View Full Version : THEM v 2016 Scottish Cup Runners Up Tonight
The Captain....
01-02-2017, 08:42 PM
Take care of Walker in the derby and you stop Hearts. Goncalves made a bit of a difference up front tonight as well as he got thru a power of work in closing down their centre halves.
The Cup game wont be an occasion for stroking the ball about...it would be suicide on that tatiie field of a pitch...get it wide and use Boyle and Humphrey to stretch them..their defence is as bad under pressure as Rangers, it just wasnt tested enough tonight. Still think we'll win the game as I trust this Hibs team to go there and roll up their sleeves..it won't be easy and the odd goal will win it imo.
Would be very surprised if Warburton lasts much longer...cant wait to see his biscuit ersed face interviewed.
01-02-2017, 08:43 PM
Man for man, is the Hearts squad now the tallest ever in Scottish fitba?
The taller they are the further they got to fall.
01-02-2017, 08:44 PM
I'm afraid to say they were a very good team tonight. Rangers were mince but that to a great extent was because of the way the Jambos showed no respect and ran them ragged.
I agree, they tore Sevco to shreds and you can't just blame The Rangers for that, you need to (through gritted teeth) give Hearts credit for that display. We would quite rightly be raving about it if was Hibs who'd done that.
Credit where it's due.
01-02-2017, 08:45 PM
Jamie Walker describing his team mate as "the big Greek boy that came off the bench" ... classy
01-02-2017, 08:45 PM
TBH I can't think of a better example of high pressing over 90 mins in any Scottish game I've watched before [emoji20]
Hope Lennon can work out a system to deal with it.
It will be a battle and if each of our players play to full ability and fight like F88k for every baw then we will give them or any other team a good game, each player will need to win his personal battle it is always the way against them corgie clowns.
01-02-2017, 08:46 PM
Would be very surprised if Warburton lasts much longer...cant wait to see his biscuit ersed face interviewed.
I don't mean to be disrespectful and I mean this with the greatest respect but I don't think Hearts respected us tonight. It was really disrespectful for them to score four goals and I'm all about respecting people and in this day and age if you disrespect us like that by scoring so many goals then in the greatest respect I think that's totally disrespectful and lacks respect. Ehhhhh, I'm off.
01-02-2017, 08:47 PM
I agree, they tore Sevco to shreds and you can't just blame The Rangers for that, you need to (through gritted teeth) give Hearts credit for that display. We would quite rightly rightly be raving about it if was Hibs who'd done that.
Credit where it's due.
Sorry but Hertz and Credit should never be mentioned in the same statement.
HibeeHendo
01-02-2017, 08:47 PM
For the last couple of seasons we've always performed best when teams come at us.
Hearts leave tons of space behind the their full backs which Boyle and Humphrey will take full advantage of.
Their keeper looks really shaky too. Constantly test him and he'll make mistakes.
I think the game could go either way, will be extremely tight. Big Marv will be vital to add some physicality to the midfield.
01-02-2017, 08:48 PM
The taller they are the further they got to fall.
Hope so, and being tall doesn't necessarily make anyone a good footballer. But they just seem to have lots of really big guys in their team/squad now. More so than ever. Just an observation.
01-02-2017, 08:48 PM
Take care of Walker in the derby and you stop Hearts. Goncalves made a bit of a difference up front tonight as well as he got thru a power of work in closing down their centre halves.
The Cup game wont be an occasion for stroking the ball about...it would be suicide on that tatiie field of a pitch...get it wide and use Boyle and Humphrey to stretch them..their defence is as bad under pressure as Rangers, it just wasnt tested enough tonight. Still think we'll win the game as I trust this Hibs team to go there and roll up their sleeves..it won't be easy and the odd goal will win it imo.
Interview .....is this not the sort of time he disappears on holiday for a few months and hope everyone forgets ?
renato
01-02-2017, 08:50 PM
TBH I can't think of a better example of high pressing over 90 mins in any Scottish game I've watched before [emoji20]
I haven't read the whole thread but I really hope they try a high pressing game against us, I really do. Suits us to a tee and we'll nail them on the break, if Cathro's that naive. Plus we'll not make anywhere near as many awful decisions at the back as the new team did tonight.
Should be a good game, can't wait. Let's hope we get over the line this year and we get the derbies back for good.
1875M
01-02-2017, 08:51 PM
I agree, they tore Sevco to shreds and you can't just blame The Rangers for that, you need to (through gritted teeth) give Hearts credit for that display. We would quite rightly be raving about it if was Hibs who'd done that.
Credit where it's due.
Agree with this. Rangers were pretty poor tonight but a decent part of that was due to Hearts pressing. Saying that, some of the players in that Rangers team are bottlers of the highest order, little fight and passion after they realised the game was over. Just don't see that happening with the likes of McGregor, Bartley and Gray, and Lennon as manager. Will be a hard game, but absolutely buzzing.
01-02-2017, 08:52 PM
Sorry but Hertz and Credit should never be mentioned in the same statement.
I'm already thinking of deleting it but it has to be said. They pressed Rangers, never gave them time on the ball and bullied them into mistakes. It's a typical Hearts performance on a tight cut up Tynecsatle pitch and we need to be ready for the same thing. They wont give you time on the ball.
01-02-2017, 08:53 PM
They'll claim to own rangers forever after tonight.
Or 'Killed them as a club' !
01-02-2017, 08:53 PM
Wow. Cathro was actually quite coherent and lucid there. Good interview.
Who are you and what have you done with the real Hearts manager :grr:
01-02-2017, 08:54 PM
Announcer screaming 'BRING ON THE HIBS'
He's a goon
High-On-Hibs
01-02-2017, 08:55 PM
Always happy to see at least one of them get hammered.
Hearts were decent in all fairness, but nowhere near as good as that lot made them look. All of those goals were complete gifts, gifts that we won't be giving them. We'll also be playing with strikers up front.
01-02-2017, 08:56 PM
Anyone know if Lennon was at the game tonight?
01-02-2017, 08:56 PM
I'm already thinking of deleting it but it has to be said. They pressed Rangers, never gave them time on the ball and bullied them into mistakes. It's a typical Hearts performance on a tight cut up Tynecsatle pitch and we need to be ready for the same thing. They wont give you time on the ball.
I hear what you say and agree it will be a battle, but one we are capable of winning with a fair ref of course, as they do also possess a couple of Olympic quality divers.
01-02-2017, 08:58 PM
**** me you'd think we'd just seen Barca play. Let's not let our ***** collapse after one game. Thought their defence looks very ropey and we can press them. Keeper is poor too!
Hibs should go into this game wary but still confident of a result.
01-02-2017, 08:58 PM
He would have to go in disguise with a squad of personal bodyguards, more likely Parker may have been there.
01-02-2017, 08:59 PM
IIRC the last time Neil Lennon sat in the "stand" (lol) at the PBS he had to leave as he was being pelted with missiles. By Sheep fans possibly?
01-02-2017, 08:59 PM
Really ? Hearts played well but crucially scored when they had pressure - first 5 minutes opening each half. After the Hearts second, The Rangers utterly collapsed and lost shape (and heads). Two goals scored tonight from quick free kicks, the third from needless throw to player with back to goal, fourth from goalkeeper howler.
That second half from The Rangers was utterly embarrassing. Yes, credit to Hearts for putting them to the sword but first half they could have gone in 2-1 - loads of joy down Sowah's flank.
Its easy to 'press' when none of The Rangers players want the ball, fight for it, or stay composed. They were laughably embarrassing. Have to say I do love seeing them hammered so round of applause for the Jambos tonight.
01-02-2017, 09:01 PM
Wow. Cathro was actually quite coherent and lucid there. Good interview.
Who are you and what have you done with the real Hearts manager :grr:
Warburton was more incoherent than Cathro. He talks faster than any of his team thinks or runs.
I hear what you say and agree it will be a battle, but one we are capable of winning with a fair ref of course, as they do also possess a couple of Olympic quality divers.
I also thought they got most of the decisions tonight and the break of the ball at times but that's just looking for excuses. I don't think they'll play like that every week but they'll be well up for the cup tie. We need to be up for the battle, make no mistakes and take our chances. I've no idea how it will pan out but they done Sevco over tonight. Yes they got gifted goals but they were forcing mistakes from the start to the finish and that eventually reaps it's rewards.
Warburton will be away soon. Players don't look like they're playing for him.
They're humpty.
That's what it looked like. Threw in the towel.
01-02-2017, 09:03 PM
Always happy to see at least one of them get hammered.
Hearts were decent in all fairness, but nowhere near as good as that lot made them look. All of those goals were complete gifts, gifts that we won't be giving them. We'll also be playing with strikers up front.
It was without a doubt the worst hun performance of the season. They were gifting the Yams possession all night when not even being pressed. The huns were terrible tonight. I wouldn't read too much into that game.
Glory Glory
We'll just have to press them just as hard. Step forward Mr. McGinn, Mr Fyvie and Mr. Bartley...try bullying them.
If these arrogant ****ers want a fight then they'll get one.
01-02-2017, 09:04 PM
Really ? Hearts played well but crucially scored when they had pressure - first 5 minutes opening each half. After the Hearts second, The Rangers utterly collapsed and lost shape (and heads). Two goals scored tonight from quick free kicks, the third from needless throw to player with back to goal, fourth from goalkeeper howler.
That second half from The Rangers was utterly embarrassing. Yes, credit to Hearts for putting them to the sword but first half they could have gone in 2-1 - loads of joy down Sowah's flank.
Its easy to 'press' when none of The Rangers players want the ball, fight for it, or stay composed. They were laughably embarrassing. Have to say I do love seeing them hammered so round of applause for the Jambos tonight.
Generally agree with this, minus giving a round of applause.
Can't deny hearts were good, and obviously far better than what they've been like recently. But that was horrendous from rangers, they didn't even appear bothered at getting houked by what is supposed to be a poor hearts team!
Motherwell will provide a better test for our neighbours on Saturday, while we only need to worry about ourselves.
Both teams now fancy the Derby, it's going to be tasty.
01-02-2017, 09:09 PM
This result will make there fans super confident after tonight. Will be all the sweeter to turn them over.
01-02-2017, 09:09 PM
We need to be disciplined and frustrate Hearts. Against Raith they couldn't find a pass to open up the defence until Walker played through the middle, which totally exposed Benedictus. Rangers gifted goals tonight, and aside from those absolute howlers, the goalie didn't have a save of note.
We have a disciplined defence even without Hanlon. We have a proper defensive mid to nullify Walker- Marvin Bartley. We have SJM, Fyvie and Shinnie who can press their midfield, and support the forwards. We have quick wide players who can break in an instant in Boyle, Keatings and Humphrey. I think Holt would come out on top in a tussle with those defenders, and Hearts had a few sloppy moments that Cummings makes a living off of regularly. Most importantly, we have a winning mentality and a manager that will not allow standards to drop.
We will have to perform on the night, but we've got a number of options in the locker, and I'd back us against any team outside of Celtic.
01-02-2017, 09:12 PM
The Greek midfielder looks a player, apart from that I'm not convinced.
Yep he looked pretty classy Tziolis I think it was. Some of their signings look decent. We will need to play very well to win there but why not.
As utterly rank as sevco were (truly dreadful btw!) hearts still played very well. They are of course far from world beaters but I think after the Raith games and the celtic game folk were starting to think the derby was gonna be a walk over. They clicked tonight and Walker in particular showed once again what a threat he can be.
The pitch is an utterly abysmal state, the derby is gonna be a scrappy affair with very little attractive football. The ball was bobbling about all over the place, getting the ball down and playing isn't going to be an option.
I still firmly believe we have a better team than them but they have got a big confidence boost from this and their fans are suddenly believing in Cathro so we have to be at our best if we are gonna take them down.
JK Rolling
Warburton was more incoherent than Cathro. He talks faster than any of his team thinks or runs.
The first question the Bread man was asked in his post match interview, "What went wrong?", his reply "I don't know". Says it all. Clueless.
Hearts were pretty good but in context The Rangers were so bad that they made them look good.
Bring on the Yams - Still confident.
01-02-2017, 09:13 PM
We need to be disciplined and frustrate Hearts. Against Raith they couldn't find a pass to open up the defence until Walker played through the middle, which totally exposed Benedictus. Rangers gifted goals tonight, and aside from those absolute howlers, the goalie didn't have a save of note.
We have a disciplined defence even without Hanlon. We have a proper defensive mid to nullify Walker- Marvin Bartley. We have SJM, Fyvie and Shinnie who can press their midfield, and support the forwards. We have quick wide players who can break in an instant in Boyle, Keatings and Humphrey. I think Holt would come out on top in a tussle with those defenders, and Hearts had a few sloppy moments that Cummings makes a living off of regularly. Most importantly, we have a winning mentality and a manager that will not allow standards to drop.
We will have to perform on the night, but we've got a number of options in the locker, and I'd back us against any team outside of Celtic.
I agree with all that except it is an early kick off so leaving it to the night is too late.
01-02-2017, 09:15 PM
Positives and negatives for us from that result. The obvious negative is that the Yams have shown they can get it together and win a game that on paper should have been a hell of a lot closer than it was .... The positive is that any complacency we might have had going into our game with them is well and truly put to bed.
As for the Huns ..... It seems to me that they are a team full of bottlers..... they seem OK in home games in front of their 45,000 and in away games at the likes of Motherwell where they have a big away support. But in games like tonight and last time at the PBS where they don't have that advantage they run scared .............. I would certainly hope our lads have more about them than that.
01-02-2017, 09:16 PM
How come the Yams turn from rank rotten to Barcelona overnight?
01-02-2017, 09:19 PM
Halliday has gotten away with murder too many times because he's a badge kisser and a "rangers man" whos sooked up to the support. He flatters to deceive but the smoke screen is well and truly gone now surely and he's been found out for the impostor he is. Badge kissing and singing rangers songs can only get you so far!
K-Zazu
01-02-2017, 09:19 PM
That pitch is horrendous
01-02-2017, 09:20 PM
They played very well.
It's 1 game.
We are hibs, we will remind them just how good we are.
01-02-2017, 09:20 PM
Far from Barcelona, they are still a very average side IMO that were made to look far better than they are tonight due to a woeful, gutless performance from the huns but we still can't afford to underestimate them.
01-02-2017, 09:22 PM
It isn't about Hearts it's about Hibs. If we play to our potential we will win.
01-02-2017, 09:24 PM
That pitch is horrendous
Its dreadful! I've seen sunday league and public park pitches in better nick (not even joking!). It absolutely suits hearts style of play down to the ground though. They struggle to cope when teams get the ball down, pass it about and play fast flowing football so their pitch helps prevent that.
Either their groundsman is highly incompetent or they are quite happy to have it like that due to the above reason. Hearts cheaating and using underhand tactics to gain an advantage is hardly out of character for them after all!
01-02-2017, 09:24 PM
"You've got to sometimes bypass the midfield." - Terry Butcher
Brought shivers down my spine when said that.
01-02-2017, 09:26 PM
Far from Barcelona, they are still a very average side IMO that were made to look far better than they are tonight due to a woeful, gutless performance from the huns but we still can't afford to underestimate them.
I was just jesting about the Barcelona bit mate. :greengrin
It would still be very unprofessional to underestimate them, as you say. However, I can't believe NL, or the Hibs players themselves, would allow that to happen for a single second.
01-02-2017, 09:27 PM
Look at our performance v Morton away and compare it to Dundee United at home
Couple of new players in and others players can play in different positions and options open up to play different formation
Didnt see the game tonight but the scoreline is impressive and Concalves if managed properly could be a big player for them
01-02-2017, 09:32 PM
If we didn't have a derby coming up and I was hoping that Hearts would suffer a few demoralising defeats before it then I would have been more than happy to see tonight's result.
It's always a pleasure to see Sevco getting humped.
As it happens, I'm a bit disappointed with the score tonight. Hopefully they can be brought back down to Earth against Motherwell at the weekend.
01-02-2017, 09:34 PM
I'm on a bus home from work full of them and there's a boy in the seat infront who keeps saying he's being serious and he thinks they will win 9-0. I can't stop chuckling. Do I tell him?
Edit: the bus also stinks of pish funnily enough
01-02-2017, 09:37 PM
Look at our performance v Morton away and compare it to Dundee United at home
Couple of new players in and others players can play in different positions and options open up to play different formation
Didnt see the game tonight but the scoreline is impressive and Concalves if managed properly could be a big player for them
Fair points made, although I always feel when looking at a team's performance (any team) you also need to look at the quality and standard of the opposition. By all accounts the Ibrox club were awful tonight.
01-02-2017, 09:38 PM
Could this be the team to play
Laidlaw
Macgregor Fonts
Gray. Lewis
Big Marv
Humphrey Fyvie McGinn Boyle
Cummings
Haha just seen you've quickly edited this.
Not sure the authorities would allow us to play with 12 men! :wink:
01-02-2017, 09:39 PM
I'm on a bus home from work full of them and there's a boy in the seat infront who keeps saying he's being serious and he thinks they will win 9-0. I can't stop chuckling. Do I tell him?
Edit: the bus also stinks of pish funnily enough
He sounds like a really sensible lad. :faf:
01-02-2017, 09:48 PM
Perfect tactics by Hertz this evening. They successfully pressed a The Rangers team obsessed with trying to play passing football when they don't have the players capable of it against a decent side. Hertz got a bit of luck. Free kick for the second 3 yards from where it should have been and the third awful goalkeeping. Main danger is Walker who looks a class act.
We will need to be at our best but a McGinn, Fyvie, Bartley midfield will be up for the challenge.
All Hertz signings are 6ft plus. Sandy Clark etc will be
delighted. I commented on here how bad the pitch was v The Rose. Even worse now.
01-02-2017, 09:50 PM
Brought shivers down my spine when said that.
Agreed, but through gritted teeth he was right tonight and it's what Hearts did - in the sense they quickly shifted the ball out wide and high. The Rangers wanted time on the ball, played square and narrow, and when you've got Rob Kiernan and James Tavernier, Hearts are up against a 2 man defence - and I'm being generous including Clint Hill in that 2 man defence 😀
One thing Ross Laidlaw has to do is stay calm, hold the ball and take the sting out the game, and play long and wide. You simply cannot play football across your box the way The Rangers did.
01-02-2017, 09:55 PM
Never seen any it, were Hearts gid, Rangers rank or a bit of both?
As much as I absolutely ****ing despise all and everyone Hearts, I really can't say I'll lose sleep over anyone skelping the Huns at this moment in time.
I've scrolled thorough my Facebook and the majority of Rangers 'supporters' (i.e. East Lothian based gloryhunters who have been to ibrox less times than me) I have on it bar the odd decent ones that go the games and arny total bammers are absolutely spewing and that's good enough for me :aok:
Best bit is that old fannyhat will get all the time in the world cause they simply can't afford to sack him and he'll no walk cause it'll ruin whatever's left of his reputation for getting a decent job back down south.
01-02-2017, 09:56 PM
Let's face it. Great result for Hearts tonight.
Lets hope it lulls them into a false sense of security.
broondog
01-02-2017, 09:57 PM
Credit where it's due.
credit?
How utterly deluded you are saying that. Think you need your head examined with statements like that pal. they won the game yes but did you watch the display from the hun defence, they were as bad as i've seen in the spl. Comical goalkeeping errors, woeful lapses in concentration, every goal was gifted. If anyone really thinks this Hearts team is any sort of threat think again.
Group of mercenaries who have got a lucky result. The guy in the centre, number 88 was terrible, their defence had nothing to do, hamilton awful (how does he get called up to scotlnd squads?), the two donkeys up front ineffective. Not worried at all going into the derby and can see us bringing them right back down to earth with a pumping.
01-02-2017, 09:58 PM
Couldnt give a flying **** about them.
01-02-2017, 10:02 PM
**** hertz
01-02-2017, 10:21 PM
credit?
How utterly deluded you are saying that. Think you need your head examined with statements like that pal. they won the game yes but did you watch the display from the hun defence, they were as bad as i've seen in the spl. Comical goalkeeping errors, woeful lapses in concentration, every goal was gifted. If anyone really thinks this Hearts team is any sort of threat think again.
Group of mercenaries who have got a lucky result. The guy in the centre, number 88 was terrible, their defence had nothing to do, hamilton awful (how does he get called up to scotlnd squads?), the two donkeys up front ineffective. Not worried at all going into the derby and can see us bringing them right back down to earth with a pumping.
Deluded?
I thought they were rank against Raith and we're lucky to go through, they were honking against Celtic and were lucky not to get a real tanking.
As much as I hate them and like you want to give them a pumping at Tynie, I think you would have to be deluded not to admit they played well tonight.
It also wasn't just down to Sevco being pish, which they were.
That will hopefully be all the credit I give them this season.
01-02-2017, 10:23 PM
They were very good tonight. No getting around it.
01-02-2017, 10:24 PM
The irony being Warburton babbles on about his team needing time to gel together yet just got pumped of a team that just signed 6 new players within a couple of days.
MichaelTheCelt
01-02-2017, 10:24 PM
It really is astonishing this The Rangers team are second in the league, they are absolutely woeful. Hearts are complete guff as well, top to bottom (Excluding us, sorry if I sound arrogant but its true) the league is a joke filled with dreadful teams.
Really good opportunity for Hibs to come back up to the big league and cement second place for themselves, no one else seems capable of it. And with a manager like Lennon there really isn't any reason it shouldn't happen.
01-02-2017, 10:32 PM
Sorry but Hertz and Credit should never be mentioned in the same statement. :agree:unless you mention non-credit,discredit, owe someone or try using a credit card. all of those apply. these gorgie types will assume that they will slaughter us, as we are a wee team fae a wee league , although they will try to race out of the box, and get their obligatory penalty as soon as possible. we do need to guard against that, and whoever is their ref on the day
01-02-2017, 10:40 PM
I've seen a jambo comment if they play like that they will put 7 past us
01-02-2017, 10:41 PM
It really is astonishing this The Rangers team are second in the league, they are absolutely woeful. Hearts are complete guff as well, top to bottom (Excluding us, sorry if I sound arrogant but its true) the league is a joke filled with dreadful teams.
Really good opportunity for Hibs to come back up to the big league and cement second place for themselves, no one else seems capable of it. And with a manager like Lennon there really isn't any reason it shouldn't happen.was hoping that the Dons got something tonight (huvnae seen the results) if only to see them going ahead of der Hun. I was in against a rock and a hard place, in regards to the result at the wongadome though. your team have won it in a "skoosh" and your bitter rivals (or their new club) are so poor and cant even beat a diddy second tier club in a cup final:greengrin
01-02-2017, 10:42 PM
Play as we did against Dundee Utd, we'll gub 'Charity Thieves FC. They need a hand to get back to where they were before they started their 'Finance Football'scam - the 70's !
01-02-2017, 10:46 PM
They were very good tonight. No getting around it.
They played first 15 each half with high tempo - they capitalised well and got two goals each period. Have to say Walker still had a bit to do and his strike was a beauty. A game very reminiscent of our 4-0 against them where everything came off. Hearts played very well, no debate. I like to analyse periods in the game and look at weaknesses from a Hibs point of view. First half, after weathering it, The Rangers had possession, used switched balls to Waghorn a lot, and it paid off. Realistically they could have gone in 2-1 up bar a fine save from Hamilton - right on half time.
Secind half Hearts were as good as The Rangers were bad.
Hearts strengths definitely Walker, I like Johnsen a lot, and Goncalves will win niggly free kicks in dangerous areas.
Weaknesses are Hamilton, Hughes, Sowah, and Kitchen.
#2 Double Tap
01-02-2017, 10:52 PM
They played first 15 each half with high tempo - they capitalised well and got two goals each period. Have to say Walker still had a bit to do and his strike was a beauty. A game very reminiscent of our 4-0 against them where everything came off. Hearts played very well, no debate. I like to analyse periods in the game and look at weaknesses from a Hibs point of view. First half, after weathering it, The Rangers had possession, used switched balls to Waghorn a lot, and it paid off. Realistically they could have gone in 2-1 up bar a fine save from Hamilton - right on half time.
Hearts strengths definitely Walker, I like Johnsen a lot, and Goncalves will win niggly free kicks in dangerous areas.
hope we call up some of the hibs ladies midfielders, they will be at home getting right into that kitchen. ***chuckle***
CyberSauzee
01-02-2017, 11:09 PM
Thanks for the objective report as I didn't see anything of it.
Walker is an obvious threat; always looks like getting a shot away given half a yard. Was it hoofball up with him looking for knockdowns? Any attempt to go along the deck through midlfield or up the wings?
And was the pitch more threadbare than against the Rose? I'm going to see a 'pub' league game on Saturday where the pitch is better kept than many in the top 2 divisions in Scotland.
01-02-2017, 11:24 PM
Bet Cathro can't wait until he wakes up tomorrow-morning - no doubt on 'Jambo throw-backs', he's went from being a 'waste of space' to a mixture of Mourhino, Ferguson and Shankley - OVERNIGHT !
Enjoy your '10 days in the sun', Ian, coz on the twelfth-day it WILL end - we are NOT the Hun, as you'll quickly discover, we ARE a football-club who's been cheated for 30+ years and we are resolved to see the natural order returned.
01-02-2017, 11:32 PM
Thanks for the objective report as I didn't see anything of it.
Walker is an obvious threat; always looks like getting a shot away given half a yard. Was it hoofball up with him looking for knockdowns? Any attempt to go along the deck through midlfield or up the wings?
And was the pitch more threadbare than against the Rose? I'm going to see a 'pub' league game on Saturday where the pitch is better kept than many in the top 2 divisions in Scotland.
Pitch is in awful condition but can't be used as an excuse as Hearts played good football on it.
Hearts did what other sides do at home to The Rangers - press their keeper and full backs. Warburton has quite literally no other tactic but to play possession football, from the back, and narrow to wide. You can do that if you have Puyol at centre half and Coutinho to take and go - but when you've Kiernan (Gumtree), Hill (EBay), Wallace (Evening News Classifieds) and Tavernier (Poundland) then you'll win possession back quickly, in dangerous areas, and be on the front foot.
Thats why I'm saying young Ross Laidlaw will be a key player. I like him, he's composed and calm and rarely erratic. Each time he collects, he should use game intelligence and hold it, play long from hand and wide. Get the ball high up the pitch and allow us to press high - exactly what Hearts did. Our defenders need to concentrate on defending and not playing football around our own box.
Warburton must have the worst record against 'top teams' than any The Rangers manager I know - he needs to quickly learn you win games on goals scored, not how long you keep the ball. To be 'out coached' by Cathro is embarrassing
To be honest, I'm actually relieved that I didn't get a ticket now.
If anyone wants to see us get thrashed by the 2008-12 Spain side managed by Pep Shankley Mourinho then more the fool them.
CyberSauzee
02-02-2017, 12:17 AM
Pitch is in awful condition but can't be used as an excuse as Hearts played good football on it.
Hearts did what other sides do at home to The Rangers - press their keeper and full backs. Warburton has quite literally no other tactic but to play possession football, from the back, and narrow to wide. You can do that if you have Puyol at centre half and Coutinho to take and go - but when you've Kiernan (Gumtree), Hill (EBay), Wallace (Evening News Classifieds) and Tavernier (Poundland) then you'll win possession back quickly, in dangerous areas, and be on the front foot.
Thats why I'm saying young Ross Laidlaw will be a key player. I like him, he's composed and calm and rarely erratic. Each time he collects, he should use game intelligence and hold it, play long from hand and wide. Get the ball high up the pitch and allow us to press high - exactly what Hearts did. Our defenders need to concentrate on defending and not playing football around our own box.
Warburton must have the worst record against 'top teams' than any The Rangers manager I know - he needs to quickly learn you win games on goals scored, not how long you keep the ball. To be 'out coached' by Cathro is embarrassing
Thank you TH
I agree with you on Laidlaw. Last saw him on Xmas Eve and one thing that struck me was his willingness to distribute by overhand. A sure sign of a confident keeper, especially when his throws found teammates near the half way line. Very impressed with him, definitely one to nurture. Will be NLs first choice next season then who knows? Scotland's #1?
As you say, only difficulty seems to be the basketball high press for first 15 minutes each half. If Laidlaw can control that along with centre backs then I'll take the draw and a midweek flight from London.
broondog
02-02-2017, 07:09 AM
Deluded?
I thought they were rank against Raith and we're lucky to go through, they were honking against Celtic and were lucky not to get a real tanking.
As much as I hate them and like you want to give them a pumping at Tynie, I think you would have to be deluded not to admit they played well tonight.
It also wasn't just down to Sevco being pish, which they were.
That will hopefully be all the credit I give them this season.
sickening that you and others want to give those c**** any credit. thought they were poor,rangers much worse. I am deluded for not admitting they played well. You need to understand they were just lucky and thats the only reason they won
02-02-2017, 07:32 AM
All these new signings and not a blush on the hearts fans faces when you mention the creditors they stuffed !
02-02-2017, 09:06 AM
Can't beat a bit of Hun TV ...
https://twitter.com/VLR/status/826957096314863616 :wink:
02-02-2017, 09:29 AM
Ok, maybe you can beat a bit of Hun TV, but only with NewHun media's ... http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/303995-get-to-f-warburton/
Warbs. :not worth
02-02-2017, 10:14 AM
Can't beat a bit of Hun TV ...
https://twitter.com/VLR/status/826957096314863616 :wink:
What was the free kick for their 3rd goal? :confused:
02-02-2017, 10:26 AM
Really good opportunity for Hibs to come back up to the big league and cement second place for themselves, no one else seems capable of it. And with a manager like Lennon there really isn't any reason it shouldn't happen.
Woop de woop, second that's big of you. Surely every team should set out to win the league, or else what's the point ? :na na:
BH Hibs
02-02-2017, 12:23 PM
Ok, maybe you can beat a bit of Hun TV, but only with NewHun media's ... http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/303995-get-to-f-warburton/
Delusional comedy gold. One Hun saying I'd take Di Matteo. And pay him with what?
:lolrangers:
02-02-2017, 03:06 PM
Mong-media V Jambo Throw-back ? The only difference is the colour - both I.Q's are identical and very near rock-bottom !
02-02-2017, 03:14 PM
Mong-media V Jambo Throw-back ? The only difference is the colour - both I.Q's are identical and very near rock-bottom !
Mongolia is reckoned to have the 6th highest IQ in the world. :nerd:
02-02-2017, 03:15 PM
Spelling, grammar and punctuation are quite incredible, and the language would make a sailor blush.
My favourite: '****s comparing him to mccoist are an ambrassement'.:faf:
03-02-2017, 12:05 PM
sickening that you and others want to give those c**** any credit. thought they were poor,rangers much worse. I am deluded for not admitting they played well. You need to understand they were just lucky and thats the only reason they won
How old are you, if you don't mind me asking?
Reason I ask is you remind me of myself when I was 13 and refused to see things objectively, as I just wanted the teams I hate to be pish all the time. After a few drinking sessions and the odd ride.. it tends to calm down and you realise that people you don't like can still be good at things.
Hearts weren't unbelievable by any stretch, and I agree about Rangers - that was as gutless and as poor as I recall seeing them. But Hearts played well.. nothing wrong or unhibs about admitting that.
03-02-2017, 12:12 PM
What was the free kick for their 3rd goal? :confused:
Innocuous free kick in middle of the park by Kiernan who then has a minor tantrum about it instead of standing on the ball preventing the quick free kick from being taken. Yams take it quickly, Kiernan is miles away from where he should be and the yams are 2 on 1 with Hill. Goal.
03-02-2017, 12:16 PM
There's a transcript of the Warbmeister's latest press conference here:
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/528030/mark-warburton-qa-read-every-word-of-the-rangers-boss-defiant-defence-after-humbling-defeat-to-hearts/
The corresponding thread on Sevco Media is absolute gold. :aok:
#goingfor55 :faf:
03-02-2017, 12:21 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/528030/mark-warburton-qa-read-every-word-of-the-rangers-boss-defiant-defence-after-humbling-defeat-to-hearts/
Celtc are miles in front because of their budget but people shouldn't expect Sevco to be 2nd even though their budget is miles bigger than the rest.
Magic hat's logic is impeccable.
03-02-2017, 12:57 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
#goingfor55....points