View Full Version : What if there were no goal posts?

05-04-2017, 10:53 AM
Mad Ian has got me over thinking things. Imagine if there were no goal posts. Hibs would never have beaten Hearts 0-7, Latapys sublime goal in the 6-2 game would have been an aimless punt out the park and Sir David's glorious header would have had everyone scratching their heads. What a thought. I need a lie down.

05-04-2017, 11:03 AM
http://cdn.soccerbible.com/media/26661/jumpers-for-goalposts-matt-stansfield-8.jpg (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=imgres&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjnzNT0lI3TAhUB1xQKHTIZBHYQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.soccerbible.com%2Flifestyle%2 Fmiscellaneous%2F2016%2Fframed-jumpers-for-goalposts-part-1-by-matt-stansfield%2F&psig=AFQjCNEs6Z2-MNQDYakjGHbI7svhG6ftSA&ust=1491476456788389).

To deliver...
05-04-2017, 11:07 AM
Cummings wouldn't be worth £1.5m...oh wait..

18Hibee75
05-04-2017, 11:11 AM
http://cdn.soccerbible.com/media/26661/jumpers-for-goalposts-matt-stansfield-8.jpg (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=imgres&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjnzNT0lI3TAhUB1xQKHTIZBHYQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.soccerbible.com%2Flifestyle%2 Fmiscellaneous%2F2016%2Fframed-jumpers-for-goalposts-part-1-by-matt-stansfield%2F&psig=AFQjCNEs6Z2-MNQDYakjGHbI7svhG6ftSA&ust=1491476456788389).
Football was always better then anyway! Jumpers for goal posts at the park, can't beat it

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

05-04-2017, 11:17 AM
If there was no goalposts i'd stick a massive £50 accumulator on a bunch of 0-0 draws

05-04-2017, 11:23 AM
If there was no goalposts i'd stick a massive £50 accumulator on a bunch of 0-0 draws
The games you played in when you were wee must have been s***e. Ours always ended about 86 - 75 :greengrin. But then our games lasted about 6 hours until everyone's ma came outside and dragged us all in to eat...........

05-04-2017, 11:23 AM
Goalies would be on the Dole.

05-04-2017, 11:24 AM
What if there were no goal posts?

We would all stare in wonder at the levitating crossbar :greengrin

05-04-2017, 11:27 AM
The games you played in when you were wee must have been s***e. Ours always ended about 86 - 75 :greengrin. But then our games lasted about 6 hours until everyone's ma came outside and dragged us all in to eat...........

Or when one team was winning 25-8 and a player in the '8' team would shout out as it approached teatime "Next goal's the winner". :greengrin

05-04-2017, 11:29 AM
There'd be nothing to exuberantly climb at Hampden when we invade the pitch

05-04-2017, 11:30 AM
Or when one team was winning 25-8 and a player in the '8' team would shout out as it approached teatime "Next goal's the winner". :greengrin
That's a scurrilous allegation. I never did that in my entire life......:wink:

05-04-2017, 11:32 AM
What's he been slaverin about now?

GreenOnions
05-04-2017, 11:59 AM
Having analysed the match closely I have been able to establish that if there had been no ball then there would also have been very little between the teams.

05-04-2017, 12:24 PM
Having analysed the match closely I have been able to establish that if there had been no ball then there would also have been very little between the teams.

Particularly when they were toe to toe :wink:

05-04-2017, 12:39 PM
I'm pretty sure we wouldn't have won the cup last year as the The Rangers players would have managed to convince the referee that Sir David's header went over the bar.

05-04-2017, 02:01 PM

A 5-11 rapidly turned into a 10-21 followed by two clear goals to win or several attempts at next goal the winner.
And nae laptops.
Wee Cathy would've been last pick in a side-up after a bit of tic-tac-toe.

05-04-2017, 04:20 PM
I remembered when David Coleman had all this bollox talk cornered, Cathrowballs is the new owner of this now.

biotech
05-04-2017, 04:37 PM
Is there a no goal posts mode on Football Manager?

05-04-2017, 04:42 PM
Wow, another mind blowing insight from the football guru that is Ian Cathro! Anyone that disagrees is a dinosaur, unwilling to move with the times or so some of the geniuses over on keekback tell us.

Seriously though, is this guy for real? I'm starting to think he's on the wind up. Hearts fans must run away covering their ears every time he's about to do an interview, he's truly cringeworthy to listen to.

05-04-2017, 05:28 PM
Is talking sh ite a recognised medical condition?

05-04-2017, 05:30 PM
A 5-11 rapidly turned into a 10-21 followed by two clear goals to win or several attempts at next goal the winner.
And nae laptops.
Wee Cathy would've been last pick in a side-up after a bit of tic-tac-toe.

Cock or Hen / Pug or Engine?

05-04-2017, 05:32 PM
What's he been slaverin about now?
You wouldn't believe me if I told you :greengrin

05-04-2017, 06:23 PM
If there was nae goal posts that screamer fae Leigh would have flew in the back of the net .

Still ****ing annoys me to this day it was miles over the line and that **** waved play on !!

05-04-2017, 06:27 PM
If there was nae goal posts that screamer fae Leigh would have flew in the back of the net .

Still ****ing annoys me to this day it was miles over the line and that **** waved play on !!

The linesman knew it too

Ardenttwo
05-04-2017, 06:38 PM
Mad Ian has got me over thinking things. Imagine if there were no goal posts. Hibs would never have beaten Hearts 0-7, Latapys sublime goal in the 6-2 game would have been an aimless punt out the park and Sir David's glorious header would have had everyone scratching their heads. What a thought. I need a lie down.

Been saying this for a while now I just cannot see the need for goalpost. They are a danger for goalies crashing into them. Far better with jumpers or jackets

05-04-2017, 06:42 PM
The game, which is the game, would boil down to the toe-to-toe situations, which are the situations. Therefore all games would be drawn - as each team, which are the teams, would score in each toe-to-toe situation, which are the toe-to-toe situations.

Why no one can see that is beyond me, which is beyond me.

05-04-2017, 06:50 PM
Imagine there's no goalposts
It's easy if you try
No whites below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Wondering what hay?... Aha-ah...

Imagine there's no linesmen
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to flag or cite for
And no offside, too
Imagine all spectators
Living life in peace... You...

You may say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will be as one

05-04-2017, 07:05 PM
The game, which is the game, would boil down to the toe-to-toe situations, which are the situations. Therefore all games would be drawn - as each team, which are the teams, would score in each toe-to-toe situation, which are the toe-to-toe situations.

The schematics of this post are impeccable, if you do the work.

05-04-2017, 07:10 PM

But we have to acknowledge that in these moments, toe to toe might not matter a jot if the schematics of the pitch ment there was no goal posts. Problem? There is no problem. They'll just need to draw 0-0 with them again if the game finished at 20 minutes.

05-04-2017, 09:57 PM
I remembered when David Coleman had all this bollox talk cornered, Cathrowballs is the new owner of this now.

Excellent observation!

05-04-2017, 10:06 PM
Are you meaning no goal nets?

05-04-2017, 10:22 PM
Imagine there's no goalposts
It's easy if you try
No whites below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Wondering what hay?... Aha-ah...

Imagine there's no linesmen
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to flag or cite for
And no offside, too
Imagine all spectators
Living life in peace... You...

You may say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will be as one

:greengrin That song immediately sprung to my mind as well as soon as I read the thread title.

KingFranck
06-04-2017, 12:06 PM
How did David Gray manage to header the winner ?