View Full Version : How many Hibs games have you attended?

14-03-2017, 06:20 PM
Driving up to Tannadice on Friday a discussion about the ridiculous amount of games we'd all been to in the last few seasons resulted in a further discussion about the amount of games we'd been to in our lives. As I was the oldest I won but the figures are impossible to substantiate due to memory loss and attending most games in the 80's and 90's whilst inebriated and i may have stayed in the Four in Hand and not bothered going a few times.

It was decided that an average Hibby attending 80% of home games and 10 to 25% of away games plus visits to Hampden and pre season friendlies probably attends around 30 games per season on average, having been going since 1971 this put me at around 1380 give or take a few hundred either way.
This leads to further questions. When does a fan get a testimonial? after 1000 games? after 2000? We dont get one but we get our money back if we're not happy with the product?
So this is aimed at the older guys, does anyone count their games? does anyone know their true figures? Im sure the likes of Johnnyboy must be well on their way to 3000. Thoughts?

14-03-2017, 06:36 PM
Driving up to Tannadice on Friday a discussion about the ridiculous amount of games we'd all been to in the last few seasons resulted in a further discussion about the amount of games we'd been to in our lives. As I was the oldest I won but the figures are impossible to substantiate due to memory loss and attending most games in the 80's and 90's whilst inebriated and i may have stayed in the Four in Hand and not bothered going a few times.

It was decided that an average Hibby attending 80% of home games and 10 to 25% of away games plus visits to Hampden and pre season friendlies probably attends around 30 games per season on average, having been going since 1971 this put me at around 1380 give or take a few hundred either way.
This leads to further questions. When does a fan get a testimonial? after 1000 games? after 2000? We dont get one but we get our money back if we're not happy with the product?
So this is aimed at the older guys, does anyone count their games? does anyone know their true figures? Im sure the likes of Johnnyboy must be well on their way to 3000. Thoughts?
The Butcher season felt like 3000.

14-03-2017, 06:43 PM
Surely you can work this out via loyalty points section

18Hibee75
14-03-2017, 07:02 PM

I just turned 53 the other day and have being going to ER pretty much since I was about 3 years old. I started regularly attending away games from 13. Missed quite a few during the Butcher season but reckon I am probably approaching 2500! Scary to think how much money I have spent on hibs, that's a whole different topic however!

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

14-03-2017, 07:28 PM

Have never counted but you're probably right! My 3,564,890 loyalty points is an indicator I suppose :greengrin

14-03-2017, 07:30 PM
I must be up around 500.

14-03-2017, 07:33 PM
I just turned 53 the other day and have being going to ER pretty much since I was about 3 years old. I started regularly attending away games from 13. Missed quite a few during the Butcher season but reckon I am probably approaching 2500! Scary to think how much money I have spent on hibs, that's a whole different topic however!

Theres a calculation which I invented to calculate the average cost of a game, in todays money it is 25 quid to get in plus 20 quid on transport / alcohol / food. This is an average taking into account boring home games when you just go to the game and go straight home and the other extreme of serious drinking at away games followed by further nonsense late into the night after a big win, basically around 45 quid for each match multiplied by 2500 in your case equals £112,500 in todays money. You might want to pop into the club office to see Rod about a refund..

14-03-2017, 07:34 PM
My 100th was at the age of 9 and I've long lost count since then. I'm 21 now, maybe around 350/400?

This season will be my first attending every league game home and away and I managed 46/55 in all comps last season.

18Hibee75
14-03-2017, 07:35 PM
Theres a calculation which I invented to calculate the average cost of a game, in todays money it is 25 quid to get in plus 20 quid on transport / alcohol / food. This is an average taking into account boring home games when you just go to the game and go straight home and the other extreme of serious drinking at away games followed by further nonsense late into the night after a big win, basically around 45 quid for each match multiplied by 2500 in your case equals £112,500 in todays money. You might want to pop into the club office to see Rod about a refund..
Unbelievable. To have spent over £100,000 on Hibs is ridiculous, ah well. Would do it all over again to relive 21st of may 2016!

14-03-2017, 07:44 PM
Only missed 5 home games in the last 13 seasons.

14-03-2017, 07:46 PM
Couldnt calculate the amount of games ive watched Hibs play over the last 50 odd years of watching them Home and Away and in Europe and even in the Caribbean too.

I really dont want to think how much money i have spent either, i might have a heart attack!

Football is my passion and Hibs are my team and always will be, even though my purse is empty!

14-03-2017, 08:25 PM
Ive lived in a cryogenic chamber since 1902 but I made it for the cup final last season though.

14-03-2017, 08:37 PM
I'd estimate about 200-250, which makes me a lightweight, fickle, part time fan by comparison to the responses so far.

Only started in my early 20s and stopped in my early 30s, before returning for a few games each year since our relegation.

1875M
14-03-2017, 09:13 PM
This is a question I've often wondered but never set aside any time to actually work out. From the top of my head id say between 400-450

14-03-2017, 09:23 PM
39 years service, attendence has went up & down during that time probably ranging from being at all home & most away, to less than half home & handful of away, but never went a season without attending at least a few games, even when I didn't live in Scotland for a year or so.

14-03-2017, 09:28 PM
I've worked out roughly 220. I'm 23 and had a season ticket for 5 years when I was 11-16, only went to the odd game for a few years then went to about 10 of stubbs first season and 52 last season. Been to all bar 2 games this season also. I'll get to 300 by the end of this decade.

cammy1969
14-03-2017, 09:39 PM
Am 48 am from 1985 ad say on avarage 20 games a season most home games few away ant the cup games so about 650 give or take. The boys gate was 80 pence away back then. bus into town walk down from old station then on to Montgomery chip shop for a sit in to pass time. After game walk back up to St. Andrews bus station for bus home. Used to be some rucks in there over the years. Sorry for going on oh the memories lol

14-03-2017, 09:45 PM
29 years old. On, off season ticket holder. Back to an on. I'd say easily 450 plus.

14-03-2017, 09:59 PM
****ing many hundreds. And every cup game since Ibrox 81. Apart from that last away one Leeann, thanks aye.:confused:
Yours.
Boring completist.

simple
15-03-2017, 07:12 AM
I reckon I'm somewhere between 750-900, which is 25-30 a season for the last 30 years.

gordonced18
15-03-2017, 07:28 AM
My first game was a home win against Morton on 24/10/1964....Went to most away games on the old SMT excursions from St Andrews's Square. Attendance dropped off when my kids came along but even then I've racked up a significant number of games including trips in Europe. I've never thought about it in financial terms but even at a conservative estimate of 500 games and 5 European adventures it's money Dave King can probably only dream about 😀😀😀

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

green with envy
15-03-2017, 07:40 AM
Although i had been to a good few games before I turned 15, It was the season 77-78 that i started going every week and from that period to present, i reckon I've missed no more than 20 home games in all competitions and around 10 - 15% away games again all comps, with around 5/6 of them being 100% attended inc this one up till now.

Bill Milne
15-03-2017, 07:46 AM
Over 3000, I reckon!!

15-03-2017, 08:01 AM
Love this thread ....just been back as an ST and away game follower for past 4,seasons and reckon I must have been to 100-110 for that period alone so far !! ..great credit and respect to all regular attendees particularly over many years and to those setting out on the Hibs fan journeys of the future enjoy the experiences ..😋
Some of the figures are amazing and the costs involved maybe better not dwelled upon !!

15-03-2017, 08:14 AM
Surely you can work this out via loyalty points section

Pedant Alert: There were some away games where loyalty points were not allocated.

15-03-2017, 08:22 AM
Been going go matches since I was about 5. Can remember when the SPL was first introduced in 75/76 season I was 15 and went to every game home and away. I have had a season ticket for around 36 years. Add in friendlies, games down south and in Europe. Does Hibs reserve games count as well??

15-03-2017, 08:26 AM
I reckon maybe 750-800.

I started going to ER regularly when we were in the old 1st division 80-81, but I've always missed the beginning and the end of the season due to piping commitments.

Age 13,14,15 - say 15 games/season 45
Age 16 (started going regularly to away matches) 25
Age 17-30 (most matches homes and away when available) 448
Age 31-37 (a few less away matches) 210
Then moved to France so not very many since.
That totals 728 but these are conservative estimates and don't really take into account cup runs, friendlies, etc.

15-03-2017, 08:59 AM
next season will be my 20th season as a STH I rarely go to away games to say on average around 20 per season if you include cups and the odd away game so that's about 400 but was a regular attender before then so I will say around 450.

Tamhere1875
15-03-2017, 09:17 AM
78 so far this season

Renfrew_Hibby
15-03-2017, 09:26 AM
1st game back in 1991! First game at ER wasn't till 1994. Had a mix of full and half STs for around the next 20 seasons, always missing a couple each season but I would always get to a couple of away games to make up for it.
No longer a season ticket holder but still should get to roughly 20 games this season.
Must be around 450 I reckon, no bad for a west coast boy where every home game is an away game!

15-03-2017, 09:27 AM
went to loads of games early to mid 70's - every home game for 2.5 seasons and many away games too. Then I got married and moved South in 1981 so very few since. Probably only a couple of hundred in total..

15-03-2017, 09:50 AM
II could count my program,s ,but I've not got a spare weekend:)
I'll guess 1110 ( Favourite game was that one in May )

15-03-2017, 12:51 PM
Loads. But not nearly as many as some on here.

IMO anyone who racks up 1,000 games as a supporter definitely deserves recognition - but proving it would be an impossible task!

15-03-2017, 12:53 PM
My guess would be something north of 1500 games attended

15-03-2017, 12:57 PM
Not as many as a lot of folk on here that's for sure .... I stopped being a regular away fan in the mid 80s for the usual reasons that most folk will have, wife, kids, poverty that sort of thing :greengrin

But I've been a regular home fan for most seasons from 76 to 84 and about 95 to date ...... considering a home game for me involves about 40 miles travelling just to get to ER I might not do well in the games attended stakes, but I would probably do OK in the miles travelled contest :greengrin

15-03-2017, 01:01 PM
I must be up around 500.

I think that's around the figure for me too right now

15-03-2017, 02:19 PM
My guess would be something north of 1500 games attended

I must be around that mark. Started going in 66, haven't missed many homes since 1970. Aways have always fluctuated, so difficult to calculate.

15-03-2017, 02:42 PM
Somewhere between 1000 and 2000 for me.

15-03-2017, 02:55 PM
Probably between 800-1000. 21.05.16 made it all worth it.

15-03-2017, 03:24 PM
I'm pretty impressed that fellow oldsters can actually remember how many games (even roughly) they attended, sometimes even with scores and scorers etc! I can't even remember what I had for breakfast.
In fact, now I think about it, I forgot to have my breakfast.

I'll finish this later.

Where was I? Oh yes how many games I've been................ aw for goodness sake.
Some manky buggers left a bit of toast on my keyboard.

Tom Hart RIP
15-03-2017, 04:29 PM
50 years this year.
Virtually every home game plus assortment of always.
Reckon around 1500

15-03-2017, 04:40 PM
At least 4. I'll be expecting a cup final ticket though.

capi
15-03-2017, 04:45 PM
First match away to Hearts 07.09.63. First home against Aberdeen 30.11.63. 1248 home and 281 away. Not missed a home match since 9th of March 1974. That's 1062 on the trot. :greengrin

Hillsidehibby
15-03-2017, 04:58 PM
Do reserve games count?

15-03-2017, 05:28 PM
Ma auld man has been going since 1946. God knows how many. He has missed one game home & away for the last 15 years. He had programmes galore in the hoose & gave them away years ago. HFC has stole ma inheritance 😀

Islington Hibs
15-03-2017, 06:08 PM
First match away to Hearts 07.09.63. First home against Aberdeen 30.11.63. 1248 home and 281 away. Not missed a home match since 9th of March 1974. That's 1062 on the trot. :greengrin

I would doubt there are more than a dozen others who have not missed a home match since 1974. That is extraordinary. You deserve a medal sir.:cb

15-03-2017, 06:29 PM

How do you do it?!? I've missed a few through weddings and holidays and even 2 under Calderwood when I gave my ST away.

15-03-2017, 06:31 PM

That's impressive.

16-03-2017, 01:13 PM
50 years this year.
Virtually every home game plus assortment of always.
Reckon around 1500
That's about right. First home game 1965. Nearly every game at ER from 1968. Vast majority of away games from 1972 until about 1992. Now just around 50% of away games. 1500-2000 Hibs games. Cant wait for the semi-final....Here we go....2 in a row !!!!

16-03-2017, 02:18 PM
More than any human should have to suffer.

Craigmount Hibs
16-03-2017, 05:50 PM
I'm only 26, but look about 60, so I reckon I've been to my fair share....

16-03-2017, 07:03 PM
My first game was a home win against Morton on 24/10/1964....Went to most away games on the old SMT excursions from St Andrews's Square. Attendance dropped off when my kids came along but even then I've racked up a significant number of games including trips in Europe. I've never thought about it in financial terms but even at a conservative estimate of 500 games and 5 European adventures it's money Dave King can probably only dream about 😀😀😀

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

Ah memories, the excursions from St Andrews Square, sneaking on a half bottle of Scotsmac, (anyone remember that), not sure how road worthy some of those buses were though

16-03-2017, 07:25 PM
Was wondering about this one. First game was an Edinburgh derby at tynecastle in 1951. And a few years after that was a regular attendee at ER for first team and reserve games until joining the St Giles branch and travelling to away games for years at age 16. Reckon over the years that I've averaged (very) roughly 25 games a season. In total it could be 1600 games - actually thought it would be over 2k matches, certainly seems like the higher amount.

16-03-2017, 07:30 PM

That's some going Calpi . No missing a home game in 43 years . Hat off to you pal .