View Full Version : Dylan Mcgeogh

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 01:29 PM
As the season has progressed, in my opinion as a team we have missed the influence of Dylan far greater than any other player that has been injured.
The calmness he brings to the team and ability to keep the ball moving, creating space and picking passes is sadly missing at this present time.

20-02-2017, 01:32 PM
As the season has progressed, in my opinion as a team we have missed the influence of Dylan far greater than any other player that has been injured.
The calmness he brings to the team and ability to keep the ball moving, creating space and picking passes is sadly missing at this present time.

it's difficult to agree or disagree with you as due to frequent injuries his appearances have been few and far between.

An expensive luxury perhaps.

PiemanP
20-02-2017, 01:36 PM
A call needs to be made on Dylan at the end of the season IMO. As good as he is, can we afford to keep a player we can only play 1 game out of every 5?

Superfurry72
20-02-2017, 01:36 PM
Why was he not on the bench at the weekend (ditto Shinnie)? Anyone know?

20-02-2017, 01:39 PM

Shinnie was suspended assuming Dylan injured.

20-02-2017, 01:40 PM

No, he wasn't even on the bench. Shinnie was missing as he was suspended.

Can't see McGeouch being fit for Wednesday and he'll be a big miss yet again. Great wee player when he is actually fully fit.

20-02-2017, 01:40 PM
Shinnie was suspended as I understand.

Yep 6 league bookings incredible amount for someone with his style of play and position.

20-02-2017, 01:50 PM
If there is a way to fix his issues, by operations or seeing a specialist, I'd be happy for him to miss the rest of this season and come back in the Summer ready to put it all behind him. He is a phenomenal player.

If his problems are likely to continue, we should probably let him go at the end of the season. He has hardly been able to contribute this season.

20-02-2017, 01:53 PM
When fit he's a cracking player but unfortunately he just can't seem to string more than a few games in a row. A real shame and he more than anyone must be very frustrated.

I really hope he is fit for wednesday but given that he didn't even make the bench on saturday I would very much doubt it.

20-02-2017, 01:54 PM
If there is a way to fix his issues, by operations or seeing a specialist, I'd be happy for him to miss the rest of this season and come back in the Summer ready to put it all behind him. He is a phenomenal player.

If his problems are likely to continue, we should probably let him go at the end of the season. He has hardly been able to contribute this season.

If his problems continue then no one else will want him. We can't just say cheerio, he has a contract.

Dylan will be one of our best paid players. I really hope his injury issues can be sorted, but I fear that isn't likely. Sad for him and Hibs, as he clearly is a fine footballer.

20-02-2017, 01:54 PM

This. But surely if the answer was an operation or whatever it would already have been done?

nellio
20-02-2017, 01:55 PM
Tremendous player but unfortunately seems to be made of glass!!

20-02-2017, 01:58 PM
Mcgeogh is a cracking player when fit but he won't fix our main problem which is not scoring enough goals.
That will only be fixed by bringing in the right players in the summer.

20-02-2017, 01:59 PM
Anybody know what he's out for now? Is it the same recurring groin injury?

20-02-2017, 02:01 PM
Mcgeogh is a cracking player when fit but he won't fix our main problem which is not scoring enough goals.

Yip, goal return from our midfield is poor, has been for what seems like ages!

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 02:06 PM
Commons scored more in a month than Dylan, Fyvie and Bartley did all of last season 😕

20-02-2017, 02:09 PM
Commons scored more in a month than Dylan, Fyvie and Bartley did all of last season [emoji53]

Yip, I think he's ahead of Shinnie as well which is what he was brought in for. Disastrous signing.

tam4hibs
20-02-2017, 02:10 PM

Has Dylan ever scored for us? I like him a lot, his passing / link up pay and drive. But for an attacking midfield player his goals ratio is terrible -I cat even recall may occasions he is in the box? When your full backs / centre halfs have sored more you have to consider what exactly is his role? We got rid of guys such as liam craig and although many would say Dylan Is a better player - the goals have really dried up... (controversial comparison I know)!

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 02:18 PM
Sure he scored goal of the season breaking through for Celtic.

Tim hat on but at least Shinnie gets into those positions, although he may take 5 touches too many, fall over ball or slip he never hides in a game. 😱

20-02-2017, 02:32 PM

Tim hat on but at least Shinnie gets into those positions, although he may take 5 touches too many, fall over ball or slip he never hides in a game. [emoji33]

I could probably do that last bit.[emoji23] He's just not good enough for Hibs.

20-02-2017, 02:38 PM
I could probably do that last bit.[emoji23] He's just not good enough for Hibs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Have to agree, I was ecstatic when we were linked with and then eventually signed him. The player I remember from Inverness was a decent goalscoring midfielder. Can't say I watched his time down south with a close eye but I'm honestly surprised at how different the Shinnie from ICT and the Shinnie on loan here is. He sometimes doesn't even resemble a footballer. Was surprised to hear he picked up enough bookings for a suspension considering the boy goes missing majority of the time.

since90plustwo
20-02-2017, 02:39 PM
Has Dylan ever scored for us? I like him a lot, his passing / link up pay and drive. But for an attacking midfield player his goals ratio is terrible -I cat even recall may occasions he is in the box? When your full backs / centre halfs have sored more you have to consider what exactly is his role? We got rid of guys such as liam craig and although many would say Dylan Is a better player - the goals have really dried up... (controversial comparison I know)!

Dylan isnt an attackng midfielder. Id class him as a 6 or deep lying playmaker taking the ball from our defence and starting play.

Leith's finest
20-02-2017, 02:41 PM
He is our darren anderton (sicknote) lol

20-02-2017, 03:01 PM

Tim hat on but at least Shinnie gets into those positions, although he may take 5 touches too many, fall over ball or slip he never hides in a game. 😱

James Collins used to get into good positions but couldn't finish to save himself

20-02-2017, 03:03 PM
James Collins used to get into good positions but couldn't finish to save himself

Scored in a winning derby at Easter Road, though.

20-02-2017, 03:15 PM
Dylan doesn't play high up the pitch though, he's a deep playmaker, link pin between defence and attack, there's times when he's the deepest midfielder on the pitch taking the ball off the centre half's.

20-02-2017, 03:20 PM
Dylan doesn't play high up the pitch though, he's a deep playmaker, link pin between defence and attack, there's times when he's the deepest midfielder on the pitch taking the ball off the centre half's.

Celtc saw him as a more attacking midfielder. It was Stubbsy who saw him playing deeper.

Great player and a real miss when he's injured.

20-02-2017, 03:20 PM
Commons scored more in a month than Dylan, Fyvie and Bartley did all of last season ��

And?

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 03:25 PM
And?

We don't score enough from midfield

20-02-2017, 03:27 PM

Aye, he scored a penalty away at Livi.

EDIT: He's actually scored 3 goals for us. Away at Livi in a 4-0 win, away at QotS in a 2-0 win & at home vs Arbroath in a 3-1 win in the Scottish Cup.

HFCdeb
20-02-2017, 03:29 PM
Can only echo what's already been said: cracking player but never fit. It's a damn shame for him and Hibs. Think it pains most fans to admit that he's a bit of a waste of a wage.

20-02-2017, 03:29 PM
We don't score enough from midfield

They weren't brought in to score goals. The 3 you have mentioned there, I'd never associate with goal scoring abilities... Strange comparison with Commons, IMO. Others may disagree though!

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 03:33 PM
They weren't brought in to score goals. The 3 you have mentioned there, I'd never associate with goal scoring abilities... Strange comparison with Commons, IMO. Others may disagree though!

Maybe it's not a great comparison but I'd have thought they would have scored at least 1 goal in this division. Only my opinion though.

20-02-2017, 03:35 PM
Wonderful footballer who can turn games on his own. I actually think he's a luxury we might choose to afford if we were challenging for a top four place in the premier but there's a chance we'll go through this league campaign and not really need him.

20-02-2017, 03:38 PM

Is that not also the description of Fyvie? Never a fan of them in the same midfield as a big part, but obviously not the sole reason, of our lack of goals IMO. Especially in this league when teams invariably park the bus.

20-02-2017, 03:40 PM
Maybe it's not a great comparison but I'd have thought they would have scored at least 1 goal in this division. Only my opinion though.

Fair play bud, as a team we should be scoring more goals, so get where you are coming from.

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 03:43 PM
If Cummings hadn't scored from that free kick on Saturday, I never thought we looked like scoring.

Also suprised keatings has only got 1 goal this season.

20-02-2017, 03:49 PM
Yip, I think he's ahead of Shinnie as well which is what he was brought in for. Disastrous signing.

Ridiculous piece of hyperbole

20-02-2017, 04:06 PM
I have never understood why DM is so highly thought of. IMO he's a decent player, no more than that. This season he has offered very little, on the rare occasions he's actually been fit enough to play, and put in a couple of woeful performances (QoS and Dundee Utd away) that if Fyvie had put in would have been slaughtered for.

I have no knowledge of his salary but I'd be surprised if he left Celtic to become one of our lower paid players. I know my view won't be popular but if we could move him on in a swap for a player who is able to regulary contribute I would do so.

20-02-2017, 04:21 PM
I have never understood why DM is so highly thought of. IMO he's a decent player, no more than that. This season he has offered very little, on the rare occasions he's actually been fit enough to play, and put in a couple of woeful performances (QoS and Dundee Utd away) that if Fyvie had put in would have been slaughtered for.

I have no knowledge of his salary but I'd be surprised if he left Celtic to become one of our lower paid players. I know my view won't be popular but if we could move him on in a swap for a player who is able to regulary contribute I would do so.

if you list the attributes you would want from a modern midfielder...A fit Dylan has most of them in his locker...that's why he is so highly rated in the game...His injuries could well bring an end to his career here...I for one hope not though. we don't have many that can affect a game like he can.

20-02-2017, 04:29 PM
if you list the attributes you would want from a modern midfielder...A fit Dylan has most of them in his locker...that's why he is so highly rated in the game...His injuries could well bring an end to his career here...I for one hope not though. we don't have many that can affect a game like he can.

Can't agree with that at all. Attributes I'd be looking for would be pace, ability to beat a man, put in a killer pass, dig in when required, score goals. Someone like John McGinn (tho he should score more than he does.) What is it you feel he does that effects a game so much, I clearly can't see it ?

20-02-2017, 04:31 PM

Disastrous...hardly?? Give the guy a break ffs

20-02-2017, 04:32 PM
Wonderful footballer who can turn games on his own. I actually think he's a luxury we might choose to afford if we were challenging for a top four place in the premier but there's a chance we'll go through this league campaign and not really need him.
In all honesty I can't think of one game he's turned on his own,I can't think of one goal that he's laid on or remember any that he's scored.He's a tidy player who holds the ball well but no more than that.

20-02-2017, 04:39 PM
In all honesty I can't think of one game he's turned on his own,I can't think of one goal that he's laid on or remember any that he's scored.He's a tidy player who holds the ball well but no more than that.

Exactly my take on him, especially the bit in bold. I keep reading on here what a great player he is, our best player, better than Scott Allan etc. I'm not claiming we are right and everyone else is wrong, but it's good to read that someone else has the same views.

In an earlier post I talked about ability to play a killer pass, DM does have that ability, just does it nowehere near enough IMO.

20-02-2017, 04:40 PM
Can't agree with that at all. Attributes I'd be looking for would be pace, ability to beat a man, put in a killer pass, dig in when required, score goals. Someone like John McGinn (tho he should score more than he does.) What is it you feel he does that effects a game so much, I clearly can't see it ?

There aren't many players in the Scottish game who can match McGinn at what he does, well not outwith Celtic anyway.

McGeouch does work hard and he is never shy about asking for the ball. He is technically good and has the ability to retain it under pressure. If he was fit enough to play then he would be a very valuable player at ER.

As it is, he can't contribute at all or not very often and it is pretty well known from what I've read on previous threads that the guy has a chronic condition that may well curtail his career. Therefore it's all semantics.

Cat Stanton
20-02-2017, 04:41 PM
Anybody know what he's out for now? Is it the same recurring groin injury?

Anyone know the answers to these?

20-02-2017, 04:41 PM
More about the fact that when he plays we tend to be more on the front foot and building better quality attacks. Get what you're saying though.

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 04:42 PM
He may not beat 6 men but I think the team feels more composed when he is on the pitch.

He is a player who always seems to have time on the ball.

Not saying he is the messiah or that he must stay, just think that we seem an all round more composed team when he plays.

20-02-2017, 04:46 PM

IIRC it is a groin injury sustained in the warm up to a recent game

20-02-2017, 04:48 PM
He has a permanent condition which leads to injuries in his pelvic area,groin and just about everywhere else.

20-02-2017, 04:48 PM
There aren't many players in the Scottish game who can match McGinn at what he does, well not outwith Celtic anyway.

McGeouch does work hard and he is never shy about asking for the ball. He is technically good and has the ability to retain it under pressure. If he was fit enough to play then he would be a very valuable player at ER.

As it is, he can't contribute at all or not very often and it is pretty well known from what I've read on previous threads that the guy has a chronic condition that may well curtail his career. Therefore it's all semantics.

I actually agree with a lot of what you say, especially the bit in bold. As I've said before I think he's a decent player I just don't and never have seen his influence on the team to be as great as many others do.

20-02-2017, 04:52 PM
Like many on here I'm concerned about Dylan's fitness, or rather, continual lack of fitness. It's worrying the Club now don't even tell us when he's not fit or what the issue is. I'm somewhere in the middle re his ability. Unlike many on here I think he's a long way from being the Messiah but I do think he offers us something different. However for that to be effective he really needs to be operating further up the park, Re killer passes, I've only been up for one game this season & DM won us that game, vs Pars, with a killer pass inside the full back. It was the 1st time we'd actually even attempted, never mind achieved such a pass. Fully fit he's an asset.

20-02-2017, 04:55 PM
His ability and importance is absolutely unquestionable imo, his fitness is worrying though.

20-02-2017, 05:26 PM

You don't need a tin hat for that comment you need a basic understanding of football

If you think McGeouch and Shinnie fulfil the same role there is absolutely no hope for you.

20-02-2017, 05:45 PM
Exactly my take on him, especially the bit in bold. I keep reading on here what a great player he is, our best player, better than Scott Allan etc. I'm not claiming we are right and everyone else is wrong, but it's good to read that someone else has the same views.

In an earlier post I talked about ability to play a killer pass, DM does have that ability, just does it nowehere near enough IMO.

Me 3.

Like him, good lad and decent footballer. But have always thought he's largely overrated by many hibs fans, including a number of my mates. Maybe I'm just wrong as totally accept I'm in the minority.

Fyvie more important for me every time.

20-02-2017, 06:03 PM

Funny that's how I feel about Fyvie...yet he is the next best thing to Pele according to some on here. All about opinions

tam4hibs
20-02-2017, 06:04 PM

So it is probably a fair comparison with liam craig? Similar playmaker role, but with less than 20% of the goals return of a player who received a fair amount of stick from the Hibs fans. And played at a higher level.

I agree with his skills and influence on the team to drive us. However we have Mcginn and Fyvie who could also be seen to play that position. IMO he's the 3rd choice of out those 3 and we only need 1 of them in this league.

Having 3 playmakers with circa 8 goals between them in 2 years in the second league of Scottish football is pretty shocking and we have to look inward at their contribution to the team winning games.

We dont create enough chances (playmaker?) and they don't contribute goals - so sitting back from this means that he (or his colleagues playing in that role) are just not performing.

All credit this season has to go to our defence at the moment.

20-02-2017, 06:05 PM
Funny that's how I feel about Fyvie...yet he is the next best thing to Pele according to some on here. All about opinions

Aye I'm getting fed up of folk saying Fyvie is like Pele tae. Lol

supermcginn
20-02-2017, 06:07 PM

Same here, mcgeouch is much superior to fyvie imo

20-02-2017, 06:07 PM
Aye I'm getting fed up of folk saying Fyvie is like Pele tae. Lol
You know what I mean tho - there are quite a few comments on this thread about him and how effective he is?? I like him...he is a tidy player but offer very little going forward and isn't the player many on her make out...all IMHO of course

20-02-2017, 06:08 PM
McGeouch is absolutely nothing like Liam Craig as a player, strange comparison. McGinn is much more like Craig, much better mind.

20-02-2017, 06:09 PM
Same here, mcgeouch is much superior to fyvie imo
A 100% fit Dylan is far superior to Fyvie imo...I think fyvie slows our play down far too much - whereas Dylan and Mcginn inject some pace and urgency

tam4hibs
20-02-2017, 06:16 PM
McGeouch is absolutely nothing like Liam Craig as a player, strange comparison. McGinn is much more like Craig, much better mind.

On what way is that a strange comparison?

Looking at the midfield roles of wingers, Matty Jack types, attacking midfielders, Brian kerr unseen types, playmaker, box to box pat mcginleys. Then where does he fit? Who would you compare him with?

I'd see him as a playmaker (as with mcginn and Scott Allan and Liam Craig).

Tidy technically. Always looking for as pass. Can tackle. Links up play. I think their roles are not too dissimilar but in a very different style.

I'm not saying I'm a Craig fan BTW. Far from it. But it's a fair comparison.

20-02-2017, 06:26 PM
On what way is that a strange comparison?

Looking at the midfield roles of wingers, Matty Jack types, attacking midfielders, Brian kerr unseen types, playmaker, box to box pat mcginleys. Then where does he fit? Who would you compare him with?

I'd see him as a playmaker (as with mcginn and Scott Allan and Liam Craig).

Tidy technically. Always looking for as pass. Can tackle. Links up play. I think their roles are not too dissimilar but in a very different style.

I'm not saying I'm a Craig fan BTW. Far from it. But it's a fair comparison.Dylan is nothing like Craig, Craig was an attacking/box to box central midfielder. Dylan is a deeper playmaker who gets the ball off the back 4 and brings it forward.

How did you get from Scott Allan to Liam Craig as well? Completely different players again.

Dylan is like Fyvie, Craig is like McGinn without the ability to beat players.

tam4hibs
20-02-2017, 06:36 PM
Dylan is nothing like Craig, Craig was an attacking/box to box central midfielder. Dylan is a deeper playmaker who gets the ball off the back 4 and brings it forward.

How did you get from Scott Allan to Liam Craig as well? Completely different players again.

Dylan is like Fyvie, Craig is like McGinn without the ability to beat players.

OK fair point. In old system Dylan is a number 6. Like Fyvie. Inneista and Tony Kroos.
Craig, (Allan) and Mcginn number 8 type . Frank Lampard type.

If so, we are all saying we are having problems creating chances and the midfield are not scoring goals. That to me cannot exclude Mcginn (tin hat on), Fyvie or Mcgeoch for some criticism this season. Either the number 6 is not linking play well enough to create space or the number 8 is just not forward thinking enough to score or get into positions.

Not the forwards, not the wingers or the defence but the three pulling the strings at the moment are not in form.

Now (off tangent), bit controversial (as hes a favourite of all of us) but Lennon is right to criticise Mcginn at the moment
We have been saying he's struggled early season with that injury. Since 20 mins coming back against DUFC he has struggled again.

Formation? Pitches? Bullied?

I'd like to see Dylan or Fyvie in that deep lying role. McGinn the tip of the diamond (where Shinnie and Keatings have toiled recently) And 2 wingers. That seems balanced and IMO will give him more space to roam and beat a man as we know he can.

20-02-2017, 06:37 PM
If we don't get a sustained run of games from McGeough before the end of the season I'd get him punted. Will be on a decent wage and has given us nothing so far this campaign.

20-02-2017, 06:42 PM

Well think again , as McGeough has all those attributes...and more -scoring goals is an issue for all our midfielders nothing different from Others .

20-02-2017, 06:46 PM
When we had Dylan on loan and Allan in our 1st season down here, they worked so well together, Dylan picked it up from the back,and linked up with Allan who would then drive forward, then they'd reverse the roles. When Fyvie came in during January the intertwining with the 3 players at times was a joy to watch, very hard for opposition midfielders to pick up and mark, you never knew who was staying deep or going forward. Injury has hit both Fyvie and Dylan very hard this past 2 years, consistency has become nigh on impossible.

Dylan has a hip imbalance, his hips are very slightly twisted and pulls the muscles and ligaments out of kilter, this means there's a weaker side which is susceptible to injuries.

20-02-2017, 06:58 PM
Any discussion of his ability or usefulness to Hibs is simply academic purely, because he plays so few games for the club.

tam4hibs
20-02-2017, 07:04 PM
Ok. I'm sorry for having to write this and I shudder even making this comparison; but it's fair to make in terms of this debate and player types.

In absolutely the worst Hibs team I have witnessed; the midfield pairing of Liam Craig and Scott Robertson have scored at least double the amount of goals of all three of Fyvie / McGinn and Mcgeoch combined never mind in any combination. Scoring at a higher level with tactics for a year that completely bypassed the midfield thanks to complete footballers as McGovern and Nelson at the back and a manager from the 1920s.

Games played are similar and all played under different management styles.

Whilst I would never have those two anywhere near Hibs; we have to take note that the contribution of the midfield has dropped dramatically this and last season and none of the three mentioned should be immune from criticism for that part of their game.

Now I can hear some spurting out their dinner reading that and anger on the keyboards already.

My opinion is that they couldn't lace the boots of our current 3. But there's definitely something missing at rhe moment...

20-02-2017, 07:05 PM
What Hibs have been missing for many a season is a midfielder in mold of Pat McGinley, a driving goal scoring midfielder, those of you too young to have seen him play will just have to take my word for it, Pat was immense.

HFCdeb
20-02-2017, 07:06 PM
Any discussion of his ability or usefulness to Hibs is simply academic purely, because he plays so few games for the club.

Unfortunately true. My dad hasn't been able to attend many games over the past couple of seasons but has attended most this and he's yet to witness what Dylan can do. I've stopped even bigging him up. I actually forget he's one of our players at times.

20-02-2017, 07:15 PM
Ok. I'm sorry for having to write this and I shudder even making this comparison; but it's fair to make in terms of this debate and player types.

In absolutely the worst Hibs team I have witnessed; the midfield pairing of Liam Craig and Scott Robertson have scored at least double the amount of goals of all three of Fyvie / McGinn and Mcgeoch combined never mind in any combination. Scoring at a higher level with tactics for a year that completely bypassed the midfield thanks to complete footballers as McGovern and Nelson at the back and a manager from the 1920s.

Whilst I would never have those two anywhere near Hibs; we have to take note that the contribution of the midfield has dropped dramatically this and last season and none of the three mentioned should be immune from criticism for that part of their game.

Now I can hear some spurting out their dinner reading that and anger on the keyboards already.

My opinion is that they couldn't lace the boots of our current 3. But there's definitely something missing at rhe moment...

You know I rather liked Liam Craig, there I've said it & I'm ducking now in anticipation of the brick bats heading my way.

HFCdeb
20-02-2017, 07:17 PM
You know I rather liked Liam Craig, there I've said it & I'm ducking now in anticipation of the brick bats heading my way.

I liked him too. Loved his goal against Sevco in the 4-0 game.

20-02-2017, 07:17 PM
OK fair point. In old system Dylan is a number 6. Like Fyvie. Inneista and Tony Kroos.

If so, we are all saying we are having problems creating chances and the midfield are not scoring goals. That to me cannot exclude Mcginn (tin hat on), Fyvie or Mcgeoch for some criticism this season. Either the number 6 is not linking play well enough to create space or the number 8 is just not forward thinking enough to score or get into positions.

Not the forwards, not the wingers or the defence but the three pulling the strings at the moment are not in form.

Now (off tangent), bit controversial (as hes a favourite of all of us) but Lennon is right to criticise Mcginn at the moment
We have been saying he's struggled early season with that injury. Since 20 mins coming back against DUFC he has struggled again.

I'd like to see Dylan or Fyvie in that deep lying role. McGinn the tip of the diamond (where Shinnie and Keatings have toiled recently) And 2 wingers. That seems balanced and IMO will give him more space to roam and beat a man as we know he can.I agree with you 100%

On Saturday McGinn beat 3 players and won a free kick. 20 yards inside our half. Turned right away to my dad and asked why he isn't going that in the opposition half.

There is no doubting McGinn, Fyvie, McGeouch, Keatings and Shinne are good players but if they all added 3 more goals to their current tallies we'd be promoted already.

tam4hibs
20-02-2017, 07:18 PM
What Hibs have been missing for many a season is a midfielder in mold of Pat McGinley, a driving goal scoring midfielder, those of you too young to have seen him play will just have to take my word for it, Pat was immense.

With my comparisons I'm going to get accused of being his lovechild or in a ginger rights group. :agree:

TBF. Whilst we are admitting things I thought Kujabi was the next big thing. Or we would get millions for Liam Miller being sold on...

Taken Scout well and truly off my potential dream jobs I think.

Big L
20-02-2017, 07:27 PM
Celtc saw him as a more attacking midfielder. It was Stubbsy who saw him playing deeper.

Great player and a real miss when he's injured.
That's the position McGeough prefers and that's where I would like to see him played. He never gives the ball away and he's got an eye for a pass. That's what we have missed.

20-02-2017, 07:31 PM

Fabulous goal, great technique.

20-02-2017, 07:36 PM

Our midfield in the 4-0 game was Handling, Robertson, Allan & Craig, all of whom have been torn apart on here for various reasons over the years. A wonderful performance.

FC Leige
20-02-2017, 07:38 PM
If he wasnt injury prone i doubt Celtic would have let him go.

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 08:11 PM
You don't need a tin hat for that comment you need a basic understanding of football

If you think McGeouch and Shinnie fulfil the same role there is absolutely no hope for you.

who poured the sour milk in your coffee today?

Never stated they were fulfilling the same role. It was just an observation on Shinnie.

Thanks for taking my sky sports pundit dream and binning it though.

20-02-2017, 08:25 PM
A fit DM would be one of the first names on the team sheet without doubt.
He takes a lot of pressure off guys like John McGinn, who, when DM is missing, is having to create a lot more.

His injury situation is one of the most frustrating I can remember watching Hibs as they are all really crap injuries he seems to get. I do wonder if there is something physcological which is stopping him playing more games?

20-02-2017, 08:28 PM
Our midfield in the 4-0 game was Handling, Robertson, Allan & Craig, all of whom have been torn apart on here for various reasons over the years. A wonderful performance.

Your right & much of the criticism unjustified in my opinion.

HFCdeb
20-02-2017, 08:29 PM

It's crazy isn't it? I watched that game on YouTube the other day and was drooling over the midfield dominance and movement. It's been a while since we've seen that type of display. I also liked Robertson.

20-02-2017, 08:32 PM
It's crazy isn't it? I watched that game on YouTube the other day and was drooling over the midfield dominance and movement. It's been a while since we've seen that type of display. I also liked Robertson.
This is embarrassing, but I liked Robertson as well, sorry to see him go.

20-02-2017, 08:35 PM
Scott Allan was unplayable in the 4-0 game.

20-02-2017, 08:56 PM
Dylan is a fine player and I think most agree that he is good enough to play for Hibs. It's not about that though, it's economics. We are not a rich enough club to have a guy at the top of of wage structure only playing ten games a season. I think we will be looking to offload in the summer.

20-02-2017, 09:35 PM
That's the position McGeough prefers and that's where I would like to see him played. He never gives the ball away and he's got an eye for a pass. That's what we have missed.

The big problem is Dylan was always being nursed back from an injury so playing as a sitting playmaker helped him settle back into the side, didn't need to play outwith himself.

20-02-2017, 09:37 PM
Completely agree. Pat was an exceptional midfielder and had a good eye for goal as well. Loved watching him.

20-02-2017, 09:43 PM

Interesting comment when the players you mentioned are half the midfield that put on the best display at ER in the last few years.Robertson's goal was the best of the season.Yet you would never have them anywhere near Hibs.Strange.

20-02-2017, 09:54 PM

I'd like to see Dylan or Fyvie in that deep lying role. McGinn the tip of the diamond (where Shinnie and Keatings have toiled recently) And 2 wingers. That seems balanced and IMO will give him more space to roam and beat a man as we know he can.

Our midfield have been disappointing to say the least in terms of their goals return. McGinn, to be fair, has had his issues with carrying a stunting bone growth resulting in an op, so perhaps can be excused for his pitiful goals return, but our lack of goals from the rest is actually a major reason why we are not turning draws into wins. Our "goals for" column is mediocre and tells its own story. It is our mean defence which has been our strength this season. Thank goodness we are tight at the back. If not for McGregor and Co I really do believe that we would be struggling and looking towards the play offs again.

FifeHibs
20-02-2017, 10:03 PM
Last season In the league midfield goals,
Henderson 5
Mcginn 3
Camichael 1

As individuals all the players are good and would get into most premiership teams.
Think Fyvie was an attacking midfielder at Aberdeen as Mcgeogh when he broke into Celtic.

20-02-2017, 10:30 PM
I've said it on here before and I'll say it again, I have no idea how good McGeoch is as he's never played enough games in a row. Sometimes excellent sometimes poor in the ones he has. He'll always be a Hibs hero though.

tam4hibs
21-02-2017, 07:33 AM
Interesting comment when the players you mentioned are half the midfield that put on the best display at ER in the last few years.Robertson's goal was the best of the season.Yet you would never have them anywhere near Hibs.Strange.

And also 3 of the 4 players who played in our relegation. Picking out 1 game doesn't do it justice.
Brian kerr scored the winner at Tynie from midfield. Ra the show. In 1 game. Doesn't mean I'd have him at Hibs all over again... not so strange.

Yes; that 4-0 game was one of the best I've seen where it all clicked but still think our current 3 are better.

21-02-2017, 07:35 AM
I've said it on here before and I'll say it again, I have no idea how good McGeoch is as he's never played enough games in a row. Sometimes excellent sometimes poor in the ones he has. He'll always be a Hibs hero though.

He played plenty of games in his first season and was class

21-02-2017, 07:47 AM
And also 3 of the 4 players who played in our relegation. Picking out 1 game doesn't do it justice.
Brian kerr scored the winner at Tynie from midfield. Ra the show. In 1 game. Doesn't mean I'd have him at Hibs all over again... not so strange.

Yes; that 4-0 game was one of the best I've seen where it all clicked but still think our current 3 are better.

They are and we do also need to take into account how awful that Rangers team were at the time.

21-02-2017, 08:04 AM
who poured the sour milk in your coffee today?

Never stated they were fulfilling the same role. It was just an observation on Shinnie.

Thanks for taking my sky sports pundit dream and binning it though.

Not a problem

You managed to contradict yourself in the first 20 posts anyway so I don't think a career in even the Fife gazette was on offer

You started of by saying that we missed Dylan more than anyone but within 5 post had changed your tune to at least Shinnie doesn't hide.

You are therefore comparing the two or what is the point in bringing Shinnie's name into a thread started by you on McGeouch

Your tin hat comment is "I know this makes no sense at all but don't be angry with me" type material

HFCdeb
21-02-2017, 08:46 AM
They are and we do also need to take into account how awful that Rangers team were at the time.

That's was a truly hilariously bad Sevco team but our team with that midfield did finish second that year. Our current lot finished third behind Falkirk...just playing devil's advocate ;)

FifeHibs
21-02-2017, 09:23 AM
Not a problem

You managed to contradict yourself in the first 20 posts anyway so I don't think a career in even the Fife gazette was on offer

You started of by saying that we missed Dylan more than anyone but within 5 post had changed your tune to at least Shinnie doesn't hide.

You are therefore comparing the two or what is the point in bringing Shinnie's name into a thread started by you on McGeouch

Your tin hat comment is "I know this makes no sense at all but don't be angry with me" type material

Journalism is now off the list careers.

Another cup of coffee with sour milk or did you manage to burn your toast aswell this morning.

It started about Dylan then others spoke about Shinnie which I commented on, as they are both attacking midfielders.

Was only taking part in a discussion, think the personnel attack is a bit much for an open forum.

StPauli
21-02-2017, 09:23 AM
Does anyone know when he will be back?

21-02-2017, 09:29 AM
Does anyone know when he will be back?

Two weeks 😁

21-02-2017, 10:14 AM
Last season In the league midfield goals,
Henderson 5
Mcginn 3
Camichael 1

As individuals all the players are good and would get into most premiership teams.
Think Fyvie was an attacking midfielder at Aberdeen as Mcgeogh when he broke into Celtic.

If he was an attacking mid at Aberdeen his stats are still poor, 3 goals in 66 games.

21-02-2017, 10:19 AM
He played plenty of games in his first season and was class

26 games on loan and 3 goals in 14-15 season. 20 in the league but he also managed 19 games last season with a total of 30 games, noticed he hasn't scored since his 1st season here, now that is really poor for a so called attacking midfielder.

21-02-2017, 12:38 PM
26 games on loan and 3 goals in 14-15 season. 20 in the league but he also managed 19 games last season with a total of 30 games, noticed he hasn't scored since his 1st season here, now that is really poor for a so called attacking midfielder.
Who is calling him an attacking mid?

21-02-2017, 12:56 PM
I think it's a mental thing with Dylan.

Every time someone spells McGeouch wrong it sets his comeback date by a week.:greengrin

21-02-2017, 01:04 PM
Who is calling him an attacking mid?

He played as an attacking mid at Celtic.

From the Record Oct 14

Hibs loanee Dylan McGeouch admits he had to get out of Celtic to get back playing regularly
THE attacking midfielder admits frustration at a lack of competitive action at Parkhead but is loving his run of games after being picked up on loan by Alan Stubbs.

BBC Jan 14

Partick Thistle manager Alan Archibald has played down talk of signing Celtic's Dylan McGeouch in January.

The 20-year-old attacking midfielder has only made three appearances for Celtic this season and Archibald is unlikely to pursue him.

"He was one we looked at but I don't think Dylan is fit," said Archibald.

21-02-2017, 01:05 PM
Journalism is now off the list careers.

Another cup of coffee with sour milk or did you manage to burn your toast aswell this morning.

It started about Dylan then others spoke about Shinnie which I commented on, as they are both attacking midfielders.

Was only taking part in a discussion, think the personnel attack is a bit much for an open forum.

Someone thinks you are taking nonsense and calls you out on it

Get over it or stop posting

The choice is yours but spare me the bleeding heart routine

I suspect you won't last long on here if all you are looking for are sycophants queuing up to agree with you and can't cope with people disagreeing with your opinion without bleating

21-02-2017, 04:43 PM
He played as an attacking mid at Celtic.

From the Record Oct 14

Hibs loanee Dylan McGeouch admits he had to get out of Celtic to get back playing regularly
THE attacking midfielder admits frustration at a lack of competitive action at Parkhead but is loving his run of games after being picked up on loan by Alan Stubbs.

BBC Jan 14

Partick Thistle manager Alan Archibald has played down talk of signing Celtic's Dylan McGeouch in January.

The 20-year-old attacking midfielder has only made three appearances for Celtic this season and Archibald is unlikely to pursue him.

"He was one we looked at but I don't think Dylan is fit," said Archibald.
Daily record isnt a great source of wisdom tbh, Dylan is a deep playmaker/central mid.

21-02-2017, 11:58 PM
Daily record isnt a great source of wisdom tbh, Dylan is a deep playmaker/central mid.

Maybe now he is but he started out as an attacking midfielder.

22-02-2017, 01:17 AM
Someone thinks you are taking nonsense and calls you out on it

Get over it or stop posting

The choice is yours but spare me the bleeding heart routine

I suspect you won't last long on here if all you are looking for are sycophants queuing up to agree with you and can't cope with people disagreeing with your opinion without bleating

Well s/he is only 14 :)

22-02-2017, 10:31 AM

Not sure how you can have no idea if you attended any games in Stubbs first season in charge. Dylan played the majority of games and was a very close second to Scott Allan as our player of the year. He also played the majority of games last season, despite obviously missing a fair few with injuries. This is his first season out of three where he's not played a decent amount of games. I can't think of many at all where he has been poor. 0-3 at home against Morton last season maybe.
I honestly don't understand how anyone who watches us regularly doesn't get the importance of McGeough. He is-IMO-by far our best midfielder and its horrendous bad luck that we will yet again be missing him for a crucial game tonight.

22-02-2017, 10:33 AM
that is really poor for a so called attacking midfielder.

Jeez make up your mind.

22-02-2017, 12:11 PM
Jeez make up your mind.

Not really hard to work out if you engage your brain, Dylan started off as an attacking midfielder at Celtic, since then due to his on going injuries, he's dropped back and now plays a deeper role where he feels more comfortable as he isn't over exerting himself.

1st post you quote is me saying his return for an attacking midfielder is poor, the 2nd quote was me talking about how Dylan actually plays for us right now, a big difference and just shows that by only picking certain parts of a post and ignoring what I was replying to, makes it look like I said 2 separate things. :rolleyes:

cmcd
22-02-2017, 12:17 PM
While reading 4 pages about the midfields lack of goals I have found myself dreaming of Willie Hamilton -Pat Quinn -Eric Stevenson- Peter Cormack -Alex Edwards -Alex Cropley -Arthur Duncan - Pat Stanton . I wonder if any of them would get a game in today's team. Oh Hell! I've just woken up

22-02-2017, 12:33 PM
Not really hard to work out if you engage your brain, Dylan started off as an attacking midfielder at Celtic, since then due to his on going injuries, he's dropped back and now plays a deeper role where he feels more comfortable as he isn't over exerting himself.

1st post you quote is me saying his return for an attacking midfielder is poor, the 2nd quote was me talking about how Dylan actually plays for us right now, a big difference and just shows that by only picking certain parts of a post and ignoring what I was replying to, makes it look like I said 2 separate things. :rolleyes:

You suggested his goal record for us was not great for an attacking midfielder yet say he does not play that position for us.

22-02-2017, 12:45 PM
You suggested his goal record for us was not great for an attacking midfielder yet say he does not play that position for us.

He was as an attacking mid at Celtic and was bought to play as that here, along with Allan but his injuries have hampered him, he now plays a deeper role now and because he plays deeper we are short of an attacking option further up the field.

In his 1st season on loan Dylan scored 3 goals and his inter linking with Allan was at times sublime, nowadays he sits very deep probably for fear of overstretching his groin or hamstring, so not getting forward and not scoring.

He is a midfielder and capable of playing 3-4 roles there but he was brought in to create and score goals, something he isn't doing at the moment.

We only have Shinnie who looks capable of creating but his confidence looks absolutely shot to pieces, Commons showed us exactly what an attacking midfielder is all about, it's that bad we're trying to shoehorn in Keatings a striker into the attacking midfield role.

22-02-2017, 12:52 PM
Any chance of Dylan being involved tonight?

22-02-2017, 01:15 PM
Much as it pains me to say it as I really rate Dylan, I think there is little chance of him being involved again this season other than possibly the odd cameo role from the bench

He just cant be relied upon to get / stay fit and until that is rectified, which I consider to be extremely unlikely at Hibs or certainly under Neil Lennon, then I don't think we will see much of him at all.

Neil Lennon doesn't strike me as the arm round the shoulder type of guy to get Dylan fit / believing he is fit.

I don't see Neil Lennon disrupting the team to play him on the odd occasion he is fit and he certainly wont rely upon him or risk pissing other players off to accommodate him for him to limp off.

Great pity as IMO a fit Dylan is this Hibs teams best player, but it doesn't look like it is going to work out.

if Neil Lennon remains our manager next season and we receive any interest at all in him, I expect both player and club to agree to a parting of the ways.

22-02-2017, 01:28 PM
Much as it pains me to say it as I really rate Dylan, I think there is little chance of him being involved again this season other than possibly the odd cameo role from the bench

He just cant be relied upon to get / stay fit

We can't seem to get Dylan fit, when/if he starts you just aren't convinced he'll finish the game, so can we really risk wasting a sub by using him as a cameo sub? You'll then just have to sub him back off.

I really rate him, wish we could get him fit as he'd be one of the first picks in our team, for me.