View Full Version : What festivals are you looking forward to this year?

11-03-2017, 12:26 PM
The stretch is appearing in the evenings and Im now planning my festivals for the year.

First one up for me is Supersonic festival being held in the Digneth Area of Birmingham https://supersonicfestival.com I've been once before and really enjoyed it. Like the last time I only new one of two of the performers playing but I trust them to be of very high quality. Looking forward to hearing Raime, Oxbow & Colin Stetson who I'm told by mates in the know will be one of my best live experiences ever!?

Body & Soul Festival used to be a botique festival but has expanded a fair bit to around 15000 now http://bodyandsoul.ie Still has a reall nice buzz about the place, a crowd that and just there for the craic & good vibes. This will be the second year I'll actually be taking a workshop at it in the hollistic area so I get my ticket for free :thumbsup: Looking forward to Sleaford Mods, Vitalic & Birdy Nam Nam although theres loads on the line up here that I'm looking forward to.

A wee festival on an island off the West Coast of Ireland is Turkfest (the Islands called innishturk)..Think theres nly about 120 going..You basically live with the Islanders or on the campsite with music in their town hall & lots activities like crab fishing & group kareoke ;-) http://turkfest.squarespace.com/about/ Again I from what I heard the vibes supposed to be lovely & its a nice change..

So what are ye all planning to go to this year?

ColinNish
11-03-2017, 02:13 PM
T in the Park :greengrin

11-03-2017, 02:29 PM
T in the Park :greengrin

Definitely. Will be so much better than last 2 years.

Mantis Toboggan
11-03-2017, 07:30 PM
The stretch is appearing in the evenings and Im now planning my festivals for the year.

First one up for me is Supersonic festival being held in the Digneth Area of Birmingham https://supersonicfestival.com I've been once before and really enjoyed it. Like the last time I only new one of two of the performers playing but I trust them to be of very high quality. Looking forward to hearing Raime, Oxbow & Colin Stetson who I'm told by mates in the know will be one of my best live experiences ever!?

Body & Soul Festival used to be a botique festival but has expanded a fair bit to around 15000 now http://bodyandsoul.ie Still has a reall nice buzz about the place, a crowd that and just there for the craic & good vibes. This will be the second year I'll actually be taking a workshop at it in the hollistic area so I get my ticket for free :thumbsup: Looking forward to Sleaford Mods, Vitalic & Birdy Nam Nam although theres loads on the line up here that I'm looking forward to.

A wee festival on an island off the West Coast of Ireland is Turkfest (the Islands called innishturk)..Think theres nly about 120 going..You basically live with the Islanders or on the campsite with music in their town hall & lots activities like crab fishing & group kareoke ;-) http://turkfest.squarespace.com/about/ Again I from what I heard the vibes supposed to be lovely & its a nice change..

So what are ye all planning to go to this year?

Raime are brilliant live. Their drummer is an italian girl called Valentina who is probably in the top 3 drummers I have ever seen live.

12-03-2017, 07:28 AM
Definitely. Will be so much better than last 2 years.

I'm guessing it's not happening this year?

12-03-2017, 07:29 AM
Raime are brilliant live. Their drummer is an italian girl called Valentina who is probably in the top 3 drummers I have ever seen live.

Cool..Raime were the only act I had listened to or heard of prior to the line up being announced 😎

12-03-2017, 08:08 AM
I'm guessing it's not happening this year?

Yeah!!!! 😅

12-03-2017, 09:10 AM
Radiohead and Belle & Sebastian at TRNSMT. Two of my all time favorite bands and both excellent live.

12-03-2017, 09:21 AM
Glastonbury - it's true that it isn't what is used to be but still no other festival comes close. Over one hundred stages of music, comedy, theatre, circus, burlesque, spoken word, debate - where T in the Park took away a lot of the stages Glasto keeps expanding and goes from strength to strength in terms of variety. Something hopefully Geoff Ellis will recognise.

Thinking Belladrum, thinking Doune the Rabbit Hole and tempted by Green Man.

12-03-2017, 10:48 AM
Yeah!!!! 😅

Remember doing my one and only festival crowd surf at the first one to Rage Against the machine :greengrin

12-03-2017, 10:51 AM
Radiohead and Belle & Sebastian at TRNSMT. Two of my all time favorite bands and both excellent live.

I've seen Radiohead a couple of times..Rock Werchter in Belgium was one but I can't actually remember seeing them (they were the reason I went! Luckily I mind seeing them at Meadowbank)..Saw Belle & Sebastian at Primavera a few years back & was kinda disappointed, I think it was just too Big a stage for them..

12-03-2017, 10:55 AM
Glastonbury - it's true that it isn't what is used to be but still no other festival comes close. Over one hundred stages of music, comedy, theatre, circus, burlesque, spoken word, debate - where T in the Park took away a lot of the stages Glasto keeps expanding and goes from strength to strength in terms of variety. Something hopefully Geoff Ellis will recognise.

Thinking Belladrum, thinking Doune the Rabbit Hole and tempted by Green Man.

Still never done Glastonbury & I think that ship might have sailed for me...Sounds class..I love being able to winder about and stumble upon something, about something that you might have had no interest in/understanding of, that blows you away.

Just had a look at Doune the Rabbit Hole..Im back in Scotland that week so might try & get it, looks great

12-03-2017, 11:51 AM
Still never done Glastonbury & I think that ship might have sailed for me...Sounds class..I love being able to winder about and stumble upon something, about something that you might have had no interest in/understanding of, that blows you away.

Just had a look at Doune the Rabbit Hole..Im back in Scotland that week so might try & get it, looks great
I've done Glastonbury many times, and it's rumoured that this year will.be the last on that site.

It's definitely not on next year, but Sir Michael is said to be fed up with the local farmers demanding more money. He may just call their bluff.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

12-03-2017, 12:11 PM
I've done Glastonbury many times, and it's rumoured that this year will.be the last on that site.

It's definitely not on next year, but Sir Michael is said to be fed up with the local farmers demanding more money. He may just call their bluff.

I'd heard that too..The gang I would have gone with in the past have dwindled away from festival going..From the tales they told me you didnt even have to leave the campsite to have a great time & see some weird and wonderful things

12-03-2017, 02:44 PM
Rtj at the summer sessions at Bellahouston.

12-03-2017, 03:18 PM
Rtj at the summer sessions at Bellahouston.

Brilliant live!

13-03-2017, 09:35 AM
The only worth the money starts tomorrow.

13-03-2017, 08:15 PM
Leith festival 😊

13-03-2017, 08:32 PM
The only worth the money starts tomorrow. To pricey for me, I like to leave my festivals with some cash for a hair of the dog when I get back home :wink:

yonder1875
19-03-2017, 05:54 PM
Sziget Festival in Budapest, went last year and it's by far the best festival experience I've had.

haagsehibby
20-03-2017, 02:26 PM
Paleo festival in Nyon. Went last year for two nights, Muse headlining one night and Iron Maiden the next. Line up to be announced soon so will make decision then. Lollapalooza Berlin was good last year too.

20-03-2017, 03:31 PM
Rewind festival for me in July but not camping staying in a hotel.

21-03-2017, 12:58 PM
Want to go to Benicassim. Definitely on next year's agenda anyway!

21-03-2017, 09:50 PM
BBC 6 Music Festival this weekend in Glasgow

24-03-2017, 12:47 PM

It's not like farmers to want their pound of flesh. :rolleyes:

24-03-2017, 01:35 PM

Radiohead and Rag n Bone man on the Friday.

24-03-2017, 01:36 PM
It's not like farmers to want their pound of flesh. :rolleyes:

Know anyone who doesnt?

Mantis Toboggan
24-03-2017, 03:37 PM
BBC 6 Music Festival this weekend in Glasgow

Yep. Songhoy blues tomorrow. Also managed to get Depeche tickets for the day after. Should be belting, barrowlands is a great venue.

25-03-2017, 01:43 PM
My daughter is going to Lost and Found Festival in Malta. Bet it ends up messy! :rolleyes:

30-03-2017, 10:30 PM
http://www.efestivals.co.uk/img/misc/glasto2017-1.png

Glasto announced the first 88 bands today. Still a few hundred acts to come. Looks a really strong first announcement. Can't wait :hyper

31-03-2017, 08:02 AM
My daughter is going to Lost and Found Festival in Malta. Bet it ends up messy! :rolleyes:

As long as its messy & safe not a problem :-)

26-06-2017, 01:33 PM
That's two festivals done in a week. Last weekend in Birmingham at Supersonic The Bug & Raime stood out. This weekend had a drink drug free Body & Soul...Vitallic, Sleaford Mods & Mario Bartkovic were brilliant. I was leading workshops so i had to stay straight but was actually a revelation for me. Came back with more energy than i arrived with. Next up Howlin Fling on Eigg!

HibbyDave
03-07-2017, 06:35 AM
Arena de Verona for Opera Nabucco.

03-07-2017, 09:15 AM
Arena de Verona for Opera Nabucco.

Are you staying in a tent for that one :wink:

03-07-2017, 11:31 AM
Having been on my honeymoon last month have caught the travelling bug. Think going to do SXSW festival in Austin Texas next year. Anyone ever been? Mates I go to gigs with been talking about it for years but as they have kids suspect it will never come to pass so might just go with the wife and tick it off the bucket list.

04-07-2017, 10:44 PM
Just booked my ticket for Primavera Sound in Barcelona next year :thumbsup:

05-07-2017, 02:07 PM
Just booked my ticket for Primavera Sound in Barcelona next year :thumbsup:

Thats where I met my girlfriend! And then we went for the next 5 years...Great festival to go to, always an amazing line up..We used to get a place a Barcelonetta each year so we could chill on the beach during the day then was an easy 4 stops or so on the metro to the festival..Saying that the weather then can be a bit hit or miss..

05-07-2017, 02:17 PM
Edinburgh Jazz and Blues Festival next weekend

Edinburgh Festival Fringe and Book Festival in August.

HibbyDave
26-07-2017, 10:15 PM
Are you staying in a tent for that one :wink:

Cheap flight to Milan then train to Verona. Loads of hotels within budget. Really worth a trip if you have not been to Italy.

cammy1969
26-07-2017, 11:22 PM
Off next w/end to Liverpool for the hope & glory festival sat/sun good line up just like T used to be back in the day, James the view razorlight embrace osc starsalior and more nae camping hotel for 2 nites should be a blast

27-07-2017, 05:48 AM
Perth Festival of Yarn, where I am a vendor :wink:

27-07-2017, 06:01 PM
Perth Festival of Yarn, where I am a vendor :wink:

I need glasses thought that said Festival of Yam ! :greengrin

27-07-2017, 09:18 PM
I need glasses thought that said Festival of Yam ! :greengrin

Just pulled the wool over your eyes

27-07-2017, 09:42 PM
Off next w/end to Liverpool for the hope & glory festival sat/sun good line up just like T used to be back in the day, James the view razorlight embrace osc starsalior and more nae camping hotel for 2 nites should be a blast

Sounds all very civilised, a great concept and close to Lime Street station too

06-08-2017, 02:04 PM

What a shambles, overcrowded yesterday with bands not getting to play due to over run of time, Bridge into gardens not completed in time and today cancelled altogether!

08-08-2017, 08:14 AM
What a shambles, overcrowded yesterday with bands not getting to play due to over run of time, Bridge into gardens not completed in time and today cancelled altogether!

Looks a complete joke. The Twitter spat with Tim Booth was embarrassing and shows what utter amateaurs the organisers are.

08-08-2017, 08:17 AM
Anyone going to Party at the Palace this weekend? Friends band (Party Fears Three) are on the main stage at 1430 on Sunday. Also looking forward to seeing Hipsway, 30 years I've been listening to their debut album!

cammy1969
17-08-2017, 09:17 PM

Haha how wrong could I have been chaos good points lovely setting great weather not a Ned in sight then down hill All the way some queuing 3-4 hours to get in all bands 2-1/2 hours behind so only getting to play 5 songs 1-1/2 que for a drink and toilets then Sunday cancelled a shame as shoulda been mega.

Just shows how on the ball T we're back in the day.

Still a good pub craw on the Sunday around Liverpool great city for partying.

21-08-2017, 11:37 AM
Leeds on Friday. Cannot wait

30-08-2017, 11:23 AM
Speaking at Electric Picnic this weekend so get in free :-)

I might check out Duran Duran...Apart from that will just see where the wind takes me and what i bump into.

30-08-2017, 12:21 PM
I have just booked tickets for Celtic Connections next January :wink:

BothyCulture & Beyond; a music-vision-dance-bike spectacular featuring The GRITOrchestra & guests with special appearance by Danny MacAskill.