View Full Version : "Burka" ban

Stranraer
29-04-2017, 10:31 AM
Wondered what people's thoughts were on UKIP's idea to ban the full face veil worn by some Muslim women? I personally don't think it's the place of a Government to tell people what to wear...

29-04-2017, 10:40 AM
Wondered what people's thoughts were on UKIP's idea to ban the full face veil worn by some Muslim women? I personally don't think it's the place of a Government to tell people what to wear...
Is it the place of men to tell women what they wear?

That's the counter argument.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Mantis Toboggan
29-04-2017, 11:33 AM
What is banning full veil in public actualy supposed to achieve?

29-04-2017, 11:42 AM
Real Brits 1 Muslims 0?

ColinNish
29-04-2017, 11:44 AM
I'm discriminated against when i wear my motorcycle helmet into a shop or garage by being told to remove it.

29-04-2017, 11:46 AM
I'm discriminated against when i wear my motorcycle helmet into a shop or garage by being told to remove it.
You're not really.

29-04-2017, 11:50 AM
Ostracise a demographic of your population.

It's worked well for France.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

29-04-2017, 11:52 AM
How many robberies have occurred by people wearing burkas in the UK?

Your helmet also acts as armour too btw

The full traditional shebang isnt exactly the most practical of getaway costumes

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

29-04-2017, 12:06 PM
They're showing their true colours now.

speedy_gonzales
29-04-2017, 12:14 PM

You're not really.

No? Many filling stations will not start the pump until your helmet is removed (I'm guessing to help prevent drive offs). If full visibility of the face is required then that should apply to all, else it's discrimination, no?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
29-04-2017, 12:21 PM
I find it offensive, but i don't believe that we have a right not to be offended.

If someone wants to advertise that they are a backward eejit, then let them. Its not the government's place to dictate what people wear, however stupid.

29-04-2017, 12:21 PM
No? Many filling stations will not start the pump until your helmet is removed (I'm guessing to help prevent drive offs). If full visibility of the face is required then that should apply to all, else it's discrimination, no?
It's about security, as you say. A different set of issues .

The burqa thing is about other issues, though. Discrimination yeah, racism, misogyny.....not an easy question.

Mr Grieves
29-04-2017, 12:50 PM
They're showing their true colours now.

UKIP are moving into BNP territory because the Tories have stolen their position.

29-04-2017, 12:54 PM

No it's a legitimate course of action put into to place to combat a trend of losses by drive offs by motorcyclists.

29-04-2017, 01:19 PM
The burka and niqab ban is bull**** but I'm more concerned by their proposal to force annual genital checks on certain young females (not whites obviously). I'm not entirely sure what it is intended to achieve either, given that the damage will have been done by the time a check picks it up.

They've always been bawbags but their impending/ongoing irrelevance seems to have let the mask slip even further.

speedy_gonzales
29-04-2017, 01:20 PM
No it's a legitimate course of action put into to place to combat a trend of losses by drive offs by motorcyclists.
Not sure about trend, motorcyclists have been required to remove their helmet when entering filling stations, banks etc for years. Even today, with self pay pumps, many filling stations still require you to remove your helmet before authorising the pump.
I even had to remove the head of a gorilla costume once on my way to a fancy dress party (honestly, not my daily garb!).
So visibility of the face seems to be important, yet I don't think ANY filling station would request the removal of a veil, apart from it possibly infringing religious beliefs it would be a PR nightmare!

Mantis Toboggan
29-04-2017, 01:37 PM
The burka and niqab ban is bull**** but I'm more concerned by their proposal to force annual genital checks on certain young females (not whites obviously). I'm not entirely sure what it is intended to achieve either, given that the damage will have been done by the time a check picks it up.

They've always been bawbags but their impending/ongoing irrelevance seems to have let the mask slip even further.

They just want to stick it to them muslamics.
The party is a joke.

29-04-2017, 02:02 PM
They just want to stick it to them muslamics.
The party is a joke.
If it were any other party, I'd be happy to hear the debate. There are other strands to it, which France wrestled with for years....and, as mentioned above, is still struggling with.

However, it's not, so **** em 😆

29-04-2017, 02:03 PM

Very Un-British suggestion from the new BNP.

People are free to wear what they want and its not the government's role to tell them what they can and can't put on.

Personally, I think women covering themselves completely infront of other men says something about the sorry state of inter-gender relationships that underlies such behaviour and I think it will die out as women realise they can walk the street in the UK without being sexually harrassed which is not alsways the case where they have come from.

29-04-2017, 02:03 PM
UKIP are moving into BNP territory because the Tories have stolen their position.

Labour started the ball rolling by stealing the centre right from the Tories.

29-04-2017, 02:04 PM

If people started robbing shops and service stations dressed in burkas, I'm sure the rule would be extended!!

ColinNish
29-04-2017, 02:05 PM
If people started robbing shops and service stations dressed in burkas, I'm sure the rule would be extended!!

We'll see.

29-04-2017, 02:06 PM

Interesting that Paul Nutter is standing in a conservative held seat. Have they abandoned the hunt for the wporking class vote and focused on middle class racists instead?

29-04-2017, 05:30 PM
I think there's a case for saying that teachers or doctors for example shouldn't wear the veil, but I don't think it should be banned across the board.

29-04-2017, 05:40 PM
If we're banning clothes, I nominate sleeveless t-shirts and leggings.

29-04-2017, 05:46 PM

Sandals with socks.

Crocs on adults.

Harringtons.

Sweat pants.

Short sleeves shirts in the office.

29-04-2017, 07:29 PM

When I get home from work sometimes I like nothing better than changing into my Rab C Nesbitt string vest and being a bit of a sloth especially of an evening at the weekend. :greengrin

I nominate these big american style baseball hats with the huge rims and skinny jeans that expose the erchie - not a sight for sore eyes indeed :confused:

glory glory

29-04-2017, 08:09 PM
Yes 100%. I have no issue with women wearing the headscarf that covers their hair and goes around their face but the full veil which covers everything except the eyes should not be allowed.

Mantis Toboggan
30-04-2017, 02:13 AM
Yes 100%. I have no issue with women wearing the headscarf that covers their hair and goes around their face but the full veil which covers everything except the eyes should not be allowed.

So the government can control what a minority group can wear?
Thats basically fascism.

Mantis Toboggan
30-04-2017, 02:17 AM
Can we ban brown brogues and cardigans?
I dont like them. Ban them. Thats the answer.

Mantis Toboggan
30-04-2017, 02:18 AM

Yeah bikers have had a tough time over the years.
I am fully behind your campaign. Justice must be done.

30-04-2017, 07:13 AM
Can we ban brown brogues and cardigans?
I dont like them. Ban them. Thats the answer.

First they came for the cardigans and I did not speak out,
Because I don't wear cardigans,

Then they came for my brown Loakes,
And I stabbed them in the eye with a fork, f***ers.

Mr Grieves
30-04-2017, 07:16 AM
Labour started the ball rolling by stealing the centre right from the Tories.

Yep, the whole political landscape has slipped that way and it's utterly depressing.

30-04-2017, 09:04 AM
im thinking about getting 1 for the misses , beats the old paper bag with the holes cut out :greengrin

30-04-2017, 10:34 AM
We'll see.

How will we see?

Are you going to start robbing petrol stations wearing a full veil?

ColinNish
30-04-2017, 07:30 PM
How will we see?

Are you going to start robbing petrol stations wearing a full veil?

Now there's an Idea. 🤔🤔🤔🤔

Naw, think I'll remove my helmet, revealing a burka underneath and see how we get on with that.

30-04-2017, 07:36 PM
Now there's an Idea. 🤔🤔🤔🤔

Naw, think I'll remove my helmet, revealing a burka underneath and see how we get on with that.

Sounds like a recipe for a particularly sweaty head.

30-04-2017, 10:19 PM
Real Brits 1 Muslims 0?

I think they should ban wee neds from wearing balaclavas and racing about on motorbikes, did you see the 5 of them today tearing about the place doing wheelies on pavements and wrong side of roads and other pish that will see them getting killed.

Sorry for the hijack. :greengrin

01-05-2017, 12:16 PM
I was on a train to Glasgow the other week and witnessed a pretty ridiculous spectacle. I was sitting opposite a woman in a niqab who was travelling with a man I assume was her husband. Shortly after leaving Haymarket the train guard came round to check tickets and the lady presented a railcard. He asked her to remove her facial veil so he could confirm she was the person in the photo and she refused. Now maybe he was being somewhat officious but he explained if he couldn't confirm her identity she would have to either pay the full fare or leave the train at the next stop, after several minutes of argument she asked the man I assumed was her husband for permission to remove her veil which he agreed to as long as the 2 of them and the guard left the main carriage and went into the vestibule so no one else could see her.

I'm not a huge fan of the government controlling what people wear and I certainly don't support a ban on burkas, niqabs and so on but I'm not a massive fan of a woman having to ask her husbands permission to expose more than her eyes in public either. It just seems a bit archaic to me and far more about control than modesty.

01-05-2017, 02:12 PM
I was on a train to Glasgow the other week and witnessed a pretty ridiculous spectacle. I was sitting opposite a woman in a niqab who was travelling with a man I assume was her husband. Shortly after leaving Haymarket the train guard came round to check tickets and the lady presented a railcard. He asked her to remove her facial veil so he could confirm she was the person in the photo and she refused. Now maybe he was being somewhat officious but he explained if he couldn't confirm her identity she would have to either pay the full fare or leave the train at the next stop, after several minutes of argument she asked the man I assumed was her husband for permission to remove her veil which he agreed to as long as the 2 of them and the guard left the main carriage and went into the vestibule so no one else could see her.

I'm not a huge fan of the government controlling what people wear and I certainly don't support a ban on burkas, niqabs and so on but I'm not a massive fan of a woman having to ask her husbands permission to expose more than her eyes in public either. It just seems a bit archaic to me and far more about control than modesty.

I've seen similar. What was the man wearing? Only once have I seen the guy in 'traditional' stuff the other times it's been designer training shoes, jeans and t-shirt type clothing.

Ryan69
01-05-2017, 03:56 PM
Is it the place of men to tell women what they wear?

That's the counter argument.

Can I walk into a bank eith a motorbike helmet?

For security reasons...answer is no!

Nowhere in the Koran does it say they must dress like that.

01-05-2017, 04:22 PM

I may be wrong but I took his point as its men who force them to wear them.

speedy_gonzales
01-05-2017, 05:06 PM

I know very little about religion, but is there not something about having the top of their head covered, much like how Jewish people may cover their head, even to the point where some Jewish women actually shave their head and wear a wig.
Apparently flashing your bald spot/pate to god is an offence, or some suchlike!!

01-05-2017, 05:08 PM
I may be wrong but I took his point as its men who force them to wear them.
You're not wrong 😁

01-05-2017, 09:05 PM
Will a bride be prevented from wearing a veil as well.

01-05-2017, 09:10 PM
Will a bride be prevented from wearing a veil as well.

Only if she's riding a motorbike. That would just be downright dangerous.

01-05-2017, 09:29 PM
Let's all just get chips implanted, problem solved.

01-05-2017, 09:59 PM

So you are in favour of governments banning people from wearing headwear in line with their beliefs?

Would your view differ if the government banned you from wearing your tinfoil hat?

01-05-2017, 10:54 PM

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/yournewswire.com/payment-chips-implanted-under-skin/amp/

02-05-2017, 07:15 AM
So you are in favour of governments banning people from wearing headwear in line with their beliefs?

Would your view differ if the government banned you from wearing your tinfoil hat?

Slavers
02-05-2017, 08:19 AM

Open borders, chips implanted and a cashless society! All sounds very illuminate lol

08-05-2017, 07:33 PM

Well, here you go!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4485004/Gang-dressed-burkas-jailed-230-years.html

08-05-2017, 08:15 PM
This is a topic Hibs fans are uniquely well-placed to comment on, given our experience of the Bukta ban, which was only one letter different.

hibs#1
08-05-2017, 08:34 PM
Well, here you go!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4485004/Gang-dressed-burkas-jailed-230-years.html

Tbf that is the daily mail.could be trying to push a point to their racist readers.

ColinNish
08-05-2017, 08:35 PM
Well, here you go!

Oh dear. 😂😂😂😂

09-05-2017, 06:07 PM
I think there's a case for saying that teachers or doctors for example shouldn't wear the veil, but I don't think it should be banned across the board.

:agree: There are a lot of places and circumstances where it's important that a person's identity should be clear. There's not a lot of equality or freedom in any interaction where one person's face is open and clear and the other's is partially or completely covered. This isn't just about a Muslim woman covering her face - I don't take kindly to a situation where I'm talking to someone wearing heavy dark sunglasses when the sun isn't shining. For a free exchange of information of views (or even just common courtesy) I like to be able to see the other person's eyes. A better chance then of knowing whether he's lying in his teeth to me?

Muslim women going fully veiled is about gender inequality - simple. Muslim men dress as they like; Muslim women can be told what to wear by Muslim men, and if they don't conform they can be harassed and abused by men and women. Pretty Boy's experience on the train says it all, really. The woman having to ask permission of the man really makes my skin crawl. What sort of a relationship is that? (I know what comes into my mind first, and it isn't a nice thought.)

There are circumstances where it's important to be able to confirm a person's identity quickly and without fuss. Like in a court of law. Like when police stop a driver and ask to see that driver's driving licence. Like when an adult is speaking to a doctor, nurse, schoolteacher, social worker, playgroup leader as a child's parent or guardian. Lots of places. And the law should assert that this is so, and there should be no exceptions, whether the headgear in question is a niqab or a crash helmet or a Spiderman costume.

I wouldn't look for an outright ban, but as I say above, certain transactions require frankness and openness between both parties, and a courteous request for verification of identity should not be refused. If refused, the transaction should be quite legitimately cancelled. Like a shopkeeper accepting a credit or bank card, for example needs to know that I am who I say I am.

I think they should ban wee neds from wearing balaclavas and racing about on motorbikes, did you see the 5 of them today tearing about the place doing wheelies on pavements and wrong side of roads and other pish that will see them getting killed.

Sorry for the hijack. :greengrin

Are you suggesting we meddle with the principle of the Evolution of the Species by means of Natural Selection, silver?

Is this not the natural process by which those wee neds can be easily and conveniently removed from the gene pool before they breed? :devil:

09-05-2017, 08:03 PM
:agree: I don't take kindly to a situation where I'm talking to someone wearing heavy dark sunglasses when the sun isn't shining. For a free exchange of information of views (or even just common courtesy) I like to be able to see the other person's eyes. :devil:

I bloody hate that. It's so rude!

Ryan69
11-05-2017, 03:49 AM

Your as funny as a fart at a funeral mate.

If people want to come to the country...integrate or F off is what I say.

Why should we change laws to suit others?

Someone from that religion can have several wifes....yet I would be jailed for it!

How can you have 2 completely different sets of laws in the same country?????

Is it my fault inregard to veils and burkhas....that they dont trust one another?

Islam is full of hypocrisy!

Try going toto a Medina....and see how desperately they want that bottle of whisky you offer them!

11-05-2017, 06:30 AM

Someone from that religion can have several wifes....yet I would be jailed for it!

Is it my fault inregard to veils and burkhas....that they dont trust one another?

Try going toto a Medina....and see how desperately they want that bottle of whisky you offer them!

Wow.

11-05-2017, 06:45 AM

Bigamy is illegal in this country, no matter what nationality, culture or religion you're from.

11-05-2017, 06:54 AM
Bigamy is illegal in this country, no matter what nationality, culture or religion you're from.

Even if it were legal the man would be grateful for a bit of jail time to get away from all the wives and mother-in-laws!

11-05-2017, 07:09 AM

The Burka is legal, we'd be changing the law to suit the racists, even if there are logical reasons for doing so.

Ryan69
11-05-2017, 04:22 PM

Why are there many with more than 1 wife then?

I was reading a story about a Somalian,that has 4 wifes and 22 children getting £250,000 a year in benefits a couple of weeks ago.

I would be jailed...and so would you!

So why does it happen?

11-05-2017, 05:15 PM

I was reading a story about a Somalian,that has 4 wifes and 22 children getting £250,000 a year in benefits a couple of weeks ago.

So why does it happen?

Do you have a link?

11-05-2017, 05:24 PM

So why does it happen?
There's a big difference between being legally married, and married in the eyes of one's particular faith.

Is this man Muslim?

Where was he married?

Would you have the same objection to a Mormon man having 4 wives?

ColinNish
11-05-2017, 06:42 PM
Do you have a link?

I'm betting it was the Daily Mail....

speedy_gonzales
11-05-2017, 07:40 PM
Would you have the same objection to a Mormon man having 4 wives?

I once knew a Mormon family that lived at Colinton Mains, they were perfectly normal with the exception the man lived with more than one woman. He was only legally married to one and seemed perfectly happy,,,,birthdays must have been a nightmare though. Imagine forgetting one but remembering the others!

12-05-2017, 08:11 AM

I'm thinking more Britain First on Facebook. However we should wait and give the lad time to provide link before jumping to conclusions.

12-05-2017, 10:26 AM
Mr 'I support Trump because everything is a conspiracy and a New York billionaire who inhrited his wealth is anti establishment' turns out to be just another intolerant bigot. Who'd have thought it?

12-05-2017, 01:08 PM

Bookies are offering Evens on it being a YouTube video

beensaidbefore
12-05-2017, 04:13 PM

A simple Google search seems to bring up a number of articles which suggest it's not too far from the truth.

12-05-2017, 04:14 PM
A simple Google search seems to bring up a number of articles which suggest it's not too far from the truth.

"The truth" and "not too far from the truth" are not the same thing.

You going to provide a link?

beensaidbefore
12-05-2017, 04:26 PM

Perhaps a willingness to jump down the throat of people for raising it as an issue goes some way to preventing it being talked about in a reasoned manner.

Edit: lost connection and didn't realise I only posted half a message above.

beensaidbefore
12-05-2017, 04:29 PM

Why don't you have a look yourself? It's simple to find. Iv not had a chance to read the articles, but was put out by the folk ready to judge without looking into it. All this must be a daily mail reader chat gets in the road of having a proper discussion about a potentially serious issue.

If sections or society are above the law based on their religious beliefs then that is surely worth a discussion without name calling etc?

beensaidbefore
12-05-2017, 04:43 PM

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/tvandradio/11108763/The-Men-with-Many-Wives-the-British-Muslims-who-practise-polygamy.html

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/news/uk/614314/Sharia-law-courts-Britain-Islam-marriage/amp

Quite interesting reading. Particularly the second article imo.

More...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-15032947

12-05-2017, 04:49 PM
Polygamy. The answer to the despicable tory rape clause.

#justsayin

12-05-2017, 05:35 PM
Polygamy. The answer to the despicable tory rape clause.

#justsayin

Whats this got to do with burka's ? There a seperate thread for tory bashing . Need i remind you Southside Harp was called a troll for SNP bashing on a tory thread

#:rolleyes:

12-05-2017, 07:16 PM
Whats this got to do with burka's ? There a seperate thread for tory bashing . Need i remind you Southside Harp was called a troll for SNP bashing on a tory thread

:agree: Exactly.

12-05-2017, 09:21 PM

Conversation immediately above my post is about polygamy. It was in reference to that. It also pointed out that polygamy is a way of circumventing the rape clause which is despicable.

If you thought I was calling the Tories despicable then I apologise. They are much worse.

Hope that clears it up.

Stranraer
13-05-2017, 06:49 PM

So why does it happen?

If it was a "Britain First" link on FB I wouldn't take it as fact.

14-05-2017, 02:26 PM
So the government can control what a minority group can wear?
Thats basically fascism.

It's basically not. It's basically saying to people that we want you to play a full part in society and interact with you in a normal way and in order to do so, being able to view each other facially is vital in allowing that to happen.

I don't feel that speaking to someone behind a full face veil allows for a normal conversation to take place and that's before we even start to talk about the security concerns it causes.

14-05-2017, 03:41 PM
It's basically not. It's basically saying to people that we want you to play a full part in society and interact with you in a normal way and in order to do so, being able to view each other facially is vital in allowing that to happen.

I don't feel that speaking to someone behind a full face veil allows for a normal conversation to take place and that's before we even start to talk about the security concerns it causes.

I take it you aren't married. That involves talking to someone through a full veil.

14-05-2017, 03:53 PM
I take it you aren't married. That involves talking to someone through a full veil.

are you married and if so do you make your wife put the veil on very time she leaves the house :confused:

14-05-2017, 04:48 PM

That isnt the case at all. In fact I can't remember the last wedding I was at where the bride wore a full veil.

14-05-2017, 06:05 PM
And often through a locked door .....

14-05-2017, 06:17 PM
And often through a locked door .....

I did most of my talking through a lawyer.

Mantis Toboggan
15-05-2017, 11:52 AM

He's a lot funnier than you.
Some of those sentences don't even make sense for a start

Mantis Toboggan
15-05-2017, 11:53 AM

If someone wants to cover their face, that's surely their choice and in a liberal society it's not for the government to make it illegal. Regardless of whether you prefer looking at someone's face or not.

15-05-2017, 06:29 PM
If someone wants to cover their face, that's surely their choice and in a liberal society it's not for the government to make it illegal. Regardless of whether you prefer looking at someone's face or not.

Theres a logic to your point, does that also mean that someone can go around wearing a crash helmet as they see fit, with no government interference?

15-05-2017, 06:43 PM
Theres a logic to your point, does that also mean that someone can go around wearing a crash helmet as they see fit, with no government interference?
The Government don't interfere in that, though. It's commercial enterprises that usually make the demands about crash helmets.