View Full Version : Pray For Cathro (The Ian Cathro Laffathon - Merged Threads)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

01-08-2017, 08:47 AM
Disappointed.

Robinho08
Disappointing. 😔

Sioux
Cue those trumpets telling all and sundry they're the third best team in the world again!

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
Shame, he was probably my favourite ever Hearts manager.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2017, 08:48 AM
:aok: Barry news from Barry.

Finger on the pulse as always eh!!!

Hibbycol
01-08-2017, 08:49 AM
Sacked it says on sky sports

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

It was Medals`intervention that tipped the scales. He's like a Jambo Thomas Cromwell.

:boo hoo:

01-08-2017, 08:50 AM
Nice to see Barry being as accurate as ever with his stories 😂
Sad day for comedy in Edinburgh though 😢

01-08-2017, 08:50 AM
Also on EEN

01-08-2017, 08:51 AM
Sacking their manager days before the league season starts :greengrin

Whoever comes in is on a hiding to nothing for the first few games.

FFS:grr::brickwall

But Levein stays!

Fun while it lasted, but until Potter goes they will have the same issues no matter who comes in.

Shame as he was absolutely out of his depth but the circus should continue as Potter is hardly blame free in this enjoyable mess. Another expensive exercise on his watch.

01-08-2017, 08:52 AM
Cathro will be gone sooner or later, looks like they just got a wee cash injection to pay him off,

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/40783414

and they sold him to my local club,

looks like were going down this year then.

WOW Phil. You may have been right, are you secretly one of the ITK guys?

01-08-2017, 08:53 AM
Told you this on Sunday 😜, ahhh the doubters 😉

Tha Cabbage Kid
That's a shame, I thought he was doing a good job :)

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

Hibeewilly
Disaster for us

hibbydog
01-08-2017, 08:55 AM
Nnnnnnnoooooooooooo

01-08-2017, 08:55 AM
Disaster for us

They're still pish

DarrenSQH
01-08-2017, 08:56 AM
Waiting on some ridiculous names to come out as the replacement.....

What price. Sergeant major Jumbo Jeffrey's getting parachuted in from City?

Fun whilst it lasted:greengrin

Sioux
Interesting that "Craig Levein, Hearts’ Director of Football, has confirmed that Head Coach Ian Cathro, will leave..............."

Its not Budgie's statement. CL staying which means they've only solved half the problem.

Disaster for us

Not really, the catalyst for failure is still running the ship.

Stop all the clocks...

HibeesLittleHel
Removed from office we believe

01-08-2017, 08:57 AM
http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--SMRgorE9--/771284821130391473.jpg

I think he'd do a job with our development team - we should offer him a coaching role now, while his self esteem is low.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

Platinum Scotty
and still Levein stays, and given he was obviously the puppet master, fingers crossed that they continue in the manner they have been during 2017!!!

01-08-2017, 08:58 AM
Fun while it lasted, but until Potter goes they will have the same issues no matter who comes in.Just been arguing the same with a Jambo at work but they can't see it. It's like when Petrie was our chief exec and we went thru managers every 18 months...the main issue is still there imo

01-08-2017, 08:58 AM
Hope he has a press interview. Now, that will be fun.

01-08-2017, 09:00 AM
Would be hilarious if they bring in Houston.

Was always going to happen unfortunately, I just hoped he would ride it out a little longer to give us a head start.

It's if they get the replacement wrong that the bother really starts.

He'll just be replaced with another cheap inexperienced experiment.

01-08-2017, 09:01 AM

They will. Beating Hibs is all that matters and Houston's of the same mindset. I've been saying it for months now.

01-08-2017, 09:03 AM
Jon Daly

01-08-2017, 09:03 AM
Was always going to happen unfortunately, I just hoped he would ride it out a little longer to give us a head start.

It's if they get the replacement wrong that the bother really starts.

kitty will pretty much be empty for players and compensation for a new manager, troubles are just starting

01-08-2017, 09:04 AM
They will. Beating Hibs is all that matters and Houston's of the same mindset. I've been saying it for months now.

Houston is limited and would be delighted if he gets the job.

01-08-2017, 09:04 AM
Gutted😣

01-08-2017, 09:05 AM
Paul Hartley will come in IMO.

Gets hearts knocked out of 2 cups in 8 months, then walks away with a £300k (according to rumours) pay off :greengrin

Hopefully Cathro took a decent pay off - more money down the drain

Paul Hartley? More likely Houston though.

Disaster for us

How is this a disaster for us? :yw:

Mango Man
01-08-2017, 09:06 AM

I can totally see Houston doing a job for them, he's had a good few results against us and knows the club already, hope they don't go for him.

01-08-2017, 09:07 AM
Whole Cathro episode reflects really badly on hearts and how they have treated him. Shameful.

01-08-2017, 09:07 AM
Hartley or Houston doesn't matter, Lennon will pump them silly.

01-08-2017, 09:08 AM
Paul Hartley will come in IMO.

Doesn't like Levein - though he recently turned down a Celtic Academy role.

Hibbycol
They will appoint gary mackay to steady their sinking rat infested ship ,then when he has steadied their ship they will chuck him for st Johnstone manager Tommy Wright. That's what I think .

" I would take: Archibald, Houston, Wright, Macphee, O Neil
I wouldn't take: Hartley, Pressley, Lock"

01-08-2017, 09:09 AM
Maybe they'll appoint Berra player/manager.

I cannot see that any coach/manager with experience/belief in his own abilities will want to work with Specky.
Only the desperate or pals in the game (if he has any) will work alongside this guy.
Some jambos want Michael O'Neil, adding that Michael "hates the Hibs" !
Cue calls for John Collins and Alan Stubbs!!

Whatever happens ..They're gonnae need a bigger coo!

Jon Daly

I'd suspect so. If CL is still there then they still believe in their model.

Their statement doesn't mention looking for a new manager, just that plans will be announced tomorrow.

Daly is never far from CL these days.

They will appoint gary mackay to steady their sinking rat infested ship ,then when he has steadied their ship they will chuck him for st Johnstone manager Tommy Wright. That's what I think .

its a bit early to be drinking is it not?? :greengrin

01-08-2017, 09:10 AM
I can totally see Houston doing a job for them, he's had a good few results against us and knows the club already, hope they don't go for him.

He's a muppet and while he made it hard to play against us - we often found a way. Ask Falkirk fans and they aren't convinced about him.

01-08-2017, 09:11 AM
Sense of the inevitable about it. So long as Levein stays, he's the real problem.

01-08-2017, 09:13 AM
Has he said I'm incredibly relaxed about being sacked yet :greengrin

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk Falkirk fan at works is under the impression Houston is retiring at the end of the season.

As for Wright, did he not turn down the chance to move to ranger, or at least, said he had no interest when his name was being branded about? If he didnt want a move to them I dont see him moving to hearts tbh.

Locke, McPhee and/or Jon Daly will be the team in the dugout is my guess. (McPhee as manager and Daly number 2) or (Locke first team coach and McPhee stays)

Announcement tomorrow. Must already have someone lined up.... like Locke. :greengrin

01-08-2017, 09:14 AM
Hearts are now well and truly in the cycle that we were in before dempster came.. The issue with them goes much further than the 1st team coach. Nobody of a decent pedigree will want to become a puppet for Levein. They are *****ing money left , right , and centre paying of poor players and managers. They will appoint another puppet and he will have limited control over 1st team affairs , just like Cathro.

Its pleasing to say that Hearts really are in a spot of bother now

Hibbycol
01-08-2017, 09:14 AM
its a bit early to be drinking is it not?? :greengrinThat's my opinion and gave up drinking a long time ago [emoji3]

01-08-2017, 09:15 AM
And the worse it gets , the less money comes in from the supporters ..

dunedinhibs
01-08-2017, 09:16 AM
Terry Butcher

They've only solved one of the many problems at Hearts just now. Their minging, unbalanced squad is the biggest issue. Craig Levein still being there is another major problem. Appoint someone like Gary Coc* or Jon Daly and they aren't going to get any better anytime soon.

Time For Heroes
If you take away the goal posts, the results and the ****ty players he has brought in, he has been better than any manager in the league 😂😂😂

01-08-2017, 09:17 AM
Gutted. Thanks for the memories Ian.

:fuming:

Nooooo!!!

He's gone http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6097

Sounds like Budge is fuming.

Levein being made responsible for need to sack 'extremely talented young coach'.

01-08-2017, 09:18 AM
Sense of the inevitable about it. So long as Levein stays, he's the real problem.

Tbf, Levein wasn't the problem when they skooshed the Championship and went third in the Premiership.

Hibby soldier
01-08-2017, 09:19 AM
The Board wishes it to be known that this was a very difficult decision, reluctantly made, as every member of the Board recognises that Ian is an extremely talented young coach with a very bright future ahead of him. "We thank Ian for all of his efforts and wish him well in the future".

Read more at: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-sack-head-coach-ian-cathro-1-4518781

01-08-2017, 09:20 AM
Managers get sacked all the time. Let's not make it out to be any more grand than that.

JK Rolling
01-08-2017, 09:21 AM
It'll be interesting to see who they get next but I'm not sure who would actually want the job under the current regime.

Some obvious currently unemployed options.

Think they will promote Caveman McPhee on a "temporary" basis. If he does well they will keep on him , if he does ***** as is probably likely they will bring in an external appointment.

Green&White
If theyve been scrambling for the money to finish the 'Big windae' stand and have now had to pay off cathro (rumours suggest 300k) wont that set them back big time with gathering said funds for the 'we dae chips' stand?

West lower
01-08-2017, 09:22 AM
Announcement tomorrow. Must already have someone lined up.... like Locke. :greengrin

If there is an announcement tomorrow, and it is the replacement being confirmed, then I would imagine it will be an "inside man" , as another club would take time to deal with. Compensation etc. So, same as 😂

It's a sad day for Scottish football when a talented young coach isn't given adequate time to take his plans to fruition.

Daly or Hartley I think.

PapillonVert
and still Levein stays, and given he was obviously the puppet master, fingers crossed that they continue in the manner they have been during 2017!!!

Indeed.

Although, with the situation regarding Levein's role at HMFC being common knowledge in the game, you have to wonder who would be daft enough and/or desperate enough to accept the job.

Must be some kind of record though - launching the Manager before a league ball has been kicked.

01-08-2017, 09:23 AM
Coincidence... Jeffries has just left his post at Edinburgh City

Tobias Funke
Disaster for us

Hardly a disaster

Has his creepy, tramp looking assistant McPhee gone with him?

01-08-2017, 09:24 AM
Apparently, Ian had to be removed from Riccarton by two hefty security guys.
He was kicking,screaming and shouting for Queen Ann to rescue him.
It wisnae ma fault,your highness!
It was that Specky clown that caused all this!

The security guys threw him in a cab and said "High Riggs, driver"!

They will get some good applicants. Levein being there won't put people off.

Auckland Hibs
Daly or Hartley I think.

I hope it's that Rat Faced **** Hartley - my hate for him needs to go up another notch.

PapillonVert
If theyve been scrambling for the money to finish the 'Big windae' stand and have now had to pay off cathro (rumours suggest 300k) wont that set them back big time with gathering said funds for the 'we dae chips' stand?

Nonsense.

Nothing a few bake sales and face painting gigs can't sort. :greengrin

01-08-2017, 09:25 AM
That's my opinion and gave up drinking a long time ago [emoji3]

I thin Mackay and Levein hate each other, and Mackay has been an outspoken critic of the regime ..don't think there is any chance of that...

01-08-2017, 09:25 AM
There's no point pretending the job wouldn't appeal to some decent managers. Like it or not they're a draw, at least within the context of Scottish football (tin hat firmly on). But whoever they get in will still have to work within the new financial realities at the PBS and still have CL as DoF above them. Also I'm not sure how much power CL has over player recruitment etc as I haven't been paying that much attention but Scottish\British managers will still want to work in a system where they get the final say. As others have said, as long as CL is hanging about they'll still have a problem.

West lower
01-08-2017, 09:26 AM
It's a sad day for Scottish football when a talented young coach isn't given adequate time to take his plans to fruition.

If our manager had 2 transfer windows, and had brought in 18 players, and made us play like hertz, would you give him more money and time ?

01-08-2017, 09:26 AM
This is all Levein's fault.

He is a total clown.

01-08-2017, 09:27 AM
Wonder how much it cost Hearts to sack him

If our manager had 2 transfer windows, and had brought in 18 players, and made us play like hertz, would you give him more money and time ?Think his post was tongue in cheek mate :aok:

franks
Utter disgrace, the guy was only in post just over 6 months and needed much longer to turn them into genuine champions league contenders. They should have given him at least another 18 months to turn things around ( possibly longer).

01-08-2017, 09:28 AM
Think they will promote Caveman McPhee on a "temporary" basis. If he does well they will keep on him , if he does ***** as is probably likely they will bring in an external appointment.

Never understood giving the assistant the job when you sack a manager. If the previous regime wasn't working then they would very much have been part of that so I never understand why anyone thinks they'd improve things unless the suggestion is they weren't bothering when they knew it wasn't their head on the block. Granted thee will be some exceptions to the rule but I'm not sure this is one of them as Cathro and McPhee seemed to work quite closely together.

01-08-2017, 09:29 AM
If our manager had 2 transfer windows, and had brought in 18 players, and made us play like hertz, would you give him more money and time ?

No, but it's Hearts we're talking about here.

01-08-2017, 09:30 AM
Just shows that they're a club totally devoid of a sense of humor.

They should be ashamed of themselves, but as we know, they never are.

Wonder who will just happen to be hanging around the club shop today ...

01-08-2017, 09:30 AM
Coincidence... Jeffries has just left his post at Edinburgh City

Jeffries and Brown:greengrin

01-08-2017, 09:31 AM
Non-story.

If you take away the P45, Cathro's still the manager.

01-08-2017, 09:32 AM
There's no point pretending the job wouldn't appeal to some decent managers. Like it or not they're a draw, at least within the context of Scottish football (tin hat firmly on). But whoever they get in will still have to work within the new financial realities at the PBS and still have CL as DoF above them. Also I'm not sure how much power CL has over player recruitment etc as I haven't been paying that much attention but Scottish\British managers will still want to work in a system where they get the final say. As others have said, as long as CL is hanging about they'll still have a problem.

They will also have no pre-season and presumably no more budget to work with. Would put candidates off for sure. :agree:

01-08-2017, 09:36 AM
I would just like to place on record how grateful I am to Ian Cathro, what a guy.

Best Hibs manager we've never had.

01-08-2017, 09:37 AM
Non-story.

We have a winner. That is :top marks Mr Radge.

01-08-2017, 09:39 AM
Tommy Wright must be favorite but whether he or any other manager wants to work for Harry Potter remains to be seen

01-08-2017, 09:39 AM
Non-story.

18Hibee75
01-08-2017, 09:42 AM
After the very disappointing news of Cathro being sacked, who's favourite for new jobs then? I'll start... Terry butcher?

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

01-08-2017, 09:43 AM
Tommy Wright must be favorite but whether he or any other manager wants to work for Harry Potter remains to be seen

I'm sure the salary uplift will lighten that burden for him....would be a top notch appointment imho

01-08-2017, 09:44 AM
Houston or Hartley

Big L
01-08-2017, 09:45 AM

They will just put him on gardening leave, pay his wages! I don't see them getting Michael O'Neil, apparently they would need to pay NI FC £500K to release him.

King Dominique
01-08-2017, 09:46 AM
I reckon it will be Houston or Hartley.

They define their season on performances against us which leads me to believe they will appoint Houston who has had relative success against us in previous seasons.

Regardless of who they appoint. The Yams are up shi** creek without a paddle

biotech
Will HMFC now abandon its management model - young fall guy
working for a mad dictator?

Green forever
Colin Calderwood

Eaststandee
01-08-2017, 09:47 AM
Billy "I've been places" Brown

Sent from my SM-J500FN using Tapatalk

Arch Stanton
01-08-2017, 09:47 AM
Tbf, Levein wasn't the problem when they skooshed the Championship and went third in the Premiership.

True - but punting RN wasn't their best move though.

And tbf, RP hiring Mowbray didn't give him the golden touch, did it?

01-08-2017, 09:48 AM

True!

01-08-2017, 09:50 AM

I don't think he was being particularly serious.

01-08-2017, 09:52 AM
Non-story.

01-08-2017, 09:53 AM

They didnt punt him he left for another club.

Harry Potter

Can Hearts afford to pay compo to Falkirk for Houston? With them having to pay off Cathro and the new stand money will be tight. I reckon its an internal promotion between Locke , McPhee or Daly.

01-08-2017, 09:54 AM
Kyle Lafferty must be crying into his cornflakes. Joined a comedy club.

Just shows that they're a club totally devoid of a sense of humor.

They should be ashamed of themselves, but as we know, they never are.

Wonder who will just happen to be hanging around the club shop today ...

You don't win world wars with a good sense of humour Matty.

They are a very serious and very very very big club don't you know? Famous even.

I sense a meeting of the fan groups coming up, time for the hierarchy to dust down the blazers, an open letter is required.

Never been so distraught since Harry Corbett discarded Sooty :boo hoo:

Hartley surely a certainty

01-08-2017, 09:55 AM
Impossible to tell. There must be a large number of PC World floor staff up for it.

01-08-2017, 09:57 AM

Not sure they'll be able to afford Cathro's pay-off and compensation for a new manager. I suspect they will aim for someone currently not with a club.

Does this mean the magic hat song will go 😂😂😂😂😂

Can Hearts afford to pay compo to Falkirk for Houston? With them having to pay off Cathro and the new stand money will be tight. I reckon its an internal promotion between Locke , McPhee or Daly.

I'd agree with this, very much doubt they will bring someone in they need to pay compo for.

01-08-2017, 09:58 AM
Non-story.

01-08-2017, 09:58 AM

lol very good

Do you think we can start a protest group for his reinstatement?

01-08-2017, 09:59 AM
I'm doubly dissapointed cos #allisbarry said he was staying.

Barry wouldn't lie to us, would he?

01-08-2017, 09:59 AM
It will be Hartley and CL bossing him around. Gets the fans on side too and he is free.

01-08-2017, 10:00 AM
Having a director of football and still having to sack a manager 4 days before the season starts. [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

01-08-2017, 10:00 AM
It's going to be Steven Pressley

01-08-2017, 10:01 AM
Robbo?

01-08-2017, 10:01 AM
It's going to be a Steven Pressley

Just the one? The rest will feel left out.

Firestarter
01-08-2017, 10:02 AM
Fat Scaff Hartley.

01-08-2017, 10:03 AM
😂😂😂

Ryan69
01-08-2017, 10:05 AM
Fat Jumbo probably.

01-08-2017, 10:06 AM
Just the one? The rest will feel left out.

No Pressleys left in Edinburgh , all in hiding, heard Stokesey is on the prowl:greengrin

davym7062
01-08-2017, 10:08 AM
Rolf harris

01-08-2017, 10:08 AM
Gets hearts knocked out of 2 cups in 8 months, then walks away with a £300k (according to rumours) pay off :greengrin

I would do it for a lot less than that..

01-08-2017, 10:09 AM
Bring back Malofeev!

01-08-2017, 10:10 AM
Just caught up with a jamboid pal... he'd go for Michael O'Neill and can see budge opening the purse strings 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 delusional. Can't wait till October.

01-08-2017, 10:11 AM
It will probably be Paul Hartley, they don't have many other options to be honest. If it is not PH then it will be some random unknown or someone that's managed them before.

01-08-2017, 10:12 AM
I thin Mackay and Levein hate each other, and Mackay has been an outspoken critic of the regime ..don't think there is any chance of that...

Staggering collection of football honours beyween the pair of them..

01-08-2017, 10:14 AM
It's going to be Steven Pressley

Hope so

CyberSauzee
01-08-2017, 10:14 AM
Gutted. But Potter's still there to pull the strings so not all doom and gloom.

01-08-2017, 10:15 AM
Never understood giving the assistant the job when you sack a manager. If the previous regime wasn't working then they would very much have been part of that so I never understand why anyone thinks they'd improve things unless the suggestion is they weren't bothering when they knew it wasn't their head on the block. Granted thee will be some exceptions to the rule but I'm not sure this is one of them as Cathro and McPhee seemed to work quite closely together.

Like the charismatic Jocky Scott replacing Alex Miller?

01-08-2017, 10:16 AM
Presley claims he has no desire to come back to Scotland.Hartley will be cheaper but they should be interested in Tommy Wright.

01-08-2017, 10:17 AM
No Pressleys left in Edinburgh , all in hiding, heard Stokesey is on the prowl:greengrin

That made me laugh!!

cam75
01-08-2017, 10:17 AM
Ally mcoist

01-08-2017, 10:18 AM
It will be someone out of work. They will be having to pay compo to get rid of Cathy and Nanny so can't see them spending to get another manager. Pressley or Hartley for me.

Bam
01-08-2017, 10:20 AM
I see David Moyes, Ryan Giggs, Avram Grant and Walter Mazzarri have all been suggested on the Kickback thread
😂😂😂

01-08-2017, 10:21 AM
I can see why they'd want to go for Tommy Wright and I can reasonably see why he'd be interested as maybe he's taken St Johnstone as far as he can. But they've just paid off one manager and Wright is contracted for another 2 years in Perth. Can they afford to get him? They'll be looking for someone out of work or someone cheaper to buy out.

Tommy Wright would be the obvious choice if they can afford him. Big "if" though. Who would want to be bossed by Potter is the other question.

Expensive mistake by the Yams which will set them back a season or two in financial terms. There will be a lot of duds signed by Cathro who will now be surplus to requirements but on decent money and any new man will want cash to fill the gaps in their poor quality squad. They will struggle to make top 6 with that lot.

davym7062
01-08-2017, 10:26 AM
Rolf harris

01-08-2017, 10:28 AM
Gary Glitter isn't working at the moment

01-08-2017, 10:30 AM
Jefferies for his third stint.

01-08-2017, 10:35 AM
What if Cathro just left his laptop? Would that suffice?

Greenworld
01-08-2017, 10:37 AM
Stubbs

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Hibbycol
01-08-2017, 10:38 AM
Doesn't matter who they bring in , still Harry potter pulling the strings ,same crappy players cathro brought in. Compo for cathro going (which they can't afford ) and money to lure a new manager in to work with the dregs that has been gifted by the departing lap top loser , so it will be a cheapy cheap option so all good lol

IFONLY
01-08-2017, 10:39 AM

If you seriously think that Wright will get the job you should have a punt on him now he is 25/1 on Bet Victor.....Daly is 4/5 fav.

01-08-2017, 10:41 AM
very sad to hear cathro has been given the budge boot :( ambassador locke must be fav

01-08-2017, 10:41 AM
Hopefully not Hartley. Barring the lead up to his sacking at Dundee he has a decent enough managerial record. He's the type of guy that will get them organised a hard to beat and at least playing for the jersey.

From a Hibs perspective we have a manager and set of players who won't be bullied or intimidated anymore so ****ing bring it ya jambo freaks.

Would love another cheap and risky appointment to help them move rapidly towards the championship

01-08-2017, 10:42 AM
I predict Levein will be ordered back to the dug out. I think he's on the naughty step with Budge and will he told to sort this mess out.

He's been pulling the strings and picking the players anyhow so no real change.

01-08-2017, 10:44 AM
What if Cathro just left his laptop? Would that suffice?

Could I have your attention please? I've just received an email from the anonymous Hearts manger.

And I quote: hoof it up to Lafferty

:hyper

PapillonVert
I see David Moyes, Ryan Giggs, Avram Grant and Walter Mazzarri have all been suggested on the Kickback thread
😂😂😂

Highly unlikely any of them would want to take the gig.

Although don't think any of them would have a problem telling Potter to butt out and Foxtrot Oscar which would be amusing to witness.

They will also have no pre-season and presumably no more budget to work with. Would put candidates off for sure. :agree:

It's not Cathro that brought the players in anyway. That's Craig's job. Cathro was there to coach the players that Levein brought in. Which will be the same basis for the next coach they appoint, if they stick to this model.

01-08-2017, 10:47 AM
Jeffries 😉

01-08-2017, 10:49 AM
I just seen Jeffries entering the club shop......................

Hibbycol
01-08-2017, 10:49 AM
Can't see Hartley in the running, wasn't he part of the riccarton 3 rebels ?

01-08-2017, 10:50 AM
All depends who's hanging around the club shop today.

euro Hibby
01-08-2017, 10:53 AM
nice dig from Michael stewart on twitter at Potter........see evening news..

West lower
01-08-2017, 11:00 AM
I don't think he was being particularly serious.

Yeah, whoosh moment for me 🙄

01-08-2017, 11:10 AM
Gary Mackay assisted by George Foulkes.

Alex Salmond DoF.

Dream team.

01-08-2017, 11:11 AM

It's a damn shame saw Sooty begging in the grassmarket bottle of buckie and a wee carboard sign hungry and homless looking for a hand up

01-08-2017, 11:12 AM
It'll be Houston. Hates Hibs, obsessed with Hibs, plays industrial football. It's been three years, the natives are getting restless.

West lower
01-08-2017, 11:13 AM
My mate has the local under 10's playing some good football. Would fit the Hearts model perfectly. He's got Fifa 17 on his laptop too.

01-08-2017, 11:14 AM
Farewell, my love.

7 Up
01-08-2017, 11:17 AM
Sad!

01-08-2017, 11:18 AM
All the best for the future Ian. You brought me huge pleasure for the last eight months, masterminding a ship heading for the rocks.

There are far bigger problems to deal with over there than your departure. Compensation, new manager, new players, disappearing direct debits, half finished stand behind schedule and over budget. Knocked out the League Cup 55 times in a row, no credit facilities available I could go on.

TICK TOCK

01-08-2017, 11:23 AM

Course they will, he has the pre-requisite for their job - he hates Hibs !

01-08-2017, 11:26 AM
Course they will, he has the pre-requisite for their job - he hates Hibs !

And small bald red faced and very very angry

01-08-2017, 11:27 AM
Hearts claim its business as usual as candidates arrive for interview:

https://themadwomanintheatticdotcom.files.wordpress.com/2015/09/img_4302.jpg

01-08-2017, 11:30 AM
Gary Mackay assisted by George Foulkes.

Alex Salmond DoF.

Dream team.

That would work because Salmond has experience of being in the lower half when it comes to the split :hyper

01-08-2017, 11:32 AM
According to a couple of jambo roasters at work its a toss up between O'neill and Mcinnes :greengrin

01-08-2017, 11:32 AM
Hold on, a few months ago Hearts fans were asked to pay for tactics/coaching seminars with this man, and now they've sacked him? Surely refunds are due if the club are admitting he's not good enough.

01-08-2017, 11:34 AM
When asked do you fancy the Hearts job:

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/iy2dWhVHN3E/hqdefault.jpg

BegbieHSC
01-08-2017, 11:37 AM
I'm calling it for Ally McCoist (Fat Sally)

01-08-2017, 11:37 AM
What I don't get is the continued insistence of Hearts that this guy is a hugely promising coach. Where is the evidence that this has ever been the case? I can only assume they're trying to cover up the fact they made an almighty mistake in appointing him. Quite why Levein gets off so lightly for his part in this shambles is mind boggling.

Hopefully they'll appoint MacPhee as his successor so we can watch the chaos continue.

01-08-2017, 11:39 AM
Actually starting to feel a wee bit sorry for the guy now, someone should have warned him he would be up against the most deluded supporters in Scottish football.

01-08-2017, 11:40 AM
Cathro and his laptop will be kept on the payroll and given the job of spell checking Budge's announcements.

Nevi_SOL
01-08-2017, 11:41 AM
Funny feeling Houston will end up there

01-08-2017, 11:42 AM
Cathro at Wolves as potential assistant manager, apparently.

01-08-2017, 11:42 AM
😂😂😂

The delusion continues I see...*** muppets.

01-08-2017, 11:45 AM
Gary Locke, he'll have known this a a possibility when he quit his manager job to take up an ambassador role.

Nevi_SOL
01-08-2017, 11:46 AM
T***y B*****r

01-08-2017, 11:46 AM
It was fun whilst it lasted.

01-08-2017, 11:47 AM

Makes me laugh he'll walk out of tynecastle and even as assistant go into a bigger job with a bigger team on a bigger salary without so much as giving them a second thought.

Meanwhile Hearts are in turmoil a few days before the season starts.

Brilliant

01-08-2017, 11:49 AM
Imo it'll be Hartley.

01-08-2017, 11:49 AM

I was speaking with a Wolves fan yesterday, says they have Portuguese owners and 8 of their starting 11 are Portuguese.

He will do ok as long as the lap top is bi-lingual.

01-08-2017, 11:51 AM
Mr Blobby is interested, hes already got last seasons away kit, he's mad keen.

01-08-2017, 11:53 AM
Now this is one press interview i cant wait to hear, i wonder how Cathy will spin this one?

01-08-2017, 11:53 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/austin-macphee-jon-daly-and-liam-fox-to-take-interim-charge-of-hearts-1-4519133

McPhee, Daly and Fox to take interim charge. :greengrin Any one of those three clowns would be great appointments going forward.

01-08-2017, 11:56 AM
Guys like Mourinho or Guardiola must surely be in the frame for the Hertz gig. Guys that have managed "big teams".

01-08-2017, 11:57 AM
JR Hartley would make sense

yonder1875
01-08-2017, 11:59 AM
Two Hearts supporting guys in my work genuinely want it to be Stubbsy.

01-08-2017, 12:00 PM
I was speaking with a Wolves fan yesterday, says they have Portuguese owners and 8 of their starting 11 are Portuguese.

If they don't speak any English they've got a better chance of understanding him than those that do.

01-08-2017, 12:05 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/austin-macphee-jon-daly-and-liam-fox-to-take-interim-charge-of-hearts-1-4519133

McPhee, Daly and Fox to take interim charge. :greengrin Any one of those three clowns would be great appointments going forward.
Aye, the 3 wise monkeys. Hear no evil, see no evil & speak no evil.

01-08-2017, 12:07 PM
Now this is one press interview i cant wait to hear, i wonder how Cathy will spin this one?

If it wasnt for the fact that I had been sacked I would still be in charge.

01-08-2017, 12:08 PM

Here's your next manager in that list

01-08-2017, 12:09 PM
They will beat Rangers at Ibrox the week after we do and McPhee will get the job permanently. They'll stumble along for the next few games getting average results until we thump them in the derby and the cycle will continue.

01-08-2017, 12:10 PM
It's a toss up between Orville and Emu

Perd Hapley
01-08-2017, 12:10 PM
Oh Ian Cathro
He knows it's too late
As he's walking on by
The goals never came
But don't look back in anger
Levein's to blame

01-08-2017, 12:11 PM
😂😂😂

Harry Potter?

01-08-2017, 12:13 PM
Any chance of a second spell in charge in Gorgie for Graham Rix? What's he doing these days?

01-08-2017, 12:13 PM
It's a toss up between Orville and Emu

I wouldnt want to get on the wrong side of emu. Mad b*****d

01-08-2017, 12:14 PM
Doesn't matter who they bring in , still Harry potter pulling the strings ,same crappy players cathro brought in. Compo for cathro going (which they can't afford ) and money to lure a new manager in to work with the dregs that has been gifted by the departing lap top loser , so it will be a cheapy cheap option so all good lol

Isn't the model based on Levein doing the signings and the coach then works with what they've got?

01-08-2017, 12:16 PM
It's ok if you are asking me have i been sacked no a sacking is a situatoin where if you don't have a job and and the job situation. Am f----d

Platinum Scotty
01-08-2017, 12:18 PM
Any chance of a second spell in charge in Gorgie for Graham Rix? What's he doing these days?

just checked and he is actually the manager of the local football team where I live!!! they play in the Wessex league...

01-08-2017, 12:21 PM
just checked and he is actually the manager of the local football team where I live!!! they play in the Wessex league...

No offence to the Wessex league, but that's about Hearts level right now. :aok:

01-08-2017, 12:22 PM

Under-16s ???

01-08-2017, 12:32 PM
What I don't get is the continued insistence of Hearts that this guy is a hugely promising coach. Where is the evidence that this has ever been the case? I can only assume they're trying to cover up the fact they made an almighty mistake in appointing him. Quite why Levein gets off so lightly for his part in this shambles is mind boggling.

They talk garbage about most things - their lack of anything resembling humility means they will never admit to being wrong in anything. Hopefully Speccy stays as DoF and the hubris continues.

01-08-2017, 12:33 PM

Wolves after him in Scotland AND England then.
He better not wear his little red riding hood.

07BigD
01-08-2017, 12:34 PM
http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--SMRgorE9--/771284821130391473.jpgLol

Sent from my FRD-L09 using Tapatalk

07BigD
01-08-2017, 12:45 PM
It doesn't really matter who they get in, you can't polish a turd

High-On-Hibs
01-08-2017, 12:56 PM
BREAKING NEWS: Josef Fritzl released early on community service

https://image.ibb.co/dOkD9k/fritzltynie.png

01-08-2017, 12:58 PM
Good luck for the future Mr Cathro, you leave with the best wishes of everybody at Hibernian football club :boo hoo:

01-08-2017, 01:01 PM
BREAKING NEWS: Josef Fritzl released early on community service

https://image.ibb.co/dOkD9k/fritzltynie.png

Trust Hearts to go for a basement bargain.

Green Blood
01-08-2017, 01:04 PM
Will Potter leave the safety of his Ivory love nest with Ann and take over the interim managers role! No chance, he knows better. Hertz are doomed to suffer years of staving off relegation thats assuming they come through their current crisis! They have assembled a terrible squad on expensive long term contracts that will prove costly. With spirallling building costs and delays they really are going to struggle for many years to come.

I know many of us wanted them dead and buried, still could happen a slow lingering painful death!

For what it is worth I think Potter's days at the club are numbered also!

01-08-2017, 01:07 PM
It doesn't really matter who they get in, you can't polish a turd

At least they have an easy opening match.

If McPhee is still there I think he and Levein will manage though the first game.

They are still going to get royally humped....er....Republicanally humped.

Probably our fault he has gone. We should not have had hundreds of postings praying he would remain but rather attacked him incessantly and Hearts may have rallied round him and kept him in place.

Oh well, apart from the interviews that inspired Cortana that we will no longer enjoy, it is no big deal. I can't see any manager doing much with that squad and I doubt they can milk enough money from the cash cow to allow a new manager to bring in anyone of note. But hark! Is that the Eastern Europe to Haymarket express pulling in to the station I hear?

01-08-2017, 01:08 PM
Seen on twitter earlier that Jon Daly is favourite with William Hills, not sure if its true or not, Levein is second fav, all decent managers are way down the list I saw.

01-08-2017, 01:19 PM
One thing's for sure... anyone currently employed will require a compensation payment, so can pretty much be ruled out

01-08-2017, 01:23 PM
Good bye, good bye
Wipe the tears baby dear from your eyes

01-08-2017, 01:25 PM
If they had any sense they would move heaven and earth to get Tommy Wright, the guy has worked wonders at St Johnstone and its amazing he hasn't landed a bigger job elsewhere by now ..... trouble is moving heaven and earth means paying compensation, no chance of that happening then.

Alan Archibald could be another shout, he has Thistle punching a wee bit above their weight and I understand they play good football ... once again compensation would be the problem and the 'good football' part would go against the Hearts current model.

Going against the grain here, but IMO perhaps Ryan Giggs wouldn't be as unrealistic as it sounds, he has so far failed to land any job he has been linked with so perhaps a job outside of England where he could attempt to make his mark a bit more outside of the English spotlight could be his way into management at a club where he wouldn't be expected to win the league. Its not as if he would care too much about his wages, the opportunity would mean more to him I would guess.

Stubbsy ....... He needs a job right enough, but there's no chance the puddle drinkers would give him any leeway whatsoever if he didn't hit the ground running. He could be a candidate, but he would be mental to take it if you ask me.

That leaves the likes of Hartley, Huston and Pressley and in reality its likely to come from one of them .... Hartley has to be favourite coz Huston would cost compo and Pressley certainly wouldn't want to be Levin's puppet ..... in fact from the whole lot quoted he might be the only one willing to read the notes delivered in a cleft stick by one of Potters minions during the game :greengrin

01-08-2017, 01:29 PM
I'm not sure Tommy Wright or Alan Archibald would go to Hearts to be honest. The aim for most top managers is to get to England and I reckon thats what both of them will be aiming for next , then you add in the Levein factor and I think they would both give it a miss.

01-08-2017, 01:31 PM
I'm not sure Tommy Wright or Alan Archibald would go to Hearts to be honest. The aim for most top managers is to get to England and I reckon thats what both of them will be aiming for next , then you add in the Levein factor and I think they would both give it a miss.

TW would be mad to go to Hearts having been better than them for years now, AA might see Hearts as step up though.

cocteautwin
01-08-2017, 01:35 PM
The sad thing is, with Scottish football the way it is, there are at least 2 clubs who will be worse than Hearts this year so they'll still be in the top league next year. Pick any 2 from 6.

01-08-2017, 01:38 PM
It'll be a 6-4-0 line up on Saturday if Levein's taking the team. They might get away with only 5-0.

Firestarter
01-08-2017, 01:39 PM
Oh Cathro is a virgin he wears a flashers mac,
The Hibees they all love him but jambos want him sacked.
He loses to the wee teams and canny buy a win
And his tranny number two, chucked his laptop in the bin.

And repeat....

That's class!

01-08-2017, 01:40 PM
In amongst all the hilarity, it is a sad day for Scottish football as a whole. Cathro was trying something new and progressive and failed. He clearly has a lot of good ideas but can't convey them to other people.

01-08-2017, 01:44 PM
In amongst all the hilarity, it is a sad day for Scottish football as a whole. Cathro was trying something new and progressive and failed. He clearly has a lot of good ideas but can't convey them to other people.

Not really. Cathro didn't represent every progressive manager there is out there. He's one coach that wasn't up to it, if there's someone good enough then they'll still get their chance somewhere.

01-08-2017, 01:45 PM
Sickbag in meltdown that Jon Daly might get the gig. 1/5 with Hills. Pure comedy gold.

01-08-2017, 01:49 PM

Aye, barry. :greengrin

01-08-2017, 01:52 PM
I watched Daly up close at a under 20's match last pre-season (gunts were playing my local team) he was clueless pointing at all the young lads, they didn't have clue what he was trying to tell them. Then Potter turns up midway through the game and Daly all of sudden brings out his wee notepad and starts to note things down and makes it look like he's studying away because the head teachers back!

Please give him the job budgie!

01-08-2017, 01:57 PM

I presume the above was said in jest :greengrin

What are his good ideas? And if he can't convey them how can they be clear? And if his good ideas were clear to CL and Budge then that only leaves his inability to 'coach' a team to beat teams such as Peterhead as the reason for his departure.

I am just disappointed because I expected Hearts to really struggle to win many games and had hoped they would be at the lower end of the table. His replacement, who I expect to be an experienced manager might at least be able to make them more difficult to beat. :boo hoo:

01-08-2017, 02:05 PM
Tommy Wright said before Caxinha (sp?) took over at ranger he had no desires to leave St Johnstone at the present time and any contact from them would be a short conversation.
Even with their recent financial history and failings I dont see Wright taking the hearts job 6 month after ruling himself out of the bigger and better paid job at the huns.

Wright will head down south I would image when he feels the time is right for him

Hibby soldier
01-08-2017, 02:07 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/steven-pressley-is-bookies-favourite-to-be-new-hearts-manager-1-4519175

butcher 25/1:flag: