View Full Version : Neil lennon- emergency loans

28-02-2017, 09:55 PM
http://trib.al/RW5L5gI

Particularly liked this quote:

Aware those moves are unlikely to go down well with some, Lennon hit back, saying: “I know some people will moan – I know that. I could moan about other clubs spending too much money, going into debt, administration and stuff like that. But I don’t.

“I could moan about clubs going out and buying nine players in the January transfer window, but I don’t. We could have done that, but we might have stretched ourselves. This club runs the way we think is the right way – we knew the emergency window was an option.

Give em both barrels!

28-02-2017, 09:56 PM
Excellent. Tell them as it is Neil!

28-02-2017, 09:57 PM

Aware those moves are unlikely to go down well with some, Lennon hit back, saying: “I know some people will moan – I know that. I could moan about other clubs spending too much money, going into debt, administration and stuff like that. But I don’t.

“I could moan about clubs going out and buying nine players in the January transfer window, but I don’t. We could have done that, but we might have stretched ourselves. This club runs the way we think is the right way – we knew the emergency window was an option.

Give em both barrels!

Nice :thumbsup:

Highland_Hibee
28-02-2017, 09:57 PM
In Lenny we trust.

28-02-2017, 09:59 PM

Give em both barrels!

Brilliant chat!!

Santa Cruz
28-02-2017, 10:00 PM
Perfecto

28-02-2017, 10:00 PM
Superb!

Sioux
28-02-2017, 10:03 PM

The yams'll be snarling their teeth oot at that.

Get in!!

28-02-2017, 10:09 PM

Give em both barrels!

Outstanding stuff from NL. Top man. Cue meltdown on JKB.

28-02-2017, 10:12 PM
Go on yourself Lenny!

28-02-2017, 10:12 PM
Outstanding stuff from NL. Top man. Cue meltdown on JKB.
It's already begun lol. He got under their skin with those comments....... :greengrin. Gaun yersel Neil, get the yaks telt.........

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/168059-ginger-cockwomble/

28-02-2017, 10:13 PM
Already a thread on Kickback. Pleasing, as they say. :greengrin

28-02-2017, 10:14 PM
They signed nine players on short-term contracts to put their rivals out of the Scottish Cup.

28-02-2017, 10:16 PM

Give em both barrels!

Absolutely fantastic 👍

28-02-2017, 10:18 PM
Brilliant from Lennon. He is only telling the truth at the end of the day.

Good that we don't take any s*** these days.

28-02-2017, 10:19 PM
Get them telt Neil - brilliant stuff 👍👍

28-02-2017, 10:23 PM

Give em both barrels!

Well I'm sure that'll go down a storm doon Gorgie way...

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

28-02-2017, 10:31 PM
Well said Neil. Targeting a couple of players to address actual problems between now and the end of the season and all within the rules is gotta be better than giving one agent a huge chunk of cash you haven't got for a load of mercenary journeymen in a desperate effort to beat Hibs. That worked well.

28-02-2017, 10:33 PM
I get the feeling that Neil has become a lot more 'Hibs' in the past few weeks, just based on his media appearances and his interactions with the crowd at ER. And the players' reaction to his comments post-Raith* makes me think they think highly of him too. Top stuff. :aok:

28-02-2017, 10:40 PM
We'll get more out of the short loans for Commons and Ambrose than Hearts will out of the nine, mainly utter pish players they signed in January. Great, clever business by Hibs and Lennon. Doing things the right way as always.

Hopefully none of their fans feel the need to assault any one for pointing this out. Although simply managing an opposing team was sufficient provocation last time.

28-02-2017, 10:41 PM

Give em both barrels!

'Aware those moves are unlikely to go down well with some .......' - just the obsessed-Jambos, Barry Anderson and the EEN 'Sports-desk'.

Well done Neil - say it as it is !
Aware those moves are unlikely to go down well with some,

28-02-2017, 10:46 PM
Finally!!!!! Somebody with the balls to say it. Neil you have went way up in my estimation.

Fans of the administration twins will be spitting feathers.

rotherhamrob
28-02-2017, 10:52 PM
Ha ha they'll be raging.
It's good to see that we'll not take any s*** of anyone.

28-02-2017, 10:59 PM
The man is certainly growing on me.

28-02-2017, 10:59 PM
Lennon is rapidly becoming the quintessential Hibernian manager. Knows how to wind up those wackoids.

connerg
28-02-2017, 11:17 PM
They signed nine players on short-term contracts to put their rivals out of the Scottish Cup.

:faf::faf::faf:. Oh you kill me man. :greengrin:flag:

28-02-2017, 11:27 PM
It's already begun lol. He got under their skin with those comments....... :greengrin. Gaun yersel Neil, get the yaks telt.........

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/168059-ginger-cockwomble/
Jeez. Some utter dross on that thread. Where do they dredge some of their utter nonsense from. It's fantasy island.

28-02-2017, 11:41 PM
Jeez. Some utter dross on that thread. Where do they dredge some of their utter nonsense from. It's fantasy island.

Love the one that says "When people come out with ***** like this you know you've won."

:lolyam:

Sorry but what exactly have they won recently??? :rotflmao:

28-02-2017, 11:52 PM
Glad to see this. We have been too nice for too long. I'm happy NL is willing to call people out and stand up for the club.

28-02-2017, 11:56 PM
surely no properly run football club would just go out and get 9 players in on loan, where on earth would all the money come to pay all these players :confused: i mean that would sound like utter desperation

28-02-2017, 11:58 PM
surely no properly run football club would just go out and get 9 players in on loan, where on earth would all the money come to pay all these players :confused: i mean that would sound like utter desperation

They are not all loan deals to be fair. There is one that's really piss poor and on a three and a half year deal.

01-03-2017, 12:08 AM
Liked the one about us paying 10k for Commons a week.

01-03-2017, 12:09 AM
Absolutely fantastic :top marks

01-03-2017, 12:10 AM
They are not all loan deals to be fair. There is one that's really piss poor and on a three and a half year deal.

The fact that that guy is on a 3.5 year deal almost makes me believe those rumours about Levein somehow profiting from their signings.

Even ignoring the fact that he's been pish for them, there's absolutely nothing about his CV that suggests it would be a good idea to give him a contract until 2020. Bizarre

01-03-2017, 12:21 AM

ah, loan/buy, 3 and half year contract for a free kick specialist :LOL:

connerg
01-03-2017, 12:35 AM
Glad to see this. We have been too nice for too long. I'm happy NL is willing to call people out and stand up for the club.

Well said. :top marks

01-03-2017, 01:19 AM
Well said. :top marks

Better emergency loans than emergency moans, Los Yambolinos.

01-03-2017, 01:42 AM
Brilliant from Lennon. Our attitude towards that shower on and off the park is what has been lacking for so long. For any Hearts looking in...get used to it and carry on squirming roasters. 7 and counting.

01-03-2017, 03:18 AM
The jambos are fast becoming boring and irrelevant as seen by the posters on the Scotsman website. After the latest rodgering in the cup the moan their heads of that we were the guys wanting to win the games more. Much as I like to beat them it doesn't occupy my mind every waking moment how to get one over them as they seem to do. They don't get that may 21 was a seachange in everything involved with the two clubs. 5-1 wasn't great but dies anybody get wound up by it anymore. Two up and you cocked it up changed that. their comfort blanket of going on about their derby record now looks foolish and most of them know they won't be beating us regularly for a long time. I don't know what made Neil Lennon mention admin and the nine signings but maybe he'd had enough of snide remarks in the press. As has been said many times we are just working within the rules and we potentially had no chs for Saturdays cup tie. If that doesn't come under an emergency I don't know what is even allowing for the farce of the raith goalie situation. I member them moaning about us under Fenton signing so many players till the end of the season and hey presto what do they do. I Pity them just now as the decent Hertz fans who are worried where they are heading and the influence of harry potter are shouted down by those towing the party line. They are like a version of trumps world where facts are disposable and invented to suit them like how we forced the banks to reduce the debt and use a system which all clubs outside the SPL can use. I'm sure they think money will just appear for them to go back to the days of huge wages but those days are gone and unless they improve on recruitment they are going in one direction. Marvellous.

01-03-2017, 03:37 AM
Sorry but what exactly have they won recently???

Eh? They beat us in the cup-tie at The Asbestos Dome. Things only went agley for them when they failed to beat us again in the replay at ER!

01-03-2017, 05:28 AM
They talk a big game considering how badly we ****ing destroyed them a week ago.

01-03-2017, 06:25 AM
The man is certainly growing on me.

Finally!!!!! Somebody with the balls to say it. Neil you have went way up in my estimation.

Fans of the administration twins will be spitting feathers.

Exactly...wasn't sure About Lennon at the start, but he's shown he, and hibs, won't take ***** of anyone now.
Well done that man.....no ones going to bully this team anymore.

01-03-2017, 06:42 AM
The fact that that guy is on a 3.5 year deal almost makes me believe those rumours about Levein somehow profiting from their signings.

Even ignoring the fact that he's been pish for them, there's absolutely nothing about his CV that suggests it would be a good idea to give him a contract until 2020. Bizarre

Apart from the fact that he is managed by a company involving John colquhoun. With budges brother help build the stand it's a nice little earner all round. They are so gullible they don't see anything wrong at all. Space cadets.

01-03-2017, 06:43 AM
They talk a big game considering how badly we ****ing destroyed them a week ago.

Exactly my thoughts! Destroyed Jambos, destroyed!!

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-03-2017, 07:02 AM

Preston said on radio scotland he had only played around 100 games in his whole career, and hes 26/27!

01-03-2017, 07:16 AM
Let's get a few Neil Lennon smilies on the site admins. The guy is doing everything that was asked of him so far. Top of the league - check. Decent display in Europe - check. Cup run and/or beating the Jambos - check.

Sure there's been some bad displays but there's been some crackers too. I would credit a fair amount of those bad displays to teams coming out and stopping us play football father than us just not turning up. I also believe personally that we've taken a point from games where we would have taken nothing last year, due to Neil having a bit of a tougher edge and more experience than Stubbs alongside keeping the team together and the experience they've gained over the last couple of seasons.

We're not over the line yet but we're getting there and whenever we play teams from the top division we've proven we've nothing to fear when we get there!

01-03-2017, 07:18 AM
Administration is looming at Hibs. I've read elsewhere this is apparently due to the downturn in ticket sales apparently. :greengrin

Hibs were contributing 10k to Commons wages which is an amount we can't afford (we wouldn't have been I'm sure, but even if we were, I'm sure we can afford 40k or whatever it would have been for his period here, of course we couldn't have afforded it for a season).

When Lennon starts coming out with stuff like this then you know they've won :confused: No idea what they've won, it certainly wasn't the League Cup, certainly won't be the Scottish Cup, wasn't either of the derbies and won't be the league. I'm not even sure they'll manage a win against the mighty Ross County or St Johnstone this season infact.

Apparently our 'relationship' with Celtic is hilarious. Our last two managers have been Celtic legends and they've used that to their and our advantage. Sign players from the best team in the country, or sign players all from the one agent because the DOF at your club has a financial motive to do so and end up with a squad that is utter ***** because of it? I know what one I'd choose.

They're no a happy bunch. They do remember that their absolute huddy of a star striker came out before the derby and slated Hibs declaring that we're not a team capable of playing any sort of football before we absolutely blew them away through a combination of great football, effort and desire, don't they? Yet the minute Lennon criticism of them has them up in arms..

01-03-2017, 07:29 AM
I'd like to politely point out to any Jambos looking in that we took your team apart without any players on loan from Celtic. Mutants.

01-03-2017, 07:29 AM
Hearts are being run into the ground. But the press have a narrative of 'plucky club, lovely Ann budge, 100% fan owned, marvellous loyal fans' which they are sticking to. What Lennon says is 100% correct, and quite clever because he's not naming Hertz or sevco directly, but in a way its shocking because it's at odds with what you read every day...

Brilliant Neil. :thumbsup:

01-03-2017, 07:34 AM
Love the one that says "When people come out with ***** like this you know you've won."

:lolyam:

Sorry but what exactly have they won recently??? :rotflmao:

Cathro has them believing they've not lost yet, they'll just need to beat us again next time, same as he felt after the first leg against Raith.

The Leith Dutch
01-03-2017, 07:46 AM
I think the emergency loan system is flawed - I think it should be a response to injuries concentrated in a position that stop you fielding a competitive team. (I actually did think this was in the rule until corrected by some of the more knowledgable posters on here :) )

The funniest thing about all of this is that we've used it for precisely that reason on the two occasions we've used it this season.
Our only other options would have been to overspend (having more than twice the centre backs we need) or to field a team incapable of playing decent football.

Or to put it another way - we've played within the rules, avoided overspending and focused on putting a decent, football playing team on the park. You can see from that why the Yams might not get what we're up to.....

01-03-2017, 07:50 AM
So the yams recognise that it's their club he's talking about without him mentioning them specifically but are up in arms about him having a dig at them? :monkey:

01-03-2017, 07:52 AM
I think the emergency loan system is flawed - I think it should be a response to injuries concentrated in a position that stop you fielding a competitive team. (I actually did think this was in the rule until corrected by some of the more knowledgable posters on here :) )

The funniest thing about all of this is that we've used it for precisely that reason on the two occasions we've used it this season.
Our only other options would have been to overspend (having more than twice the centre backs we need) or to field a team incapable of playing decent football.

Or to put it another way - we've played within the rules, avoided overspending and focused on putting a decent, football playing team on the park. You can see from that why the Yams might not get what we're up to.....

It's flawed in that it's badly named. Call it short-term loan and there would be no controversy.

It's there to help clubs with limited resources continue to firld teams when they're struggling to do so.

Teams in the Premiership are expected to have the resources to maintain squads which can cope with those situations.

HibernianJK
01-03-2017, 07:58 AM
Has someone on that JBK thread actually claimed we paid £10k a week towards Commons wages while he was here?

As far as I've read it was mabe 4/5k a week?

high bee
01-03-2017, 08:04 AM
Has someone on that JBK thread actually claimed we paid £10k a week towards Commons wages while he was here?

Apart from the top earners like Messi, Ronaldo and Rooney, I would say most the wages quoted for players are nonsense.

Can't see why players on £2/5/10k a week would release their wages into the public domain and there's no benefit of the clubs publicising it.

Could easily picture agents releasing the wages of their players but that's likely to be an inflated figure to drive wages up.

I struggle to believe that we paid much more than £2k a week for Commons.

KazaHibs
01-03-2017, 08:22 AM

We paid 10% of his wages. £2,200 p/w. £10k, as if, they must think he was our Kingston

01-03-2017, 08:26 AM
Brilliant Neil.

Not only does he pump them out the cup (how many times in a row is that now in the Scottish?) and demolish them at Easter Road he puts them in their place on how things should be ran.

Fantastic.

01-03-2017, 09:10 AM
For me the best of the Neil Lennon statement is and I quote " so shut up...just shut up " way to go Neil. Don't you just love the guy, well I do from the moment he joined the club.

HFCdeb
01-03-2017, 09:45 AM
I love him. I never thought I'd feel this way about Neil Lennon when he played for and managed Celtic, but from his very first Hibs interview right up until now my respect for him has just grown and grown.

BH Hibs
01-03-2017, 10:17 AM
I'd like to politely point out to any Jambos looking in that we took your team apart without any players on loan from Celtic. Mutants.

I'd also like to ask them where we got Jason Cummings from. :giruy2:

01-03-2017, 10:54 AM

Give em both barrels!

Thats a fantastic quote. Well done Neil. :aok: :flag:

pennyhibee
01-03-2017, 11:33 AM
that's quality from Neil Lennon .No mention of another club in his statement but the guilty parties know who they are. I hope this is just the start of your hurt.

Nutmegged
01-03-2017, 11:37 AM
This is exactly why Neil Lennon should be the Hibs manager, it's why I was excited by his arrival, he's used to being the big dog at Celtic, he has brought that attitude with him and he wont let anyone talk us down or bad mouth us, he's a real leader of not only the team but the fans too.

In the past we've been accused of being ansoft touch, having a psychological barrier etc... and while there may have been a hint of truth in that we've worked hard in the last couple of years to counter that, we have now moved onto a guy who will make us sound every bit as big as we should be.

I still have issues regarding his style of play more often than I'd like but it goes without saying I'm loving the "on the front foot" attitude he has brought to Easter Road, it's something we've needed for a long time and you get the impression no-one will be taking free cheap shots at this club again for a long time.

01-03-2017, 12:13 PM
"They definitely wouldn't have cheated sorry sold so many STs but the league is poor and in all honesty Hibs should have tied this up by now. There is no real challenge for them and it shows in some of their league results"

This is from their thread regarding Dundee United going into admin.. I literally have no idea what that's even supposed to mean.. how is selling more season tickets on the back of winning the cup cheating? :faf:

crewetollhibee
01-03-2017, 01:19 PM

I think the Jambo's Club Secretary has cocked up. Think Potter meant give him a contract, yes, but only till 8.20 pm.

01-03-2017, 06:53 PM
"They definitely wouldn't have cheated sorry sold so many STs but the league is poor and in all honesty Hibs should have tied this up by now. There is no real challenge for them and it shows in some of their league results"

This is from their thread regarding Dundee United going into admin.. I literally have no idea what that's even supposed to mean.. how is selling more season tickets on the back of winning the cup cheating? :faf:

Our league is poor......Our league is poor? :faf:

beensaidbefore
01-03-2017, 07:18 PM
This is exactly why Neil Lennon should be the Hibs manager, it's why I was excited by his arrival, he's used to being the big dog at Celtic, he has brought that attitude with him and he wont let anyone talk us down or bad mouth us, he's a real leader of not only the team but the fans too.

In the past we've been accused of being ansoft touch, having a psychological barrier etc... and while there may have been a hint of truth in that we've worked hard in the last couple of years to counter that, we have now moved onto a guy who will make us sound every bit as big as we should be.

I still have issues regarding his style of play more often than I'd like but it goes without saying I'm loving the "on the front foot" attitude he has brought to Easter Road, it's something we've needed for a long time and you get the impression no-one will be taking free cheap shots at this club again for a long time.

Agree entirely.