View Full Version : Bikey

01-03-2017, 10:43 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/dylan-bikey-i-m-playing-without-pay-to-fulfil-my-hearts-dream-1-4379099

Rejected a contract with Hibs to play for Hearts for free.

One wonders why he found them a more exciting prospect than us. Only thing I can think of is top division.

DarrenSQH
01-03-2017, 10:45 AM
Thats more dodgy than any emergency loan ever could be.

Wouldnt be surprised if money is coming from elsewhere to him to save hearts the £40,000

01-03-2017, 10:45 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/dylan-bikey-i-m-playing-without-pay-to-fulfil-my-hearts-dream-1-4379099

One wonders why he found them a more exciting prospect than us. Only thing I can think of is top division.

Or he's talking pish.

Turned down a professional contract to play for free elsewhere, especially when it looks like we'll be in the top division next year, aye right.

Boys a bigger slaver than Cathro and it's clearly been timed to try and convince the hoarded their a dead big massive football club again.

Dan Sarf
01-03-2017, 10:46 AM
"Nine goals in nine games earned a trial at Hibs, who wanted him to sign before he took a head-turning phonecall from the other side of Edinburgh."

Stomach-turning, surely?

Thats more dodgy than any emergency loan ever could be.

Wouldnt be surprised if money is coming from elsewhere to him to save hearts the £40,000

Says he's living on handouts from his family. Big team strikes again.

Absolutely no chance he's not receiving a penny for playing for them IMO.

01-03-2017, 10:48 AM
If that's true it'll probably come back to bite him.

01-03-2017, 10:49 AM
So Hearts went out their way to stiff Stirling for 40k? Keeping it classy since 1874.

ElginHibbie
01-03-2017, 10:50 AM
I imagine the conversation went something like this.

"Craig, the fans are getting angry, what should we do?"

"Well Ian, send that boy I signed that you didn't want to talk to the press, make some stuff up and say we are still the big team, that will keep them happy until we lose again"

EskbankHibby
01-03-2017, 10:52 AM
So Hearts went out their way to stiff Stirling for 40k? Keeping it classy since 1874.

Yup, nothing for Stirling and slave labour/no wages for the player it's the Hearts way.

01-03-2017, 10:53 AM
Yup, nothing for Stirling and slave labour/no wages for the player it's the Hearts way.

Stirling wouldn't have been due anything; it's his former team in France that would be due compensation.

He was signed on amateur terms at Stirling Albion too as they couldn't afford the compensation.

01-03-2017, 10:58 AM
Stirling wouldn't have been due anything; it's his former team in France that would be due compensation.

He was signed on amateur terms at Stirling Albion too as they couldn't afford the compensation.

Jesus. No doubt he's got a game in him but hawking yourself for nowt?

banarc7062
01-03-2017, 10:59 AM

True to form. GGTTH

01-03-2017, 11:02 AM

"Well Ian, send that boy I signed that you didn't want to talk to the press, make some stuff up and say we are still the big team, that will keep them happy until we lose again"

That's probably not a million miles from what happened. I'd imagine the conversation would have been between that useless ginger reporter at the News and someone at Hearts though. The deluded gimps lap it up every time.

01-03-2017, 11:04 AM

Sounds about right for them tbh

JDHibs
01-03-2017, 11:04 AM
Hearts will be providing accommodation, travel etc, along with food at training. So really he wont need much cash i imagine to get by. Win win for Hearts, dont need to pay him, if hes rubbish they take it no further and hes not cost a penny, does well and it only costs them £40k.

Why would he have chosen them? Closer to first team, we have Boyle, Keatings, Cummings, Holt and Graham as strikers, they have Isma, Johnsen and Currie. He will get more attention if he does well up in the prem than down here aswell. Apparently hes got a good chance of starting against County as Isma is suspended and Johnsen has a hamstring injury.

01-03-2017, 11:10 AM
He'll have been promised a fortune in the summer and having never heard of "the famous" and what they are famous for, he has fallen hook line and sinker into providing free labour for half a season.

I suspect he'll be playing for us next season.

Velma Dinkley
01-03-2017, 11:14 AM
How are they getting on with paying the living wage?

01-03-2017, 11:21 AM
He'll have been promised a fortune in the summer and having never heard of "the famous" and what they are famous for, he has fallen hook line and sinker into providing free labour for half a season.

I suspect he'll be playing for us next season.

Nah, he's welcome to them.

01-03-2017, 11:29 AM
Hearts will be providing accommodation, travel etc, along with food at training. So really he wont need much cash i imagine to get by. Win win for Hearts, dont need to pay him, if hes rubbish they take it no further and hes not cost a penny, does well and it only costs them £40k.

Why would he have chosen them? Closer to first team, we have Boyle, Keatings, Cummings, Holt and Graham as strikers, they have Isma, Johnsen and Currie. He will get more attention if he does well up in the prem than down here aswell. Apparently hes got a good chance of starting against County as Isma is suspended and Johnsen has a hamstring injury.

Night-watchman's hut on their building site surely doesn't count as accommodation?

01-03-2017, 11:31 AM
Interesting article, playing for free in the premiership, is not new KT did the same with us. There's nothing in the article that states what we offered. It could be we offered him similar terms to them and he chose the premiership team. His choice but it's unlikely he'll get professional terms if he's a risk with a £40k price tag. So the extended trial makes sense. He'll also get expenses as an amateur player such as flat and transport costs

01-03-2017, 11:32 AM
How are they getting on with paying the living wage?

Wonder if this will affect their accreditation?

HFCdeb
01-03-2017, 11:34 AM
Less pressure for him to succeed at Hearts who are notorious for not knowing what to do with strikers and are a mid table team playing for nothing.
At Hibs, however, he'd have been fighting for a place with one of the most promising young strikers in the country in the squad of the league leaders and Scottish Cup holders who are into the quarter finals. Doubt the laddie would've been able to cope with that. At Hearts, as long as he's not as bad as Sammon then he'll be a legend.

01-03-2017, 11:36 AM
I'm sure Neil Lennon said in a radio interview that Hibs didn't offer this guy a contract and given the fact that he only trained with Hibs for 2 days suggest to me that this will be correct.

Today we have the hertz version of tit for tat bearing in mind what Neil Lennon was inferring last night. Life down piggery park way at the moment seems to stink even more than it normally does.

The wee lambs are upset that's for sure. Aw shame!

Finbar
01-03-2017, 11:38 AM
So much for being a living wage employer!

01-03-2017, 11:38 AM
"Having reviewed the salary structure across all areas of the club, we propose to implement the nationally-approved living wage, across all staff, including part-time and contract workers," said Budge.

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/29807293

01-03-2017, 11:42 AM
I'm sure Neil Lennon said in a radio interview that Hibs didn't offer this guy a contract and given the fact that he only trained with Hibs for 2 days suggest to me that this will be correct.

Today we have the hertz version of tit for tat bearing in mind what Neil Lennon was inferring last night. Life down piggery park way at the moment seems to stink even more than it normally does.

The wee lambs are upset that's for sure. Aw shame!

Exactly.

The Yams and their media pals are desperately seeking solace in any manner possible even using the mercenary Bikey character as a giruy. If he's any good do you honestly think he'll stick around at the piggery when its professional contracts time?

Desperados, its hilarious.

:singing: Here we go two in a row here we go two in a row.

glory glory

JoppaSands
01-03-2017, 11:47 AM
Fair enough, in his eyes the Premiership is bigger than the Championship so more likely to get noticed if he's any good. Cathro will have been giving him some blether to turn his head. All fluff.

Hope he's great at his next club (after being p!sh for the next 4 months).

01-03-2017, 11:50 AM
Sounds like a complete mug.

Big L
01-03-2017, 11:56 AM
This period is really giving them an opportunity to access Bikey, if they thought he was the bizness they would have signed him on a pro contract to stop another club nicking him. As an amateur he can still walk away. In the end, it wouldn't surprise me if they didn't offer him a pro contract? The whole thing stinks!

01-03-2017, 11:58 AM
He'll have been promised the earth. He'll be released in the summer.

Budge and Levein are spending the pledgers cash like its going out of fashion. £170k for Goncalves?! Stand to pay for. Internationalists wages, which will no be cheap, to pay. Malory "Set piece specialist" Martin on a 3 and a half year deal to pay for. **** all money made from there "home grown" players. Conor Salmon to eventually pay off.

What happened to their plan?! Thought any new manager coming in would be an easy transition and would work with the players that the DOF had identified and signed?! I'll tell you what happened... They **** the bed of the thought that we might put them out the cup again!! They thought signing all these players would guarantee a win against us. It's obsession of the weirdo variety. They are devastated we put them out the cup again. One word... Pleasing.

01-03-2017, 12:05 PM

There is a hitler video in there somewhere

01-03-2017, 12:18 PM
Fair enough, in his eyes the Premiership is bigger than the Championship so more likely to get noticed if he's any good. Cathro will have been giving him some blether to turn his head. All fluff.

Hope he's great at his next club (after being p!sh for the next 4 months).

But would he understand him?

01-03-2017, 12:36 PM
Interesting article, playing for free in the premiership, is not new KT did the same with us. There's nothing in the article that states what we offered. It could be we offered him similar terms to them and he chose the premiership team. His choice but it's unlikely he'll get professional terms if he's a risk with a £40k price tag. So the extended trial makes sense. He'll also get expenses as an amateur player such as flat and transport costs

Did KT play for free? I hadn't realised that, I'd though he was on a pay as you play deal.

Tony Bobulinski
01-03-2017, 12:46 PM
He'll have been promised the earth. He'll be released in the summer.

Budge and Levein are spending the pledgers cash like its going out of fashion. £170k for Goncalves?! Stand to pay for. Internationalists wages, which will no be cheap, to pay. Malory "Set piece specialist" Martin on a 3 and a half year deal to pay for. **** all money made from there "home grown" players. Conor Salmon to eventually pay off.

What happened to their plan?! Thought any new manager coming in would be an easy transition and would work with the players that the DOF had identified and signed?! I'll tell you what happened... They **** the bed of the thought that we might put them out the cup again!! They thought signing all these players would guarantee a win against us. It's obsession of the weirdo variety. They are devastated we put them out the cup again. One word... Pleasing.

Spot on

01-03-2017, 12:47 PM
I'd guess he just did what his agent told him to do.

Hearts will need him more than we do. Goncalves looks to me like he's got discipline issues (lunge at David Gray and sent off v Partick), which until Cathro finds the solution to this challenge, means Bikey will be required to cover for his suspensions.

01-03-2017, 12:53 PM

I thought Hearts were first to sign up for Living Wage?
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5492
Bikey must be a magician as well. I couldn't live on SFA

01-03-2017, 12:54 PM

It's every footballer's dream to play for a club so big they don't even pay their staff.

01-03-2017, 12:57 PM
To be honest I'm surprised that clubs are allowed to play players on an amateur contract in the Premiership.

You can't play trialists in league matches in the top league so not really sure what the difference is?

01-03-2017, 01:01 PM
It would seem this Bikey is a bit of a talent but everybody has potential I guess. I see they're pedalling the big team rubbish over this, it goes in cycles and he'll need to move up a gear or two to make it. I can't wait for the chain to come off of this though. Bunch of helmets.

01-03-2017, 01:01 PM
To be honest I'm surprised that clubs are allowed to play players on an amateur contract in the Premiership.

You can't play trialists in league matches in the top league so not really sure what the difference is?

This is the part that I'm most surprised with. If I'm being honest as much as I disagree with a professional football club playing a player for 4 months without paying them, Hearts aren't breaking any rules so if the player is happy with the arrangement then it's difficult to criticise. I can't believe that was his only option so more full him for accepting those terms. The rules around such things should be changed though, makes our league look ridiculous (again).

1875STEVE
01-03-2017, 01:08 PM
I saw the two projects, the Hibs project and the Hearts project, and I preferred the Hearts one.

How's that working out for ye????

:flag::flag::flag::na na:

01-03-2017, 01:33 PM

I don't think he'll be on an amateur contract. He's playing in the Scottish Professional Football League but not getting paid. I know guys who had to jump through hoops with the Scottish Amateur Football Association to be reinstated after getting petrol money to turn out in the Juniors. There will also be implications for his insurance cover if he's earning no money. I think he's playing for expenses on the promise of riches to come. More fool him.

01-03-2017, 01:34 PM
It would seem this Bikey is a bit of a talent but everybody has potential I guess. I see they're pedalling the big team rubbish over this, it goes in cycles and he'll need to move up a gear or two to make it. I can't wait for the chain to come off of this though. Bunch of helmets.

Give the laddie a brake, I'm sure he'll Raleigh if he can pump himself up for it. If not, I'm afraid they'll be saddled with him.

31-03-2017, 03:23 PM
Haha, see he's away back on loan to Stirling Albion.

31-03-2017, 03:36 PM
Haha, see he's away back on loan to Stirling Albion.

I wonder if the poppy thieves will have the nerve to ask Stirling Albion for a loan fee for a player who is playing for nothing. :greengrin

31-03-2017, 03:39 PM
Well they got one right up us there, didn't they?

31-03-2017, 03:40 PM
Hahaha

31-03-2017, 03:44 PM
I'm starting to think my tantrum about us not signing him might have been a wee bit over the top.

31-03-2017, 03:50 PM
That is idiotic.
Snakes and ladders.
Bottom league to top league and back to bottom league in one season.
Should have stayed with Stirling until the end of the season then moved to a club one league up on a one year deal. If he kept progressing he could move up to the Championship the following season. Suspect that someone like Dunfermline would be his limit at best.

31-03-2017, 03:55 PM
That is idiotic.
Snakes and ladders.
Bottom league to top league and back to bottom league in one season.
Should have stayed with Stirling until the end of the season then moved to a club one league up on a one year deal. If he kept progressing he could move up to the Championship the following season. Suspect that someone like Dunfermline would be his limit at best.

He was clearly better than league 2 standard while at Stirling. I live there and see some games and the Binos' fans are overjoyed at his return, thinking that he might even give a team that looked in relegation trouble earlier in the season a shot at the playoffs.

Given that he's been loaned out from Hearts I suspect he's not going to make it at that level, but I think he could handle the championship now, rather than in a couple of years. The problem still is that anyone offering him a professional contract has to pay a development fee to Dieppe.

31-03-2017, 04:56 PM
He was clearly better than league 2 standard while at Stirling. I live there and see some games and the Binos' fans are overjoyed at his return, thinking that he might even give a team that looked in relegation trouble earlier in the season a shot at the playoffs.

Given that he's been loaned out from Hearts I suspect he's not going to make it at that level, but I think he could handle the championship now, rather than in a couple of years. The problem still is that anyone offering him a professional contract has to pay a development fee to Dieppe.

ballengeich, given you live in Stirling perhaps you can enlighten me on why Stirling Albion have always punched below their potential weight.
Stirling has a population of 45,000 and if you include the Stirling area that goes up to 90,000
Surely they should be attracting about 5 times the paltry 500 supporters they currently attract to their games and in turn be in at least the Championship.
i have been watching football for almost 50 years and they have always been crap and I have often wondered why given the population stats.

31-03-2017, 04:58 PM
I feel sorry for him a little bit. These development fees can be great but in a situation like this where a guy is being held at ransom while he tries to achieve a football career. He turned us down and fair enough it happens but I would like to see the boy succeed or fail on his own ability and not what some club in France we've never even heard of determines their training of him was worth.

Saying that he's a yam so I hope he misses sitters :greengrin

31-03-2017, 05:20 PM
I feel sorry for him a little bit. These development fees can be great but in a situation like this where a guy is being held at ransom while he tries to achieve a football career. He turned us down and fair enough it happens but I would like to see the boy succeed or fail on his own ability and not what some club in France we've never even heard of determines their training of him was worth.

Saying that he's a yam so I hope he misses sitters :greengrin

His previous club Dieppe appear to be a non league team.
How would their development fee be calculated.
Suspect most of his development was done by his previous club to Dieppe, Nantes

31-03-2017, 05:24 PM
Well that worked out well for him then lol.....

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-striker-dylan-bikey-joins-stirling-albion-on-loan-1-4408994

31-03-2017, 05:30 PM
ballengeich, given you live in Stirling perhaps you can enlighten me on why Stirling Albion have always punched below their potential weight.
Stirling has a population of 45,000 and if you include the Stirling area that goes up to 90,000
Surely they should be attracting about 5 times the paltry 500 supporters they currently attract to their games and in turn be in at least the Championship.
i have been watching football for almost 50 years and they have always been crap and I have often wondered why given the population stats.

It's something I've wondered myself in the years I've lived here. On population it's difficult to see why attendances are consistently so far behind teams like St Johnstone, Raith, Ayr etc. The principal problem is the same as everywhere else in central Scotland which is the numbers travelling to Glasgow to follow the twin cheeks.

I suspect that Stirling has a couple of features in the makeup of its population which contribute. Stirling's a fairly prosperous place which attracts a lot of people from other areas (including me), while an equivalent number of local youngsters move away for further education and professional employment. The incomers have loyalties to a club in their original home town, or are often from social groups less likely to attend football. I doubt whether many residents of Bridge of Allan or Dunblane are regular football attenders. While the Albion do worse than other apparently comparable towns, the rugby club has consistently outperformed those other towns.

The Binos are now under fan ownership and one of the things they're trying to do is build links with the local schools in the hope of getting a bigger proportion of youngsters following them in future. I wish them well.

31-03-2017, 06:00 PM
Thanks ballengeich. I had a look at their website and can see them reaching out to the community including the schools. Hopefully this will help them build the supporter base up. I think even doubling up the current attendance average of 575 is possible and would see them quickly competing for promotion into the Championship. I did see that they were the first fully fans owned team in Scotland so there are obviously some keen football folk in the area

31-03-2017, 06:03 PM
Thanks ballengeich. I had a look at their website and can see them reaching out to the community including the schools. Hopefully this will help them build the supporter base up. I think even doubling up the current attendance average of 575 is possible and would see them quickly competing for promotion into the Championship. I did see that they were the first fully fans owned team in Scotland so there are obviously some keen football folk in the area

It's got a bigger population than Falkirk, so should be doing a lot better than they currently are doing

31-03-2017, 06:16 PM

I've friends who're life-long supporters and I know several of the leaders of the trust. It's been well-managed financially since the fans took over, but their choice of managers hasn't been great. There are hopes that Dave Mackay will change that.

It's got a bigger population than Falkirk, so should be doing a lot better than they currently are doing

While Stirling and Falkirk proper are about the same size, Falkirk has a much larger urban area of attached suburbs (Grangemouth, Larbert, Polmont etc) so has a considerably larger catchment area for supporters. However, I'd agree that Stirling has potential to get bigger attendances.

31-03-2017, 06:25 PM

Every team in the bottom two leagues has an average attendance less than 900.
It therefore stands to reason that if Stirling Albion can add upwards of 325 more supporters the extra income would propel them to the top of that pile.
A wee bit extra money and a bit of ambition goes a long way in the bottom two leagues.

31-03-2017, 06:31 PM
I've friends who're life-long supporters and I know several of the leaders of the trust. It's been well-managed financially since the fans took over, but their choice of managers hasn't been great. There are hopes that Dave Mackay will change that.

While Stirling and Falkirk proper are about the same size, Falkirk has a much larger urban area of attached suburbs (Grangemouth, Larbert, Polmont etc) so has a considerably larger catchment area for supporters. However, I'd agree that Stirling has potential to get bigger attendances.

I worked in Stirling about 15 years ago and was very impressed with the set up at Forthbank. We used to play 6 a side on the astro every Wednesday lunch time. Their artificial surface at that time was the best I had ever played on. I hope they prosper.

31-03-2017, 06:34 PM
So Hearts have basically punted him?

31-03-2017, 06:37 PM

On his Biko

31-03-2017, 06:41 PM

Hibs didn't offer him anything other than a trial. No contract was on the table for him. Anderson's article is typical of his pesh.

31-03-2017, 06:41 PM
Think his agent will be looking for a new job in the morning.

The poor guys family must be gutted sending over all their hard end pay cheques so he can continue his career in the Scottish 3rd division.

31-03-2017, 06:55 PM
I worked in Stirling about 15 years ago and was very impressed with the set up at Forthbank. We used to play 6 a side on the astro every Wednesday lunch time. Their artificial surface at that time was the best I had ever played on. I hope they prosper.

It's a good facility, but it belongs to the council not the club. Albion got in financial trouble in the early 90s so sold the old Annfield ground to the council and rented it back. The council sold Annfield for housing development and built their community sports facilities at Forthbank. Not owning the ground may put permanent constraints on Albion's financial development.

Ilovehibs
31-03-2017, 08:15 PM

If hertz have loaned him out to Stirling does that mean he is officially a hertz player? I though he was only at the PBS on a free trial basis? Bizarre one.

31-03-2017, 08:28 PM
Isn't it the case that Stirling Albion weren't founded until 1949? Given the close proximity of Glasgow by road and rail many Stirling families would historically be fans of the OF, particularly Rangers, before The Binos were formed.

As for Bikey, can't be that great if he can't get a game for them.

31-03-2017, 08:30 PM
Isn't it the case that Stirling Albion weren't founded until 1949? Given the close proximity of Glasgow by road and rail many Stirling families would historically be fans of the OF, particularly Rangers, before The Binos were formed.

As for Bikey, can't be that great if he can't get a game for them.

Think it was all about getting up 1 up on Hibs, prior to the recent Derby. We all know that ended

31-03-2017, 08:35 PM
LOL epic fail Bikey.

Enjoy being an amateur.

31-03-2017, 08:38 PM
LOL epic fail Bikey.

Enjoy being an amateur.

On yer bikey bikey

glory glory

31-03-2017, 08:41 PM
Does he qualify for jobseekers allowance if he can demonstrate he hasn't got a source of income or is playing for the fun of it whilst he looks for work?

Serious question as the yam won't be paying him

31-03-2017, 09:34 PM
Think it was all about getting up 1 up on Hibs, prior to the recent Derby. We all know that ended

Seems the Jambos did us a big favour as we might just have gone for him. If I remember correctly, he delivered a Levein scripted interview, praising all things Jambo and putting us in our place.......... what a sucker.

31-03-2017, 09:41 PM
Nae joy Bikey

01-04-2017, 05:58 AM
Given the close proximity of Glasgow by road and rail many Stirling families would historically be fans of the OF, particularly Rangers, before The Binos were formed.

It's still like that. Wife's originally from that area and it's Hun central.

01-04-2017, 08:38 AM
Seems the Jambos did us a big favour as we might just have gone for him. If I remember correctly, he delivered a Levein scripted interview, praising all things Jambo and putting us in our place.......... what a sucker.

Ha ha, I remember my Yam workmates winding me up about it at the time, they're a bit quiet now!

01-04-2017, 09:27 AM
Ha ha, I remember my Yam workmates winding me up about it at the time, they're a bit quiet now!
We should leak to the press that after a successful trial (no trial ever happened) that we are about to sign 3 X, Y and Z. The "famous" nip in and waste more of their DD money.

01-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Have the yams finally stopped ****ing themselves into a coma at the very thought of getting one over on us? Weirdos.