On BT freeview channel incase anyone didnt know

It's no free on my sky bt ?

08-03-2017, 06:51 PM
1-0 barca after 2 mins

ColinNish
08-03-2017, 06:53 PM
It's no free on my sky bt ?

No, BT have a channel that shows some games on freeview (cooncil telly). You get the channel on virgin but not sure if you get it on sky?

08-03-2017, 06:54 PM
It's also on normal freeview. Surely everyone has that.

ColinNish
08-03-2017, 06:55 PM

Nope, i don't as i don't have an aerial.

SJNB Hibby
08-03-2017, 06:57 PM
1-0 barca after 2 mins

Why didnt the goal-line ref indicate a goal?

SJNB Hibby
08-03-2017, 06:59 PM
PSG must be wearing all-white to p!$$ off Barca

08-03-2017, 07:01 PM
Nope, i don't as i don't have an aerial.

Use a coathanger?

08-03-2017, 07:24 PM

Nah mate , watch everything through sky :(

08-03-2017, 07:27 PM
2-0 game on.

2-0 Barca.

SJNB Hibby
Blimey game on now!!! next goal is vital

08-03-2017, 07:28 PM
I fancy PSG to get one at some stage.

08-03-2017, 07:30 PM
Great for neutrals like me.

08-03-2017, 07:37 PM
What a contrast to the first leg....It's a funny old game :greengrin

08-03-2017, 07:42 PM
On BT freeview channel incase anyone didnt know

Great ! Thanks for the info 👍

08-03-2017, 07:44 PM
FFS just turned over to the city game at the emptyhad, whats the excuse this week for all those empty seats?

08-03-2017, 07:49 PM
Really rate Emery as a coach and his PSG team but I cant believe how badly they got their tactics wrong in that half. I know playing at Barca isnt exactly the easiest task in the world but its like they turned up tonight thinking "we're Paris St Germain there's no way we can throw a four goal lead away" and have just sat back expecting to ride any storm out. Very disappointed with them so far tonight.

08-03-2017, 07:50 PM
FFS just turned over to the city game at the emptyhad, whats the excuse this week for all those empty seats?

All at home watching Barca and PSG.

08-03-2017, 07:53 PM
I know it's free but McManaman is truly annoying!

08-03-2017, 07:57 PM
Penalty to Barca 3 mins into the 2nd half.

08-03-2017, 08:00 PM
I know he gave it in the end, but how the hell was the ref not giving that penalty? :confused:

08-03-2017, 08:02 PM
Can't see PSG keeping 11 men on.

08-03-2017, 08:02 PM
I know it's free but McManaman is truly annoying!

Absolutely! :greengrin

08-03-2017, 08:06 PM
The 4th is coming.

08-03-2017, 08:09 PM
PSG score

08-03-2017, 08:10 PM
Goal PSG! Wow I think Barca need to score 6 now!

08-03-2017, 08:11 PM
Goal PSG! Wow I think Barca need to score 6 now!

Still 30 minutes to go, can they do it.

08-03-2017, 08:13 PM
Still 30 minutes to go, can they do it.

No chance, PSG will probably draw this now, they will pick them off on the break.

08-03-2017, 08:14 PM
PSG have carried a threat in the second half, something they totally failed to provide in the first half. They look much better balanced with Di Maria on the park.

08-03-2017, 08:16 PM
Can't see PSG keeping 11 men on.

Now looking more likely that Barca will get the first red card!

08-03-2017, 08:18 PM
That's ridiculous, Suarez in the box sticking his leg backwards and waggling it trying to make contact then falling over.

08-03-2017, 08:20 PM
Messi in my opinion has been the greatest player i have ever seen, but the games i have watched him this season, he's not the player of past seasons.

I wonder if time has caught up with him, as he's a mere mortal these days. :greengrin

08-03-2017, 08:23 PM
Messi in my opinion has been the greatest player i have ever seen, but the games i have watched him this season, he's not the player of past seasons.

I wonder if time has caught up with him, as he's a mere mortal these days. :greengrin

The taxman certainly caught up with him.

08-03-2017, 08:26 PM
St Mirren back to being pish again, 2 - 0 for Raith.

08-03-2017, 08:29 PM
My Subbuteo Hibs team are currently beating Brazil 5-0 ( nearly half time), Lego Batman in goal for Hibs tonight.

SJNB Hibby
08-03-2017, 08:30 PM
St Mirren back to being pish again, 2 - 0 for Raith.
Pity, would've liked to have seen them on a decent roll fort he game against the Arabs next week

SJNB Hibby
08-03-2017, 08:36 PM
What a free kick

08-03-2017, 08:36 PM
4-1 Barca, decent free kick :greengrin

08-03-2017, 08:37 PM
My Subbuteo Hibs team are currently beating Brazil 5-0 ( nearly half time), Lego Batman in goal for Hibs tonight.

Emergency loan deal?

Penalty Barca!!!

Penalty to Barca in the 90th minute

SJNB Hibby
08-03-2017, 08:38 PM
Holy $h!t this will be some finish

Penalty Barca

5-1

Well well well!!! That's turned things around a bit

Next goal's the winner !!'

08-03-2017, 08:39 PM
Give that man an Oscar.

08-03-2017, 08:39 PM
truly disgusting antics by that suarez goon

and again

08-03-2017, 08:40 PM
5 minutes of injury time.

08-03-2017, 08:41 PM
truly disgusting antics by that suarez goon

Yep a shocking dive

08-03-2017, 08:42 PM
Anyone know what the biggest turnaround in a 2 leg match is?

08-03-2017, 08:43 PM
oh dear

Commentators are brutal, don't even know what's going on!

They've done it! 6-1

Bloody hell 6-1 Barca 😳

Unbelievable

6-1 they have done it.

BlackpoolHibs Pfft :greengrin

SJNB Hibby
Omg

Jeez what a finish:greengrin

Yep a shocking dive

Best cheats won.

08-03-2017, 08:44 PM
6-1 :greengrin

Un F%$£%^ believable!!!!

And that is why the champions league is still relevant and worth watching. Absolutely outstanding!

Wow.

Say what you like about the CL that's what football is all about.

Staggering!!!!!

08-03-2017, 08:45 PM
Unbelievable!
Sky Sports Centre went mental there!!

Amazing game of football, wow. :top marks

dirty cheating diving buzzards, been like that since we gave them a doin all those decades ago

08-03-2017, 08:46 PM
Wow! That sends chills down my spine, what a game.

Damn! Wish I could have been bothered to work out how to get the freeview to work now!

Gotta be THE most amazing comeback ever.
Especially given the stakes.

And some people say they won't watch the champions league, cos it's boring!

08-03-2017, 08:47 PM
And that is why the champions league is still relevant and worth watching. Absolutely outstanding!

Still not paying for it though 😀

Most of the time it IS!

Penalty Barca

5-1

Never a pen.

They've done it! 6-1

Cheats.

Quite incredible. Almost 21.5.16esque.

08-03-2017, 08:48 PM

It's only worth watching from knockout stages, the leagues are boring.

For me that is the greatest comeback in UCL history! Bigger than both Nou Camp 99 & Istanbul 05. Wow! Unbelievable! Just speechless!

Wow... I'd never seen that coming 🙄

Same old teams getting through, honestly wouldn't surprise me if this game was fixed.

The dive for the penalty to make it 5-1 sours an otherwise good performance, great over all result but that dive can **** right off, just cheating.

08-03-2017, 08:49 PM

I still won't! Fixed for the same teams to get through. Yawwwn!

has messi got his tax returns hidden away under that chin fungus

Does anyone know if PSG should of had a pen when Di Maria was clean through on goal. For some reason they never showed a replay of it :confused:.

Amazing game of football, wow. :top marks

Exactly.....wow.
What intensity for the whole match...sharp as tacks
If only we could get a fraction of that intensity we'd stroll Scottish fitba

Odds at Betfair Exchange would have been good after PSG scored.

08-03-2017, 08:50 PM
I still won't! Fixed for the same teams to get through. Yawwwn!

Yep I was yawning right through that game so I was.

08-03-2017, 08:51 PM
Was it Deportivo who overturned a 4-1 1st leg defeat v Milan a few years back? Sure it was.

That tonight tops that.

....then you have Man City 0 - 0 Stoke

Y a w n

What a shocking dive

08-03-2017, 08:52 PM
Yep I was yawning right through that game so I was.

Long as Barca go through though right, keep everyone at UEFA happy thrashing each other off.

The dive for the penalty to make it 5-1 sours an otherwise good performance, great over all result but that dive can **** right off, just cheating.

That added to the dive Suarez was booked for makes it hard for me to feel pleased for Barca. I hate all this more than a club nonsense.

....then you have Man City 0 - 0 Stoke

Y a w n

Wouldn't watch that either! Massive YAAAAWN.

08-03-2017, 08:53 PM
BTW Subbuteo latest

Hibs 7 Brazil 0

Lego Batman saves a penalty.

beensaidbefore
08-03-2017, 08:53 PM
Feel sorry for PSG. The second penalty was a total dive, and perfect example of cheating imo. Sad because so many kids look up to that team. The diving from Suarez and Neymar is shameful.

08-03-2017, 08:54 PM
Was it Deportivo who overturned a 4-1 1st leg defeat v Milan a few years back? Sure it was.

That tonight tops that.

Was it Hibs who overturned a 4-1 defeat in 1st leg v Napoli a few years back :greengrin

Long as Barca go through though right, keep everyone at UEFA happy thrashing each other off.

I couldn't care less about the politics behind it I only watch football for exciting games.

beensaidbefore

Agree

I couldn't care less about the politics behind it I only watch football for exciting games.

That's fair enough.

08-03-2017, 08:56 PM
Feel sorry for PSG. The second penalty was a total dive, and perfect example of cheating imo. Sad because so many kids look up to that team. The diving from Suarez and Neymar is shameful.

Ive got no sympathy for them at all. They got things badly wrong in the first half, attitude, tactics, offered no threat at all. Improved a lot in the second half but they were on the ropes so to speak by then. Taking nothing away from Barca who were excellent but I thnk Emre will be playing this over a few a times in his head over the coming days and weeks.

08-03-2017, 08:56 PM
That's fair enough.

Don't watch much champs league now, like you say too many of the same teams each year. That was an exception though

08-03-2017, 08:57 PM
BTW Subbuteo latest

Hibs 7 Brazil 0

Does that make Hearts the Maroon Brazil?

08-03-2017, 08:57 PM

That tonight tops that.

Yes it was but never mind that result. I think that comeback overtakes the Nou Camp 99 final and Istanbul 05 final.

gaz1875
08-03-2017, 08:58 PM

I'm with you on this, as good as Barca were including some fantastic goals, the cheating was unbelievable. To be fair to the ref he ignored the majority but the penalty for the 5th was one that got away.

clarkstonbhoy
Personally, I think clubs from wee diddy countries like France devalue the Champions League https://www.facebook.com/images/emoji.php/v7/faa/1.5/16/1f603.png:D https://www.facebook.com/images/emoji.php/v7/faa/1.5/16/1f603.png:D

Regardless of the behind the scenes shenanigans, at the end of the day, it's 2 teams on the pitch fighting it out. I watch to be entertained and marvel at the skills on show. Well satisfied tonight

Don't watch much champs league now, like you say too many of the same teams each year. That was an exception though

Same, I chucked it altogether years ago. To many games were god awful and sick of seeing same teams making through. Needs a huge revamp!

ColinNish
08-03-2017, 09:01 PM
BTW Subbuteo latest

Hibs 7 Brazil 0

You gotta love Lego Batman!! 😎

stuart-farquhar
08-03-2017, 09:01 PM
Was it Hibs who overturned a 4-1 defeat in 1st leg v Napoli a few years back :greengrin

A few years lol

08-03-2017, 09:03 PM
PSG:faf:

08-03-2017, 09:03 PM
No chance, PSG will probably draw this now, they will pick them off on the break.

When you say no chance..........

08-03-2017, 09:05 PM
You know whats wrong with football, they've just showed a rerun of the Suarez dive for the pen and not one of those tits in the studio has said its a dive or never a penalty. Their all agreeing that Suarez was clever :grr:.

Gordy M
08-03-2017, 09:06 PM
Wenger to PSG in the summer:wink:

08-03-2017, 09:08 PM
Does anyone know if PSG should of had a pen when Di Maria was clean through on goal. For some reason they never showed a replay of it :confused:.

Anyone:dunno:. They have just shown the highlights and never even mentioned it or shown it :confused:.

PSG:faf:

Heartsed it.
Probably were all wearing gloves.

Same, I chucked it altogether years ago. To many games were god awful and sick of seeing same teams making through. Needs a huge revamp!

Not altogether...

judging by the number of your posts on this thread tonight :whistle:

08-03-2017, 09:10 PM
Oh my God, I turned over 10 mins after PSG scored as the game was dead! Just saw the result! Idiot!

08-03-2017, 09:12 PM
Not altogether...

judging by the number of your posts on this thread tonight :whistle:

Never seen the game. Was in no shock at the score though, UEFA can't have poor Barca going out. Dodgy pen was it???

08-03-2017, 09:14 PM
Fantastic comeback.

Great entertainment, Suarez dived for sure, but I haven't enjoyed a last ten minutes since 21st May 2016 😁😁

08-03-2017, 09:16 PM
Anyone:dunno:. They have just shown the highlights and never even mentioned it or shown it :confused:.

Less of a oenalty than Suarez's.

08-03-2017, 09:17 PM

You know whats wrong with football, they've just showed a rerun of the Suarez dive for the pen and not one of those tits in the studio has said its a dive or never a penalty. Their all agreeing that Suarez was clever :grr:.
Agree with both posts. Great entertainment spoiled unquestionably by cheating *******s.

08-03-2017, 09:17 PM
Never seen the game. Was in no shock at the score though, UEFA can't have poor Barca going out. Dodgy pen was it???

Stop it.

It was a fantastic performance and a wonderful comeback.

08-03-2017, 09:18 PM
stop it.

It was a fantastic performance and a wonderful comeback.

nhc.

08-03-2017, 09:19 PM

Aye it was soft. Moments before that Neymar scored one of the best free kicks you'll ever see and his assist for the last minute winner was simply sublime.

Each to their own but if I find something "a yawnfest" and I've "chucked it altogether" you'll not find me posting 9 or 10 times in 20 minutes about it. Whatever floats your boat though I suppose.

goosano
08-03-2017, 09:23 PM

Spot on. A master class from Neymar but Suarez should have been booked rather than get a penalty and sent off, if not even earlier for his antics. He really is odious and with the skill he has does not have to behave like that.

08-03-2017, 09:24 PM
Two of the dodgiest pens in history. The happiest people after that must be the CL sponsors and the minority of actual fans at the game tonight.

08-03-2017, 09:25 PM
nhc.

A great comeback, spoilt by the lack of nhc prefix.

08-03-2017, 09:26 PM
Two of the dodgiest pens in history. The happiest people after that must be the CL sponsors and the minority of actual fans at the game tonight.

The first one was a stonewaller.

bookert
08-03-2017, 09:32 PM
The first one was a stonewaller.
Was it? The defender slipped and Neymar deliberately ran into him. I like barca but tonight left me feeling uneasy. Really need video evidence in these games.

08-03-2017, 09:33 PM

I agree he didn't look quite the same player, yet (I think) after tonight he's scored 38 in 37 games this season! Wow!

08-03-2017, 09:34 PM
Was it? The defender slipped and Neymar deliberately ran into him. I like barca but tonight left me feeling uneasy. Really need video evidence in these games.

Agreed that's exactly what happened,softest penalty ever.

08-03-2017, 09:35 PM

Yep! Nearly 50 years ago now - and I was there. :greengrin

08-03-2017, 09:36 PM
I would have been very disappointed if either of those penalties would have been awarded against Hibs. Both more than a little dodgy IMO.

08-03-2017, 09:36 PM
Spot on. A master class from Neymar but Suarez should have been booked rather than get a penalty and sent off, if not even earlier for his antics. He really is odious and with the skill he has does not have to behave like that.

Very frustrating when the best players in the world feel the need to do that sort of thing. These guys are role models that kids want to emulate. I can't turn my back on my son for fear of him jumping up and biting a chunk out of my shoulder.

08-03-2017, 09:41 PM
BTW Subbuteo latest

Hibs 7 Brazil 0

Commentator on radio sport reckons penalty should have been retaken. Commentator thinks goalie was off his line.

08-03-2017, 09:42 PM

I think so.

The striker shouldn't have to jumo over a defender falling in front if him, deliberately or not, and it actually looks like the defender used his hands to obstruct him too.

Imagine if that happened to JC or Martin Boyle.

08-03-2017, 09:47 PM
UEFAlona

08-03-2017, 09:50 PM

Apologies

08-03-2017, 09:55 PM
Great game but the pathetic diving did spoil it for me a bit.

08-03-2017, 09:59 PM
Terrible game. The whole thing was clearly rigged in an effort to wind up the absolute throbbers like 660 and the cat on this thread. They're right of course! Why should idiots like us watch, enjoy and be amazed by a game like tonight's when it's obviously fixed pre match by "Uefalona"?

We are clearly all deluded morons.

All hail the enlightened ones! (some of whom never watched the game, but did know what the score would be! What a return they must've got on their fixed odds tonight eh)

*I presume the lottery is also some kind of uefa/FIFA/world Bank/Rothschild's conspiracy as well - but feel free to PM me Friday's winning numbers just for ****s and giggles.

08-03-2017, 10:05 PM
Michael Owen saying that PSG just stroll up and win every game they play in France:confused::rolleyes:

They're trailing Monaco by three points and equal on points with Balotellis Nice in 3rd, PSG might not even get automatic qualification for the Champions League next season. The French league is one of the most exciting and competitive in Europe.

Ignorance is bliss though if you're an English pundit.

08-03-2017, 10:07 PM

:o)

08-03-2017, 10:11 PM
Yeh but PSG aren't exactly Napoli are they?

JackLadd
08-03-2017, 10:14 PM
Great comeback but not without cheating by Suarez. Not sure about the first pen either, the Barca player's progress was impeded but not deliberately.

08-03-2017, 10:15 PM
One dodgy penalty.. can't believe people are genuinely trying to take anything away from that spectacle (some that didn't even watch it)! None of the PSG players or staff reacted like that at the final whistle.. although a few in shock at what had just happened.

Ref didn't particularly favour Barca for me, other than the Suarez penalty which was indeed soft as I say. Barca not even at their brilliant best but just generally a radge entertaining game!

Brilliant.

08-03-2017, 10:26 PM
Michael Owen saying that PSG just stroll up and win every game they play in France:confused::rolleyes:

They're trailing Monaco by three points and equal on points with Balotellis Nice in 3rd, PSG might not even get automatic qualification for the Champions League next season. The French league is one of the most exciting and competitive in Europe.

He's obviously referring to last season when they won the title by 31 points.

08-03-2017, 10:26 PM
Terrible game. The whole thing was clearly rigged in an effort to wind up the absolute throbbers like 660 and the cat on this thread. They're right of course! Why should idiots like us watch, enjoy and be amazed by a game like tonight's when it's obviously fixed pre match by "Uefalona"?

All hail the enlightened ones! (some of whom never watched the game, but did know what the score would be! What a return they must've got on their fixed odds tonight eh)

*I presume the lottery is also some kind of uefa/FIFA/world Bank/Rothschild's conspiracy as well - but feel free to PM me Friday's winning numbers just for ****s and giggles.

I'd prefer roaster to throbber!

08-03-2017, 10:43 PM
He's obviously referring to last season when they won the title by 31 points.

That was last season, so it's clearly irrelevant to discussion about current form and ability.

08-03-2017, 10:45 PM
Apologies

08-03-2017, 10:48 PM

Madness that these guys will get a healthy amount of money and not bother their backsides to even do a bit of homework. Croker, Derek Rae and the otherwise annoying Jonathan Pearce at least make the effort to do a bit of research before their games

08-03-2017, 10:48 PM
"Best comeback in football history!"

I think not!

08-03-2017, 11:29 PM

It's not that complicated. Take a break from counting your feet to accept a lot of football fans abhor big clubs like Barcelona.

08-03-2017, 11:35 PM
Ref didn't particularly favour Barca for me, other than the Suarez penalty which was indeed soft as I say.

Why call it 'soft' when it was a clear, outright dive? Suarez and Neymar were at it all night. Apart from the cheating it was an excellent game, as in 'Yes yes Mrs Lincoln, but apart from that how did you enjoy the play?'

08-03-2017, 11:36 PM
How you say errr 'future match fixing scandal'

09-03-2017, 12:24 AM
Didn't see the game, but have seen the goals and both penalty decisions ..... the first one was as soft as a bairns first Ertha Kitt whose mum has been eating laxatives for the whole 9 months and the second one was plain cheating. PSG might have been awful on the night, but they got the away goal the needed and brilliant Barca or not, they have been cheated IMO.

09-03-2017, 12:27 AM
BTW Subbuteo latest

Hibs 7 Brazil 0

I thought Lego Batman was suspended for this one ....... does yer Lego Robin play for Subbuteo Bayern Munich :greengrin

09-03-2017, 01:33 AM
I didn't watch it. A pal text me and said Barca's antics on the night were pretty disgraceful. But, if you can't win a tie when the opposition need three goals with two minutes left, you only have yourself to blame. PSG bottled it: 4-0 lead from the first leg. They should be ashamed.

CyberSauzee
09-03-2017, 02:07 AM
I didn't watch it. A pal text me and said Barca's antics on the night were pretty disgraceful. But, if you can't win a tie when the opposition need three goals with two minutes left, you only have yourself to blame. PSG bottled it: 4-0 lead from the first leg. They should be ashamed.

I've said it many times over the years but what's in bold above is a totally Western/Northern European attitude.

I read Jimmy Burns' biography about Maradona several years ago - The Hand of God - and in it Burns describes not only South American football but their culture as well. The upshot is that in SA diving for a foul against your opponent is not looked upon as as cheating; it's celebrated as a way of winning a free kick, and maybe winning your team the game.

Western Euro attitudes have since decreed that diving (since Kilnnnnnsamaaaaaan) is now outlawed; but we still celebrate the 'hard tackle', where our culture deems that a challenge where the ball goes in the direction of the movement of the defensive player means the tackle is fair one; regardless of the defenders's leg being at a right angle from the fore-mentioned challenge.

09-03-2017, 02:44 AM
Yeh but PSG aren't exactly Napoli are they?

Indeed they are not.

In fact when Hibs beat Napoli, Paris St Germain were not even existence, being formed only in 1970

09-03-2017, 04:33 AM
"Best comeback in football history!"

I think not!

Yes - was that not the epic comeback on New Year's Day when Hearts came back from 0-7 down? Nope? Well was it The Rangers.coming back from 2-3 down with 2 mins stoppAge time left? Nope? Must have been the Hibee coming back from 0-3 against Falkirk then... ? ;)

09-03-2017, 04:43 AM
Yes - was that not the epic comeback on New Year's Day when Hearts came back from 0-7 down? Nope? Well was it The Rangers.coming back from 2-3 down with 2 mins stoppAge time left? Nope? Must have been the Hibee coming back from 0-3 against Falkirk then... ? ;)

I wouldn't say the Jambos are thick but...

09-03-2017, 04:49 AM
I think games like this highlight hiw good a knockout competition is. They should scrap the league nonsense and get back to the old home and away. The leagues themselves are indeed really boring with the same teams on top year after year. Knockout and there's an element of the underdog actually maybe doing something.

09-03-2017, 06:00 AM
I thoroughly enjoyed it. Cavani hit the deck like a cheap whore, so did Suarez. Both teams were at it, it's undesirable but as mentioned above, the Latin culture is entirely different with regards to "exaggeration" in football.

Unbeatable drama, apart obviously from 21.05.

09-03-2017, 06:35 AM
I've said it many times over the years but what's in bold above is a totally Western/Northern European attitude.

I read Jimmy Burns' biography about Maradona several years ago - The Hand of God - and in it Burns describes not only South American football but their culture as well. The upshot is that in SA diving for a foul against your opponent is not looked upon as as cheating; it's celebrated as a way of winning a free kick, and maybe winning your team the game.

Western Euro attitudes have since decreed that diving (since Kilnnnnnsamaaaaaan) is now outlawed; but we still celebrate the 'hard tackle', where our culture deems that a challenge where the ball goes in the direction of the movement of the defensive player means the tackle is fair one; regardless of the defenders's leg being at a right angle from the fore-mentioned challenge.

It is an attitude however quite a hypocritical one as one many occasions UK players dive as much as anyone, Linkeker, Owen all liked to dive and get pens, Saint Gary even dived to get 2 pens v Cameroon in the world cup but hey ho. Can also remember Snodgrass disgracefully diving this season for a pen.

09-03-2017, 06:44 AM

Teams from certain parts of the world shouldn't have to abide by the offside law either, if it's not in tune with their culture. And the ref should be fair game if bribery of officials is rife back home.

HibbyDave
09-03-2017, 06:45 AM
Think the European comeback record was Dunfermline. Lost first leg 4-0 to Valencia and won second leg 6-2. Jock Stein was manager. They mentioned it during the. Barcelona match.

09-03-2017, 06:46 AM
Madness that these guys will get a healthy amount of money and not bother their backsides to even do a bit of homework. Croker, Derek Rae and the otherwise annoying Jonathan Pearce at least make the effort to do a bit of research before their games

Agree, especially about Jonathan Pearce. I can forgive his smugness because he actually studies the game and researches the teams involved.

09-03-2017, 06:51 AM
When you say no chance..........

:faf: Cant believe i got that so wrong, it was bound to happen eventually. :greengrin

09-03-2017, 06:55 AM
Foreign football. Let them get on with it.

Tannadice is where it'll be at if these ponces want to see a real game.

09-03-2017, 06:59 AM

What utter tosh, its not culture, it's against the rules, it's cheating. To suggest that "other cultures" celebrate cheating, does not stop it being cheating, and my culture doesn't celebrate cheating, so can we have a bit of respect for my culture too please. Also to suggest that hard, aggressive tackling is a Northern Europe thing is nonsense, have you ever watched a Uraguay game..?

itvwas a great game, but the amount of cheating and simulation took the edge off it for me. That is a fact.

09-03-2017, 07:04 AM
I do have to laugh, i have seen many many Hibs players dive over the years, yet that seems to get ignored, yet its the big bad foreigners are no longer being watched.

One rule for one eh.

Terrific game last night, diving fouling cheating and fantastic skill in abundance. We get more of the first 3 in our game, with the odd bit of real skill once or twice a season. :greengrin

09-03-2017, 07:07 AM

Spot on. There's a cultural difference. There's a good chapter in The Dark Heart of Italy by Tobias Jones about furbizia as they call it, the laudable ability to be a con artist. It's not seen it Italy about morality, it's about being intelligent. Inzaghi was a class diver, because he was good at it and it's not an easy thing to do well.

09-03-2017, 07:08 AM
The ref was either stupid or a homer. Probably both.

09-03-2017, 07:30 AM
Amazing game, and funny thing is, I had stopped watching champs league fitba and it was just a coincidence I watched it, but I am very glad I did, will go down as one of the greatest games, Jees, I was working into the evening yesterday and as there was nothing to do(aye its a hard life) so we put the fitba on, even my workmates who are not football fans cheered when the winner went in. A night to remember.

09-03-2017, 07:35 AM
I do have to laugh, i have seen many many Hibs players dive over the years, yet that seems to get ignored, yet its the big bad foreigners are no longer being watched.

One rule for one eh.

Terrific game last night, diving fouling cheating and fantastic skill in abundance. We get more of the first 3 in our game, with the odd bit of real skill once or twice a season. :greengrin

Blackpool I am more than happy to admit that if a hibs player "wins" a penalty then I am happy, but that's because watching Hibs is an entirely different experience for me than watching any other team as a neutral. I really didn't give a monkeys who won the match last night and I'm in no way a Barca hater or a conspiracy theorist, it just generally spoils a good game for me if the team that wins, does so by blatant diving (unless it's Hibs). Like I've said..still great match and Suarez is an amazing player, it;s just a shame he is a such a cheat as well.

09-03-2017, 07:36 AM
The ref was either stupid or a homer. Probably both.

I thought he did pretty well actually. Very very hard to get all the decisions right in that atmosphere with players so happy to go down (on both sides)

09-03-2017, 08:24 AM
It is an attitude however quite a hypocritical one as one many occasions UK players dive as much as anyone, Linkeker, Owen all liked to dive and get pens, Saint Gary even dived to get 2 pens v Cameroon in the world cup but hey ho. Can also remember Snodgrass disgracefully diving this season for a pen.

Boyle and SJM can have balance problems too.

09-03-2017, 08:58 AM

Have never understood what Owen " brings to the table" on TV Football nights
Seems to lack the basic requirements to be a " summariser" !!

09-03-2017, 09:53 AM
Anyone else feel like the Barca fans at 4-1 and even 5-1 were not even that bothered?

See if that was us we would be going nuts.
4-1, 1 goal needed in five minutes, at least!

I felt even though there were over 90K in there a packed ER would be more passionate

:)

09-03-2017, 10:12 AM
If the pen isn't given Suarez is booked for diving and is off. That decision turned everything.

09-03-2017, 12:06 PM
Indeed they are not.

In fact when Hibs beat Napoli, Paris St Germain were not even existence, being formed only in 1970

:agree: pedigreeless, fake club.

09-03-2017, 12:17 PM
Why call it 'soft' when it was a clear, outright dive? Suarez and Neymar were at it all night. Apart from the cheating it was an excellent game, as in 'Yes yes Mrs Lincoln, but apart from that how did you enjoy the play?'

There's not many strikers in pro football who wouldn't have gone down there......outsiders see it as cheating, those in the game see it as being clever....the stakes are so high at the professional game players would probably get hammered by their team mates if they didn't go down.

09-03-2017, 12:28 PM
I've seen brief highlights and the second penalty was a terrible decision, IMO. That said, if a team concedes three with two minutes remaining, it's hard to feel sorry for them. Top players shouldn't allow that to happen.

09-03-2017, 12:33 PM
I've seen brief highlights and the second penalty was a terrible decision, IMO. That said, if a team concedes three with two minutes remaining, it's hard to feel sorry for them. Top players shouldn't allow that to happen.

PSG were hardly angels either. That said, the Suarez dive he did actually get booked for is surely the comedy football moment of 2017 sewn up already. :not worth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dl_oE82ODrA

09-03-2017, 12:36 PM
PSG were hardly angels either. That said, the Suarez dive he did actually get booked for is surely the comedy football moment of 2017 sewn up already. :not worth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dl_oE82ODrA

Great player, disgusting behaviour. One of the worst cheats in the game.

09-03-2017, 12:45 PM
Spot on. There's a cultural difference. There's a good chapter in The Dark Heart of Italy by Tobias Jones about furbizia as they call it, the laudable ability to be a con artist. It's not seen it Italy about morality, it's about being intelligent. Inzaghi was a class diver, because he was good at it and it's not an easy thing to do well.

And here's us in our unsophisticated culture training toddlers that it's smart to be able to walk on two feet rather than fall over! How simple we are. I hope we introduce more spitting as well, since some cultures seem to think that's more acceptable than we do.

What, if anything, counts as 'sporting integrity' in Italy?

09-03-2017, 12:57 PM
Just watched the highlights and now fully understand the hype folk were talking about!

Dodgy decisions though makes me think the ref made sure he gave Barca every chance to get through. But as a game it must have been good to watch live and I was wrong to think otherwise!

09-03-2017, 02:34 PM
And here's us in our unsophisticated culture training toddlers that it's smart to be able to walk on two feet rather than fall over! How simple we are. I hope we introduce more spitting as well, since some cultures seem to think that's more acceptable than we do.

What, if anything, counts as 'sporting integrity' in Italy?

You'd have to ask the author. Or an Italian :greengrin Although judging by the link posted earlier about Argentinian sporting culture its probably a more widespread thing. There's definitely a PhD thesis to be written on the subject.

None of this detracts from the fact that the vast majority of pro players will dive to gain an advantage no matter which country they come from. The Latinos just manage to watch it without any accompanying moral outrage.

09-03-2017, 02:44 PM
Regardless of the rights and wrongs of the decisions I watched 90+ minutes of top entertainment:thumbsup:
10/10 to everybody concerned right down to BT Sport for showing the game
Loved it
Also, "made my wages" with an 8/1 bet on " Messi/Neymar/Suarez to score"
Thanks, lads - second time this season I have made money on this bet: top marks

09-03-2017, 03:34 PM
Great player, disgusting behaviour. One of the worst cheats in the game.

Suarez learnt all he knows about diving from the master, Steven Gerrard.

09-03-2017, 04:02 PM
Just watched the highlights and now fully understand the hype folk were talking about!

Dodgy decisions though makes me think the ref made sure he gave Barca every chance to get through. But as a game it must have been good to watch live and I was wrong to think otherwise!

If PSG had taken there chances in the 2nd half it would have taken it out of the refs hands to give Barca any chance of going through, was a great game to watch, pity some players felt the need to con the referee.

09-03-2017, 04:23 PM
Blaming the referee for allowing Barca to win is doing them, and the referee, a huge disservice.

PSG had scored an away goal and were 5-3 ahead with 2 minutes of normal time left.

Seemingly, they only had 4 touches of the ball in the last 7 minutes. It was their incompetence and lack of bottle that lost them the game from an apparently unassailable position.

09-03-2017, 05:17 PM
I'm still of the opinion PSG should have had a penalty.

pollution
09-03-2017, 05:24 PM
Despite the score Barcelona looked pretty average by their standards.

Four times in the first half they couldn't even cross the ball.

Real Madrid are fav for me.

09-03-2017, 05:38 PM
Anyone else feel like the Barca fans at 4-1 and even 5-1 were not even that bothered?

See if that was us we would be going nuts.
4-1, 1 goal needed in five minutes, at least!

I felt even though there were over 90K in there a packed ER would be more passionate

:)

When Barcelona scored the 4th they needed two goals and it was the 89th minute, I certainly wouldn't have been going daft. At 5-1 it still feels too little too late but a little bit of hope, a bit like JC's goal at Tynecastle. A video of the 6th goal from the stand shows just how much it meant to a lot of fans.

09-03-2017, 06:17 PM
When Barcelona scored the 4th they needed two goals and it was the 89th minute, I certainly wouldn't have been going daft. At 5-1 it still feels too little too late but a little bit of hope, a bit like JC's goal at Tynecastle. A video of the 6th goal from the stand shows just how much it meant to a lot of fans.

At 4-1 they have at least 5 to play and they have and only need one goal to come back from the dead.

They get one more goal and they are heading to ET.

Bearing in mind they were four goals down I'd be going nuts.

09-03-2017, 06:18 PM
I'm still of the opinion PSG should have had a penalty.

I thought that too to be honest. Never seen a replay though

09-03-2017, 06:20 PM
At 4-1 they have at least 5 to play and they have and only need one goal to come back from the dead.

PSG had an away goal. Extra time wasn't a possibility.

PSG had an away goal. Extra time wasn't a possibikity.

Ah! I never considered that.
Maybe not for the going radge then

Bearing in mind they were four goals down I'd be going nuts.
Extra time ceased to be a possibility when PSG scored. Barca needed to get 6 or they were out.

09-03-2017, 06:21 PM
Extra time ceased to be an option when PSG scored. Barca needed to get 6 or they were out.

Some say they did

[emoji102]

Slavoj Zizek
09-03-2017, 06:26 PM
What a disgustingly boring game of football. I will cancel my Sky subscription and from now on I will only watch football on BBC ALBA because I am protesting against how UEFA discriminates against Scotland. #Plus250Pounds :na na:

09-03-2017, 06:29 PM
Some say they did

[emoji102]

Eh... aye. I think.

10-03-2017, 04:06 PM
There's a link to the final seven minutes on BT Sport just now. If you watch it through in the final seven minutes when they concede the three goals, PSG get six pieces of possession, all uncontested in their own half. It goes, 1. Goalie boots long diagonal out of play, 2.goalie boots ball straight to Barca defender, 3. PSG midfielder boots it straight to Barca player, 4. defender tries a long ball, intercepted 5. Defender clears it out of play 6. Cannae mind :greengrin

It has to go down as the biggest bottling ever. Not even to string a single pass together when possession is all you need to win the game. I can't see that game ever being repeated, certainly not involving a first team costing over £200 million :faf:

10-03-2017, 04:29 PM
There's a link to the final seven minutes on BT Sport just now. If you watch it through in the final seven minutes when they concede the three goals, PSG get six pieces of possession, all uncontested in their own half. It goes, 1. Goalie boots long diagonal out of play, 2.goalie boots ball straight to Barca defender, 3. PSG midfielder boots it straight to Barca player, 4. defender tries a long ball, intercepted 5. Defender clears it out of play 6. Cannae mind :greengrin

It has to go down as the biggest bottling ever. Not even to string a single pass together when possession is all you need to win the game. I can't see that game ever being repeated, certainly not involving a first team costing over £200 million :faf:

Exactly. Yes there was simulation, but PSG are the architects of their own demise.

10-03-2017, 04:42 PM

Alternatively, the frogs would be through to the next round if in the last seven minutes both teams had played according to the published laws of the game.

10-03-2017, 05:21 PM
Alternatively, the frogs would be through to the next round if in the last seven minutes both teams had played according to the published laws of the game.

Are you suggesting something? 🤔

10-03-2017, 05:45 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how sanctimonious football fans get when a decision goes in favour of a team they either don't like or claim not to care about.

If a Hibs player had done that in an important game folk would be trawling the internet looking for an angle that showed contact or spouting all kinds of theories about why it was definitely a penalty. The hypocrisy extends futher and folk will evem deny that and claim 'I'd call it for what it was'. Bollox.

10-03-2017, 06:02 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how sanctimonious football fans get when a decision goes in favour of a team they either don't like or claim not to care about.

If a Hibs player had done that in an important game folk would be trawling the internet looking for an angle that showed contact or spouting all kinds of theories about why it was definitely a penalty. The hypocrisy extends futher and folk will evem deny that and claim 'I'd call it for what it was'. Bollox.

Which Hibs player, from your own or any era, has dived so relentlessly as Suarez?

Even Sir Fergie, not known for being magnanimous, acknowledged when his own ManchesterU players - in particular, Young and Janusaz - were guilty of the more outrageous dives.

I like the way Barca play and thought they were brilliant in the second half of that match. Which is nothing to do with whether Suarez cheated.

And for info if a Hibs player bit an opponent I wouldn't be denying he'd done it.

10-03-2017, 06:06 PM
Are you suggesting something? 🤔

Yes. That some of the ******* ***** Barca loving ****ing ***** ********* on this thread are just being ******ing silly.

And I know it's against the rules to be *****ing this and *****ing that but I don't think I should be called out for it because it's in my culture to ********ing swear.

Slavoj Zizek
10-03-2017, 06:15 PM

Well said, a top post. Add the sanctimonious rockets who claim they don't watch European football. Its all like pro-wrestling guys.

10-03-2017, 06:32 PM

Bit of an easy cop out. Of course fans will take decisions that come their way.

Doesn't change the fact that Barca were conning the officials at almost every opportunity. It leaves a bit of a sour taste in the mouth. I wish they had scored 6 fair and square. But they didn't.

I think Pep's Barca team was the greatest club side of all time. But this 'greatest comeback of all time?' Nah. Given the context, and the way the game was played, I saw a far better comeback last May.