View Full Version : BT Sport tonight

SuperAllyMcleod
24-02-2017, 06:53 PM
On now - Butcher on with Kevin Thomson - could be interesting?

24-02-2017, 06:57 PM
Hope Thomson knocks the **** out.

24-02-2017, 06:57 PM
Katie sitting next to Butcher. All about the hun so far. Reference to Cathros 'midweek derby disaster' though:thumbsup:

weststandhibby
24-02-2017, 06:58 PM
On now - Butcher on with Kevin Thomson - could be interesting?
Kevin's body language sitting next to that arse is very interesting!

24-02-2017, 07:01 PM
If he lamps butcher I'll pay the fine💰

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 07:04 PM
Kevin's body language sitting next to that arse is very interesting!

Does not look happy! bear in mind hes probably had to listen to his pish for several hours by now. would bring the dalai lama out in rage.

TheMentalHibees
24-02-2017, 07:16 PM
Hope Thomson asks butcher what makes him qualified to comment on other managers considering his recent record. Fanny.

24-02-2017, 07:18 PM
Thomson cannae stand him

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 07:21 PM
christ Keith Jackshun is ugly. needs to lay off the fish suppers and poppers.

24-02-2017, 07:24 PM
WTF is this pish on just now? It's like a propoganda piece for Rangers TV.

Utterly pathetic and once again the Scottish football media fawning over Rangers.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 07:28 PM
at least they are calling out the Lying King. Media starting to wake up a bit to reality?

24-02-2017, 07:33 PM
Butcher said on the earlier show that the new Manager should decide on the DoF at Rangers just in case he doesnt get on with him.... He truly is a walking talking ******** of a man.

JimboHibs
24-02-2017, 07:36 PM

😂😂😂

24-02-2017, 07:36 PM
Butcher said on the earlier show that the new Manager should decide on the DoF at Rangers just in case he doesnt get on with him.... He truly is a walking talking ******** of a man.
Tail wagging the dog...

24-02-2017, 07:39 PM
Butcher is as pish as Cathro so he can shut it.

24-02-2017, 07:45 PM
Mon the Caley Jags.

24-02-2017, 07:46 PM
Just said there it ICTs 1000th match since forming. Never mentioned how many it was for The Rangers must be about 200.

1 minute on clock fenian mentioned by the small minority at least 3 times.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 07:48 PM
Will we see the usual microphone volume fluctuations in a vain attempt to obscure sectarian droning....yes. yes we will.

24-02-2017, 07:51 PM
Will we see the usual microphone volume fluctuations in a vain attempt to obscure sectarian droning....yes. yes we will.

"We hate Celtic "white noisezzzzzz" and we chase them everywhere"

24-02-2017, 07:53 PM
ICT are a 5hite football team who are in danger of being relegated and they are playing Rangers.

Terry Butcher may not know much but he knows a great deal about 5hite football teams, relegation and Rangers.

24-02-2017, 07:56 PM
ICT are brutal.

If Rangers don't win this by 2 or 3 things must be even worse than I hope.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 07:57 PM
"We hate Celtic "white noisezzzzzz" and we chase them everywhere"

TBH I am more offended by the attempts at double act banter by Sutton and Butcher.

miy00015
24-02-2017, 07:58 PM
Anyone else catch Sutton calling Butcher a Caveman there?

:giruy2::giruy2::giruy2:

24-02-2017, 07:58 PM
This could be 5-0

They cannae keep the ball for 5 seconds

24-02-2017, 07:59 PM
How bad are Terry Buthers 'jokes'.

Sure he said he had never seen notes being passed on the pitch in the last game he commentated on as well.

How the **** were so many of us taken in by this clown?

24-02-2017, 08:00 PM
ICT are brutal.

If Rangers don't win this by 2 or 3 things must be even worse than I hope.

Indeed ICT are awful, if they beat The Rangers then indeed worse than we hope. Enjoying watching this actually knowing we are more than capable of leathering both teams.

C'mon ICT

24-02-2017, 08:02 PM
Im turning over to the golf. Butcher and Sutton summarising is messing with my ying

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 08:03 PM
Mulraney looks quite nippy

24-02-2017, 08:08 PM
I like BT's coverage. They actually dedicate a bit of time to Scottish football. I don't find Sutton as bad as I used to and he at least tries to talk Scottish football up unlike most of the English. Whoever decided to get Butcher involved should get the sack though.

Keyser Sauzee
24-02-2017, 08:13 PM
I can't stand watching football without any commentary but I would take it any day over listening to Butcher and his shocking jokes, we get it there's 3 bloody McKays on the park, it's never been funny!!!!

chasitup
24-02-2017, 08:27 PM
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious

24-02-2017, 08:30 PM
Ha ha 1-0 ICT

SuperAllyMcleod
Whoops!

JackLadd
Sevco :na na:

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 08:31 PM
yaaaaaas

Great finish, 1-0 ICT

Ha ha The Rangers

Yassssssss.

NthCarolinaHibs
That'll Mibby shut Butcher up for a wee while 😁

24-02-2017, 08:32 PM
The Huns are tom kite

miy00015
24-02-2017, 08:32 PM
Great finish right in the corner

:lolrangers:

24-02-2017, 08:33 PM
What a full back that Tavernier is:faf:

24-02-2017, 08:34 PM
Just said there it ICTs 1000th match since forming. Never mentioned how many it was for The Rangers must be about 200.

1 minute on clock fenian mentioned by the small minority at least 3 times.

BT have it under control now, they are just turning the volume down when it comes to the nasty bits.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 08:35 PM
its all a bit Kenny McDowell

24-02-2017, 08:36 PM
only caught the last 5 mins, sevco and hertz fans really are so alike, both sets of 'fans' boo their teams off

CathroMustStay
24-02-2017, 08:37 PM
GIRFUY Sevco **** :giruy2:

24-02-2017, 08:39 PM
The Rangers are so bad it's shocking, and with no money to spend, it's hard to see where they go from here.

24-02-2017, 08:41 PM
Just shut the club down, fans songs are a disgrace and the club is beyond arrogant, time they died again.

24-02-2017, 08:42 PM
That will be a long, painful journey home for the "hordes" if they don't turn this around.

I'll tell you what though - how much better an advert for Scottish football was Wednesday night, on all levels, than this?

This is an utter embarrassment. Sound engineers trying to cut out ILLEGAL sectarian chanting to pretend it doesn't happen, a crappy half-finished stadium and two atrocious football teams slogging out a grim league fixture. It is utter pish.

Much as I don't like them, Hearts still made a contribution to an occasion on Wednesday that would have done our city, our country and the competition proud.

The people who think we need to pander to the existing fan base who are only interested in the OF need to take a serious look at themselves.

No wonder we're a laughing stock.

24-02-2017, 08:49 PM
Derek Rae just said Rangers last lost at ICT in 2006. What has that got to with The Rangers playing tonight?

24-02-2017, 08:56 PM
That will be a long, painful journey home for the "hordes" if they don't turn this around.

I'll tell you what though - how much better an advert for Scottish football was Wednesday night, on all levels, than this?

This is an utter embarrassment. Sound engineers trying to cut out ILLEGAL sectarian chanting to pretend it doesn't happen, a crappy half-finished stadium and two atrocious football teams slogging out a grim league fixture. It is utter pish.

Much as I don't like them, Hearts still made a contribution to an occasion on Wednesday that would have done our city, our country and the competition proud.

The people who think we need to pander to the existing fan base who are only interested in the OF need to take a serious look at themselves.

:top marksIve started watching ligue 1 on the other side I'm afraid to say.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 09:06 PM
:top marksIve started watching ligue 1 on the other side I'm afraid to say.

I just find rangers losing to diddy teams far too entertaining to change to admittedly much better football

24-02-2017, 09:09 PM
The full oldco songbook out tonight. You know they are getting pumped when they are trying to rally with that push. An utter embarrassment of a support and a club.

Rangers penalty. Shock.

I just find rangers losing to diddy teams far too entertaining to change to admittedly much better football

It's an abomination of a football match. Seriously, it's like watching two pub teams. We're better than both these sides.

1-1 Waghorn, penalty.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 09:10 PM
It's an abomination of a football match. Seriously, it's like watching two pub teams. We're better than both these sides.

Oh definitely.
1 all. Time to switch sides. Ive had my fun.

miy00015
Daft defending from Caley there

The Huns look like they are playing in a Hearts strip 🤢

24-02-2017, 09:11 PM
C'mon ICT silence this mob

JackLadd
24-02-2017, 09:11 PM
Sectarian chanting in full swing.

24-02-2017, 09:13 PM
King Billy on for Caley. What an irony if he were to score the winner :greengrin

24-02-2017, 09:14 PM

Agree with about 70% of this but take the OF out the equation and we will have a league full of crappy half finished stadia. I've never fancied the idea of Inverness being in the top flight with the cowp they call a stadium. Hamilton FFS. Firhill looks to have been castrated. And we have painful experience of the Falkirk Stadium. How could that place ever be described as atmospheric? It cannot.
The Huns have been levelled on the pitch. Hertz are feeling it and not before time. Time for Hibs and a few other well run sort of clubs to step up the challenge and get a league worth talking about, preferably without nearly bankrupting themselves like the last time round.

24-02-2017, 09:28 PM
Penalty ICT.

24-02-2017, 09:28 PM
Missed. ***** penalty.

24-02-2017, 09:29 PM
Crap.

24-02-2017, 09:31 PM
What a goal that was.

2-1 ICT

2-1 ICT.

Yeeeeeeeeeeeha.

JackLadd

Vigers - bottler.

Some goal yesssssssssssss

24-02-2017, 09:32 PM
Haha overhead kick winner is far more pleasing than a bog standard penalty anyway :greengrin

Pleasing!!

Job done.

Huns are gash.

Very pleasing!!

Wow! Get in

Vigers - bottler.

Never mind ........ 2-1:greengrin

24-02-2017, 09:33 PM
7-1 ICT were with btts :)

liscious_hibs
What a goal! I'm stunned, that was beautiful to watch!

Pleasing.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 09:34 PM
Beautiful. Zitelli esque.

miy00015
:giruy2::giruy2::giruy2:

:lolrangers:

They are a joke :lolrangers:

Rangers fans walking away.
After singing No Surrender. Loving their work.

24-02-2017, 09:35 PM
Butcher is even worse as a commentator than he was as a manager.

24-02-2017, 09:36 PM
Butcher explaining how you should play football.

24-02-2017, 09:36 PM
And tonights The Rangers songbook is closed in silence.

24-02-2017, 09:37 PM
Ha ha ha ha ha

A Hibs win tomorrow and this will be another Carlsberg week.

Butcher explaining how you should play football.

The nerve of it. This Rangers team are reminiscent of his Hibs side.

JackLadd
Nae surrender, eh. :thumbsup:

24-02-2017, 09:38 PM
Rangers fans walking away.
After singing No Surrender. Loving their work.

Indeed after having a good laugh on kickback think I will have a look on follow follow for more laughs.

24-02-2017, 09:38 PM
Pleasing result for the bottom of the league table against the Cup losers :aok:

24-02-2017, 09:40 PM
Oh dear, how sad, never mind

+ F*"* ye ya bunch o'cretins

CathroMustStay
24-02-2017, 09:40 PM
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA GIRFUY Sevco bigots! :thumbsup:

High-On-Hibs
24-02-2017, 09:41 PM
Not been a good week for the loyalists. PLEASING

24-02-2017, 09:44 PM
As I live in Glasgow you know when I went into work after first Hearts match The Rangers fans were asking why we were singing about Warburton during Hearts as nothing to do with match. I said why are you singing about the falls road, sashes etc against everyone that has nothing to do with match....... silenced.

Whoever said this was 100%

The Rangers: Offended by everything ashamed of nothing

24-02-2017, 09:45 PM
Follow Follow has been Cathroed

24-02-2017, 09:45 PM
Sectarian chanting in full swing.

Aye, No Pope of Rome belted oot amongst other sectarian ditties. And the commentator remarks the Rangers fans getting behind their team now.:rolleyes:

High-On-Hibs
24-02-2017, 09:54 PM
"It was criminal.... just criminal..."

GIRFUY Butcher!

24-02-2017, 09:55 PM
Even Murty sounds 100x more professional than Catheter.

NthCarolinaHibs
24-02-2017, 09:56 PM
Thomo looking as comfortable as a turkey on Christmas Eve...

JackLadd
24-02-2017, 10:02 PM
Delighted Sevco lost but where was the condemnation of the rabid sectarian mutants from BT?

24-02-2017, 10:25 PM
Delighted Sevco lost but where was the condemnation of the rabid sectarian mutants from BT?

The elephant in the room. Never mentioned in the MSM regardless of how obvious it is.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 10:27 PM
The elephant in the room. Never mentioned in the MSM regardless of how obvious it is.

Problem is that most of their Scottish viewers are huns (or celts) and they dont want to upset them for fear of losing subscriptions.

24-02-2017, 10:30 PM
Problem is that most of their Scottish viewers are huns (or celts) and they dont want to upset them for fear of losing subscriptions.

Most of MSM too, no doubt

24-02-2017, 11:06 PM
Assuming all the favourites go through to the semis of the Scottish Cup, I know who I want to get in the draw.

I would be very confident of beating them again. I would like to play them again in the final but there's no chance they would beat either Celtic or Aberdeen so I'll take beating them in the semis this year and then get a free shot at Celtic in the final. :greengrin

24-02-2017, 11:08 PM
It's worth searching for the Sportscene highlights from the 21st of May. The Pundits were a clearly emotional and overjoyed Pat Nevin and a Terry Butcher looking gutted and trying not to sound it. Amazing viewing.

24-02-2017, 11:24 PM

True, but when you think about it objectively it's an amazing state of affairs when everybody just tolerates this blatant censorship.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 11:27 PM
True, but when you think about it objectively it's an amazing state of affairs when everybody just tolerates this blatant censorship.

Its disgraceful. BT are hoovering up some seriously dirty money here.
But what can we do? Although I did recently cancel my sub and get Sportsmania instead. If everyone does that they are f***ed.

24-02-2017, 11:31 PM

It's not BTs job to condemn the sectarian songs. They broadcasted them, its up to the football authorities to take action.

24-02-2017, 11:43 PM
It's not BTs job to condemn the sectarian songs. They broadcasted them, its up to the football authorities to take action.

They "BT Sport" should give a warning before the game when the old firm play away from home that viewers may be subjected to vile biggoted songs during the 90 minutes.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 11:46 PM

We will be waiting an awfy long time if we expect the SFA to sort this out

High-On-Hibs
24-02-2017, 11:46 PM
They "BT Sport" should give a warning before the game when the old firm play away from home that viewers may be subjected to vile biggoted songs during the 90 minutes.

Agreed. You always get a warning about violence, abuse, swearing.... etc before a movie or documentary. Should be no different with football games involving this vile lot.

Topographic Hibby
24-02-2017, 11:48 PM
...and why don't non-OF BT subscribers call BT up to complain and threaten cancellation of BT sub? And I know the answer as well, the numbers of OF to non-OF subscribers tips massively in one direction.

Time to start haranguing our MSPs if the broadcasters and governing bodies are reluctant and/or unwilling to do anything.

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 11:48 PM
Agreed. You always get a warning about violence, abuse, swearing.... etc before a movie or documentary. Should be no different with football games involving this vile lot.

Warning: the following programme may contain scenes of a mutant nature, and language that largely consists of the word 'fenian'

24-02-2017, 11:50 PM
Sick of hearing that Bobby Sands is deed every week.

JackLadd
24-02-2017, 11:51 PM
BT apologised before for the mutants songbook, it was very loud tonight and no mention.

24-02-2017, 11:54 PM

Is he? Jeez you would never know.

24-02-2017, 11:55 PM
...and why don't non-OF BT subscribers call BT up to complain and threaten cancellation of BT sub? And I know the answer as well, the numbers of OF to non-OF subscribers tips massively in one direction.

Time to start haranguing our MSPs if the broadcasters and governing bodies are reluctant and/or unwilling to do anything.

It doesn't take too many complaints before it gets into public domain complaints have been made.

HibernianJK
25-02-2017, 12:01 AM
Don't see what BT are meant to do in this situation? Would you rather they kept the volume up and let it blast through or televisions? :confused:

Everyone knows it's happening, it's not BT's responsibility to stop it.

25-02-2017, 12:03 AM

Every week he seems to croak it.

25-02-2017, 12:03 AM
Assuming all the favourites go through to the semis of the Scottish Cup, I know who I want to get in the draw.

I would be very confident of beating them again. I would like to play them again in the final but there's no chance they would beat either Celtic or Aberdeen so I'll take beating them in the semis this year and then get a free shot at Celtic in the final. :greengrinyes, a free shot at Celtic would be good in the final. Preferably if their team bus broke doon and they had to walk to the game, assuming they were based in Lochlomond, not London road before it.

25-02-2017, 12:16 AM
The broadcaster should be apologising each time there's a sectarian song/chant clearly heard.

They would apologise if it was heard during an interview so i'm not really sure what the difference is.

25-02-2017, 12:19 AM
Yeah the league really needed The Rangers, vile songs offer nothing to the game, I can take a good ditty against us but that ***** is just pish. Team is simple the pish.

Offered nothing to the SPL except a step back in time. Pathetic.

25-02-2017, 12:21 AM
The broadcaster should be apologising each time there's a sectarian song/chant clearly heard.

They would apologise if it was heard during an interview so i'm not really sure what the difference is.

Well they could mute the sectarian singing and then we would have post after post saying they were covering the problem up. They are merely the messenger, if we attack anybody it has to be those who can make a difference but choose to ignore what we can all hear.

25-02-2017, 12:23 AM
https://bt.custhelp.com/app/contact_email/c/5642,6564/?s_cid=con_FURL_sportcomplaints

25-02-2017, 12:27 AM
Don't see what BT are meant to do in this situation? Would you rather they kept the volume up and let it blast through or televisions? :confused:

Everyone knows it's happening, it's not BT's responsibility to stop it.

To be fair I think that BT could advise their commentators not to be congratulating the Sevco support for getting behind their team, when in fact every song they ever sing is spouting they're sectarian filth.

Complicit is the word that springs to mind.

25-02-2017, 12:35 AM
Someone should start a petition on the government website. 100k signatures gets the issue debated in parliament.

25-02-2017, 12:41 AM
Well they could mute the sectarian singing and then we would have post after post saying they were covering the problem up. They are merely the messenger, if we attack anybody it has to be those who can make a difference but choose to ignore what we can all hear.

Apologising would be far more effective in exposing what's happening.

I thought it was wrong that Sky muted the song the Celtic fans were singing during the minute's silence on Remembrance Sunday a few years ago. Nothing was said about it until the real footage surfaced on YouTube a few hours later.

Constantly having to apologise would be much more embarrassing for the clubs concerned and therefore much effective in trying to tackle the problem.

The TV companies may only be the messengers but by choosing those two clubs to be on TV the most, they're giving the people within those supports' a platform to air their thoughts.

25-02-2017, 12:51 AM

If enough complain then perhaps BT would have a word with SFA regarding the complaints.

Mantis Toboggan
25-02-2017, 01:20 AM

We should attack both

DavieRoy
25-02-2017, 02:18 AM
I like BT's coverage. They actually dedicate a bit of time to Scottish football. I don't find Sutton as bad as I used to and he at least tries to talk Scottish football up unlike most of the English. Whoever decided to get Butcher involved should get the sack though.

Initially I agreed. BT were fresh, I liked Gary McAllister but now they just try to be controversial. They only started doing the extra show because they got pelters for talking about Celtic and Rangers during the build-up to a Partick Thistle v Aberdeen game.

This devoting time to Scottish football is rubbish. Sky and BBC, like them or not, devote more time than BT although still not enough. Sky have all the On Demand stuff and at least one Scottish football story on Sky Sports News every day, BBC have the radio and website.

Rangers sack their manager and BT have been nowhere for two weeks, devoting time?

Sky send a camera to the Hibernian games every week too.

25-02-2017, 08:00 AM
To be honest BBC Alba is probably better than all the other channels at promoting Scottish fitbaw. Will show lower league games most weekends (including today!) and a premiership match extended highlights at 10pm on a Saturday. And the wee documentary / interview segments they do at half time are really good. Likely to be one on Hibs or a Hibs player this evening.

25-02-2017, 08:07 AM
I tweeted the SPL and SFA again during the game. Its doesn't stop. The chanting is constant and constantly ignored by the media and the powers that be. Its disgusting.

25-02-2017, 08:09 AM
The pope, Bobby Sands, support for Irish terrorist groups; the whole songbook was blasted out last night. Very little singing about football, strangely. It isn't even mentioned, which is bizarre. If they were singing about Muslims or Jews, for example, there would rightly be a public outcry.

25-02-2017, 08:11 AM
Or we could just ignore it and let them sing whatever they like.

Political correctness is giving way for populism, get used to it or prepare to be offended a lot more in the coming years.

ArmadaleHibs
25-02-2017, 08:28 AM
https://bt.custhelp.com/app/contact_email/c/5642,6564/?s_cid=con_FURL_sportcomplaints

Email sent to BT sport. I complained at the fact they are obviously willing to let it happen by saying nothing or reporting nothing in any way shape or form. Ignoring that it has and will happen again is not good enough.

25-02-2017, 08:29 AM

I've completed it but to complain about their use of Butcher as a summariser.

25-02-2017, 08:39 AM
I've completed it but to complain about their use of Butcher as a summariser.

me too, I know what to expect from Rangers fans, but having to listen to Butcher does my nut in...please can we all complain about him and get him sacked.

25-02-2017, 08:54 AM
me too, I know what to expect from Rangers fans, but having to listen to Butcher does my nut in...please can we all complain about him and get him sacked.

Sevco fans don't like him either. Probably because he has no history with their club!!

25-02-2017, 08:54 AM
Email sent to BT sport. I complained at the fact they are obviously willing to let it happen by saying nothing or reporting nothing in any way shape or form. Ignoring that it has and will happen again is not good enough.

Well done. Do let us know how you get on.

25-02-2017, 08:57 AM
Or we could just ignore it and let them sing whatever they like.

Political correctness is giving way for populism, get used to it or prepare to be offended a lot more in the coming years.

Unreal. Political correctness?? Is it ok for people to do monkey chanting at black players also? Sectarianism is scotlands poison and needs to be drilled out of society. Its disgusting and could easily be stopped by taking action EVERY SINGLE time chanting is recorded.

25-02-2017, 09:03 AM
BT should say we wont be doing any live The Rangers games until their own club sort it out as we are getting lots of complaints.

With another potential loss of income I am sure the flyers would be out. BT won't though.

HibernianJK
25-02-2017, 09:13 AM
Agree the majority of their songs are vile but can we criticise them for the Bobby Sands song (don't know exactly lyrics) when people in our support sing so freely about Wallace Mercer?

25-02-2017, 09:21 AM
Complaining to some Indian customer rep on a pathetic wage, whose pretend name is Nigel, is definitely part of the solution to Scottish sectarianism in the 21st century.

25-02-2017, 09:23 AM
Complaining to some Indian customer rep on a pathetic wage, whose pretend name is Nigel, is definitely part of the solution to Scottish sectarianism in the 21st century.

Yep, better to ask your MP. Mine is Jambo Ian Murray, who is actually a decent guy and a good MP.

Might sound him out.

25-02-2017, 09:49 AM
Unreal. Political correctness?? Is it ok for people to do monkey chanting at black players also? Sectarianism is scotlands poison and needs to be drilled out of society. Its disgusting and could easily be stopped by taking action EVERY SINGLE time chanting is recorded.

If it had been Inverness fans singing sectarian stuff would anyone be emailing BT today?

Nah, it's cause folk hate the old firm and this is a great stick to beat them with.

Scotlands poison? Hyperbole. No one cares apart from rival football fans.

Whens the last time someone couldn't get on a bus, couldn't get a job, couldn't get an education etc because of their religion in Scotland?

Racial discrimination, like you see in parts of the US, is real and abhorrent. Singing at a football match doesn't come close.

25-02-2017, 09:54 AM

Couldn't agree more.

25-02-2017, 10:01 AM
If it had been Inverness fans singing sectarian stuff would anyone be emailing BT today?

Nah, it's cause folk hate the old firm and this is a great stick to beat them with.

Whens the last time someone couldn't get on a bus, couldn't get a job, couldn't get an education etc because of their religion in Scotland?

Racial discrimination, like you see in parts of the US, is real and abhorrent. Singing at a football match doesn't come close.

You don't believe sectarian discrimination happens in Scotland????

25-02-2017, 10:09 AM
You don't believe sectarian discrimination happens in Scotland????

Nope, not really.

Maybe if we were still in the 60s but the country has moved on leaps and bounds since then. The only time I ever hear it mentioned is in connection with the Old Firm.

As a society I think we've done pretty well at 'stamping it out'.

hhibs
25-02-2017, 10:28 AM
Nope, not really.

Maybe if we were still in the 60s but the country has moved on leaps and bounds since then. The only time I ever hear it mentioned is in connection with the Old Firm.

None so blind as cannot see.

25-02-2017, 10:34 AM
Nope, not really.

How do you or I know if a real reason someone didn't get a job due to religion? The employer can just say other person was better fit and that is that.

TAHibby
25-02-2017, 11:26 AM
Billy Mackay! Magic 😂

ionahibby
25-02-2017, 11:29 AM

Sorry but it's attitudes like yourself that is the problem in Scotland. Let's just pretend it doesn't happen. What about the English clubs (albeit a minority) who's fans threw abuse about Jews towards Tottenham fans a couple of years back and rightly so the media a bit of a issue of it even though it didn't last too long, this was probably because it was stamped out pronto. So did that happen? Or is that ok too??

25-02-2017, 11:30 AM
Nope, not really.

Believe me it does. Not only at football games either!

25-02-2017, 11:58 AM
You've missed my point entirely.

Im not saying it doesn't get mentioned. I am saying that it is only ever mentioned in connection with Celtic or Rangers.

It is not a society wide problem.

Trump and Brexit are huge issues and you hear them discussed constantly. I don't need to work in every office in the land to know that these issues form part of the conversation.

I doubt very much that sectarianism in Scotland is thought of as much yet football message boards are rife with it. It's all about getting one up the old firm, nothing else.

25-02-2017, 11:59 AM
An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

Lol, that's a better one!

25-02-2017, 12:17 PM
You've missed my point entirely.

Im not saying it doesn't get mentioned. I am saying that it is only ever mentioned in connection with Celtic or Rangers.

It is not a society wide problem.

Trump and Brexit are huge issues and you hear them discussed constantly. I don't need to work in every office in the land to know that these issues form part of the conversation.

I doubt very much that sectarianism in Scotland is thought of as much yet football message boards are rife with it. It's all about getting one up the old firm, nothing else.

Thats your opinion if they didnt do it them no getting it up anyone then. I didn't say it was Society wide it doesn't need to be though to be discussed or be an issue. Its only mentioned in OF as that is where it happens mostly its stillba disgrace regardless IMO.

If 2000 of them stood in Gerorge Sq and sang that for 90mins then it would be different. Its just football stuff its just seen as the norm its just accepted.

Once stuff gets sung in football stadium's it becomes ok. Its ok as the papers and tv don't bother with it so folk not interested in football probably are less aware.

25-02-2017, 12:31 PM
Do they carry cards??!

I'm not condoning it and I don't partake in it.

I do however think that sectarianism is grossly over exaggerated on football message boards in relation to how much of an issue it is within Scottish society as a whole.

I don't think that's a particularly controversial view to hold.

25-02-2017, 12:35 PM
Do they carry cards??!

I do however think that sectarianism is grossly over exaggerated on football message boards in relation to how much of an issue it is within Scottish society as a whole.

So my children will continue to listen to people talking about being up to their knees in @$%@£ blood...and thats ok cause it only at football. So we just ignore it and everything is ok? It can and should be stamped out completely. We shouldnt have more families being born into that kind of hatred.

25-02-2017, 12:42 PM
Do they carry cards??!

Its not a wider issue as its the norm at football? It should be wider issue but it seems to have a media silence.

1875STEVE
25-02-2017, 12:51 PM
I can't believe I was genuinely excited by Butcher's appointment.

25-02-2017, 12:53 PM
Do they carry cards??!

I don't think that cracking down on all forms of sectarianism is a particularly controversial view to hold. There is no justifiable reason why it should be tolerated at a football match when religion has nothing to do with football.

HNA4
25-02-2017, 12:57 PM
Since this has drifted some way from last night's match towards the kind of stuff that's more suited to the holy ground it's time to close it.