View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Ayr

Pages : 1 [2]

04-02-2017, 03:45 PM
Cmon late winner hibs

Come on the muffin man.

04-02-2017, 03:46 PM
So close from Holt. Fantastic save by the keeper.

Eddie Burntool
04-02-2017, 03:47 PM
oooooooohhhhh, so close! What a save!

04-02-2017, 03:47 PM
Sounds like they are holding on

04-02-2017, 03:48 PM
Come on the muffin man.

We need others to help him out

oooh crackin strike from cummings..good save tipped over

now headed off the line

That ****ing keeper.

Feel its coming, just need it quick!!!

FF man of the match

Eddie Burntool
2 mins left, let's ****ing go Hibs!!!!!

Run run as fast as you can
you can't catch him
he is the muffin man!

04-02-2017, 03:49 PM
We have decent money - I get that.
But nobody has given an example of a player that Lennon wanted and who didn't come because we were being tight.

The squad we have is playing badly today.
I'm not sure who people expect us to have signed that would address that.

There were some rumours linking us with Stokes but he played badly in many games last season.

We're playing badly and blaming the board without evidence of them penny pinching or refusing Lennon's demands doesn't stack up.

Lennon and Dempster had a huge fallout before a ball was kicked in the League, and I have consistently said - all season and regardless of performances - that we needed better/more players.

Eddie Burntool
04-02-2017, 03:49 PM
Feel its coming, just need it quick!!!

That's whit she said...

04-02-2017, 03:50 PM
Brian Graham is never a football player.

04-02-2017, 03:51 PM
that's whit she said...

woo hoo!!!

agueLennon and Dempster had a huge fallout before a ball was kicked in the Le, and I have consistently said - all season and regardless of performances - that we needed better/more players.

That is just pure ****.Why say that?

Eddie Burntool
Lennon and Dempster had a huge fallout before a ball was kicked in the League, and I have consistently said - all season and regardless of performances - that we needed better/more players.

Tend to agree, hopefully this will get sorted quick or we're in big bother...

BigKev

Great time to bring that up...

04-02-2017, 03:52 PM
****ing pish from hibs.

04-02-2017, 03:52 PM
get this graham gadgey back up to the highlands

SlatefordHibby
04-02-2017, 03:54 PM

We've got from him exactly what I expected. Was shocked we wanted him, disappointed we signed him.

What is going on? Is that FT?

aye ok

04-02-2017, 03:55 PM
How can an Ayr player lie on the ground then take at least 2 minutes to leave the park then the ref blow for full time 20 seconds later?

Eddie Burntool
Bloody terrible. What's going on??? :furious::furious::furious:

And he's the only one who is trying a leg.

Bob, I like you, but that's far wrong. He was effin hopeless. He's a wee pansy.

Dire result.

well, will dundee united capitalise on a poor performance by the league skooshers

Effin disgrace this result!

04-02-2017, 03:56 PM
Piiiiiish

Not happy with that today but still top of the League

Awful result. No idea why he dropped Cummings and Shinnie continues to play ahead of McGeough.

Ronster117
Disappointed..... onwards to the next game

F,n poor.

Bloody terrible. What's going on??? :furious::furious::furious:

bye bye

04-02-2017, 03:57 PM
shamefull Ayr have dropped 2 points in their two visits to ER this season

04-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Morton lost. That's something.

04-02-2017, 03:58 PM
Dissapointing but the worst case scenario is that we are six ahead at the end of today. Maybe some players minds at Tynecastle in the first half.

Come on Rudi/Locke/McHattie etc...

04-02-2017, 03:58 PM
Bob called the 1-1. I read his post and felt he made a good point. Maybe too many of the players had their mind elsewhere.

Hibspirational
04-02-2017, 03:59 PM
Commons on an Emergency loan deal anyone?

Said we had to be wary. Lennon made a big mistake resting our better players. Can't take anything for granted.

Eddie Burntool
Meh. **** it - still top.

Did Shinnie and Humphrey win a competition to get a game for us?

04-02-2017, 04:00 PM
tollies.

Awful result. No idea why he dropped Cummings and Shinnie continues to play ahead of McGeough.

Maybe he was giving some players the chance to get themselves considered for next week.

All this does is remind us how important the league in and that no match is a given.

QMU-1875
Fyvie slows everything down. Another player I don't understand the love in with.

Wil take this back, he was excellent in that second half. Shinnie coming off freed him up massively. Starting 11 cost us BIG time today. Cummings should be first name on the team sheet and Holt had a great game when he came on. Hopefully that's the last time we see Andy Shinnie I'm sorry but he is useless, gives the ball away constantly, can't finish and no heart. Humphrey looked very poor also, hopefully a once off.

2 points dropped against rubbish like this, why did Lennon drop Jason Cummings and Grant Holt to the bench when we all knew Ayr would put up this kind of performance?

A shocker, and he better get the formation right next week.

****ing raging of Leith :bitchy:

04-02-2017, 04:01 PM
Bob called the 1-1. I read his post and felt he made a good point. Maybe too many of the players had their mind elsewhere.

Gives me no pleasure, I can assure you. They weren't focused on this game. Lennon will be questioning the mentality of some of them and he'd be right to do so.

That is just pure ****.Why say that?

No it's not and I've said it previously.

The manager is openly quoted last week re new players and heehaw happened.. again.

If you want to believe all is rosy do so. I don't.

Absolute disgrace from Lennon!!

Should have been our strongest team from the start.

We started with Keatings up front on his own, WTF was that all about?!

Boyle got moved forward after 30 mins but that was 100% Lennons fault for 2 points dropped!!

Ronster117
04-02-2017, 04:02 PM
17 shots at goal.... score 1 ayr utd 2 shots 1 goal....tells you we have a problem, but they had a keeper on form and we could have scored more on another day. hopefully utd have a mare too.

Morton lost. That's something.

Shouldn't have to rely on teams like that, not in this bloody league

Disgraceful performance, terrible result. You can bet that D.U will take heart from that and will look to make up ground on us later today. What it'll do for the Jambo's confidence is nobody's business.

04-02-2017, 04:03 PM
FT q.o.s 3 Morton 0

it's a funny old game so it is

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 04:04 PM
Disgraceful performance, terrible result. You can bet that D.U will take heart from that and will look to make up ground on us later today. What it'll do for the Jambo's confidence is nobody's business.
Yet a lot on here were saying a draw today was fine if we beat Hearts next week....

HibeeHendo
04-02-2017, 04:05 PM
McGeouch is a far superior option to Shinnie. Would play McGinn, McGeouch, Marv and drop Shinnie and Fyvie.

Keatings isn't a starter.

Fontaine is a bombscare waiting to happen next week. Would play Forster instead.

This result doesn't set us up well for next week but we're still top and in control.

CallumHibs07
04-02-2017, 04:06 PM
Yet a lot on here were saying a draw today was fine if we beat Hearts next week....

Don't think anyone will care about this result if we win next week.

This league has a long way to go and we are a poorer team than last year imo. Really disappointed we didn't strengthen well this year.

Really worry for guys like Shinnie going to Tynie. Not sure he is up to it.

17 shots at goal.... score 1 ayr utd 2 shots 1 goal....tells you we have a problem, but they had a keeper on form and we could have scored more on another day. hopefully utd have a mare too.

That's happened continually this season

I never said it, but I'd have taken a draw today if it meant beating them next week.

We'll still win this league regardless of 2 points dropped today

04-02-2017, 04:07 PM

Same old story.

04-02-2017, 04:08 PM
That's happened continually this season

And last season.

Difference was that every time it happened last season, Oxley got the blame.

04-02-2017, 04:09 PM
This league has a long way to go and we are a poorer team than last year imo. Really disappointed we didn't strengthen well this year.

Really worry for guys like Shinnie going to Tynie. Not sure he is up to it.

Agreed. We are worse than last season. Hearts now flying hibs will need some rise in performance next week.

andy1875
04-02-2017, 04:11 PM

The manager is openly quoted last week re new players and heehaw happened.. again.

Would you be happier if every poster slated Hibs from the boardroom to the entire playing squad?

We are effectively 7 points clear (even if Dundee Utd win). Its hardly a disaster although 3 points would obviously have been nice today.

If we get hammered next week then feel free to have a go, but we are top of the league and have a massive game next week. A game which I believe we have every chance in.

This forum has become brutal in recent months for criticism. Lightnen up for gods sake.

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 04:13 PM
Agreed. We are worse than last season. Hearts now flying hibs will need some rise in performance next week.
we need winners. Shinnie is not a winner. Only positive from this is that we seen to lift our performance fort the big games

04-02-2017, 04:14 PM
Don't think anyone will care about this result if we win next week.

I think you'll find quite a few who will. Promotion is absolutely everything and performances like that will see us plumet.

WS Hibs
04-02-2017, 04:15 PM
I did say I'd bite your arm off for a draw at Tynecastle. Today's performance showed exactly why.

Bay Area Hibees
04-02-2017, 04:16 PM
We should go up this year. But not because we are a better team than last year.
Cant see anything other than a loss next week unless really raise performance.
Hanlon is a key player for us. Constantly underrated.

04-02-2017, 04:17 PM
I don't give a **** about next week just now tbh. We just drew at home against Ayr United, who we've yet to beat at home this season. Too many players simply not good enough and should rightfully get punted at the end of the season (Shinnie, Keatings, Fontaine).

04-02-2017, 04:17 PM
Getting more p*ssed off at today's result the more I think about it. Should be 11 clear right now with even more pressure put on Dundee United.

04-02-2017, 04:18 PM
McGregor was fantastic from 1st minute to last. No one else got pass marks first half but Humphreys in particular was absolutely anonymous. I honestly can't think of a single thing he did.

Shinnie just isn't working out for us. I feel sorry for him as he got kicked all over the park but seems so reluctant to have a shot and looked lost near their box.

I was really impressed with Holt when he came on. I haven't been a big fan of his but he had an urgency about him that, combined with his physical presence, was hugely important for us.

I've said it before but get McGinn further up the pitch. He's wasted playing that far back. If Commons isn't happening I'd have him at attacking midfield ahead of Shinnie.

We'll have to play a hell of a lot better than that next week. Lennon also needs to get his selection right. Mcgeough and Holt to start and I'd be tempted to play Bartley. I can't see Boyle and Humphreys getting much room so at least one needs to drop out.

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 04:19 PM
I did say I'd bite your arm off for a draw at Tynecastle. Today's performance showed exactly why.
a huge shift in confidence of both teams and supporters since only tuesday...........

04-02-2017, 04:20 PM
Gives me no pleasure, I can assure you. They weren't focused on this game. Lennon will be questioning the mentality of some of them and he'd be right to do so.

He should maybe take a look at himself by dropping our top scorer.

04-02-2017, 04:23 PM
That was brutal...far too many minds on next week...and not just on this forum it would appear

04-02-2017, 04:24 PM
Bad day at the office but more worrying was the complete lack of cohesion all over the park. Players looked like they didn't have a clue as to what formation they were playing. I saw Gray throw his hands up at the bench after one substitution.

Cummings and Graham arguing constantly as well.

04-02-2017, 04:26 PM
A really poor result given that we had the opportunity to go even further clear of United.

I dont get Lennon's constant tinkering with the team, particularly dropping/resting the likes of Cummings. We dont have enough games left to justify needing to rotate the team!

The players also need to step up, we thankfully got something from the game but we dont have a clear enough gap for there to be any complacency.

04-02-2017, 04:26 PM
I see the negative pessimistic posters are back In force today, a point gained against Morton now hopefully dunited, win next week and today us forgotten about

04-02-2017, 04:27 PM
I see the negative pessimistic posters are back In force today, a point gained against Mortin now hopefully dunited, win next week and today us forgotten about

Well yes, generally the tone of posting will be negative when we've drawn at home with ****ing Ayr!

04-02-2017, 04:29 PM
Bad day at the office but more worrying was the complete lack of cohesion all over the park. Players looked like they didn't have a clue as to what formation they were playing. I saw Gray throw his hands up at the bench after one substitution.

Cummings and Graham arguing constantly as well.

Don't want to perpetuate the old BBC issue but on the results programme on telly they were laughing at the shambles we were in today.

ionahibby
04-02-2017, 04:30 PM
I don't give a **** about next week just now tbh. We just drew at home against Ayr United, who we've yet to beat at home this season. Too many players simply not good enough and should rightfully get punted at the end of the season (Shinnie, Keatings, Fontaine).

The Ayr Utd and st mirrens and all these bottom half teams are always going to be difficult to play even when we are in a good run of form. They play out their skin desperate to avoid the drop, sit back and defend and generally have a nothing to lose attitude simply because they don't expect anything from these games. A draw isn't a disaster it doesn't it mean we will get humped next week.

I thought we looked confused and awkward first half, clearly superior the second half. Missed some great chances from headers, some good goalkeeping from Fleming too. We need Keatings for set pieces next week.

Shocking performance from the team, only a couple of pass marks. I have not been Holts biggest fan, in fact I think he's been a woeful signing, but today he came on and did what he was brought to the club for. If he could do that every week, and remember the opposition we are playing against, then it would do for me.

04-02-2017, 04:32 PM
Well yes, generally the tone of posting will be negative when we've drawn at home with ****ing Ayr!
7 points clear that's the stat that counts, todays performance was v poor but we move on like we did after Morton away.

04-02-2017, 04:34 PM
Crap. If we play like that against Hearts we can forget about this best defensive stats stuff, and forget about the cup. They would have taken six or seven off that Ayr side in current form.

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 04:37 PM
The Ayr Utd and st mirrens and all these bottom half teams are always going to be difficult to play even when we are in a good run of form. They play out their skin desperate to avoid the drop, sit back and defend and generally have a nothing to lose attitude simply because they don't expect anything from these games. A draw isn't a disaster it doesn't it mean we will get humped next week.
not if we play better, but of we play like that yes we will get humped, no doubt

04-02-2017, 04:39 PM
Crap. If we play like that against Hearts we can forget about this best defensive stats stuff, and forget about the cup. They would have taken six or seven off that Ayr side in current form.

The Jim Farts won't keep up their recent better form. Hibs will send them crashing out. AGAIN

04-02-2017, 04:41 PM

You mean anyone's business? 😉

04-02-2017, 04:44 PM
Wrong team selection.

1 up front - needed 2 minimum.

Top scorer who saved the day on the bench.

Didn't have a shot on goal till 30 mins.

Humphrey really struggled.

Ayr did well but should have won that. Not quite sure what team he Will play next week in the Derby.

04-02-2017, 04:52 PM
Attendance:14,349

schinkenotto
04-02-2017, 04:53 PM
Must be great to be "in the know" or at least to think you are.As far as I am concerned Leann has done more for Hibs than Lennon has done or ever will do.

04-02-2017, 04:58 PM
We might be sitting in a better position than last year's team but there have been far too many woeful performances this season.

04-02-2017, 04:59 PM

Didn't happen. Strange post

04-02-2017, 05:04 PM
Not good enough today. They sat in and we struggled to break them down.

Very disappointed

04-02-2017, 05:09 PM
I thought we looked confused and awkward first half, clearly superior the second half. Missed some great chances from headers, some good goalkeeping from Fleming too. We need Keatings for set pieces next week.

Most of his deliveries from corners and FKs today were top quality. We just didn't have anyone sharp or determined enough to take advantage.

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 05:11 PM
Attendance:14,349
great crowd. Probably approaching 16,000 seats sold

04-02-2017, 05:14 PM
Most of his deliveries from corners and FKs today were top quality. We just didn't have anyone sharp or determined enough to take advantage.

Yes, but most folk on here think we didn't need to strengthen in January and the league was in the bag. Meanwhile we still struggle to score goals, leave our top scorer on the bench and play a newly signed winger who doesn't want to beat a man or cross a ball.

04-02-2017, 05:23 PM
The Jim Farts won't keep up their recent better form. Hibs will send them crashing out. AGAIN

Yup - if I was NL I'd play all the Hibs-supporting players as they know just how much winning this particular derby will mean !.

For 'Charity Thieves FC', defeat will wipe-out the Hun-game, Cathro will revert back to Cathro and not the mix of Mourhino, Ferguson & Shankly they've proclaimed him to be since the Hun-game but, most of all, their season will be OVER !. Forget all their 'fighting for second' gash, the derby (as it always has been for them) is THE most important game. Losing to us will not only have a dramatically, huge effect on their attendances but eventually, their life-saving D/D's !

For us - sheer ecstasy at all of the above !. Many will see it as confirmation 'there is a God' and that their bill for their 30+ years of 'Finance Football' is now starting to be paid back !

04-02-2017, 05:29 PM
Anyone who knows anything about football (you don't have to be manager of Barca or Bayern Munich) having watched that today, who thinks this league has been won yet really needs to wake up and smell the coffee.

I'm struggling to find anything positive to say about today's shambolic display, other than Hibs managed to pull one point out of the fire in the 74th minute, at home, against the team sitting second bottom of the second tier of Scottish football. A team who haven't won in thirteen matches.

The saddest thing is that after losing the opening goal the final result didn't really come as a huge surprise. Not to me anyway. Seen it all too often before. Another two priceless points lost which could possibly cost Hibs the title. That's far more important than a cup tie against Hearts.

Pissed off and frustrated.

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 05:33 PM
Anyone who knows anything about football (you don't have to be manager of Barca or Bayern Munich) having watched that today, who thinks this league has been won yet really needs to wake up and smell the coffee.

I'm struggling to find anything positive to say about today's shambolic display, other than Hibs managed to pull one point out of the fire in the 74th minute, at home, against the team sitting second bottom of the second tier of Scottish football. A team who haven't won in thirteen matches.

The saddest thing is that after losing the opening goal the final result didn't really come as a huge surprise. Not to me anyway. Seen it all too often before. Another two priceless points lost which could possibly cost Hibs the title. That's far more important than a cup tie against Hearts.

I think a commanding performance and win would not only have given us a much better chance next week but would have gone a long wayy to cementing our position at the top. Now after that dire performance nothing is certain. Probably very fortunate for us Morton got pumped

04-02-2017, 05:38 PM

Cheer up its Saturday Night Crap result agree and thanfully wasnt there but its done
Next week takes care of itself but its the result after that which is all imorpant if United win just now Dont want them to keep clawing points back Makes it more exciting granted
But three years in this division is enough There must of been one player out there we could of brought that was decent enough to play at this level ,but its not happened ,and with Hanlon out ,No 1 keeper out ,and Mcgeoch still not match fit and able to play a few games in a row we dont seem to have the strenth in Depth some think we have
If Holt could score a few it wpuld help

04-02-2017, 05:39 PM
It's been a while since I've been angered as much by a performance. I can take dropping points if we're unlucky but too many players coasted through it and if I was an Ayr fan I'd have been disappointed to not win that.

04-02-2017, 05:43 PM
McGregor was fantastic from 1st minute to last. No one else got pass marks first half but Humphreys in particular was absolutely anonymous. I honestly can't think of a single thing he did.

Shinnie just isn't working out for us. I feel sorry for him as he got kicked all over the park but seems so reluctant to have a shot and looked lost near their box.

I was really impressed with Holt when he came on. I haven't been a big fan of his but he had an urgency about him that, combined with his physical presence, was hugely important for us.

I've said it before but get McGinn further up the pitch. He's wasted playing that far back. If Commons isn't happening I'd have him at attacking midfield ahead of Shinnie.

We'll have to play a hell of a lot better than that next week. Lennon also needs to get his selection right. Mcgeough and Holt to start and I'd be tempted to play Bartley. I can't see Boyle and Humphreys getting much room so at least one needs to drop out.

:agree: Spot on, Neil.

Humph's a bogie :wink:. Never took on a man once. Played the easy pass back every time.
Daz was fantaz as usual.
Keatings, despite a couple of poor corner kicks, was probably my MOTM.
Fyvie blew a bit hot & cold but was always hungry and there to take a pass.
SJM was good in flashes.
Spot on re. Holt. I've stated before I'm not a fan but when he came on he showed the urgency that was sadly lacking.

We should be rolling over teams like Ayr with skill, pace and clinical finishing. We're not and that worries me.
Ayr came and had a game plan and it worked for them.
Us? Wrong team, with the wrong tactics and again far too pedestrian. Same old, same old.

Someone said before that this referee was a right plonker and to be fair the Specsaver didn't disappoint. Abysmal performance.

04-02-2017, 05:46 PM
Would go against the grain and say that although his passing was poor, Fontaine won most balls in the air today. Played his part.

To deliver...
04-02-2017, 05:47 PM
Ayr came out and set up shop, just as they did last time we played them. Any team who plays a flat 442 against us have a great chance of at least nicking a point.
Lennon should have predicted this correctly and started with out top goal scorer up top with a winger either side to cross and allow him to get in between the defenders (as in the ER derby last year).
Failing that, we need a player who can unlock a defence with one pass, something we had in Commons.
The derby will be a lot more open, thus allowing us to play some football. However, that is no excuse for today's result.
With more home than away games in the run in, we really need to prepare for these teams who are going to come here and park the bus as such.
For me, this will really be make or break for Lennon.

04-02-2017, 05:52 PM

I thought he had a really ropey start to the game and was very poor for about half an hour.

He improved from there though, put it behind him and I thought he went on to have a very good game (other than that awful chance that he blazed over the bar).

04-02-2017, 05:54 PM
Would go against the grain and say that although his passing was poor, Fontaine won most balls in the air today. Played his part.

He also had a really shaky start to the game but I thought that like all of the back four went on to have a decent game.

Our biggest problems lay elsewhere, but the uncharacteristically diabolical defending for their goal put us in a position we shouldn't have been in.

To deliver...
04-02-2017, 05:55 PM
Ayr came out and set up shop, just as they did last time we played them. Any team who plays a flat 442 against us have a great chance of at least nicking a point.
Lennon should have predicted this correctly and started with out top goal scorer up top with a winger either side to cross and allow him to get in between the defenders (as in the ER derby last year).
Failing that, we need a player who can unlock a defence with one pass, something we had in Commons.
The derby will be a lot more open, thus allowing us to play some football. However, that is no excuse for today's result.
With more home than away games in the run in, we really need to prepare for these teams who are going to come here and park the bus as such.

04-02-2017, 05:55 PM
We should have won the game comfortably but couldn't close it out. These things happen; just one of those days. You're never going tow in every game; we'll be fine.

04-02-2017, 05:56 PM
The starting line up today is as baffling a selection as I can remember. Two wingers without a target man and our only consistent goalscorer sat warming the bench yet again. It looked like an awful line up before a ball was kicked but I never guessed that it would be even worse. What a loss Hanlon is to this team, the defence was all over the shop on the rare occasions that Ayr did attack. A loss of two points and I think the players have to take some blame but Lennon was the architect of those dropped points. The decision to ply Cummings behind Graham and Holt really pissed me off. He just got us out of jail and then got the instruction to play further away from Ayr's goal.

Humphrey looked completely disinterested, Shinnie worked hard but very easily dispossessed, Graham looked poor again but to be fair rarely gets a chance, Laidlaw has been good but a shocking mistake, Holt did well when he came on but two decent chances to score with his head and again blanked. Lennon's signings have really failed to make an impression.

Next week should take care of itself in terms of motivation and effort but please just play our strongest team and make sure the blond boy who scores regularly is on the pitch.

04-02-2017, 06:00 PM

They clearly didn't play 442. Number 11 up top on his own.

04-02-2017, 06:01 PM
:agree: Spot on, Neil.

Humph's a bogie :wink:. Never took on a man once. Played the easy pass back every time.
Daz was fantaz as usual.
Keatings, despite a couple of poor corner kicks, was probably my MOTM.
Fyvie blew a bit hot & cold but was always hungry and there to take a pass.
SJM was good in flashes.
Spot on re. Holt. I've stated before I'm not a fan but when he came on he showed the urgency that was sadly lacking.

We should be rolling over teams like Ayr with skill, pace and clinical finishing. We're not and that worries me.
Ayr came and had a game plan and it worked for them.
Us? Wrong team, with the wrong tactics and again far too pedestrian. Same old, same old.

Someone said before that this referee was a right plonker and to be fair the Specsaver didn't disappoint. Abysmal performance.

Thought he was OK. He was consistent even if not every decision was correct. He also played what felt like a full amount of stoppage time.

04-02-2017, 06:08 PM
Awful

04-02-2017, 06:12 PM
The ref was in no way responsible for that result today.

If I had to blame anyone it would be Neil Lennon, all he had to do was name an unchanged team.

04-02-2017, 06:24 PM
How the **** did Fyvie get man of the match? I must have watched a different game.

04-02-2017, 06:27 PM
How the **** did Fyvie get man of the match? I must have watched a different game.

No one deserved the MoM today. Whoever chose it must have just put all the names in a hat and picked one out randomly.

04-02-2017, 06:28 PM

I don't think there was a MOM. Maybe Darren McGregor at a push. That said, the defending, as a team, for Ayr's goal was really poor.

I might be wrong, but I think it all came as a result of Stevenson giving the ball away in his own half.

pontius pilate
04-02-2017, 06:34 PM
For me we set the tone early on with a slow pedestrian build up then to give the Ayr goal scorer a free run with no one closing down was criminal I thought that might give us the kick up the erse to raise our game but nope 1st 45 was woeful. Humphrey when he cut inside was better than neon out wide there is certainly an issue with him. McGregor in the 2nd half had a few bombscare moments fyvie great if you wanted to slow it down for me too many backward sideways passing from him. All in all a bad day at the office from the starting 11 certainly more urgency when Holt and if came on.

The players need to pick them selves up for next week and maybe thays what the issue was they had one eye on next week instead of concentrating on this game.

04-02-2017, 06:35 PM
I don't think there was a MOM. Maybe Darren McGregor at a push. That said, the defending, as a team, for Ayr's goal was really poor.

I might be wrong, but I think it all came as a result of Stevenson giving the ball away in his own half.

You are right. Nevertheless, we let the guy swan through our entire defence as if it was a dad's v bairns game on a Sunday picnic.

04-02-2017, 06:37 PM
They clearly didn't play 442. Number 11 up top on his own.

exactly. in the seconf half the ball was played forward towards their goal and only 1 Ayr player was over the half way line.

04-02-2017, 06:38 PM
You are right. Nevertheless, we let the guy swan through our entire defence as if it was a dad's v bairns game on a Sunday picnic.

:agree: An absolute gift. The Ayr players looked like they couldn't believe it.

04-02-2017, 06:39 PM
Yes, but most folk on here think we didn't need to strengthen in January and the league was in the bag. Meanwhile we still struggle to score goals, leave our top scorer on the bench and play a newly signed winger who doesn't want to beat a man or cross a ball.

Give. It. A. Rest.

Must be the most tedious type of post on here - the oh-so-self-righteous 'I am right and you people best realise it'.

04-02-2017, 06:43 PM

Fyvie was fine today. Broke up play well and made some good passes.

Thought the attacking from both Stevenson and Gray was also good. Gray was unlucky with his back post headers a few times and Lewie's crossing second half was as good as I've seen it.

McGinn didn't look right in the first half but came on a bit in the second. Grant Holt made a big difference too.

Overall I was happy with Fyvie getting the award. Great wee player.

04-02-2017, 06:45 PM
Could be worse, what if you were a Liverpool fan and you had got beaten by Hull after spending all those millions, football is not an exact science so take chill pill and relax.

04-02-2017, 06:53 PM
Could be worse, what if you were a Liverpool fan and you had got beaten by Hull after spending all those millions, football is not an exact science so take chill pill and relax.

Scouse Hibee will be along shortly to explain what's happening :greengrin

04-02-2017, 06:54 PM

This post is sound.

houstonhibbee
04-02-2017, 07:05 PM
Give. It. A. Rest.

Must be the most tedious type of post on here - the oh-so-self-righteous 'I am right and you people best realise it'.
Don't see that. Sounds like he's frustrated with the poor performance

04-02-2017, 07:13 PM
Fyvie was fine today. Broke up play well and made some good passes.

Thought the attacking from both Stevenson and Gray was also good. Gray was unlucky with his back post headers a few times and Lewie's crossing second half was as good as I've seen it.

McGinn didn't look right in the first half but came on a bit in the second. Grant Holt made a big difference too.

Overall I was happy with Fyvie getting the award. Great wee player.

I thought so too.

It's funny that it came during such an abject performance and result, but I though Lewis put at least 3 superb balls into the box and he was also much better at driving at his man and taking him on round the outside.

Stevenson and Humphrey looked like they'd swapped places today, as Humphrey all too often opted for the cut back and pass that Stevenson is so often guilty of when in a decent position.

04-02-2017, 07:36 PM

But you do not have any facts to back it up.You just went for a random statement when people all over the world were trying to keep up with the match. There is a time and place for comments like that. Just because you keep repeating it does not mean it is true or will become a fact. It is *****. Leeann and Lennon have a very good relationship. Yes he will be disappointed he did not get players he wanted, so will Leann and George Craig and other people who spent a long time on deals, but we tried very, very hard. Not just Commons and Stokes but for other positions people on here know need improving. Hopefully they will come after the summer when we are in the Premiership. It gets on my goat when folk come on stating "facts" with no substance. It is really easy to shout from the outside. Your cheap jibe about Lennon and Leeann was pathetic and very badly timed.

I know you have contacts at Dundee Utd. Ask them how hard they tried to get 2 players which didn't happen. (I know by the way).Take it that means that McKinnon and Thompson don't get on using your logic?

Look sometimes deals don't happen and that is life. Nothing to do with personalities.

04-02-2017, 07:57 PM

If I had to blame anyone it would be Neil Lennon, all he had to do was name an unchanged team.

No pun intended and despite players saying contrary, hearts and minds were on next week and not on today - including Lennon's selection. Next week is a free hit and should take care of itself - what worries me is Hibs lack of urgency first 15 in each game. Minute the whistle sounds they should be pressing and dominating and closing down - whether it's Ayr, Raith or Hearts. At home an early goal is devastating in this league and settles nerves. Fed up watching our side in this division fail to consistently start games at extremely high tempo.

pedroorange1875
04-02-2017, 08:21 PM
No pun intended and despite players saying contrary, hearts and minds were on next week and not on today - including Lennon's selection. Next week is a free hit and should take care of itself - what worries me is Hibs lack of urgency first 15 in each game. Minute the whistle sounds they should be pressing and dominating and closing down - whether it's Ayr, Raith or Hearts. At home an early goal is devastating in this league and settles nerves. Fed up watching our side in this division fail to consistently start games at extremely high tempo.

Full stop

04-02-2017, 09:24 PM
One eye on hertz. Embarrassing

04-02-2017, 09:28 PM
I thought so too.

It's funny that it came during such an abject performance and result, but I though Lewis put at least 3 superb balls into the box and he was also much better at driving at his man and taking him on round the outside.

Stevenson and Humphrey looked like they'd swapped places today, as Humphrey all too often opted for the cut back and pass that Stevenson is so often guilty of when in a decent position.

I think that's because of humphrey being surrounded when he did get the ball, and the options in the middle were brutal for crosses in the first half, keatings and boyle were the out ball against large centre halfs. Shinnie made some ok runs into the box but couldn't ever do anything with it and when he had the ball at his feet he always looked out of control.

Lewis crossing in the second half was decent, much better than grays despite gray getting in much better positions.

GORDONSMITH7
04-02-2017, 09:59 PM

Succinct and spot on Jock.

BIG G

04-02-2017, 10:02 PM
MOTM was Greig Fleming by a distance.

04-02-2017, 10:34 PM

It worries you and everybody else in the fan-base too, that I'm sure.
A bigger worry is nothing is being done about it seemingly.

05-02-2017, 01:04 AM

Bang on, Scoopers.

houstonhibbee
05-02-2017, 02:25 AM
I think that's because of humphrey being surrounded when he did get the ball, and the options in the middle were brutal for crosses in the first half, keatings and boyle were the out ball against large centre halfs. Shinnie made some ok runs into the box but couldn't ever do anything with it and when he had the ball at his feet he always looked out of control.

Lewis crossing in the second half was decent, much better than grays despite gray getting in much better positions.
if things are not working on the pitch or players not doing what they were told to do then its up to the manager to see whats going on and send out instructions to the players. Is Lennon coaching from the technical area? Hard to tell from Hibs TV

05-02-2017, 06:09 AM
if things are not working on the pitch or players not doing what they were told to do then its up to the manager to see whats going on and send out instructions to the players. Is Lennon coaching from the technical area? Hard to tell from Hibs TV

If swearing loudly at the players every time something went wrong counts then he was coaching.

The Leith Dutch
05-02-2017, 11:17 AM

We have 5 forwards, 5 centre mids and 4 centre backs and 2 keepers.
Pretty much all of the above have, at some point, been suggested as "should be in the team" albeit Graham and Forster not often.
That's pretty good depth in those areas if we're taking a realistic assessment of where we're at right now and bearing in mind that good players won't sit and warm the bench.

We don't have decent cover for the full backs and we're short on wide midfielders - Humphrey, Boyle and Harris at a push - but otherwise we have good depth. So I'd agree we need a first choice left winger and some back up on the full backs (particularly given NL clearly doesn't rate Crane).

That leaves better players.

Part of my frustration on here is that there's a lot of arguments based on players we didn't sign (or that we have and don't play) being the answer. It's an easy argument to make because they're not playing so the poster can't be wrong. "Stokes would score for fun in this league" was always the argument before we signed him. Then he didn't. (And don't get me wrong I like Stokes as a player).

I'm interested in who would you have signed and who would you have signed them in place of?

I'm interested in who you think we didn't get that we reasonably could have?

Commons springs to mind in the latter category but assuming the posts on his wages were broadly in the right ball park I'd argue he was out of our price range - particularly if you consider not just his/Celtic's wage demand but the demands that our other top players would have made to be brought more in line.

FWIW I'm not happy with yesterday's result but I'm just not convinced that the problem is who we signed and the current squad.

I think it's how that squad is playing football which to me is either the coaches pushing inadequate ideas/tactics or the players not executing them.

If you push me I'd say the latter - the players are playing without the right tempo and intensity.
When we actually push forward quickly - not long balls but moving the ball through the midfield quickly with minimal touches - I think we look like we'll over run teams.

05-02-2017, 11:22 AM
The more I think about it I think it was just a bad day at the office.

Lennon got the team wrong, the defence and goalkeeper were culpable in losing a bd early goal which put us under pressure, we struggled to create and had a few players who had shockers.

That's the benefit in being 8 points clear - you can learn what you can, dust yourself down and make sure it doesn't happen again (for a while).

I suspect there were a few too many eyes on next week too, which wasn't great.

05-02-2017, 11:29 AM
We have 5 forwards, 5 centre mids and 4 centre backs and 2 keepers.
Pretty much all of the above have, at some point, been suggested as "should be in the team" albeit Graham and Forster not often.
That's pretty good depth in those areas if we're taking a realistic assessment of where we're at right now and bearing in mind that good players won't sit and warm the bench.

We don't have decent cover for the full backs and we're short on wide midfielders - Humphrey, Boyle and Harris at a push - but otherwise we have good depth. So I'd agree we need a first choice left winger and some back up on the full backs (particularly given NL clearly doesn't rate Crane).

That leaves better players.

Part of my frustration on here is that there's a lot of arguments based on players we didn't sign (or that we have and don't play) being the answer. It's an easy argument to make because they're not playing so the poster can't be wrong. "Stokes would score for fun in this league" was always the argument before we signed him. Then he didn't. (And don't get me wrong I like Stokes as a player).

I'm interested in who would you have signed and who would you have signed them in place of?

I'm interested in who you think we didn't get that we reasonably could have?

Commons springs to mind in the latter category but assuming the posts on his wages were broadly in the right ball park I'd argue he was out of our price range - particularly if you consider not just his/Celtic's wage demand but the demands that our other top players would have made to be brought more in line.

FWIW I'm not happy with yesterday's result but I'm just not convinced that the problem is who we signed and the current squad.

I think it's how that squad is playing football which to me is either the coaches pushing inadequate ideas/tactics or the players not executing them.

If you push me I'd say the latter - the players are playing without the right tempo and intensity.
When we actually push forward quickly - not long balls but moving the ball through the midfield quickly with minimal touches - I think we look like we'll over run teams.

So if you thinks it's the players rather than the coaches tactics, does that mean John McGinn chose to play so deep or he was instructed to? Players do need to take the blame at times but yesterdays tactics and formation were down to Lennon in my opinion. Poor performances by players apart.

05-02-2017, 11:38 AM

Lets forget for a second the ridiculousness of this statement. You don't rate Graham - I disagree. from what I've seen so far he's a decent footballer without having outstanding technique - but has the physique, along with the much more experienced Holt, to give us different options up front. He has scored a reasonable amount of goals so far considering the majority of his appearances have been off the bench. Outstanding he's not, but good enough to make a positive contribution at the level we are at - as has proven the case so far. Your assessment is out of the park .

05-02-2017, 11:42 AM
Lets forget for a second the ridiculousness of this statement. You don't rate Graham - I disagree. from what I've seen so far he's a decent footballer without having outstanding technique - but has the physique, along with the much more experienced Holt, to give us different options up front. He has scored a reasonable amount of goals so far considering the majority of his appearances have been off the bench. Outstanding he's not, but good enough to make a positive contribution at the level we are at - as has proven the case so far. Your assessment is out of the park .

He's scored a goal or 3 from the bench but I've not see much else from him.

Clumsy, 2nd touch is often a tackle and his awareness is non existent. He was played in by Holt from a quick throw in yesterday, had an option in the middle or could have went alone. He took 2 heavy touches then blootered the ball across the box about 6 yards above everyones head. I still can't work out what he was trying to do.

If others disagree fine but he would be below Cummings, Holt, Keatings and Boyle in the pecking order for me.

05-02-2017, 11:46 AM

Agreed - virtually the whole team looked off colour 1st half. I wonder if the air of bewilderment that emanated from their play was related to Lennon's team selection. His decision to start with no out and out striker on the pitch would have been bewildering enough against strong opposition - at home to Ayr United it was plain bizzare! At least the changes made in the second half had a positive effect but I think if we'd started with Jason and Holt up front - or even just one of them between Humphrey and Boyle - we would have seem a different game altogether.

05-02-2017, 11:54 AM
He's scored a goal or 3 from the bench but I've not see much else from him.

Clumsy, 2nd touch is often a tackle and his awareness is non existent. He was played in by Holt from a quick throw in yesterday, had an option in the middle or could have went alone. He took 2 heavy touches then blootered the ball across the box about 6 yards above everyones head. I still can't work out what he was trying to do.

If others disagree fine but he would be below Cummings, Holt, Keatings and Boyle in the pecking order for me.

That's a much more reasonable assessment than "never a footballer". For me he is definately behind JC and Holt who are the other out and out strikers in the squad. Keatings and Boyle present different options as does Graham. Boyle for example brings a lot of pace to the team but also has limited technique - but he is a very useful player for us where we are now and "never a footballer" would be unfair on him too.

05-02-2017, 12:07 PM

Totally agree - but I did arrive 10 minutes late. I was told later that Fontaine was one of those culpable for Ayr's goal, but for the 80 minutes I watched I actually had him down for MOM! I thought his passing was fine and he, along with McGregor looked solid throughout - it was those ahead of them that looked like a dogs dinner. Thankfully central defence is not an area we need to fret about at the moment with the more than decent Forster still in reserve.

The Leith Dutch
05-02-2017, 12:16 PM
So if you thinks it's the players rather than the coaches tactics, does that mean John McGinn chose to play so deep or he was instructed to? Players do need to take the blame at times but yesterdays tactics and formation were down to Lennon in my opinion. Poor performances by players apart.

Don't really disagree and inclined to think it's a bit of both.
Yesterday I don't think Lennon should have changed it - or at least not so drastically - and the formation didn't sound ideal.

I do think that there's a lot of the time he has the right formation and we're still bad.

From what I hear we were pushing hard at the end which sounds like part formation and tactics and part an urgency that I find it bemusing we don't show from the kick off. Seems daft to conserve energy for the end of the game when you could conserve it at the end by being 3 goals up against a demoralised team.