26-04-2017, 12:10 PM
Banned from all football for 18 months. :faf::faf:

26-04-2017, 12:11 PM
Aahhh

26-04-2017, 12:12 PM
http://www.itv.com/news/2017-04-26/fa-suspend-joey-barton-from-all-football-activity-for-18-months/

26-04-2017, 12:13 PM
Banned by English FA for betting offences
Couldn't happen to a bigger bellend.

What did Ian black get? 2 games or something?

That's a hell of a ban for betting. That guy's charge sheet over his career must be as long as War and Peace.

26-04-2017, 12:14 PM
Ouch.

That's how a set of football authorities who are genuine about stamping out unacceptable behaviour go about doing it.

I bet he wishes he'd stayed at Sevco now.

26-04-2017, 12:16 PM

Something like that. He was also betting on games he was playing in. No idea if Barton was

26-04-2017, 12:17 PM
That's a hell of a ban for betting. That guy's charge sheet over his career must be as long as War and Peace.

obviously thought lets finally get rid of this pain and making an example of him at the same time.

26-04-2017, 12:21 PM

I wonder if Barton can paint or something to make ends meet while he's oot? :cb

26-04-2017, 12:22 PM
Joey Barton has now released a lengthy statement in which he says "The decision effectively forces me into an early retirement from playing football."

aww poor Joey. Although I'm sure your decision to have a flutter most weekends knowing full well it's against the rules is what forced you to retire. He is the end of a bell

ehf
26-04-2017, 12:30 PM
Banned from all football for 18 months. :faf::faf:

He received a one-match ban from the SFA for the same offence when playing for Rangers. Funny that.

magpie1892
26-04-2017, 12:33 PM
I wonder if Barton can paint or something to make ends meet while he's oot? :cb

The FULL amount of his hun contract, which he's getting in tranches would set a sensible person up for life even if they hadn't previously been 'earning' £40,000/wk at Man City, £65,000/wk at Newcastle, £85,000/wk at QPR and £35,000/wk at Burnley.

Poor lamb.

26-04-2017, 12:41 PM
A little bit of me feels sorry for him - (a hair that grows on my nose that I regularly pluck.)

Fambo Jannies
26-04-2017, 12:44 PM
Joey Barton has now released a lengthy statement in which he says "The decision effectively forces me into an early retirement from playing football."

aww poor Joey. Although I'm sure your decision to have a flutter most weekends knowing full well it's against the rules is what forced you to retire. He is the end of a bell

Reading the rest of his statement, it's clear he sees himself as the victim (of the culture), in all this, rather than taking responsibility for his own conduct. Sums up the many offences across his career. I feel a new tattoo with a quote from Eastern philosophy coming on.

26-04-2017, 12:46 PM
He admits he placed several bets on his own team to lose, which is a huge no no.

26-04-2017, 12:48 PM
'Aye ye've stopped, but after ye had ye warnin', so ah'm no gien it ye, nae matches, oot of time, Prick!'

As the quiz master of the clansman now head of the FA, might have said today.

26-04-2017, 12:51 PM
Bit harsh.

26-04-2017, 12:56 PM
Shame. Football's loss will be Twitter's gain - we will all be richer from his wit and wisdom.

26-04-2017, 12:57 PM
Shame. Football's loss will be Twitter's gain - we will all be richer from his wit and wisdom.

Football's Bertrand Russell.

26-04-2017, 01:05 PM
One of these days the right of football associations will be challenged in court and I believe the lawyers will win the day. I have no interest in Barton but this is effectively restriction of trade and they have effectively fined him a huge sum of money. Due to his inability to work they have deprived him of approx 2.75 million pounds if the 35,000 weekly figure is accurate. No court would fine him that much and I don't believe any FA should have that level of power over a footballer.

26-04-2017, 01:08 PM

Not if he backed the team he was playing for to lose.
A sine die ban is what he should have received however, at his age it's effectively the same thing.

26-04-2017, 01:09 PM
The FULL amount of his hun contract, which he's getting in tranches would set a sensible person up for life even if they hadn't previously been 'earning' £40,000/wk at Man City, £65,000/wk at Newcastle, £85,000/wk at QPR and £35,000/wk at Burnley.

Poor lamb.

On the point of the Hun contract, this isn't a get out of jail card for them is it? Can they now just bump him?

26-04-2017, 01:17 PM
Ouch.

That's how a set of football authorities who are genuine about stamping out unacceptable behaviour go about doing it.

I bet he wishes he'd stayed at Sevco now.

I thought he picked up a similar ban while at Sevco no?

26-04-2017, 01:29 PM
Tbf to Barton, he raises a good point about the hypocrisy of football in accepting huge sums from betting companies in sponsorship and advertising revenue, whilst singling out certain players who break the rules.

26-04-2017, 01:33 PM
Tbf to Barton, he raises a good point about the hypocrisy of football in accepting huge sums from betting companies in sponsorship and advertising revenue, whilst singling out certain players who break the rules.

He does, however it's plainly obvious that that's been his angle in defence.

He's likely nowhere near as rich as he'd like to be and absolutely gutted to be unable to top up his bank balance over the next year or so (even though the likelyhood is a lot more of it would be thrown away gambling).

26-04-2017, 01:47 PM
No less than that ogre deserves. He's a thug, plain and simple. Controversy follows him around like a bad smell.

26-04-2017, 01:54 PM
I thought he picked up a similar ban while at Sevco no?

I can't remember. I remember thinking that Ian Black's ban for betting on games in which his team was involved was shameful short though.

If you're serious about stamping something out, banning players for 18 months when they break the rules is the way to go about it.

I don't think the SFA would ever restrict Sevco from playing a contracted player the way that the FA would do to Burnley.

26-04-2017, 02:02 PM

Football's Bertrand Russell.
More like Twitter's answer to Ian Cathro.

One of these days the right of football associations will be challenged in court and I believe the lawyers will win the day. I have no interest in Barton but this is effectively restriction of trade and they have effectively fined him a huge sum of money. Due to his inability to work they have deprived him of approx 2.75 million pounds if the 35,000 weekly figure is accurate. No court would fine him that much and I don't believe any FA should have that level of power over a footballer.
I don't see how it can be restraint of trade when he knowingly broke the rules of that trade. It's not like he's the victim of a conspiracy to deny him a contract based on malicious and untrue rumours.

On the other hand, maybe I could claim that my failure to have a professional football career was the result of a restraint of trade rather than just being crap.

26-04-2017, 05:04 PM
He's no happy, he had £500 on at 3/1 he'd only get 12 months.

26-04-2017, 05:07 PM
It may be a tad harsh on Barton but it is a proper deterrant to others unlike the lily livered SFA. Never been a more aptly abbreviated organisation.

26-04-2017, 05:11 PM
It's a clear message to all other footballers.

26-04-2017, 05:25 PM
Joey the wee ned. Walking bomb scare. Why does anyone listen to a word he says?

26-04-2017, 05:48 PM
Joey the wee ned. Walking bomb scare. Why does anyone listen to a word he says?
I enjoy heez French accent.

26-04-2017, 06:15 PM
Not if he backed the team he was playing for to lose.
A sine die ban is what he should have received however, at his age it's effectively the same thing.

Did Black not bet against his teams?

I don't like Barton but tend to think his punishment is a wee bit harsh lol.

26-04-2017, 06:30 PM
has he been sacked by his club?

26-04-2017, 06:57 PM
It's a clear message to all other footballers.

It is.

The kind of thing we could do with seeing more of.

If football authorities could now turn their attention to sectarian chanting, financial doping, players feigning injury.........

magpie1892
26-04-2017, 07:15 PM
On the point of the Hun contract, this isn't a get out of jail card for them is it? Can they now just bump him?

26-04-2017, 07:20 PM
Good!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk