View Full Version : Jane Park

Navids Numpties
12-02-2017, 03:31 PM
Trying to sue the lottery for running her life with gambling. Here's a solution give the remainder of your money to Hibs. https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.mirror.co.uk/news/real-life-stories/britains-youngest-euromillions-winner-wants-9802119.amp?client=safari

12-02-2017, 03:37 PM
Feel a bit sorry for her with regards to that article.

She doesn't word her thoughts well but I understand what she's trying to say with regards to having that kind of money at that age. Everyone thinks it must be great but there must be stress, albeit different stress from that experienced by people trying to make ends meet or whatever. How do you relate to your old friends without making them feel awkward? Which new people in your life are genuine? The media have been pretty relentless with her as well.

Of course she has no chance in her quest to sue the lottery and should maybe have chosen her words more carefully but the abuse she is getting on social media about this is poor imo.

ColinNish
12-02-2017, 04:07 PM
Feel a bit sorry for her with regards to that article.

She doesn't word her thoughts well but I understand what she's trying to say with regards to having that kind of money at that age. Everyone thinks it must be great but there must be stress, albeit different stress from that experienced by people trying to make ends meet or whatever. How do you relate to your old friends without making them feel awkward? Which new people in your life are genuine? The media have been pretty relentless with her as well.

Of course she has no chance in her quest to sue the lottery and should maybe have chosen her words more carefully but the abuse she is getting on social media about this is poor imo.

My thoughts too, feel slightly sorry for her but she doesn't help herself with some of the stuff she does. She's wishing now she hadn't gone public, probably would have been best in her circumstances.

12-02-2017, 04:11 PM
My thoughts too, feel slightly sorry for her but she doesn't help herself with some of the stuff she does. She's wishing now she hadn't gone public, probably would have been best in her circumstances.

Agreed remaining anonymous may have been best.

I believe Camelot can be quite 'persuasive' in their attempta to get winners to go public though.

12-02-2017, 04:29 PM
Stupidity in the extreme. All winners are a) offered assistance with the whole "having ****loads of money" thing and b) the option to remain anonymous.

A classic example of not taking responsibility for one's own actions.

ColinNish
12-02-2017, 06:56 PM
Stupidity in the extreme. All winners are a) offered assistance with the whole "having ****loads of money" thing and b) the option to remain anonymous.

A classic example of not taking responsibility for one's own actions.

Correct. But remember she had just turned 17, would you have made the right decision at that age?

12-02-2017, 07:09 PM
Trying to sue the lottery for running her life with gambling. Here's a solution give the remainder of your money to Hibs. https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.mirror.co.uk/news/real-life-stories/britains-youngest-euromillions-winner-wants-9802119.amp?client=safari

No trying to be cruel or cynical but why did she buy a ticket in the first place?
Maybe in retrospect she wishes she hadn't however, she did, she won. Live with it.
Show her the people in the city who are currently living in cardboard boxes. That might help her cope.

12-02-2017, 07:15 PM
I've no knowledge of the case however would just like to add an ironic hypothetical thought - what if she wins her case with the court awarding a huge sum of money with her then pissing that up against the wall with a whole load of extra alleged misery, would she then sue the court blaming them for awarding her more money whereby ruining more of her life?

glory glory

ColinNish
12-02-2017, 07:50 PM
I've no knowledge of the case however would just like to add an ironic hypothetical thought - what if she wins her case with the court awarding a huge sum of money with her then pissing that up against the wall with a whole load of extra alleged misery, would she then sue the court blaming them for awarding her more money whereby ruining more of her life?

glory glory

She said she'd give the money to charity if she wins so that's your theory shot to ****.

12-02-2017, 07:56 PM
She said she'd give the money to charity if she wins so that's your theory shot to ****.

Wasn't a theory at all, just a bit humour that's all. Who rattled your cage?

glory glory

Navids Numpties
12-02-2017, 08:07 PM
What's she going to sue the lottery for? More money the thing she said ruined her life

12-02-2017, 08:34 PM
She posted on here a couple of times after her win.

12-02-2017, 09:35 PM
She was/is a kid. I think the point she was making is the lottery could have given her more support. She is only seeking legal advice on suing the lottery and has said she'll give the money to charity in the unlikely event she wins.

ColinNish
12-02-2017, 09:39 PM
She was/is a kid. I think the point she was making is the lottery could have given her more support. She is only seeking legal advice on suing the lottery and has said she'll give the money to charity in the unlikely event she wins.

I think they gave her plenty support, she chose not to take it. I remember watching the documentary about her and she just poo pooed the advice given to her by an IFA about how to invest some of her money. The only thing she did wrong was going public with her win and Camelot apparently put a lot of pressure on winners to do so.

13-02-2017, 10:02 AM

She could just give the cash she has to charity - problem solved.

Some of the stuff she says in that article is beyond ridiculous.

13-02-2017, 10:19 AM

Some of the stuff she says in that article is beyond ridiculous.

:agree: First World problems.

13-02-2017, 01:41 PM
I recently dropped an elderly woman off who was her neighbour. She said that Park had made her life hell with her lifestyle.

ColinNish
14-02-2017, 12:06 PM
I recently dropped an elderly woman off who was her neighbour. She said that Park had made her life hell with her lifestyle.

At which house though?? :)

14-02-2017, 12:35 PM
All I ask is for the chance to prove that money doesn't make you happy.

14-02-2017, 05:57 PM
I appreciate that having a huge sum of money thrust upon you at a young age will bring stress and problems, I'm not so sure I sympathise much with blaming Camelot (no one forced you to buy the ticket, and you bought it for that sole purpose), or indeed how hard done by she feels. I'm sure there are many people out there who feel much greater stress and worry.

ColinNish
14-02-2017, 06:58 PM
My sorry feelings for her have now dried up after i heard she's appearing on Loose Women tomorrow. She's just looking for attention IMO. Not the actions of someone whose life has been ruined by buying a lottery ticket.

14-02-2017, 08:27 PM
she certainly likes to splash the cash going by her twitter feed so i wouldnt feel to sorry for her

15-02-2017, 11:36 AM
I do get that having a lot of money at a young age can probably get quite over whelming and there would be people out there trying to take advantage of her but I must admit I do find it very hard to feel sorry for her. If she was absolutely genuine about wishing she no longer had the money then there are plenty worthy charities out there that i'm sure would happily make use of her cash. She said things like "It takes the fun out of shopping because I can afford everything" and "I don't even go on holiday that much, just 4 times a year". It just sounds a wee bit like "poor me I have absolutely everything". I get money can't make one completely happy, there is far more to life than material things but as I say, if she genuinely was that unhappy with the money she would get rid of it and wouldn't be suing for more.

I do think though that the papers should leave her alone. They seem to constantly troll through her facebook and twitter looking for any story to publish about her.

15-02-2017, 11:47 AM
I do get that having a lot of money at a young age can probably get quite over whelming and there would be people out there trying to take advantage of her but I must admit I do find it very hard to feel sorry for her. If she was absolutely genuine about wishing she no longer had the money then there are plenty worthy charities out there that i'm sure would happily make use of her cash. She said things like "It takes the fun out of shopping because I can afford everything" and "I don't even go on holiday that much, just 4 times a year". It just sounds a wee bit like "poor me I have absolutely everything". I get money can't make one completely happy, there is far more to life than material things but as I say, if she genuinely was that unhappy with the money she would get rid of it and wouldn't be suing for more.

I do think though that the papers should leave her alone. They seem to constantly troll through her facebook and twitter looking for any story to publish about her.

Kind of easy then for her to stop using twitter and Facebook as much...strangely enough I manage to love my life quite easily without using either of them.

I get her point, suddenly coming into money especially at her age brings pressures and issues that probably turned her life upside down. But greetin' about the fact that shopping is no longer enjoyable doesn't quite rank up there in life's struggles for many.

I find it quite easy to see how her social life and the social order she was in was significantly disrupted but in the end of the day it was her decision and rather than moaning about it (I can't see much constructive in her outpourings) she should look to make some changes and learn how to use the money to improve her and others lives...sure there is plenty worthwhile ventures she could get involved in that would give her and others real positives in their lives rather than moaning about the fact she only takes 4 holidays a year.

FC Leige
15-02-2017, 03:11 PM

. If you won a million quid when you were 17 is that what you would have done?

beensaidbefore
15-02-2017, 04:08 PM
Why doesn't she just go travelling for a year or 2. Nobody would know who she was and she would come back appreciating life a bit more. It's all well and good being the Niddrie celebrity but there's more to life than that as she seems to be finding out.

beensaidbefore
15-02-2017, 04:10 PM
If you won a million quid when you were 17 is that what you would have done?

She could do it now though and get a job. She would soon wish she had been a bit more grateful though I imagine.

FC Leige
15-02-2017, 04:19 PM
She could do it now though and get a job. She would soon wish she had been a bit more grateful though I imagine. She doesnt have much left and she has a job. Once again we are talking about a 17 year old kid from Niddrie who suddenly found herself a million quid richer.

15-02-2017, 04:33 PM
If you won a million quid when you were 17 is that what you would have done?

No I wouldn't have but I wouldn't have been complaining about the impact on my life, in such a crass way, or suing the lottery organisers.

I don't care where she was brought up or what age she is, her comments are ridiculous. There might be a point in there somewhere about support and advice but the examples she is using are frankly insulting to most decent people.

ColinNish
15-02-2017, 07:49 PM
She doesnt have much left and she has a job. Once again we are talking about a 17 year old kid from Niddrie who suddenly found herself a million quid richer.

What job does she have?

ColinNish
15-02-2017, 07:51 PM
No I wouldn't have but I wouldn't have been complaining about the impact on my life, in such a crass way, or suing the lottery organisers.

I don't care where she was brought up or what age she is, her comments are ridiculous. There might be a point in there somewhere about support and advice but the examples she is using are frankly insulting to most decent people.

She's not suing the lottery anymore. She only said it to highlight the age that folk can buy tickets and her wanting it increased.

15-02-2017, 11:21 PM
What job does she have?

She's a Financial Advisor :wink:

speedy_gonzales
07-03-2017, 04:38 PM
Back in the news after winning over a grand from a £20 bet. (http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/lotto-winner-jane-park-scoops-1-000-on-20-bet-1-4385504)
I can't understand why she's in the media again, betting ruined her life apparently, yet she still persists?!?

07-03-2017, 06:00 PM
Back in the news after winning over a grand from a £20 bet. (http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/lotto-winner-jane-park-scoops-1-000-on-20-bet-1-4385504)
I can't understand why she's in the media again, betting ruined her life apparently, yet she still persists?!?

That's a fairly inconsequential bet, albeit a good result for her. Looks like she has put it on Facebook though and someone else has sent it to the EEN. Non story.

07-03-2017, 08:00 PM
Well, it seems to be a hard habit to break!

Navids Numpties
08-03-2017, 02:02 PM
Charged £900 and banned for 18 months today for getting caught drink driving in McDonalds in straiton in October 2016. Despite this looming over her she was spotted shopping for a new merc a month ago according to papers

JackLadd
08-03-2017, 02:53 PM
Never hear much about lotto lout Mike Carroll these days, £10m all spun ked away, even gave 1m to crook David Murray to trouser. Then there was the boy who won £10m and sp unked £4m on Livi FC, now stony broke. Fools and their money.

BS44
09-03-2017, 08:32 AM
Charged £900 and banned for 18 months today for getting caught drink driving in McDonalds in straiton in October 2016. Despite this looming over her she was spotted shopping for a new merc a month ago according to papers

When I was queueing outside the West Stand for Scottish Cup tickets for the first game against the dogs she was also in the queue near the front in a tent. In the car park there was a new looking big white Mercedes that supposedly belonged to her.

At least she will have no problems with the new speed limit around Edinburgh

09-03-2017, 10:27 AM
When I was queueing outside the West Stand for Scottish Cup tickets for the first game against the dogs she was also in the queue near the front in a tent. In the car park there was a new looking big white Mercedes that supposedly belonged to her.

At least she will have no problems with the new speed limit around Edinburgh

Maybe she should splash oot and buy one of those driverless cars. Sorted!

ColinNish
09-03-2017, 12:41 PM
She's no called Jane Park anymore, she's changed her name.....

09-03-2017, 01:32 PM
She's no called Jane Park anymore, she's changed her name.....

Jane Walker? Jane Cyclist?

09-03-2017, 01:57 PM

Jane :doh:?

09-03-2017, 02:19 PM
The Suns obsession with her is getting embarrassing. Absolute non stories about her every other week, what shes bought, where she's going on holiday, what car shes driving etc. FFS nobody cares, just leave the lassie alone. They seem to just troll through her social media accounts looking for stories. Lazy journalism at its worst.

I can understand why they would run a story on her drink driving charge (what a stupid stupid lassie btw!) but do they really have to run stories about a selfie she's taken or that she got drunk on holiday. Must admit I do feel a wee bit sorry for her, its just harrassment, its not like she's running to the papers every week saying oh look what i'm doing, put me in your paper, heres a story about me etc. They try to twist any little thing about her to make a story .

09-03-2017, 03:21 PM
The Suns obsession with her is getting embarrassing. Absolute non stories about her every other week, what shes bought, where she's going on holiday, what car shes driving etc. FFS nobody cares, just leave the lassie alone. They seem to just troll through her social media accounts looking for stories. Lazy journalism at its worst.

I can understand why they would run a story on her drink driving charge (what a stupid stupid lassie btw!) but do they really have to run stories about a selfie she's taken or that she got drunk on holiday. Must admit I do feel a wee bit sorry for her, its just harrassment, its not like she's running to the papers every week saying oh look what i'm doing, put me in your paper, heres a story about me etc. They try to twist any little thing about her to make a story .

And I'm pretty sure they just copy and paste any new story about her in a pre made template. It always starts "Lottery Moaner Jane Park..." How original. And as you say, the laziness of their journalism is beyond belief.

09-03-2017, 03:42 PM
And I'm pretty sure they just copy and paste any new story about her in a pre made template. It always starts "Lottery Moaner Jane Park..." How original. And as you say, the laziness of their journalism is beyond belief.

Exactly, same non-story rubbish every time. They ran a story a few weeks back that she got drunk on holiday to celebrate the derby win. I mean seriously?

Shock horror a 21 year old getting drunk on holiday :rolleyes:The fact that someone has actually thought that was newsworthy then has spent part of their day sitting down and making a newspaper story out of it is beyond sad.

09-03-2017, 04:00 PM

I really hope that paper gets shut down one day.

09-03-2017, 04:15 PM
I really hope that paper gets shut down one day.

Agreed. $cum

ColinNish
09-03-2017, 04:29 PM

Jane Restorick or something like that

09-03-2017, 06:40 PM
Jane Restorick or something like that

Think that's her mothers family name. Could be the same Restorick's who own/used to own the Niddrie Mill/ Duddingston chippy although may be no connection whatever.

glory glory

09-03-2017, 07:34 PM
She's going on This Morning tomorrow

09-03-2017, 10:20 PM
Think that's her mothers family name. Could be the same Restorick's who own/used to own the Niddrie Mill/ Duddingston chippy although may be no connection whatever.

glory glory

The Restorick's have never owned that chippy - pretty sure they're Turnbull.

Has she maybe married into the Restorick family?

09-03-2017, 11:27 PM
She's going on This Morning tomorrow

Car crash just waiting to happen.

Will be watching that, should be fun.

10-03-2017, 07:51 AM
The Restorick's have never owned that chippy - pretty sure they're Turnbull.

Has she maybe married into the Restorick family?

I'm sure your'e correct. The Turnbull's who also ran the coal delivery nearby if same family. The Restorick's do/did own a chippy but not the Fry at Niddrie Mill, I was getting a bit mixed up apologies. I used to know a member of both families which was a long time ago now.

glory glory

10-03-2017, 09:18 AM
I'm sure your'e correct. The Turnbull's who also ran the coal delivery nearby if same family. The Restorick's do/did own a chippy but not the Fry at Niddrie Mill, I was getting a bit mixed up apologies. I used to know a member of both families which was a long time ago now.

glory glory

That's the one mate - I used to know members of both families as well.

There was a chippy in Niddrie (just off niddrie mains road) that was owned by an Italian guy who married one of the Restorick's I think. Going back donkeys years now like.

10-03-2017, 12:40 PM
Car crash just waiting to happen.

Will be watching that, should be fun.

Thought she came across quite well tbh

10-03-2017, 12:56 PM
Thought she came across quite well tbh

Yeah, she done alright this morning.

NYHibby
10-03-2017, 07:37 PM

Sounds a little like she is following Garry O'Connor's example.