View Full Version : Scotland v Slovenia

26-03-2017, 05:44 PM
Why on earth is this game on a Sunday evening! If we had to play on a Sunday it could have been an earlier kick off surely, guessing it is UEFA rules.

Will surely knock off a good few thousand from the crowd.

Anyway going for a dull 0-0

26-03-2017, 05:45 PM
Tierney starts at RIGHT back according to BBC??

Scotland: Gordon, Tierney, R Martin, Mulgrew, Robertson, Brown (capt), Morrison, Forrest, Armstrong, Snodgrass, Griffiths.

Where Mcginn? :greengrin

26-03-2017, 05:46 PM
Starting 11 announced
Gordon
Tierney Mulgrew R Martin Robertson
Forrest Brown Morrison
Snodgrass Armstrong
Griffiths

McGinn on the bench
Is this the team to get 3 precious points tonight!

26-03-2017, 05:47 PM
Can admins please merge

26-03-2017, 05:48 PM
Scotland 2-1

26-03-2017, 05:49 PM
Tierney starts at RIGHT back according to BBC??

Scotland: Gordon, Tierney, R Martin, Mulgrew, Robertson, Brown (capt), Morrison, Forrest, Armstrong, Snodgrass, Griffiths.

Where Mcginn? :greengrin
They must be playing Tierney on the right and Robertson on the left, that's what I'm guessing anyway. Never seen Tierney playing down the right mind you.

26-03-2017, 05:49 PM
mon sconnie botland :saltireflag

26-03-2017, 05:51 PM
Starting 11 announced
Gordon
Tierney Mulgrew R Martin Robertson
Forrest Brown Morrison
Snodgrass Armstrong
Griffiths

McGinn on the bench
Is this the team to get 3 precious points tonight!

I'm glad the two Fletcher's aren't in the starting XI. I would like to have seen Anya start but here's hoping we don't concede the first goal or it could be awkward.

guthrie01
26-03-2017, 05:53 PM
Actually a decent team picked for once. Shame it's too little too late :rolleyes:

26-03-2017, 05:56 PM
Actually a decent team picked for once. Shame it's too little too late :rolleyes:

Win this and its not too late. Win tonight and worse case scenario we'll be 2 points off 2nd.

Scotland 2-1

Good start. How long left?

I will happily wave good bye to Strachan if we lose.

26-03-2017, 05:58 PM
Buzzing for glorious failure #371958294. Is a decent team though to be fair. This is literally our last last chance.

26-03-2017, 06:34 PM
I will happily wave good bye to Strachan if we lose.

He should be away already.

26-03-2017, 06:42 PM
I don't have much time for Forrest, otherwise WGS is pishing with the best cocks he's got.

26-03-2017, 06:43 PM
McGrain used to get played on the left to allow Jardine to play on the right and was half the player he was in his proper position.Managers should have the guts to play the player they think is best rather than shoehorn them both in.Last season Griffiths was scoring goals for fun and hardly got a look in.Now he can't get in the Celtic team and is first choice.Real joined up thinking.

26-03-2017, 06:51 PM
Rhodes should have been in for Snodgrass imo .
Mon Scotland

26-03-2017, 06:52 PM
"Snodgrass delivers"

Excuse me thats copyrighted.

vanNISHtelroy
26-03-2017, 06:58 PM
They must be playing Tierney on the right and Robertson on the left, that's what I'm guessing anyway. Never seen Tierney playing down the right mind you.

Think he was in one of the papers saying he would play right back for Celtic or Scotland as long as he was playing, and that he used to have to do it at youth level

26-03-2017, 07:10 PM
I genuinely can't believe that there's 6 celtic players in that team and there's players from the English Premiership and top of the championship on the bench!!!

Bannan, Anya, Rhodes, Fletcher and probably Ritchie are all playing at a far higher level

26-03-2017, 07:16 PM
I genuinely can't believe that there's 6 celtic players in that team and there's players from the English Premiership and top of the championship on the bench!!!

Bannan, Anya, Rhodes, Fletcher and probably Ritchie are all playing at a far higher level

Doesn't necessarily mean they are better players or would make the team better though.

Out of those mentioned, it's only Anya I'd be that bothered about starting instead.

26-03-2017, 07:16 PM
Good to see a ref nip the time wasting by Slovenia in the bud. We see teams get away with it every game at ER.

26-03-2017, 07:20 PM

The majority of them are playing in arguably the most overrated league in the world IMO, the English Championship. Full of big teams that used to be good at some point in the past. Really don't think we can complain about the Celtic players playing given their form.

How does James Forrest get near the Scotland team? I can't think I've ever saw him play well.

Ref's a homer.

26-03-2017, 07:22 PM
Ref's a homer.

Careful...the PC group will be calling you out as a homerphobic

;)

26-03-2017, 07:24 PM
Griffiths hits the bar!

26-03-2017, 07:25 PM
Sparky has to score that

26-03-2017, 07:25 PM
aw ffs sparky man wtf

and now the freakin post

18Hibee75
26-03-2017, 07:26 PM
Moan Sparky Arghhhh

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

26-03-2017, 07:29 PM
Now he's hit the post,great effort.

26-03-2017, 07:30 PM
Bar post and off the line in about two minutes ffs.

26-03-2017, 07:31 PM
Backed sparky for first goal, figures..

26-03-2017, 07:34 PM
keep this up and the goal shall come :)

26-03-2017, 07:34 PM

Aye. For Slovenia.

26-03-2017, 07:35 PM
that knee in the back was deliberate...****T

26-03-2017, 07:35 PM

This sounds a familiar refrain...

26-03-2017, 07:36 PM
All those missed chances could come back to haunt us

26-03-2017, 07:37 PM
Played ok in the first half but Sparky should have scored when he hit the bar.

26-03-2017, 07:38 PM
Replace the word Scotland with Hibs and you have standard hibs match day thread 😁

26-03-2017, 07:42 PM
Replace the word Scotland with Hibs and you have standard hibs match day thread 😁

Aye this is an absolute carbon copy of the last hibs v Slovenia match day thread :greengrin

26-03-2017, 07:43 PM
Aye this is an absolute carbon copy of the last hibs v Slovenia match day thread :greengrin

Shurrup 😂

26-03-2017, 07:47 PM
It is quite like a Hibs performance of recent. Should be one or two up and somehow go in level. Leigh's chance hitting the bar was a shocker.

26-03-2017, 07:49 PM

Keatings is having a mare. Really needs to be taken off:duck:

26-03-2017, 07:49 PM
It is quite like a Hibs performance of recent. Should be one or two up and somehow go in level. Leigh's chance hitting the bar was a shocker.

He was bloody unlucky with his effort that hit the post though.

Thought Scotland played pretty well in that half. No mugs Slovenia.

26-03-2017, 07:51 PM
N.Ireland 2 up against Norway at half time is a great effort.

xyz23jc
26-03-2017, 07:52 PM
He was bloody unlucky with his effort that hit the post though.

Thought Scotland played pretty well in that half. No mugs Slovenia.

Slovenia look gash to be honest! Should be outta sight by now! SJM on second half....Hopefully! :agree:

26-03-2017, 07:53 PM

Pretty standard for the nordies these days. It'll take a much better side than Norway to beat them at Windsor park.

26-03-2017, 07:54 PM
Pointless Griffiths coming out for second half.Daft decision.

26-03-2017, 07:55 PM
Was it just me that thinks we should have had a penalty? Anywhere else and its a foul and a booking probably

26-03-2017, 07:55 PM
sparky not able to continue due to that deliberate knee in the back from that keeper Grrrr

26-03-2017, 07:56 PM

Norn iron, Wales, Iceland successes just show what can be achieved by well organised small countries on the world stage. Even the Faroese have more points than us!

18Hibee75
26-03-2017, 07:56 PM
F*** off Oxley!

26-03-2017, 08:00 PM
Scotland's defenders getting in each other's way.

26-03-2017, 08:02 PM
We are Scotland
We are good
We have Malta on the run

26-03-2017, 08:04 PM
As a matter of interest as an English Hibee, with "fond" memories of Wembley invasions in the70s etc, when did the Saltire regain its supremecy over the rampant lion? In England it was around Euro 96 when the English public suddenly woke up to the fact that their flag was the the flag of St George and not the union flag, what about Scotland and the see change back to the saltire?

26-03-2017, 08:07 PM
F*** off Oxley!

???

SJNB Hibby
26-03-2017, 08:08 PM
As a matter of interest as an English Hibee, with "fond" memories of Wembley invasions in the70s etc, when did the Saltire regain its supremecy over the rampant lion? In England it was around Euro 96 when the English public suddenly woke up to the fact that their flag was the the flag of St George and not the union flag, what about Scotland and the see change back to the saltire?

Braveheart was out in 1996?

SJNB Hibby
26-03-2017, 08:09 PM
???
Whooosh!! This thread has been ambushed by the Hibs matchday thead

To deliver...
26-03-2017, 08:11 PM
Houstons tactics rubbing off on Slovenia. Dirty bar stewards.

26-03-2017, 08:13 PM
Huffing and puffing against an utterly garbage Slovenian side.

26-03-2017, 08:14 PM
Not really made the keeper work to hard this half.

Snodgrass and Robertson have been wasteful.

26-03-2017, 08:15 PM
Whether Scotland win tonight or not we have absolutely no chance of qualifying.

England will hammer us in the next game and Slovenia will beat us when we have to travel over there.

Yeah dropped off a bit this half but Scotland still the most likely IMO.

EH6 Hibby
Houstons tactics rubbing off on Slovenia. Dirty bar stewards.

I think anyone of their players already on a booking is trying to get booked because they have Malta next.

We are so toothless.

26-03-2017, 08:16 PM
offside from a throw-in how amateur

26-03-2017, 08:18 PM

Uhh

26-03-2017, 08:19 PM
Punt strachan if you want. We're ganting regardless.

26-03-2017, 08:20 PM

Don't think you can be offside from a throw in.

Uhh

uhh what :confused: we were given offside when our own player gave it back to our other player that took the throw-in...amateur

It's fast turning in to a snore fest. The team has run out of ideas.

26-03-2017, 08:21 PM

The Saltire is the only national flag of Scotland, the Rampant Lion was a Heraldic flag/banner used by Scottish Sovereigns.

26-03-2017, 08:22 PM
This is like watching Hibs at times, all huff and puff and no one able to score.

26-03-2017, 08:22 PM
Don't think you can be offside from a throw in.

the player that took the throw-in was offside when the other scotland player passed it back to him

SJNB Hibby
26-03-2017, 08:23 PM
"The hosts are floating in far too many nothing crosses from deep areas and Jan Oblak is just gobbling everything up. It's far too easy for the Atletico Madrid keeper."

They've got a player who's played in 2 of the last 3 ECL Finals, do we have anybody who played beyond the Group stages in the last 10 years?

OxoHibby
26-03-2017, 08:24 PM
Was just about to post get snodgrass to and then he is hooked for Anya. Maybe gogs does know what he is doing

😀

The Saltire is the only national flag of Scotland, the Rampant Lion was a Heraldic flag/banner used by Scottish Sovereigns.

Yeah I know that but wanted to know when the rampant lion changed from being the predominant flag of choice as it was in the 70s and early 80s to the saltire as it is now and if there was any reason behind it? As I posted earlier England alway marched under the union flag until around the mid 90s when they suddenly woke up th the fact that the national flag of England wasnt the union flag.

just over 20,000 :(

26-03-2017, 08:25 PM
martin coming on...nae luck sjm :(

26-03-2017, 08:25 PM
"The hosts are floating in far too many nothing crosses from deep areas and Jan Oblak is just gobbling everything up. It's far too easy for the Atletico Madrid keeper."

They've got a player who's played in 2 of the last 3 ECL Finals, do we have anybody who played beyond the Group stages in the last 10 years?

Charlie Mulgrew. Maybe james forest? Darren Fletcher on the bench.

Edit - Scott brown too.

26-03-2017, 08:26 PM
Charlie Mulgrew. Maybe james forest? Darren Fletcher on the bench.

Scott Brown too?

26-03-2017, 08:26 PM
So SJM misses our biggest game of the season for nothing. Just shows how big an arse Strachan is

26-03-2017, 08:27 PM
Scott Brown too?

See my edit :greengrin

26-03-2017, 08:27 PM
So SJM misses our biggest game of the season for nothing. Just shows how big an arse Strachan is
We won and SJM gets a rest. Worked out fine.

OxoHibby
26-03-2017, 08:28 PM
martin coming on...nae luck sjm :(

We're all saved. Sjm not even on bench

Argylehibby
We need to win yet we leave Brown on who hasn't made one forward pass all night and take off Morrison who at least is going forward when he gets the ball.

Time to bin anyone in that squad over the age iof 30 and start again.

Argylehibby
We're all saved. Sjm not even on bench

Yes he was.

26-03-2017, 08:29 PM
Martin getting booed onto the pitch there?

26-03-2017, 08:29 PM
Naismith has been honking

26-03-2017, 08:31 PM
We won and SJM gets a rest. Worked out fine.

👍

that's a shocking pass from broonaldo

swin1875
Tierney is a great player

Ffs that was dreadful.

Is McGinn on the bench?

26-03-2017, 08:32 PM
Yeah I know that but wanted to know when the rampant lion changed from being the predominant flag of choice as it was in the 70s and early 80s to the saltire as it is now and if there was any reason behind it? As I posted earlier England alway marched under the union flag until around the mid 90s when they suddenly woke up th the fact that the national flag of England wasnt the union flag.

TBH I can't recall, both used to be flown regularly but the Saltire became more common, there may have been a problem with the Lion Rampant and heraldry, so the Saltire was the one to use.

Off the bar
Pish. Utter.

Ffs that was dreadful.

Is McGinn on the bench?

Yeah he was

To deliver...
Tierney gets pass marks, unsure about the rest of them.

Worked out well though. We beat Falkirk and Super John got a rest and will be fresh for Wednesday. :wink:

Rhodes warming the bench. Strachan moans about limited players. Then doesn't play arguably his strongest ones. I know folk love laying into Scotland but we are far, far better than recent managers have had us play.

26-03-2017, 08:34 PM
YASSSSSSSSSSS super sub martin :greengrin

26-03-2017, 08:35 PM
Martin scores after getting booed when he comes on

Yaaaas!!!

Boo

Off the bar
Cmon Scotland, well done Martin

Best player on the park Armstrong threads in the killer pass, he's some player.

26-03-2017, 08:36 PM
I think Scotland have been decent tonight.

26-03-2017, 08:36 PM
Good finish (well arent all finishes that result in a goal).

Told yer Scotland would win......brought to you by faith from south of the border. :greengrin

26-03-2017, 08:37 PM

i think the booing was maybe because morrison was getting taken off

26-03-2017, 08:38 PM
Martin scores after getting booed when he comes on

Thought I heard that, why are they booing? Good response him.

Brutal second half but don't care if we hold on

Edit - saw it was because Morrison was coming off. Doesn't make a lot of sense because we needed an extra striker in the pitch

Best player on the park Armstrong threads in the killer pass, he's some player.

Armstrong was head and shiulders Scotlands best player in the first half. Wasnt as quite on the boil in the second but youre right hes more than decent.

I was feeling a bit sorry for them as they were trying their guts out and getting sod all luck. Well done.

26-03-2017, 08:39 PM
Was that the angry hun from the trophy presentation stood next to Leigh?

'Cheating is in their DNA'. Willie Miller on Slovenians. Hmmm.

18Hibee75
Sure that's changed now!

18Hibee75
26-03-2017, 08:41 PM
I seldom go to Scotland games anymore but fancy game against England at hampden, how do I get tickets for this online? And how likely am I too get one

26-03-2017, 08:42 PM
Good result and performance.

26-03-2017, 08:43 PM
I think Scotland have been decent tonight.

Easily deserved to win that. Some folk would rather moan though.

xyz23jc
26-03-2017, 08:44 PM

To be fair he says that about anyone not from Aberdeen!:greengrin

26-03-2017, 08:44 PM
Beat England and it's game on

26-03-2017, 08:45 PM
Actually thought Scotland looked quite decent in the parts of the game I saw (which wasn't a lot tbf). Keeper won't want to see that goal again but Martin has hit the target and there's always a chance you'll get a bit luck.

26-03-2017, 08:45 PM
I think the pitch had a wee hand in that goal there. Mon the divot.😂😂

26-03-2017, 08:46 PM

Xenophobic clown

26-03-2017, 08:48 PM
Usual struggle for Scotland but I'm happy they've won. We need to ditch most of those players though. Only ones I'd keep are the keeper, the two full backs, Armstrong and Griffiths. Build a team around them and get rid of the deadwood

26-03-2017, 08:49 PM

Dinosaur

26-03-2017, 08:50 PM
Beat England and it's game on

It is. Let's hope they do it

26-03-2017, 08:51 PM

They were putting in some bad challenges and looked like a dirty and niggly team.

26-03-2017, 08:51 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39400842 the Dutch ain't hanging about

The Netherlands have sacked head coach Danny Blind after two years in charge.
It follows a 2-0 defeat to Bulgaria (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39380244) on Saturday that leaves the Netherlands fourth in their World Cup qualifying group at the halfway stage.

26-03-2017, 08:53 PM

That's shocking. Maybe think it but don't say it on air.

We got the result that we deserved. Slovenia looked like they would have settled for a point and didn't look that great apart from a couple of efforts in the first half.

Well done Scotland.

26-03-2017, 08:56 PM
Here we go, 2 in a row

26-03-2017, 08:57 PM
Usual struggle for Scotland but I'm happy they've won. We need to ditch most of those players though. Only ones I'd keep are the keeper, the two full backs, Armstrong and Griffiths. Build a team around them and get rid of the deadwood

Great win but we'll never qualify or indeed progress until we develop a clutch of really good central defenders. Away from home we'll be found out at the back JB - as much as there's a clammer for Daz to get a call he's nowhere near international level. That said, neither are Hanley, Berra, or Martin !!

Sorry to **** on folks sugar puffs but Scotland are not going to qualify from this group due to lack of real defensive quality.

26-03-2017, 09:10 PM
Great win but we'll never qualify or indeed progress until we develop a clutch of really good central defenders. Away from home we'll be found out at the back JB - as much as there's a clammer for Daz to get a call he's nowhere near international level. That said, neither are Hanley, Berra, or Martin !!

Sorry to **** on folks sugar puffs but Scotland are not going to qualify from this group due to lack of real defensive quality.

I would tend to agree with you but the defence looked pretty solid tonight.

It's not ideal having Tierney on the right but he put in a great shift.

Robertson is an excellent player.

The centre-halves did well and the other home nations have shown that you don't necessarily have to have the highest pedigree players to get a stuffy team together. Our centre-halves are poor but it's fair to say they've punched below their weight for some time. It was good to see Grant Hanley nowhere near the team.

I liked that he had a big core of Celtic players in the side, players who are confident, playing well and know each other games. Much better that than a host of Championship nobodies who aren't playing for their club side.

They might not get such an easy time of it against England though.

I wouldn't want to belittle their achievement tonight though - I thought we played well in parts of the game and got a wee rub of the green for a change, which was nice.

26-03-2017, 09:18 PM
I would tend to agree with you but the defence looked pretty solid tonight.

It's not ideal having Tierney on the right but he put in a great shift.

Robertson is an excellent player.

The centre-halves did well and the other home nations have shown that you don't necessarily have to have the highest pedigree players to get a stuffy team together. Our centre-halves are poor but it's fair to say they've punched below their weight for some time. It was good to see Grant Hanley nowhere near the team.

I liked that he had a big core of Celtic players in the side, players who are confident, playing well and know each other games. Much better that than a host of Championship nobodies who aren't playing for their club side.

They might not get such an easy time of it against England though.

I wouldn't want to belittle their achievement tonight though - I thought we played well in parts of the game and got a wee rub of the green for a change, which was nice.

Agree mate, it was a good win tonight - I was looking forward and looking at England, Slovenia (away) and Slovakia. We have terrific left backs, good keepers, pretty solid midfield. But we are bereft of good centre backs which I feel you need in a side that can realistically challenge for the top spots. I agree with JB that we simply have to cast off the dead wood and players who are nowhere near elite football.

26-03-2017, 09:18 PM
Tierney is a great player

Agreed..destined for bigger things.

26-03-2017, 09:19 PM
Agree mate, it was a good win tonight - I was looking forward and looking at England, Slovenia (away) and Slovakia. We have terrific left backs, good keepers, pretty solid midfield. But we are bereft of good centre backs which I feel you need in a side that can realistically challenge for the top spots. I agree with JB that we simply have to cast off the dead wood and players who are nowhere near elite football.

P Hanlon is no worse than any of the recent incumbents for Scotland.

26-03-2017, 09:38 PM

Love sugar puffs. Can you still get them?

26-03-2017, 09:40 PM

They probably carry a government health warning for sugar content these days.

26-03-2017, 09:40 PM

I believe you can but I'd advise to have a bowl with milk and not how I described 😀

26-03-2017, 09:43 PM

The fact Berra and Hanley get caps and not Hanlon is scandalous. I was PH's worst critic but he's improved unbelievably in the last 3 seasons - definitely worth a cap when you look at the dross WGS has capped at centre half.

26-03-2017, 09:45 PM
That's shocking. Maybe think it but don't say it on air.

We got the result that we deserved. Slovenia looked like they would have settled for a point and didn't look that great apart from a couple of efforts in the first half.

Well done Scotland.

That is a terrible post are saying it is okay to be a racist so long as you keep quiet ? For the record i dont think Miller was being racist he simply stating facts European teams and thier fans accept play acting and time wasting as part of the game most UK fans don't accept.

HibernianJK
26-03-2017, 10:11 PM
Always glad to see my country win but for someone who never saw the game (going purely on comments from friends and message boards) I am still Strachan out. He has to get rid of the old guard and start a fresh. I feel this win will somewhat paint over the cracks and let the SFA continue on as if nothing is wrong.

If anyone who was at the game/saw game feels I am incorrect please let me know.

26-03-2017, 10:16 PM
Always glad to see my country win but for someone who never saw the game (going purely on comments from friends and message boards) I am still Strachan out. He has to get rid of the old guard and start a fresh. I feel this win will somewhat paint over the cracks and let the SFA continue on as if nothing is wrong.

His team selection tonight was a bit more like you would want or expect, so there is definitely some hope there. The fact that the players got a result will not be lost on Strachan either.

Most of the deadwood weren't picked tonight and we got the result we all wanted.

Strachan has frustrated me hugely so far but he got it right tonight. We have some strengths in our squad along with some glaring deficiencies and I don't know how much changing the manager would improve things right now. There aren't many great candidates to replace him and at least tonight Strachan showed some willingness and ability to urinate with the cockerels he had available.

26-03-2017, 10:18 PM

The team played really well and with normal luck could have won 3 or 4 nil. Imho Strachan is doing okay with limited resources yes he could have done better but i think we got a wee bit of break at the end tonight that has not gone our way recently. I dont think there is a better available manager.

HibernianJK
26-03-2017, 10:21 PM
His team selection tonight was a bit more like you would want or expect, so there is definitely some hope there. The fact that the players got a result will not be lost on Strachan either.

Most of the deadwood weren't picked tonight and we got the result we all wanted.

Strachan has frustrated me hugely so far but he got it right tonight. We have some strengths in our squad along with some glaring deficiencies and I don't know how much changing the manager would improve things right now. There aren't many great candidates to replace him and at least tonight Strachan showed some willingness and ability to urinate with the cockerels he had available.

The team played really well and with normal luck could have won 3 or 4 nil. Imho Strachan is doing okay with limited resources yes he could have done better but i think we got a wee bit of break at the end tonight that has not gone our way recently. I dont think there is a better available manager.

Thanks for the feedback guys :aok:

Still think we could use fresh ideas however as you both said lack of candidates are a problem. Hopefully on an upward curve now.

26-03-2017, 10:38 PM
What a wonderful day out.

26-03-2017, 10:38 PM
That is a terrible post are saying it is okay to be a racist so long as you keep quiet ? For the record i dont think Miller was being racist he simply stating facts European teams and thier fans accept play acting and time wasting as part of the game most UK fans don't accept.

Maybe didn't word it correctly. Basically saying that he may have thought that but better keeping it to himself. Not saying that it's right of course.

I might meet someone for the first time and my immediate thought is fat barsteward but I wouldn't say it out loud. :wink:

26-03-2017, 10:56 PM

Yes both Hanlon and Macgregor ready for a chance 2 stake a claim. Hanlon especially. He must look guys like Hanley Martin Berra and wonder why hes not ahead had contracts these guys command. Mulgrew been best ch 4 scotland and not even position.Boy from Leeds is form ch of the lot yet no start

26-03-2017, 11:07 PM
Tierney looks a very good player and was my MOTM tonight. Destined for big things I reckon.

26-03-2017, 11:12 PM
Tierney looks a very good player and was my MOTM tonight. Destined for big things I reckon. i agree likely soon be highest transfer paid for a scot

27-03-2017, 07:05 AM
Watched the game. Slovenia are rubbish. We just about matched them. That was Armstrongs debut yet he's been one of the best players in the league for the last 3 years. Our full backs are top class. Build a new team around them and Armstrong. Every other position up for grabs.

27-03-2017, 07:13 AM
Watched the game. Slovenia are rubbish. We just about matched them. That was Armstrongs debut yet he's been one of the best players in the league for the last 3 years. Our full backs are top class. Build a new team around them and Armstrong. Every other position up for grabs.

'Just about matched them' - Scotland hammered them first half and should've been 3 up comfortably at half time. Second half Scotland stopped doing what they were doing in the first half but that was mainly due to Griffiths' movement not being there when he went off, and Naismith isn't a centre forward. It was as one sided a Scotland game I've seen in a while.

Over 60% possession, 16 shots with 6 on target, hit the post, hit the bar had one disallowed, 9 corners to 1. Aye your right, we just about matched them.

27-03-2017, 07:18 AM
'Just about matched them' - Scotland hammered them first half and should've been 3 up comfortably at half time. Second half Scotland stopped doing what they were doing in the first half but that was mainly due to Griffiths' movement not being there when he went off, and Naismith isn't a centre forward. It was as one sided a Scotland game I've seen in a while.

Over 60% possession, 16 shots with 6 on target, hit the post, hit the bar had one disallowed, 9 corners to 1. Aye your right, we just about matched them.

Take off the tartan glasses for a second....we should be getting 4 or 5 past a team like that. Our final third play was embarrassing bar maybe 3 chances in the first half. Goals win games not stats. Slovenia are as poor a team as we will ever play.

27-03-2017, 07:23 AM
Take off the tartan glasses for a second....we should be getting 4 or 5 past a team like that. Our final third play was embarrassing bar maybe 3 chances in the first half. Goals win games not stats. Slovenia are as poor a team as we will ever play.

Take it England should have put 15 past them then when they drew 0-0? Scotland played well yesterday and deserved to win nothing bias about that opinion whatsoever.

27-03-2017, 07:31 AM

What absolute nonsense. Delighted with the win last night that gets up right back in the hunt for 2nd.

27-03-2017, 07:35 AM

That is utter nonsense. They're ranked 51st and have qualified for 3 major championships since we last did. We played well last night although it is definitely papering over the cracks.

CorrieHibs
27-03-2017, 07:35 AM

4 or 5 past them lol. You joking?

Slovenia are ahead of Scotalnd in the rankings, they have qualified for 3 major tournaments since we last qualified, some of their players play in the top leagues in Italy, Spain and Germany.

It's not San Marino we were playing!

I thought Scotland played well tonight, first half anyway. Difficult team to break down as England found out. Happy with the 3 points.

HibernianJK
27-03-2017, 07:46 AM

What Stuart Armstrong have you been watching? He's been very poor since joining Celtic up until about 10 games into this season.

Kavinho
27-03-2017, 07:48 AM
8 best 2nd placed team go into the playoffs from 9 groups. The Scotland group is currently in 8th place out of the 9 groups

27-03-2017, 07:51 AM

27-03-2017, 08:21 AM
Would agree with the sentiment that Slovenia weren't great (last night) but they're not a bad side. They held the English to a 0-0 as has been pointed out and have been qualifying for major tournaments of late so are clearly no mugs. It's not unreasonable to think we could have been 2 or 3 up at HT, our pace and tempo in that first half was great and we clearly ran out of steam a wee bit in the 2nd. That combined with Leigh going off took the wind out of our sails, but bar a couple of breakaways Slovenia didn't look a threat all night and Scotland got exactly what we deserved, albeit late in the day. But hey, a game lasts 90 minutes+ (as we saw on Saturday!) and the team didn't stop trying right to the death. A great 3 points.

The full backs both played well and we need to build our team around them and the likes of Armstrong, SJM, etc in midfield. Where we are lacking is obvious though - we need fit and players who are playing regularly with their Clubs at the centre half and striker positions. Stating the obvious I know, but if we find these players then hopefully we'll see the national team start to pick up again. Alas, I can't help but feel this campaign is gone already - we really need to win 4 out of our last 5 games. A big ask. But if the team at least give it all they've got then maybe they can win back some of the fans.

Side note, at least SJM will come back rested and raring to go on Wednesday night ..... and tie up the league hopefully!

27-03-2017, 09:33 AM

27-03-2017, 10:13 AM

I think you should be putting the glasses on!

27-03-2017, 10:28 AM
Brilliant performance and should have been out of sight in the first half.

Fans really got behind the team for the most part. Disgusted in the "fans" that booed Martin when he came on.

I'll be honest, I'm not as negative as some in regards to the national team. The only shocking result in this campaign so far was at home to Lithuania. Realistically we need to take maximum points (excluding the England game but would say still need to take something) we have 3 games at home and 2 away. We're in with a chance

Hopefully get a bigger turn out for the England game but similar to the hibs games at times, the lower the crowd the less nonsense that comes from the stands.

HAZ2000
27-03-2017, 10:33 AM
I do believe we will finish second, but we need to remember that 1 second placed team won't get to the next round. Big chance of that being used due to how close the group is

27-03-2017, 10:46 AM

Some people are racist. If they have racist thoughts and don't act on them/speak them outloud, then yes, it is OK. If every racist did that, there wouldn't be any racism in generations to come.

OT: Tierney is a fantastic player. Thought it was really odd taking Snodgrass off to be honest but fair play, we got the result!

27-03-2017, 11:08 AM
Maybe didn't word it correctly. Basically saying that he may have thought that but better keeping it to himself. Not saying that it's right of course.

I might meet someone for the first time and my immediate thought is fat barsteward but I wouldn't say it out loud. :wink:

So you know me ? :greengrin

27-03-2017, 11:10 AM
Tierney looks a very good player and was my MOTM tonight. Destined for big things I reckon.

Very good player but if he plays at RB against an attacking team with a bit of quality he will be found out.

27-03-2017, 11:12 AM
Some people are racist. If they have racist thoughts and don't act on them/speak them outloud, then yes, it is OK. If every racist did that, there wouldn't be any racism in generations to come.

OT: Tierney is a fantastic player. Thought it was really odd taking Snodgrass off to be honest but fair play, we got the result!

Really ???? So I am sure these racist would treat people as equals and give jobs / housing etc on fair and equal terms despite their thoughts?

27-03-2017, 11:25 AM
Really ???? So I am sure these racist would treat people as equals and give jobs / housing etc on fair and equal terms despite their thoughts?

Probably not, at least not in all cases, but broadly speaking, racism that is kept to one's self is surely better than overt racism. Racism isn't right, but it's not always possible to just flip a switch internally and say "I'm not racist anymore", especially when these beliefs have been internalised for numerous years. Not acting on these ideals is definitely a good start. I'm not trying to sound like an apologist here, it's just the way I see it.

27-03-2017, 11:42 AM

Agree Tierney is a cracking young player. Not surprised re Snodgrass though - good player and was dangerous in the first half but his crossing/set pieces were woeful in the second and it wasn't happening for him.

Generally how I felt the overall performance really.. good first half and very unlucky not to be in front, or even out of sight! Poor in the second half but got the job done.

We certainly "just about matched them" :rolleyes:

27-03-2017, 12:10 PM
I can't remember the last time I watched a Scotland game so the inconvenience of having to trek through to Glasgow on a Sunday night to assist at a work-related function at Hampden meant my mood wasn't great. Fortunately I was able to head off for an early train home once we'd got the function room cleared up so I only saw about an hour of the game, but from what I saw Slovenia were abject and had clearly come for a point. That they almost got it despite what I see Strachan is describing as Scotland's 'greatest ever' display under his management just serves to underline why neither of these sides will be at the next World Cup. The fact the ground looked only about half full showed that the bulk of fans have already given up on our chances.

I give international football a wide berth as a rule because I find it boring, but of the little I do see it always strikes me that there's nothing special about it. That Scotland have made such heavy weather of every qualifying campaign for 20 years (even in what looks to be a pretty easy group this time round) sums up how low the standard of our national team is.

27-03-2017, 03:58 PM
I can't remember the last time I watched a Scotland game so the inconvenience of having to trek through to Glasgow on a Sunday night to assist at a work-related function at Hampden meant my mood wasn't great. Fortunately I was able to head off for an early train home once we'd got the function room cleared up so I only saw about an hour of the game, but from what I saw Slovenia were abject and had clearly come for a point. That they almost got it despite what I see Strachan is describing as Scotland's 'greatest ever' display under his management just serves to underline why neither of these sides will be at the next World Cup. The fact the ground looked only about half full showed that the bulk of fans have already given up on our chances.

I give international football a wide berth as a rule because I find it boring, but of the little I do see it always strikes me that there's nothing special about it. That Scotland have made such heavy weather of every qualifying campaign for 20 years (even in what looks to be a pretty easy group this time round) sums up how low the standard of our national team is.

Checkout the attendence for Scotland's next fixture and the interest from fans that have given up :wink:

27-03-2017, 04:09 PM
I've missed something here, why was Chris Martin being booed last night?

27-03-2017, 04:41 PM

I think it's because Coldplay are pish.

27-03-2017, 04:43 PM

Did Strachan really say that? I know he called amstrongs performance the best Scotland debut he'd witnessed but the whole performance of his tenure?

27-03-2017, 05:09 PM

I've seen some debate about whether the booing was for Martin coming on or for Morrison coming off.

Anyone at the game able to advise?

27-03-2017, 07:43 PM
I've seen some debate about whether the booing was for Martin coming on or for Morrison coming off.

Ive heard the same but it certainly seemed to be aimed towards Martin as the booing was louder as he was running on to the park as opposed to when Morrison went off.

I had a go at a few drunk guys near me for it and their response was "aye well he's *****"

Slavoj Zizek
27-03-2017, 08:14 PM

LOL. Underscore for Scotland Manager. :na na:

Slavoj Zizek
27-03-2017, 08:16 PM

The booing was 100% for Martin but that changed on the 88th minute...:na na:

27-03-2017, 10:25 PM

It seemed clear to me that the booing was for Martin. Morrison did fine, but wasn't so sensational that anyone would have booed because he was leaving. The other substitues were applauded off and their replacements were applauded on.

27-03-2017, 11:43 PM
Did Strachan really say that? I know he called amstrongs performance the best Scotland debut he'd witnessed but the whole performance of his tenure? stachan not really brought many new faces in??? Think most got debut pre reign. Anya did well first game cant think many others he has blooded had good debut.

HAZ2000
28-03-2017, 11:40 AM
stachan not really brought many new faces in??? Think most got debut pre reign. Anya did well first game cant think many others he has blooded had good debut.

Matt Richie and Burke only 2 I can think of

28-03-2017, 01:23 PM
stachan not really brought many new faces in??? Think most got debut pre reign. Anya did well first game cant think many others he has blooded had good debut.

What I meant to say did Strachan really say that was the best Scotland performance of his tenure. I know he said it of Armstrongs debut but the best Scotland performance?

28-03-2017, 04:51 PM
What I meant to say did Strachan really say that was the best Scotland performance of his tenure. I know he said it of Armstrongs debut but the best Scotland performance?

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/scotland/gordon-strachan-hails-his-best-yet-for-scotland-1-4404040

28-03-2017, 05:41 PM
Matt Richie and Burke only 2 I can think of

John McGinn

28-03-2017, 05:51 PM
Thought John McGinn got MOM on his debut? Against Denmark I think.....