View Full Version : Hampden

04-03-2017, 07:19 PM
Read a poster saying this will be our 20th trip to the national stadium since 2000. Remarkable if correct. Was wondering what the best and worst Hampden experiences of my fellow Hibbys were. Let's leave out the obvious 21/5/16.

For me the worst was undoubtedly the league cup final loss to Livingston. Was crushed after that game. Huge Hibs support of 40k I recall. Best would be the 5-1 league cup final. Hibs tore Killie to shreds and still the best rendition of Sunshine on Leith I've heard.

04-03-2017, 07:21 PM
Falkirk under Stubbs

We should have hammered them and if it wasn't for that defeat I have no doubt we'd be singing Here We Go Three In A Row

04-03-2017, 07:25 PM
Livingston

04-03-2017, 07:26 PM
Falkirk under Stubbs

We should have hammered them and if it wasn't for that defeat I have no doubt we'd be singing Here We Go Three In A Row

That was very sore I've got to admit

04-03-2017, 07:27 PM
I bet you there will be some Hibs fans who will have been to more games at Hampden than Easter Road in that time since 2000.. :duck:

04-03-2017, 07:27 PM
Best - The 2007 LC final and 2016 SC final obviously but outside of that the Falkirk semi final (well the 2nd half anyway). Absolute emotional rollercoaster to say the very least but what an incredible comeback, I never thought we had that in us.

Worst - The 2012 final by a country mile

04-03-2017, 07:28 PM
Falkirk under Stubbs and Livi in the league cup final felt worse to me than 5-1 ever did.

Don't ask me to explain that because I have no idea either.

04-03-2017, 07:31 PM
Best - The 2007 LC final and 2016 SC final obviously but outside of that the Falkirk semi final (well the 2nd half anyway). Absolute emotional rollercoaster to say the very least but what an incredible comeback, I never thought we had that in us.

Worst - The 2012 final by a country mile

Agree that Falkirk game was a complete emotional roller coaster. If one game could sum up Hibernian Football club that was it.

04-03-2017, 07:32 PM
Best: 2016
2nd best: 4-3 v Falkirk

Worst: 2012
2nd worst: 2006

ShinyFantastic
04-03-2017, 07:33 PM
The 2012 final was utterly soul destroying but I'll tell you what, like other people are saying, that Falkirk semi in 2015 was horrible, I was so so angry!!!!

Agree that Falkirk game was a complete emotional roller coaster. If one game could sum up Hibernian Football club that was it.

I've never come away from a football game in my life so emotionally and physically drained.

The Dunfermline replay takes some beating. 8k fans, awful game of football and a massive chance for us to go all the way in two competitions, yet we blew it big time.

04-03-2017, 07:34 PM
Ayr Semi (2002)
Livi Final (2004)

04-03-2017, 07:36 PM
The Dunfermline replay takes some beating. 8k fans, awful game of football and a massive chance for us to go all the way in two competitions, yet we blew it big time.

That was so bad I actually forgot all about it

04-03-2017, 07:37 PM
My worst was the Dundee Utd semi when Mowbray was as in charge. 1-0 up late on, and Jason Scotland scored 2 late goals to put us out!
That one hurt me badly

04-03-2017, 07:38 PM
I've never come away from a football game in my life so emotionally and physically drained.

Got to admit I only stayed at HT as had my young daughter with me. The most surreal 2nd half I've ever experienced. Remember almost undoing all our hard work when Falkirk missed a one on one

04-03-2017, 07:39 PM
Read a poster saying this will be our 20th trip to the national stadium since 2000. Remarkable if correct. Was wondering what the best and worst Hampden experiences of my fellow Hibbys were. Let's leave out the obvious 21/5/16.

For me the worst was undoubtedly the league cup final loss to Livingston. Was crushed after that game. Huge Hibs support of 40k I recall. Best would be the 5-1 league cup final. Hibs tore Killie to shreds and still the best rendition of Sunshine on Leith I've heard.

Quite remarkable. Some of those fixtures not at Hampden. Nineteen at our second home and two at Tynecastle?

04-03-2017, 07:40 PM

We should have won the double that season

04-03-2017, 07:42 PM
Ayr Utd, we were abysmal and Ayr destroyed us with Yogi, Pat McGinley and Paul Lovering all playing blinders.

04-03-2017, 07:42 PM
Looks like it is 21 visits. Quite remarkable.

Thanks, and only 8 wins

04-03-2017, 07:43 PM
Looks like it is 21 visits. Quite remarkable.

🖒 that is quite staggering

04-03-2017, 07:44 PM
My worst was the Dundee Utd semi when Mowbray was as in charge. 1-0 up late on, and Jason Scotland scored 2 late goals to put us out!
That one hurt me badly

Another huge Hibs support

Funny 2012 didn't bother me one bit. It was a tawdry win achieved by cheating and only made me all the more convinced that we would keep going back until we won it. Even more convinced after the fans reaction at the end of the 3 - 0 defeat by Celtic. I was convinced we would win it. Then we did.

Apart from that day, the penalty shoot out mid week semi final against Rangers is right up there. Only about 7,000 of us there that night but boy, we made some noise.

Green_one

Livi
Falkirk
Dunfermline
Dundee united

Livi gutted me and a huge Hibs support. The rest we should have won and perhaps gone on to win the final. The Hearts game I always thought was too far for a poor Hibs side. The "Latapy" final against Celtic was frustrating as a good Hibs team was not all there or fit

04-03-2017, 07:47 PM
Thanks, and only 8 wins

🖒 that is quite staggering

Edited it to 19 as 2 were at Tynecastle against St Johnstone in the LC semi.

StevieCowan
04-03-2017, 07:48 PM
Might not be post 2000 but Aberdeen semi on a Sunday night, Latapy scoring for us and a late strike by Dow put us out.

04-03-2017, 07:49 PM
21 visits to Hampden this century can only be matched or bettered by a few clubs, anyone know how many visits The Big Team have had in that time? They must have been to Hampden more times than The Wee Team surely?

04-03-2017, 07:50 PM
Funny 2012 didn't bother me one bit. It was a tawdry win achieved by cheating and only made me all the more convinced that we would keep going back until we won it. Even more convinced after the fans reaction at the end of the 3 - 0 defeat by Celtic. I was convinced we would win it. Then we did.

Apart from that day, the penalty shoot out mid week semi final against Rangers is right up there. Only about 7,000 of us there that night but boy, we made some noise.

That's the thing with 2012. Yes it hurt at the time but it was quickly put in perspective. We were abysmal and just escaped relegation and they were plunged to the brink of liquidation soon after for paying players over inflated wages. They 100% deserved to win the game but it was far from a fair tie. Livi hurt far more.

04-03-2017, 07:51 PM
I've got 3, obviously 2016 comes out on top but the semis against Aberdeen in 2012 and Falkirk in 2013 were fantastic.

2012 was obviously awful but I still managed to go out in town that night and congratulate some jambos on their win. The Ross County final last season was totally gutting, late winner and under par performance in a game I was really convinced we would win.

04-03-2017, 07:51 PM
Might not be post 2000 but Aberdeen semi on a Sunday night, Latapy scoring for us and a late strike by Dow put us out.

Think it was around 98/99, remember that one too

04-03-2017, 07:53 PM

The supporters reacion at the end of the 2013 final will live with me forever. Stirring stuff and the day out support changed imo

StevieCowan
04-03-2017, 07:54 PM
I've missed one Hampden game since 1985, Dunfermline replay 2007.

04-03-2017, 07:56 PM
The Aberdeen, United and Dunfermline semi-finals were pretty crushing.

2006 Hearts was OK given defeat was so inevitable, 2012's been exorcised by 21/05/2016 so can't really give it a fair hearing anymore.

04-03-2017, 07:57 PM
Still trying to decide whether 2012 was a worse day than the morning the wife said she wasn't leaving me after all.

The Scottish Cup Final win last year is up there with the morning I :bye: the wife off after slinging her belongings in the back off a :taxi while giving her a big :giruy2: as it drove off into the distance.

04-03-2017, 07:58 PM
Best - 5-1 v Killie and the LC semi v the huns.

Worst....jeez there are so many horrible days. I have to say that the 0-1 v Falkirk was almost as bad as the 2 obvious ones. Awful feeling to be so so unlucky.

Topographic Hibby
04-03-2017, 07:59 PM
The Ross County final last season was totally gutting, late winner and under par performance in a game I was really convinced we would win.
I completely forgot about that one!!! Amazing what winning the wee cup does to the memory cells....!!

04-03-2017, 08:02 PM
Ayr and Dunfermilne semis were awful. 1st Dunfermilne games was just after the Collins issues had broke. Atmosphere was flat and we were crap. Replay was surreal, tiny crowd, brutal game and a terrible ending. Ayr game was when it became painfully obvious to aby doubters that Sauzee just wasn't working.

Best days (excluding May) were the Rangers semi in 03. Not many of us there but what a night. 07 final obviously and the 2nd half of the Falkirk semi. I think that game is why they are so desperate to try and make us some kind of rivals now.

04-03-2017, 08:05 PM

Apart from that day, the penalty shoot out mid week semi final against Rangers is right up there. Only about 7,000 of us there that night but boy, we made some noise.that defeat against Celtic was also sair to bear, but the Hibernian fans' response after the whistle was so good. Griffiths played while injured, and the wee south American gadge (forget his name) was hussled and fouled all game by Broony with nowt done by the ref. Did not help that they had an inform chap called Stokes, tearing down the left side to assist their main striker:rolleyes: that was the day I thought we'd be back, and win it

04-03-2017, 08:06 PM
Still trying to decide whether 2012 was a worse day than the morning the wife said she wasn't leaving me after all.

The Scottish Cup Final win last year is up there with the morning I :bye: the wife off after slinging her belongings in the back off a :taxi while giving her a big :giruy2: as it drove off into the distance.

04-03-2017, 08:09 PM
21 visits to Hampden this century can only be matched or bettered by a few clubs, anyone know how many visits The Big Team have had in that time? They must have been to Hampden more times than The Wee Team surely?

They are too big and famous for Hampden

04-03-2017, 08:15 PM
The Dunfermline replay was very sore at the time to take but even more so after seeing how tom kite Celtic played against Dunfermline in the final, if I remember correctly they scrapped a 1-0 with a goal around the 80th minute mark.

For me that was a huge chance to win it given our team and performance in the League cup final, but now thinking about it with the issues that came up between Collins and the team it's unlikely we'd have won it.

The Aye game under Sauzee was horrible also, leaving the stadium knowing it was unlikely he was going the survive much longer.

Also after giving it big licks to the Ayr fans pre match (sitting right beside them) it was rather embarrassing silently walking out with my face tripping me.

Beating Aberdeen 2-1 was delightful given I was living in Aberdeen at the time and they had believed it was won before kick off. Rangers League Cup semi and Killie final are up there also of course.

04-03-2017, 08:18 PM
The rangers semi is my favorite :agree:

04-03-2017, 08:20 PM
21 Hampden visits already this century? wow. hears me bragging about Hampden 6 years in a row too.the gorgie mob, what stats for them this century?

04-03-2017, 08:22 PM
21 Hampden visits already this century? wow. hears me bragging about Hampden 6 years in a row too.the gorgie mob, what stats for them this century?

Calm doon Wullie. It's ONLY nineteen. :greengrin

04-03-2017, 08:28 PM
I completely forgot about that one!!! Amazing what winning the wee cup does to the memory cells....!!

Almost forgot about Ross County too. Was hardened to Hampden heartache by then I think. Another game we should have won. Thank goodness we won in may. Will always be the forgotten final.

04-03-2017, 08:31 PM
Since the final in 2004 I've only missed the double tie with Dunfermline. Some horrible days which began with more promise than a Turkish Delight but ended with more grief than the wife gave me in twenty years. I think.

04-03-2017, 08:32 PM
About 20 visits to Hampden this century is very impressive especially if you compare it to number of semis and finals in both cups we got to with FF , Tornadoes or other strong teams we had . Of course we lost some of the semis and finals but overall our Hampden record this century is probably as good or better than Celtic`s or Rangers ( old or new ) and other clubs like Hearts have made so few semis and finals that their records hardly count .

chinaman
04-03-2017, 08:37 PM
Aye...we're cming back to defend our crown. **** NEGATIVITY the champions and holders are in the semis .
Bring it

04-03-2017, 08:52 PM
We should have won the double that season

Last season we should have won the double

04-03-2017, 08:55 PM
Last season we should have won the double

Easy to say now but if we had won the league cup I don't think we'd have won the Scottish. That heartache drove us on and Stubbsy used it a lot in the Scottish Cup run.

04-03-2017, 08:56 PM
Easy to say now but if we had won the league cup I don't think we'd have won the Scottish. That heartache drove us on and Stubbsy used it a lot in the Scottish Cup run.

For me.

If I could change one thing it would be won at ER v Inverness.

We win that things may have been very different in that final

04-03-2017, 09:09 PM

Same actually!

04-03-2017, 09:15 PM

:agree: Worst for me too. Think we had a real chance of beating Celtic in the final, but blew it against a v poor DAFC side.

04-03-2017, 09:16 PM
For me.

If I could change one thing it would be won at ER v Inverness.

We win that things may have been very different in that final

100%

JPrinty
04-03-2017, 09:18 PM

That was April 2000

JPrinty
04-03-2017, 09:20 PM

A massive 8 times!

04-03-2017, 09:24 PM
:agree: Worst for me too. Think we had a real chance of beating Celtic in the final, but blew it against a v poor DAFC side.I blamed Jim Mc Intyre, at the time. a sneeky bugger that managed to con us with a penalty decision iirc

04-03-2017, 09:25 PM
It's taken as read that 21/5/16 will never be beaten as the best.

Put that aside, best for me was League Cup in 1991. First time I'd seen us win a major trophy at Hampden. Magic day because of that. Oh - and Middle of the Road were the half time entertainment as I recall - Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep and all that.

Worst day at Hampden? Strangely the League Cup in 1985 against Aberdeen. There was a weird kind of hope rather than expectancy. Aberdeen at the time were by far the better team but somehow we believed we could beat them. They proved us wrong - big style.

JPrinty
04-03-2017, 09:27 PM
Sad I know but worked this out since 2000 (Hibs & Aberdeen result for this year's Scottish Cup not included):

Hibs
Hearts
Aberdeen
Dundee Utd

Last 32

Last 16

Quarter Finals

Semi Finals

Runners Up

Winners

Competitions

Hampden Trips

So Hibs have made 13 Semi Finals or better, Dundee Utd 12, Aberdeen 11 and Hearts 9. Hibs and maybe Aberdeen can add 1 more to the list for this years Scottish Cup!

Mainstandman
04-03-2017, 09:28 PM
It's not really in your timescales but the skol cup semi against the Huns in the old hampden is still one of my favourites. Still watch videos of the Keith wright header and that cross from mickey weir like he just dropped the ball out of his hand right on Keith's head.

04-03-2017, 09:39 PM
It's not really in your timescales but the skol cup semi against the Huns in the old hampden is still one of my favourites. Still watch videos of the Keith wright header and that cross from mickey weir like he just dropped the ball out of his hand right on Keith's head.that was a magic moment, and if my memory serves me it was a night game? a couple of auld guys next to us were neutrals (celtic) and they danced wi us!

04-03-2017, 10:11 PM
that was a magic moment, and if my memory serves me it was a night game? a couple of auld guys next to us were neutrals (celtic) and they danced wi us!

Worst - too many! Best 2007 - living abroad for 2016.

Cardinal Hibernian
04-03-2017, 10:29 PM
If my memory cells recall correctly - Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep was in fact the 1985 League Cup Final against Aberdeen and it was pre-game rather than half-time. Apart from never being in that game outside of an 18 year old Gordon Durie flashing a shot on goal what I actually remeber most is a very entertaining 4-2 win at New Kilbowie against Clydebank on the Wednesday night following that final at Hampden.

Nailsea Hibby
05-03-2017, 01:37 AM

Even though i pretend it never happened it's got to them 2012

05-03-2017, 01:45 AM
I bet you there will be some Hibs fans who will have been to more games at Hampden than Easter Road in that time since 2000.. :duck:

Spot on

05-03-2017, 01:46 AM

Probably some never even been to ER

05-03-2017, 02:12 AM
I blamed Jim Mc Intyre, at the time. a sneeky bugger that managed to con us with a penalty decision iirc

There are plenty of DAFC fans who will probably think that was a bit of 16 year old karma.

Falkirk under Stubbs and Livi in the league cup final felt worse to me than 5-1 ever did.

Don't ask me to explain that because I have no idea either.

On the day I reckon the 4-0 and 5-1 off hearts were worse to take but you can accept them and move on. By hook or by crook, we were thrashed and that was it. End of.

It's the missed opportunities you regret and fans of every club will agree. I don't have to recall my worst Hampden experiences but I bet Hearts fans are more annoyed and gutted by Airdrie, St. Mirren and last minute goals from Celtic than they are by thrashings off Rangers. Aberdeen fans will tell you that daft semi losses to minnows will hurt more than leatherings where strikers had to go in goals.

I suppose it's all balanced out with the sweet victories.

connerg
05-03-2017, 06:29 AM
that defeat against Celtic was also sair to bear, but the Hibernian fans' response after the whistle was so good. Griffiths played while injured, and the wee south American gadge (forget his name) was hussled and fouled all game by Broony with nowt done by the ref. Did not help that they had an inform chap called Stokes, tearing down the left side to assist their main striker:rolleyes: that was the day I thought we'd be back, and win it

Jorge Claros.

Jumbo
05-03-2017, 06:40 AM
I blamed Jim Mc Intyre, at the time. a sneeky bugger that managed to con us with a penalty decision iirc

It was Adam Hammell that dived for penalty, McIntyre took penalty

Was it not Thompson that was ref ?

Mantis Toboggan
05-03-2017, 06:42 AM
Think it was around 98/99, remember that one too

2000 i think. stirling put us out 99 with a chris jackson goal.
definitely worst one for me. andy dow somehow besting russel latapy.
the dons then lost leighton to injury 5 min into the final against that dead club and got pumped with robbie winters in goal.

05-03-2017, 06:48 AM
The 4-3 game against Falkirk was up there. It was a crazy football match and one that I couldn't believe I was witnessing.

We almost went 4-0 down at half time and I was ready to leave if that fourth goal had gone in. The second half and extra time was just incredible.

connerg
05-03-2017, 06:51 AM
The 4-3 game against Falkirk was up there. It was a crazy football match and one that I couldn't believe I was witnessing.

We almost went 4-0 down at half time and I was ready to leave if that fourth goal had gone in. The second half and extra time was just incredible.

We missed a penalty too. :rolleyes:

Johnny Clash
05-03-2017, 07:22 AM
Worst:
Losing to Livingston 0-2 in the League Cup final 2004 was horrible. We got to the final the hard way having beaten Celtic at ER in 1/4 final. My train was severely late and I just made the second half to see Hibs go one down but we won 2-1 thanks to a cracking free kick from Thomo. Then we beat Rangers in the semi final on a Thursday night in front of just 28,000 in penalty shoot out..

In the final we had Deeks, O'Connor, Thomo, Broony and Livingston had just gone into administration

My sons were 7 & 8 and the walk back to the supporters bus then the journey back to Edinburgh was the longest ever - I felt so really gutted for my boys.

Best:
Without doubt winning the Scottish Cup last year. Seeing my sons celebrate was everything!