View Full Version : The set of traffic lights that annoy you the most.
31-03-2017, 11:25 AM
No. 1 = Milton Road at Mountcastle Drive.
No. 2 = A921 (between Inverkeithing & Dalgety Bay) at junction with Hillend Road.
No. 3 = Any roadworks where there's no sign of any work being done
31-03-2017, 12:24 PM
No 4 On roundabouts when there is nothing on the roundabout
31-03-2017, 12:33 PM
As a pedestrian, there are lights for crossing the road between George Square and West Nicholson Street. When the green man comes on, you have about 1.5 seconds to cross the road before the traffic light starts flashing amber, and cars decide anyone still crossing is fair game for car bowling.
derekHFC
31-03-2017, 01:05 PM
Seafield Road.
Two sets at McDonalds and then Seafield Street cause chaos either way when its busy.
31-03-2017, 01:10 PM
The 3 way traffic light system at Newbigging/Pinkie Road in Musselburgh.
If you just miss the green light then you're sat there for what feels like 5 minutes before it's your turn to go.
Years and years ago I was driving in northern Portugal along a road that was dead straight for miles and miles and miles.
Miles in there was a traffic light on the middle of the countryside that had no apparent purpose.
It did though. The red light was tripped if you were speeding. When you stopped at the light a traffic cop appeared from nowhere and fined you!!!
Luckily I was travelling with a local who had warned me so drove on by 😀
ACLeith
31-03-2017, 05:59 PM
Seafield Road.
Two sets at McDonalds and then Seafield Street cause chaos either way when its busy.
That's mine as well. Anything going east and turning right at Seafiekd Street just blocks everyone. It should be a mini roundabout
31-03-2017, 06:15 PM
The ones with the erse at the front who takes too long to move.
31-03-2017, 06:47 PM
The ones at the Gyle, that they introduced for the Trams. Traffic was bad enough there, without these being added
RoslinInstHibby
31-03-2017, 07:24 PM
The lights outside jenners at the Scots monument.....take forever to bloody change
31-03-2017, 09:09 PM
24 hour lights on any roundabout that's necessary 2 hours a day 5 days a week.
My personal bete noir is a series where every light is red. Telford Road to Barnton Roundabout and back. The most painful being the lights at McDonald's on Telford where you wait for 5 minutes and traffic appears from the left.
31-03-2017, 09:21 PM
Morrison Street at Haymarket junction heading West, they can stay red for what seems like 3 or 4 minutes if trams are due.
31-03-2017, 10:07 PM
No. 1 = Milton Road at Mountcastle Drive.
No. 2 = A921 (between Inverkeithing & Dalgety Bay) at junction with Hillend Road.
No. 3 = Any roadworks where there's no sign of any work being done
Remember Milton Road when there were no lights on it at all! Nightmare now. Other than that, What's not to like about traffic lights?
http://www.2kmusic.com/en/webvideo/montypython/nbRyH6fkee0/monty-python-i-like-traffic-lights-with-lyrics
31-03-2017, 10:29 PM
Temporary traffic lights, any.
31-03-2017, 11:29 PM
The ones at the Gyle, that they introduced for the Trams. Traffic was bad enough there, without these being added
They're a nightmare.
01-04-2017, 09:02 AM
The lights outside jenners at the Scots monument.....take forever to bloody change
:agree: They are dreadful. Sometimes you get a tram coming both ways and you have to wait ages, sometimes the tram gets stuck in traffic but the lights are still triggered to let it through and we have a situation we're nothing is moving at all for ages.
01-04-2017, 08:50 PM
As a pedestrian, there are lights for crossing the road between George Square and West Nicholson Street. When the green man comes on, you have about 1.5 seconds to cross the road before the traffic light starts flashing amber, and cars decide anyone still crossing is fair game for car bowling.
They are a nightmare. They don't even work half of the time. It was quite funny as well when they were working on Appleton Tower as diggers, etc. made exactly the same noise as the crossing, so people started crossing as cars were coming through.
Green Man
05-04-2017, 09:08 AM
The crossroads in Kirkliston, if someone is turning right from Main Street down towards Newbridge there isn't enough space to pass on the left. Then there are the temporary lights which just seem to tour the streets of Kirkliston, they're always somewhere.
05-04-2017, 09:11 AM
The Barnton and Maybury junctions, both of those are a complete mess, need to be torn up and start again IMO.
05-04-2017, 09:23 AM
24 hour lights on any roundabout that's necessary 2 hours a day 5 days a week.
My personal bete noir is a series where every light is red. Telford Road to Barnton Roundabout and back. The most painful being the lights at McDonald's on Telford where you wait for 5 minutes and traffic appears from the left.
That's the type I meant as well. Inveralmond Roundabout on the outskirts of Perth, lights that are set to allow traffic out of the industrial estate, but then stop them at the next junction means tailbacks that block traffic heading north. also 2 lanes heading south with the majority of traffic heading south leads to queues up to 3 miles in the outside lane.
05-04-2017, 09:48 AM
Let's hope all the relative Authorities read this thread and get their act together.
Aye, right.
07-04-2017, 06:17 PM
Seafield Road.
This,causes massive tailbacks
Sort it out Hinds,instead of arseing about with 20mph suit.
07-04-2017, 08:35 PM
Ferry road traffic lights at the junction near golden acre and spiers bar.
Heading from the Leith end towards the pilton end is a pain in the arse if you hit it at the wrong time.
09-04-2017, 09:01 PM
Heading from the Leith end towards the pilton end is a pain in the arse if you hit it at the wrong time.
That is murder when heading West.
09-04-2017, 09:03 PM
Not lights but I hate Drumbrae roundabout, so many chancers there, nearly been wiped out twice by idiots who don't think they have to stop and give way from the right when coming from the Glasgow rd past the BBQ chippy
09-04-2017, 10:28 PM
Not lights but I hate Drumbrae roundabout, so many chancers there, nearly been wiped out twice by idiots who don't think they have to stop and give way from the right when coming from the Glasgow rd past the BBQ chippy
That roundabout is brutal for fannies chancing it. :agree:
I only really drive at night and as they change sequences after a certain time, nobody would know what I'm talking about. You actually get ones that see you coming and turn red just to "slow you down and make things safe" (imagine that being said in a sarcastic, nasally voice)
I'm not sure if you day people ever encounter the ones that turn red and then catch everyone out by instantly turning amber then green. They live on Old Dalkieth Road and Polwarth Terrace and they are annoying.
Mr Grieves
10-04-2017, 07:27 AM
Seafield Road.
I walk along Seafield Road to work. All the crossings here are a nightmare as you constantly have cars going through red lights. I can see why people get pissed off as Seafield Road has become noticeably more busy over the last few years, but its not like they're getting anywhere quicker as they're just joining a queue of traffic a wee bit further up the road.
10-04-2017, 07:46 AM
That roundabout is brutal for fannies chancing it. :agree:
Also brutal for people blocking it when it is busy.
10-04-2017, 08:31 AM
I walk along Seafield Road to work. All the crossings here are a nightmare as you constantly have cars going through red lights. I can see why people get pissed off as Seafield Road has become noticeably more busy over the last few years, but its not like they're getting anywhere quicker as they're just joining a queue of traffic a wee bit further up the road.
I have noticed this more and more in Edinburgh in general, people blowing through red lights. I have had several occasions recently where my light is green and there are still cars flowing through the road that's supposed to be red.
10-04-2017, 08:48 AM
I often cut the corner at the traffic lights to get onto Inverleith Row on that wee road that goes past Spiers Bar and comes out at the flower shop.
I swear, that bus stop to the left of where that road comes out must be the best served bus stop in Edinburgh. Practically every time I try to get out of there a bus is either pulling up or already there.
10-04-2017, 09:30 AM
I only really drive at night and as they change sequences after a certain time, nobody would know what I'm talking about. You actually get ones that see you coming and turn red just to "slow you down and make things safe" (imagine that being said in a sarcastic, nasally voice)
I'm not sure if you day people ever encounter the ones that turn red and then catch everyone out by instantly turning amber then green. They live on Old Dalkieth Road and Polwarth Terrace and they are annoying.
The ones n queensferry st heading down over the dean bridge do that as well.
10-04-2017, 09:50 AM
I have noticed this more and more in Edinburgh in general, people blowing through red lights. I have had several occasions recently where my light is green and there are still cars flowing through the road that's supposed to be red.
Ever been to Napoli? :worried:
Neapolitans are totally colour-blind.
10-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Ever been to Napoli? :worried:
Neapolitans are totally colour-blind.
It's the sunglasses!
11-04-2017, 07:53 AM
We have a winner
11-04-2017, 11:02 AM
The Polwarth ones are like that during the day at weekends too.
12-04-2017, 02:05 PM
Western Corner traffic lights. Trying to turn right to head to Corstorphine is brutal at times. Blackhall Sainsbury's ones are grim too.
IrnBru22
13-04-2017, 12:05 PM
The lights at the old bank hotel on royal mile, only lets about 3 cars through before going back to red.
13-04-2017, 11:00 PM
Just to make the point. Leave Trinity RC about 10:00. Right onto Ferry Road, Goldenacre - red. War die - red Fettes - red. Morrison's-red. Telford Road -McDonald's -red. Redford Road - Groathill -red. Blackhall -red. Queensferry/Craigcrook/Quality St.....red. Queensferry Road/Clerrie - red. Queensferry/Drum Brae - green but had to stop for queue starting. Queensferry/East Craigs- green. Marbury -Red.... every week.
14-04-2017, 07:13 AM
Try the Raith Interchange, it took me 50 minutes to get through 4 sets of lights on roundabout yesterday. I would've avoided it but drove into it on autopilot before I realised.
14-04-2017, 07:32 AM
Not sure if I just had a bad day but FFS the attitude to red lights in Liverpool this week was pretty consistent, on at least 3 occasions I had to wait even though my lights were green as at least 3 cars each time ran the red lights. That coupled with gangs of motorbikes riders with no helmets and no registration plates running against the traffic and generally doing what they like ignoring every red light, these guys are mental!