View Full Version : Match thread - champions Vs sheep

22-04-2017, 10:22 AM
Putting my 100% record on the line here. Any news?

Manxhibs
22-04-2017, 10:29 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C-AopK_W0AAx9IW.png

corby hibee
22-04-2017, 10:29 AM
Aberdeen: Lewis, Logan, Shinnie, Considine, Taylor, Reynolds, McLean, Christie, Rooney, Hayes, Jack
Subs: Alexander, McGinn, O'Connor, Pawlett, Stockley, Wright, Storey

22-04-2017, 10:30 AM
No McGinn (for them!) - on the bench - that will have the Sheep fans worried, although Christie is pretty handy. Reynolds back in defence. He's much quicker than O'Connor but he's been out for a while, so maybe rusty...

22-04-2017, 10:31 AM
Marciano, Gray, McGregor, Ambrose, Stevenson, Boyle, McGinn, Bartley, Fyvie, McGeouch, Cummings

22-04-2017, 10:32 AM
Fyvie and Bartley, with Shinnie dropping out... A solid bank of four across the middle.

22-04-2017, 10:34 AM
Substitutes: Laidlaw, Holt, Keatings, Shinnie, Forster, Humphrey, Graham

Humph back, No Harris...

ruthven_raiders
22-04-2017, 10:36 AM
Going to be a lot of Hibs supporters missing the start, we've been stuck for a nearly an hour trying to get off at Polmadie

TheGreenMan
22-04-2017, 10:36 AM
What formation the sheep playing?

22-04-2017, 10:38 AM
5 attackers on the bench

22-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Jimmy Calderwood slowly but surely completing his transformation into a baked bean.

22-04-2017, 10:40 AM
Guessing McGeouch and McGinn are playing as wide midfielders?

21sMay
22-04-2017, 10:41 AM
Pretty gutted Harris isnt on the bench . Really thought if things weren't going out way then he could have been a but if a of secret weapon

22-04-2017, 10:44 AM
Good luck to the team today, like the line up.

22-04-2017, 10:47 AM
Happy with that line up, very strong midfield and strong bench allowing us options to either running ragged or bulldozing through a tired sheep defence later on.

Mon the Hibs:flag:

22-04-2017, 10:49 AM
Not sure about Bartley & Fyvie together since it doesn't give us much to link midfield an attack. McGinn and McGeouch also best in the middle but it might be best to stop Aberdeen getting off to a strong start.
Boyle can run himself into the ground for an hour, then get Shinnie and Humph on...

22-04-2017, 10:50 AM
As the hibs go marching on!!

Come on ma laddoes!! #twoinarow

22-04-2017, 10:59 AM
I can't be the only ones getting the chills seeing the David Gray end again. Properly emotional.

22-04-2017, 11:01 AM
Here we go...

Let's get stuck into them.

Took a wee fiver bet on Hibs and BTTS at 17/2.

22-04-2017, 11:03 AM
Missing out as I've been really unwell the last 8/9 hours, so my seat is empty :( - come on Hibs put a smile on my pus!

22-04-2017, 11:05 AM
Really felt for Bartley watching the Time for Heroes DVD as he didn't think he had done much wrong last season and he was visually heartbroken to miss out. What a chance he has today to get us to this final and cement his place in the final side

Want him to stroll through this game and have that Aberdeen frontline and midfield in his pocket

22-04-2017, 11:07 AM
A lot of fans still to get in before KO - hopefully traffic not causing too much of a problem.

22-04-2017, 11:07 AM
Mciness changed his side to keep the treat of Cummings out. Hopefully he's underestimated the pace of Boyle and skill of mcginn as that's where our threat today really is

22-04-2017, 11:09 AM
Can't remember Fyvie and Bartley working before but let's hope today's the day. Lennon has went for it in the big games but far more concervative today.

22-04-2017, 11:10 AM
Pretty gutted Harris isnt on the bench . Really thought if things weren't going out way then he could have been a but if a of secret weaponYes surprised he isn`t at least on the bench .

22-04-2017, 11:16 AM
What a ****ing shambles of a start. WTF are we thinking???

blaikie
22-04-2017, 11:16 AM
Oh wow

22-04-2017, 11:17 AM
Bartley !:rolleyes:

Daz WTF?

Off the bar
**** off

Oh good god, wtf?

Jag7
McGregor was at fault !! Pathetic start

22-04-2017, 11:18 AM
Speechless

chasitup
Dreadful start, so sloppy all round.

Bartley? That was Daz.

Totally pathetic to do that from a KO.

McGinn, Bartley and McGreggor all played their part. Catalogue of errors and so sloppy.

McGinns fault. Plenty time to make it up though

At least we have plenty of time to come back!!!

First McGinn the McGregor...

I'm sure we'll let them off!!

Sunday league stuff.

blaikie
22-04-2017, 11:19 AM
Ambrose going in for the early tackle didn't help either!

We really miss Hanlon at the back

22-04-2017, 11:19 AM
McGinn, Bartley and McGreggor all played their part. Catalogue of errors and so sloppy.

All 3 guilty of ridiculous overdenfidence and or laziness. Brutal.

22-04-2017, 11:20 AM
Massive 15 - 20 mins coming up. Can't afford to lose another. Shocking from McGregor...

22-04-2017, 11:20 AM
We were a goal behind against The Rangers with less time left.

22-04-2017, 11:22 AM
They look a bag of nerves.

22-04-2017, 11:22 AM
WTF was that KO all about? McGinn literally had 5 players round him.

McGregor with a dumb pass.

FFS!

Still, rather concede after 12 seconds than 91 minutes and 12 seconds.

22-04-2017, 11:23 AM
We like a comeback.

Mon the Hibees

22-04-2017, 11:25 AM
Problem is we were set up to soak and hit we now need to hit.

22-04-2017, 11:27 AM
Set up to soak, not sure about the hitting part.

Bit composure needed. Either too rushed or too casual.

Where's the shout for Bartley?

haagsehibby
Have to say Aberdeen are pressing us very well, we need to weather this first 20 minutes and get some composure back.

Set up to soak, not sure about the hitting part.

On the break

Aberdeen look well organised and up for it, going to be tough to get back into this.

22-04-2017, 11:28 AM
Midfielders are doing my nut in ponderous.

Dan Sarf
22-04-2017, 11:29 AM
Have they got more players than us?

22-04-2017, 11:29 AM
Aberdeen look well organised and up for it, going to be tough to get back into this.
Agree

22-04-2017, 11:30 AM
We look so uncomfortable being pressed. Long afternoon in store I fear.

22-04-2017, 11:30 AM
Dons pressing really well

22-04-2017, 11:31 AM
Ambrose needs to settle in.

Honestly wtf are they doing Aberdeen yeah are pressing but there are still out balls and we are overdoing it and not making right pass choice when passes are on.

Bartley get a grip man.

steviehibsleith
McGinn lost ball KO Bartley wins it back passes to Macgregor who makes a under hit pass for there goal.

22-04-2017, 11:32 AM
Dare I say it, should have gone with the 5-3-2..

Bartley is absolutely miles off the pace here.

Jag7
Balls across the defence are stupid and asking for trouble !! Hibs not in this game and defence looks terrible!

Fyvie needs to calm down.

22-04-2017, 11:33 AM
Struggling .

Still plenty time though.
Need to get angry.

First good team we have faced since Brondby and it's showing.
Passing under pressure has been really poor...

If nothing else we know next season going to be tough, we are really struggling here.

high bee
We've been in 2nd gear for weeks cruising to the title. Looks like we're struggling with the step up against a better team.

We have been used to teams sitting in, struggling with a team pressing us.

Jag7
22-04-2017, 11:34 AM
Second to every ball !!

chasitup
22-04-2017, 11:34 AM
Lennon has to change this, it's obviously not working at all.

22-04-2017, 11:35 AM
We have been used to teams sitting in, struggling with a team pressing us.

Shouldn't be a surprise. Dunfermline pressed us and we were all over the place. Need to step it up massively if we are to get back into it today.

corby hibee
Lennon has to change this, it's obviously not working at all.

Agree, balls to Cummings in the air ain't never gonna work, need Boyle to get on the ball and make some runs.

Do we change personnel this early or do we hope to grind it out for a while and hope they run out of ideas?

corby hibee
22-04-2017, 11:36 AM
Unlucky Boyle, need to get him on the ball more.

22-04-2017, 11:37 AM
McGregor having a very poor game today as well.

Bartey is so far off the pace it's unreal.

It's a dirty game.

Cmon get in their faces

22-04-2017, 11:38 AM
Add Boyle to that as well. Like an amateur against pros.

banchoryhibs
At the moment we definitely look like a Championship side. We really do need to wake up.

1st touch horrendous all round from us

Beginning to wish we had started big Holt

22-04-2017, 11:39 AM
Beaton letting bookings slide. Watch the first Hibs foul get a card.

Balls across the defence are stupid and asking for trouble !! Hibs not in this game and defence looks terrible!

It's the first rule of football that my 8 year old is told.

Stupid.

We are passing it into tight positions and causing ourself so many problems!

There you go, Fyvie booked.

Hibs are miles off the pace here. Bad bad start.

At the moment we definitely look like a Championship side. We really do need to wake up.

This :agree:

As I previously said Fyvie needs to calm the **** down.

chasitup
Not one Hibs player has turned up today so far. Very disappointing.

You can see the difference here. SPL vs Championship so far

22-04-2017, 11:40 AM
Good grief

Our midfield thus far has been horrendous. There is mo way Aberdeen will not score again

2-0

I think that may be it

corby hibee
Tbf this was always going to be hibs's toughest game of the season, it's not over yet.

How the ****!

Game over

Another joke goal. Embarrassing.

Dan Sarf
Anyone fancy a pint?

Why wait to make the change? It's not working. Hook one of Fyvie or Bartley and get Shinnie on and move McGeough back into the middle.

The Captain....
This is horrendous from us so far..the shape has not worked and needs changed. This has been an absolute disaster so far.

2 Aberdeen ****s should have been booked, but no it's a hibbie........joke

I think I'll go and do the garden.

****ing Marciano. Zibiesque v Hartley, in fact much, much worse.

We just need to keep this respectable now as it could be embarrassing.

Game over.

22-04-2017, 11:41 AM
They look shell shocked, really poor across the park.

Classic Beaton biased ***** against Hibs. Booking after booking slides and he gives one to Fyvie for nothing much at all.

high bee
I fear for the score here, we've been so far off the pace here.

If the 2 man wall stays a unit that's cleared. Keeper at fault too

Individual errors guys very very poor stuff.

blaikie
Brutal Hibs

And its good night Vienna. Poor goal keeping.

Mr Grieves
We are an absolute shambles today. We're making it easy for them

Put a player on the bloody post!!!

WillowbraeHibby
How the ****!

Game over

Very disappointing....

chasitup
Another terrible goal to lose. I don't think we'll come back from that, not the way we're playing.

Off the bar
Oh come on that's rank hibs ****ing rank

Sitting here calling that goal. You could see up here he was lining that up.

22-04-2017, 11:42 AM
Shocking goalkeeping. Make a change Lennon. You got it wrong don't leave it till it's too late

"We're always up for the big games".

Jag7
Could see that coming before Christie even kicked it ..poor poor team performance ..lots to do to survive in the top league on this showing .. absolute boys against men !!

Nothing has happened for us at all today.

This is a horror show

Hibs support are gutted

Wrong team it's obvious.

On the bright side this will be a wake up call as to just how far behind the good Preniership teams we actually are.

high bee
Need a sub.... Stubbs for Lennon

blaikie
Reminds me of the Falkirk semi a few years back under Fenlon!

steviehibsleith
Poor goalkeeping and why did mcgeoch split from the wall went straight to where he left

22-04-2017, 11:43 AM
Aberdeen are a good side. This is showing how much work is going to be required next couple of years!

Need 2 up top now, sorry Marvin but you need to come off now are you awake son?

Never the keepers fault. The wall split up!

Reminds me of the Falkirk semi a few years back under Fenlon!

Was just about to say that!

Wake up call for next season.

Tony Bobulinski
Two silly mistakes two needless goals conceded

Jag7
Why nobody at the posts !!!!!!

Investment needed next season. Aberdeen are the benchmark and they're miles ahead of us.

Put a player on the bloody post!!!

Or the keeper could just do his job. No reason yo have a player on the post if he takes a step forward and is on his toes.

Jag7
Wake up call for next season.

Big time !!

22-04-2017, 11:44 AM
Aberdeen are a good side. This is showing how much work is going to be required next couple of years!

That to a point but by god we are making it easy for them, utter unnecessary dross.

Flagg
I fear this was not the last goal in this match against us.

The Captain....
All over the ****ing place..players haven't a clue where they should be. No support to the front players and a defensive shambles.

This is an embarrassingly poor performance. Worst I've seen us play in a long time.

khib70
Need a sub.... Stubbs for Lennon
Bolt ya moron.:trumpet:

Fyvie & Bartley does not work. Saying that, no one is playing well. A horror show.
Aberdeen have not had to do anything other than press with energy for their lead.

Wave after wave of Aberdeen attacks.

It's not working Neil

Jag7
Or the keeper could just do his job. No reason yo have a player on the post if he takes a step forward and is on his toes.

It was near enough a corner and they do it then !!

Dare I say that it is time for heroes?

That to a point but by god we are making it easy for them, utter unnecessary dross.

Indeed. That was a ***** goal!!

mcfly
Sorry manager got all tactics wrong today

Heedersnvolleys
What is the tactics here???

22-04-2017, 11:45 AM
Can the day trippers booing kindly **** right off

Off the bar
Aberdeen are miles ahead of us

Putting my 100% record on the line here. Any news?

Aye, yer sacked! :wink:

It was near enough a corner and they do it then !!

It was 3 yards away from a corner and offside comes into play. It's a howler pure and simple, the ball never even made it to the back of the net it had so little pace on it.

Fyvie and Bartley, 2 sitting midfielders...pick up nobody. What's the point?

Tomsk
22-04-2017, 11:46 AM
"Good tackle" on Ambrose according to the commentary team. And that's after two slow mos. :rolleyes:

Bad tackle on Ambrose waved away by Beaton. Predictable

Aberdeen are miles ahead of us

Sure are!!

MartinfaePorty
Missed the first 5 minutes due to traffic but both teams awful so far. I don't seem to be seeing the fantastic Dons team the others are.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Hibs are absolute pish today

When he's back fit, we need to cover hanlon in bubblewrap all week our defence is crap without him

OtleyHibs
Too many players not turned up here, 2 horrible goals to give away.

Still time but hard to see how we get back into this. If we can somehow get the next goal and get a wee boost and hopefully make them a little nervous we can do it

CropleyisGod
What game are the commentary clowns watching?

Jag7
22-04-2017, 11:47 AM
Not in this game .. and can't see is getting anything out of it .. no shots on goals at all !!

chasitup
Change needed now, or it's gone.

True. We don't track the runners at all. Pish today.

IMO nothing to do with them being a league above, there have been some quite shocking lethargic play from the back.

Dumbarton woukd be 2 up as well. NL needs to sub and change formation before its 3 and if the personnel keep this up it will be.

Holt coming in

Big Holt to save the day

Dan Sarf
22-04-2017, 11:48 AM
Oh good we're bringing on some pace

Off the bar
Got to make a change we're getting tanked here

Jag7
Oh dear !! But then again a chance for him to actually do something !!

Holt?

Cummings looks ready to blow his top

2 nil down with a long way to go.

Still time to come back into it. As much as i think we had a chance to beat the sheep still think they are too strong for us esp when they lead.

22-04-2017, 11:49 AM
Fyvie replaced by Holt.

In a nutshell yet Aberdeen have overlapping players and space. Shocking stuff.

Fyvie you have been pish accept it.

IMO nothing to do with them being a league above, there have been some quite shocking lethargic play from the back.

Dumbarton woukd be 2 up as well. NL needs to sub and change formation before its 3 and if the personnel keep this up it will be.

Holt coming in

We have played like this a lot.

The team today are good enough to punish it where Dumbarton et al aren't.

I didn't expect much after watching this season's eye bleeding football, but I expected a fight from the players.
This is embarrassing.

22-04-2017, 11:50 AM
Fyvie strolling off, that'll be him not signing a contract.

Fair play to Lennon for trying to change it up

Only positive so far is it shows changes are needed for next season.

Off the bar
Fyvie coming off by the sound of it, yellow card probably the factor

khib70
Oh good we're bringing on some pace
We're bringing on the guy who should have started. We've no presence up front. Boyle is invisible and Cummings too isolated.

high bee
Tough for anyone to come off after 30 mins but we're 2 down and being overrun FFS so think of the team and get off the park swiftly.

22-04-2017, 11:51 AM
We've gifted two goals to the second best team in the country. Mistakes happen, but we couldn't have picked a worse game to make them in.

Two in a row was always going to be a big ask of any team

Holt get in there

Holty

Big Holty

Game on! Well done Lennon.

blaikie
Holt!!!'

Jag7
Holy amazing

We're bringing on the guy who should have started. We've no presence up front. Boyle is invisible and Cummings too isolated.

Holt scores

Get in

chasitup
Yes. Get in there.

pogo
22-04-2017, 11:52 AM
Go on big Grant!

The fight back is on

The Captain....
Brilliant Boyle...and go on the big felly

Tomsk
Brilliant from Boyle!

Big Holt to save the day
Looks like he just might.

OtleyHibs
Yaaaaaasssss! Game on!

high bee
Come on!!! Fair play to Lennon for the early sun, far too often managers won't change it.

Good ball from Boyle

khib70
I rest my case m'lud

Flagg
Oh...goal...nice!

Grant Holt!! Yeeeassssss!!!

corby hibee
Lol my bbc I player stream is miles behind,,, Mon the hibs

David_D
Get in.

Holt?

Take that back!

Off the bar
22-04-2017, 11:53 AM
Yessßsssss super sub grant holt you beauty!!!

blaikie
Real Show of class by Holt!

2 defenders out jumped and out powered, great sub by Lennon!

Yesssss no way are Aberdeen miles better than us we have just been set up wrong and have been sh it so far.

Back in it now at 2-1 lets ave it Hibees :flag::flag:

Grant Holt. Take that! :flag:

22-04-2017, 11:54 AM
We can see whose side Beaton is on. Never books them.

22-04-2017, 11:54 AM
Get in. Talk about impact!

We've been in worse situations than one down.

hibee62
22-04-2017, 11:55 AM
Very tough on fyvie but absolutely the right decision!

That's the fastest I've seen Holt move all season! Wow.

Simkin911
There is hope but we've conceded 2 of the poorest goals we've conceded all season.

22-04-2017, 11:56 AM
get in , c'mon hibees get intae them :flag::flag::flag:

22-04-2017, 11:56 AM
Regardless of what happens on the pitch, our fans have been unreal today

22-04-2017, 11:57 AM
We can do this Hibees just believe

Just stuck £20 on us to win at 18/1 on Bet 365 :flag::flag:

22-04-2017, 11:57 AM
Thought Holt had decided to be s WWF referee, but good effort there!

22-04-2017, 11:58 AM
Much more comfortable since the sub.

steviehibsleith
22-04-2017, 11:59 AM
Fans are playing there part

22-04-2017, 12:00 PM
Looking a threat now.

Unreal support and so much better on the park with a taget to aim at up top.

Shinnie for Dylan at half time for me, the goal has rocked them.

We look like a football team since the goal 😀

Much more comfortable since the sub.
What Holt does for Hibs is very under estimated.

Tomsk
22-04-2017, 12:01 PM
Boyle taken out off the ball. Card? Nah. Dinnae be silly.

Much better now since the sub...

Does anyone else think the players were too relaxed coming out the tunnel hence why we were all over the place at the start?
Or is it just the usual 1st half snooze fest as it's been all this season..

22-04-2017, 12:02 PM
The chance for Beaton to send off Fyvie for a weak second yellow has gone.

22-04-2017, 12:02 PM
Red blows for HT just as Boyle about to play Holt in. Playing to the rules but annoying all the same.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

22-04-2017, 12:03 PM
Need to get Boyle running at them more in the second half.

Our passing from the back has to sharpen up - a lot!

Somehow still in it...

Never one for the ref conspiracy stuff but Beaton has been brutal. They should have 3 yellow at least.

blaikie
Does anyone else think the players were too relaxed coming out the tunnel hence why we were all over the place at the start?
Or is it just the usual 1st half snooze fest as it's been all this season..

Cummings slapping Stevenson on the back and looking very relaxed, whilst the dons players were tense and up for it! That 45 minutes is exactly what we needed I think, still 1 down but we finished that half a very different team than we started.

Hibs on a 3 on 2 break and Beaton blows for half time. :faf:

What Holt does for Hibs is very under estimated.
Agreed. Don't understand how people can't see what he brings. His presence alone has unsettle Aberdeen.

22-04-2017, 12:04 PM
Red blows for HT just as Boyle about to play Holt in. Playing to the rules but annoying all the same.

Beaton wouldnt give the steam off his....

Sent from my SM-G901F using Tapatalk

corby hibee
We give aberdeen there two goals, this game is not over yet.

Hibs on a 3 on 2 break and Beaton blows for half time. :faf:

To be fair the minute had been played.

OtleyHibs
22-04-2017, 12:05 PM
Very tough on fyvie but absolutely the right decision!

I would have hooked Bartley after his start to be honest but the yellow card could have swung it.

Excellent impact from Holt and from where we were I'll take 2-1 at halftime.

Side note: John Beaton is a muppet, should have let that attack finish before the whistle

Only when it comes to Hibs.

ForeverHibs93
So Aberdeen get away with two blatant yellow card offences before Fyvie gets booked and then the referee blows when Hibs are about to go clean through? Shocking refereeing!

mcfly
Thank god he changed the team during first half

Look better now

stuck at work with no TV or radio .How have we played since the goal ? please tell me were giving them a game now

These boys fight. Lennon got it wrong, fixed it, put a leader on up front, and they're terrified of Holt.