22-02-2017, 11:44 PM
Ain't nobody, like Marvin Bartley
Makes me happy, makes feel this way,
Repeat....
To 'ain't nobody' tune

Fergos
23-02-2017, 12:26 AM
Another class performance from the Bartman.

Nails.

23-02-2017, 12:27 AM
Repeat....
To 'ain't nobody' tune

:greengrin Like that.

This guy must stay. Exactly what we need against better teams.

23-02-2017, 12:31 AM
:greengrin Like that.

This guy must stay. Exactly what we need against better teams.

And as shown tonight he's handy against ***** teams aswell.

23-02-2017, 12:32 AM
And as shown tonight he's handy against ***** teams aswell.

Like it! :greengrin

Hillsidehibby
23-02-2017, 12:32 AM
The guy is made for games like this

JackLadd
23-02-2017, 12:33 AM
We totally bossed them.

23-02-2017, 12:34 AM
Another class performance from the Bartman.

Nails.

Big Marv is a player who you want in there scrapping for every ball as he is a heavyweight champion at getting stuck in when a battle ensues. He always stands his ground and I love him to bits for it. He is the type of player a team needs when the going gets rough.

glory glory

gaz1875
23-02-2017, 12:34 AM
He was shattered at the end left everything on the pitch as did everyone :top marks

23-02-2017, 12:36 AM
Gave his all. He could hardly walk round the pitch for the lap of honour. Top man.

23-02-2017, 12:52 AM
I ****ing love him. :hyper

23-02-2017, 12:54 AM
Well, it's not the Matty Jack role anymore.

23-02-2017, 01:48 AM
He's one of my favourite players. Just a no nonsense midfielder that loves to get stuck in and wind up his opponent.

23-02-2017, 02:43 AM
The hammer of Hearts

23-02-2017, 02:51 AM
Class. Yet again.

23-02-2017, 05:59 AM
If ever a player could be described as a big game player its Marv ................ not the guy for the bog standard league games, but whenever the odds are stacked up he is our go to guy and he delivers EVERY TIME.

TAHibby
23-02-2017, 10:08 AM

RoscoHibby
23-02-2017, 10:10 AM
Just seen this online. Absolute mutants.

23-02-2017, 10:17 AM

Well dealt with by Marvin but hope that goes to the police.

23-02-2017, 10:21 AM

Mr Steven Lee (c\o HMFC) can expect a visit to the courthouse and a banning from Queen Bee I assume.

leithsansiro
23-02-2017, 10:50 AM

Best way to deal with folk like that is through being classy.

Stay classy, Marv.

I bloody love you

23-02-2017, 11:08 AM
Best way to deal with folk like that is through being classy.

Stay classy, Marv.

I bloody love you
Excellent responses from the big man. Class indeed.

23-02-2017, 11:10 AM
Superb Marvin.

23-02-2017, 11:11 AM
This guy is going to come into his own next season when we are playing against a better level of opposition....and Hearts

FC Leige
23-02-2017, 11:13 AM
Does the idiot who was racially abusing him not realise that Hearts have more black players than Hibs.

23-02-2017, 11:18 AM
I missed that tweet last night, and I was up very late .disgusting , and as stated in this day and age totally unreal . I do hope it can be traced, and also passed to the gorgie hierarchy

23-02-2017, 11:20 AM
Brilliant response from Marv. Class on and off the pitch and was fantastic yet again last night. I like McGinn and Bartley as the centre two midfielders.

23-02-2017, 11:22 AM
Excellent responses from the big man. Class indeed.

Agreed. I'm sure that racist yam wouldn't say that to Marvin's face. Hardman behind a keyboard. Hope gets traced and punished.

23-02-2017, 11:32 AM
Where would one send that pic to get it acted on? Regardless of Hibs / Hearts that sort of thing can't be laughed off or not followed up on. Can't see anything obvious online for being able to alert police to it.

23-02-2017, 11:37 AM
Where would one send that pic to get it acted on? Regardless of Hibs / Hearts that sort of thing can't be laughed off or not followed up on. Can't see anything obvious online for being able to alert police to it.

https://www.scotland.police.uk/secureforms/hate-crime/

23-02-2017, 12:00 PM
What a horrible cretin that jambo is. Hope he gets hauled up over it. Budge doesn't seem to have any sympathy for those sorts.

23-02-2017, 12:21 PM

What a disgusting cretin. He's later tweeted it was a drink fuelled comment. Awck well thats ok then eh ya ****ing rodent.

No excuse for this sort of thing at all.

alhibby
23-02-2017, 12:24 PM

Should also be sent to The Evening News , disgusting

Navids Numpties
23-02-2017, 12:35 PM
Gave his all. He could hardly walk round the pitch for the lap of honour. Top man.

Still managed to get himself to Why Not last night though.http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

23-02-2017, 12:42 PM
He's now changed his account

@StevenLA51 now if you need him for anything.

23-02-2017, 12:47 PM
Just seen this online. Absolute mutants.

Terrible - but it's not a general Hearts trait. Young guy near me in the East Stand (who was definitely drink-fuelled) was giving multiple racist shouts until someone informed him "ye cannae say that man". You got the odd complete idiot in any crowd.

This boy will get it worse for being stupid enough to type it onto the internet though - no sympathy.

Excellently played by Marv in response though - a continuation from his on-field display :greengrin

23-02-2017, 01:05 PM
Disgusting racism which Big Marv handled like the man he is. But shouldn't have had to.

Throw the book at this idiot. No place in football or society for that.

Marvin Bartley is a Hibernian hero.

DarrenSQH
23-02-2017, 01:13 PM

His twitter has now been made private.

23-02-2017, 01:39 PM
His Facebook hasn't

JackLadd
23-02-2017, 01:46 PM
They are not too smart.

23-02-2017, 01:48 PM
His twitter has now been made private.

Typical wee coward. Quite happy to hand out abuse hiding behind his keyboard but when challenged he suddenly goes hiding. Horrible wee rat.

Mathias Jack
Hopefully he won't be able to air his racist views on much longer...I reported him to Twitter this morning. What an absolute rocket of a guy...

Classy response from Big Marv though, slowly turning into my favourite Hibs player!

I noticed that as well. Really hope something is done about this because that's way beyond acceptable behaviour, and shouldn't be let go.

23-02-2017, 01:51 PM
I'd love to see a flag with a 'we run this city' with a picture of Bartley on it.

23-02-2017, 01:54 PM
I noticed that as well. Really hope something is done about this because that's way beyond acceptable behaviour, and shouldn't be let go.

I've done my bit - emailed the pic to Hearts, the police and the Evening News.

23-02-2017, 01:55 PM
Played #74 :thumbsup:

23-02-2017, 01:55 PM
Anyone got a screenshot of the guys half arsed apology, blaming it on the drink and giving it "wee team"?

Class from Marv, shouldn't have to put up with that sort of crap but he responded in a dignified manner and put the wee ****er in his place. Marvin Sir you are a legend :applause::not worth

23-02-2017, 01:56 PM
https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16864951_10154613897862800_7234126023691065026_n.j pg?oh=b0316c18f826b7caaae2dfc5ca0f2513&oe=5926236E

BH Hibs
23-02-2017, 02:02 PM
https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16864951_10154613897862800_7234126023691065026_n.j pg?oh=b0316c18f826b7caaae2dfc5ca0f2513&oe=5926236E

Always wondered what happened to Cicero.

23-02-2017, 02:03 PM

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/f7/bb/86/f7bb86bbbe9353179a5bd66084e2220a.jpg

Twiglet
23-02-2017, 02:05 PM
Just seen that the record have picked up on it.

23-02-2017, 02:11 PM
Well, it's not the Matty Jack role anymore.

This is probably the biggest compliment given to a Hibs player in hibs.net history!

23-02-2017, 02:20 PM
I'd love to see a flag with a 'we run this city' with a picture of Bartley on it.
Can we not hold a collection and get it made. £10 from me.

23-02-2017, 02:24 PM
Quote from the Muppets Facebook

"If u love a football team as much as I love hearts, is it ok to be really depressed right now. Hibs just prove who we're the better side there. Think they should be gutted we even got a goal 😳😳"

Should read I'm that depressed that Hearts are gash I think I will get myself a lifetime ban from The Budge, a probable criminal record and potentially lose my job

23-02-2017, 02:30 PM
So he should be reported and publcily shamed. We all get angry and say things in the heat of the moment but there is absolutely no excuse for racism. This wasn't even something he shouted out in a fit of anger. He's actually sat down and wrote that. But oh wait its ok because oh he had had a drink! Learn to handle your drink or give it up all together if after a few drinks you turn into a bigoted, racist **** bag.

Another one of them was wishing our stadium to collapse, Cummings to get AIDS and Cathro to die. Another charming gentleman!

23-02-2017, 02:37 PM
Brilliant reply to racism from Hertz follower from Marv. To call him a fan is an insult to real fans everywhere. #we run this city.

23-02-2017, 02:40 PM
Just seen that the record have picked up on it.

Excellent.

23-02-2017, 03:02 PM
There has been jail time for previous incidents like this:

A man who sent racist tweets to former Rangers players Maurice Edu and Kyle Bartley has been jailed for six months.

Michael Convery, from Glasgow, targeted the players after a game against St Johnstone in Perth on 14 January 2012.

The 43-year-old had denied sending the messages but was convicted following a trial at Glasgow Sheriff Court.

The players - who have since left Rangers - had told Convery's trial that they were "intimidated" and "shocked" by the tweets.

Although none of the messages were read out in full in open court, it was heard that Bartley was sent a direct comment from Convery and was mentioned in a second one. Edu was sent two direct comments.

Bartley told the court that he saw tweets from an account in the name of Michael Convery when he checked his Twitter account while travelling home on the team bus from a match.

He also saw a message had been sent to team mate Edu.

He said: "I was sat next to Maurice on the coach. So we showed each other the comments."

Bartley was asked what he did when he received a particular message.

He said: "I actually re-tweeted the tweet. It allowed the public eye to see the comments, and I reported it to David Martin, who is head of security at Glasgow Rangers."

The court heard the word "monkey" was used. Bartley said it was a comment he was "used to", adding that he felt "a little bit hurt and disappointed".

"I just thought society had got over these sorts of comments," he told procurator fiscal depute Jonathan Kemp.

"Obviously I don't know Michael Convery, I didn't understand why he would have so much hate for me."

Bartley was asked about another racist comment which mentioned his name, but was not sent directly to him.

He said it was "very insulting".

Bartley said he lived on his own and cannot always have security with him, adding: "I was intimidated".

Edu said he was shocked and embarrassed when he saw the first message that was sent to him.

The footballer said he looked on the page associated with Convery and said there were similar "aggressive" tweets.

The court heard that in his police interview Convery told officers he was suffering from food poisoning on the date of the offence and had been drifting in and out of sleep in his house.

In evidence, Convery told the court he suspected his teenage son was to blame, although he claimed he did not see any comments being posted.

Convery accepted the twitter messages came from his Blackberry phone and his Twitter account.

The court heard evidence that online searches for "how to delete Twitter" had been made hours after the tweets were sent.

Convery was branded an "unreliable" witness by Sheriff Valerie Johnston.

23-02-2017, 03:03 PM

Good, I reported it on twitter as well. 👍🏼

23-02-2017, 03:15 PM
The clown who posted this may well get a "lie in" at the Big Hoose. He will then be Mr Big's b*tch. Just like his team are Jason's.

23-02-2017, 03:37 PM
He deserves whatever is coming to him.Well done cat.Pity he cant be exposed.

23-02-2017, 03:48 PM
He deserves whatever is coming to him.Well done cat.Pity he cant be exposed.

He is being very much exposed. The Sun and Daily Record both carrying his name in articles. I'm sure the police will follow up. Given the similar case above I think his tweet is more serious.

He can delete and make private what he likes I don't think he will be able to avoid being found! He still has his picture on his private account!

I note in the case above the Rangers head of security picked up with police. I've encouraged Hibs and Hearts to do likewise...

23-02-2017, 05:05 PM
We Run This City! In the space of just 2 seasons Marvin has come up with a slogan for the ages. What a guy & his avatar is just as good!

23-02-2017, 05:39 PM
https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16938817_1140589886067594_6499442683074752633_n.jp g?oh=48a8dfac7a6ae4d0095fa9029ceeee4b&oe=5929E676

23-02-2017, 05:59 PM
He is being very much exposed. The Sun and Daily Record both carrying his name in articles.

Yet nothing in our local paper.

23-02-2017, 06:03 PM
Much credit to Hearts - they have responded to me to say that they hope action will be taken and they have provided the info they have to both Hibs and Police Scotland.

23-02-2017, 07:00 PM
What is a "spearchhucker" anyway? Is it a drunk man who throws fish at people? These clowns are even too stupid to do their odious racism properly.

23-02-2017, 08:05 PM
"I only took offence at first when i thought it read big black jambo" but it never so ill get on with my day".........the best reply ive heard in years

23-02-2017, 08:46 PM
Well played Andy 👍👍

23-02-2017, 09:15 PM
"I only took offence at first when i thought it read big black jambo" but it never so ill get on with my day".........the best reply ive heard in years

I read that. ****ing truly awsome!!!!!!! What a guy.😂😂😂😂😎👍

23-02-2017, 09:18 PM
Marvin Bartley - a hard-as-nails Rolls-Royce of a player !

As for the p***k on Twitter - a typical Jambo, thick-as-****** and all acid and bile.

HibernianJK
23-02-2017, 09:22 PM
Horrible tweet from that ****bag. Funnily enough, I don't know many African Americans who get offended by these sort of remarks nowadays, most laugh it off and move on. Doesn't mean that we shouldn't take it extremely seriously indeed and I hope that boy gets what is coming to him.

23-02-2017, 09:28 PM
What is a "spearchhucker" anyway? Is it a drunk man who throws fish at people? These clowns are even too stupid to do their odious racism properly.

We all got to see what a game-chucker is.

23-02-2017, 09:34 PM
"I only got offended when I thought it read big black Jambo but it didn't so I got on with my day."

That has to go down as one of the best replies to a racist comment that I've ever seen. :aok::greengrin

Well done Marvin Bartley for having the class and dignity to rise above such a disgusting comment. No-one should be subjected to such taunts but sadly there's people out there who are missing that evolution gene.

Kavinho
23-02-2017, 09:34 PM
Repeat....
To 'ain't nobody' tune

could I offer the substitution of the word "like" for the word "beats"?
cant think of a time when he missed a tackle all game, again..

Even in that Twitter exchange, he owned his 'opponent'

alhibby
23-02-2017, 09:45 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/hibs-star-marvin-bartley-racially-abused-1-4375284

23-02-2017, 09:49 PM
Dunno if I've mentioned it before but I love Marvin.

23-02-2017, 09:52 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/hibs-star-marvin-bartley-racially-abused-1-4375284

Shame they didn't name and shame the prick. I'm sure his parents and family will be so proud :rolleyes:

23-02-2017, 10:02 PM
Marvin is a cracking guy!! Love him!

23-02-2017, 10:02 PM
Shame they didn't name and shame the prick. I'm sure his parents and family will be so proud :rolleyes:

I don't see why they haven't. Particularly given he's alreqsr admitted to it.

23-02-2017, 10:31 PM
Good to see some action anyway.

The boy even managed to call Bartley a c... when 'apologising' to him this morning.

He was pretty dismissive initially and was adamant it was all over after he deleted it.

Mantis Toboggan
23-02-2017, 10:35 PM

Whats with the quotes in the headline.
He was without doubt racially abused.

23-02-2017, 11:20 PM
Whats with the quotes in the headline.
He was without doubt racially abused.

Pathetic from the EN.

23-02-2017, 11:31 PM
Pathetic from the EN.

It's very poor.

23-02-2017, 11:37 PM
Much credit to Hearts - they have responded to me to say that they hope action will be taken and they have provided the info they have to both Hibs and Police Scotland.

Well done 👍🏼

23-02-2017, 11:40 PM
Has Gary Mackay got Twitter?

23-02-2017, 11:42 PM
Social media really is a curious beast. Lowest common denominator stuff means some absolute neanderthals don't realise that it's not like some drunken rant they may have with their thicko mate. Once it's out there it's done and there's no retraction. This clown is in the *h£t make no mistake. Apologies are quite meaningless when they're done to avoid jail.

23-02-2017, 11:50 PM
Has Gary Mackay got Twitter?
Bound to have since he's a complete twit.

24-02-2017, 12:07 AM
Well dealt with by Marvin but hope that goes to the police.

Story about that in The Sun. Really poor form and can't believe someone would be so stupid as to post it. If he had used the word "fen#an" instead of 'black" then do you think it would have made the news?

Penicuik Hibee
24-02-2017, 12:31 AM
Marvin lives in my street and he is even a cool dude taking his dog for a walk. Got caught out a few times as he tired near the end of the game, but over the 2 matches, he was a star. Great response to a shocking tweet

24-02-2017, 01:14 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-39077731

Cabbage7062
24-02-2017, 01:50 PM
Anyone know what Marv's contract situation is? Could be a very important player for us next year if we secure promotion.

Big L
24-02-2017, 01:56 PM
I think it's up this year! TBH I always thought he was great at breaking up attacks and winning the ball, but that his distribution wasn't great. Well it was great agains the yams, the problem is that if he plays like this all the time it might be difficult to hold on to him.

24-02-2017, 02:01 PM
We should be changing the "stubbsy, stubbsy" chant to bartley for the big man, he is awesome, great player and handled this with absolute class

24-02-2017, 02:36 PM
We should be changing the "stubbsy, stubbsy" chant to bartley for the big man, he is awesome, great player and handled this with absolute classRemember liverpool sang 'put your hands up for dirk kuyt, he loves this city.........id go for 'put your hands up for bartley.....he owns this city.'

24-02-2017, 02:44 PM
Pathetic from the EN.

As I had clicked on the link I took the opportunity to read Banderson's report on the game. He describes Holt's goal as "suspiciously offside" & somehow manages to miss out Shinnie's goal altogether! I know we shouldn't be surprised but the EN really is a joke of a paper now.

therealgavmac
24-02-2017, 02:55 PM
Marvin lives in my street and he is even a cool dude taking his dog for a walk. Got caught out a few times as he tired near the end of the game, but over the 2 matches, he was a star. Great response to a shocking tweet

Marvin lives in the house we used to before having to move back to Wales..... I remember showing him round and thinking he was one of the loveliest guys I'd met, his young lady was really sweet too..... then when he told me he was signing...... Christ I was acting like a stupid teenager....... He is THE real deal and hope he stays long term

24-02-2017, 04:39 PM
I think it's up this year! TBH I always thought he was great at breaking up attacks and winning the ball, but that his distribution wasn't great. Well it was great agains the yams, the problem is that if he plays like this all the time it might be difficult to hold on to him.

I always think his distribution is good. Always a wee knock on to an area that suits our player.Clever player is Marvin.

Green_one
24-02-2017, 06:53 PM
Disgusting racism which Big Marv handled like the man he is. But shouldn't have had to.

Throw the book at this idiot. No place in football or society for that.

Marvin Bartley is a Hibernian hero.

Marv comes over as a big man in his Hibs cup video. Dropped from the team he sucked it up and supported his team mates. :not worth

Weownthiscity

24-02-2017, 07:08 PM
We need to sing this on Sat in support of the big guy:

One Marvin Bartley, there's only one Marvin Bartley........:singing:

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2017, 07:11 PM
have we finally filled the semi mythical Matty Jack role?

24-02-2017, 07:33 PM
Marvin is great for Hibs

You always know what you are going to get from him and he never disappoints

He really gets playing for us and is an amusing guy as well

We have needed someone to do what Marvin does for a long time indeed.

Glory Glory Marvin Bartley.

24-02-2017, 07:36 PM
We need to sing this on Sat in support of the big guy:

One Marvin Bartley, there's only one Marvin Bartley........:singing:

Agree