View Full Version : Favourite ever Hibs goal

Navids Numpties
31-03-2017, 09:05 AM
Not including Sir David Grays cup winning goal as I'm sure that will be 99% if not 100% of people's favourite.

31-03-2017, 09:08 AM
Paul Hanlon at Tynie.

NthCarolinaHibs
31-03-2017, 09:19 AM
Wee Russell,6-2 game, against the saviles..."Six of the best!!"💚⚽

31-03-2017, 09:38 AM
Stokes 2 mins in.

Gave us the belief we could do it and took the edge of the nerves for the fans.

100% certain that to win that final we needed to score first and early.

lugz
31-03-2017, 09:43 AM
Dean Shiels at Tynie when we won 2-1, my first ever win there, midweek under the floodlights and the celebrations were unreal.

31-03-2017, 09:44 AM
Tam McManus at Ibrox.

Was sitting in the Rangers director box at the time.

Slavers
31-03-2017, 09:45 AM
Riordan against the **** where he beats Craig Gordon from almost the half way line!

Brummie_Hibs
31-03-2017, 09:47 AM
Keith Wright, Skol Cup Semi-final against Huns.

31-03-2017, 09:48 AM
Bobby Duncan against Napoli, the distance from goal gets further every year !

31-03-2017, 10:02 AM

That's your eyesight getting worse ;-)

31-03-2017, 10:06 AM
Griffiths' winner in the 4-3 semi against Falkirk was a good one.

31-03-2017, 10:10 AM
Steve Archibald at tynie.

31-03-2017, 10:38 AM
Bobby Smith against Rangers at ER. He scored from about Aberdour Main Street.

31-03-2017, 10:47 AM
Joe Baker, up the slope vs Killie 1961. 0-0 at h/t, we scored 4 without reply in 2nd half. Joe picked up ball in centre circle, nutmegged first player, flicked it over 2nd & 3rd & hit on volley into roof of the net, all while travelling faster than Ivan on a bike! A couple of quirky things from that match, Willie Toner, Killie centre back was being touted for a Scotland recall. After Joe destroyed him that was forgotten, in fact Willie's career went downhill so rapidly, we signed him! :wink: Also Joe McLelland, our LB who made Shades look like a soft touch, scored 50% (1) of his Hibs goals that day. Now, what did I have for my tea last night?

SonOfDavidFrancey
31-03-2017, 10:51 AM
Sproule

21sMay
31-03-2017, 10:58 AM
Dirk lehmans against them at tynie . Great finish

31-03-2017, 10:58 AM
Ally Mcleod Volley to make it 1-1 against Kilmarnock in 1979. An absolute cracker and the only match I ever went to with my Granda.

pennyhibee
31-03-2017, 11:00 AM

Same gam e . Peter Cormack header for the third . Somebody told us we were going through on away goal rule and we couldn't believe it .Only when we gothe other 2 were we sure were through .

31-03-2017, 11:01 AM

Nice one. I'm going for Arthur Duncan outstripping the Hearts defence at Tynie in 1971.

gazzag70
31-03-2017, 11:03 AM
Malonga v Aberdeen. Absolute peach.

31-03-2017, 11:18 AM
So many..

But this is hard to top, straight outa the Brazilian book of free kicks.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA

Frogga
31-03-2017, 11:39 AM
I loved Ivan Sproule's last minute goal v Celtic on the last day of the season (Scott Brown's last game for us).

I think it has disappeared from youtube but if anyone has it then I'd love to see it again!

31-03-2017, 11:43 AM
If it had counted, mine would be Sparky's 40 yarder that 'never crossed the line' against the Herts.

31-03-2017, 11:45 AM
Paul Hanlon at Tynecastle. It was great at the time, but the significance of the goal grew even more as a result of what subsequently happened.

alhibby
31-03-2017, 11:49 AM

Great goal, I am sure he hit it from half way down Iona Street :greengrin

31-03-2017, 11:52 AM
Great goal, I am sure he hit it from half way down Iona Street :greengrin

Bottom o' the Walk mair like - with a wicked swerve.

Nevi_SOL
31-03-2017, 12:00 PM
Griffiths free kick in the Ross Caldwell game

BlackSheep
31-03-2017, 12:42 PM
Stokes 2 mins in.

Gave us the belief we could do it and took the edge of the nerves for the fans.

100% certain that to win that final we needed to score first and early.

NZ Green
31-03-2017, 01:01 PM
Griffiths' winner in the 4-3 semi against Falkirk was a good one.
I haven't been to many games myself. But I was lucky enough to be at that game, I will never forget that strike.

31-03-2017, 01:13 PM
Can hardly remember the goal but for the carnage in the Hibs support it caused Garry O'Connor against rangers at Ibrox in the 0-3 game

31-03-2017, 02:18 PM
So many but one that sticks is Latapy volley in the 6-2 game, there are so many, Hunter v the yams, Rae v the huns

Green Blood
31-03-2017, 02:34 PM
Both at Tincastle, either Gordon Hunter's or Steve Archibald's, both winning goals

Superfurry72
31-03-2017, 03:14 PM
Michael O'Neill's volley from the edge of the box from a Kevin Harper cross against Motherwell in 1994. I can still remember the almost disbelieving reaction from the crowd.

31-03-2017, 03:16 PM
Riordan v Hearts at Easter rd towards the away end in a 1-1 draw

Yuillsy
31-03-2017, 03:30 PM
Michael O'Neill's volley from the edge of the box from a Kevin Harper cross against Motherwell in 1994. I can still remember the almost disbelieving reaction from the crowd.
That was a screamer. I'm sure I was there with HibbyAndy!!
Kevin Harper's volley against Hearts on New Years day.

the pie eater
31-03-2017, 03:30 PM
this is quality: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Yh0BH_kUJQ

Malonga finishes off a superb move in which every outfield player for Hibs gets a touch of the ball in the build up.

31-03-2017, 03:33 PM
Latapy for number 6 was my favourite up until Sir David Gray's winner.

Hanlon at the PBS was great, Boyle v Livi - volley that absolutely flew in. That goal wasn't as significant as some of the others mentioned on the thread but it was an outstanding goal.

Griffiths' free kick at the PBS and the one that wasn't given at Easter Road are high on the list as well. As was Caldwell's winner in that game, too.

31-03-2017, 03:35 PM
That was a screamer. I'm sure I was there with HibbyAndy!!
Kevin Harper's volley against Hearts on New Years day.

You were mate ..Can't believe that was 23 years ago !! I still remember it clearly , We hit them on the counter attack and broke down the right , Good times mate

31-03-2017, 04:09 PM
I'd agree with virtually all the comments on here, but I'd like to add another one, although I can't seem to find footage of it anywhere, and that was one Kenny Miller scored for us against Celtic, years ago. I couldn't make the game for some reason but saw the goal, I'm sure it was a half volley from outside the box, just after Celtic had replaced their goalie, a Russian keeper I think.

31-03-2017, 04:13 PM
I'd agree with virtually all the comments on here, but I'd like to add another one, although I can't seem to find footage of it anywhere, and that was one Kenny Miller scored for us against Celtic, years ago. I couldn't make the game for some reason but saw the goal, I'm sure it was a half volley from outside the box, just after Celtic had replaced their goalie, a Russian keeper I think.

I remember that game ...Martin Mcintosh made his debut IIRC and Pat Mcginlay scored the other

31-03-2017, 04:18 PM

This game ? http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/2000-03-05%3A++Hibernian+2-1+Celtic,+Premier+League

31-03-2017, 04:27 PM
This game ? http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/2000-03-05%3A++Hibernian+2-1+Celtic,+Premier+League
Yep that's the one Andy, pity it doesn't seem to be on youtube anywhere.

Topographic Hibby
31-03-2017, 04:54 PM
Chic Charnley v Alloa in the LC in 1997 from just inside the half-way line. No TV cameras there to capture it, about the only thing you can find is a pic Chico running over to celebrate with the gaffer.

Square Go Duffy.......

Zorro
31-03-2017, 05:14 PM
Probably Geebsie's at tynie to end the winless run v them, one of the mentalest celebrations I've been in!!!

(If anyone has a link to the pic of the goal going in from the other end of the pitch, I would love to see it again!!)

31-03-2017, 05:29 PM
GOC nutmegging Tepi's was one of the best for sure

Archie at Tynie was just class.

31-03-2017, 05:47 PM
I don't remember them all. There have been so many.

But how about Benji's goal to make it 2-0 in the league cup final demolition of Kilmarnock?

31-03-2017, 05:56 PM
Chic Charnley v Alloa in the LC in 1997 from just inside the half-way line. No TV cameras there to capture it, about the only thing you can find is a pic Chico running over to celebrate with the gaffer.

Square Go Duffy.......

That one was first to my mind as well.

Honorable mentions to Latapy (6-2) and Gray (21/05/16).

31-03-2017, 06:00 PM
Archie at Tynie for me too.

31-03-2017, 06:45 PM
Archie at Tynie for me too.

The coolest man on the pitch whilst the hibs end went utterly beserk in the pishing rain :cb

Cardinal G
31-03-2017, 06:50 PM
Stevie Archibald at Tynie for me, absolute bedlam when it hit the net followed by him standing there triumphant like a gladiator as we danced, hugged with sheer joy at what we had just witnessed.

31-03-2017, 06:52 PM
Stevie Archibald at Tynie for me, absolute bedlam when it hit the net followed by him standing there triumphant like a gladiator as we danced, hugged with sheer joy at what we had just witnessed.

i was 11 and ended up miles away from my Dad in the swaize that took me away from him , I did not care one iota !

yonder1875
31-03-2017, 07:09 PM
Special mention for GOC's goal in the 'unbeatable' Derby.

31-03-2017, 07:11 PM
Special mention for GOC's goal in the 'unbeatable' Derby.

:agree: went radge that day!!! 2 minutes after boozy scored

ACLeith
31-03-2017, 07:13 PM
So, so many but the one that came to my mind when I read the thread title was the Bobby Kinloch penalty against Barcelona in the 3-2 riot game

31-03-2017, 07:14 PM
Des Bremner scored a belter in a mid week game away to Motherwell in 1977 or '78. It's always stuck in my mind as a rare moment of colour at a time when Hibs matches seemed to be played out in monochrome.

RoslinInstHibby
31-03-2017, 07:20 PM
Latapy in the 6-2 game, zitelli's overhead kick and Agathe's solo run against Dundee all stick in the mind

31-03-2017, 08:48 PM

That's mine too. Great goal to start a great night.

31-03-2017, 08:49 PM

Me too:aok:

31-03-2017, 08:54 PM
Nice one. I'm going for Arthur Duncan outstripping the Hearts defence at Tynie in 1971.

A fine goal, but possibly surpassed by either Stanton's or O'Rourke's against Celtic in the League Cup final.

Don't you feel sorry for the youngsters who weren't at these games:greengrin

31-03-2017, 08:57 PM
Don't know how this one can be bettered - his reaction was brilliant too...... :not worth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SlpU0kAcl-Q

Criswell
31-03-2017, 09:33 PM
Pat Stanton's goal v Celtic in the 1972 League Cup final. Showed great composure.

31-03-2017, 09:45 PM
Mid 70s Hibs v Dundee. Ally McLeod's retaken free kick. Absolute artistry.

SuperAllyMcleod
31-03-2017, 09:53 PM
Mid 70s Hibs v Dundee. Ally McLeod's retaken free kick. Absolute artistry.

Thanks, I was rather proud of that one. [emoji3]

31-03-2017, 09:59 PM
Kevin Harper v Hearts 98. Must have ran from inside his own half before slotting past the keeper. Absolute scenes in old east stand

31-03-2017, 10:05 PM

Mine to

31-03-2017, 10:18 PM

That's the one for me too. The way Mickey planted it there was sublime with Keith rising then craning his neck in his unique style to drill it home beautifully is my favourite ever goal.

glory glory

West lower
31-03-2017, 10:28 PM
Darren Jackson v Dundee Utd in semi at the PBS. Great strike.

esjorto
31-03-2017, 10:32 PM
Joe Baker, up the slope vs Killie 1961. 0-0 at h/t, we scored 4 without reply in 2nd half. Joe picked up ball in centre circle, nutmegged first player, flicked it over 2nd & 3rd & hit on volley into roof of the net, all while travelling faster than Ivan on a bike! A couple of quirky things from that match, Willie Toner, Killie centre back was being touted for a Scotland recall. After Joe destroyed him that was forgotten, in fact Willie's career went downhill so rapidly, we signed him! :wink: Also Joe McLelland, our LB who made Shades look like a soft touch, scored 50% (1) of his Hibs goals that day. Now, what did I have for my tea last night?

I remember that goal so clearly.... was just as you described it!!
Any goal by Joe would be my favourite.

31-03-2017, 10:34 PM
Paul Hanlon at Tynie.

And Archibald also at the PBS.

31-03-2017, 10:38 PM

That's the one for me too. The way Mickey planted it there was sublime with Keith rising then craning his neck in his unique style to drill it home beautifully is my favourite ever goal.

glory glory

We got in late and another Hibee told me how Keith Wright "rose like an angel". Also enjoyed Mickey Weir taking it on a mazy from the half way line to score at Pittrodrie in the first game of the season after Mercer tried to take us over.

01-04-2017, 04:02 AM

Yes have to agree

Bay Area Hibees
01-04-2017, 04:07 AM
Wee Russell,6-2 game, against the saviles..."Six of the best!!"💚⚽

Yes agree. Dream goal. sdg goal in many ways but we russels was special.