View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v St Mirren
Fifehibby74
01-03-2017, 08:08 PM
Hope we get caught by the chasing pack.
Don't know what else wakes these apathetic wasters up
Nothing surer than we will get dragged back in. United beat us and win game in hand them it's 1 point difference. Our bottle will go big time.
Love this club but beginning to doubt if this squad can get us up. This is their 3rd attempt
01-03-2017, 08:08 PM
Miss of the season Boyle. Follow up from Holt not much better.
Tony Bobulinski
01-03-2017, 08:09 PM
2 misses from 3 yards out :panic:
Johnny Clash
01-03-2017, 08:09 PM
Really need a goal soon to start a fight back but it's the complete opposite of the game v hearts when we won every battle in every position. So far it's St. Mirren winning in ever position
No desire, no football, no pace. We're 2nd to every ball, standing off players and an embarrassment. It's not the 1st time and has happened too often, far from good enough Hibs!
01-03-2017, 08:10 PM
How did we not score there.
How many time could we say that over the past few years.
#skooshingit another inept performance from our so called premiership calibre team.
The Captain....
This is shambolic...players need a ****ing wake up call...there's far too many that have one good game in five or six. Not ****ing good enough.
Hearts are getting beat tho😂
Just shows how bad Hertz are?
How the **** did Boyle miss that???
Because that's what he does. That sums up our season canny even score from a yard out open goal. :rolleyes:
Boyle and Holt both missed from
Point Blank range! Not out night tonight
Ozymandias
01-03-2017, 08:11 PM
I'll have a day out away from the football and enjoy myself instead of watching this crap
Have fun. Hope the weather is fair to mirror your supporting attitude.
Boyle and then rebound going to Holt...
Absolute sitter...close to Cummings last season against Raith - would have been a lifeline with 25 mins to go.
Decided to go to a local Restraunt in Paisley and Celebrate my Wifes Birthday with the Family We were going to head to the game and decided not to on basis noone thpught we would win apart from me
Sounds like they made the right call St Mirren had something to play for but surely so did we
Four League games now on the trot where we havent looked like winnig against teams at the bottom is depressing
We cant just assume other Teams will keep dropping points
Not sure what the answer is given we didnt sign a scoring midfielder or another proven Striker to take pressure off Jason
We have relied on the defence but now with all the injuries and changes we cant rely on that now imo
Will be at the Ayr game hoping we can get up for the Scottish Cup defence but we really are making hard work of this and the chasing pack must sense they at least have the opportunity to catch us if one of them goes on winning streak
We can only get it together if there is prestige attached to the game. It was the same last season. Players attitude is mince.
01-03-2017, 08:12 PM
Lifting it for the big games, bottling it for the important ones. Glad we have a cushion but can't afford many more slip ups along the way.
Off the bar
this is ****
Have fun. Hope the weather is fair to mirror your supporting attitude.
01-03-2017, 08:13 PM
We've completely run out of ideas on how to win run of the mill football matches much as we did around this time last year.
I had a feeling we would lose this one.
Maybe a lot of folk were blind sided by how easily Hibs beat an absolutely pathetic Hearts team?
It's turning into a similar collapse as was witnessed around this time last season IIRC?
I blame the person who started the thread.
It should be St. Mirren v Hibs.
Quite like Boyle but in fairness he is p*** poor in 7/10 games.
Off the bar
01-03-2017, 08:14 PM
Keatings on for Shinnie
Miss of the season Boyle. Follow up from Holt not much better.
Miss of decade
This team are living in fantasy land.
They have it too easy, play at a brilliant stadium in front of 15k loyal fans every week. Luxury training ground.
The fact is only about 5 of them deserve to be at a club our size.
The most worrying aspect is the last two games we deserved to lose. Raith we didn't deserve to win. In the past its been a case of not putting away chances but we are playing like we're bottom of the league at the moment
Slim Shady
01-03-2017, 08:15 PM
Because he's piss. If he only tried to use his first touch rather than score he would've hit the target. He can control the ball further than I can kick it!!
Weve scraped games for a while now. It was evident a run of results like this were just around the corner. Players far to casual.
When we are the scalp, we get skelped!
Football is weird. :confused:
This is like last year. Cannae ****** believe it
This reminds me a bit if the Morton defeat at home. Hopefully we make this a one off.
TheMentalHibees
**** right ****ing off Hibs. **** ****edy ****. Beat hearts and can't beat these teams. Thank **** no one below us has put a run together otherwise we'd be in trouble. Instead of sprinting over the line we're going to stagger over it and collapse like an alcoholic after a week-long bender.
01-03-2017, 08:16 PM
Lifting it for the big games, bottling it for the important ones. Glad we have a cushion but can't afford many more slip ups along the way.
I think it's more than slip ups. It's becoming a way of life.
Maybe a lot of folk were blind sided by how easily Hibs beat an absolutely pathetic Hearts team?
It's turning into a similar collapse as was witnessed around this time last season IIRC?
Not quite yet as we lost 4 or 5 in a row. Too many draws of course but not yet in the same ballpark.
Ilovehibs
I'll have a day out away from the football and enjoy myself instead of watching this crap
Good for you. That's one less part-timer to boo when the going gets tough. Enjoy yourself.
01-03-2017, 08:17 PM
We can only get it together if there is prestige attached to the game. It was the same last season. Players attitude is mince.
Deja Vue only difference we have no lost as many as we did last season, lack of quality no one wi a fitba brain on the park for us, it is a big miss, and we cannie expect SJM to give 5 star performances every week to drag us through games.
It's just as well Dundee Utd are pish as well.
In saying that they win their game in hand and beat us and it gets a bit scary. I though there was no way we could throw this away but as the weeks tick on and the points get dropped I'm starting to worry. I thought now was when we'd start to stretch away after it being close as opposed to us getting dragged back into a fight.
whats the chances of dipping into the emergency loan market again for a left back , a right back , 3 midfielders and a couple of strikers before saturday
Don't worry, it's the cup next week and we'll be up for that.
Being played off the park by Dunfermline and losing to St mirren isn't good enough.
That is ab absolute incredible miss by Boyle - as lazy a finish as you will see
Ridiculous
Wouldve gave us hope with 25 to go
01-03-2017, 08:18 PM
I bet they put in a performance on Sat in the cup tho.... everything is wrong with the attitude of the team at the moment.
We will win this yet!
Good for you. That's one less part-timer to boo when the going gets tough. Enjoy yourself.
I think most of these guys are just venting/attention seeking. Otherwise they be better on homebase.net or wherever non football blokes go on Saturdays.
01-03-2017, 08:19 PM
We will win this yet!
i will take a hit of whatever you are on mate
Jeez ! Nearly 3-0 with rocky saving on the line
We will win this yet!
il have whatever your smoking
It's just as well Dundee Utd are pish as well.
In saying that they win their game in hand and beat us and it gets a bit scary. I though there was no way we could throw this away but as the weeks tick on and the points get dropped I'm starting to worry. I thought now was when we'd start to stretch away after it being close as opposed to us getting dragged back into a fight.
It should all be wrapped up by now. United are pish but we've given them hope.
And Falkirk as well - hopefully we don't end up in the same situation as last season.
01-03-2017, 08:20 PM
We will win this yet!
I'll have a pint of what you're on.
Not quite yet as we lost 4 or 5 in a row. Too many draws of course but not yet in the same ballpark.
It just feels like it. And may result in the same outcome, i.e. the playoffs.
steelendhibs
To be fair we haven't lost for three months. The remit was to get promoted. As it stands we are on course to do just that. Rangers had some dodgy results on the way to the title last year. We will win this league.
We will win this yet!
Give some of what you're on
3 points from the last 4 games v the bottom four teams...... new lows for hibernian football club, ******* shameful
maybe we just don't want to go up :hmmm:
Fuzzywuzzy
As far back as I can remember we always make a right royal ***t of things at this time of year. BAU I guess....
They have it too easy, play at a brilliant stadium in front of 15k loyal fans every week. Luxury training ground.
Unfortunately you are spot on lack of quality to be consistent, and no way in this world would half of them still be there if we do eventually manage to stagger over the finish line.
whats the chances of dipping into the emergency loan market again for a left back , a right back , 3 midfielders and a couple of strikers before saturday
01-03-2017, 08:21 PM
That is ab absolute incredible miss by Boyle - as lazy a finish as you will see
Ridiculous
Wouldve gave us hope with 25 to go
boyle has been as poor as any hibs player I've seen in years tonight. Lennon is equally culpable for not subbing him
Don't worry, it's the cup next week and we'll be up for that.
Being played off the park by Dunfermline and losing to St mirren isn't good enough.
Mind you both these teams have been on an upturn in form, but our team should consider that they have found their level - the Championship, as we rarely look any better than the teams in this league.
Its up to them to disprove that assessment.
Lennon will be getting sick of giving these bottlers a mouthful !
01-03-2017, 08:22 PM
Great, three strikers on and nobody to give them the ball..............
I said a week or so ago that if/when we go up we'll need 5-6 players to compete in the SPL. Nothing has changed my mind on recent league performances.
Off the bar
01-03-2017, 08:22 PM
Graham on for Boyle who's been pish tonight
01-03-2017, 08:23 PM
Have the rest of the league realised, that all they need to do is have a go?
01-03-2017, 08:23 PM
St Mirren have played well - pressed us similar to Dunfermline.
We have been poor tonight.
I think people need to calm down slating players as these guys have shown they are decent.
In hindsight the starting line up was wrong - should have gone more pace and fresh legs.
It's not helping our excellent defence has been ripped apart - they have created at least 4 good chances.
01-03-2017, 08:24 PM
Another chance for St M missed!! We are getting pummelled here
I blame the person who started the thread.
It should be St. Mirren v Hibs.
:hide:
We will win this yet!
No we won't.
Has anyone ever told our full backs and wide men that if they find themselves in possession of the ball heading back down the touchline towards their own goal time after time after time, they are getting it all wrong. The lack of creativity and composure on the ball in the attacking third is frightening.
Food for thought from a dejected Jambo over on KB. :
"Is it beyond the realms of possibility that we could face Hibs in the play off final?"
No conviction. Our players first touch is virtually a tackle, failing that its their 2nd touch.
Remarkable how many of the players look like they have already checked out. Our best player has probably been Ambrose (not match fit).
01-03-2017, 08:25 PM
I think people need to calm down slating players as these guys have shown they are decent.
In hindsight the starting line up was wrong - should have gone more pace and fresh legs.
It's not helping our excellent defence has been ripped apart - they have created at least 4 good chances.
We have a strong core squad but our fringe players are average at best and we struggle at times because of this.
Fifehibby74
01-03-2017, 08:25 PM
This has been coming for a while. Last 4 leagues games against bottom half teams and we've taken 3 points out of 12. Not championship winning form. Think I'm a confirmed bed wetter now!!
scooby
01-03-2017, 08:26 PM
As far back as I can remember we always make a right royal ***t of things at this time of year. BAU I guess....
Not sure why the wheels always come off after Xmas, but we can't afford to slip up this season.
Utterly embarrassing and pathetic performance.
Food for thought from a dejected Jambo over on KB. :
"Is it beyond the realms of possibility that we could face Hibs in the play off final?"
Fortunately for everybody in Edinburgh, that is beyond even Hearts............. I hope..
TAHibby
So bitterly dissapointing, never been in the game at all. They could easily be 4-0 up
Disgrace.
01-03-2017, 08:27 PM
What they can show it against hearts but not against teams like ayr, dunfermline and st midden?? I think folk have a right to slate them on tonights performance.
This reminds me a bit if the Morton defeat at home. Hopefully we make this a one off.
01-03-2017, 08:27 PM
Been ***** all over the park. Lucky its only 2
01-03-2017, 08:28 PM
We have a strong core squad but our fringe players are average at best and we struggle at times because of this.
Dont even think we do have a strong core squad, we lack the quality to be consistent.
Been the same for the past three seasons.
Mathias Jack
Deja Vue only difference we have no lost as many as we did last season, lack of quality no one wi a fitba brain on the park for us, it is a big miss, and we cannie expect SJM to give 5 star performances every week to drag us through games.
His best performance of the season was in the Hearts replay. Apart from that, I'm struggling to remember anything near a 5 star performance from him recently.
Moody Blues
Not sure why the wheels always come off after Xmas, but we can't afford to slip up this season.
We are slipping up though and as I said before not strengthening in the transfer window could come back to haunt us.
Too late for that. 4th shocker already
Can't string a pass together. Ball getting hooded up top but no one holding onto it. A disgrace.
Tony Bobulinski
01-03-2017, 08:29 PM
Perhaps this is an overstatement, but this feels beyond massively disappointing.
01-03-2017, 08:30 PM
So far this is going the same as the aftermath of our victory against Hearts last season. Problem that the players think they've made it in a sense because they beat Hearts? Complacency? Who knows. I just hope to **** we don't throw the title away from this position. For too long it's been a case of accepting draws because the others hadn't gained any ground. Let's hope those draws don't cost us promotion.
So....if Dundee United beat us, they will be 4 points behind us with a game in hand. So a potential 13 points on Saturday afternoon could become one point pretty soon.
I have a horrible feeling of de ja vu that is about to celebrate it's 3rd birthday.
Hope it's just indigestion though.
Tony Bobulinski
Was thinking this as well.
Carry on like this and it won't just be hearts season hat was ended last week
Juice-Terry
Can't believe so many people on here like Fyvie. He's murder.
01-03-2017, 08:31 PM
sevco were 2-0 up, st.johnstone pull one back, kiernan gets a red(no surprise) st.johnstone equalise pleasing
Glad to see we have started our yearly push for the lowest playoff place possible.
Never fail to enter total collapse at this time of year.
Perhaps this is an overstatement, but this feels beyond massively disappointing.
It is massively disappointing. Moreso because it's not unexpected.
Meanwhile, ICT 0 v Celtic 4.
Anyone seriously think Hibs would beat Celtic in the Scottish Cup, should they get past Ayr United, which is not a given.
Unacceptable from Hibs tonight. No point in beating Hearts to lose at the worst St Mirren in recent history
Slavers
Would like us to sign Mallan if we go up this year! That aside kind of expected this result but i thought the startling up would at least mean would win the 50/50's and the midfield battle with Cummings getting a goal.
They just dont seem to want to take games by the scruff of the neck and get the wins required.
01-03-2017, 08:32 PM
I think winning the Scottish Cup has turned our entire squad into adrenaline junkies. They just cant get it together for 'boring' games.
We will win the championship with a last minute goal of the last game. Gray?
01-03-2017, 08:33 PM
sevco were 2-0 up, st.johnstone pull one back, kiernan gets a red(no surprise) st.johnstone equalise pleasing
i feel a bit better now :lolrangers:
Hopefully this is a one off defea and it doesn't happen again.
Exhaustion sets in after having to battle in every single game due to our inability to score goals.
If I were Lennon, I would put out a radically changed team against Ayr with a few of the young lads. Couldn't give a toss if we got beaten. It would maybe knock some sense of urgency into our losers. Remember, Lennon's job is at stake and obviously a bawling out is short lived, it would appear.
01-03-2017, 08:34 PM
Fyvie has been terrible
So....if Dundee United beat us, they will be 4 points behind us with a game in hand. So a potential 13 points on Saturday afternoon could become one point pretty soon.
Things are looking pretty bleak just now
Concern for me is, apart from the jambos game we have played utterly dire for weeks now - I just cant see where we pick things up.
Ver very very worried
Results like this hurt but we also have to be objective and the league is there for the team that can get the most points between tomorrow morning and the end of the season, we just have to make sure that it is us, and the hard work starts on the training ground, its up to the players that are there to drag us back upwards.
I would 100% play the kids + fringe players against Ayr.
supermcginn
Can't believe so many people on here like Fyvie. He's murder.
Never seen a player misplace so many 5 yard passes, brutal
01-03-2017, 08:35 PM
Outfought and out thought , One of the worst performances iv'e ever seen from a Hibs team, Looks like we beat one of the worst Hearts teams ever and it made us look good. Don't know how we will get back on the rails if that's the level we have fallen to.
Unacceptable performance, no excuse for that. 😡
Thankfully the likes of Dundee Utd, Falkirk have been dropping points as well. Not surprised we have less points than this time last season. Mcgregor aside, perhaps cummings, every player is performing below their best on a regular basis. Other than the hearts replay and the Dundee utd game we've been bang average for most of this season and, for the most, eye bleeding football. Not surprised by this result. We may limp towards the title but it'll be thanks to teams around us dropping as many point as us!
01-03-2017, 08:36 PM
We will win this yet!
I meant the league, obviously.
I have literally no faith in a Neil Lennon team being able to take the bull by the horns and win promotion on merit. I really, really hope that Dundee United don't improve.
high bee
Why do we not give Crane and Martin a chance, the boys deserve a chance especially when the team is performing so poorly.
Minus Hanlon,fontaine,foster,mcgeogh and gray and McGinn needing rested plus coming off a tough game against Hertz not that surprising. Same time last year we lost 3 in a row. At least 6 days between Ayr game and utd. Can't afford utd game to go to a replay. Not making excuses but the two Hertz games have drained the players as happened last year. Utd game now very important. Today was the same as Morton 0-3 at home last year when the players ran out of steam. This is where the injuries to the likes of Hanlon and McGeoch hurt us. Hopefully both back soon. Not being a happy clapper but we are still 7 ahead so not time to fret.yet.
so Tannadice next then.....lose that and we are in serious bother
PompeyHibs
Wage thiefs the lot of them 3/12pts shocking.
Its Ayr United in the cup then United away...
1 week to shape the season
Shocking Hibs
Still cant score enough goals
If I were Lennon, I would put out a radically changed team against Ayr with a few of the young lads. Couldn't give a toss if we got beaten. It would maybe knock some sense of urgency into our losers. Remember, Lennon's job is at stake and obviously a bawling out is short lived, it would appear.
The cup is becoming a distraction again, we need to put EVERYTHING into winning the league.
Enough with the excuses. Hibs are heading for the playoffs again if this continues.
"Skoosh it" my erse.
01-03-2017, 08:37 PM
Never seen a player misplace so many 5 yard passes, brutal
He's been brutal for months but gets a free pass off so many on here...I don't rate him.personally and hope his contract isn't renewed. He only passes sideways or backwards, slows everything down to a snails pace and offers us nowt in an attacking sense. Massively overrated by some fans
Skoosh......for St Mirren tonight :rolleyes:
PONGO
Once again Hibs let you down
Hyndman scores for Rangers 3-2
it got worse 2 mins later....10-men sevco got a winner :(
Yep. Can't lose that one.
pennyhibee
Looks like we have to keep hoping Dundee utd and Falkirk don't find form any time soon .
01-03-2017, 08:38 PM
Huns get last min winner!
But Yams get beat by Ross County, that eases the pain slightly !
Pathetic stuff. We cannot afford to lose to united now. The only skoosh going on is in the collective underwear of Hibernian FC.
It reminds me more of the defeat we had at St Mirren under Butcher.
Until then I wasn't really concerned and thought we'd scrape a few points, stay up and regroup for the following season. But having seen an inept, gutless display I was hugely concerned.
That performance was so far short of what was expected it was unbelievable.
Atrocious, all over the park, and it leaves you wondering how we're going to turn it around and frankly where we're going to get our next win from.
Why do we not give Crane and Martin a chance, the boys deserve a chance especially when the team is performing so poorly.
Couldn't agree more Martin in particular. Thought he was good in the Raith game at home never been seen since.
high bee
FFS could be down to one point, were giving them enough encouragement to believe they can catch us.
JackLadd
Worse than pish.
01-03-2017, 08:39 PM
I was as surprised as I was disappointed that we didn't strengthen in the January transfer window.
I felt we couldn't do much pre season in case there were repercussions from the cup final but I was confident we would spend in January.
disappointing tonight.
The injuries in defence have been a real unlucky blow. Nonetheless its the whole team that seem to turn up (or not). One or two players in January may not changed much (unless they were real quality - but remember how marginal Stokes was during our tortuous end of season league run?)
Its all about the motivation of the players for me. Against Hearts there was no let up by any individual, consistent and aggressive backing each other up to pick up loose balls, and a constant attempt to take advantage of Hearts mistakes. The whole team needs to be up for it for that to work. We just cant get up for the majority of league games.
Errfin poor stuff Hibs. :bitchy:
01-03-2017, 08:39 PM
I hope Cummings isn't as happy as he looks.
supermcginn
01-03-2017, 08:40 PM
He's been brutal for months but gets a free pass off so many on here...I don't rate him.personally and hope his contract isn't renewed. He only passes sideways or backwards, slows everything down to a snails pace and offers us nowt in an attacking sense. Massively overrated by some fans
Agree completely, we looked so much better against hearts when he was on the bench
We are garbage at the moment. Was happy to give the players the benefit of the doubt against Dunfermline, but that's three draws and a defeat in our last four league games.
That sort of form is unacceptable, and puts automatic promotion hugely at risk.
Lennon has to get this sorted now. Disgraceful stuff.
F*** off these players. Unprofessional to the core. Get lost.
Play Holt and Graham upfront next match with youth in midfield. Defence can barely keep their shape because the midfield are all over the place. We have no game plan and it is showing. Every player needs about 5 touches to pick a pass.
That was utter pish. No excuses for that.
01-03-2017, 08:41 PM
The cup is becoming a distraction again, we need to put EVERYTHING into winning the league.
Don't know about the youth but agree I'd rest McGinn and gray and bench Boyle. Ever since we drew Hertz in the cup it has affected the team. Don't want to lose on Saturday but the utd game is by far the more important and I'm sure Neil Lennon realises that.
21sMay
Fyvie Mginn and Bartley doesn't work . Play 2 of the 3
Enough with the excuses. Hibs are heading for the playoffs again if this continues.
"Skoosh it" my erse.
Too much of the skooshing chat on here. :agree:
We are garbage at the moment. Was happy to give the players the benefit of the doubt against Dunfermline, but that's three draws and a defeat in our last four league games.
Agreed. It's getting concerning now.
01-03-2017, 08:42 PM
Wow! how bad was that? WTF is wrong with this team?
Gray, McGinn, Shinnie need their erchies put on the bench to name 3
Woeful stuff!
cabbage_88
Gray, Boyle and Fyvie worst performances in a hibs shirt, abysmal!! Names on a postcard for the rest of that horror show, appalling performance, i could not care less about Saturday after that, disgraceful league form, players need a good ****ing shake
Couldn't agree more Martin in particular. Thought he was good in the Raith game at home never been seen since.
It may well be worth a try but it will take more than a couple of younger players to get us to where we need to be.
coldingham hibs
01-03-2017, 08:43 PM
It will be interesting to hear Lennon's take on this performance. The team look shambolic, no game plan, no formation & worst of all no desire.
I would 100% play the kids + fringe players against Ayr.
Totally agree, too many of the players think their place in the team is guaranteed, they need to be looking over their shoulders at someone wanting their place in the team.
01-03-2017, 08:43 PM
Simply the players were not up for it, down to the manager as well when you lump the ball up to midgets and it comes straight back you think he would change his tactics but lennon was found out tonight and not for the first time.
01-03-2017, 08:44 PM
On another note, it's only right to say well done to St Mirren. They looked doomed just a couple of weeks ago, but are fighting for their lives. Terrible from Hibs.
On this day last year we had 55pts.
This year under Lennon we have 51 points. In an easier league. We finished 3rd last year.
If we lose against Dundee United I'm sorry but I'm changing my mind on giving Lennon to the end of the season. We're in danger of sinking without trace if United get their act together and we aren't spending another season in this ****ty league.
berwickhibee
The injuries in defence have been a real unlucky blow. Nonetheless its the whole team that seem to turn up (or not). One or two players in January may not changed much (unless they were real quality - but remember how marginal Stokes was during our tortuous end of season league run?)
Its all about the motivation of the players for me. Against Hearts there was no let up by any individual, consistent and aggressive backing each other up to pick up loose balls, and a constant attempt to take advantage of Hearts mistakes. The whole team needs to be up for it for that to work. We just cant get up for the majority of league games.
Errfin poor stuff Hibs. :bitchy:
Agree with this, pro players who can't motivate themselves,seen it all before, makes me ****ing sick,soft twats don't know what a weeks graft is,pampered.
jamesjamieson
Bad result. Well done to the fans who went to Paisley and kept us updated. Maybe it wouldn't be bad to lose to Ayr U on Saturday so we can focus on the league.
More keen to see one-in-a-row league win than Scottish Cup this season.
Shinnie was the only one trying first half, blaming him is laughable. Gray disgracefully bad, can sit out next week
these are the players that put hertz out the cup twice in 2 years , beat the huns 3 times and won us the cup . i cant get my head round it , they are more than capable . Its hard to entirely blame lennon when they did exactly the same under stubbs . its like they down tools for a few weeks after january and on,y turn up for cup games an derbys
01-03-2017, 08:46 PM
It's not the problem. We couldn't score goals before the cup even started.
01-03-2017, 08:47 PM
hope tae gawd we at least get to the play-offs
With you 100% on that - just said the exact same to my mate ! It's the Championship with no Hun/Jambos in it FFS - get the laddies in who are hungry and desparate to do well !
On another note, it's only right to say well done to St Mirren. They looked doomed just a couple of weeks ago, but are fighting for their lives. Terrible from Hibs.
Yes, I'd agree with that. St Mirren played as a team, hunted the ball down and totally deserved their win, which probably should have been by more than just the 2.
Too much of the skooshing chat on here. :agree:
It was arrogant, cringey and unfunny when we were in a stronger lead and even worse now. I said at the time it's the sort of thing Hearts say before making an arse of themselves.
People blaming the manager need to wise up...same players by in large that let us down after the cup derby this time last year. Wake up folks they are a bunch of losers who cannot be arsed upping their game when we r playing championship sides...in my view it's them to blame not the manager (s)
01-03-2017, 08:48 PM
Hard for the kids but we need Gray, McGinn, Stevenson, Fyvie, Shinnie, Cummings dropped and for youngsters to start. Far too pedestrian. I'd start with fringe players and youngsters against Ayr, clearly other players are just not at the races, no fight, no desire, shameful performance to get beaten by the bottom team with such ease.
Tony Bobulinski
An all too familiar feeling washing over me just now. Here's to hoping we find the magic elixir that sees us go up in the end.
Why play 4-5-1 at st mirren but 4-4-2 against hertz. Why?
On this day last year we had 55pts.
This year under Lennon we have 51 points. In an easier league. We finished 3rd last year.
If we lose against Dundee United I'm sorry but I'm changing my mind on giving Lennon to the end of the season. We're in danger of sinking without trace if United get their act together and we aren't spending another season in this ****ty league.
No much the manager can do once the players step on to that pitch, we need to realise that its a ******in battle, not a stroll to get out of this league we lack quality so every one of these players has to give there all for the next couple of months, then lets see where we are.
History mean f*8k all just now every point is a step closer to where we just have to be.
01-03-2017, 08:49 PM
People blaming the manager need to wise up...same players by in large that let us down after the cup derby this time last year. Wake up folks they are a bunch of losers who cannot be arsed upping their game when we r playing championship sides...in my view it's them to blame not the manager (s)
I genuinely could not tell you what our tactics have been in recent games, nor why we've made the team selection that we have.
I don't think he has a scooby.
houstonhibbee
I have been critical of Lennon in previous games for lack of tactics but not sure can blame him for this. Referee was ok. Players weren't up for to and too many having an off game. I think Gray definitely needs a rest and Fyvie has yet to rediscover his form. Boyle and Shinnie too inconsistent and poor tonight.
Saturday is a chance to rest a few and give some others opportunities. Crane, Martin, Shaw....
Huns get last min winner!
But Yams get beat by Ross County, that eases the pain slightly !
Why is that? Both these teams are in a league above us. I couldn't give a **** if both never lose again this season. I'm a Hibs supporter not anti Hearts or Rangers supporter
Tonight's result is a disgrace we've lost to the worst St Midden side in living memory
01-03-2017, 08:50 PM
We were always going to struggle after the high of drawing against Dunfermline on Saturday, the lads were running on fumes tonight.
It's Lennon that needs looked at - playing Shinnie and Fyvie after their inept performance against the Pars ? Keatings gets minutes again ? One up front against the bottom side ? Come on !
Outplayed by Dunfermline and St Mirren - and I mean really outplayed. Lucky it wasn't 5 tonight, lucky it wasn't 5 on Saturday - playing awful, one paced, too many touches football. Shinnie, Bartley and Fyvie have been awful last two games and I don't want to see that combo again. Minute I saw all three I knew we'd suffer from being pressed and not keep possession.
We've big big problems - Dylan, Humphreys, Hanlon - what's the prognosis on them, because tell you what we're really toiling in this league right now. Teams are rolling sleeves up and we don't match up with them. Business end of the season and yet again we're found out. Well done St Mirren - played like their jobs depended on it. Hibs players played like prima donnas scared of the ball and a tackle. Shameful performance from 1-14.
If we play our strongest team against Ayr and get beaten, which is highly likely, our confidence for the game against DUtd. will be rock bottom. Play quite a few of the young lads, take a probable defeat on the chin, and force the squad to grow a pair and get over their lethargy. The Scottish Cup becomes less important with every dire game we have in the League.
01-03-2017, 08:51 PM
Wheres this team Lennon said we were going to pump?
We can't score.
We have no fight/desire to win every game.....no good picking and choosing the games we fancy.
90% of that squad are not good enough for the premier league.......most have found their level.
****ing st mirren ?!?!
01-03-2017, 08:52 PM
I'm suprised folk are shocked by this result. They've already beat us this season.
01-03-2017, 08:53 PM
I genuinely could not tell you what our tactics have been in recent games, nor why we've made the team selection that we have.
Regardless of tactics because I agree with you partially on that, can you explain why it was evident barring McGregor and a non-match fit Ambrose we seemed to have zero fight? For both their goals, Boyle and Gray may as well have been in the stand - nothing to do with tactics that, lazy attempts when you compare Gray wiping out player and ball in the derby to him backing away giving the player 5-10 yards of room and Boyle...oh my god, can't control the ball, gets nudged and falls over and can't tackle...
gaz1875
01-03-2017, 08:53 PM
Fraser Fyvie our play maker sums it up. Get Scott Martin in at least he puts in an effort.
01-03-2017, 08:54 PM
Fraser Fyvie our play maker sums it up. get Scott Martin in at least he puts in an effort.
100% agree.
01-03-2017, 08:55 PM
We were always going to struggle after the high of drawing against Dunfermline on Saturday, the lads were running on fumes tonight.
Hilarious.
01-03-2017, 08:56 PM
:(
houstonhibbee
01-03-2017, 08:57 PM
If we play our strongest team against Ayr and get beaten, which is highly likely, our confidence for the game against DUtd. will be rock bottom. Play quite a few of the young lads, take a probable defeat on the chin, and force the squad to grow a pair and get over their lethargy. The Scottish Cup becomes less important with every dire game we have in the League.
may turn a likely defeat into a win
Fyvie and Shinnie need dropped immediately
Boyle also horrendous
Regardless of tactics because I agree with you partially on that, can you explain why it was evident barring McGregor and a non-match fit Ambrose we seemed to have zero fight? For both their goals, Boyle and Gray may as well have been in the stand - nothing to do with tactics that, lazy attempts when you compare Gray wiping out player and ball in the derby to him backing away giving the player 5-10 yards of room and Boyle...oh my god, can't control the ball, gets nudged and falls over and can't tackle...
The manager as part of his job needs to get his team motivated and working for him. The players were knackered under Stubbs last season but the final showed they'd walk through walls for him.
The more media rants and singling out of players and ranting and raving on the touchline that Lennon excudes begins to remind me more and more of how Butcher lost the dressing room.
Again, I know I'll get pelters for it but I have no faith in him whatsoever. If we go up brilliant but I genuinely think he's losing the team.
Davy Mac
01-03-2017, 08:58 PM
Lack of leadership on the park.
No loud voice to drive, motivate, lift or even give a kick up the erchie.
The prize of promotion is more than their bonuses, our club will be in deep doodoo, have we not learned from previous seasons?
No ambition other than one off prizes against teams like the gunts.
I'm starting to think we have a bunch of imposters who have ideas above their station.
I still think we will do it but sadly I don't think many would start in the SPL, and if any of the players are reading this - prove it, cos I think your priorities and agenda are no good to Hibs FC.
Wheres this team Lennon said we were going to pump?
We can't score.
We have no fight/desire to win every game.....no good picking and choosing the games we fancy.
90% of that squad are not good enough for the premier league.......most have found their level.
****ing st mirren ?!?!
Aye and for too long now we have been thinking we are better than we are, yes we can take care of premier teams in cups but that is a short run thing a ******ing league is a marathon and its one in which we need to be careful we dont run out of steam, being Hibs we will do it in the end but we the supporters will have the usual roller coaster ride on the way.
My take on too, I did want Hearts to lose tonight but only because I wanted Ross County to win.
This is a real tough league and we are no longer a Premiership team in the Championsip, just another Championship team in the Championship.
We are now an established championship team and are playing like it. Can pull off a scalp in the cup and get up for bigger games but generally just slog it out every week without looking much better than whoever we are faced with.
dchibs
Fyvie Mginn and Bartley doesn't work . Play 2 of the 3
We are missing Mcgeoch big time in my opinion.
We need mcgeoch
Fraser Fyvie our play maker sums it up. Get Scott Martin in at least he puts in an effort.
Sorry but Bartley is awful in the league games too - awful. Fyvie, agreed, wasn't good. But playing two defensively minded mids v bottom of the table, and one striker ?
4-3-3 should have been the message tonight, high press from start. Lennon's selection tonight was negative and uninspired. Players poor yes, manager rotten !
01-03-2017, 08:59 PM
Not sure these players actually know that their careers are on the line - they leave Hibs after failing for another season down here and the likes of McGinn and Cummings won't be destined for the English Premiership, they'll be destined to be Celtic bench warmers at best. Wake up you useless sods. You fail in the Scottish Championship and it'll take a lot to get people interested in you. Scouts will report back - "can't control the ball and no strength, no desire and zero fight".
01-03-2017, 09:00 PM
It's happening again I think, Hanlon out and we're a shambles.
01-03-2017, 09:00 PM
It's maybe no surprise that teams have sussed us out and are now pressing us high up the pitch, it's down to the manager to counter this but he seems unable to sort it.
01-03-2017, 09:01 PM
Fyvie and Shinnie need dropped immediately
Boyle also horrendous
Personally I'd love to see Dylan grow a pair.
QMU-1875
01-03-2017, 09:02 PM
Scott Martin and McGeouch in please.
01-03-2017, 09:03 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170301/2c0586ed7f8254ab6adc22dc960d3116.jpg
What I saw was poor, but the problem is at the top of the pitch. We don't put enough of our chances away. Not just this game but throughout the season.
01-03-2017, 09:05 PM
We need mcgeoch
Many on here say punt him, if ever a time we needed the medical team to work wonders it is now to get the wee man back on the park where he should be, apart from being that we bit more of quality we lack he also helps balance the team out, as things are we are having to put out teams that dont seem balanced when it comes down to league games, the bigger games take care of themselves, and I do know they should all be able to get up for any game where they pull the shirt on but it is no happening right now.
We all know your opinion of Neil Lennon.
houstonhibbee
01-03-2017, 09:07 PM
Many on here say punt him, if ever a time we needed the medical team to work wonders it is now to get the wee man back on the park where he should be, apart from being that we bit more of quality we lack he also helps balance the team out, as things are we are having to put out teams that dont seem balanced when it comes down to league games, the bigger games take care of themselves, and I do know they should all be able to get up for any game where they pull the shirt on but it is no happening right now.
I think it's a but much expecting one player to turn that performance around.........
h1bs4life
Boyle's miss with an open goal is unbelievable.
Well beaten , could have been 4 or 5 and we couldn't have complained.
All the fans who went through and had to suffer that deserve a medal .
gaz1875
Sorry but Bartley is awful in the league games too - awful. Fyvie, agreed, wasn't good. But playing two defensively minded mids v bottom of the table, and one striker ?
4-3-3 should have been the message tonight, high press from start. Lennon's selection tonight was negative and uninspired. Players poor yes, manager rotten !
Bartley is our ball winner and he does that fantastic most of the time, FF is atrocious and is being used as the play maker, he turns our midfield into a defensive team, he should be emptied.
01-03-2017, 09:08 PM
The manager as part of his job needs to get his team motivated and working for him. The players were knackered under Stubbs last season but the final showed they'd walk through walls for him.
The more media rants and singling out of players and ranting and raving on the touchline that Lennon excudes begins to remind me more and more of how Butcher lost the dressing room.
Again, I know I'll get pelters for it but I have no faith in him whatsoever. If we go up brilliant but I genuinely think he's losing the team.
I understand what you are trying to say in the bit in bold but I'd be fired if I just sat on my hands and said "unless my manager gets me motivated I can't do anything resembling my normal performance". It is your job, it pays your bills, some of these players clearly have too much money or too much security. Cummings goes from having perfect close control against Hearts to being unable to control the ball. Boyle likewise. Shinnie goes from playing with some drive to having zero urgency the next week. How is any of that the managers fault? Some nice football against Dundee United and Hearts but in every other game does he tell them "just boot it to the wee man and stand 5-10 yards of your opposing player when defending".
Lennon has made us play worse football that I will agree with but I'd say we were (until the injuries occurred) much more solid at the back than under Stubbs. I'm behind the manager - I saw players conceding defeat when the 2nd goal went in and if I'm being honest I've had enough of that. Happened under Stubbs as well.
I'll probably get shot down for this but Gray is never ever a captain in a million years.
It's happening again I think, Hanlon out and we're a shambles.
Hanlon is a huge miss, agreed. Yet again though, and I stress yet again - centre midfield has zero creativity. St Mirren bossed it, the Pars bossed it - quick, one touch, fast passing. Shinnie needs 4 touches, so does Fyvie, Bartley fouls after 3 touches......we are losing games in this league because we simply can't play good, one touch, incisive passing.
We all know your opinion of Neil Lennon.
He's done nothing to change it the last couple of games, I'm telling you that.
Oh no!!!!!!!!
01-03-2017, 09:10 PM
I think it's a but much expecting one player to turn that performance around.........
Iniesta (could be piss spelling) would no have turned that performance around, but I believe the team would be better with him in it any day of the week.
We've just played the worst teams this division has to offer and at no point have looked like being better than them. There can't be any excuses for this run of league form. Tiredness, injuries, referees etc are all too easy a get out. So was the "aye but we're still 7 clear" chat. We've been brutal in the league for ages now. Got to hope Lennon/the team waken up a bit.
andy1875
Apart from our tactics against Hearts when it was perfect. In both games.
We've been rotten for a while in the league, i'm not sure tactics are to blame mind.
Too many players have gone of the boil at the same time.
houstonhibbee
01-03-2017, 09:11 PM
Bartley is our ball winner and he does that fantastic most of the time, FF is atrocious and is being used as the play maker, he turns our midfield into a defensive team, he should be emptied.
No, he should be used in his better position. Same goes for some other players not being played in their better positions
gaz1875
01-03-2017, 09:11 PM
Boyle's miss with an open goal is unbelievable.
Well beaten , could have been 4 or 5 and we couldn't have complained.
All the fans who went through and had to suffer that deserve a medal .
He managed to pass to the keeper which looked harder than getting the ball over the ****in line :rolleyes:
gaz1875
01-03-2017, 09:12 PM
No, he should be used in his better position. Same goes for some other players not being played in their better positions
He has a better position??
If you want free money, just bet on a Dundee Utd win in this game.
mmcclory02
01-03-2017, 09:13 PM
Exactly Stubbs got the best out of his team, he inspired the players but having a 4 minute rant at them, might have won us a derby but we've not won in the league in our last 4 games
01-03-2017, 09:13 PM
centre midfield has zero creativity. St Mirren bossed it, the Pars bossed it - quick, one touch, fast passing. Shinnie needs 4 touches, so does Fyvie, Bartley fouls after 3 touches......we are losing games in this league because we simply can't play good, one touch, incisive passing.
So true, but you omitted the fact that when we do (eventually) pass the damn ball it's normally sideways or backwards.
01-03-2017, 09:16 PM
The least pish team will win this league.
Yea! come on Hibs, let's be least pish!
01-03-2017, 09:18 PM
He managed to pass to the keeper which looked harder than getting the ball over the ****in line :rolleyes:
Its easy to single out players mabe he was off balance (or whatever) Holt also missed the rebound, but they were all collectively piss poor the night with perhaps the half fit Ambrose being the only pass mark.
They got out of this game exactly what they deserved.
houstonhibbee
01-03-2017, 09:18 PM
Iniesta (could be piss spelling) would no have turned that performance around, but I believe the team would be better with him in it any day of the week.
no argument there
01-03-2017, 09:19 PM
Exactly Stubbs got the best out of his team, he inspired the players but having a 4 minute rant at them, might have won us a derby but we've not won in the league in our last 4 games
Stubbs had us going into a similarly horrendous March last season after the Derby replay - this squad needs to quit the banter, be professional, and roll the sleeves up. Injured players if possible have to grow a pair and get bank in the saddle - I'm convinced a couple of them quite like the easy ride of sitting it out. Team needs them, start growing balls and get into the fight !
01-03-2017, 09:19 PM
It's hard to understand how the performance can collapse from being superb against Hearts to abject against St Mirren.
01-03-2017, 09:20 PM
I am almost starting to lose interest. I feel the players don't particularly care so why should I?
Don't enjoy feeling this way but I can't help it.
01-03-2017, 09:22 PM
Stubbs had us losing 4 or 5 in a row at this stage including losing 3 goals to both Morton and Dumbarton.
It's not been great but it's a first loss for a while so not yet comparable.
01-03-2017, 09:22 PM
I am scunnered like most Hibby's but this is fitba and there is always another game, so as the illustrious Stubbsy used to say "we go again"
houstonhibbee
01-03-2017, 09:24 PM
He has a better position??
Defensive mid not playmaker in chief
01-03-2017, 09:24 PM
Don't forget alloa as well , they had not won at home for a year until we turned up-or never !
01-03-2017, 09:27 PM
The least pish team will win this league.
Yea! come on Hibs, let's be least pish!
That's how I see it - we are best of a very bad bunch..
01-03-2017, 09:28 PM
It's hard to understand how the performance can collapse from being superb against Hearts to abject against St Mirren.
The performances against Ayr, Raith Rovers, Dunfermline & St Mirren have all been awful.
To be honest, the win against Hearts was no big deal. Worst Hearts team I've seen for many a year if I'm being honest. Wonderful to beat them every time, but Hearts are s****.
01-03-2017, 09:39 PM
I had a bad feeling about tonight to be honest ..... St Mirren had picked up over the last few weeks and we had been at best below par in the league. I had hoped the least we would come away with was a draw, but from what I'm reading this sounds like an extremely poor performance.
This result has really put our season back into the mixer, the game at Tannadice is now absolutely massive, a draw will be just about acceptable but if we lose we are in real trouble. I'm in agreement that we should be looking to play the likes of Martin, Crane and Keatings from the start in the Ayr Utd game in the hope that the rest will give the likes of John McGinn renewed energy ..... I would also definitely play Fyvie with a pre match chat that leaves him in no doubt that he had better put in nothing less than a MOM performance, I have stuck up for him in the past but he was atrocious against Ayr and that seems to have carried on to tonight.
We have 10 league games to go and as things stand we still have a 7 point lead over Utd who have 11 to go ...... we have to presume nothing less than they will win their game in hand, which is also away to St Mirren as I recall. That will put them 4 points behind us, which will be 1 if they beat us 10 days from now.
In short ...... F'k the cup, F'k tiredness and F'k everything else. Nothing less than a win at all costs attitude will do from now until the last kick of the ball in the last game of the season ............. we simply cant afford to F'k this up ... we just cant !!!
01-03-2017, 09:41 PM
Hilarious.
I found it funny, just as i found all the other lame excuses trotted out week after week, year after year.
dchibs
01-03-2017, 09:47 PM
I know but as A Hi bee said he gives a better balance to the midfield, I don't think Barts and ff work in the team together.
01-03-2017, 10:21 PM
Stubbs had us going into a similarly horrendous March last season after the Derby replay - this squad needs to quit the banter, be professional, and roll the sleeves up. Injured players if possible have to grow a pair and get bank in the saddle - I'm convinced a couple of them quite like the easy ride of sitting it out. Team needs them, start growing balls and get into the fight !
And not just Stubbs.
Hibs have suffered a late winter slump for as long as I can remember, with the odd exceptional season.
Just need to nip it in the bud sharpish.
01-03-2017, 10:22 PM
As soon as I saw the starting line up I knew we'd struggle big time today. Cummings is literally the most only player in this team that has any goal threat about him.
We should NEVER play all 3 of Fyvie, Bartley and Mcginn in any game in this league except again Dundee United and possibly Falkirk. That combination without wingers will always struggle for goals
Johnny Clash
01-03-2017, 11:06 PM
Stubbs had us losing 4 or 5 in a row at this stage including losing 3 goals to both Morton and Dumbarton.
It's not been great but it's a first loss for a while so not yet comparable.
Good point. We lost points we should never have lost under Subbsy too and we ultimately failed to get promoted. We're going through a combination of poor results: ground out draws and the occasional loss mixed with outstanding performances. It's frustrating and we need to improve.
GORDONSMITH7
02-03-2017, 12:28 AM
I had a bad feeling about tonight to be honest ..... St Mirren had picked up over the last few weeks and we had been at best below par in the league. I had hoped the least we would come away with was a draw, but from what I'm reading this sounds like an extremely poor performance.
This result has really put our season back into the mixer, the game at Tannadice is now absolutely massive, a draw will be just about acceptable but if we lose we are in real trouble. I'm in agreement that we should be looking to play the likes of Martin, Crane and Keatings from the start in the Ayr Utd game in the hope that the rest will give the likes of John McGinn renewed energy ..... I would also definitely play Fyvie with a pre match chat that leaves him in no doubt that he had better put in nothing less than a MOM performance, I have stuck up for him in the past but he was atrocious against Ayr and that seems to have carried on to tonight.
We have 10 league games to go and as things stand we still have a 7 point lead over Utd who have 11 to go ...... we have to presume nothing less than they will win their game in hand, which is also away to St Mirren as I recall. That will put them 4 points behind us, which will be 1 if they beat us 10 days from now.
In short ...... F'k the cup, F'k tiredness and F'k everything else. Nothing less than a win at all costs attitude will do from now until the last kick of the ball in the last game of the season ............. we simply cant afford to F'k this up ... we just cant !!!
I was there tonight. Hibs were brutal....lessons learned however, we will beat Ayr convincingly and win the League in the same manner in my humble opinion.
BIG G
Halifaxhibby
02-03-2017, 12:31 AM
I was there tonight. Hibs were brutal....lessons learned however, we will beat Ayr convincingly and win the League in my humble opinion.
BIG G
God i hope you are right!!!!!
02-03-2017, 01:10 AM
I was there tonight. Hibs were brutal....lessons learned however, we will beat Ayr convincingly and win the League in the same manner in my humble opinion.
BIG G
I hope you are right mate, I really do ............ all we can do is turn up and give the team every bit of backing we can and pray we get the upturn we need.
Basildon Hibs
02-03-2017, 01:53 AM
Holt, Fyvie and Shinnie are pish. Said this for a long time. Can't understand why they get a game unless as subs. Utter dross. And so is Boyle. Couldn't score in a barrel of fannies.😩
houstonhibbee
02-03-2017, 02:25 AM
Holt, Fyvie and Shinnie are pish. Said this for a long time. Can't understand why they get a game unless as subs. Utter dross. And so is Boyle. Couldn't score in a barrel of fannies.😩
Holt was a sub
02-03-2017, 06:54 AM
First defeat in 14 games though I think?
02-03-2017, 07:12 AM
He scored a great goal v dunfermline and won the penalty which put us two up That was on the back of a great performance v hearts
But he ran out of steam and we all know he is inconsistent
However he will have another purple patch at some point so is good squad player Has he not scored more goals than Holt and Keatings and possibly Gragham this Season So that tells you where the problem is
Little goal threat from Midfield
No scoring Partnership up front Unless Holt and Cummings can replicate the Hearts game week in week out but thst was Holts first goal in nearly four months if i am not mistaken
02-03-2017, 07:39 AM
The balance of the players isn't right just now.
Our impressive back 4 isn't the same without Hanlon and Fontaine.
You could even bring Laidlaw into this as he was dropped as soon as Rocky came back and didn't do much wrong. Does Laidlaw communicate better ? I don't know.
The midfield and front players. We need energy some pace / grit and some goals.
The players picked last night weren't going to give us that.
Crane
Keatings
Martin
I feel would have all come in with energy and with a point to prove. I'm not gull full squad rotation but using players wisely is important.
Will be interesting to see the team selection against Ayr. Cummings must start as he's our main goal threat though.
Pars and Saints last night were both very good - high press - energy - point to prove. It could easily been 2 defeats.
02-03-2017, 08:07 AM
holt is useful when he's not blowing out his arse , shinnie has some good qualities but his shooting has been awful , agreed about fyvie , he is pish , if he starts on saturday then lennon has well and truly lost it