View Full Version : Falkirk v Dundee Utd

11-02-2017, 12:16 PM
I don't like Falkirk FC or their manager but I'm hoping they can win, or at least draw, this match today.

That would be best from Hibs point of view.

11-02-2017, 12:17 PM
I don't like Falkirk FC or their manager but I'm hoping they can win, or at least draw, this match today.

That would be best from Hibs point of view.

Would give us a nice wee boost ahead of tomorrow's game

11-02-2017, 12:25 PM
Yes - hope the Bairns give the Arabs a reverse noncing, or whatever they call an emphatic Falkirk victory.

Big L
11-02-2017, 12:25 PM
Falkirk coming in to a bit of form, can't see Dun Utd winning, maybe a point at most.

11-02-2017, 12:40 PM
It's got a draw wrote all over it . Imo .
9-4 yir cash :)

11-02-2017, 12:43 PM
Biggest game of the weekend for us outside the game at the pbs of course. Looks like a draw or a home win to me. Here's hoping.

11-02-2017, 01:13 PM
Yup .... not often I want Houston's rockets to get anything other than a good rodgering, but for once I will be hoping to see them win ............. unfortunately there seems to be an unwritten law of football that on the few occasions I want teams I cant be doing with to win they invariably screw it up :confused:

11-02-2017, 01:34 PM
A Falkirk win would be ideal.

A draw doesn't help either.

A win for Utd and it's back to 3 points..with us the better goal difference

11-02-2017, 02:06 PM
1-0 Baird, 5 min

11-02-2017, 02:07 PM
The Bairns 1 up :thumbsup:

11-02-2017, 02:11 PM
Yes :thumbsup:

11-02-2017, 02:11 PM

11-02-2017, 02:14 PM
Houston will be raging if he helps us out. Win win scenario.

11-02-2017, 02:15 PM
I think Falkirk are a stronger team than Dundee United. If they win today, I would fancy them for second place.

11-02-2017, 02:16 PM
I think Falkirk are a stronger team than Dundee United. If they win today, I would fancy them for second place.

Agreed. Looking at both line-ups today, Falkirk seem stronger

11-02-2017, 02:16 PM

Only three points behind them as are mouton who would have a game in hand.

Utd. Could see themselves slipping down a couple of places if they aren't careful.

11-02-2017, 02:18 PM
Hopefully we stay at the top and Utd, Falkirk and Morton feel the pressure and have a mini league themselves trying to finish 2nd taking points off each other..while we keep ticking off the games till end of the season.

13 games left..

39 points available for us.

11-02-2017, 02:22 PM
A Falkirk win would be ideal.

A draw doesn't help either.

A win for Utd and it's back to 3 points..with us the better goal difference

And game in hand.

11-02-2017, 02:23 PM
Four games ago Falkirk were 11 points behind Dundee United and if they win today they will have narrowed it to only 3 points.

A win for the bairns would be great but even a draw would be a good result for us.

11-02-2017, 02:24 PM
Watching this game live on Sportsmania, very open game. Should be more goals.

11-02-2017, 02:25 PM
Norwich 3-0 up on Nottingham Forest, after 18 mins. Think Mark and Weir maybe getting a call soon, if they aren't the Rangers management team

11-02-2017, 02:40 PM
Hopefully we stay at the top and Utd, Falkirk and Morton feel the pressure and have a mini league themselves trying to finish 2nd taking points off each other..while we keep ticking off the games till end of the season.

13 games left..

39 points available for us.

Falkirk away to Greenock Morton next Saturday. Hibs still have to do the business though, and win their matches.

11-02-2017, 02:41 PM

Morton will get a boost from tomorrow 😉

kevinc
11-02-2017, 02:49 PM
Watching this game live on Sportsmania, very open game. Should be more goals.
What channel mate?

11-02-2017, 02:52 PM
H-T 1-0 so far so good, but match stats indicate it's a close game.

11-02-2017, 02:53 PM
What channel mate?

Falkirk TV mate.

kevinc
11-02-2017, 02:55 PM
Falkirk TV mate.
Perfect, will catch the 2nd half, thanks:thumbsup::

11-02-2017, 02:57 PM
Who is our game in hand against?

11-02-2017, 03:01 PM
Perfect, will catch the 2nd half, thanks:thumbsup::

Not the best production but I watch hundreds of live English football so good for a wee change.

11-02-2017, 03:07 PM
Who is our game in hand against?

I presume it's Raith next week, as United are playing in Irn Bru Cup

11-02-2017, 03:09 PM
Falkirk away to Greenock Morton next Saturday. Hibs still have to do the business though, and win their matches.
Exactly hibs can not afford to have a second half of the season fade.

11-02-2017, 03:10 PM
Blair Spittal off with a bad injury. Anything that weakens them is good in my book.

11-02-2017, 03:11 PM
Falkirk TV mate.

Is that on the clubs section?

11-02-2017, 03:11 PM
Falkirk penalty

11-02-2017, 03:12 PM
2-0

11-02-2017, 03:12 PM
Is that on the clubs section?

Yeah. In clubs section.

11-02-2017, 03:14 PM
Skoooooosh 😎 Hand us the title now!

11-02-2017, 03:14 PM
2-0

Nice :greengrin

11-02-2017, 03:16 PM
Still not sure about that but they really needed to back up last weeks gain on us with a win today. Much as I don't think we are Barcelona, Utd are total pish

Big L
11-02-2017, 03:17 PM
That will do nicely!

11-02-2017, 03:18 PM
I presume it's Raith next week, as United are playing in Irn Bru Cup

I think its away to St Mirren.

Falkirk and Utd. pulled forward their Wednesday night fixture because both would have been idle today.

11-02-2017, 03:18 PM
3-0

11-02-2017, 03:19 PM
United are an utter shambles in the game now. All pushing forward, no cover, arguing, fans leaving early. Capitulating.

11-02-2017, 03:20 PM
United are an utter shambles in the game now. All pushing forward, no cover, arguing, fans leaving early. Capitulating.

Good stuff.

Hibeewilly
11-02-2017, 03:21 PM
Lovely :agree:

Toshney now off with a sore injury. That's both him and Spittal off injured.

#persevered
Falkirk giving us a big help today. Sounds like United are all over the place

11-02-2017, 03:22 PM
3-0

You are 5 minutes in front of open all numpties mate :greengrin

Great result for us ..... Coz I can afford to be nice I hope the lad Spittal is OK, seems like a really promising young player.

11-02-2017, 03:23 PM
4-0

Edit

Shocking decision to chop it off. Still 3-0.

Keeper clattered his own defender - ref gives the foul. Utterly shocking.

Lovely for the goal difference too.

Falkirk giving us a big help today. Sounds like United are all over the place

We don't need help. Dundee Utd aren't good enough to keep up.

11-02-2017, 03:24 PM
Reverses last week 2 points dropped and gives us chance to increase lead to 9 which would be biggest lead to date. Yogi new manager bounce may give Raith a boost though.

Falkirk doing well and potentially could go on another long run. But it looks like they, Morton and United fighting for 2nd and play off positions/order.

Let's not rule out Falkirk after last season

We are effectively x amount of points ahead plus one for goal difference now. Pleasing.

Big L
11-02-2017, 03:28 PM
Nice wee boost for tomorrow, get this league out of the way soon as, we don't want to be worrying about leagues when we are in this year's cup final.

Edinburgh Green
11-02-2017, 03:32 PM

Rule them out from what? Winning the league?!

11-02-2017, 03:34 PM
I think its away to St Mirren.

Falkirk and Utd. pulled forward their Wednesday night fixture because both would have been idle today.

That's right I think. Hibs are away to St Mirren on Wednesday 1 March (7:45 KO).

11-02-2017, 03:41 PM

That's them level with Morton and only 3 behind United now.

Not sure what last season has to do with the price of cheese though. :hmmm:

11-02-2017, 03:43 PM
So is this the part of the season where Falkirk start winning 5000000 games in a row and run us close again?

11-02-2017, 03:47 PM
So is this the part of the season where Falkirk start winning 5000000 games in a row and run us close again?

Committing 5000000 fouls

11-02-2017, 03:49 PM
We don't need help. Dundee Utd aren't good enough to keep up.

Steady. Steady :greengrin

11-02-2017, 03:53 PM
Falkirk now with 2nd best goal difference in the division.

11-02-2017, 03:53 PM
9 points ahead of Falkirk with a game in hand. Surely we couldn't muck up that badly?

high bee
11-02-2017, 03:54 PM
Wow, UTD couldn't muster a shot on target today. If they'd won we would've only had a 3 point gap and regardless of the game in hand that would create pressure.

This has the potential to be the playoff final and that's gonna give Falkirk a huge lift, they've got plenty continuity and experience of the playoffs as well.

FT 3-0. That will do nicely. Still detest Falkirk though.

What's with the bedwetters on here about Falkirk ffs guys...today was a good day for us...just chill jeezo

11-02-2017, 03:55 PM
What's with the bedwetters on here about Falkirk ffs guys...today was a good day for us...just chill jeezo

Yip, no negative from that result. It's a good day.

11-02-2017, 03:56 PM
Wow, UTD couldn't muster a shot on target today. If they'd won we would've only had a 3 point gap and regardless of the game in hand that would create pressure.

This has the potential to be the playoff final and that's gonna give Falkirk a huge lift, they've got plenty continuity and experience of the playoffs as well.

Can't be the play off final. That involves the 11th placed premiership team.

11-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Yip, no negative from that result. It's a good day.

Sure is Ozy...lovely boost going in to 2moro...and a chance to go effectively 10 clear (with goal diff) next Sat

high bee
11-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Can't be the play off final. That involves the 11th placed premiership team.

Doh! Make that the semi final.

11-02-2017, 04:00 PM
Falkirk played some good football today although you have to take into account how bad United were.

11-02-2017, 04:04 PM
United's main concern now is that they go into free fall in the League and slip out the play-off slots. They badly need a win.

11-02-2017, 04:04 PM
United's main concern now is that they go into free fall in the League and slip out the play-off slots. They badly need a win.

They got one last week?

11-02-2017, 04:05 PM
Oops I meant two wins...forgot about counting Gary Locke's Raith. Do you get points for that?

hibs#1
11-02-2017, 04:10 PM
I feel we'll win the league still won't be easy.I'd fancy falkirk to win the the playoffs as someone mentioned they have the continuity and experience.hopefully we are no where near the playoffs they haven't exactly went well for us since they came back.

11-02-2017, 04:12 PM
The Arabs don't seem very confident of their chances -

"This is a red light, danger sign of what could happen in the play offs.
The warnings have been coming."

Not even mentioning winning the league.

11-02-2017, 04:13 PM
Oops I meant two wins...forgot about counting Gary Locke's Raith. Do you get points for that?

Well the Barcelona/Real Madrid select couldn't beat them over two 90 minute matches in the Scottish cup so they can't be that bad.

Ich liebe Deek
11-02-2017, 04:14 PM
One win in seven for our closest challenger.Not in the skoosh brigade but we're in a pretty good position.

11-02-2017, 04:16 PM
Great result for us. Teams below us taking points from each other is good news.

11-02-2017, 04:17 PM
I feel we'll win the league still won't be easy.I'd fancy falkirk to win the the playoffs as someone mentioned they have the continuity and experience.hopefully we are no where near the playoffs they haven't exactly went well for us since they came back.

As it stands 10 wins from 13 games wins us the league, and that is only if united win every game (this won't happen), so your probably talking 7/8 wins, If we don't win it it'll be an astronomical collapse.

11-02-2017, 04:19 PM
Utd have never been good, in fact no one in this league will take us to the wire.

11-02-2017, 04:19 PM
No easy game next week either for Utd, they're away to St Mirren who are getting the odd decent result

11-02-2017, 04:30 PM
Morton probably don't have the pool, and United being found out a bit now. Falkirk traditionally have a strong second half to the season, so I think they'll push us closest.

But it really is in our hands now. We can afford the odd shabby performance -like the one at home to Ayr- and still prevail, but we really ought to be making a statement and steamrollering this League now.

11-02-2017, 04:39 PM
As it stands 10 wins from 13 games wins us the league, and that is only if united win every game (this won't happen), so your probably talking 7/8 wins, If we don't win it it'll be an astronomical collapse.

8 wins in 13 would be equal to our best league form of the season so that's not exactly an astronomical collapse, albeit we got draws rather than defeats in amongst those runs. Great result for us today and makes it more likely we will win the league but talking of skooshing it is still off the mark.

11-02-2017, 04:40 PM

These are my thoughts - I think 7 or 8 wins from 13 games and we are champions.

Win our 6 remaining home games and we should be fine.

We also play Utd soon but would like to beat Falkirk also.

The playoffs are a nightmare and don't want to go anywhere near them ever again.

11-02-2017, 04:41 PM
8 wins in 13 would be equal to our best league form of the season so that's not exactly an astronomical collapse, albeit we got draws rather than defeats in amongst those runs. Great result for us today and makes it more likely we will win the league but talking of skooshing it is still off the mark.
We will pish the league.

11-02-2017, 04:41 PM
Good result for us following last weeks draw, and a terrible one for United. By the time they play in the league again Morton could be ahead of them, and then they play each other which could rule one of them out of the chasing pack.

11-02-2017, 04:44 PM
Back to skooshing it again then? :greengrin

11-02-2017, 04:44 PM
The Arabs don't seem very confident of their chances -

"This is a red light, danger sign of what could happen in the play offs.
The warnings have been coming."

Not even mentioning winning the league.

Who made that quote mate?

11-02-2017, 04:57 PM
Raith will be a tough game. They'll be fired up under the guidance of a new manager. Our away form has generally good and being honest with our squad we should be able to beat every team in this league. Some players will have to step up and make a difference for us in the run in having otherwise been posted missing for most of the season.

11-02-2017, 04:59 PM
Good result today - hopefully we can go on the sort of lengthy winning streak that we've never quite managed to acheive so far, and not have to pay any attention to what others are doing.

11-02-2017, 05:14 PM
No easy game next week either for Utd, they're away to St Mirren who are getting the odd decent result
It's the Irn Bru cup mate

Cat Stanton
11-02-2017, 05:17 PM

Comes from years of supporting Hibs, mate.. A natural, innate, worrying mechanism....

11-02-2017, 05:18 PM
It's the Irn Bru cup mate

Hurt at the time to lose to St Mirren, but glad we can focus on league now
Bet St smirren and United wish they had league games next weekend

11-02-2017, 05:20 PM
Hurt at the time to lose to St Mirren, but glad we can focus on league now
Bet St smirren and United wish they had league games next weekend
Apart from tomorrow mate :wink:

11-02-2017, 05:20 PM
Raith will be a tough game. They'll be fired up under the guidance of a new manager. Our away form has generally good and being honest with our squad we should be able to beat every team in this league. Some players will have to step up and make a difference for us in the run in having otherwise been posted missing for most of the season.

Steady on bud! It's Yogi :greengrin

11-02-2017, 05:21 PM

Must have forgot about that😄😄

11-02-2017, 05:22 PM

Why? What's happening tomorrow?

11-02-2017, 05:26 PM
Who made that quote mate?

Found it on an Arabs forum, typical of the things they're saying after their result today.

Curly1875
11-02-2017, 05:27 PM
Why? What's happening tomorrow?

A game for some pishy auld cup that I'm sure we'll never win

11-02-2017, 05:30 PM
They have to win seven more points than us in the next 12 games - far from impossible, but we should have enough to see his out.

Before they came to ER, United had conceded something like 3 goals in their previous 10 games - in their last 5, they've conceded 10, and that includes a clean sheet last week. We've only conceded 12 league goals all season.

cammy1969
11-02-2017, 05:32 PM
We've only lost 2 in 23 in league so far so can't see us losing 4-5 in the remaining 13, and can't see the teams behinds us winning all there games.

11-02-2017, 06:22 PM
We've only lost 2 in 23 in league so far so can't see us losing 4-5 in the remaining 13, and can't see the teams behinds us winning all there games.

Win our next three and I think we will be just about there. The teams below us will take points off each other meaning we should be able to keep a good distance from the rest.

Canon Hannan
11-02-2017, 06:24 PM

Thank you to Neil, Leanne and the boys. It's a great record actually.

11-02-2017, 06:34 PM
Quote from DU manager after the game:

"That was a massive disappointment - this was a real opportunity to put some pressure on Hibs and we failed miserably.

That performance was not nearly good enough, it was unacceptable & I can only apologise to our fans. I really felt for the fans as that was the most inept we have been all season, particularly after we did well last week.

The 2 goals we lost in the second half were comical, especially the third where we had three people in the box who failed to clear the ball. It was just not good enough."

Sounds good. Keep it going Arabs.

11-02-2017, 06:39 PM
If we can win our next two games I reckon that should just about do it.

Dundee Utd have a really tough game against Morton in two weeks' time although they do have a good record at Tannadice this season so I would expect them to win that.

The important thing is to win against Raith Rovers next week. We need to make our game in hand count and go 9 points clear. It will be interesting to see how they get on with Hughes in charge as they are really struggling for points to try and move away from that play off place.

traceyhibs
11-02-2017, 06:39 PM
Brilliant result and one less thing for us to worry about this weekend. 6pts, superior goal difference and a game in hand - love it

11-02-2017, 06:56 PM
QotS at home 15/04/17 will be the latest we win this league but might be even earlier with a good few wins in a row.

11-02-2017, 07:01 PM
As we all should have anticipated, Utd have buckled under the pressure and now in danger of being swamped by the chasing pack who smell blood. Would not surprise me if they now fell out of the PO places. Hibs simply need to looks after No 1.

11-02-2017, 07:05 PM
As we all should have anticipated, Utd have buckled under the pressure and now in danger of being swamped by the chasing pack who smell blood. Would not surprise me if they now fell out of the PO places. Hibs simply need to looks after No 1.

Dont think they'll fall out the play off places, they are 12 points ahead of Queens, can't see them blow that.

Happy to be out in front at this stage, with chance to increase it next week

11-02-2017, 07:08 PM
We will have a better idea in four weeks after we have been back at Tannadice; I'd like to think that by then our lead is bigger than it is today.

11-02-2017, 07:31 PM
A game for some pishy auld cup that I'm sure we'll never win

To​ be fair, we're now not due to win it until 2130.

11-02-2017, 07:31 PM
That's them level with Morton and only 3 behind United now.

Not sure what last season has to do with the price of cheese though. :hmmm:

If Morton win they go second. At this rate Utd could be in 4th before long.

11-02-2017, 07:41 PM
To​ be fair, we're now not due to win it until 2130.

😁

If you're talking of history repeating itself then I prefer Hibs putting out Hearts in the 5th round then going on to lift the cup. 😉

11-02-2017, 08:16 PM

League winning form.

Fact.

JackLadd
11-02-2017, 08:17 PM
I think we won the league today. United would bite your hand for second right now.

12-02-2017, 12:30 PM
I don't think dundee Utd will go up. They'll bottle it.