View Full Version : Hospital car park - pain killer

06-04-2017, 07:05 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-39516085

'"We have fed this back to our private sector partners and have agreed that charges will remain at the current level for this financial year."
That's remain at £7 a day, not the rise to £15 a day that they really wanted. Such nice people these Private Sector Partners, aren't they.

06-04-2017, 08:39 PM
its crazy that we have to pay this, i work for the nhs and was offered a job at the ERI and knocked it back due to the parking issue, could go to the park and ride which is still another cost or walk 10 minutes from a housing estate but its a hassle i could do without

ColinNish
06-04-2017, 08:44 PM
its crazy that we have to pay this, i work for the nhs and was offered a job at the ERI and knocked it back due to the parking issue, could go to the park and ride which is still another cost or walk 10 minutes from a housing estate but its a hassle i could do without

A 10 minute walk is a hassle? Jeezo!

06-04-2017, 08:45 PM

Keep you healthy!

ColinNish
06-04-2017, 08:48 PM
Keep you healthy!

Kinda what i was thinking. I have a 15-20 minute walk to and from work/train station. No option!

06-04-2017, 08:51 PM
Kinda what i was thinking. I have a 15-20 minute walk to and from work/train station. No option!

I can take two tubes or have a 20 minute walk and one tube. I walk. Also take the stairs instead of the escaltor if the option exists. But, hey, I don't work in health!

07-04-2017, 05:19 AM

when i have a 50 minute drive in the morning then trying to find a space to park then walk to work yes its a hassle i could do without when i park about 30 seconds from my work place just now

07-04-2017, 05:22 AM
I can take two tubes or have a 20 minute walk and one tube. I walk. Also take the stairs instead of the escaltor if the option exists. But, hey, I don't work in health!

good for you, i also have a 50 minute drive in the morning so yes can do without the hassle of trying to find a space before then walking to work, us nhs workers arent paid that well remember, as you stated earlier! so cant afford another £35 per week on top of the cost of fuel

beensaidbefore
07-04-2017, 12:11 PM
Imagine having to commute for 50minutes and find a parking space. To then expect someone to do a ten minute walk is simply unacceptable....

beensaidbefore
07-04-2017, 12:12 PM
good for you, i also have a 50 minute drive in the morning so yes can do without the hassle of trying to find a space before then walking to work, us nhs workers arent paid that well remember, as you stated earlier! so cant afford another £35 per week on top of the cost of fuel

Get a bus pass?

ColinNish
07-04-2017, 12:37 PM
when i have a 50 minute drive in the morning then trying to find a space to park then walk to work yes its a hassle i could do without when i park about 30 seconds from my work place just now

Is this a 'how far do I have to travel to work' argument? I'll trump you nae bother. 40 minute drive to train station car park, 5 minute walk to train station, 30 minute train journey, 15 minute walk to work. :greengrin

I'd love to drive 50 mins and a leisurely 10 minute walk into work. Sounds bliss!

07-04-2017, 12:50 PM
Is this a 'how far do I have to travel to work' argument? I'll trump you nae bother. 40 minute drive to train station car park, 5 minute walk to train station, 30 minute train journey, 15 minute walk to work. :greengrin

I'd love to drive 50 mins and a leisurely 10 minute walk into work. Sounds bliss!

nope not at all, i was replying to your comment regarding the walk i mentioned so not sure what your problem is

07-04-2017, 12:51 PM
Get a bus pass?

kind of going off track to the original point but not really possible to get a bus pass

07-04-2017, 12:59 PM

Couldn't be ersed with that journey to work. You need to find a job closer mate.

07-04-2017, 01:01 PM
Mixed feelings on this one.

On the one hand it feels unfair to charge a lot to low paid staff.

On the other. It is land owned by a private company and they deserve something for their efforts. Does that then mean the nhs should foot the bill? Clearly lots of other employers don't so I'm not convinced.

I do think it should be covered for patients and staff working unsociable hours.

07-04-2017, 01:03 PM
I feel sorry for folk with long term visiting, costs them a fortune.

07-04-2017, 02:12 PM
Parking is good earner. At about £7 a day the value of the space is about £24k. They only cost £10k to build at multi-storey.

07-04-2017, 03:33 PM
I feel sorry for folk with long term visiting, costs them a fortune.

Exactly. Who cares about money & profit when their nearest and dearest is ill or dying?
Unfortunately there are ambulance-chasers out there who like to do that for you.

beensaidbefore
07-04-2017, 06:19 PM
Parking is good earner. At about £7 a day the value of the space is about £24k. They only cost £10k to build at multi-storey.

I am surprised it costs as little as 10k to build a multi-storey.

07-04-2017, 07:26 PM

Per space?

07-04-2017, 07:28 PM
Per space?

most multi storey car parks cost approx £8k per space

ColinNish
07-04-2017, 09:16 PM
Couldn't be ersed with that journey to work. You need to find a job closer mate.

No thanks, i enjoy living in the country. And the commute doesn't bother me, can be nice and relaxing as long as it doesn't snow. :greengrin

07-04-2017, 10:32 PM
most multi storey car parks cost approx £8k per space

You've got to add fees and s278. Land cost isn't included.

07-04-2017, 10:33 PM

Not much to them really.

08-04-2017, 07:06 AM
You've got to add fees and s278. Land cost isn't included.

aye so its going to cost more than £10k to build a multi storey

08-04-2017, 07:14 AM

Think he means £10k per space.

08-04-2017, 07:26 AM
Think he means £10k per space.

probably although this was what i had said, you cant really put a definite number on how much it cost, i know of one that cost £8.2 million but other quotes were almost £2m more

08-04-2017, 01:16 PM

£10k per space.

stuart-farquhar
08-04-2017, 02:16 PM
It's funny this commuting lark. I only work maximum of 3 days for a few hours. I leave home and travel 16 km (motor bike) up and over a mountain with stunning views of the med and some days the distant African shoreline and mountains. Only traffic jam the occasional goat herd crossing the road. A coffee on thethe other side before doing my wee bit then back. And sometimes I moan about it! In fact just about to head back down now.

09-04-2017, 04:01 PM
It's funny this commuting lark. I only work maximum of 3 days for a few hours. I leave home and travel 16 km (motor bike) up and over a mountain with stunning views of the med and some days the distant African shoreline and mountains. Only traffic jam the occasional goat herd crossing the road. A coffee on thethe other side before doing my wee bit then back. And sometimes I moan about it! In fact just about to head back down now.
What do you do?!! Where can I apply?!! :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

09-04-2017, 06:26 PM
What do you do?!! Where can I apply?!! :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Special 'import export' by the sounds of it [emoji23]

09-04-2017, 06:40 PM
Special 'import export' by the sounds of it [emoji23]

stuart-farquhar
10-04-2017, 07:51 PM

Ha Ha. Nothing so fragrant and relaxing I'm afraid!

But if you need a pool cleaned!

11-04-2017, 12:54 PM
Ha Ha. Nothing so fragrant and relaxing I'm afraid!

But if you need a pool cleaned!

My gene pool maybe :greengrin

Stick
14-04-2017, 03:03 PM
I don't live in Edinburgh, but parked at ERI a couple of times to visit friends, cost me a fortune.
Seem to remember that there was a lot of vacant land beside the hospital. Couldn't the council build
Parking there, for the staff, at a realistic cost? They possibly already own the land. They certainly owe it to the staff and patients after agreeing to such a terrible pfi contract, (I realise it was probably a previous administration).
Is there not already a park and ride facility that could be used?

15-04-2017, 08:05 PM
I work at the RIE. My commute takes 17 mins on a bad day, and I can park for free. The only thing I have to worry about is the pikey crew from Niddre that float about the hospital grounds trying to steal motorbikes.

17-04-2017, 08:21 AM
Why do they charge staff?

ColinNish
17-04-2017, 09:56 AM
Why do they charge staff?

Private car park. They can do what they want