a bit.

05-04-2018, 08:13 AM
Not so much about names but I've noticed Hearts fans have a real obsession about location when it comes to Hibs. I always hear references to us being 'fae Pilrig', 'Lochenders' and who could forget the utter cringe of the rugby chap trying to be one of the boys with his 'docksiders' fail that they all loved?

It's about as insulting as us calling them 'Stenhousers' or 'brewery siders'.Balgreeners?

05-04-2018, 08:15 AM
The puddle drinkers or poppy thieves in particular usually upset my closest yam friends. Probably because the second one is true!

05-04-2018, 08:46 AM

It's about as insulting as us calling them 'Stenhousers' or 'brewery siders'.

They can't call us the "wee team" anymore so need to resort to stadium location snobbery. Might be wrong but has Leith not had hundreds of millions spent on regeneration over the last decade or so? Gorgie still a hole.

Aim Here
05-04-2018, 08:49 AM
Does it matter?

For the moment, they hardly need to figure in our conversation at all...

05-04-2018, 08:49 AM
I just call them Hearts. I don’t like them much, but I’ll afford them the courtesy of calling them by their name. Happy to leave the name calling to them.

05-04-2018, 09:33 AM
I quite like sparryheids, I don’t actually know what it means, but I like it anyway.

05-04-2018, 10:07 AM
I quite like sparryheids, I don’t actually know what it means, but I like it anyway.

Just means they've got wee brains in their wee heids :wink:

Slavers
05-04-2018, 10:18 AM
Mutants.

05-04-2018, 10:20 AM
Luciferians.

05-04-2018, 10:22 AM
Luciferians.

05-04-2018, 10:27 AM
Will stop using Yams. Just not derogatory enough.
Cannae whack a good spoonerism.
Corgie Gunts.

I only recently discovered the origin of g#nt.

Apparently it's that part of the (morbidly obese) body that pushes a female hertz fans leggings to the limit and your not sure where the gut finishes and the c#nt starts.

Alfiembra
05-04-2018, 10:31 AM
The "Soap Dodgers" suitably defamatory and keeps it "clean" for the weans.

05-04-2018, 10:39 AM

The great deluded

05-04-2018, 10:51 AM
I only recently discovered the origin of ****.

Apparently it's that part of the (morbidly obese) body that pushes a female hertz fans leggings to the limit and your not sure where the gut finishes and the c#nt starts.

Oh my days :faf:

05-04-2018, 10:55 AM
I’m so glad that the internet geek phrases haven’t yet infiltrated the folk I go to games with :greengrin

Yams ffs

05-04-2018, 11:06 AM
Though I use it all the time on here I never call them the Yams in real life .... usually just say the ****ing Hertz.

Anyway, its not what you say, its the way that you say it. In the first of the BBC documentaries about the Mercer takeover they interview a very posh Hibs fan ( cant recall his name, but he had QC at the end of it ) he was talking about his lack of surprise that someone had tried to buy the club, but his shock when he found out it was Hearts. The inflection in his voice when he said "Heart of Midlowthian" was as disparaging as any insulting nickname for them I've ever heard :greengrin

05-04-2018, 11:07 AM
I just call them Hearts. I don’t like them much, but I’ll afford them the courtesy of calling them by their name. Happy to leave the name calling to them.

Calling them Hearts is a big enough insult.

Slavers
05-04-2018, 11:07 AM
Luciferians.

Lol I wouldn't go that far. Keep that label for our own royal family and the Khazarian Mafia.

Although I suspect you know nothing about either.

Clerie Green
05-04-2018, 11:12 AM
The irrelevants !

05-04-2018, 11:22 AM
I heard them referred to once as insolvent cheats at the height of their shenanigans.

Don't know how true it was, though.

05-04-2018, 11:37 AM
The inbetweeners, stuck somewhere between 5th and 7th and they're as happy as the jam in one of their Victoria sponges at this stupendous achievement.

05-04-2018, 01:23 PM

Calling them Hearts is a big enough insult.

Imagine being called a Hearts fan. I'd absolutely cringe.

05-04-2018, 01:34 PM
Is there a minimum age for this forum?
If concerned about the weans then get them intro'd to rhyming slang with the "Smellies". Smelly Farts. Under 8s? Corgie Gunts is fine thereafter!

05-04-2018, 01:54 PM
Corgie Gunts is fine thereafter!

That's the most used on the Bounce, closely followed by Poppy Thieves I'd guess.

Jamtards has a nice ring to it I always thought.

05-04-2018, 02:40 PM
Jambo *******s is quite sufficient

earlshaugh
05-04-2018, 02:43 PM

For starters:

Sc*mbos
The Scam-bos
Handout of Midlothian
The Blooded Turds
The Used Tampons
Heart of Midtable
Heart of Mismanagment
The In-famous
The Tynie Cocks
Gorgierrhea
The Gorgoyles
The Front Bottoms
The Ham Wallets
The Empty Wallets

What about the Gorgie Cloggers

hibbydog
05-04-2018, 03:12 PM
I only recently discovered the origin of g#nt.

That is horrible, true and fitting for that mob

05-04-2018, 05:07 PM

A perfectly good name for them.

I recall fondly a trip to Nigeria seven or eight years ago. I was on an internal flight from Kano to Lagos. There was a list of prohibited things on the flight posted at the departure gate and at the top of this list was Yams.

Sodje_18
05-04-2018, 05:13 PM
Always thought “yam” came from their mini-hun reputation?

Maroon on the outside, orange on the inside, may be wrong though. Never used the term personally.

05-04-2018, 05:17 PM
I've called them yams for decades, my mates do too but I've been equally comfortable with poppy thieves from the beginning.

It's historically accurate as they used funds intended for the lady Haig Poppy Fund to prop up their shabby ambitions, and their intention to deprive the fund is self explanatory given that they gave us the evidence in their very own creditors list of shame.

05-04-2018, 05:19 PM

Maroon on the outside, orange on the inside, may be wrong though. Never used the term personally.That's what we used to say back in the day but ugly maroon coloured misshapen vegetable works as well.

05-04-2018, 05:20 PM
The cap in hands

05-04-2018, 05:22 PM

Maroon on the outside, orange on the inside, may be wrong though. Never used the term personally.

Hearts - Jam Tarts - Jambos - Jams - Yams.

Obvious really.

jax67
05-04-2018, 05:33 PM
The Moronic Maroon.

05-04-2018, 05:47 PM
Hearts, Jambos, Yams...............Leave the abusive stuff to them

MagicSwirlingShip
05-04-2018, 06:15 PM
Starts with S and rhymes with Kite.

05-04-2018, 06:16 PM

For starters:

Sc*mbos
The Scam-bos
Handout of Midlothian
The Blooded Turds
The Used Tampons
Heart of Midtable
Heart of Mismanagment
The In-famous
The Tynie Cocks
Gorgierrhea
The Gorgoyles
The Front Bottoms
The Ham Wallets
The Empty Wallets

The Yams. Large potato like vegetable.

kdhibees1
05-04-2018, 06:16 PM
Hertz cants

Clarence
05-04-2018, 06:43 PM
The Sc*mbos is the only one out of that list. I agree about Yams though, it's a terrible name and I've never actually heard someone use when not on these forums.

I concur.

05-04-2018, 07:21 PM
Anything you want because they dinny listen to anything close to the truth

05-04-2018, 07:32 PM
The skid-marks on Edinburgh's/Scottish Football's pants
The POH's (Property Of Hibs)
Charity-Chorers
The Shameless
The Mother-Sister ****ahs
****-Paying-Bills
Proud-Of-Being-****
Huns 2nd Eleven

05-04-2018, 07:39 PM
The librarians?

jakedance
05-04-2018, 07:47 PM
I’ve always thought nicknames for rivals to be pretty cringey. I’d never call them yams or jambos personally. I’d leave the infantile names calling to them. That being said I quite like when I see Poppy Thieves on hibs.net. I expect they won’t like that much.

I can’t really think of any nicknames for other teams that work. The notable exception being ‘Huns’ of course.

berwickhibee
05-04-2018, 07:49 PM
Quite simply i now call them. The cheats.

Ilovehibs
05-04-2018, 09:12 PM
I quite liked the Merricks...but a bit cruel... to the so called "Elephant Man".

Austinho
05-04-2018, 11:21 PM
Always thought the ‘Hibees are Gay’ song was a cover up for their own insecurities, given that ‘Hearts’ is probably the least masculine name in world football. Besides QotS perhaps.

Nothing wrong with it of course, but add in their pink stadium, their love-heart shaped badge and the fact they were formed in a dancing club - can’t help but think the whole thing was their way of hiding from something.

sadtom
05-04-2018, 11:37 PM
JamTards

Eaststandee
05-04-2018, 11:57 PM
I've called them yams for decades, my mates do too but I've been equally comfortable with poppy thieves from the beginning.

It's historically accurate as they used funds intended for the lady Haig Poppy Fund to prop up their shabby ambitions, and their intention to deprive the fund is self explanatory given that they gave us the evidence in their very own creditors list of shame.

Same as me, I thought it was widely used.

A few of the gunts I know absolutely hate it, so I'm not stopping.

Mixu62
06-04-2018, 12:58 AM
Does it matter?

For the moment, they hardly need to figure in our conversation at all...

Fair point that. Can we start calling them "who?"

06-04-2018, 07:42 AM
Fair point that. Can we start calling them "who?"Great shout since they've got Doctor Budge and Doctor football. The Doctor Who's☺

scm70nyd1973
06-04-2018, 07:46 AM
Same as me, I thought it was widely used.

A few of the gunts I know absolutely hate it, so I'm not stopping.

The good thing about each time I speak with someone about them and when I refer to them as the Poppy Thieves - I very often have to explain to them what the origin of it is - it gives me great pleasure doing this and it reinforces and reminds you of what dastardly deed they did - and of course the word spreads and is perpetuated - just braw -and apart from anything else they fechin hate it - long may it continue !

06-04-2018, 08:22 AM
The good thing about each time I speak with someone about them and when I refer to them as the Poppy Thieves - I very often have to explain to them what the origin of it is - it gives me great pleasure doing this and it reinforces and reminds you of what dastardly deed they did - and of course the word spreads and is perpetuated - just braw -and apart from anything else they fechin hate it - long may it continue !I never miss the chance to spread the word on this one either. There's often incredulity at the very idea of using the charity money in the way they did but you only have to refer the doubters to their very own creditors list.

InchHibby
06-04-2018, 08:27 AM
I’ve always liked the word ****.

scm70nyd1973
06-04-2018, 08:28 AM
I never miss the chance to spread the word on this one either. There's often incredulity at the very idea of using the charity money in the way they did but you only have to refer the doubters to their very own creditors list.

It does have quite an impact - nothing more stirs up sheer disgust in a person than when they are made aware of people stealing from charities - I would like to think that there are a good number of the PTs who are ashamed about what went on but a far too uncomfortable a number seem to just gloss over it hence why we don’t let it drop.

06-04-2018, 08:31 AM
Yesterdays people

06-04-2018, 10:20 AM
Poppy Thieves and Yams. They detest both. Sends them off proper foaming at the mouth.

They hate the first one because they know its true and they can't deny it. I have no idea why the second one annoys them so much.

I tend to use Yams as the stand term in ordinary discussion but then Poppy Thieves for emphasis or a particular occasion - for example making sure that someone unaware of their history is brought properly up to date.

It's actually quite funny that we killed the term 'Hibsed it' by winning the Cup but they can never eradicate Poppy Thieves from their record. it will be there forever.

06-04-2018, 10:46 AM
The kleptos. Got such a buzz from stealing from 1 creditor they diddled another 199.

06-04-2018, 10:48 AM
I'll stick to calling them Hearts. Beating them and finishing above them is enough for me.

HibeeHutch
06-04-2018, 12:52 PM
The ReallyWeeTeam

06-04-2018, 01:01 PM
The Fergals. (Sharkey = a good heart(s) these days is hard to find)

06-04-2018, 01:40 PM
Whatever your choice in writing these low-lifes don't deserve a capital letter.

06-04-2018, 01:52 PM
Irrelevant

06-04-2018, 06:31 PM

It’s a great nickname for them.

Not actually rude, so can be used in any context, but sounds derogatory.

Much like Man City calling Utd ‘rags’.

06-04-2018, 08:49 PM
Why call them anything. Lets just look aloof and wonder where that smell is coming from...

MONKEY'S ERSE
07-04-2018, 04:54 PM
Always preferred "The Manky Mob"

07-04-2018, 05:09 PM
Poppy thieves.

07-04-2018, 05:14 PM
Natural ordure