View Full Version : Anyone Used A Dating Site
FC Leige
08-02-2017, 07:10 PM
If you have ever been involved in on line dating what site did you use and how did you get on?
I fancy trying one out but i dont want to make an erse of myself.
08-02-2017, 07:24 PM
A few boys I play football with use Tinder and Plenty of Fish and seem to be out with different girls all the time.
Not sure they are places to find long term love but for a few dates with a few different girls they seems to work.
Edit: I meant Tinder and POF in my 2nd sentence as opposed to dating sites in general. Know 2 couple who met on Match and are now married.
08-02-2017, 07:42 PM
My cousin and another good mate of mine both married (and had kids with) girls they met on dating sites.
09-02-2017, 01:23 AM
My cousin and another good mate of mine both married (and had kids with) girls they met on dating sites.
Is this a recommendation or a warning?
09-02-2017, 06:49 AM
Is this a recommendation or a warning?
They were both kind of geeky and not that successful with the ladies. But they've somehow landed two women (successful, pretty, seemingly not bunny boilers) they would have struggled to have approached on a night out.
Millions of people cant be wrong I guess.
09-02-2017, 07:14 AM
Met my last girlfriend on tinder. We went out for about 9 months.
ColinNish
09-02-2017, 07:20 AM
They have there pros and cons. POF is full of chancers and if you're looking for a good night, its the place to go, along with Tinder. Tbh, i actually thought match would be better coz you have to pay a fair whack to join it but my mate (who was on it) said its just full of chancers who can afford the monthly subs.
If you don't take it too seriously you should get on OK.
09-02-2017, 08:49 AM
Met my Mrs on POF, just got married in September.
I know plenty of people that have met their current partners on line, although it may not be the traditional way to meet people it's certainly a lot easier as socials aspects of folks life have changed over time.
It's pretty much impossible to make an arse out of these things!
09-02-2017, 12:21 PM
When I was a lad dating sites meant an organisation called Dateline and it was considered a desperate move to contact them.
Things have changed completely as people have jobs that don't allow them to meet socially as easily as before. Also, there's a healthier and more honest approach to dating.
It's all good.
ColinNish
09-02-2017, 12:25 PM
When I was a lad dating sites meant an organisation called Dateline and it was considered a desperate move to contact them.
Things have changed completely as people have jobs that don't allow them to meet socially as easily as before. Also, there's a healthier and more honest approach to dating.
It's all good.
That's debatable.
09-02-2017, 05:03 PM
That's debatable.
Well I think the internet has made it easier for folk to just connect with others whereas in former times there was an element of shame. And so inhibitions have lifted and it's a choice thing rather than a desperate move.
I could be wrong!
ColinNish
09-02-2017, 06:33 PM
Well I think the internet has made it easier for folk to just connect with others whereas in former times there was an element of shame. And so inhibitions have lifted and it's a choice thing rather than a desperate move.
I could be wrong!
Sorry, I've picked you up wrong. I thought you meant folk were healthier and more honest who went on it. Most folk on it are total radges telling all kinds of porkies. And their photos are normally all about 10 years old.
Saturday Boy
09-02-2017, 07:34 PM
I was intrigued by the thread title, but I' realise it must be an age thing. My only experience with a dating site was trying to identify two small Roman coins. Circa 350-450 A.D. it turned out. Not worth enough to retire on. 😳
09-02-2017, 07:48 PM
Sorry, I've picked you up wrong. I thought you meant folk were healthier and more honest who went on it. Most folk on it are total radges telling all kinds of porkies. And their photos are normally all about 10 years old.
Tbh that's not massively different from meeting people in the 'real world' either.
A lot of people 'exaggerate the truth' about themselves and often dress themselves up far more than usual when 'on the pull'.
ColinNish
09-02-2017, 07:51 PM
Tbh that's not massively different from meeting people in the 'real world' either.
A lot of people 'exaggerate the truth' about themselves and often dress themselves up far more than usual when 'on the pull'.
Sorry but i disagree. You cannae really lie about what you look like and your age when you meet someone face to face. I'm not dissing dating sites, they are definitely the way of the world nowadays, but folk need to be careful.
09-02-2017, 07:54 PM
I've never understood why people do that when meeting people or in job interviews, they're only setting themselves up for a fall.
09-02-2017, 10:11 PM
Tinder's ideal if you're no looking for anything steady, put it that way. There's a power to be done on there 😂
10-02-2017, 12:17 PM
Sorry but i disagree. You cannae really lie about what you look like and your age when you meet someone face to face. I'm not dissing dating sites, they are definitely the way of the world nowadays, but folk need to be careful.
I think many females can "lie" about how they look naturally when out on a Saturday night up the town. Some of them cake the make up on so much that when they take it off the next day they look like a completely different person!
I met my boyfriend on Plenty of fish over two years ago and have never been happier! Met a couple of idiots before him but I knew after a first date or even first message they were not for me.
ColinNish
10-02-2017, 12:47 PM
I think many females can "lie" about how they look naturally when out on a Saturday night up the town. Some of them cake the make up on so much that when they take it off the next day they look like a completely different person!
I met my boyfriend on Plenty of fish over two years ago and have never been happier! Met a couple of idiots before him but I knew after a first date or even first message they were not for me.
Yes, I totally agree with you. Point I'm making is that some folk invest a lot of time on dating sites and spend masses of time "talking" to someone before they even get round to meeting them in person. I have a friend who will "talk" to someone for weeks before she will get up the courage to meet up with them. I've already told her this is daft and she should meet up with them earlier than this as she's been disappointed in the past when she finally meets up with them. Blokes can also be fairly good at putting up "recent" photos of themselves.
Slavers
10-02-2017, 01:04 PM
Try www.scottishslappers.co.uk
Does what it says on the tin.
10-02-2017, 02:59 PM
Surely that can't be legit?
10-02-2017, 03:12 PM
That's where I met the Mrs
11-02-2017, 12:43 PM
Ive been on match.com on a 'try before you buy' basis (try the site that is).
There is one woman on there claiming to be 46, but her photos show an attractive woman in her early 20's. This woman is most likely paying a monthly subscription and I wonder, in her mind, how she sees this one playing out?
Regarding Tinder, I hear that its more of a, well let's say, 'casual' dating experience you get.
Seems to me, that online dating offers the most likely solution overall to finding a compatible partner. Its funny to consider that algorithms effectively direct us to toward emotional relations.
11-02-2017, 04:14 PM
Ha Ha! We don't all scrub up as well as we used to!
I take your point but I maintain that it is a lot easier now for people who are shy or lacking in confidence to make contact with other similar folk.
11-02-2017, 05:05 PM
Ive been on match.com on a 'try before you buy' basis (try the site that is).
There is one woman on there claiming to be 46, but her photos show an attractive woman in her early 20's. This woman is most likely paying a monthly subscription and I wonder, in her mind, how she sees this one playing out?
Regarding Tinder, I hear that its more of a, well let's say, 'casual' dating experience you get.
Seems to me, that online dating offers the most likely solution overall to finding a compatible partner. Its funny to consider that algorithms effectively direct us to toward emotional relations.
:tee hee: Glad you clarified that. :greengrin
LustForLeith
13-02-2017, 07:07 PM
One of my mates is on POF and has quite a lot of success despite not being the brawest. And a Jambo.
Another one of my mates was on it loads but has now settled down with a girl he knew years ago from when they were both at school.
Fates a strange thing...
18-02-2017, 12:17 AM
I've been married twice and been in my most recent relationship for over 10 years and I can honestly say I've only successfully chatted up a girl perhaps twice in my life coz I'm rubbish at it, non of my wives or current partner were 'chatted up' doon the boozer, at least not by me :greengrin ...... even now girls in groups of more than one scare the **** out of me, which is strange seeing as how my best friend is female and I have many female friends :confused:
I would say that I've always found the idea that folk pop doon the boozer or nightclub and chat up girls who later become their wife or long term partner to be a bit of an urban myth, at least in modern times ....... It was probably a lot more common in the days of the dance halls and the early disco days when most men worked in an industrial male dominated environment and that was the only place you were likely to get the chance to meet women, but of all the people I know who are married or in long term relationships the vast majority of them already knew each other through work, higher education, common interests, family or mutual friends before they ever started going out.
If I had my time over again I'm pretty sure I would have a go at on line dating, it seems like a logical place to look and at least you lessen the chances of being told to **** off the second you open your mouth, which can be a bit disheartening for those of us who aren't very confident around girls anyway ...... Mind you, it wouldn't matter a toss how far back my picture went, I'm probably the least photogenic person I know :greengrin
Good luck FC Leige :aok:
PS ....... My love of the beautiful game was never shared by either wife or my current partner to put it mildly .... hope you find somebody who has at least a passing interest in the fitba. Time for 'Hibs date Net' perhaps :hmmm:
19-02-2017, 12:40 AM
Right now there is a pretty attractive lady straddling a banister in the advert to the right hand side of this page. If I wasnt in a happy relationship I'd be tempted to click on the link lol.
19-02-2017, 03:24 AM
I've been married twice and been in my most recent relationship for over 10 years and I can honestly say I've only successfully chatted up a girl perhaps twice in my life coz I'm rubbish at it, non of my wives or current partner were 'chatted up' doon the boozer, at least not by me :greengrin ...... even now girls in groups of more than one scare the **** out of me, which is strange seeing as how my best friend is female and I have many female friends :confused:
I would say that I've always found the idea that folk pop doon the boozer or nightclub and chat up girls who later become their wife or long term partner to be a bit of an urban myth, at least in modern times ....... It was probably a lot more common in the days of the dance halls and the early disco days when most men worked in an industrial male dominated environment and that was the only place you were likely to get the chance to meet women, but of all the people I know who are married or in long term relationships the vast majority of them already knew each other through work, higher education, common interests, family or mutual friends before they ever started going out.
If I had my time over again I'm pretty sure I would have a go at on line dating, it seems like a logical place to look and at least you lessen the chances of being told to **** off the second you open your mouth, which can be a bit disheartening for those of us who aren't very confident around girls anyway ...... Mind you, it wouldn't matter a toss how far back my picture went, I'm probably the least photogenic person I know :greengrin
Good luck FC Leige :aok:
PS ....... My love of the beautiful game was never shared by either wife or my current partner to put it mildly .... hope you find somebody who has at least a passing interest in the fitba. Time for 'Hibs date Net' perhaps :hmmm:
Have you seen some of the munters who post on here ffs? (The writer included....)
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
19-02-2017, 10:12 AM
Right now there is a pretty attractive lady straddling a banister in the advert to the right hand side of this page. If I wasnt in a happy relationship I'd be tempted to click on the link lol.
These adverts are based on your browsing history buddy. :wink:
19-02-2017, 10:24 AM
That's where I met the Mrs
I believe I've met your missus there too.
19-02-2017, 01:47 PM
These adverts are based on your browsing history buddy. :wink:
I've had this debate on here before. Never used a dating site in my life (nothing wrong with them, just never used one) so no idea why I get ads for them. 3 of them often pop up. Russian brides, Muslim dating and the one on the banister. I'm no Russian or Muslim either :confused:
19-02-2017, 01:58 PM
I've had this debate on here before. Never used a dating site in my life (nothing wrong with them, just never used one) so no idea why I get ads for them. 3 of them often pop up. Russian brides, Muslim dating and the one on the banister. I'm no Russian or Muslim either :confused:I think it's to do with the content on the page. Either that or it was you on lonely milf in your fishnets:greengrin
19-02-2017, 06:15 PM
Have you seen some of the munters who post on here ffs? (The writer included....)
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
Being a Hibby automatically makes one more attractive ..... that's what ah tell awe the burdz anyway :greengrin