View Full Version : Greggs Scott Allan

30-03-2017, 02:16 PM
http://www.scotzine.com/2017/03/scott-allans-nightmare-season-could-lead-to-hibs-return/

http://celtsarehere.com/celtic-midfielder-heading-for-exit/

Would take him back in a heartbeat.

30-03-2017, 02:18 PM
I'd take him back tae.:agree:

30-03-2017, 02:19 PM
Definitely! The type of quality we have been screaming out for this season. Him, another decent striker and a winger please.

30-03-2017, 02:20 PM
20+ assists last time he was here, only 25. Yes please.

30-03-2017, 02:23 PM
Is it a dot net rule to have a Scott Allan transfer thread every week?

30-03-2017, 02:24 PM
Poor man's John McGinn. Let him rot

JDHibs
Would definitely take him back.

Not sure he would get a good reception but definitely of the quality we should be looking at!

I think it's people putting two and two together. Be interesting how Lennon would handle him.

30-03-2017, 02:25 PM
I'd take him back in a heartbeat

30-03-2017, 02:30 PM
Excellent player. Yes please.

30-03-2017, 02:31 PM
It's a YES from me. Creativity was lacking last night. Can sure pick out a killer pass. Jason and a new quick striker would benefit hugely.

30-03-2017, 02:32 PM
Poor man's John McGinn. Let him rot

Who do you think he'll be swapped for.

http://celtsarehere.com/celtic-midfielder-heading-for-exit/

"He has had several managers now, even at Rotherham who have questioned Scott’s attitude and application on a daily basis. This could be the real thing holding him back".

i'l bet any amount that this is to do with his Diabetes....i'm talking from experience

Slavers
If McGinn is leaving then Allan could fill the void.

BH Hibs
30-03-2017, 02:35 PM
Think it's pure speculation tbh.

30-03-2017, 02:38 PM
Is he any good,does anyone know?

30-03-2017, 02:40 PM
I would only consider taking him back on a long-term contract. If he signs a two year deal he'll be itching for a move to the new rangers after a year again.

Plus, I don't know how he'd react to Lennon constantly screaming at him for most of the 90 minutes. Although you never know, he might get the Grant Holt treatment where you can be stinking for weeks on end and get off scot-free.

I'd prefer we didn't sign him again though. His attitude is clearly poor and more midfielders that don't score is the last thing we need.

30-03-2017, 02:41 PM
It's a no from me. If he can't get a game for the worst team in England's second tier then maybe he's not the player that left us.

houstonhibbee
30-03-2017, 02:45 PM
"He has had several managers now, even at Rotherham who have questioned Scott’s attitude and application on a daily basis. This could be the real thing holding him back".

i'l bet any amount that this is to do with his Diabetes....i'm talking from experience
does he have type 1?

30-03-2017, 02:50 PM
Hope his career never takes off again, certainly not with us.

30-03-2017, 02:50 PM
I would only consider taking him back on a long-term contract. If he signs a two year deal he'll be itching for a move to the new rangers after a year again.

Plus, I don't know how he'd react to Lennon constantly screaming at him for most of the 90 minutes. Although you never know, he might get the Grant Holt treatment where you can be stinking for weeks on end and get off scot-free.

I'd prefer we didn't sign him again though. His attitude is clearly poor and more midfielders that don't score is the last thing we need.

Although he was not prolific himself he did get 20+ assists when he was here. He can pick a pass. We haven't played as well since he left. A smart club now could get the very best out of Allan. He is past the age where the big clubs will be looking at him but just about to hit his peak. Worth a gamble for me.

30-03-2017, 02:52 PM
does he have type 1?

He does.

It's something I've always wanted to mention on these threads but haven't been sure or comfortable.

Maybe people need to think a wee bit before opening their mouths about him.

30-03-2017, 02:53 PM
does he have type 1?

yes

30-03-2017, 03:00 PM
He does.

It's something I've always wanted to mention on these threads but haven't been sure or comfortable.

It never seemed to affect him that much at Hibs when everyone says he was the best player in the league. Yet since Hibs nothing seems to have gone right for him?

hibs#1
30-03-2017, 03:01 PM
He does.

You are certainly correct.

I have said previously if lennon wants him then I'm fine with it.think he'd be great alongside mcginn.

I know people are still bitter about how he left but I've got over it and after couple of good performances everybody will forget.

mvteng
30-03-2017, 03:05 PM
It never seemed to affect him that much at Hibs when everyone says he was the best player in the league. Yet since Hibs nothing seems to have gone right for him?

I remember it a bit different.

The way I remember it he would be great in bursts, but then would fade from the game for 10 minutes or so, then be back on it.

He also tended to be subbed after 70 or so minutes quite a lot (i'm guessing because he was knackered).

30-03-2017, 03:06 PM
Please make this happen. If he is up for a last chance to save his career then he would be a great signing. I love watching him play.
Really feel that hibs and Allan is a good fit.

30-03-2017, 03:09 PM
If it comes to the stage (and there's a fair chance it will) that we have to accept losing McGinn in the summer, receiving a big wedge of cash AND getting someone of Allan's quality in will mean another decent bit of business on our part.

Hypothetically speaking of course.

30-03-2017, 03:09 PM

Stubbsy put special arrangements in place to help the player deal with his condition. SA mentioned this more than once as being really helpful.

Then Stubbsy takes him to Rotherham and presumably puts the same arrangements in place - but SA flunks it.

Why?

supermcginn
30-03-2017, 03:11 PM
We are crying out for a player like him, the style of football is garbage and we don't create anywhere near enough chances, would take him back in an instant!

30-03-2017, 03:14 PM
We are crying out for a player like him, the style of football is garbage and we don't create anywhere near enough chances, would take him back in an instant!

We had 14 attempts on goal last night alone.

Other matches we've had over 20.

I'm not sure the problem is creating chances, to me it seems as though converting them is a weakness.

30-03-2017, 03:18 PM
We had 14 attempts on goal last night alone.

Other matches we've had over 20.

I'm not sure the problem is creating chances, to me it seems as though converting them is a weakness.

Not all chances created are the same. We need to creating chances with a high probability of being converted.

Passing the ball to a player who then shoots from 25 yards is technically 'creating a chance', however the probability of it being converted are slim.

TrinityHibs
30-03-2017, 03:18 PM
I would take him back. His performance against Newco in the 4-0 humiliation was one of the best individual performances I have seen.............only surpassed in recent times when Stokesy scored 2

30-03-2017, 03:20 PM
Not all chances created are the same. We need to creating chances with a high probability of being converted.

Passing the ball to a player who then shoots from 25 yards is technically 'creating a chance', however the probability of it being converted are slim.

I see your point but aside from 25-yard efforts, how many chances have we missed from inside the 18-yard box this season?

30-03-2017, 03:21 PM
20+ assists last time he was here, only 25. Yes please.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkDid he actually get 20+ assists? I find that quite hard to believe.

30-03-2017, 03:26 PM
Did he actually get 20+ assists? I find that quite hard to believe.

Bugger, now I'll need to check. I'm sure he did.

30-03-2017, 03:29 PM
Has a 4 year contract which still has 2 seasons to run.
Suspect he will sit tight unless Celtic pay him off.

30-03-2017, 03:34 PM
Did he actually get 20+ assists? I find that quite hard to believe.

17 assists + 3 goals.

HibernianJK
30-03-2017, 03:34 PM
Was it ever a secret that Allan had diabetes? I didn't think it was.

Sioux
30-03-2017, 03:36 PM

Not now

30-03-2017, 03:42 PM
He will fall into the small envelope of players I think are bawbags that play/played for us but will get my support if returned. We do not need to like everyone who plays for us.

30-03-2017, 03:45 PM
He may well be a prick but he's a talented one.

I'd take him back, we simply aren't in a position to turn down that kind of quality.

30-03-2017, 03:47 PM
Not now

Not when he played for us either.

DavidDavidGray
30-03-2017, 03:56 PM
Not a chance I'd want him back. Completely wrong attitude and not sure he's talented enough to get into our current team

30-03-2017, 03:57 PM
Yes please. I like Scott Allan as a footballer

30-03-2017, 03:58 PM
There is a question as to whether Allan's diabetes affects his performance, but I would imagine that every club he has played for will have been aware of his medical condition, in spite of that it has always been his attitude that managers have questioned not any inability to overcome the affects of diabetes.

I did think how well he did at Hibs was down to Stubbs, but then the same manager couldnt get the same reaction from him at a different club .............. I would take the Scott Allan from his previous time at Hibs in a second, but is that the real Scott Allan?

supermcginn
30-03-2017, 04:01 PM
Not a chance I'd want him back. Completely wrong attitude and not sure he's talented enough to get into our current team

Not talented enough haha that has to be a wind up?

30-03-2017, 04:06 PM
Would take him back in a heartbeat. We've noone in our current squad who can open a defence like he did. He may well be a prick, but I can't remember any of our current midfield taking apart a team like he did v the Huns in the 4-0 game. The type of player I'd pay to watch.

30-03-2017, 04:07 PM
No thanks...

30-03-2017, 04:10 PM

Exactly the opposite I think. I seem to recollect Scott Allan going round schools/hospitals informing kids about his diabetes and how it was possible for a professional football player to live with the disease.

30-03-2017, 04:12 PM
Exactly the opposite I think. I seem to recollect Scott Allan going round schools/hospitals informing kids about his diabetes and how it was possible for a professional football player to live with the disease.

Hibs also helped him with a specialist and gave him help with his diet and how to control it better.

30-03-2017, 04:19 PM
Hibs also helped him with a specialist and gave him help with his diet and how to control it better.

Could be we are a good fit for him.

30-03-2017, 04:25 PM
yes

He was quite open about his condition when he was with us and stated that it did not effect his football as it was under control.

I agree this is such a debilitating illness for the sufferers but he was quite adamant about this on more than one occasion.

He played Hibs over his departure and showed up in games when HE felt like playing. Other times he hid and contributed nothing to games.

He came out in the papers saying he would not leave Hibs and wanted to see out his contract and sign a new one for the next seasonn.

Then when Rangers "tapped" him we saw him in his true colours..... blue!

The continual is he going is he staying was really upsetting for the team and may have affected the dressing room.

He wanted away and he got his wish but not to the side of GLasgow he wished to join.

I wouldnt have him back in any way, if he is let go he will jump on the bus along to Ibrox where he belongs!

30-03-2017, 04:26 PM
Has a 4 year contract which still has 2 seasons to run.
Suspect he will sit tight unless Celtic pay him off.

I'd imagine this is likely the case and any discussion about accepting him back is hypothetical. If it could happen, I'd give him another chance.

edwards
30-03-2017, 04:36 PM
Would take him back as well plus Henderson plus griffiths if he is not wanted when the season comes to an end for John McGinn if we must lose him. And bring Garry mckay stevens as well. Now that would be a scoup. Oh and effe if he would consider us but think he is wanting down south.

Allan

Henderson

Griffiths

Stevens

Ambrose

30-03-2017, 04:40 PM
Would take him back as well plus Henderson plus griffiths if he is not wanted when the season comes to an end for John McGinn if we must lose him. And bring Garry mckay stevens as well. Now that would be a scoup. Oh and effe if he would consider us but think he is wanting down south.

Allan

Henderson

Griffiths

Stevens

Ambrose

How about Rooney tae, as he'll likely be away in the summer? :greengrin

30-03-2017, 04:40 PM

Allan

Henderson

Griffiths

Stevens

Ambrose

I would need to change my pants if they signed. I think we'll see some big signings in the summer.

30-03-2017, 04:56 PM
He will end up back at rangers

30-03-2017, 04:57 PM
Yes would take him back.

30-03-2017, 05:08 PM
He's a wee prick. Would I take him back in the team? 100%. He's exactly what we don't have going forward.

30-03-2017, 05:27 PM
I'm amazed that so many want him back.

Here is a player who constantly makes the wrong decisions, when it comes to his football career and couldn't give a dam who it impacts on.

He left Dundee United to pursue his dream / the money, when he should have focussed on playing football. He became a failure and played very few games.

He left Hibs to pursue the money - his preference was to join his boyhood idols and when that wasn't going to happen he joined his boyhood idol's most hated club. He became a failure and played even less games.

He's played 119 games in seven seasons, which is pretty poor when fit for most of it.

I've no doubt that with one decent season at Hibs, he would then be trying to get a sale to The Rangers. Hibs would be merely a stepping stone in his dream move.

30-03-2017, 05:32 PM
I'm amazed that so many want him back.

Here is a player who constantly makes the wrong decisions, when it comes to his football career and couldn't give a dam who it impacts on.

He left Dundee United to pursue his dream / the money, when he should have focussed on playing football. He became a failure and played very few games.

He left Hibs to pursue the money - his preference was to join his boyhood idols and when that wasn't going to happen he joined his boyhood idol's most hated club. He became a failure and played even less games.

He's played 119 games in seven seasons, which is pretty poor when fit for most of it.

I've no doubt that with one decent season at Hibs, he would then be trying to get a sale to The Rangers. Hibs would be merely a stepping stone in his dream move.

You're correct with all of that, but it goes for most modern day players. He could improve us, however. If he delivered on the pitch, it would be worth a go.

Slavers
30-03-2017, 05:33 PM
He's a wee prick. Would I take him back in the team? 100%. He's exactly what we don't have going forward.

I agree.

30-03-2017, 05:37 PM
Yes please

30-03-2017, 06:45 PM
Would definitely take him back but can't see it happening.
The type of player we needed badly last night

The Leith Dutch
30-03-2017, 07:09 PM
The best thing Allan could do (shoving Ian Black on his arse in that game against sevco aside) was pick a pass and it's one thing we badly need.
That said one of the problems we had was that teams knew that if they stopped Allan they were 3/4 of the way to stopping us scoring.

In some ways I'd prefer we had say 3 players who may not be quite as good as SA (at least on his day) to make us more difficult to play against by offering threat from different areas.

There's actually quite a short list of things that lead to goals - killer pass, ability to beat a man, shoot from distance, great crosser, great in the air and a predatory striker. I'd argue we only currently have one of those covered with any consistency and that's Cummings as a predatory striker.

That's not to disrespect McGinn or McGeough who are both skilled footballers but neither look like scoring often or providing a lot of assists.

30-03-2017, 07:10 PM
He's clearly not going to play at Celtic but I also can't see many clubs willing to take him off Celtic's hands and pay him the money he is currently getting.

That to me would suggest a loan deal and I think he is finished in England and realistically the only two clubs in Scotland he could be loaned to are us or Aberdeen.

He is a great player undoubtedly, I would take him back but I can see why some might be against it.

30-03-2017, 07:15 PM
Football fans are a fickle bunch. Even those that don't want him will soon forgive him after he has a good game or two.

I think he's class and the more class players the better, my only concern is I don't think he fits into many positions so we tend to shoehorn him into the team.

Not convinced he's a Neil Lennon type of player though.

30-03-2017, 07:19 PM
Football fans are a fickle bunch. Even those that don't want him will soon forgive him after he has a good game or two.

I think he's class and the more class players the better, my only concern is I don't think he fits into many positions so we tend to shoehorn him into the team.

Not convinced he's a Neil Lennon type of player though.

:agree: You only need to look at the Efe Ambrose thread, to see just how wrong some folk can be. Some of the comments are a hoot. :greengrin

30-03-2017, 07:39 PM
How about Rooney tae, as he'll likely be away in the summer? :greengrin

Well he did make his Everton debut against Hibs

30-03-2017, 07:41 PM
Scott Allan not doing well at Rotherham doesn't surprise me.

He is a brilliant player imo but Rotherham are a very poor, skint football team for the championship.

Their squad simply cannot compete and will need workhorses and very disciplined players to try grind out results every week. Not Scott's strong point.

Scott would get a game for anyone in Scotland bar Celtic and if the opportunity was given to us we should snap him up on a long contract.

He seemed to of improved his goal scoring before he left also as Stubbs said he had to develop that side and shoot more.

I was a massive fan of him and would 100% back him.

30-03-2017, 07:44 PM
I'd take him back but I have a funny feeling he may go across the city.

30-03-2017, 07:51 PM
Nah **** him

The Leith Dutch
30-03-2017, 08:12 PM

That'll make for a delightful atmosphere at his first Edinburgh derby back......

StevieCowan
30-03-2017, 08:25 PM
If we sell McGinn in the summer then Scott Allan, Liam Henderson, McGeough and Bartley would be an improvement on what we have.

30-03-2017, 08:27 PM

That'll make for a delightful atmosphere at his first Edinburgh derby back......

I read this as him going over the city of Glasgow to Sevco.

I think that's exactly what will happen and I don't think Celtic will give two hoots about him crossing over the city because he's not remotely good enough for them over the course of a season. I would be indifferent about him coming back to us but I wouldn't argue about having him as a squad player coming on for cameo roles.

30-03-2017, 08:36 PM
Well he did make his Everton debut against Hibs

No he never did, not sure when he first appeared for the first team that summer in friendlies but it wasn't against Hibs. Had already played before the 2-2 draw at Easter Road.

30-03-2017, 09:03 PM

In the immortal words of John McEnroe, you cannot be serious

yonder1875
30-03-2017, 09:07 PM
Anyone saying that they wouldn't take him are surely at it.

30-03-2017, 09:26 PM
I've been type 1 since very young and ultimately gave up playing at a decent level because I just couldn't hack it. It affects every single aspect of your life. Scott will need to find a manager and a club that understand and give him a bit of slack. It can be done through sheer bloody mindedness, Gary Mabbutt for example.

If he came back he would automatically become the best football player at the club, such are his talents. Just wish he was a bit more determined and consistent.

30-03-2017, 09:30 PM
Anyone saying that they wouldn't take him are surely at it.

Why? It's okay reminiscing about his previous time here but the fact is he's done **** all since he left, why is that? This superb player that everyone rates is rated on memories not current form, IF he can reproduce that form then maybe worth a gamble but can he?

Wellbankhibby
30-03-2017, 09:31 PM
I would be interested to know what percentage of fans would want Scott back its 100% yes from me.
I can't believe the number of fans on this site who don't want him back. We would be stupid to dismiss any good player who becomes available. We are top of the league at present and hopefully we will have enough to get promotion but our club put us through agony at times. Please remember the league is not a formality yet twists and turns to come. We can't afford Not to take him back if he wants to play for us. :flag:

30-03-2017, 09:42 PM
Allan has had one good season in his entire career. People want him back because that was with us in a lower league, but don't want to admit that he has been poor everywhere else after initially breaking through at Dundee United and don't want reminded how he left us.

30-03-2017, 09:51 PM
There is nothing to suggest that he would be the decent player he was for us for one season two years ago. Since he left us, not good enough for Celtic and not good enough for Rotherham. I have loads of sympathy for anyone with an illness like diabetes but a quick google search finds quite a few top level sports people who have diabetes. I think it's more likely a combination of illness and poor attitude that has prevented him being a success

The Leith Dutch
30-03-2017, 09:54 PM
I would be interested to know what percentage of fans would want Scott back its 100% yes from me.
I can't believe the number of fans on this site who don't want him back. We would be stupid to dismiss any good player who becomes available. We are top of the league at present and hopefully we will have enough to get promotion but our club put us through agony at times. Please remember the league is not a formality yet twists and turns to come. We can't afford Not to take him back if he wants to play for us. :flag:

Bit in bold is crucial.

He indicated very clearly he didn't want to play for us when Sevco came in and we were lucky that it was *very* well managed by the club - we didn't sell to a rival, got a decent deal and some decent players and Allan's career stalled badly.
That kind of incident can severely unbalance a club.

I think there's a legitimate worry that it could repeat itself and, if not managed as well, could have a massive negative impact on the team.

Also, was wondering about appearances and I thought it was bad but didn't realise how bad:
97 league games in 8 seasons with the only decent runs for a team being 33 for us and 24 for Portsmouth back in 2011-2013.

You could argue attitude, you could argue Diabetes issues but him playing an extended run of games for a team and performing at a high level is clearly the exception and not the rule.

30-03-2017, 09:58 PM
Yes yes yes yes yes

30-03-2017, 10:03 PM
He's a an absolute welt of a man. There was no need to act the way he did after just one year of playing regular football.

As a player I'd take him in a second but I still think he's had his chance to get the honour of playing for Hibs and he chucked it back at us.

30-03-2017, 10:27 PM

Eh, maybe that's because there's quite a number of fans who don't want him back. Just because you want him back doesn't mean that you are right and those that don't want him are wrong.

30-03-2017, 10:33 PM
Good player with what seems like a terrible attitude. He showed what he thinks of us the last time, no from me.

30-03-2017, 10:35 PM
Bit in bold is crucial.

He indicated very clearly he didn't want to play for us when Sevco came in and we were lucky that it was *very* well managed by the club - we didn't sell to a rival, got a decent deal and some decent players and Allan's career stalled badly.
That kind of incident can severely unbalance a club.

I think there's a legitimate worry that it could repeat itself and, if not managed as well, could have a massive negative impact on the team.

Also, was wondering about appearances and I thought it was bad but didn't realise how bad:
97 league games in 8 seasons with the only decent runs for a team being 33 for us and 24 for Portsmouth back in 2011-2013.

You could argue attitude, you could argue Diabetes issues but him playing an extended run of games for a team and performing at a high level is clearly the exception and not the rule.

Whichever way you cut it, his stats don't look good.

At the same time we have Dylan who some want rid because he's not played enough games the past two seasons.

IMO when SA and DM played together, DM was forced to do the defensive stuff because SA only does the glamorous stuff. Alongside SJM or Marv DM can play a different game.

Don't get me wrong, SA has plenty of talent. But given the choice I'd much rather keep faith with the guy who's still with us.

EVENTUALLY
30-03-2017, 10:36 PM
Latapy, Riordan, Zamamma are the most naturally talented players to have turned out for Hibs in the last 20 years or so. Scott Allan was the latest one and was a joy to watch. As a supporter for over 50 odd years I watch Hibs habitually and will be turning up at Easter Road until my dying day. As a supporter I enjoy watching all our players but as a spectator I really love watching the talented ball players who make a difference.
I would absolutely love to see SA back at Easter Road and I would be concerned if he wasn't with us where would he be......Levein is a huge admirer. I'd rather he was in our team pissing on them than in theirs pissing on us.

coco22
30-03-2017, 10:39 PM
He's a an absolute welt of a man. There was no need to act the way he did after just one year of playing regular football.

As a player I'd take him in a second but I still think he's had his chance to get the honour of playing for Hibs and he chucked it back at us.

Totally. Hun roaster who opted for the opposite side. Great player, natural and raw talent but he's pssst on his chips here. Wd it be similar to Sparky actively pushing for a move here then going Jambo? Perhaps not but the guy is clearly not worth it

31-03-2017, 05:20 AM

Based on the performances the other night he'd be in my team and anyone's expense including SJM

31-03-2017, 05:44 AM
If we could get back the player we lost - yes. I'm not certain that it would be the same player who came back. A player loses a lot psychologically when he spends so much of his prime years not playing football. If Lenny was convinced he still had in, then all good with me

Enough said
31-03-2017, 05:48 AM
Latapy, Riordan, Zamamma are the most naturally talented players to have turned out for Hibs in the last 20 years or so. Scott Allan was the latest one and was a joy to watch. As a supporter for over 50 odd years I watch Hibs habitually and will be turning up at Easter Road until my dying day. As a supporter I enjoy watching all our players but as a spectator I really love watching the talented ball players who make a difference.
I would absolutely love to see SA back at Easter Road and I would be concerned if he wasn't with us where would he be......Levein is a huge admirer. I'd rather he was in our team pissing on them than in theirs pissing on us.

Can't believe you haven't got boozy in there

31-03-2017, 06:18 AM

Or Franck

TheMentalHibees
31-03-2017, 07:19 AM
Undoubtedly a player of ability but is it really a good message to send that you can treat the club like utter ***** and still be welcomed back with open arms?

31-03-2017, 07:35 AM
Its a yes from me

Juice-Terry
31-03-2017, 07:38 AM
Undoubtedly a player of ability but is it really a good message to send that you can treat the club like utter ***** and still be welcomed back with open arms?

An excellent point, well made.

31-03-2017, 07:45 AM
After the way we spoiled his career and then assaulted his mates at the Cup Final he would never sign for an enemy of the team he supports anyway.

Wait a minute......

31-03-2017, 08:00 AM
If Scott Allan didn't have the flaws in his character I very much doubt we would have the opportunity to sign him in today's market. He's a quality footballer and to me it's a no brainer

31-03-2017, 08:23 AM
An excellent point, well made.

Indeed. Love to see it mind as I'm sure Neil will take no nonsense from him. Think it's all paper talk mind you. It's going to be one hell of summer for transfer speculation.

31-03-2017, 08:27 AM

Nail on the head still for me, don't want him back playing for Hibs and hope his career rots in the lower divisions with his attitude issues and the way he treated the club that gave him a platform to perform on, which he threw back in our face the first chance he got...

31-03-2017, 08:41 AM
Nail on the head still for me, don't want him back playing for Hibs and hope his career rots in the lower divisions with his attitude issues and the way he treated the club that gave him a platform to perform on, which he threw back in our face the first chance he got...

Was his behaviour worse than Kevin Thomson's?

wills
31-03-2017, 09:13 AM
There's no doubt that SA has some qualities as a football player, but my view is that he has no common sense and is being poorly managed by his agent and any other advisor. Get shot of his agent and advisor then he might get his career back on track hopefully with Hibs

31-03-2017, 09:18 AM

Good point. Thompson had a complete breakdown in his relationship with his manager. Most if us would want to move on if this happened to us in our jobs. He came back and played for free. No doubting his love for our club and any sensible person forgives him for leaving first time.
Allan was tapped up by his boyhood club (Rangers behaved appallingly) and I would certainly forgive him too if he came back committed.
To be honest I cannot recollect him ever badmouthing the club or lacking effort when here.
Come back Scott. Would love to watch him play again.

31-03-2017, 09:35 AM
Magnificent footballer. But the way he conducted himself was out of order. No thanks

31-03-2017, 09:46 AM
Good point. Thompson had a complete breakdown in his relationship with his manager. Most if us would want to move on if this happened to us in our jobs. He came back and played for free. No doubting his love for our club and any sensible person forgives him for leaving first time.
Allan was tapped up by his boyhood club (Rangers behaved appallingly) and I would certainly forgive him too if he came back committed.
To be honest I cannot recollect him ever badmouthing the club or lacking effort when here.
Come back Scott. Would love to watch him play again.

I'm sure sa has been at all times led by his agent and has taken his advice and clearly he has made the wrong choices and I can live with that. What I cant accept is a player of his talent not applying himself and not getting in a horrible Rotherham team. Maybe he has a fitness issue and his diabetes problem is worse than we have been told but surely he can be fitted into a hibs team with Bartley,sjm.fyfie and mcgeoch. I loved watching him when he was in the mood but not all fans appreciated him. Watch the 4-0 against sevco and his passing without breaking stride was superb. Latapy at his best. I remember him hitting a 40yard pass to sir davids feet and the guy beside said what the ff was that Allan. As gifted as a player I've seen since latapy and sauzee. Even if we get half a season out of him it will get bums on seats at er. Plus he knows the setup and a good few of the players.we shall see. He's no doubt made good money so I don't think wages are an issue.

31-03-2017, 10:18 AM

Yes it was for me. Thompson had been here a wee while, had ambitions to move on and no he didn't do that in a nice way and I am not particularly a big fan of him as a result.

Allan took it to a different level. He had hardly played any football, we gave him an opportunity. We also looked after his illness really well and got him very fit. He had only been here a year and only had one left to go. He knew Rangers were a big rival and he knew the implications for the club who had helped him would not be great if we failed to get promoted. The way he approached it in those circumstances was worse than I've seen from any Hibs player before him.

31-03-2017, 10:24 AM
Based on the performances the other night he'd be in my team and anyone's expense including SJM

What about based on his performances for Rotherham?

31-03-2017, 10:34 AM

For many that doesn't seem to matter,I have no idea why.

famousfife
31-03-2017, 10:37 AM
The boy had his head screwed by the Huns! Another great Scottish talent ruined by the Glasgow clubs. Would definitely have him back

31-03-2017, 10:59 AM

For many that doesn't seem to matter,I have no idea why.

I don't think he is even making the bench in a very, very poor side. I don't know to what extent his health has affected his career progress, and I sympathise with him, but the bottom line has to be what he can offer consistently on the pitch. There has to be a huge question mark there.

31-03-2017, 11:16 AM
The boy had his head screwed by the Huns! Another great Scottish talent ruined by the Glasgow clubs. Would definitely have him back

Goes back before that .. his agent at the Arabs is the cause of his demise IMHO. Fabulous footballer..

GreenOnions
31-03-2017, 11:24 AM

I agree. There used to be a poster on year when Beuzelin played for us who didn't rate him and called him "Le Myth" :crazy:

31-03-2017, 11:33 AM
The Rangers and Scott Allan deserve each other.

31-03-2017, 11:44 AM
Wouldn't touch Scott Allan - his current situation is entirely down to his 'character' - we all know how he can play, HE knows how he can play and if he can't apply himself enought to play himself into that Celtic-team - the Scott Allan at Hibs would walk into their team -then that shows, for me, that psychologically, he's done. He just doesn't have the mental make-up to make a success of his career. Plus he's a out-and-out Hun who didn't mind in the slightest about helping them in their attempt to unsettle us. How quickly he forgot the huge debt he owed Alan Stubbs and Hibs for resurrecting his career when those s**m came calling !. Football-wise - yes, he's a very good player but the last thing we need is a player with his 'character' at ER in case he passes on some of his 'traits' onto the younger, more impressionable players.

31-03-2017, 12:49 PM
Wouldn't touch Scott Allan - his current situation is entirely down to his 'character' - we all know how he can play, HE knows how he can play and if he can't apply himself enought to play himself into that Celtic-team - the Scott Allan at Hibs would walk into their team -then that shows, for me, that psychologically, he's done. He just doesn't have the mental make-up to make a success of his career. Plus he's a out-and-out Hun who didn't mind in the slightest about helping them in their attempt to unsettle us. How quickly he forgot the huge debt he owed Alan Stubbs and Hibs for resurrecting his career when those s**m came calling !. Football-wise - yes, he's a very good player but the last thing we need is a player with his 'character' at ER in case he passes on some of his 'traits' onto the younger, more impressionable players.

Bit in bold I don't see what he did that was so wrong. He said he was happy to stay with us until the team he had supported all his life made it known they wanted him. A bigger salary and the chance to play for his boyhood team alongside his best mate. Yeah it was the Huns who were our biggest rival, but I can't blame him for wanting to move. I don't think he owed us anything. Hibs gave him a chance, he returned that by being the best player in the league. Even when all the crap surrounding his move was going on the few games he did play for us he was still excellent. There is almost no loyalty in football these days, Scott Allan is no different from most players.

It is a big if, but if we can get back the Scott Allan who played for us the first time I think we'd be mad not to go for him.

31-03-2017, 01:07 PM
I agree. There used to be a poster on year when Beuzelin played for us who didn't rate him and called him "Le Myth" :crazy:

There wasn't just one, Boozy actually got quite a lot of criticism on here for not doing more, not tacking enough, not scoring enough goals etc.

There didn't seem to be that many at the time that actually could see what he brought in just taking the ball in and moving it on. The acceptance of his ability and value to the team seems to have increased as the years have gone on. I was pretty much in a minority on here in defending him.

31-03-2017, 01:15 PM
There wasn't just one, Boozy actually got quite a lot of criticism on here for not doing more, not tacking enough, not scoring enough goals etc.

There didn't seem to be that many at the time that actually could see what he brought in just taking the ball in and moving it on. The acceptance of his ability and value to the team seems to have increased as the years have gone on. I was pretty much in a minority on here in defending him.

Hibs.net FACT!

Fair to say that some people did criticise Boozy.

But plenty of us know a quality player when we see one.

31-03-2017, 02:49 PM
The Scott Allan of now is one that hardly played for Celtic has gone to a pretty dire club down south and cannot establish himself there either. If folk think that is what will push us on in top flight then fine. I will stick with McGinn and if he was to go then happy to see if NL can bring in somebody fresh for us that perhaps our budget and staus of late hasnt been as appealing.

The Leith Dutch
31-03-2017, 03:02 PM
I don't think he is even making the bench in a very, very poor side. I don't know to what extent his health has affected his career progress, and I sympathise with him, but the bottom line has to be what he can offer consistently on the pitch. There has to be a huge question mark there.

This is the bit that's bang on for me.

Whether his inconsistency is attitude or illness makes a difference in how we might judge him but it's irrelevant in terms of whether we should sign him. That's about what we think we'll get out of him. McGeough is a class player but he's only been on the pitch for half of our league games. Most of the evidence - illness, fitness, attitude and history with his various clubs - points to Scott Allan not delivering consistently.