View Full Version : Pulling further away

21-02-2017, 03:43 PM
Celtic have announced a new hotel development outside their stadium. They will probably be able to find this just by selling Dembele and it will provide them with cash year after year.
http://www.celticfc.net/news/12125
Unless we have some sort of salary cap then there is no chance any team in Scotland will get close to them.

21-02-2017, 03:49 PM
Will there be much demand for a hotel in that part of Glasgow?

Supplementary businesses can lose money as well as make money.

Avon Inns anyone?

Greenworld
21-02-2017, 03:52 PM
Very clever bit of business

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

21-02-2017, 03:53 PM

Avon Inns anyone?

Glasgow is a massive city and the transport links there are good with all the work done for the commonwealth games. It should do well enough.

21-02-2017, 03:53 PM
Celtic have announced a new hotel development outside their stadium. They will probably be able to find this just by selling Dembele and it will provide them with cash year after year.
Unless we have some sort of salary cap then there is no chance any team in Scotland will get close to them.

No-one outside Glasgow has been able to touch them in decades anyway. They were murder last season and still pissed the league with 15 points. A new hotel for them won't make any difference to Scottish football.

Tobias Funke
21-02-2017, 03:54 PM

One hotel isn't necessarily going to pull in millions in profits year upon year. Highly unlikely to have any significant impact on their spending power in my opinion.

21-02-2017, 04:02 PM
That's a pitty. Was hoping they would uproot from Glasgow and head down south with their bigoted brothers

21-02-2017, 04:10 PM
I'm sure killie's hotel made them a fortune.

21-02-2017, 04:16 PM
No one is going to get near them anyway.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
21-02-2017, 04:30 PM
Glasgow is a massive city and the transport links there are good with all the work done for the commonwealth games. It should do well enough.

Im sure they have done feasibility etc, but i doubt a hotel in east end of glasgow will be charging big money, so dont see it making loads.

Maybe they have a captive market with al of their Irish fans, and maybe they are planning ahead to accomodate non scottish visiting fans every other week...?

21-02-2017, 04:31 PM
Why on earth would anyone want to build a hotel there? :confused:

21-02-2017, 04:43 PM
Why on earth would anyone want to build a hotel there? :confused:

It's right beside the Emirates arena and the Chris Hoy velodrome, has a subway line into the city centre and has had a lot of money spent there in the last decade.

stuart-farquhar
21-02-2017, 04:46 PM

massive lol

21-02-2017, 04:47 PM
massive lol

Ok, big enough to support a hotel. [emoji6]

stuart-farquhar
21-02-2017, 05:26 PM

fair enough:)

21-02-2017, 05:30 PM
massive lol

Relative to Scottish cities it is, to be fair.

stuart-farquhar
21-02-2017, 05:48 PM
Relative to Scottish cities it is, to be fair.

Glasgow 176 kmsq Edinburgh 275Kmsq Glasgow with about 90.000 more people. Hardly much in it. And i know it has lots of towns nearby. Hardly makes it a dazzling metropolis.
In fact i had to travel through from West to East only yesterday. It's decent enough. No problem with the central area and some of the outlying districts are quite attractive.
Interestingly enough, ok to an anorak like me, a study revealed that outwith London the central areas of the top 8 British cities are remarkably similar in size. I have no idea what that proves either lol. Other than I suppose none of them are....er.... massive. And yes. I actually checked that with online software!!

21-02-2017, 06:18 PM
The big trick will be to work out who the car park concession goes to. The locals will not be happy.....

21-02-2017, 06:22 PM

Celtic take in £50m a year at least. You think a hotel is going to be the tipping point?

21-02-2017, 06:23 PM
If Celtic pull any further away they will need space suits.

Ken
21-02-2017, 06:31 PM
If Hibs are consistently top 6 over the next 5 years I'll be delighted. If we manage to challenge for 3rd and a European place even better.

What Celtic do doesn't concern me in the slightest. It might concern Rangers fans though

Cat Stanton
21-02-2017, 07:48 PM

Avon Inns anyone?

There are quite a few hotels in the area actually. Oh no, hold on, I'm thinking of hostels...

21-02-2017, 07:56 PM
Lets face it nobody is going to be in touching distance of them anyway, not in the near future anyway. The huns love giving it big about how they are building and just 1 or 2 season away from challenging for the title but thats pish and if they do spend enough to build a squad capable of doing that then i'd be seriously questioning where they are getting that money from. As much as they hate to admit it, the reality is that for the next few years at least, celtic will be running away with the title with no real threats.

21-02-2017, 08:02 PM
Mind when David Murray promised hotels, casinos, shopping complex at Ibrox? The Daily Record produced an artist's impression on the front page. Wonder how it's all coming along?

21-02-2017, 08:02 PM
A hotel next to Parkhead!?

I wonder how they're going to sell the nightlife!

21-02-2017, 09:47 PM
I think it's a great idea for the football (out of town glory hunters for home games) and possibly the conference markets. They must think the latter will pay, as I doubt holidaymakers will be earmarking it as a 'must go to' destination.

21-02-2017, 09:49 PM
Who needs hawaii when paradise is on your doorstep. Makes gorgie look glamarous.

21-02-2017, 11:34 PM

Pretty sure - Premier Inn will Pay for it all.. Rooms by the hour Should cover it..