View Full Version : Danny Swanson

GoalsMcGinley
20-04-2017, 07:21 PM
Done deal apparently.....

20-04-2017, 07:22 PM
Is this the guy that is a die hard hibs fan that bigged up hearts when he signed for them a season or 2 back ?

GoalsMcGinley
20-04-2017, 07:23 PM
Is this the guy that is a die hard hibs fan that bigged up hearts when he signed for them a season or 2 back ?

Same Danny. Don't worry he's still a hibby that was just doing his job.

20-04-2017, 07:24 PM

and his faither got the hertz song put on the jukebox in his boozer

ACLeith
20-04-2017, 07:29 PM

Yup the same guy who when he played for DU and they weren't playing sat behind us in the west with His ex school mates. His behaviour then showed he is defo one of us.

20-04-2017, 07:29 PM

Not something I'd ever do but he was probably a bit paranoid about them finding out he was a hibs fan so he tried to play up any hearts connection he had.

It's no big deal and I hope he gets a fair crack of the whip if he does sign.

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 07:30 PM
Once got sent off for DU at easter road and im pretty sure it was deliberate.
Good player should add much needed goals to the midfield.

20-04-2017, 07:31 PM
Hope this is true

edwards
20-04-2017, 07:32 PM
Would like to see him at ER

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 07:34 PM

Could hardly come out and say he hated them having signed for them!

20-04-2017, 07:36 PM
and his faither got the hertz song put on the jukebox in his boozer

😂😂😂

20-04-2017, 07:36 PM
Could hardly come out and say he hated them having signed for them!

He could have said nothing ?

20-04-2017, 07:38 PM
"My representative got in touch with Craig Levein as I have obviously worked with him before."

Swanson, brought up in Edinburgh, was quick to dispel any suggestions he may be a fan of Hearts' city rivals Hibernian.

"Don't listen to rumours! I'm a Hearts fan and I'm here to do a job for Hearts," he insisted.

20-04-2017, 07:38 PM
Never seen the attraction to this guy, nothing special in my opinion even if he is a Hibee.

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 07:40 PM
He could have said nothing ?

Aye but had to make an effort to pretend to win them over. It was pretty half hearted I thought anyway.
Has scored several times against them since leaving so it was indeed a fleeting love affair. The sort you might have while wrecked at T in the Park before regaining full eyesight and bolting.

20-04-2017, 07:41 PM
Aye but had to make an effort to pretend to win them over. It was pretty half hearted I thought anyway.
Has scored several times against them since leaving so it was indeed a fleeting love affair. The sort you might have while wrecked at T in the Park before regaining full eyesight and bolting.

Lol. Brilliant description [emoji3][emoji122]

20-04-2017, 07:42 PM
"My representative got in touch with Craig Levein as I have obviously worked with him before."

Swanson, brought up in Edinburgh, was quick to dispel any suggestions he may be a fan of Hearts' city rivals Hibernian.

"Don't listen to rumours! I'm a Hearts fan and I'm here to do a job for Hearts," he insisted.

All forgiven when he bangs in a hat-trick against these fandans in the first derby. :greengrin

20-04-2017, 07:45 PM

Is their any mileage in this ?

ACLeith
20-04-2017, 07:46 PM

No but don't care who any of our players supported. SDG?

20-04-2017, 07:49 PM
Never seen the attraction to this guy, nothing special in my opinion even if he is a Hibee.

I kind of agree with that. But he's scored a lot more goals than any of our midfielders this season, playing at a higher level.

20-04-2017, 07:50 PM

Would add add excitement and creativity. Something we've been severely lacking this season. Also scores quite a few goals which none of our currently midfielders seem to do

20-04-2017, 07:50 PM

Who really cares? Happy for Jambo's to play for Hibs, especially ones who do well.

20-04-2017, 07:51 PM

He's definitely a Hibs fan. No idea why he said that to be honest when he could have just said nowt.

20-04-2017, 07:52 PM
There are pictures of JC doing the 5-1 if you google it, who gives a sheite?:confused:

20-04-2017, 07:53 PM
Would add add excitement and creativity. Something we've been severely lacking this season. Also scores quite a few goals which none of our currently midfielders seem to do

10 goals since 2014. If he signs I hope he does well but not that enthused.

Earlydelivery
20-04-2017, 07:54 PM

Yep .said that on other thread few days ago .

20-04-2017, 07:54 PM
Who really cares? Happy for Jambo's to play for Hibs, especially ones who do well.

I care , Is that ok with you ?

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 07:56 PM

Selective use of stats. 8 goals this season. Only played 8 games last season due to injury.

andy1875
20-04-2017, 07:58 PM

Selective use of stats. 8 goals this season. Only played 8 games last season due to injury.

I thought he'd scored 10-15 goals this season as he takes penalties. I may be wrong, of to check now :aok:

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 08:00 PM
I thought he'd scored 10-15 goals this season as he takes penalties. I may be wrong, of to check now :aok:

8 in the league. Not sure on cups.

20-04-2017, 08:02 PM
Certainly not a done deal. Lennon has been in contact with Danny numerous times this season. He is very good pals with Daz McGregor also and IS a Hibs fan. He's still in two minds whether to go abroad as he has had a horrendous time with both injury and the death of his best pal back at new year.

20-04-2017, 08:04 PM
I really like him. Very skilful, scores spectacular goals and is a Hibby.

andy1875
20-04-2017, 08:06 PM
8 in the league. Not sure on cups.

Yeah looks like you and Scouse were right.

I was wrong. P.s don't tell my wife I admitted to being wrong :greengrin

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 08:07 PM

If shes anything like mine she probably tells you that you are wrong almost constantly so I wont make it any worse :)

20-04-2017, 08:08 PM

Don't worry, she knows! 😂

20-04-2017, 08:08 PM

It's not selective use of stats at all! I merely checked to see how many goals he had scored.

20-04-2017, 08:09 PM
I kind of agree with that. But he's scored a lot more goals than any of our midfielders this season, playing at a higher level.

6 goals, 4 of them from the penalty spot, he's not good enough to fit in to our present midfield, imo of course

20-04-2017, 08:09 PM
I care , Is that ok with you ?

Do you celebrate when JC scores?:greengrin

andy1875
20-04-2017, 08:10 PM
If shes anything like mine she probably tells you that you are wrong almost constantly so I wont make it any worse :)

Good man hahaha.

I was sure it said on Sportscene a week or so ago that he'd scored more than 8.

Anyway moving on, I think he'd be a good signing.

6 goals, 4 of them from the penalty spot, he's not good enough to fit in to our present midfield, imo of course

but we also need decent back up players

Ken
Would be a good addition to the team. Hopefully it happens

20-04-2017, 08:11 PM
Certainly not a done deal. Lennon has been in contact with Danny numerous times this season. He is very good pals with Daz McGregor also and IS a Hibs fan. He's still in two minds whether to go abroad as he has had a horrendous time with both injury and the death of his best pal back at new year.

was that the young fella on great junction street ?

Mantis Toboggan
It's not selective use of stats at all! I merely checked to see how many goals he had scored.

Yeah but the number of games played in the period is needed to put the number of goals into perspective.
He has a good record for a midfielder.

He's becoming less prolific each post :-)

andy1875
20-04-2017, 08:12 PM
Don't worry, she knows! 😂

Do you know her :greengrin

20-04-2017, 08:13 PM
Yeah but the number of games played in the period is needed to put the number of goals into perspective.
He has a good record for a midfielder.

It's hardly the prolific goal scorin from midfield being touted on here though. I was thinking Pat McGinlay :)

20-04-2017, 08:14 PM

with it being so close a recount is needed :)

20-04-2017, 08:16 PM

Has scored 13 goals this season from midfield including 2 goals against Hearts in league cup.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=41726

20-04-2017, 08:17 PM
Do you celebrate when JC scores?:greengrin

I do aye.. Cause Jason is a well known Hearts fan or was but now hates them

DS is a hibs fan that bigged up hearts when he played for them.

Your point ?

20-04-2017, 08:17 PM

:greengrin:greengrin

20-04-2017, 08:19 PM
I do aye.. Cause Jason is a well known Hearts fan or was but now hates them

DS is a hibs fan that bigged up hearts when he played for them.

Your point ?

My point is does it really matter?

20-04-2017, 08:21 PM
My point is does it really matter?

it kinda does aye.

20-04-2017, 08:21 PM
was that the young fella on great junction street ?

It was yeah.

20-04-2017, 08:25 PM
it kinda does aye.

Footballers always say things when they sign for other teams.....

20-04-2017, 08:26 PM
Rather not have him. He can stick to fighting his St Johnstone team mates

20-04-2017, 08:28 PM
Footballers always say things when they sign for other teams.....

For a died in the wool hibs fan like Danny signing for Hearts why say anything ? ...

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 08:29 PM
It's hardly the prolific goal scorin from midfield being touted on here though. I was thinking Pat McGinlay :)

If Dannys wife has as good a set of pipes on her as Pats we are making a strong signing

20-04-2017, 08:30 PM
For a died in the wool hibs fan like Danny signing for Hearts why say anything ? ...

trying to win favour with the orcs?

20-04-2017, 08:31 PM

I'd say almost anything for the money. Maybe he thought it would make it easier when I die hard Hibs fans signs for their most bitter rivals.

You can start a witch hunt against him forst game he plays tom kite after he signs though, if it means that much to you.

20-04-2017, 08:36 PM
I'd say almost anything for the money. Maybe he thought it would make it easier when I die hard Hibs fans signs for their most bitter rivals.

You can start a witch hunt against him forst game he plays tom kite after he signs though, if it means that much to you.

Being a season ticket holder for over 20 years i tend to get behind the players :aok:

I asked a valid question at the start of this thread , Witch hunt lol... behave yersel eh

20-04-2017, 08:37 PM
Rather not have him. He can stick to fighting his St Johnstone team mates

Guessing you wouldn't react if an utter roaster decided to attack you at your work eh.

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 08:42 PM

For the reason I said earlier. Because they knew he was a hibby.

20-04-2017, 08:42 PM
Being a season ticket holder for over 20 years i tend to get behind the players :aok:

I asked a valid question at the start of this thread , Witch hunt lol... behave yersel eh

Aye, and it was answered in the next post and numerous times thereafter.

20-04-2017, 08:43 PM
Swanson is a lovely player and his age and experience are certainly right up Lennon's street.

However I personally think his best days are behind him (pace, injuries) and would prefer to see us add to our squad and enhance what we have with a couple of young, vibrant players with big futures and can take us forward. Henderson and Allan to be specific.
Only my opinion of course and will support whoever is brought in.

Mantis Toboggan

Exactly. No one is saying we are going to give him snash if he actually plays for us.
And it was a fair point to raise. But he is a footballer so he cant always be as pure as we are.

hibsmum
Done deal and welcome Danny

20-04-2017, 08:44 PM
Poor signing

20-04-2017, 08:45 PM
Poor signing

That's the spirit:aok:

20-04-2017, 08:45 PM
Poor signing

this

we already have penalty takers :(

20-04-2017, 08:51 PM
15 goals from midfield in the SPFL . Exactly what Wee have been missing.
Happy if this is true :)

20-04-2017, 09:02 PM
Ah the classic Danny Swanson is signing thread.

20-04-2017, 09:04 PM
Terrific news if done deal. Great player in the peak form of his career and will not only set up goals but will score quite a few himself.

glory glory

20-04-2017, 09:04 PM
15 goals from midfield in the SPFL . Exactly what Wee have been missing.
Happy if this is true :)

Now it's 15 is he playing tonight ;-)

GoalsMcGinley
20-04-2017, 09:05 PM
Ah the classic Danny Swanson is signing thread.

Except this time he is....... or so I'm told [emoji6]

20-04-2017, 09:06 PM

Definitely 13. :greengrin

Also for the debate, he has scored 13 in 34 games.

Those not saying it's impressive, that is in the Premiership and if he scored that for us he would of been our second top goal scorer.

Giving your opinion on the quality of a potential signing does not mean that we won't support him the minute he pulls on a Hibs shirt. If he signs he will get my full support.

20-04-2017, 09:09 PM
Terrific news if done deal. Great player in the peak form of his career and will not only set up goals but will score quite a few himself.

glory glory
Think great player is ever so slightly over the top.

murray26
20-04-2017, 09:11 PM
Really hope this isn't true.. looked awful at Hearts.. strikes me as a guy with a poor attitude and has a history of sucking up to Jambos and fighting with team mates..

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 09:12 PM

Another hibs net myth ;)

Mantis Toboggan
20-04-2017, 09:12 PM
Really hope this isn't true.. looked awful at Hearts.. strikes me as a guy with a poor attitude and has a history of sucking up to Jambos and fighting with team mates..

Have you seen him play?

20-04-2017, 09:14 PM

History of fighting with teammates? A Hun roaster tried to lamp him and e reacted, once. It's hardly a weekly occurrence. I'm afraid a boy with a poor attitude doesn't play for 3/4 months through injury, on the back of a tragic death to someone so close, while travelling to and from Perth on a daily basis.

murray26
20-04-2017, 09:16 PM
Have you seen him play?

Yes.. I don't think he's good enough for us.. happy to be proven wrong..

He is an essential player in a very good St Johnstone team and has scored 13 goals from midfield.

He has a lot of experience and is a tricky player who is very handy at set pieces.

This is the exact type of player we should be going for imo.

:greengrin didn't have a bad attitude when he was scoring 2 goals v Hearts earlier in the season.

20-04-2017, 09:19 PM
Think great player is ever so slightly over the top.

I think he's a smashing player who not only sets up goals but scores plenty too.

Opinions opinions

glory glory

20-04-2017, 09:21 PM
Yes.. I don't think he's good enough for us.. happy to be proven wrong..

I would say he is better than the likes of Boyle or Keatings?

20-04-2017, 09:23 PM
8 penalties puts his goalscoring exploits this season into context. 5 of them in the league.

20-04-2017, 09:23 PM
Is he still the same type of player he was at Dundee Utd? Thought he was immense when he broke through there but heard he's more of a playmaker rather than a tricky winger now?

20-04-2017, 09:33 PM
He is a well known hibs fan to everyone in leith, im sure the quote in the paper was tongue in cheek he was being sarcastic

HFCdeb
20-04-2017, 09:38 PM
I would say he is better than the likes of Boyle or Keatings?

This. A definite upgrade and proven SPL player.

20-04-2017, 09:58 PM
If Lennon wants him that's fine by me.

20-04-2017, 10:39 PM
The s*n reporting it's as good as done, on a pre-contract.

20-04-2017, 10:49 PM

glory glory

Is he really in the peak of his career? He'll be 31 halfway though next season

He is a well known hibs fan to everyone in leith, im sure the quote in the paper was tongue in cheek he was being sarcastic

Aye he was defo on the wind up, can't believe how big of a deal some people are making it out to be!

20-04-2017, 11:05 PM
Take out the penalties and he is a goal every 7 games and an assist every 5.5. This season he has scored 13 out of his career 33 goals but 8 of those were penalties. I hope he comes in and has a massive impact but I suspect his best days are behind him with knee injuries now starting to come in a few times a season and already being 30 1/2 years old. I want Hibs to try and buy young quality players who can improve themselves and Hibs and then move on to both parties advantage. I thought that was the model we were trying to establish. Swanson looks like a reasonable player but I can't say I am overly excited and I hope we aren't going down the road of buying a bunch of 30 odd year olds whose best days may be behind them. On the other hand he is almost twice as prolific as McGinn and has more assists per game but we have a winger in Boyle who scores at a career rate of more than a goal every 3 games and an assist every 4.8 games albeit most of that has been in the Championship and League 2.

20-04-2017, 11:07 PM
Are Swanson`s appearance and scoring figures any better than Liam Craig`s at St J ? I thought LC was a reasonable player for us but many here wouldn`t be happy if we signed him again this summer so wonder how Swanson compares to him . If DS wasn`t a Hibs fan would people be so happy about his possible signing ? If we sign him , who is likely to leave ? Personally I hope no new signings are confirmed until at least July when it`ll be far clearer which players are available all over the world especially as those involved in player recruitment were praised by Neil Lennon after clinching promotion so presumably are not limiting targets to players with Edinburgh connections and are busy looking for new players who will make the team challenge for top 3 .

DTS
20-04-2017, 11:12 PM
Are Swanson`s appearance and scoring figures any better than Liam Craig`s at St J ? I thought LC was a reasonable player for us but many here wouldn`t be happy if we signed him again this summer so wonder how Swanson compares to him . If DS wasn`t a Hibs fan would people be so happy about his possible signing ? If we sign him , who is likely to leave ? Personally I hope no new signings are confirmed until at least July when it`ll be far clearer which players are available all over the world especially as those involved in player recruitment were praised by Neil Lennon after clinching promotion so presumably are not limiting targets to players with Edinburgh connections and are busy looking for new players who will make the team challenge for top 3 .

Liam Craig has scored 7 goals Swanson 12 this season so I'd say there's a bit of a difference in the two players. Also I think Swanson would act as a good link between midfield and attack can't find assist stats but I'd imagine he'd be approaching double figures for them

Tamhere1875
20-04-2017, 11:15 PM
Would not get anywhere near our midfield. Might just get a game i the development team 😏

20-04-2017, 11:30 PM

No. Danny's a Hibby. And a cracking player too. As someone else said will bring goals from the middle of the park that we've sadly lacked.

20-04-2017, 11:30 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/896688/hibs-are-set-to-clinch-the-signing-of-st-johnstone-winger-danny-swanson-on-a-pre-contract/

20-04-2017, 11:32 PM
Would not get anywhere near our midfield. Might just get a game i the development team 😏

Probably round the same level as Shinnie, maybe he'll be his replacement

20-04-2017, 11:33 PM
Liam Craig has scored 7 goals Swanson 12 this season so I'd say there's a bit of a difference in the two players. Also I think Swanson would act as a good link between midfield and attack can't find assist stats but I'd imagine he'd be approaching double figures for them
In open play both Swanson and Craig have scored 5 goals this year. They both have 7 assists and Swanson has played for about a game longer to get those stats. They are pretty much the same age too. I would say they are closely matched in terms of stats as any two players could be with Craig winning out slightly.

20-04-2017, 11:34 PM

Good one.

20-04-2017, 11:50 PM
Plenty people falling in to the He's a hibby chat.... he has had a handful of good games this season. If he had done the same for Hibs this year there would be threads asking for his replacement. I know StJ fans that can't believe we let Craig go yet our fans hated him....

Purehibee_MYB
20-04-2017, 11:53 PM
Take out the penalties and he is a goal every 7 games and an assist every 5.5. This season he has scored 13 out of his career 33 goals but 8 of those were penalties. I hope he comes in and has a massive impact but I suspect his best days are behind him with knee injuries now starting to come in a few times a season and already being 30 1/2 years old. I want Hibs to try and buy young quality players who can improve themselves and Hibs and then move on to both parties advantage. I thought that was the model we were trying to establish. Swanson looks like a reasonable player but I can't say I am overly excited and I hope we aren't going down the road of buying a bunch of 30 odd year olds whose best days may be behind them. On the other hand he is almost twice as prolific as McGinn and has more assists per game but we have a winger in Boyle who scores at a career rate of more than a goal every 3 games and an assist every 4.8 games albeit most of that has been in the Championship and League 2.

Think you make a good point. I agree we should definitely be going out and trying to find young players who we can work with to improve to both parties benefit. That said if Swanson is going to come for relatively cheap and not take up a massive salary then he's definitely a good option

spudhib
21-04-2017, 12:09 AM
Think he's ideal for our left side of mid which nobody's nailed down.

21-04-2017, 01:05 AM
Plenty people falling in to the He's a hibby chat.... he has had a handful of good games this season. If he had done the same for Hibs this year there would be threads asking for his replacement. I know StJ fans that can't believe we let Craig go yet our fans hated him....

If deal done would look like Shinnie staying on unlikely. A solid SPL player on paper as was Craig. Consistency been issue most career. Hope if true Hibs jersey brings out best. For me not sure but open minded.

21-04-2017, 04:34 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/896688/hibs-are-set-to-clinch-the-signing-of-st-johnstone-winger-danny-swanson-on-a-pre-contract/

Not sure who Robert Thomson is but the Sun is usually spot on when it comes to hibs transfer reporting, due to journalist Kenny Miller

Ardenttwo
21-04-2017, 04:36 AM

By by the same token Griffiths kisses the Smeltic badge every time he scores and we would take him back in a second. Saw in the sports news that the St Johnstone manager was desperate to get Swanson tied up on a new deal so there must be a player in there somewhere

Earlydelivery
21-04-2017, 05:42 AM
Said he was signing on other thread . Now for Andreu , then scougall .

21-04-2017, 05:50 AM
Said he was signing on other thread . Now for Andreu , then scougall .

You're a man in the know Earlydelivery

Earlydelivery
21-04-2017, 05:59 AM
Andreu 100% been in . Scougall on radar .

GoalsMcGinley
21-04-2017, 06:11 AM

Not convinced by Andreu tbh. If we're targeting those 3 that would suggest we are losing 1 or 2

21-04-2017, 06:12 AM
29 goals in 8 games this season, whats not to like?:top marks

21-04-2017, 06:14 AM
29 goals in 8 games this season, whats not to like?:top marks

Lucky to get him with a return of just under 4 goals a game....

21-04-2017, 06:16 AM
Lucky to get him with a return of just under 4 goals a game....

Just realised i made a mistake, its 35 goals in 7 games. :thumbsup:

Enough said
21-04-2017, 06:17 AM
Stefan won't b signing unfortunately

Earlydelivery
21-04-2017, 06:17 AM

21-04-2017, 06:24 AM
Didn't realise Scougall was at Fleetwood, that would make a little sense of what i was told from someone a week or so ago, about Lennon being interested in a couple of players from the north west.

21-04-2017, 06:42 AM
Honestly can't believe the whinging by some at this signing.

He's scored 13 goals from wide left in a team that is 4th in the league above us.

He's the sort of player we've been crying out for about 5 years....and he's a Hibby. A blind man could see the talent this boy has.

A crackin start to our summer business.

21-04-2017, 06:47 AM
Didn't realise Scougall was at Fleetwood, that would make a little sense of what i was told from someone a week or so ago, about Lennon being interested in a couple of players from the north west.
Signed for them on loan in Jan and hasn't kicked a ball for them. I'm assuming he's injured.

Scougall is out of contract at Sheff United in the summer.

Ken
21-04-2017, 06:48 AM
Oh no I thought this negative thread was almost done and then Scougall is mentioned.

I don't know much about the player, but I had heard a lot of good things but his goals to games ratio for an attacking midfielder (wiki) means he'll not be given a chance (until he's pulled on the jersey of course and then he'll be backed)

Lee Marvin
21-04-2017, 06:51 AM

He's scored 13 goals from wide left in a team that is 4th in the league above us.

He's the sort of player we've been crying out for about 5 years....and he's a Hibby. A blind man could see the talent this boy has.

Where does he play exactly? Is it on the left of a flat 4 as you suggest?

21-04-2017, 06:58 AM
Signed for them on loan in Jan and hasn't kicked a ball for them. I'm assuming he's injured.

Scougall is out of contract at Sheff United in the summer.
10 apps and 1 goal according to wikipedia

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk

vercol36
21-04-2017, 07:02 AM
Someone's been at it on Wikipedia already:

Daniel Joseph "Danny" Swanson (born 28 December 1986) is a Scottish footballer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football) who plays as an attacking midfielder (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder#Attacking_midfielder) for his boyhood heroes Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.).

21-04-2017, 07:03 AM
Someone's been at it on Wikipedia already:

Daniel Joseph "Danny" Swanson (born 28 December 1986) is a Scottish footballer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football) who plays as an attacking midfielder (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder#Attacking_midfielder) for his boyhood heroes Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.).
That would have been me got bored at about 1/2am maybe before 😂

21-04-2017, 07:06 AM
That would have been me got bored at about 1/2am maybe before 😂

I also changed Lee wallaces middle name to grass a few months back then alot of others also did it and changes to lee wallace was blocked

21-04-2017, 07:09 AM
]Is he really in the peak of his career[/B]? He'll be 31 halfway though next season

Aye he was defo on the wind up, can't believe how big of a deal some people are making it out to be!

I was referring to peak form of his career based on his recent form with St Johnstone to be fair to myself. Hopefully he'll still have at least two more seasons at ER playing the way he is just now.

glory glory

21-04-2017, 07:11 AM
10 apps and 1 goal according to wikipedia

Strange. I got that from Soccerbase which is usually spot on

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=57385

21-04-2017, 07:23 AM

Just so you know - this'll make it the fourth successive season we've had a 'done deal' with this particular Hibee-Jambo supporting individual.

You might not have been aware of that. :rolleyes:

GoalsMcGinley
21-04-2017, 07:27 AM
Just so you know - this'll make it the fourth successive season we've had a 'done deal' with this particular Hibee-Jambo supporting individual.

You might not have been aware of that. :rolleyes:

This time it's done. Trust me [emoji6]

21-04-2017, 07:38 AM
Yes Swanson is a Jambo, he's a violent thug in the dressing room, his namesake Joe from Family Guy has better knees...

Listen to the state of some people on this board. I can't wait for the populace at Tynecastle to finally send Budge packing and for fan ownership to take place. I'm sure they will soar.

21-04-2017, 07:52 AM
Yes Swanson is a Jambo, he's a violent thug in the dressing room, his namesake Joe from Family Guy has better knees...

Listen to the state of some people on this board. I can't wait for the populace at Tynecastle to finally send Budge packing and for fan ownership to take place. I'm sure they will soar.

Another cumdog

21-04-2017, 08:04 AM
Didnt realise he was 30.

21-04-2017, 08:11 AM
A fine, fine player who we would be lucky to get and a Hibby to boot. His talent is clear to see and pulling on the shirt of his boyhood heroes will probably ramp up his performances .... if he can score from the spot even better, our record from 12 yards is pretty poor at the moment. I'm confident he will prove all the doubters on here wrong if he signs.

An injury prone has been whose record hardly stands up to scrutiny when you consider the potential he had ... seemed to buy into the Yams a bit too much when he was there too. He's clearly a disruptive influence if fighting with his team mates on the pitch is any indication. If we had signed him 5 years ago then fine, but I cant see him adding much to our team now, I'd much rather we signed a youngster with potential ..... sorry, not for me.

I reserve the right to edit this post at a later date :greengrin

21-04-2017, 09:44 AM
I would be concerned if we were only signing 30 year olds, but don't have a problem with us adding one or two as long as most of our recruitment is of younger players.

At 30 there's no reason why Swanson can't play well for another few seasons, although I'm only interested in the two years that he's signed with us for.

21-04-2017, 09:49 AM
I would be concerned if we were only signing 30 year olds, but don't have a problem with us adding one or two as long as most of our recruitment is of younger players.

At 30 there's no reason why Swanson can't play well for another few seasons, although I'm only interested in the two years that he's signed with us for.

That's the difference now. Pre-Bosman teams were far less likely to get a (financial) return when signing a player at 30 or above, now ut makes no difference. Very few players are sold so it's only the duration of their contract that's of interest.

Most players peak at 28-30.

21-04-2017, 09:54 AM

8 of those goals were from the penalty spot. Questioning whether someone will be a good signing is part of football, it's not whinging.

21-04-2017, 10:01 AM
My only concern with Swanson is his age. It's not a problem if he's the only 30 year old we sign but if there are others then I think it's the wrong direction. Will have to wait and see.
Swanson on his own is a decent player though and is an improvement on what we have in that position.

21-04-2017, 10:04 AM
My only concern with Swanson is his age. It's not a problem if he's the only 30 year old we sign but if there are others then I think it's the wrong direction. Will have to wait and see.
Swanson on his own is a decent player though and is an improvement on what we have in that position.

He's 30 not 40. He's signing a 2 year deal which ends when he's 32. Hardly ancient.

JDHibs
21-04-2017, 10:09 AM
For being doubting him because of his age...

Our player of the year D.McGregor is 31.

For people saying hes been injury prone in the past...

Our player of the year D.McGregor had to serious knee injuries earlier in his career, hes made 40 apps so far this season and made 44 last season.

Dannys played 30 games in 14/15, 23 games at hearts where he was on the bench mostly and 34 games this season for St Js. Hes missed 4 league games in the league this season due to injury...

21-04-2017, 10:11 AM
He's 30 not 40. He's signing a 2 year deal which ends when he's 32. Hardly ancient.

I agree he should be fine, I just don't want us signing too many. After 30 players start to pick up more injuries and take longer to recover. They also lose a bit of sharpness and pace.

21-04-2017, 10:14 AM
Now heard DS had a further meeting with Hibs this morning and has indeed now signed. Lennon again realising the key areas of the side that need strengthened. Creativeness and goalscorers.

GoalsMcGinley
21-04-2017, 10:15 AM
Now heard DS had a further meeting with Hibs this morning and has indeed now signed. Lennon again realising the key areas of the side that need strengthened. Creativeness and goalscorers.

As I originally posted yesterday [emoji23]

21-04-2017, 10:19 AM
As I originally posted yesterday [emoji23]

That was all well and good if the contract had been signed yesterday.

GoalsMcGinley
21-04-2017, 10:19 AM
That was all well and good if the contract had been signed yesterday.

Dotting the I's and crossing the T's. the deal was done yesterday afternoon.

21-04-2017, 10:34 AM
Can't believe anyone would raise concerns about us signing a guy aged 30, plenty left in him. Football is a different game these days, if players keep themselves in peak condition then it's a much longer career than it ever was. Cristiano Ronaldo is 32, and has still scored 40 goals this season.

Happy with this signing, is definitely a player on his day - there are no guarantees, but if Lennon wants him and a team that regularly finishes top four in Scotland wanted to retain him, that's good enough for me.

21-04-2017, 10:48 AM
For being doubting him because of his age...

Our player of the year D.McGregor is 31.

For people saying hes been injury prone in the past...

Our player of the year D.McGregor had to serious knee injuries earlier in his career, hes made 40 apps so far this season and made 44 last season.

Dannys played 30 games in 14/15, 23 games at hearts where he was on the bench mostly and 34 games this season for St Js. Hes missed 4 league games in the league this season due to injury...

Absolutely JD, 30 is not old for the modern day footballer,Same thing with people writing Wayne Rooney off at 31! As for injuries, unfortunately they happen. Some players get them and recover some don't but he seems to be doing well now. We could sign a player who's never been injured in their career and they could do their cruciate in the first game. It's an unfortunate gamble clubs make based on the information they have. I'm sure a thorough medical will be required.

21-04-2017, 11:47 AM
8 of those goals were from the penalty spot. Questioning whether someone will be a good signing is part of football, it's not whinging.

A goal is a goal. Taking penalties is a skill. I've also seen him bang in whipped free kicks from 25 yards and beat players with outrageous skill. Swanson also plays in a position we all know we're weak in, attacking mid out wide or in the hole.

21-04-2017, 11:54 AM
If we'd had Swanson in August, we'd have had the league wrapped up by Feb.

21-04-2017, 12:34 PM
EEN reporting that it's a done deal.

I think it's a great signing. Watched them a couple of times this season and he has been their most creative player. Most of their fans have him down as a cert for their PoTY going by Twitter. Scored a good few goals and assisted a number of times in a better league. He is also only 30, it's baffling to see some reference his age as a problem.

Welcome aboard, Danny.

21-04-2017, 12:43 PM
Swanson in, Who's out ?

21-04-2017, 12:46 PM
Swanson in, Who's out ?Well for a start shinnie will be

21-04-2017, 12:47 PM
Well for a start shinnie will be

Hope not. I really like Shinnie.

21-04-2017, 12:48 PM
is there no concern about his discipline?

21-04-2017, 12:49 PM
Hope not. I really like Shinnie.His loan deal is up, so would all depend on a number of factors if he were to stay. Swanson is a similar player and plays in the same position(s)

21-04-2017, 12:50 PM

He's only on loan so unless that's extended he'll be gone. He hasn't made the kind of impact I'd hoped for remembering him from his Inverness days.

21-04-2017, 12:52 PM
Swanson in, Who's out ?

Lennon wants a bigger squad, think we'll need another few in before we necessarily need to let anyone go. Exciting times though, having been linked with Boyce and Swanson - two of the top performers in the SPFL this Season - and already signing one of them.

A club really on the up, regardless of what happens this weekend.

JDHibs
21-04-2017, 12:53 PM

Would hope not after 1 incident, well 1 that i know of..

Would ill discipline issues stop you from wanting Griffiths to come back?

21-04-2017, 12:53 PM

Shinnie has a year left at Birmingham and will likely be on around 4x what he'd be getting at Hibs.

21-04-2017, 01:10 PM
Most important thing for me is that this signing suggests Lennon plans to stay with us next season.

21-04-2017, 01:11 PM
Lenny's just the man to address any disciplinary issues 😜

Stewboy
21-04-2017, 01:20 PM
Having a good season for a team sitting comfortably 4th in the top league.

No brainer for me

21-04-2017, 01:23 PM
Shinnie has a year left at Birmingham and will likely be on around 4x what he'd be getting at Hibs.

Even with Brum likely to go down?

21-04-2017, 01:26 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/done-deal-danny-swanson-agrees-pre-contract-with-hibs-1-4424992

Done deal according to EEN.

With regards to Shinnie, he would jump at the chance of coming to us if offered a deal.

21-04-2017, 01:34 PM
Just realised i made a mistake, its 35 goals in 7 games. :thumbsup:

It's encouraging we are recruiting and building at such an early stage.

21-04-2017, 01:42 PM
Even with Brum likely to go down?

He has a contract whether they go down or not, if they want him off the books, it'll cost them.

21-04-2017, 01:47 PM

What discipline problem? his team mate says something and throws a punch at him and he retaliates, club dealt with it and the SFA didn't feel it necessary to get involved, he and his team mate came back into the team when their bans were up.

21-04-2017, 01:50 PM
Most important thing for me is that this signing suggests Lennon plans to stay with us next season.

Was this ever in doubt?

21-04-2017, 02:32 PM
This is very similar to paul hartley signing for hearts after hibs let him go

21-04-2017, 02:35 PM
He has a contract whether they go down or not, if they want him off the books, it'll cost them.

Not necessarily - if he is happy to leave to go and play football then they can agree to let him go.

21-04-2017, 02:48 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/done-deal-danny-swanson-agrees-pre-contract-with-hibs-1-4424992

With regards to Shinnie, he would jump at the chance of coming to us if offered a deal.

Hope he gets a deal got better as season progressed

21-04-2017, 03:56 PM
Not necessarily - if he is happy to leave to go and play football then they can agree to let him go.

I'm sure he would but let's say he's on £8k a week. We he drop £5-6k a week?

That's between £250k - £300k he'd be writing off.

21-04-2017, 03:58 PM

He'd reach a settlement with Birmingham to cover the difference.

21-04-2017, 04:06 PM

He might yes, people seem to obsessed on here with pay offs - just being allowed to exit the contract early to go and play football somewhere else is often enough for some without having to be paid the difference.

21-04-2017, 04:16 PM

He might yes, people seem to obsessed on here with pay offs - just being allowed to exit the contract early to go and play football somewhere else is often enough for some without having to be paid the difference.

Yes he could do that but I'm sure if he has a year to go on a £6K pw contract he'll be looking for a pay off from Birmingham, that's assuming they want him to leave, a new manager might come in and fancy him especially as they might be in Div 1 next season.

21-04-2017, 05:30 PM
And pitor the pole he scores a goal

21-04-2017, 05:33 PM

Wouldn't surprise me if Shinnie told us to bolt after the dogs abuse he was getting from fans. Remember him getting booed on as a sub. He was always a good player and is proving it now.

21-04-2017, 05:57 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if Shinnie told us to bolt after the dogs abuse he was getting from fans. Remember him getting booed on as a sub. He was always a good player and is proving it now.
He's had plenty abuse on here but Ive never heard anyone boo him at a match at all tbh

21-04-2017, 06:46 PM

It's short career. He'd be mental to walk away from that. It'd take him 2-3 yrs to earn that amount. If he sits tight, he'll likely get a heavily subsidised loan move or a pay off. He's not going to rip it up at the start of June.

21-04-2017, 06:49 PM
Lenny's just the man to address any disciplinary issues 😜

Aye, his own! 😂😂

21-04-2017, 08:25 PM
Picture of him on Facebook kissing a hearts badge 🤢

murray26
21-04-2017, 08:42 PM
Seen that.. very classy..

21-04-2017, 08:44 PM

Doesn't bother me in the slightest.

Leith1979
21-04-2017, 08:53 PM
We are apparently interested in resigning David Wotherspoon from St Johnstone as well. Just signed a new contract but not getting regular first team football and Hibs are keen to take him back here.

StevieCowan
21-04-2017, 08:54 PM

I assume you read comments below saying it was to wind someone up that he knew?

StevieCowan
21-04-2017, 08:54 PM
We are apparently interested in resigning David Wotherspoon from St Johnstone as well. Just signed a new contract but not getting regular first team football and Hibs are keen to take him back here.

I'll crack the jokes.

21-04-2017, 08:59 PM

Not sure how I feel about that. Great player on his day but had a lot of shockers for Hibs.

Having said that, one time when there was a good buzz about the club at the start of the 2012/13 season and we were top of the league in November, he was really good almost every week

Maybe now that there's actually a really great atmosphere at Hibs he'd do better

21-04-2017, 09:01 PM

Someone's pulling yer plonker. :greengrin

21-04-2017, 09:03 PM

Please naw. Unless he's improved significantly.

Leith1979
21-04-2017, 09:04 PM
Someone's pulling yer plonker. :greengrin

Not at all mate. There is interest from Hibs and St Johnstone are willing to come to a compromise. Think in a confident buzzing Hibs team he would be a great asset!

21-04-2017, 09:09 PM
I wasn't that keen signing him but the fact everyone that's Hearts seems bitter about him signing for us has swayed me. Apparently never tried a leg for them and his heart wasn't in it but they're almost unanimously agreed that he's a talent.

Hopefully he's rinsed every penny he earned from them on hookers and bottles of Tattinger and he scores a worldie against them the day we unfurl the league flag

21-04-2017, 09:31 PM
Not at all mate. There is interest from Hibs and St Johnstone are willing to come to a compromise. Think in a confident buzzing Hibs team he would be a great asset!

Not a chance this will happen

21-04-2017, 09:37 PM
Not exactly a signing to get the pulse racing, but has decent enough pedigree to be worth giving a chance, and good to see the planning for 2017/18 starting now.

21-04-2017, 09:42 PM
I assume you read comments below saying it was to wind someone up that he knew?

No my workmate who is a Utd fan showed me it. Hell I lost a best of three at FIFA with my mate and had to do the same.

Have a feeling this will be like when arsenal fans keep posting that photo of harry Kane in an arsenal top.

madbadlad
21-04-2017, 10:14 PM
Have a look at his Wiki entry before it gets pulled. Classic! Hats off to the poster!😂

21-04-2017, 10:18 PM
Have a look at his Wiki entry before it gets pulled. Classic! Hats off to the poster!😂

" Puddle drinking neighbours" !!

RamYer1902
21-04-2017, 10:22 PM
Some folk on here just have to make a meal out of everything. He signed for Hearts and tried to get fans on his side. Big deal. IF he signs, he'll be at his boyhood club and definitely one of our own.

21-04-2017, 10:37 PM
Wotherspoon must be one of the most consistent providers of assists in the league. For some reason him and Fenlon just did not get on and his form dipped. The rest of his career is solid though.

Walter
24-04-2017, 08:23 AM
Don't know if I missed something but evening news saying Swansonsagreed a two year deal

**** I now realise this is old news

24-04-2017, 08:45 AM
Wotherspoon must be one of the most consistent providers of assists in the league. For some reason him and Fenlon just did not get on and his form dipped. The rest of his career is solid though.

He has been inconsistent throughout his whole career, you only hear about him once every few months.

He started fine with Fenlon when we had him wide and Cairney the other side but the reason that team started to struggle again was because those two couldn't keep it up as creative players.

I think you are making up the didn't get on comment.

Fenlon certainly seemed to like him well enough from this quote:

"Last year wasn't a great one for him but I hope he comes back refreshed and wants to prove a point. He's shown what he's capable of doing but I feel he just needs to have a little bit more confidence in himself. He is such a good lad and his attitude to training is top class."

24-04-2017, 08:58 AM

Also a picture on FB with Jason Cummings giving it the 5-1. I guess you don't celebrate when he scores

24-04-2017, 09:04 AM
There's a great wee montage of "why we love Scottish football" on possibly Paddypower as they promoted the weekend's semi-finals.

There are some horrific clips of football but there's also a clip entitled "the fans respect the players" where a Rangers top clad Darren McGregor gets an earful from an irate Hibby. It can't have been long before he became Hibs POTY Scottish Cup medal winner playing for his boyhood heroes.

My point is, Swanson's allowed a wee aberration along the way before getting it right. It happens.

24-04-2017, 09:58 AM
There's a great wee montage of "why we love Scottish football" on possibly Paddypower as they promoted the weekend's semi-finals.

There are some horrific clips of football but there's also a clip entitled "the fans respect the players" where a Rangers top clad Darren McGregor gets an earful from an irate Hibby. It can't have been long before he became Hibs POTY Scottish Cup medal winner playing for his boyhood heroes.

My point is, Swanson's allowed a wee aberration along the way before getting it right. It happens.

That is a great example.

It is what our players do in a hibs shirt that counts.

Like MacGregor we might find that the hibs shirt fits Swanson more than any he has worn previously. It may similarly bring out the best in him.