View Full Version : How much money was that win worth to Hibs today?

04-03-2017, 07:06 PM
With ourselves and Rangers booking our semi final place, with the likelihood of Aberdeen and Celtic joining us, it's looking like two full houses at Hampden Park. With the pooled gate receipts it looks like being a bumper pay day. Any idea what kind of figures we are looking at?

04-03-2017, 07:08 PM
Aberdeen won't sell out

They are total diddies

04-03-2017, 07:10 PM
With ourselves and Rangers booking our semi final place, with the likelihood of Aberdeen and Celtic joining us, it's looking like two full houses at Hampden Park. With the pooled gate receipts it looks like being a bumper pay day. Any idea what kind of figures we are looking at?

Think there will be around 80,000 if Hibs, Rangers, Celtic and Dons get through, nice wee share for Hibs

Anyone know what you get for progressing in each round? You

04-03-2017, 07:10 PM
Aberdeen won't sell out

They are total diddies

i think they will take at least 20k, assuming they beat the harry wraggs

04-03-2017, 07:13 PM
Any profit may have to be adjusted to reflect losses if we lose out on promotion.

04-03-2017, 07:14 PM
Remember both semi finals will be 12:30 kick offs. Almost guaranteed that ourselves and Aberdeen won't sell out.

04-03-2017, 07:23 PM
If Aberdeen get there they will sell their usual 12-15K max for a semi final then make exaggerated claims about how many tickets they actually sold.

04-03-2017, 07:27 PM
i think they will take at least 20k, assuming they beat the harry wraggs

No chance

04-03-2017, 07:40 PM
No chance

If it's Hibs, they will take a huge support, as they'll fancy there chances

04-03-2017, 07:49 PM
If it's Hibs, they will take a huge support, as they'll fancy there chances

It doesn't matter who it is. Aberdeen at Hampden just doesn't go.

They thought they would hammer St. Johnstone and brought 14k(that was at Ibrox mind you) Even the QOS attendance was pitiful. The last game vs Aberdeen at Hampden was even worse.

There's no chance they are bringing 20k

04-03-2017, 07:50 PM

I would reckon between £400,000 and £500,000.

Gate receipts split four ways as is the TV money.

It's £170,000 for a televised game, and Sky show both semis and BBC one. So that's 3 x £170,000 = £510,000 or £127,500 for each of the four teams.

wearethehibs
04-03-2017, 07:55 PM
We couldn't even sale out our home ends for a Saturday 3pm Quarter final.

All be there for the final if we make it though.

04-03-2017, 07:56 PM
To be fair to Aberdeen, it's pretty difficult to get to Hamoden for 1230, especially on Sunday. There's no trains that arrive on time. Even with the football special trains they sometimes put on, it's bloody expensive. £50 a pop last time IIRC. Having said that, after campaigning to get a 50/50 split for this season's League Cup final, they weren't even close to selling out.

04-03-2017, 07:58 PM

04-03-2017, 08:01 PM

Ha

04-03-2017, 08:01 PM
I would reckon between £400,000 and £500,000.

Gate receipts split four ways as is the TV money.

It's £170,000 for a televised game, and Sky show both semis and BBC one. So that's 3 x £170,000 = £510,000 or £127,500 for each of the four teams.

Surely there can only be two semi finals?

04-03-2017, 08:02 PM

Come on now. There's absolutely no need. Our support has been brilliant this season and even 13,600 is a respectable turnout against Ayr United who only contributed about 500 to the attendance.

04-03-2017, 08:04 PM

Remember Hearts couldn't sell out the "home" ends for a semi final 3pm kick off in their own city? Big team

wearethehibs
04-03-2017, 08:05 PM
Come on now. There's absolutely no need. Our support has been brilliant this season and even 13,600 is a respectable turnout against Ayr United who only contributed about 500 to the attendance.

I know, was just a bit surprised about today's crowd

04-03-2017, 08:29 PM
If Celtic and Rangers kept apart you would think both games would sell out. At average of 20 pounds a ticket that is gate receipt alone of over a million. Take sellibg food and cost if puting in think you must get about 400k each.

04-03-2017, 08:37 PM

Yes that's right, there are two semi finals.

04-03-2017, 08:39 PM
Yes that's right, there are two semi finals.

So why 3x£170000

Topographic Hibby
04-03-2017, 08:43 PM
So why 3x£170000
They'll order us to replay our semi when we knock out Sevco.

04-03-2017, 08:44 PM
I know, was just a bit surprised about today's crowd

Me too :agree:

Was a cracking turn out - well done the Hibees!

Fergos
04-03-2017, 08:48 PM
IIRC I don't think we sold out our end for last years semi vs Dundee Utd.

Think we took about 15k through. I could be wrong.

04-03-2017, 08:48 PM
Me too :agree:

Was a cracking turn out - well done the Hibees!

Yup, 27,000 at Ibrox, less than 65% of season ticket holders
13,000 at ER, who have around 11,000 holders

cammy1969
04-03-2017, 08:54 PM
Between the gate money and tv the money pooled will be over 2.5mil I would think the 4 clubs would receive between 10-15% each imo So no a bad pay day.

04-03-2017, 09:09 PM
So why 3x£170000

Sky televising them.both and BBC doing one will be 3 x television revenue over the two semis.

04-03-2017, 09:10 PM
So why 3x£170000

Scoopyboy is saying one of the semis will be on Sky and on BBC1.

04-03-2017, 09:20 PM
Yup, 27,000 at Ibrox, less than 65% of season ticket holders
13,000 at ER, who have around 11,000 holders
S/t not valid for cup games.

04-03-2017, 09:22 PM

I know, what I'm saying is that we had a higher percentage of our regular supporters going today v Rangers, yet some on here are having a go at our crowd today

04-03-2017, 09:28 PM
If the tickets are split 50/50 then we won't sell out against any of them. Truth be told, draw Celtic and I doubt we take anymore than 13/14 thousand.

04-03-2017, 09:35 PM

However the fact Der Hun have more will be used as a means to skew the crowd in the favour of them or indeed the lesser greens were we to draw them.

Mainstandman
04-03-2017, 09:36 PM

Certainly wasn't more than that I think maybe 13 but can't be sure just remember it not being that busy. Got a clear view of the beast Logan running out!

04-03-2017, 10:46 PM

I think the attendance was 19,000 in total so I'd have thought more like 11-12k Hibees.

Criswell
04-03-2017, 10:57 PM
I think the attendance was 19,000 in total so I'd have thought more like 11-12k Hibees.

I was at that game and the DU support was very poor. I think the 15k Hibs and 4k DU is about right.

04-03-2017, 11:12 PM
Any profit may have to be adjusted to reflect losses if we lose out on promotion.

Obvs.

But given that the Cup runs have been keeping us afloat down here in the 2nd tier, it's good to be good right?

04-03-2017, 11:16 PM
Hope that Hibs get Aberdeen / PTFC and Sellick (assuming they win) get Sevco. Less money for the semi but more chance or progressing.

05-03-2017, 12:35 AM
If Aberdeen get there they will sell their usual 12-15K max for a semi final then make exaggerated claims about how many tickets they actually sold.

That sounds a bit like the other team fi the capital

05-03-2017, 12:41 AM
Hope that Hibs get Aberdeen / PTFC and Sellick (assuming they win) get Sevco. Less money for the semi but more chance or progressing.
It will not make a lot of difference as the semi-final revenues are pooled.

houstonhibbee
05-03-2017, 01:04 AM
If the tickets are split 50/50 then we won't sell out against any of them. Truth be told, draw Celtic and I doubt we take anymore than 13/14 thousand.
maybe in the pre cup winning days but our crowds are up 30% since then

05-03-2017, 06:43 AM
Crowd at semi last yr was 19652. If we get Aberdeen I'm sure the crowd will be nearer 30,000 meaning a pooled attendance of 80,000 which hibs will get 20% with 20% going to the Gfa. With TV money I would guesstimate hibs will earn between £350,000 and £400,000 minus of course players bonuses whichvwere substantial a few seasons ago. With the massive increase in league attendances we should return a profit for the second year running. Not back for a team outside the top flight.

scooby
05-03-2017, 06:47 AM

Ssshh, that's not going to happen.

05-03-2017, 07:00 AM
So estimates look like the rewards being worth the equivalent of laying two new pitch's at Tynecastle?
:lolyam:

05-03-2017, 07:27 AM

Are the semi final ticket sales not split between the 4 remaining clubs?

Either way, should be a great pay day for the club

05-03-2017, 02:35 PM
Are the semi final ticket sales not split between the 4 remaining clubs?

Either way, should be a great pay day for the club

Yes they are. On a slight downside, we've lost 2 Saturday home games to midweek, but we'll more than make up with this pot, as that's the 3 top teams in Scotland already through😄

05-03-2017, 02:46 PM
Sickback has a similar thread..someone on there reckons it's £2m in the last 2 seasons because they would obviously replicated the cup runs / success that we had after beating them. Basically we have stolen £2m from them and they are not happy 🙂

05-03-2017, 03:09 PM
2 semi finals and the final. The gate receipts are split 4 ways for the 3 games.

05-03-2017, 03:19 PM
2 semi finals and the final. The gate receipts are split 4 ways for the 3 games.

Surely not

yonder1875
05-03-2017, 03:21 PM
We'll surely take 20k regardless of the opponent.

05-03-2017, 03:31 PM
We'll surely take 20k regardless of the opponent.

I doubt it. I don't understand why anyone other than fans coming from far away wouldn't want to go to a semi final, but we only seem to take about 14k. With the upturn in our crowds this season we could maybe squeeze out about 16k or so IMO.

HibbyAl
05-03-2017, 03:39 PM

The gate receipts for the final are split between the 2 finalists.

JackLadd
05-03-2017, 03:43 PM
Some crappy 12:30 Sunday kick off might put us under 20k. Saturday kick off and we'll sell out.

05-03-2017, 03:45 PM
Some crappy 12:30 Sunday kick off might put us under 20k. Saturday kick off and we'll sell out.

If it's Saturday, it will be around 12noon/12.15 ko. Match must be finished by 3pm latest

05-03-2017, 04:01 PM

We had roughly 13,000 for a home cup tie against a team we've played 3 times already this season, in a game where Season Tickets weren't valid. Dunno about you but I think that's an amazing amount

and that was a quarter final not a semi final. There's generally a massive increase in attendances at the semi-final stage.

05-03-2017, 04:07 PM
The gate receipts for the final are split between the 2 finalists.

and rightly so, straight split between us and aberdeen :)

05-03-2017, 05:07 PM
The continued bounce in crowds we have had since winning the Cup will surely see us take another Big Support to Hampden

WHAM
05-03-2017, 05:31 PM
As shown by previous games, we never seem to take more than 15-17k to a semi final. But at a final we can take over 30k.

Anywhere over 15k Hibs fans for an early kick off through in Glasgow is pretty good IMO.

05-03-2017, 05:36 PM
As shown by previous games, we never seem to take more than 15-17k to a semi final. But at a final we can take over 30k.

Anywhere over 15k Hibs fans for an early kick off through in Glasgow is pretty good IMO.
Crowds for last 3 semis at Hampden

Semi last year against Dundee Utd -19,651
Semi against Falkirk 2013 - 22,410
Semi against Aberdeen 2012 - 28,278

Think this one may go over 30,000

WHAM
05-03-2017, 05:43 PM
Crowds for last 3 semis at Hampden

Semi last year against Dundee Utd -19,651
Semi against Falkirk 2013 - 22,410
Semi against Aberdeen 2012 - 28,278

Think this one may go over 30,000

I agree. I'm talking about Hibs fans.

05-03-2017, 05:47 PM
I thought it was the 2 semis and final money that got pooled??

05-03-2017, 05:49 PM
I agree. I'm talking about Hibs fans.

Well do the research your self then!

WHAM
05-03-2017, 06:07 PM
Haha. Sorry mate. I wasn't meaning to sound ungrateful for the previous 3 attendance figures.

And I think from them, we both agree there will probably be a crowd just over 30k with an approx 50:50 split with Dons fans. We might take slightly more with it being an easier journey, time etc.

I think the last time we played them in the semi, it certainly looked like both teams had the same size of support.

Anyway, the main thing is the right result and a chance to retain the trophy
Ggtth 🇳🇬

05-03-2017, 06:09 PM
Haha. Sorry mate. I wasn't meaning to sound ungrateful for the previous 3 attendance figures.

And I think from them, we both agree there will probably be a crowd just over 30k with an approx 50:50 split with Dons fans. We might take slightly more with it being an easier journey, time etc.

I think the last time we played them in the semi, it certainly looked like both teams had the same size of support.

Anyway, the main thing is the right result and a chance to retain the trophy
Ggtth 🇳🇬
Was only kidding anyway

05-03-2017, 06:16 PM
The receipts from the Semi-Final matches in the Competition shall be pooled and
shall be deemed to include monies received from all admission charges to the
matches, radio and television fees, and any sums in respect of advertising within the
stadium specially for the occasion.

The Association shall retain 10% of the balance, after payment of the expenses of
the two matches and the clubs’ guarantees.

The remainder, after payment of the rental for the use of a ground or grounds, the
scale of which shall be determined by the Board, shall be divided, equally, among the
four clubs.

05-03-2017, 06:20 PM
Aberdeen won't sell out

They are total diddies

Neither will we.

05-03-2017, 06:27 PM
80,00 @ approx £25 a ticket = 2,000,000 in gate receipts alone, although probably below the £25, still be a couple of hundred K's each after TV and catering whatever

05-03-2017, 07:03 PM

That was a damn good support considering it was a Saturday lunchtime ko AND live on national tv.

05-03-2017, 07:03 PM
Neither will we.

....who cares!

05-03-2017, 07:07 PM
The Scottish cup holders back at Hampden , defending our cup .
20 k easy .

Greenworld
05-03-2017, 07:22 PM

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

05-03-2017, 08:02 PM
London marathon weekend.

Committed.

05-03-2017, 08:23 PM
London marathon weekend.

Committed.

You should be,if you've staying at home to watch that:greengrin

inglisavhibs
05-03-2017, 08:52 PM
That was a damn good support considering it was a Saturday lunchtime ko AND live on national tv.
Take say 80000 @average £20 £1.6m/ 4 = £400k each. Take off 10% for SFA and vat leaves £288k. Other expenses might reduce it to £250k plus around £85k for TV gives us approx. £335k. Getting to the final would make us another 1/2 million or so.

05-03-2017, 09:10 PM
Take say 80000 @average £20 £1.6m/ 4 = £400k each. Take off 10% for SFA and vat leaves £288k. Other expenses might reduce it to £250k plus around £85k for TV gives us approx. £335k. Getting to the final would make us another 1/2 million or so.

Winning another cup final... another 1.5mil?

05-03-2017, 09:18 PM
Winning another cup final... another 1.5mil?

No, 2 in a row

05-03-2017, 09:52 PM
Hibs won't be far off the 20k mark for this

06-03-2017, 07:28 AM
They're crying their eyes out on KB, at the lost revenue and are livid at the cash we will make out of the semi and possibly the final. Now, in their books we are useless and destined to stay in the Championship, so materialistically what is their problem? They on the other hand are a top team trying to outfight teams at the top of their league but they have no problems with them picking up big bucks from Cup runs. Looking down at us instead of looking up at where they want to go.

06-03-2017, 07:54 AM
They're crying their eyes out on KB, at the lost revenue and are livid at the cash we will make out of the semi and possibly the final. Now, in their books we are useless and destined to stay in the Championship, so materialistically what is their problem? They on the other hand are a top team trying to outfight teams at the top of their league but they have no problems with them picking up big bucks from Cup runs. Looking down at us instead of looking up at where they want to go.

No wonder they are seek. Hibs in the Championship but flourishing with season tickets through the roof, knocking Hearts out yet again infront of another massive Easter Road crowd, in yet another semi, going for 2 scottish cups in a row, fans buoyant while their wee tinpot ground is like an empty library. I'm not surprised they are bleating to be honest.

Baker9
06-03-2017, 08:46 AM
No wonder they are seek. Hibs in the Championship but flourishing with season tickets through the roof, knocking Hearts out yet again infront of another massive Easter Road crowd, in yet another semi, going for 2 scottish cups in a row, fans buoyant while their wee tinpot ground is like an empty library. I'm not surprised they are bleating to be honest.

Should we consider donating some of the money (5%, say) to Hearts Survival Fund on the basis that they are potentially a source of good income for us if they manage to stay up? A very neighbourly thing to do and good community spirit.

06-03-2017, 10:35 AM
Should we consider donating some of the money (5%, say) to Hearts Survival Fund on the basis that they are potentially a source of good income for us if they manage to stay up? A very neighbourly thing to do and good community spirit.

I don't think so.

Weren't they sporting 'WONGA' logos on their shirt fronts a few years back?

I suggest we lend them some at around 3000% p.a. interest, and when they don't pay the loan back, send in the bailiffs and close them down.

Or confiscate Catheter's lap-top. I've heard he cannae get up in the morning without that thing telling him how to get dressed ...