View Full Version : We're all Jock Tamson's bairns - NOT

06-03-2017, 11:05 PM
I'd love that to be true, but it's not. (Sorry Golden Fleece).

There are as many racists and bigots and misogynists and homophobes etc etc in Scotland as anywhere else, imo. Probably more bigots than most places.

http://bit.ly/2n7upMP

Thoughts?

06-03-2017, 11:16 PM
This is a disgusting and appalling crime.

There's no doubt we have racists, bigots and all sorts of morons in Scotland.

Unfortunately I think we always will, and as long as we have one, we have one too many.

How do we fare compared to other countries though? Racially motivated crimes happen all over the world.

Several of my Scottish/ Asian friends have stated that they don't think Scotland is generally as racist a country as other countries are, and the fact that they choose to live here would testify to that to a certain extent.

"We're all Jock Tamson's bairns" is one of the finest phrases ever invented btw.........

07-03-2017, 06:37 AM
I've nae doubt they were shouting racist things at the guy, but I'm no convinced that makes it a racially motivated attack.

They're a bunch of wee ****s down there. If the taxi driver had been ginger/fat/disabled/etc then they'd have been shouting stuff about that while robbing him. They're no bothered who they're robbing.

It's not hard to find, loads of, other stories online of muggings, assaults, car thefts, down that way. That's obvious not me saying this crime is ok, just that I think the race of the guy is probably not the motivation for it.

07-03-2017, 06:54 AM
I've nae doubt they were shouting racist things at the guy, but I'm no convinced that makes it a racially motivated attack.

They're a bunch of wee ****s down there. If the taxi driver had been ginger/fat/disabled/etc then they'd have been shouting stuff about that while robbing him. They're no bothered who they're robbing.

It's not hard to find, loads of, other stories online of muggings, assaults, car thefts, down that way. That's obvious not me saying this crime is ok, just that I think the race of the guy is probably not the motivation for it.

That was my thoughts too.

The area has become a bit of a lawless no go area. Women, kids, old folk, these kids don't care who the kill, maim, rob.

07-03-2017, 07:01 AM

My thoughts as well.

Time For Heroes
07-03-2017, 07:03 AM
Horrible thing to happen but really don't see this as racially motivated. The obviously seen him as an easy target, hence why the went back.
As far as Scotland being more racist than most countries; I can't agree.
I've lived in Australia & America, i've never experienced racism like it in either of these two places.

07-03-2017, 07:36 AM
Horrible thing to happen but really don't see this as racially motivated. The obviously seen him as an easy target, hence why the went back.
As far as Scotland being more racist than most countries; I can't agree.
I've lived in Australia & America, i've never experienced racism like it in either of these two places.

I don't think anyone said it was more racist.

Because of the anti-catholic stuff, I said it might be more bigoted than most. I wouldn't know how to measure that, of course.

Time For Heroes
07-03-2017, 07:49 AM

Because of the anti-catholic stuff, I said it might be more bigoted than most. I wouldn't know how to measure that, of course.

Totally misread what you wrote, that's what I get for reading and reply on the bus to work. :greengrin

07-03-2017, 11:50 AM

I had a quick look at reported 'hate crimes' in Scotland and they seem generally on par with those in England on a per head basis.

In other words the concept of Scotland being more open and welcoming to people of different colour or creed compared to the 'little engenders' is not borne out in the crime stats at least.

07-03-2017, 12:04 PM
I had a quick look at reported 'hate crimes' in Scotland and they seem generally on par with those in England on a per head basis.

In other words the concept of Scotland being more open and welcoming to people of different colour or creed compared to the 'little engenders' is not borne out in the crime stats at least.

I dont think you'll ever find much difference in the percentage of racist attacks in any civilised country simply due to the fact that the percentage of nutters who are violent will be about the same. The big difference will come in the perceived acceptance amongst the general population.

07-03-2017, 12:05 PM
That was my thoughts too.

The area has become a bit of a lawless no go area. Women, kids, old folk, these kids don't care who the kill, maim, rob.

Come on, your not serious saying parts of Scotland are no go areas? If so how has it come to this? Who do you blame for Scotland being in this mess?

beensaidbefore
07-03-2017, 12:06 PM
Part of the problem comes from the community themselves. I know that people in the area know who these guys are but are not 'grasses' so wont put their names forward to the police. They can call on help from whoever they want but until an element of self-policing happens there wont be much change.

07-03-2017, 12:08 PM
Come on, your not serious saying parts of Scotland are no go areas? If so how has it come to this? Who do you blame for Scotland being in this mess?

The parents of the little ar5eholes who carry this kind of stuff out, not just in the area in question but in areas all over the country.

I worked in Kirkcaldy about 15 years ago and at that time there were 3 addresses that the Fire brigade could only attend with a police escort because the firemen would be attacked.

This is not a new problem and not a problem that can be laid at the door of any particular political party.

beensaidbefore
07-03-2017, 12:09 PM

on a Friday night you would need to be a brave soul to walk through from crewe road to penneywell. see my post above. Community partly to blame imo.

beensaidbefore
07-03-2017, 12:15 PM
The parents of the little ar5eholes who carry this kind of stuff out, not just in the area in question but in areas all over the country.

I worked in Kirkcaldy about 15 years ago and at that time there were 3 addresses that the Fire brigade could only attend with a police escort because the firemen would be attacked.

This is not a new problem and not a problem that can be laid at the door of any particular political party.

I agree. I have experience working out of PYCP & MYDG and some of the kids were little radges. Disrespectful, aggressive, untrustworthy (theft & difficulty admitting the truth),with few parental boundaries. OK that wasn't all of the kids, but a significant amount thats for sure.

07-03-2017, 04:48 PM

This is not a new problem and not a problem that can be laid at the door of any particular political party.The police usually know who the troublemakers are but don't put much effort into catching them. Probably too busy spending months and months on things like cup final pitch invasion.

08-03-2017, 11:55 PM
When I saw the report on the news I thought the same as a few folk on here .... it wasn't 'racially motivated' the morons doing it just happened to use racist language because of the guys ethnicity, that isn't why he was attacked though.

I tend to agree that at times we undeservedly pat ourselves on the back for being a tolerant country when in actual fact we probably have just as many racists, both by choice and just casually as any other country. I wouldn't say we are any worse though.

As for bigotry .... having lived all my adult life in the Borders I have to say that in my experience nobody here gives a rats ass what religion folk are, your more likely to get aggro in Hawick for being from Gala than you are for what religion you are and vice versa :greengrin

As for racism ... the ethnic population here is so tiny that any branch of the BNP or Ku Klux Klan formed would die of boredom for a lack of folk to persecute. We do have quite a lot of Poles, but the Borders has a bit of a tradition of Polish ex pats going back to WW2 ... in fact up until a few years ago Gala had a Polish club, which strangely folded before the influx began.

Talking of Poles ..... If anybody gets the chance to visit the 'Black Barony Hotel' in Eddleston near Peebles the grounds contain a huge concrete topographic map of Scotland built by polish soldiers a few decades back ... it truly is a sight to behold.

09-03-2017, 06:49 AM
I heard yesterday an old wifie was set upon by thugs in the area and they sprayed her hair pink.

Maybe not the crime of the century but it will probably have an effect on the auld dears quality of life for the rest of her days.