View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths

03-03-2017, 01:16 PM
Is currently involved in a little twitter spat with another Celtic fan.

Basically Griffiths retweeted a video of himself scoring for us with the caption 'Doing what I do best'

Celtic fan replies to the extent of "that's your level, an emergency loan will be on the cards soon"

Griffiths replied "aye maybe. 😎"

Now I know he will be saying maybe as in a sarcastic way of that being his level and that there is absolutely no chance he will come here on a loan.

But, can we just imagine it for a second? What a difference a guy like him would make

03-03-2017, 01:18 PM
they don't want him now they have dembele, come on home Leigh :flag:

JDHibs
03-03-2017, 01:18 PM
With our defensive record & Cummings/Griffiths up top.

We would need very few changes to make us compete for 2nd next season. Couple of decent wingers and a good creative attacking mid.

03-03-2017, 01:23 PM

Basically Griffiths retweeted a video of himself scoring for us with the caption 'Doing what I do best'

Celtic fan replies to the extent of "that's your level, an emergency loan will be on the cards soon"

Now I know he will be saying maybe as in a sarcastic way of that being his level and that there is absolutely no chance he will come here on a loan.

But, can we just imagine it for a second? What a difference a guy like him would make

Please, just Please!!!

glory glory

03-03-2017, 01:23 PM
There's absolutely zero chance of Leigh playing for hibs anytime soon. If he leaves Celtic, which is doubtful, it'll be to a club that can pay 5 times plus the wages we can offer. Love to see him back but it's unlikely to be until the end of his career.

03-03-2017, 01:30 PM
I think it sticks in some celtic fans craw that Leighs biggest football love is us not them. Leigh obviously likes celtic and would give 100% whilst playing for them but they know its not the same as his love for hibs, a club that he's supported all his life.

Celtic, as usual, can't understand why everybody isn't in love with them.

03-03-2017, 01:32 PM
There's absolutely zero chance of Leigh playing for hibs anytime soon. If he leaves Celtic, which is doubtful, it'll be to a club that can pay 5 times plus the wages we can offer. Love to see him back but it's unlikely to be until the end of his career.
Well he can't go anywhere until the end of the season other than an 'emergency loan to another Scottish Club.

So not totally impossible. Unlikely though!

TheFamous1875
03-03-2017, 01:34 PM
I reckon if we got Sparky up top with Cummings, Henderson in midfield next to McGinn (both box-to-box) and two decent wingers, we'd easily be one of the best teams in the country. Make it happen, Petrie!!

WS Hibs
03-03-2017, 01:35 PM
Well he can't go anywhere until the end of the season other than an 'emergency loan to another Scottish Club.

So not totally impossible. Unlikely though!

And that can't be us, because Efe Ambrose is here. You can't have two emergency loans from the same club at once.

seanoheimhin
03-03-2017, 01:35 PM
I think it sticks in some celtic fans craw that Leighs biggest football love is us not them. Leigh obviously likes celtic and would give 100% whilst playing for them but they know its not the same as his love for hibs, a club that he's supported all his life.

Think you're bang on with that one. A few Celtic fans I know insist their players tell them how they're the best club in the world, best fans in the world etc and if they don't get it laid on thick then they won't like a player quite as much - no matter how successful they are.

03-03-2017, 01:37 PM
Girffiths on loan would fix our goalscoring problems.

:hyper

03-03-2017, 01:45 PM
We've had two ELs this season and we've got Efe so there is no way this can happen.

03-03-2017, 02:25 PM

03-03-2017, 02:27 PM
We've had two ELs this season and we've got Efe so there is no way this can happen.

I don't think anyone was seriously suggesting it was likely to happen mate.

03-03-2017, 02:29 PM
Anybody think he could still do a job for us?

03-03-2017, 02:50 PM
Anybody think he could still do a job for us?

Now that Edinburgh City have beaten us to the punch with Riordan Griffiths would be a decent alternative if we could get him fit :greengrin

03-03-2017, 02:56 PM
Wonder how much it would take to get him here. Would be worth every penny of 4-5k a week.

03-03-2017, 02:59 PM

and.....

Salt N Sauzee
03-03-2017, 03:12 PM
Read the Twitter spat in its entirety. We already know this but Celtic fans are right up there with the very thickest.

03-03-2017, 03:18 PM
Wonder how much it would take to get him here. Would be worth every penny of 4-5k a week.

Never mind a loan deal why no just push the boat right oot and buy him outright.

03-03-2017, 03:19 PM
Never mind a loan deal why no just push the boat right oot and buy him outright.

Not a chance. Ever!

03-03-2017, 03:36 PM
Could we all just agree to let go of reality for a minute and pretend it's on? It's so much more fun :hyper

03-03-2017, 03:49 PM
Not a chance of him coming to us any time soon.

03-03-2017, 03:50 PM
Never mind a loan deal why no just push the boat right oot and buy him outright.With what? It certainly wouldn't be money, we could not afford that and it is nothing to do with pushing the boat out.

03-03-2017, 03:51 PM
Not a chance. Ever!I heard a 150 grand would clinch it.

03-03-2017, 03:52 PM
With what? It certainly wouldn't be money, we could not afford that and it is nothing to do with pushing the boat out.

£500 a week and a Hibs strip signed by the SC winning 11. He's not a true Hibs fan if he doesn't accept this generous offer.

HFCdeb
03-03-2017, 03:53 PM
I miss him 😣😣😣

03-03-2017, 03:58 PM
I'm hearing £150k was discussed...

03-03-2017, 04:03 PM

That is two of you said it. Must be true then.

03-03-2017, 04:06 PM
Griffiths and Berbatov up front? Cannae wait! :-)

03-03-2017, 04:08 PM

:hyper :hyper

03-03-2017, 04:16 PM

:dancer::dancer:

03-03-2017, 04:26 PM
I would say when we had Leigh on loan I think from Wolves he would probably at that point be getting paid by Wolves more than we pay. I would guess LG as of now must be pushing towards 10k PW at Celtic if even more. He has a family to support and he is currently likely to be able to still get a similar wage if Celtic do not want.

As much as LG does love hibs I would say LG will still be looking for the next 4/5 years anyway of maintaining the wages currently being offered or going higher. Even if told tomorrow not wanted by Celtic a fair few clubs would surely look to take him on. This is a key test now in his career and he will 100% want to show he has what it takes and unfortunately I do not see that at Hibs for many years to come.

03-03-2017, 05:17 PM

We'll skoosh this.

ColinNish
03-03-2017, 08:20 PM
Wonder when he comes on loan if he'll dress his kids up in Hibs strips like he does with Celtc ones the now? 🤔🤔🤔🤔

03-03-2017, 08:44 PM

03-03-2017, 08:52 PM
Sparky plus a million for McGinn in the summer if we get promoted is what my source is telling me.

My source is my own imagination but that doesn't matter. It's on!

03-03-2017, 09:00 PM
For me it's a no. I honestly don't think we need him. Not with Graham and Hotl who provide so much more. I would rather use the cash to pay a little bit more back to Rod and STF.

03-03-2017, 09:02 PM
they don't want him now they have dembele, come on home Leigh :flag:

Agreed...please..

03-03-2017, 09:31 PM
Mcginn and Cummings for Leigh and Henderson and a million for us lol

03-03-2017, 09:36 PM
It's a fan's right to dream. We go up and sign Griffiths and you'd have record ST sales and be struggling to get a ticket for our first home game whoever it was against. Pie in the sky the way we're playing in the league just now.

TheMentalHibees
03-03-2017, 09:43 PM
Sparky plus a million for McGinn in the summer if we get promoted is what my source is telling me.

My source is my own imagination but that doesn't matter. It's on!

I'd probably jump for joy then cry for a week if that happened.

03-03-2017, 10:07 PM
Mcginn and Cummings for Leigh and Henderson and a million for us lol

Pass.

MichaelTheCelt
03-03-2017, 11:56 PM

Honestly mate speaking for every Celtic fan I know and myself included it really doesn't bother me that Griffiths is a big Hibs man I have never known it to be made an issue. I actually like the fact he doesn't hide it would rather he was up front about being a Hibee rather than playing up to our fans, I mean why should he hide it?

I watched the game at Tynecastle in the pub at the beginning of the season and everyone got a good laugh when Griffiths pointed at himself and said "So was I" when the Farts were singing we were there when we won the Scottish cup.

Good lad is Leigh and I hope he gets back into the team would be absolutely gutted to see him leave. No doubt one day he'll be back at Hibs.

broondog
03-03-2017, 11:59 PM
The guy is an absolute class act and too good for us unfortunately. He may come back at the end of his career realistically.

When Dembele moves on for 30 odd million in summer LG will be back front and centre in the Celtic team scoring every week

04-03-2017, 12:02 AM
£500 a week and a Hibs strip signed by the SC winning 11. He's not a true Hibs fan if he doesn't accept this generous offer.

If he's not at the Ayr game tomorrow then he's not a true fan and we should steer clear.

04-03-2017, 03:48 AM

I'm hearing Rodney turned it down

04-03-2017, 09:23 AM
yuo can completely understand leigh's frustration as he isn't getting much of a look in just now, probably just showing everyone what he can do i.e score goals

great player for us but as others have said there is zero chance of him coming back any time soon sadly just simply due to the money involved

04-03-2017, 09:35 AM
I reckon if we got Sparky up top with Cummings, Henderson in midfield next to McGinn (both box-to-box) and two decent wingers, we'd easily be one of the best teams in the country. Make it happen, Petrie!!

Perhaps we could add Messi, Canti, Silva and Hazzard to that four I think we would defo compete for the top six. :wink:

04-03-2017, 09:42 AM
Honestly mate speaking for every Celtic fan I know and myself included it really doesn't bother me that Griffiths is a big Hibs man I have never known it to be made an issue. I actually like the fact he doesn't hide it would rather he was up front about being a Hibee rather than playing up to our fans, I mean why should he hide it?

I watched the game at Tynecastle in the pub at the beginning of the season and everyone got a good laugh when Griffiths pointed at himself and said "So was I" when the Farts were singing we were there when we won the Scottish cup.

Good lad is Leigh and I hope he gets back into the team would be absolutely gutted to see him leave. No doubt one day he'll be back at Hibs.

Absolutely mate and mirrors all my work colleagues opinion too. I work in Glasgow.

04-03-2017, 09:52 AM
I'm hearing Rodney turned it down

I haven't heard anything to 100% refute this suggestion. There's nothing to say this isn't correct :agree:

04-03-2017, 12:20 PM

clarkstonbhoy
04-03-2017, 07:01 PM
its a strange one, as Rodgers obviously does not fancy him in the lone striker role. Rodgers doesnt play two strikers, Dembele will be off in the Summer so no idea why Rodgers isnt giving Leigh some starts. Celtic fans know that Leigh is a die hard hibs fan, never been an issue, some hardcore support at the start wouldn't accept him, but 40 goals and that fickle part of the support were soon won over. That fan that got a bite on twitter is obviously a roaster we all have them. We have alot to thank Leigh for, his away goal against Astana pretty much defined our European football season and money.

04-03-2017, 07:06 PM

My intelligence sources are not saying Leigh is coming to Hibs.

So he is definitely coming to Hibs.

05-03-2017, 01:54 AM

I recently spent 2 years in Paris and one of my 3 'locals' was The Harp owned by a Swedish guy and mainly bartended by Steve a Celtic fan from Johnstone. He loved LG. He was pissed when he never started a few games. Indeed I think he would have had less respect for LG if he had stopped being Hibs mad.

The Celtic fans I know don't expect LG to drain Hibs from his blood.

I don't expect every player who runs out for the Hibs to suddenly become a member of the Edinburgh Fringe fan club. As long as they give 100%.

And enjoy beating that mob from the piggery of course. I do expect that :greengrin

05-03-2017, 02:20 AM
Perhaps we could add Messi, Canti, Silva and Hazzard to that four I think we would defo compete for the top six. :wink:

TheFamous1875
05-03-2017, 04:16 AM

Messi and Silva? Ridiculous talk.

Players of that calibre would never join us in the Championship!

Enough said
05-03-2017, 08:16 AM
I heard a 150 grand would clinch it.

Get your head out the sand .... 150 k . You honestly think Celtic would
Only value at him for 150k..:

05-03-2017, 08:18 AM

Woooooosh

ColinNish
05-03-2017, 08:37 AM
Woooooosh

Yip. Mega whoosh moment. 😁

05-03-2017, 11:21 AM

He would skoosh this league.

05-03-2017, 11:24 AM
I heard a 150 grand would clinch it.

Is that because it's £10k per week for his wages until the end of the season ? ☹️

05-03-2017, 11:32 AM

You say that, but this figure keeps getting discussed.

Enough said
05-03-2017, 12:23 PM

Your way of the mark.... keep drinking the juice!

05-03-2017, 12:28 PM
On the bench today. Will be interesting what sort of reception he gets, if he gets on

05-03-2017, 12:44 PM

Alfiembra
05-03-2017, 12:44 PM
Didn't Petrie turn down the chance to sign him for £150k from Wolves while still on loan?

05-03-2017, 12:46 PM
On the bench today. Will be interesting what sort of reception he gets, if he gets on

He got a standing ovation last week when he came on.

05-03-2017, 12:47 PM

That's good enough for me. £150k in the summer will bring him home.

05-03-2017, 12:52 PM
He got a standing ovation last week when he came on.

Maybe, but thought he'd been involved in some sort of twitter spat this week

05-03-2017, 01:31 PM
Only value at him for 150k..:That's the only price ever for him:wink:

05-03-2017, 01:33 PM
Now that Edinburgh City have beaten us to the punch with Riordan Griffiths would be a decent alternative if we could get him fit :greengrin

Have Spartans not found £150,000?

05-03-2017, 02:17 PM
Where's the gif thread?

05-03-2017, 02:24 PM
looking at the impact he made today, i can't understand why RP is still holding out and won't just fork out the £150,000 - surely worth every penny.

BRING HIM HOME!!!

05-03-2017, 03:14 PM

:not worth I certainly will.

05-03-2017, 03:19 PM
looking at the impact he made today, i can't understand why RP is still holding out and won't just fork out the £150,000 - surely worth every penny.

BRING HIM HOME!!!

We're playing hardball and are trying to haggle them down. If we play it right, I think we could get him for about £130,000 :wink:

05-03-2017, 03:31 PM
We're playing hardball and are trying to haggle them down. If we play it right, I think we could get him for about £130,000 :wink:

That's crazy talk! £20,000? Typical penny penching Petrie. I actually feel quite angry, I could go out and hit a traffic warden :grr:

05-03-2017, 05:12 PM
And that can't be us, because Efe Ambrose is here. You can't have two emergency loans from the same club at once.

Okay to have 2 at once if they're from a club in a different league but we still couldn't get him on loan because we've had 2 on loan over the age of 21.

http://stv.tv/sport/football/1381905-how-does-scottish-football-s-emergency-loan-system-work/

05-03-2017, 08:03 PM

It's a Hibs.net FACT.

It's ok.

houstonhibbee
05-03-2017, 08:04 PM
If he'd stayed on the bench maybe St Mirren would have held out?

05-03-2017, 09:08 PM

05-03-2017, 11:31 PM
See yet another sick cretin has just tweeted him abuse about his kids. Seriously what is wrong with some folk?!

Anyway, would love him to come back to us but its not happening, certainly not now anyway.

05-03-2017, 11:49 PM
See yet another sick cretin has just tweeted him abuse about his kids. Seriously what is wrong with some folk?!

Nothing that a £150k fine wouldn't cure:agree:

05-03-2017, 11:55 PM
You are hilarious.

06-03-2017, 12:08 AM

Anyway, would love him to come back to us but its not happening, certainly not now anyway.

certainly not with that attitude! :rolleyes:

...WentToMowAnSPL
06-03-2017, 12:14 AM
That's crazy talk! £20,000? Typical penny penching Petrie. I actually feel quite angry, I could go out and hit a traffic warden :grr:

Steady I just got a job as a Traffic Warden Impersonator...
Four Years as an Elvis Impersonator.... getting beaten up left right and center by yous Hibbees ...

Left me all shook up I can tell you... For the want of a little more conversation !!

06-03-2017, 02:28 AM
Nothing that a £150k fine wouldn't cure:agree:

You saying it's on? :hyper

06-03-2017, 11:23 AM
You saying it's on? :hyper

This is how unsubstantiated rumours start.

06-03-2017, 11:23 AM

06-03-2017, 01:32 PM
just met met RP on the 101 to dumfries, he was going to visit his aunty's farm down there - told me that money is no issue, the board are happy to meet celtic's valuation of leigh, and will meet his wages as well as paying for all his kids to go to fettes. he was slightly concerned about the finances but said, and i quote, 'at the end of the day, mo' money mo' problems am i right?'.

IT'S ACTUALLY ON OMFG

06-03-2017, 01:34 PM
just met met RP on the 101 to dumfries, he was going to visit his aunty's farm down there - told me that money is no issue, the board are happy to meet celtic's valuation of leigh, and will meet his wages as well as paying for all his kids to go to fettes. he was slightly concerned about the finances but said, and i quote, 'at the end of the day, mo' money mo' problems am i right?'.

IT'S ACTUALLY ON OMFG

From the horse's mooth. Thanks for the info :hyper

06-03-2017, 01:36 PM

IT'S ACTUALLY ON OMFG

'Fo shizzle. :hyper

06-03-2017, 01:48 PM
I'm now picturing Enough Said as the guy who joins the class for sarcasmaholics :greengrin

06-03-2017, 01:58 PM
This is on !!! more proof !!! Leigh has just started putting all his Celtic shirts on eBay..to help make up the wage difference as he heads for easter Rd :hyper:hyper:hyper

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Leigh-Griffiths-signed-celtic-shirt-COA-/252735596931?hash=item3ad8372983:g:00UAAOSwZQRYhM1 8

06-03-2017, 02:00 PM

06-03-2017, 07:00 PM
What a time to be alive! :hyper

06-03-2017, 07:55 PM
I'm now picturing Enough Said as the guy who joins the class for sarcasmaholics :greengrin

A sarcasmaholic on a sarcastic Hibsnet thread?
Naaaaaaaaw. :wink:

06-03-2017, 11:35 PM

06-03-2017, 11:42 PM
Didn't Petrie turn down the chance to sign him for £150k from Wolves while still on loan?
Aye that would be right!

07-03-2017, 07:46 AM
Aye that would be right!

You say that, but the £150,000 figure seems to be gaining currency with every passing day. There was an article about it the other day.

07-03-2017, 08:21 AM
https://desertbus.org/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/The-Sun-Rises-on-150000.jpg

07-03-2017, 09:29 AM
https://desertbus.org/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/The-Sun-Rises-on-150000.jpg

Sweet. Looks like a done deal.

07-03-2017, 10:34 AM
Sweet. Looks like a done deal.

Got the image from Leigh's own Minecraft account (he is a massive Minecraft fan as it's the only thing that keeps him occupied in the evenings that doesn't involve getting people pregnant)...he is sending us a message. He is on his way for sure :hyper:hyper

07-03-2017, 12:09 PM
(he is a massive Minecraft fan as it's the only thing that keeps him occupied in the evenings that doesn't involve getting people pregnant)...r

07-03-2017, 01:59 PM
Got the image from Leigh's own Minecraft account (he is a massive Minecraft fan as it's the only thing that keeps him occupied in the evenings that doesn't involve getting people pregnant)...he is sending us a message. He is on his way for sure :hyper:hyper

07-03-2017, 04:48 PM

07-03-2017, 08:27 PM

didn't seem real until i saw this but this really brought it home IT'S ON IT'S HAPPENING!!!

:hyper :hyper :hyper

07-03-2017, 09:13 PM
didn't seem real until i saw this but this really brought it home IT'S ON IT'S HAPPENING!!!

:hyper :hyper :hyper
I heard Lawwell is chucking Hendo in as well for that tidy sum.