View Full Version : Friendlies

18Hibee75
29-04-2017, 11:22 PM
Over the past 3-4 years we've had some really boring friendlies with no good away trips. If you could organise four friendlies for us against anyone who would it be? Mines would be

Barcelona (A)
Newcastle (A)
Millwall (H)
Liverpool (A)

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

29-04-2017, 11:35 PM
Newcastle, 'cause I'm lazy.:wink:

darwenhibby
29-04-2017, 11:36 PM
LANCASHIRE
let's play them all at the same time and pump them

30-04-2017, 05:39 AM
Everton or Liverpool away ...... free accommodation :greengrin

Unfortunately the only Scottish team these clubs would value as a friendly is Celtic, I doubt they would see us or any other club outside of them as enough of a challenge.

30-04-2017, 05:49 AM
A wee tour of eastern Germany with a couple of games against lower league opposition rounded of with a friendly against Hertha.

30-04-2017, 06:01 AM
Crystal Palace
Everton

30-04-2017, 06:11 AM
Over the past 3-4 years we've had some really boring friendlies with no good away trips. If you could organise four friendlies for us against anyone who would it be? Mines would be

Barcelona (A)
Newcastle (A)
Millwall (H)
Liverpool (A)

Millwall would be the last team on earth i'd want anywhere ER or Edinburgh

Last time we played Newcastle away there were mass paggers on the terracing, even got a mention on Grandstand if memory serves right.

30-04-2017, 06:20 AM
Wee trip to NZ to play Wellington Phoenix? Make it happen Dempster! :greengrin

30-04-2017, 06:46 AM
Yorkshire. Rotherham, Huddersfield, Sheffield united and Halifax tour.

Sounds ace.

Johnny Clash
30-04-2017, 06:48 AM
Brondby!

30-04-2017, 07:01 AM
East Fife
dumbarton
Albion
Edinburgh city.

Glamerous.

30-04-2017, 07:02 AM
Scandinavia purely selfish choice

jakedance
30-04-2017, 07:08 AM
Somewhere with cheap flights worth visiting.
Hadjuk Split
Malaga
Ajax
Nice
Sparta Prague

norwayhibs
30-04-2017, 07:11 AM
Scandinavia purely selfish choice

This :aok:

Newcastlehibby
30-04-2017, 07:48 AM

Last time we played Newcastle away there were mass pagers on the terracing, even got a mention on Grandstand if memory serves right.

Not many people use pagers these days. Old technology. I suppose it would be mobile phones or tablets now. :greengrin

30-04-2017, 08:03 AM
Man Utd. Home or away. I'd love it

30-04-2017, 08:13 AM
Man Utd at home
Barcelona away
Real Madrid at home
Orlando City away.

30-04-2017, 08:21 AM
Man Utd. Home or away. I'd love it

Would you settle for FC United of Manchester away?

BS44
30-04-2017, 08:28 AM
Finn Harps
Sligo Rovers
Galway United
Cork City

Start at the top of Ireland and finish off at the bottom with a road trip down Ireland's West coast.

30-04-2017, 08:33 AM
Budapest would be fab

30-04-2017, 08:43 AM
Would you settle for FC United of Manchester away?

Salford City would be good if the owners came on for a kick about

Codheed
30-04-2017, 09:04 AM
Hamburg and St Pauli ( over there of course ) in a 3 team tournament over a long weekend

30-04-2017, 10:35 AM
Fleetwood away

30-04-2017, 10:39 AM

Barcelona (A)
Newcastle (A)
Millwall (H)
Liverpool (A)

Millwall? That would be a recipe for disaster that.

30-04-2017, 10:42 AM
Gateshead wouldn't be too bad either. Definitely not because Gateshead's stadium and St James' Park are a 10 minute walk from my apartment. :cb

One of the London teams would be a good day out too.

30-04-2017, 10:46 AM
Somewhere with cheap flights worth visiting.
Hadjuk Split
Malaga
Ajax
Nice
Sparta Prague

All very well dreaming of the giants of the game, but a weekend in the sun in one of Europe's top, easily affordable destinations would be a fantastic reward for the support.

Northern Hibby
30-04-2017, 10:46 AM
Newcastle please 😀

30-04-2017, 10:51 AM
Dumbarton A
Ayr United A

30-04-2017, 11:45 AM
I've always been desperate for a West Country tour.

Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Swindon Town
Bath City (St Johnstone were down here last year).
Yeovil

Even Reading would be good for me.

Have it in my head that Brighton will win the Championship and there will be a Championship winners v Championship winners in Brighton. That would be a brillint away trip.

Quite frankly any team south of Newcastle would do it for me.

30-04-2017, 11:53 AM
Finn Harps
Sligo Rovers
Galway United
Cork City

Start at the top of Ireland and finish off at the bottom with a road trip down Ireland's West coast.

That would be brilliant (but expensive) :thumbsup:

30-04-2017, 11:53 AM
Fleetwood away

Gets my vote too:wink:

30-04-2017, 11:54 AM
Dumbarton A
Ayr United A

You can't have withdrawal symptoms already, Bob :wink:

30-04-2017, 11:56 AM
Marathanbet sponsor Malaga, surely they could sort us out for a wee pre season game, away in July

30-04-2017, 12:06 PM
A wee Baltic tour would be amazing.

30-04-2017, 12:43 PM
Pre-season friendlies should be a series of straightforward away games against weak opposition to get our players match fit and allow newcomers to settle in to the team, before finishing with a glamorous home tie.

Something like Peterhead (A), Elgin City (A), Hearts (A), Montrose (A) and Newcastle (H) would be realistic.

30-04-2017, 12:45 PM
You can't have withdrawal symptoms already, Bob :wink:

I have confidence that this Premier nightmare will soon be over and we'll be back at Ayr and Dumbarton and running round Hampden with the Scottish Cup.

Leith's finest
30-04-2017, 12:53 PM
A visit to west ham utd ground would be nice

30-04-2017, 01:31 PM
Portsmouth away would be eventful

30-04-2017, 01:47 PM
Raqqa and Mosul away.

Our fearsome reputation from last year will have those Daesh guys running scared once they hear that we're in town.

30-04-2017, 02:58 PM

Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Swindon Town
Yeovil

Have it in my head that Brighton will win the Championship and there will be a Championship winners v Championship winners in Brighton. That would be a brillint away trip.

add in Forest Green, i love being down in Cider country :agree::agree::agree:

30-04-2017, 04:08 PM
East Coast USA. Reclaim that 'Hibernia' heritage as our own.

Birkenhead hib
30-04-2017, 07:14 PM
Everton please (away)

The Baldmans Comb
30-04-2017, 07:29 PM
Anywhere but these poverty stricken North of England dumps with their inbred families and ridiculous accents.

Humo
30-04-2017, 07:40 PM
Would love to go down to MK dons and Nottingham forrest. Beat their managers one more time

30-04-2017, 07:50 PM

Last time we played Newcastle away there were mass paggers on the terracing, even got a mention on Grandstand if memory serves right.

:agree: i've always despised anything newcastle since then, hope they end up playing in the National league :greengrin

30-04-2017, 07:56 PM
Anywhere but these poverty stricken North of England dumps with their inbred families and ridiculous accents.

"why aye man"

Translation: ‘Yes’ – positive, excited or enthusiastic proclamation of agreement. To soften the enthusiasm replace ‘man’ with ‘pet.’ May also be used to say goodbye.

e.g. ‘Ye gannin doon Tescoh?’ ‘Why aye man!’ = ‘Are you coming to Tesco’s’ ‘Yes!’

or ‘Why aye pet, I’ll see ya tomorroh.’ = ‘Yes (name of friend), I’ll see you tomorrow.’

but i'm sure there's good and bad like everywhere else

30-04-2017, 08:12 PM
Raqqa and Mosul away.

Our fearsome reputation from last year will have those Daesh guys running scared once they hear that we're in town.

Agreed, we will then become the second team from Edinburgh to win a war.

For me I think we should play Ajax 4 times. 2 week in the 'dam :cb

30-04-2017, 08:35 PM
Fleetwood away

Another vote for the Cod Army, that's 3, get it sorted:clapper:

The Pointer
30-04-2017, 08:42 PM
I always fancy 'oop north' places as the teams are of a slightly lesser standard and they're not too far away but still good crack. Decent pubs with decent grog 'n' all.

30-04-2017, 08:50 PM
Long time since they came to London.

30-04-2017, 08:53 PM
Long time since they came to London.

The U19'S played a closed door match against Spurs a few years ago at their old training ground at Chingford - needless to say no entry was garnered.

30-04-2017, 09:11 PM
Blackburn and Rochdale.

30-04-2017, 09:21 PM

:rolleyes: Clueless.

30-04-2017, 09:25 PM

Jeezo, I can feel the spite radiating from this post!

ED Hibee
01-05-2017, 06:39 AM
A tour of South London would be my preference. Palace, Millwall and The Hamlet.

01-05-2017, 07:14 AM
A game against Groningen would be nice there are alot of Hibs fans there. They also play in green and white. Followed with a couple of games in Germany Schalke would be good. The beer is great and its cheap.

01-05-2017, 07:27 AM
For selfish reasons Yorkshire and Lincolnshire would be good.

Lincoln City
York City
Huddersfield
Sheffield Wednesday

01-05-2017, 07:39 AM
FC Tirana or some other Albanian team preferably between 4th and 14th July please

01-05-2017, 07:40 AM
The U19'S played a closed door match against Spurs a few years ago at their old training ground at Chingford - needless to say no entry was garnered.

Maybe a friendly at Wembley, then!

01-05-2017, 08:18 AM
A visit to west ham utd ground would be nice

No way :no way:. I've been twice, both times in the away end, once in the upper and once in the lower tier. It's awful. Views are horrendous, the gap between the upper and lower is about 100ft, if you're in the back row of the upper then you can barely see the players at the other end of the ground.

yonder1875
01-05-2017, 08:34 AM
Notts Forrest please. The Warburton song would be scenes.

01-05-2017, 08:50 AM
Western Sydney Wanderers
Sydney FC

About time you lot flew inter continental to see the cabbage!:wink:

18Hibee75
01-05-2017, 09:01 AM
Notts Forrest please. The Warburton song would be scenes.
Hahaha! Forgot about that. Hoping we get them now, don't think Warburton would allow it though :greengrin

01-05-2017, 05:10 PM

1977. Old Rangers had a riot that day against Aston Villa.

01-05-2017, 05:16 PM
Houston Dynamo in Houston and we can party at my new house :) ..... beers on me.......

01-05-2017, 05:36 PM
Western Sydney Wanderers
Sydney FC

About time you lot flew inter continental to see the cabbage!:wink:

I would love a pre-season trip to Australia. It would need to last about 3 or 4 weeks though. Not sure I could justify the flight for a sake of a week! :greengrin

rotherhamrob
01-05-2017, 05:43 PM
Yorkshire. Rotherham, Huddersfield, Sheffield united and Halifax tour.

Sounds ace.

Wins my vote

01-05-2017, 06:03 PM
Had a great weekend in Blackpool when we played a friendly there a few years ago.

01-05-2017, 06:13 PM
A tour of South London would be my preference. Palace, Millwall and The Hamlet.

Nae luck today bud down at Nywood Lane - DHFC shouldn't have started with Kenny Beaney as he's clearly not fit.

See you in the Pub League next season :agree:.

01-05-2017, 07:50 PM

Barcelona (A)
Newcastle (A)
Millwall (H)
Liverpool (A)

We've played Barca and got leathered. No thanks.

Millwall? They are pi5h.

Newcastle aye.

Liverpool naw!

01-05-2017, 07:55 PM
Crystal palace away.

Nearest club to me! :greengrin

davy malcolm
01-05-2017, 08:11 PM
I was at the isle of man tournament in the eighties it would be good to go back

ED Hibee
01-05-2017, 08:21 PM
Nae luck today bud down at Nywood Lane - DHFC shouldn't have started with Kenny Beaney as he's clearly not fit.

See you in the Pub League next season :agree:.

Very disappointing but the sheer number of games they have had to play of late caught up with them in the end. The Hamlet's play off record is starting to rival our own!

01-05-2017, 11:45 PM
Cologne away

cheltenhamhibee
01-05-2017, 11:58 PM

Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Swindon Town
Yeovil

Don't forget Cheltenham Town, Hibs pub to have a few bevvies in as well, would feel weird being in the away end, but would take your first four, sod Yeovil, it's a ****hole :thumbsup::thumbsup:

02-05-2017, 01:33 AM
New York Red Bulls would do nicely.

andybev1
02-05-2017, 04:31 AM
Not many people use pagers these days. Old technology. I suppose it would be mobile phones or tablets now. :greengrin :agree::top marks

andybev1
02-05-2017, 04:33 AM
all the teams by the sea - purely a shellfish choice.

02-05-2017, 06:14 AM
We should start with a smaller side and gradually work up to a club in their top league, so here's my suggestions for a one week tour...

Unterhaching (http://www.spvggunterhaching.de/homepage), 1860 Munich (http://www.tsv1860.de/) & Augsburg (http://fcaugsburg.de/cms/website.php).

A perfect week of watching the Hibees without too much travelling (for me, at least)

HibbyScott
02-05-2017, 07:53 AM
Norwich (A)
Ipswich (A)
Needham Market (A)
Leiston (A)

Would do me nicely!

wpj
02-05-2017, 09:22 AM
London would be good, also Reading, Brighton etc. Liverpool and or Everton away would also be good.
Finn Harps away would be ideal too. All the above have accomodation sorted :greengrin

andybev1
02-05-2017, 09:57 AM
Leyton Orient to help them in their hardest time - just moved back up from their last year and loved the place and the ground until hearn sold to that Arse of an Italian and they plummeted through the leagues.

Then West Ham and QPR and pos Peterboro.

Also be good for the London hibs club supporters to get to see their heros without a trek..

Great thread BTW

02-05-2017, 09:59 AM
Got to go to Dunfermline at some point. the rest I don't care about.

Stranraer
02-05-2017, 10:00 AM
This might sound daft but I enjoyed the friendly against Huddersfield a couple of years back - I'd quite like to play some lower league English teams.

02-05-2017, 10:01 AM
End of June, early July Im on holiday in Thailand and Vietnam, would be a nice coincidence :wink:

(not that I could name a Thai or Vietnamese team to play against)