View Full Version : Summer Signings

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

31-05-2017, 07:41 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-interested-in-signing-striker-cole-stockton-1-4462596

31-05-2017, 07:42 PM
Pretty sure that agent Kevin is the biggest slaver going.

Possibly even a parody account of other wannabe agents?

21sMay
31-05-2017, 07:45 PM
As far as I'm led to believe the Celtic players we are after are Ambrose and Allan.

31-05-2017, 07:54 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-interested-in-signing-striker-cole-stockton-1-4462596

Cracking scoring record. 31 goals in 6 years.

31-05-2017, 08:14 PM
Cole Stockton the latest twitter rumour

Hearts interested too, surprise surprise.

Humo
31-05-2017, 10:00 PM
Mackay-Steven won't sign for us . Unless there has been a big change in Celtics attitude . Lennon has been in touch with Celtic over a player but from what I've been told it's certainly not this man due to January dealings
What was the problem in January?

31-05-2017, 10:14 PM
As far as I'm led to believe the Celtic players we are after are Ambrose and Allan.

Would be a terrific double signing. Ambrose is a free agent now though isn't he?

31-05-2017, 10:58 PM
Effe Ambrose has agreed a two year deal at Hibs according to the Daily Mail.

31-05-2017, 11:11 PM
Wow. That's amazing news to get Ef on a 2 year deal. A real statement of intent. The Hibees mean business!

31-05-2017, 11:27 PM
Effe Ambrose has agreed atwo year deal at Hibs according to the Daily Mail.

http://i.imgur.com/GRFAmcq.gif

31-05-2017, 11:38 PM
http://i.imgur.com/GRFAmcq.gif

😂😂😂

21sMay
01-06-2017, 02:00 AM
The problem in Jan that I was told about was hibs had refused Celtic first option on John mginn . Lennon doesn't want to sell to Scottish clubs and supposedly this upset Brendan Rodgers to the point where he told hibs gms will cost 700k

01-06-2017, 09:01 AM
What about Spittal from UTD?

Midfielder Blair Spittal is a target for Partick Thistle after the 21-year-old's contract expired with Dundee United. (The Herald, print edition)

01-06-2017, 09:06 AM
GK: Marciano / Laidlaw

RCB: McGregor / Forster
CB: Ambrose /
LCB: Hanlon / Fontaine

RWB: Whittaker / Gray
LWB: Stevenson / Crane

RCM: L. Henderson / McGeouch
DM: Bartley / S. Martin
LCM: McGinn / Swanson

ST: Stokes / S. Murray
ST: Cummings / Boyle

I'd be a very happy camper.

01-06-2017, 09:11 AM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-40113131

Another court date for our cup hero...

01-06-2017, 09:13 AM

CB: Ambrose / Porteous

No room for Fyvie?

01-06-2017, 09:19 AM
What about Spittal from UTD?

Midfielder Blair Spittal is a target for Partick Thistle after the 21-year-old's contract expired with Dundee United. (The Herald, print edition)

Was a stand-out in the team that went down but was pretty quiet this season until a wee flurry of goals late on... Would rather try for Jordan Jones, who is stalling on a deal at Kilmarnock, if we want a wide midfielder but Spittal definitely has promise.

01-06-2017, 09:33 AM
Was a stand-out in the team that went down but was pretty quiet this season until a wee flurry of goals late on... Would rather try for Jordan Jones, who is stalling on a deal at Kilmarnock, if we want a wide midfielder but Spittal definitely has promise.

Hes possibly a player that has suffered because of Uniteds current situation, but I think Spittal is fairly average.

01-06-2017, 09:36 AM
No room for Fyvie?

As things stand he is no longer a hibs player

01-06-2017, 09:37 AM

I've been sceptical of whether a 2nd place finish is realistic for next season. But with this squad and a few other additions as options/back up I genuinely think we'll have the 2nd best squad, particularly with Aberdeen's now being broken apart.

01-06-2017, 09:44 AM
Even if we do sign Stokes we'll need another striker

Someone online claiming we're after both Gary Mackay-Steven and Scott Allan from Celtic

01-06-2017, 09:46 AM
I've been sceptical of whether a 2nd place finish is realistic for next season. But with this squad and a few other additions as options/back up I genuinely think we'll have the 2nd best squad, particularly with Aberdeen's now being broken apart.

Yip, there is no target man striker for a start and Lennon has made it clear he wants one.

01-06-2017, 10:02 AM
Yip, there is no target man striker for a start and Lennon has made it clear he wants one.

Aye there is. Brian Graham

01-06-2017, 10:04 AM

Don't expect Cummings to be here next season and Stokes has another year at Blackburn, Mowbray says he wants all players to stay.

Also is Swanson a LM to compete with McGinn, I'd say he's more of an attacking midfielder either coming off the left or through the middle.

No room for Fyvie?

He's now out of contract, one was offered and he's not signed it, I'm sure Hibs will give him a time limit to sign and then move on.

01-06-2017, 10:06 AM

Lacking pace and width for me .. Boyle could play out wide but we need more width

01-06-2017, 10:19 AM
Aye there is. Brian Graham

He's not on that list though and if he was to be our main man up front next season then we won't be finishing 2nd.

01-06-2017, 11:00 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1088604/hibs-efe-ambrose-anthony-stokes/?CMP=Spklr-_-Editorial-_-scotsunsport-_-Sport-_-FBLink-_-Statement-_-TWITTER
Ambrose done and Stokes and Whittaker still wanted.
I've heard that he has stopped talking to the yams now btw.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-06-2017, 11:01 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1088604/hibs-efe-ambrose-anthony-stokes/?CMP=Spklr-_-Editorial-_-scotsunsport-_-Sport-_-FBLink-_-Statement-_-TWITTER

Surely no - this would be too epic for words.

01-06-2017, 11:01 AM
Lacking pace and width for me .. Boyle could play out wide but we need more width

its either with or 3 at the back.

Can't see us not playing all 3 CBs when fit

01-06-2017, 11:25 AM

Stuff 2nd, lets' win the league :)

01-06-2017, 12:00 PM
If we also sign Stokes and Whittaker I'll be in dreamland

01-06-2017, 12:06 PM
On top of getting Ambrose, if we pull off signing Stokes AND Whittaker, you'll all be able to hear a massive 'YA FUC*IN BEAUTY' all the way from California!

01-06-2017, 12:28 PM
I just got a message saying Boyce was having a medical as we speak.....dont shoot, just passing on info

01-06-2017, 12:30 PM
I just got a message saying Boyce was having a medical as we speak.....dont shoot, just passing on info

Thought he was away with N.Ireland

01-06-2017, 12:32 PM

Can't see it. That sort of thing would be out in the press by now considering we'd have needed to have a bid accepted.

01-06-2017, 12:35 PM
Ignore me guys.....pal said he read it on the EEN comments, thought he had proper info but obvs not :aok:

01-06-2017, 12:37 PM
Has Boyle actually signed or not, still on holiday or not?

01-06-2017, 12:37 PM
Thought he was away with N.Ireland

He is. Probably Boyle having his medication!! :wink:

01-06-2017, 12:40 PM
Can't see it. That sort of thing would be out in the press by now considering we'd have needed to have a bid accepted.

Took the thoughts right out of my brain.

01-06-2017, 12:42 PM

More likely

01-06-2017, 03:19 PM
There's no danger we'll sign Stokes and Whittaker, people are living in dreamland imo

01-06-2017, 03:22 PM
There's no danger we'll sign Stokes and Whittaker, people are living in dreamland imo

Stokes is contracted to Blackburn and Mowbray stated he wants to keep all his contracted players, plus Blackburn are skint so couldn't afford to pay him off. Is there anything at all in the Whittaker rumours or just paper BS?

01-06-2017, 03:24 PM

Why would Boyle be getting a medical, his contract offer is an extension and not like a new contract at a new club.

01-06-2017, 03:31 PM
Even if we do sign Stokes we'll need another striker

Someone online claiming we're after both Gary Mackay-Steven and Scott Allan from Celtic

You can't beat a source like that.

bill_reed
01-06-2017, 03:31 PM
are we still interested in the big polish striker.... Piotr Parzyszek

01-06-2017, 03:38 PM
Why would Boyle be getting a medical, his contract offer is an extension and not like a new contract at a new club.

Whooooosh

01-06-2017, 03:44 PM
You can't beat a source like that.

Oh totally

I wasn't going to try jazz it up or claim it as my own

It might be good or it might be rubbish

It's a rumour thread and this is a rumour - the quality of which is open to debate

01-06-2017, 04:03 PM

Stokes is contracted to Blackburn and Mowbray stated he wants to keep all his contracted players, plus Blackburn are skint so couldn't afford to pay him off. Is there anything at all in the Whittaker rumours or just paper BS?

Mowbray didn't actually say that although I know that's what the headline suggested. He gave a pretty standard non committal response.

I think we'll end up with Stokes but it'll be much further down the transfer window, probably when Blackburn have their replacements in and they see there's probably not much interest from elsewhere for him.

Sounds like Whittaker will be coming back to Scotland so we've as good a chance as any assuming the Huns aren't interested.

I think both are probably very real possibilities, I don't know what's living in dream world about the prospect of signing those two?

01-06-2017, 04:33 PM

Both linked to us by the most reliable "Hibs" journalist in Scotland. Think it's pretty nailed on that we'll be interested in both players.

01-06-2017, 06:12 PM
Whooooosh

Haha medication, need to read better lol

02-06-2017, 04:14 PM
Seen this on the FB Fan page .
TRANSFER NEWS:

Fans News understands that a deal has been struck with Israeli club Ashdod for the permanent services of goalkeeper Ofir Marciano!

The deal will go through when the transfer window opens with an official announcement expected around that time.

GGTTH.

Baw187
02-06-2017, 04:38 PM
TRANSFER NEWS:

Fans News understands that a deal has been struck with Israeli club Ashdod for the permanent services of goalkeeper Ofir Marciano!

The deal will go through when the transfer window opens with an official announcement expected around that time.

GGTTH.

Is it not open now??

02-06-2017, 04:41 PM
Is it not open now??

Officially opens on July 1st

Baw187
02-06-2017, 04:43 PM

[emoji1303]

Presumably that's why only out of contract players are being signed up at the moment?

02-06-2017, 04:47 PM
TRANSFER NEWS:

GGTTH.

That would be great news if confirmed.

A solid keeper is the base on which teams are built...which Hearts have found out to their cost.

02-06-2017, 05:03 PM

Thought its 9 June?

02-06-2017, 05:06 PM
TRANSFER NEWS:

GGTTH.

good news if this is true

02-06-2017, 05:15 PM
Window opens on the 9th of June in Scotland.

02-06-2017, 05:17 PM
On the Shabbat?
#BigLebowski

02-06-2017, 05:19 PM
Thought its 9 June?

Me bad!

Thought it was July 1st but realised that's when the English window opens. Scottish one does indeed open on the 9th.

02-06-2017, 05:36 PM
On the Shabbat?
#BigLebowski

You gotta date Wednesday baby!

E10 Rifle
06-06-2017, 05:52 PM
In the midst of all the summer transfer activity I wonder at what point Lennon's contract will come up for discussion? Was it rolling, or just the two straight years? The majority of us seem pleased with players re-committing to us (albeit they were out of contract, unlike him) when is the time to make a move on Lenny signing something a bit more long-term?:deal:

Hibbyboy
07-06-2017, 01:02 PM
Hearing down here today that Lennon is looking at Reece Wabara as an alternative to Whittaker if this doesn't go through. He was with Donny about 3 seasons ago and was a real crowd favourite. Would be great as a back-up to Gray but would be a bit underwhelmed if this was instead of Whittaker.

07-06-2017, 03:32 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170607/cee96e7a06c586287b900aa6752509e0.png

07-06-2017, 03:47 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170607/cee96e7a06c586287b900aa6752509e0.png

Isn't that illegal in the UK?

Suspect it's just a 50% sell on fee or something.

07-06-2017, 04:08 PM
Isn't that illegal in the UK?

Suspect it's just a 50% sell on fee or something.

So if we sell him for 1million, us and Ashdod get 500k? (Example)

BlackSheep
07-06-2017, 04:12 PM
Just read the translation of the article on WallaSport's website and its a 50% sell on clause.... I don't think that will be an issue.

07-06-2017, 04:17 PM
Hopefully on a 3 or 4 year contract too.

07-06-2017, 04:48 PM
So if we sell him for 1million, us and Ashdod get 500k? (Example)

Good maths

07-06-2017, 04:51 PM
Just read the translation of the article on WallaSport's website and its a 50% sell on clause.... I don't think that will be an issue.

Classic football manager tactics. Sign for peanuts with a 50% sell on clause...but never sell them!

07-06-2017, 06:38 PM
We are apparently in for Tony Andreu along with the yams. Source is some slaverer on brokeback.

18Hibee75
07-06-2017, 07:09 PM
Maybe he's talking about Liam Craig? Not sure if he was really their best player at the time though.
Or Swanson...?

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

stevie-bee
08-06-2017, 06:18 AM
On twitter
Swap with Jordan foster and Liam Lindsay from Patrick ,
Never seen or heard of the guy

08-06-2017, 06:28 AM
On twitter

He's Partick's best player and one of, if not THE, most promising young Scottish centre halves. No chance we'd get him in a swap for Forster unless we were paying a big fee as well.

08-06-2017, 06:50 AM
On twitter

They could get a decent fee for him, so sounds very unlikely.

08-06-2017, 06:59 AM
We are apparently in for Tony Andreu along with the yams. Source is some slaverer on brokeback.

Please no! Seriously unimpressed with him anytime I've seen him play the last season.

08-06-2017, 01:44 PM
Any news on Whittaker ? A few posters were saying a day or so ago that they had heard from a good source he was signing. Is that still the case ?

08-06-2017, 01:49 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-make-move-for-manchester-city-full-back-1-4469986

08-06-2017, 01:59 PM
On twitter

Who's saying this on Twitter Stevie? Is it just some random or a somewhat more credible source?

08-06-2017, 02:03 PM
Please no! Seriously unimpressed with him anytime I've seen him play the last season.
22 goals from midfield last season isn't bad. He also had 13 by January when Hamilton were in the Premiership before moving down South and had 15 the year before that.

A midfielder who can get us around 15 goals a season is exactly the kind of player we need

08-06-2017, 02:04 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-make-move-for-manchester-city-full-back-1-4469986

The next Ryan Mcgivern hopefully

08-06-2017, 02:05 PM
Good maths

08-06-2017, 02:09 PM
22 goals from midfield last season isn't bad. He also had 13 by January when Hamilton were in the Premiership before moving down South and had 15 the year before that.

A midfielder who can get us around 15 goals a season is exactly the kind of player we need

Those stats seem impressive but in no game against United did I think he'd improve our midfield. The Hibs midfield is a similar standard outwith Celtic obviously that we'll face every week. He was very poor in the play off matches too.

08-06-2017, 02:15 PM

"Hearts believe it could solve their problem left-back position after trying three different players there in the last two years. Juwon Oshaniwa, Faycal Rherras and Lennard Sowah have all failed to cement themselves in the side, and the latter two were released last month."

Who even are these players. :hilarious Hopefully this guy follows the same path.

08-06-2017, 02:21 PM
Those stats seem impressive but in no game against United did I think he'd improve our midfield. The Hibs midfield is a similar standard outwith Celtic obviously that we'll face every week. He was very poor in the play off matches too.
They don't just seem impressive, they are absolutely impressive. I didn't see anything that great either but those stats speak for themselves. I'd be more than happy with a midfield player that doesn't look great but is good for around 15 goals in a season, especially when so many of our are lucky to even get one goal in a season.

08-06-2017, 02:23 PM
Stokesy was on my flight out to Cancun on Tuesday so if anything is happening with him, I'd expect it would'nt be til he's back from holiday.

He just laughed when I asked if he's signed for Hibs, he was more than happy to pose for a selfie with me.

08-06-2017, 02:59 PM
They don't just seem impressive, they are absolutely impressive. I didn't see anything that great either but those stats speak for themselves. I'd be more than happy with a midfield player that doesn't look great but is good for around 15 goals in a season, especially when so many of our are lucky to even get one goal in a season.

They are impressive. I agree with other posters that I thought he looked gash any time we played Utd but he must have been doing something right.

08-06-2017, 04:01 PM
Efe confirmed two year deal.!

08-06-2017, 04:09 PM
They are impressive. I agree with other posters that I thought he looked gash any time we played Utd but he must have been doing something right.

Seen a few highlights of Utd from last season and he seems to be involved in most of the goals they scored.

stevie-bee
08-06-2017, 05:13 PM
Who's saying this on Twitter Stevie? Is it just some random or a somewhat more credible source?

It's was a Hibernian fans twitter
Hibernian are close to completing the signing of Partick Thistle centre back Liam Lindsay which will see Jordan Forster go the other way

Probably a lot of crap

08-06-2017, 05:37 PM
No chance will we be going for Liam Lindsey.

He would cost a big fee and demand quite good wages.

Already have Efe, Hanlon, Mcgregor, Fontaine, Porteous, Forster

even if Forster was part of it, that's far too many good centre halfs that wouldn't be happy not starting.

08-06-2017, 05:45 PM
Efe confirmed two year deal.!

Fantastic, I was beginning to worry when there hadn't been an announcement

08-06-2017, 05:54 PM
It's was a Hibernian fans twitter
Hibernian are close to completing the signing of Partick Thistle centre back Liam Lindsay which will see Jordan Forster go the other way

Probably a lot of crap

Would be a good deal for us.

09-06-2017, 05:18 PM
Joe Ledley just been released. Wonder if he's interested in working with Lennon again? [emoji3]

09-06-2017, 06:21 PM
Joe Ledley just been released. Wonder if he's interested in working with Lennon again? [emoji3]

Good call but he is only 30 so I expect him to still be chasing another good pay day with the likes of Cardiff

09-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Luke Leahy's Mrs has a post on twitter confirming after 5 years in Scotland they are moving back home to England.
Another possible counted out.

09-06-2017, 06:25 PM
Luke Leahy's Mrs has a post on twitter confirming after 5 years in Scotland they are moving back home to England.
Another possible counted out.

That was counted out weeks ago. He's off to Walsall

09-06-2017, 06:58 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;5065913]Joe Ledley just been released. Wonder if he's interested in working with Lennon again? [emoji3]

We couldn't get anywhere near the wages he can get darn sarf. Heard he was on around 30/40k a week with Palace, he may drop a bit to get another club but I don't think he'd drop down to 3k.

09-06-2017, 07:17 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;5065913]Joe Ledley just been released. Wonder if he's interested in working with Lennon again? [emoji3]

We couldn't get anywhere near the wages he can get darn sarf. Heard he was on around 30/40k a week with Palace, he may drop a bit to get another club but I don't think he'd drop down to 3k.

Dont know what Joe is on but its plenty. He plays golf with James Mac & Wayne H for more than i can afford. However Joe is struggling with recurring pain/injuries. He may not have too many more good days ahead.

09-06-2017, 07:23 PM
That was counted out weeks ago. He's off to Walsall

Guessed Hibs weren't interested in him but hadn't seen that he was off to Walsall

Big L
10-06-2017, 03:56 PM
If we lose McGinn I would go for the lad Fraser of Dun Utd, plays left mid. I've not seen a hell of a lot of him but what I have seen I like.

10-06-2017, 03:58 PM
If we lose McGinn I would go for the lad Fraser of Dun Utd, plays left mid. I've not seen a hell of a lot of him but what I have seen I like.

Not for me. He's nowhere near good enough from what I've seen and heard of him.

10-06-2017, 04:24 PM

I'd go for Charlie Mulgrew!!

10-06-2017, 04:57 PM
Wato Kuate.

10-06-2017, 05:23 PM
Wato Kuate.

Looks like he has a bad attitude

10-06-2017, 08:41 PM
Liam Hendersons twitter profile picture is him up Arthur seat with Easter Road in the background.

Really hope that's a clue and we're bringing him home.

Ken
10-06-2017, 08:43 PM
Liam Hendersons twitter profile picture is him up Arthur seat with Easter Road in the background.

He's had it for quite a while so don't think it means much. I think he does love Hibs though

10-06-2017, 08:46 PM
He's had it for quite a while so don't think it means much. I think he does love Hibs though

Any idea how long? (I heard a rumour a few weeks back he'd signed and wonder if the change of picture ties in with the time I was told this rumour)

10-06-2017, 09:11 PM

Could be. He'd de-activated his twitter account around the time he and Scott Brown were criticised for filming whilst he was driving. It was then reactivated a few weeks ago but there was no activity. It then disappeared again and has now reappeared with Liam doing his first tweets in a while today.

My guess was that he'd got a telling off from Celtic re the driving/filming thing and was told to stay off social media, maybe until the end of the season. Or it could be as you say, a clue.

10-06-2017, 09:19 PM
I'd go for Charlie Mulgrew!!

Mulgrew to replace mcginn??? That would be exciting.....

14-06-2017, 11:07 AM
I see Harry Forrester has been told he can find a new club by zombie rangers as there appears to be a fair bit of friction.

Have to say i think that he looks like a decent player that can change matches with his quality. Perhaps the opportunity to get it right up the rangers would be a nice wee incentive to him similar to that of another player to make the switch.

If he'd be free of course and it's not like we're lacking in this position.

Just seen this after posting.

https://twitter.com/harry_forrester/status/874938483307139072
:greengrin:nade:

14-06-2017, 11:38 AM
Wonder if Rangers could be about to run into trouble with Pedro thinking that he can do what he likes with contracted players that he doesn't want?

15-06-2017, 01:06 AM
Kris Commons:

Just out of interest, any rumours on his next move? Is he still at Celtic?

I googled him today and even checked a Celtic forum just to see. Only thing I saw was a Celtic fan earlier this month saying he hopes he comes to Hibs. Why? I don't know :greengrin

Most of the reports I read were out of date.

dunedinhibs
15-06-2017, 01:38 AM
Kris Commons:

Just out of interest, any rumours on his next move? Is he still at Celtic?

I googled him today and even checked a Celtic forum just to see. Only thing I saw was a Celtic fan earlier this month saying he hopes he comes to Hibs. Why? I don't know :greengrin

Most of the reports I read were out of date.
Last I heard he was weighing up whether he would continue playing or start his career in coaching. He had a persistent back issue which wasn't improving so maybe he is waiting to see if any treatment improves that? He is a goal scoring midfielder which is what we need and I would love to see him back if fit. Scored a few important goals in his short loan spell and no doubt improved our midfield.

15-06-2017, 02:24 AM
Last I heard he was weighing up whether he would continue playing or start his career in coaching. He had a persistent back issue which wasn't improving so maybe he is waiting to see if any treatment improves that? He is a goal scoring midfielder which is what we need and I would love to see him back if fit. Scored a few important goals in his short loan spell and no doubt improved our midfield.

Cheers :aok:

Might be a good squad addition at a reasonable wage if we allowed him to assist/progress in a coaching capacity. An inducement for him not to seek top dollar?

But maybe too many coaches spoil the broth :)

dunedinhibs
15-06-2017, 02:36 AM
Cheers :aok:

Might be a good squad addition at a reasonable wage if we allowed him to assist/progress in a coaching capacity. An inducement for him not to seek top dollar?

But maybe too many coaches spoil the broth :)

Yeah that would work out for both himself and hibs, all though I think it was mentioned he was keen to stay at Celtic in a coaching capacity if it was possible. Either way i wish him the best he was a great influence around the club when he was there by the sounds of it and a model pro. Would much prefer Henderson back right enough but I cant see that happening.

Being linked with Lafferty,Stewart and Moult just now, be happy with any of them. Whittaker has or is signing a two year deal according to hibs tranfer news on twitter too. Sad to say bye to Cummings but he leaves having provided many great memories and providing us the goals to get back to where we belong.
Cant wait to see what the team looks like for the start of the season, not been so excited in ages! Get a decent strike force in place and we will be looking decent. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

17-06-2017, 01:32 PM
Scougall to St. Johnstone.
https://t.co/ivxKkSgA8e

17-06-2017, 01:33 PM

Good signing for them.

Saint Hibee
17-06-2017, 01:35 PM
Anybody know if there's any hope of getting Liam Henderson back? I need a hope to cling to now that Jason's gone.

17-06-2017, 01:38 PM

Another Hearts target slips through their fingers. How different their world is when they only pay what they can actually afford.

Not seen that much of him but going by reputation alone he should be a decent signing for St Johnstone.

Marco G
17-06-2017, 01:54 PM
Another Hearts target slips through their fingers. How different their world is when they only pay what they can actually afford.

Not seen that much of him but going by reputation alone he should be a decent signing for St Johnstone.
Interesting that Scougall said his mind was made up when he went up to watch Saints play Hearts. Liked what he saw about Saints but equally not impressed by what he saw in Hearts!

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

17-06-2017, 02:16 PM
Interesting that Scougall said his mind was made up when he went up to watch Saints play Hearts. Liked what he saw about Saints but equally not impressed by what he saw in Hearts!

Everyone knows that Cathro is walking on thin ice. Any player considering a move there will have to take into account the high chance they will have a new manager in a couple of months who may not be as keen on them. If a player has a similar offer elsewhere then they are likely to take it.

hibs supporter
17-06-2017, 02:58 PM
I would like to see eoin doyle back does anyone know what he's doing now

17-06-2017, 03:09 PM

Playing in league 2 and has 15 goals in the last 2 years. Not sure why that's what we need?

17-06-2017, 04:08 PM

Totally love your sense of humour. Totally do. :greengrin

17-06-2017, 04:10 PM

At 10 past 5 on a saturday, he's probably tucking into his tea about now?

18-06-2017, 11:14 AM
I think it is good to get players in early but equally this is a time that lots of players are on holidays etc. It really is circumstances that will be king for next couple of weeks.

18-06-2017, 08:41 PM
Playing in league 2 and has 15 goals in the last 2 years. Not sure why that's what we need?

He's playing in the Championship

19-06-2017, 07:59 AM
Aberdeen making a move for Stevie May
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1165579/?utm_source=TWITTER&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=SprnklrSUNOrganic&UTMX=Editorial:scotsunsport:FBLink:Statement:Sport

19-06-2017, 08:00 AM
He's playing in the Championship

Apologies, I thought he had been on loan at Portsmouth in league 2.

madhibee_again
19-06-2017, 08:31 AM
Aberdeen making a move for Stevie May
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1165579/?utm_source=TWITTER&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=SprnklrSUNOrganic&UTMX=Editorial:scotsunsport:FBLink:Statement:Sport

If he's willing to come back to Scotland we should be bidding for him.

19-06-2017, 10:56 AM
Previously linked Polish Winger/Striker Piotr Parzyszek can be ruled out as he has signed for PEC Zwolle

19-06-2017, 11:39 AM
Previously linked Polish Winger/Striker Piotr Parzyszek can be ruled out as he has signed for PEC Zwolle

Another cert to sign for hearts?

19-06-2017, 02:13 PM
http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/alex-harris-signs-two-year-deal/

19-06-2017, 02:43 PM
http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/alex-harris-signs-two-year-deal/

Good move for Alex hope he does well.

19-06-2017, 06:17 PM
Never saw this guy mentioned.

http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/charlton-defender-terrell-thomas-chooses-13207197.amp

20-06-2017, 12:22 AM
Never saw this guy mentioned.

http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/charlton-defender-terrell-thomas-chooses-13207197.amp

A new one to me.
Have my doubts given he is a defender.

20-06-2017, 05:11 AM

Could do a job in the Fyvie role.

20-06-2017, 08:17 AM
http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/tom-heardman-wanted-in-scotland-13202349
New yam target.
21 year old striker who has only 5 senior games and zero goals to his name.

20-06-2017, 08:44 AM
http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/tom-heardman-wanted-in-scotland-13202349
New yam target.
21 year old striker who has only 5 senior games and zero goals to his name.

Not surprised. This was the kind of player we were linked to after we built our new stand.

20-06-2017, 08:48 AM
Not surprised. This was the kind of player we were linked to after we built our new stand.

I was just going to say I really think hearts are turning into hibs from 5/6 years ago.

Its inevitable Cathro will get sacked not long into the new season, if they get his replacement wrong I genuinely think they could have a relegation battle ahead of them.

20-06-2017, 09:50 AM
I was just going to say I really think hearts are turning into hibs from 5/6 years ago.

Its inevitable Cathro will get sacked not long into the new season, if they get his replacement wrong I genuinely think they could have a relegation battle ahead of them.

Yep, it's happy days indeed. We're streets ahead of them and they know it!

20-06-2017, 10:12 AM
A 6'4'" striker would really be a departure for them....

20-06-2017, 10:16 AM
Any rumours going about? It's gone very very quiet and training starts soon does it not?

We are incredibly light in midfield and upfront.

Marco G
20-06-2017, 10:44 AM

Yep, it was odd what Cathro said about their recent striker signing. Could not afford him when he becomes a good player in a couple of years time, so signed him now - on a 2 year contract!!!

20-06-2017, 12:12 PM
Any rumours going about? It's gone very very quiet and training starts soon does it not?

We are incredibly light in midfield and upfront.

I thought we were back in this week?

20-06-2017, 12:54 PM

Likewise.

Very concerned about lack of business. My only hope is club is waiting until after the 30th to announce big names who have run their contract down.

We've now supposedly had a bid for McGinn which makes me very fearful for the coming season. If we lose him then we're talking a massive summer for recruitment and at the moment we seem to be dormant apart from selling.

Murray, Swanson and Ambrose in.
Cummings, Fyvie and potentially McGinn out.

I think our signings are good but can someone honestly tell me that we're not taking a step back at the moment?

20-06-2017, 12:56 PM
Likewise.

Very concerned about lack of business. My only hope is club is waiting until after the 30th to announce big names who have run their contract down.

We've now supposedly had a bid for McGinn which makes me very fearful for the coming season. If we lose him then we're talking a massive summer for recruitment and at the moment we seem to be dormant apart from selling.

Murray, Swanson and Ambrose in.
Cummings, Fyvie and potentially McGinn out.

I think our signings are good but can someone honestly tell me that we're not taking a step back at the moment?

I can safely say we aren't taking a step backwards. We've sold a striker who wasn't proven in the top flight and will replace him with someone who is proven I'm convinced of this. McGinn hasn't left so no point worrying about something that hasn't happened.

20-06-2017, 01:08 PM
I can safely say we aren't taking a step backwards. We've sold a striker who wasn't proven in the top flight and will replace him with someone who is proven I'm convinced of this. McGinn hasn't left so no point worrying about something that hasn't happened.

I'll wait to see what happens. Put it this way, we sold an unproven striker in the top flight but kept Brian Graham who was proven but couldn't get a look in for us. I can see it being a Niall McGinn type figure we get in and to be honest that will not fill me with much enthusiasm...

Even if McGinn doesn't leave, we need at least 4 signings. 2 proven goalscorers and 2 midfielders - 1 creative and 1 left winger ideally. That is minimum as well because we saw how threadbare our squad was last season...

Also "proven" worries me a lot, Heffernan, Rowan Vine et al. It's calibre and players who fit what we want to play. Graham was a strange signing who rarely played...

Sell a 20 goals a season striker to get what? Kris Doolan or someone like that? Hope I'm proven wrong but I want something to support this season and not turning up at ER in trepidation...

20-06-2017, 01:12 PM

Back in Thursday I believe for assessment etc, trainings start on monday

20-06-2017, 01:15 PM
We have hardly been "dormant". Signing Ambrose, Murray and Swanson all seem like decent moves. Cummings always looked like leaving, and we thought that McGinn was 50/50, so far he's still here. I am sure the manager is aware that Jason needs replaced but we can't always have someone lined up and ready to fire into the media the exact same time we sell someone.

20-06-2017, 01:15 PM
Think everyone's nerves are starting to jangle a bit as our main source of goals has gone and if we were to lose SJM a lot of the feelgood factor could quickly ebb away. It's gone very very quiet the last few weeks and it's a wee bit concerning tbh...the squad is very bare apart from the back 4 - still no 1st choice keeper either. Others are getting business done early - let's hope for some positive news from the club fairly soon

20-06-2017, 01:20 PM
Think everyone's nerves are starting to jangle a bit as our main source of goals has gone and if we were to lose SJM a lot of the feelgood factor could quickly ebb away. It's gone very very quiet the last few weeks and it's a wee bit concerning tbh...the squad is very bare apart from the back 4 - still no 1st choice keeper either. Others are getting business done early - let's hope for some positive news from the club fairly soon

Everyone is on holiday. We have signed 3 players already. Rangers signing about 10 at once isn't any sort of barometer for what should be happening. Remember the other times teams signed a load of players all at once? that always works out really well.

20-06-2017, 01:21 PM
Everyone is on holiday. We have signed 3 players already. Rangers signing about 10 at once isn't any sort of barometer for what should be happening. Remember the other times teams signed a load of players all at once? that always works out really well.
I'm still fairly relaxed tbh but if we lose SJM it will worry me...all the nonsense rumours on here are not helping matters tbh...we had the manager away yesterday, McGregor and MCGINN today not to mention all the done deals that haven't materialised. Silly season is well and truly in overdrive.

21sMay
20-06-2017, 01:35 PM
McGregor won't leave hibs, mcginn on the other hand may leave and to be brutally honest I wouldn't be too dissapointed if he left and we got a good deal . Mcginn is defiantly replaceable and in my opinion has much to improve on before h should be thinking of leaving. Despite all this I'd be very happy to have him stay on for another year. As far as signing players go, we will bring people in and I for one am not worried at all and have total faith in Lennon and demptser

20-06-2017, 01:36 PM
We have hardly been "dormant". Signing Ambrose, Murray and Swanson all seem like decent moves. Cummings always looked like leaving, and we thought that McGinn was 50/50, so far he's still here. I am sure the manager is aware that Jason needs replaced but we can't always have someone lined up and ready to fire into the media the exact same time we sell someone.

We have signed 3 players, how many have we lost through contract expiry and sales now? 5+? As is almost customary now, we have no 1st choice goalkeeper signed like almost every summer. We have enough defenders probably. We have 4 first choice midfielders if McGinn stays and we have 3 first choice forwards if you put Boyle in that category.

As things stand, we have a streamlined threadbare squad and we've sold 20 goals a season...apart from the 3 you have listed which were pretty much dealt with 2-3 weeks ago now we have seemingly done nothing concrete.

What would everyone's thoughts be on this matter if Boyce gets signed for another club and we could have got him if we were quicker? Happy because we didn't appear to be mass signing and instead spaced it out? We have a great ST sales count and now ~ £1 million from Cummings sale so I like most are concerned that the club may think a "bedding" in season would suffice. In recent times when we targeted top six, we regularly found ourselves in bottom six and 2 seasons before our relegation we were in dogfights.

Everyone is due their holidays but I fear that business should come first if you've lost one of your best players, also surely there is staff members that can take holidays outside of football off-season who can deal with player negotiations etc. - quick phone call to Lennon asking who do you want, quick phone call to Leeann checking that terms are ok financially? Our players are due back next week for training and first game is in 3 weeks time. Hardly enough time to get them in and up-to-speed with the club and how the team play etc. At the end of the day the club need to get it right and I understand that it is a very hard job, I just hope they don't unintentionally delay the work too long.

Christ sake, we've got threads stating our manager might be gone. Fans knew we had threadbare squad last season and it's a lot worse now going into a harder league yet we are lagging behind a number of teams in terms of signings etc. Of course fans are going to be a little nervous.

20-06-2017, 01:45 PM
We have signed 3 players, how many have we lost through contract expiry and sales now? 5+? As is almost customary now, we have no 1st choice goalkeeper signed like almost every summer. We have enough defenders probably. We have 4 first choice midfielders if McGinn stays and we have 3 first choice forwards if you put Boyle in that category.

As things stand, we have a streamlined threadbare squad and we've sold 20 goals a season...apart from the 3 you have listed which were pretty much dealt with 2-3 weeks ago now we have seemingly done nothing concrete.

What would everyone's thoughts be on this matter if Boyce gets signed for another club and we could have got him if we were quicker? Happy because we didn't appear to be mass signing and instead spaced it out? We have a great ST sales count and now ~ £1 million from Cummings sale so I like most are concerned that the club may think a "bedding" in season would suffice. In recent times when we targeted top six, we regularly found ourselves in bottom six and 2 seasons before our relegation we were in dogfights.

Everyone is due their holidays but I fear that business should come first if you've lost one of your best players, also surely there is staff members that can take holidays outside of football off-season who can deal with player negotiations etc. - quick phone call to Lennon asking who do you want, quick phone call to Leeann checking that terms are ok financially? Our players are due back next week for training and first game is in 3 weeks time. Hardly enough time to get them in and up-to-speed with the club and how the team play etc. At the end of the day the club need to get it right and I understand that it is a very hard job, I just hope they don't unintentionally delay the work too long.

Christ sake, we've got threads stating our manager might be gone. Fans knew we had threadbare squad last season and it's a lot worse now going into a harder league yet we are lagging behind a number of teams in terms of signings etc. Of course fans are going to be a little nervous.

Other than the multitude of players signed by Sevco I'm struggling to think of these other teams we are behind in terms of signings?

20-06-2017, 01:46 PM
I actually had to put a nappy on after reading the last post.

20-06-2017, 01:48 PM
Im surprised Rocky hasnt been done

20-06-2017, 01:50 PM
Other than the multitude of players signed by Sevco I'm struggling to think of these other teams we are behind in terms of signings?

Apologies, I should have said in terms of signings in tandem with current squad etc. We are the promoted team and with that comes an element of surprise for some of the teams that haven't played us in a while but ultimately it means we are coming from a slightly weaker position - teams are largely re-signing players they already have (extending contract/offering new one) and already have decent squads - look at St Johnstone, stable every year pretty much.

20-06-2017, 01:53 PM

Advise you you not to go near the Dean Bridge.

20-06-2017, 01:55 PM
Advise you you not to go near the Dean Bridge.

Eh?

20-06-2017, 01:56 PM
Im surprised Rocky hasnt been done

Who says it's not been done, remember the Israeli window like a lot of windows, doesn't open till July 1st, if his contract is 30th June, we'll just have to wait.

20-06-2017, 01:57 PM
Eh?

In case he jumps due to him being all negative and downbeat.

20-06-2017, 01:58 PM
Who says it's not been done, remember the Israeli window like a lot of windows, doesn't open till July 1st, if his contract is 30th June, we'll just have to wait.

I dont think that stops the deal being announced

Same as swanson really

20-06-2017, 01:58 PM
In case he jumps due to him being all negative and downbeat.

I got that much but seriously who puts a suicide joke on a forum these days?

20-06-2017, 02:01 PM
I dont think that stops the deal being announced

Same as swanson really

Swanson was out of contract so we had talks early, I'd assume he's on holiday like many people at the moment and things will move along when the players all come back.

hibbie02
20-06-2017, 02:01 PM
We have had a longer off season than normal due to no playoffs or cup finals last season.

That means we have longer to look at options. From the way Hibs have done business since Leanne arrived, I would be extremely surprised if we have not got a number of deals in the bag and others just bubbling. I have no doubt, once Hibs have something to announce, they will do so and we will all be pleasantly surprised. :greengrin

There is still plenty of time to bed in new players, and have a full pre-season. :cb:cb:cb

seanoheimhin
20-06-2017, 02:46 PM
See that's Boyce confirmed as gone to Burton Albion. Always going to be a massive stretch for us, but done now.

20-06-2017, 02:47 PM
I got that much but seriously who puts a suicide joke on a forum these days?

You're getting a bad habit of taking every post at face value.

20-06-2017, 02:50 PM
You're getting a bad habit of taking every post at face value.

Tbf what other value does a comment advising me to avoid the Dean Bridge have?

hulk
20-06-2017, 02:54 PM
See that's Boyce confirmed as gone to Burton Albion. Always going to be a massive stretch for us, but done now.
Average crowds last year of just over 5,000.
But the tv money in the championship means
they can top anything we could offer to players
Like this. Frustrating for us and for Lennon that we can't compete.

20-06-2017, 02:57 PM
Tbf what other value does a comment advising me to avoid the Dean Bridge have?

Probably none, but you chose to be (faux) unhappy about it anyway. Chill out.

20-06-2017, 03:02 PM

How did they manage that? I thought everyone was away on holiday and no business could be done? Must just be Hibs.

20-06-2017, 03:03 PM
Probably none, but you chose to be (faux) unhappy about it anyway. Chill out.

Hang on, I'm taking it at face value and now there is no other value other than face value and now you are telling me to chill out. I made a relatively negative speculative post, one that most fans would see good reason for it, we all want to hear some news about signings and some are worried about lack of news.

It was hardly a groundbreaking comment but I got "I'd advice you to avoid the Dean Bridge" in some sort of attempt at humour. I'm "chilled" but I'm sorry even on football forums humour based on suicide is unsuitable.

20-06-2017, 03:03 PM
I'll wait to see what happens. Put it this way, we sold an unproven striker in the top flight but kept Brian Graham who was proven but couldn't get a look in for us. I can see it being a Niall McGinn type figure we get in and to be honest that will not fill me with much enthusiasm...

Even if McGinn doesn't leave, we need at least 4 signings. 2 proven goalscorers and 2 midfielders - 1 creative and 1 left winger ideally. That is minimum as well because we saw how threadbare our squad was last season...

Also "proven" worries me a lot, Heffernan, Rowan Vine et al. It's calibre and players who fit what we want to play. Graham was a strange signing who rarely played...

Sell a 20 goals a season striker to get what? Kris Doolan or someone like that? Hope I'm proven wrong but I want something to support this season and not turning up at ER in trepidation...

Ffs. Too much sun?

hulk
20-06-2017, 03:36 PM
Average crowds last year of just over 5,000.
But the tv money in the championship means
they can top anything we could offer to players
Like this. Frustrating for us and for Lennon that we can't compete.

20-06-2017, 04:19 PM
How did they manage that? I thought everyone was away on holiday and no business could be done? Must just be Hibs.

Aye was just thinking that?? Surely his contract isn't up till 30th June etc etc

cmcd
20-06-2017, 04:53 PM
We have had a longer off season than normal due to no playoffs or cup finals last season.

That means we have longer to look at options. From the way Hibs have done business since Leanne arrived, I would be extremely surprised if we have not got a number of deals in the bag and others just bubbling. I have no doubt, once Hibs have something to announce, they will do so and we will all be pleasantly surprised. :greengrin

There is still plenty of time to bed in new players, and have a full pre-season. :cb:cb:cb

At last a sensible post

20-06-2017, 05:06 PM
Hang on, I'm taking it at face value and now there is no other value other than face value and now you are telling me to chill out. I made a relatively negative speculative post, one that most fans would see good reason for it, we all want to hear some news about signings and some are worried about lack of news.

It was hardly a groundbreaking comment but I got "I'd advice you to avoid the Dean Bridge" in some sort of attempt at humour. I'm "chilled" but I'm sorry even on football forums humour based on suicide is unsuitable.

Ah, come on, it was just a hyperbolic way of highlighting your negativity. That said, it's not for you to decide what is/isn't allowed on here.

20-06-2017, 05:09 PM
I must admit to getting slightly nervous about the lack of activity but that's just the way I am, always a pessimist.

I'm unhappy about Jason going but accept that if he wants to leave and the club get a decent offer then it's the best move for both parties.

The McGinn rumour is just that, a rumour so I'm not going to worry about that until something concrete happens.

In terms of recruitment I'm delighted with Ambrose and Swanson and happy to have Murray in the squad.

Plenty time until the start of the new season but I'd be hoping to see some activity in the next 2 weeks and will be concerned if we lose McGinn.

I think it's the uncertainty that gets folk this time of year, myself included. We spend all season talking about football and then there's a big gap in the summer, especially without a world cup or Euros.

Also, it's too easy to stay connected now. Pre internet you'd go on holiday and could ignore everything apart from reading the papers now and again. Now I'm sitting in bar in Prague reading Hibs.net.

20-06-2017, 05:14 PM
I must admit to getting slightly nervous about the lack of activity but that's just the way I am, always a pessimist.

I'm unhappy about Jason going but accept that if he wants to leave and the club get a decent offer then it's the best move for both parties.

The McGinn rumour is just that, a rumour so I'm not going to worry about that until something concrete happens.

In terms of recruitment I'm delighted with Ambrose and Swanson and happy to have Murray in the squad.

Plenty time until the start of the new season but I'd be hoping to see some activity in the next 2 weeks and will be concerned if we lose McGinn.

I think it's the uncertainty that gets folk this time of year, myself included. We spend all season talking about football and then there's a big gap in the summer, especially without a world cup or Euros.

Also, it's too easy to stay connected now. Pre internet you'd go on holiday and could ignore everything apart from reading the papers now and again. Now I'm sitting in bar in Prague reading Hibs.net.
Spot on this is 100% where I am just now. The anxiety is not helped by some of the stuff we read on here about this one and that one deffo signing. I think we all now realise nobody knows anything and we are just gonna have to wait and see who comes in...hopefully sooner rather than later

20-06-2017, 05:18 PM
Ah, come on, it was just a hyperbolic way of highlighting your negativity. That said, it's not for you to decide what is/isn't allowed on here.

Really? Hyperbolic way of highlighting my negativity even if the hyperbolic nature was suggestive of suicide is no big deal...ok I can swallow that but where do you feel the need to say that I, in some way, suggested I decide what is and isn't allowed on here...point that out to me please.

Keep on the topic, I've went back on with my life and looking at this thread for rumours.

MartinfaePorty
20-06-2017, 05:37 PM
I blame the Internet! Back in the old days we'd either be on holiday, so none the wiser, or buying the Evening News, which would have something like '(Hibs manager) has his options lined up', alongside some non-committal waffle saying the boss has targets in his sights. We then would enjoy Wimbledon and the Open safe in the knowledge that whatever will be will be :-)

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

20-06-2017, 05:44 PM

I love a post full of optimism & faith - seriously, I do. :cool2:

20-06-2017, 05:49 PM
Really? Hyperbolic way of highlighting my negativity even if the hyperbolic nature was suggestive of suicide is no big deal...ok I can swallow that but where do you feel the need to say that I, in some way, suggested I decide what is and isn't allowed on here...point that out to me please.

Keep on the topic, I've went back on with my life and looking at this thread for rumours.

Claiming it's 'unsuitable'. I think dark humour is perfectly fine on a forum full of adults, personally. Each to their own.

20-06-2017, 05:51 PM
I blame the Internet! Back in the old days we'd either be on holiday, so none the wiser, or buying the Evening News, which would have something like '(Hibs manager) has his options lined up', alongside some non-committal waffle saying the boss has targets in his sights. We then would enjoy Wimbledon and the Open safe in the knowledge that whatever will be will be :-)

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

The days of teletext when you get dead excited because the Hibs news has more pages than normal. Then the agonising wait as it slowly goes through each slide, before the inevitable disappointment. Those were the days.

20-06-2017, 05:52 PM
Claiming it's 'unsuitable'. I think dark humour is perfectly fine on a forum full of adults, personally. Each to their own.

Personally I think "claiming it's unsuitable" is vastly different from "deciding it's unsuitable". Each to their own I guess. Back to the silence on the rumour front now.

20-06-2017, 05:57 PM

Could you not continue this lover's tiff in private - it's getting very boring besides being completely irrelevant to the OP.

20-06-2017, 05:59 PM
Tempted to go slit my wrists after reading this.

20-06-2017, 06:02 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simeon_Slavchev

20-06-2017, 06:03 PM
Could you not continue this lover's tiff in private - it's getting very boring besides being completely irrelevant to the OP.

Let me help you with that:

"Keep on the topic, I've went back on with my life and looking at this thread for rumours."

20-06-2017, 06:03 PM

Rumoured to be signing?

20-06-2017, 06:08 PM

Fyvie replacement?

20-06-2017, 06:20 PM

Are the HSL guys on holiday as well? They're very quiet.

20-06-2017, 06:21 PM
Fyvie replacement?

Heard about him a couple of weeks ago. None of the ITKers knew anything though. Looks like a decent pedigree while still being attainable.

20-06-2017, 06:25 PM
Are the HSL guys on holiday as well? They're very quiet.
Apparently everyone Hibs related is on hols...yet we still managed to accept a bid for JC...but that's the reason we haven't announced any signings since Efe???

20-06-2017, 06:25 PM
Heard about him a couple of weeks ago. None of the ITKers knew anything though. Looks like a decent pedigree while still being attainable.

Was on loan at Bolton so Lennon maybe knows him from then.

20-06-2017, 06:37 PM
Apparently everyone Hibs related is on hols...yet we still managed to accept a bid for JC...but that's the reason we haven't announced any signings since Efe???

That's not really an answer to the question I was asking Ozyhibby, but ta.

20-06-2017, 06:42 PM

We just stated a couple of days ago that we continued to pursue our core targets. Now we don't know who these targets are but I think consensus would be that Rocky, Whitty & Stokes are 3 of them. We know Stokes is on holiday, we also know there's a stand off with him & Blackburn for now. That move won't happen immediately. We know Whitty's back in Edinburgh & though he's a free agent he's probably still being paid by Norwich until 30 June. If he's signed up then it would appear it could be announced but I trust LD. There could be a similar scenario with Rocky. I'm sure our board want to announce a signing or 3 asap to give season ticket sales a final boost so I trust LD & Hibs to do the right thing & at the right time

20-06-2017, 06:46 PM
We just stated a couple of days ago that we continued to pursue our core targets. Now we don't know who these targets are but I think consensus would be that Rocky, Whitty & Stokes are 3 of them. We know Stokes is on holiday, we also know there's a stand off with him & Blackburn for now. That move won't happen immediately. We know Whitty's back in Edinburgh & though he's a free agent he's probably still being paid by Norwich until 30 June. If he's signed up then it would appear it could be announced but I trust LD. There could be a similar scenario with Rocky. I'm sure our board want to announce a signing or 3 asap to give season ticket sales a final boost so I trust LD & Hibs to do the right thing & at the right time
Listen enough of this 30th June rubbish mate...other teams are announcing signings. I'm fed up reading this as an excuse on here..it's repeated so often it's became a .net fact. It's rubbish....we haven't announced anything because simply there is nothing to announce yet. As for the waiting for the likes of Rocky and Stokes...how long do we wait before we need to start pursuing alternative targets?? That also concerns me. I'm still confident we will get some decent signings in but sooner rather than later would be best for all concerned.

But please stop with this end of June and everyone on hols nonsense coz it's simply not true.

20-06-2017, 06:46 PM

His name came up on the pm board a few weeks ago but nobody knew anything and there was only one or two posts about it.

20-06-2017, 07:32 PM
Listen enough of this 30th June rubbish mate...other teams are announcing signings. I'm fed up reading this as an excuse on here..it's repeated so often it's became a .net fact. It's rubbish....we haven't announced anything because simply there is nothing to announce yet. As for the waiting for the likes of Rocky and Stokes...how long do we wait before we need to start pursuing alternative targets?? That also concerns me. I'm still confident we will get some decent signings in but sooner rather than later would be best for all concerned.

But please stop with this end of June and everyone on hols nonsense coz it's simply not true.

Good news Hibs have signed Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Pluto just to get some signings in to please you.

Not one can kick a ball, but we have got signings in, Happy now?

FFS calm down man you are all over every thread worrying about lack of signings.

What will undoubtedly be best is that Hibs will get the players they want in when it suits both parties to do so..

If they did what you wanted we would now be actively scouring the Pitz over 60's 5 a side league and signing anybody and everybody because the players involved and their clubs and agents didn't say yes before the end of the sentence starting "would you like........"

Relax

20-06-2017, 08:23 PM

Bumped into someone I hadn't seen for years tonight and had a good blether about all things hibs. He is a massive hibby and does have knowledge of what's going on. Told me no need to worry and signings are nearly there. Mostly names in the news and one or two not. Cummings was always going if a certain fee was offered and was Part of him signing last contract. He said things would get going next week once all those involved in transfers are back from hols. Not going to mention players as don't won't to look a numpty if they don't happen.

20-06-2017, 08:29 PM
Bumped into someone I hadn't seen for years tonight and had a good blether about all things hibs. He is a massive hibby and does have knowledge of what's going on. Told me no need to worry and signings are nearly there. Mostly names in the news and one or two not. Cummings was always going if a certain fee was offered and was Part of him signing last contract. He said things would get going next week once all those involved in transfers are back from hols. Not going to mention players as don't won't to look a numpty if they don't happen.

The one or two he mentioned who are not being discussed on here, would you class them as exciting signings?

20-06-2017, 08:34 PM
I'm fed up

There's bedsheets need washing, that'll take your mind off it all.

20-06-2017, 08:40 PM
That's good to hear - cheers for sharing mate 👍

20-06-2017, 08:41 PM
There's bedsheets need washing, that'll take your mind off it all.
Nice edit of my original post - you must be thrilled with your wit 👍

20-06-2017, 08:42 PM

Just out of interest, all these teams making all these signings. Who would the teams and signings be. And der Hun don't count. They have been forced into panic buying because of their humiliation of last season. I have seen only a couple of teams make a signing or two and I'm not sure I would take any of those at ER. I do believe that in NL and LD we are in safe hands and that good signings will follow soon

20-06-2017, 08:44 PM
Just out of interest, all these teams making all these signings. Who would the teams and signings be. And der Hun don't count. They have been forced into panic buying because of their humiliation of last season. I have seen only a couple of teams make a signing or two and I'm not sure I would take any of those at ER. I do believe that in NL and LD we are in safe hands and that good signings will follow soon
I never said I'd take any those teams signings...I said that the excuse that everyone was on hols is getting a bit tiring and isn't stopping other teams signing players...never said I wanted any of them. I also said I was confident we would get the right players in but hoped it would be sooner rather than later

20-06-2017, 08:47 PM

Good to hear and cheers for sharing. Hopefully I'll be back here in a week's time feeling much happier!

OxoHibby
20-06-2017, 08:47 PM
Good news Hibs have signed Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Pluto just to get some signings in to please you.

Not one can kick a ball, but we have got signings in, Happy now?

FFS calm down man you are all over every thread worrying about lack of signings.

What will undoubtedly be best is that Hibs will get the players they want in when it suits both parties to do so..

If they did what you wanted we would now be actively scouring the Pitz over 60's 5 a side league and signing anybody and everybody because the players involved and their clubs and agents didn't say yes before the end of the sentence starting "would you like........"

Relax

Mikey Donald and pluto would be good for world wide shirt sales. Might be onto something here

20-06-2017, 09:22 PM
Mikey Donald and pluto would be good for world wide shirt sales. Might be onto something here

That disney help.

Hibernianinc
20-06-2017, 09:30 PM
That disney help.

What's the difference between Fred Astaire and Walt Disney?

Fred dances, Walt Disney.

You're welcome.

20-06-2017, 09:35 PM
Can I manage your act for the Fringe.zwe could make a killing.

20-06-2017, 10:09 PM
What's the difference between Fred Astaire and Walt Disney?

Fred dances, Walt Disney.

You're welcome.

Loved that joke when I heard it in 1954!
Honestly Hibernianinc, it's that old. Back then it was "Bing (Crosby) sings but Walt disny"

Ken
20-06-2017, 10:33 PM
The days of teletext when you get dead excited because the Hibs news has more pages than normal. Then the agonising wait as it slowly goes through each slide, before the inevitable disappointment. Those were the days.

I had totally forgot about that. I don't think I could cope using a PC only for the internet, never mind going back to newspapers and teletext days [emoji85]

20-06-2017, 11:40 PM
The one or two he mentioned who are not being discussed on here, would you class them as exciting signings?

One definitely exciting. Most of the players were are after have been mentioned but it's waiting on things to fall in to place ie pay off from clubs or us paying a percentage of that players contract that he has left. Hopefully by next week the unnecessary scaremongering will be over and we will have got a couple of our signings in. It's hibs mind you so patience is definitely needed.

20-06-2017, 11:48 PM
Surprised we've not had the old chestnut of rod not buying players till late in the window to save money. As far as I know rod has no involvement in transfers bar keeping sir Tom up to date on what's happening hence he knows the sell on clause for mcginn is probably nearer ten than 33%.

21-06-2017, 06:33 AM
Nice edit of my original post - you must be thrilled with your wit 👍

Cheers, and not really.

21-06-2017, 06:34 AM
Surprised we've not had the old chestnut of rod not buying players till late in the window to save money. As far as I know rod has no involvement in transfers bar keeping sir Tom up to date on what's happening hence he knows the sell on clause for mcginn is probably nearer ten than 33%.

Still plenty of time for that!!

21-06-2017, 07:01 AM

:agree: Motherwell have made two or three signings recently - sorry, they were so good I can't for the life of me remember their names. :greengrin

21-06-2017, 07:30 AM

Nothing is an excuse, only facts. Lennon & Stokes are on holiday, Fact! Marciano & Stokes are under contract, probably until 30 June 2018, Fact! Those Facts don't stop transfers happening but they make things more complex & result in delays. As I said originally I'm sure LD is as keen as us to announce signings asap. Just keep the faith for a little longer.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
21-06-2017, 07:31 AM
One definitely exciting. Most of the players were are after have been mentioned but it's waiting on things to fall in to place ie pay off from clubs or us paying a percentage of that players contract that he has left. Hopefully by next week the unnecessary scaremongering will be over and we will have got a couple of our signings in. It's hibs mind you so patience is definitely needed.

Good updates. I actually prefer your type of update/rumour, has more truth to it imo. I mean if i had some inside info about hibs that someone gave me in confidence (or a players dad telling everyobe in edinburgh the details of his son's contract ffs) then i would be fairly circumspect about posting details.

Ill patiently await... and then slate you and hand back my ST if we havent signed Ronaldo by the weekend...!!😀

MacGruber
21-06-2017, 07:37 AM
Nothing is an excuse, only facts. Lennon & Stokes are on holiday, Fact! Marciano & Stokes are under contract, probably until 30 June 2018, Fact! Those Facts don't stop transfers happening but they make things more complex & result in delays. As I said originally I'm sure LD is as keen as us to announce signings asap. Just keep the faith for a little longer.

It is a matter of patience. The anxiety isn't helped now we've lost Cummings. Add in Holt, Keatings and Fyvie and that's a fair chunk of the identity of this particular Hibs team over the last few years. All important players if Holt for only a year and our top 3 strikers last year to boot.

Like you say keep the faith that Lennon and Dempster can find the replacements

Tobias Funke
21-06-2017, 07:42 AM
There are some utterly neurotic ****s posting on this forum. Absolutely no patience whatsoever.

Hibstrooper
21-06-2017, 07:46 AM

Good stuff thanks.

With so much flying about who do we think the solid rumours still are that could fall into the category of already been mentioned?

Whittaker seems an obvious one. Maloney maybe? Stokes always seems like it would be a late in the window deal. Who else was a solid rumour and not just chaff? I've lost track

Greenworld
21-06-2017, 07:52 AM
Commons ..maloney..stokes..mulgrew..Henderson..supplemente d by our young players should do it

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

21-06-2017, 07:53 AM
There are some utterly neurotic ****s posting on this forum. Absolutely no patience whatsoever.

It's a football forum and not for Buddhist Monk FC either. Also some might say from your outburst you've lost patience with some posters here...

21-06-2017, 07:54 AM
Commons ..maloney..stokes..mulgrew..Henderson..supplemente d by our young players should do it

Wow and change our name to "Wee Cellik" as well?

21-06-2017, 08:08 AM
It's a football forum and not for Buddhist Monk FC either. Also some might say from your outburst you've lost patience with some posters here...

Some may say you lost patience with him losing patience with some posters on here

21-06-2017, 08:14 AM
Some may say you lost patience with him losing patience with some posters on here

Indeed they might. Got a summer transfer rumour?

21-06-2017, 08:20 AM

Who are our young players???

Our ambition should not be reenacting Celtic 2010.

21-06-2017, 08:45 AM
Indeed they might. Got a summer transfer rumour?

Nope ..unfortunately i don't but the days still young and i might bump into an old mate or someone in the pub with a wealth of knowledge of hibs transfer dealings ...but id obviously have to keep the names to myself just incase

21-06-2017, 08:46 AM
Wow and change our name to "Wee Cellik" as well?

Like it or not, the best players in Scotland go to Celtic and when Celtic move them on its easier to persuade a player who is familiar with Scotland to come and play for Hibs than it is to get players up from England. I'd rather be signing good quality ex celtic players than the dross Hearts are signing just now.

21-06-2017, 09:12 AM

Ollie Shaw, Fraser Murray, Inner Murray any Ryan Porteous.

Slavers
21-06-2017, 09:17 AM
Ollie Shaw, Fraser Murray, Inner Murray any Ryan Porteous.

Add Scott Martin and Crane into the mix aswell.

21-06-2017, 09:20 AM
Add Scott Martin and Crane into the mix aswell.

Didn't forget about them as they were part of the squad already from last season.

Slavers
21-06-2017, 09:27 AM
Didn't forget about them as they were part of the squad already from last season.

Fair doos. There is a good chance we will see alot more of Martin now that Fyvie has left, I have liked what I have seen of Martin so far and think he could replace FF.

21-06-2017, 09:37 AM
Fair doos. There is a good chance we will see alot more of Martin now that Fyvie has left, I have liked what I have seen of Martin so far and think he could replace FF.

This was my thinking too re Martin, similar player, this is the year he has to make his mark for his future.

21-06-2017, 09:53 AM
I'm still confident we will get some decent signings in.........

So why are you behaving like a kid who hasn't got what he wants for Christmas?

21-06-2017, 10:03 AM
So why are you behaving like a kid who hasn't got what he wants for Christmas?
Standard treatment on here meant to be a forum and I aired a few concerns and u get insults hurled at you...I said I was concerned but hoped we would get signings in sooner rather than later...no need for insults...this place gets worse honestly .

Meant to be a forum for discussion yet if u say anything that's not in agreement with the general consensus u get insults and snide edited posts in response.

No wonder many members don't bother posting I can see why...

21-06-2017, 10:05 AM
Standard treatment on here meant to be a forum and I aired a few concerns and u get insults hurled at you...I said I was concerned but hoped we would get signings in sooner rather than later...no need for insults...this place gets worse honestly .

Meant to be a forum for discussion yet if u say anything that's not in agreement with the general consensus u get insults and snide edited posts in response.

No wonder many members don't bother posting I can see why...

Not surprised to see the standard defence. If in doubt whine about freedom of speech.

21-06-2017, 10:07 AM
Not surprised to see the standard defence. If in doubt whine about freedom of speech.
Whatever mate - fingers crossed for some signing news in the next couple of weeks and am sure we will all be happy :)

21-06-2017, 10:10 AM
Yeah would like to see a bit more of Scott Martin this season- always been impressed by him when he has been called upon...very tenacious wee player

21-06-2017, 10:14 AM

The wages for the first 3 would be astronomical, 2 out of the 4 would do me. I would take maloney and hendo.

Theinsider
21-06-2017, 10:17 AM
The wages for the first 3 would be astronomical, 2 out of the 4 would do me. I would take maloney and hendo.

I would take 3 from the 5.:greengrin

21-06-2017, 10:20 AM
I would take 3 from the 5.:greengrin

😂😂 must read harder, ok 3 from 5 is a deal, throw stokes in to the mix

21-06-2017, 10:29 AM
Like it or not, the best players in Scotland go to Celtic and when Celtic move them on its easier to persuade a player who is familiar with Scotland to come and play for Hibs than it is to get players up from England. I'd rather be signing good quality ex celtic players than the dross Hearts are signing just now.

What is the point having a Player Recruitment role (Mathie is his name if I remember correctly) if we are just going to give Celtic a call?

Sorry but other teams have had much success without looking for Celtic rejects. I have no problem with signing 1-2 but come on, if the top of our shortlist is a list of 5 Celtic players that's hardly encouraging is it?

Hearts have also signed decent players historically through their recruitment - Djoum, Cowie, Rossi, Berra. Good quality Celtic players can still be dross. The current list includes two 32+ players, one with well documented back problems...fact he played regularly for Celtic 3 years ago means what? Maloney has played how many games in the last 2 years? At this rate we will be called "Celtic OAP FC". Are Celtic our Colt team?

Slavers
21-06-2017, 10:34 AM
Yeah would like to see a bit more of Scott Martin this season- always been impressed by him when he has been called upon...very tenacious wee player

I can see Lennon's thinking in regards to FF. We have a hungry young player who has impressed when called apon, then we have FF who stalled on his contract. Maybe it was a factor in allowing FF to leave knowing we have a ready made replacement on our books.