View Full Version : ****transfer deadline day****

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Babyshamble
31-01-2017, 09:48 PM
Radio Scotland just said stokes deal is Dead.

31-01-2017, 09:48 PM
Now saying he's not coming. Gutted.

31-01-2017, 09:49 PM
Deal for Stokes is dead.

Doubt it was ever on tbh. Squad is good enough, get behind them and lets get out of this miserable ****ing league.

Anybody think hibs have made a signing or two but just chosen not to announce it yet?

Has anybody posted anything about Danny Handling going out on loan? Earlier tonight it was a dogfight between Falkirk and Raith as to where he was going but not heard the outcome,

allmodcons
Not happening.

31-01-2017, 09:51 PM
Dead due to timing...why was it left so late I wonder??

itslegaltender
kenny miller from the Sun tweeting that Hibs are still trying to get Stokes.

seanshow
Big News is not always good :(

Big news lasted long eh.

31-01-2017, 09:52 PM
Its off

Its off.

Anybody think hibs have made a signing or two but just chosen not to announce it yet?

Has anybody posted anything about Danny Handling going out on loan? Earlier tonight it was a dogfight between Falkirk and Raith as to where he was going but not heard the outcome,

Hopefully, we always announce things late especially on deadline day

livi hibs 1875
31-01-2017, 09:53 PM

Is this what you think

31-01-2017, 09:54 PM

Are you hearing anything yourself Scoopy?

31-01-2017, 09:55 PM
The slowness of this site is making 2nite even more painful

31-01-2017, 09:55 PM
Radio Scotland just said stokes deal is Dead.

Was that their big news?!!!!

31-01-2017, 09:56 PM
Ach well, on we go with what we have.

31-01-2017, 09:56 PM
Bin the guests!!

31-01-2017, 09:57 PM
kenny miller from the Sun tweeting that Hibs are still trying to get Stokes.

Mabeys aye and mabey naw, bbc saying it is dead.

Interesting while it lasted, but K. Millar is usually pretty well informed.

mcfly
31-01-2017, 09:57 PM
Stokes all off

disappointing transfer window by hibs

Just got to kick on and win the league now

31-01-2017, 09:58 PM
If this place goes any slower we'll still be sitting when the next window opens :(

FFS Hibs/Stokesy/Blackburn

Why do we have to be so tight/demanding/PETRIE

Some amount of people on this site right now. It's like a match day thread when we are getting beat.......

31-01-2017, 09:59 PM
Tony Rougier is going to go nuts about this. Who's going to break it to him?

Because he only became available today after Blackburn signed 2 Strikers!

No, he was offered to hibs last Thursday

guthrie01
Apparently the deal was a go but time ran out for parties to agree. Pretty poor if we could of brought him in sooner but waited until the last hours of deadline day/.

Santa Cruz
31-01-2017, 10:00 PM

Suggest spinning him a line till he sobers up

31-01-2017, 10:01 PM
Was that their big news?!!!!
Yes and
told with the usual cheeky wee grin!!!!!!!!!

They enjoy giving us crap news more than good news, its the bbc way.

31-01-2017, 10:01 PM
Commons staying at Celtc.

31-01-2017, 10:02 PM
stokes deal aint happening

31-01-2017, 10:02 PM
Apparently the deal was a go but time ran out for parties to agree. Pretty poor if we could of brought him in sooner but waited until the last hours of deadline day/.

They only signed a striker today so probably only became a possibility today.

31-01-2017, 10:04 PM
Not unhappy with our squad but it is disappointing that Lennon said publicly that he wanted reinforcements and couldn't get anyone else in.

If Hanlon is out for a while and someone like Cummings gets a bad injury we could be left pretty short.

Biggest worry I have with every window is - when we do sign someone why is it rarely someone we haven't had previously and why is it rarely someone unexpected? I'd certainly question our scouting department - seems like it is just a fax machine in some guy's office...

We also rarely have 2nd choices, if we can't get 1st choice it doesn't always mean we get nothing...

Get Commons or nothing...
Get Stokes or nothing...

Ex-Celtic players or nothing...

Difficult work indeed, scouting department must be flat out!

It's Leeanne I'm worried about. Big T will not be chuffed.

31-01-2017, 10:05 PM
Not unhappy with our squad but it is disappointing that Lennon said publicly that he wanted reinforcements and couldn't get anyone else in.

If Hanlon is out for a while and someone like Cummings gets a bad injury we could be left pretty short.

We can still sign free agents if we need to

31-01-2017, 10:05 PM
Massively disappointed Hibs...u built us up and really let us down today...let's hope we don't regret this come May

31-01-2017, 10:06 PM
Doubt it was ever on tbh. Squad is good enough, get behind them and lets get out of this miserable ****ing league.

Hibs close to doing Antony Stokes. Got an extra hour.
Just tweeted by the journo Alan Nixon .

We should still have enough to win this league

Wouldve liked another 1 or 2 in though, just incase.....

Cant believe 'we ran out of time' Bournemouth just bid 18 million quid for Ake with 7 mins of transfer window remaining

It's Leeanne I'm worried about. Big T will not be chuffed.

He may try and have her sacked. 45 goals carry a lot of weight.

Leann

31-01-2017, 10:07 PM
Quite frustrating, but comforting to know hibs won't spend money they don't have chasing success.....unlike a certain team not far from us..

31-01-2017, 10:07 PM
The BBC reported it was dead...this coming from the organisation that gives Chick Dung regular airtime...think I'll wait for Hibs to tell us what's going on!

31-01-2017, 10:08 PM
Does the window close at midnight or is it shut now?

Ell_Chrisso
Remember the window is open till 12 Here

Biggest worry I have with every window is - when we do sign someone why is it rarely someone we haven't had previously and why is it rarely someone unexpected? I'd certainly question our scouting department - seems like it is just a fax machine in some guy's office...

We also rarely have 2nd choices, if we can't get 1st choice it doesn't always mean we get nothing...

Get Commons or nothing...
Get Stokes or nothing...

Ex-Celtic players or nothing...

Difficult work indeed, scouting department must be flat out!

To be fair though, signing the players we have has served us well the last couple of years. We know what we're getting with them. The scouting department could go out and find players like the ones Hearts have signed but who's to say that they're going to adapt to Scottish football/settle in Scotland/be up to the standard of our game? With people like Stokes, Commons, Hendo etc we know that they'll improve our team. When we're already sitting in a not bad position squad wise I can fully understand Hibs not wanting to gamble on fairly unknown players but being happy to strengthen with players that are well known to us.

It's so slow on this site. Are we binning the guests??

31-01-2017, 10:09 PM
Remember the window is open till 12 Here

can we still do deals from England though (whos window closed at 11?)

We should still have enough to win this league

Wouldve liked another 1 or 2 in though, just incase.....

Cant believe 'we ran out of time' Bournemouth just bid 18 million quid for Ake with 7 mins of transfer window remaining
Its midnight here though.

Ciftci

Commons staying at Celtc.

Pointless outcome for everyone that one.

Hibs close to doing Antony Stokes. Got an extra hour.
Just tweeted by the journo Alan Nixon .

link?

31-01-2017, 10:10 PM
Still think something will happen

31-01-2017, 10:11 PM

He's probably happy sitting on his arse taking in his massive salary. Hope we don't go near him in the summer.

Suprised at the lack of departures.

Bottom line is nobody else is going to pay his wages and he probably only has 6 months left in the game.

31-01-2017, 10:12 PM
link?

We go again?

Ell_Chrisso
31-01-2017, 10:13 PM
can we still do deals from England though (whos window closed at 11?)

Yes

He's probably happy sitting on his arse taking in his massive salary. Hope we don't go near him in the summer.

Mind, would you accept losing about 140K over 6 months?

Hypothetical figures but 18K p/w to 2K per week....

No deal is ever straightforward. They often depend on other moves which are out of the would be buyer's control. That's before any personal considerations come into play. It looks like we may end up being disappointed tonight. With our present chief executive however I feel much more confident that LD would have done everything possible to make whatever deal we were after to happen. On a brighter note the rumours about SJM going to Celtic never developed nor did the ludicrous one about JC & Sevco. Onwards & Upwards!

high bee
Hopefully Hibs are on the phone to Celtic, just to block the line and stop Utd being able to try and do a deal for the likes of Ciftci.

Agree.....surely it will hit home when he's sitting in the stand on Saturday......getting game time at his age should be his priority.

Can we do loans after the window?

31-01-2017, 10:14 PM

Agree.....surely it will hit home when he's sitting in the stand on Saturday......getting game time at his age should be his priority.

Or getting more money

31-01-2017, 10:16 PM
Dundee United done!

Keyser Sauzee
31-01-2017, 10:16 PM
The deal is only off after 12, something still might happen. Not saying it will but just cause it's closed in England doesn't mean we can't sign anyone from England.

31-01-2017, 10:17 PM
Mind, would you accept losing about 140K over 6 months?

Hypothetical figures but 18K p/w to 2K per week....

I kinda get that mate, but he's been on a healthy salary for years. He's surely got more than enough tucked away......to spend the latter part of his career playing.
Anyway, good luck to him.....but hope we don't go near him in the summer

31-01-2017, 10:17 PM
Is there any way we could get Commons in again on an emergency loan?

What exactly are the rules regarding emergency loans?

TheGreenMan
31-01-2017, 10:18 PM
We usually make an announcement on the official site to say business is done. So until that's out, still hope that something late can be arranged.

31-01-2017, 10:19 PM
Dundee United done!

Done what Brog?

31-01-2017, 10:20 PM
We usually make an announcement on the official site to say business is done. So until that's out, still hope that something late can be arranged.

There is always Hope but its fading fast

Well im going to bed

I can't see us signing anyone now.

Official statement imminent.

hibee bouncer
31-01-2017, 10:21 PM
Efe Ambrose away on loan to Blackburn seemingly.

lochhibs
efe ambrose to blackburn apparently off. if he ends up with us this will go down as the worst deadline day ever.

Dundee United done!

That's why we will win this league with the squad we have, best in this league by miles.

31-01-2017, 10:22 PM
Can we do loans after the window?

We can bring in players from other Scottish clubs on an emergency loan, which lasts between 1-3 months.

Other than that, the only other players that we can bring in will be those who are free agents as of tonight.

Santa Cruz
31-01-2017, 10:23 PM
Well im going to bed

I hate folk that leave with 40 minutes to go :greengrin

31-01-2017, 10:23 PM
Done what Brog?

Signed a winger

31-01-2017, 10:24 PM
That's why we will win this league with the squad we have, best in this league by miles.

Thats the spirit Silver, Always Look On The Brightside Of Life .

31-01-2017, 10:25 PM
Bottom line is nobody else is going to pay his wages and he probably only has 6 months left in the game.

Celtic are paying it anyway. Loan him out.

31-01-2017, 10:26 PM
We can bring in players from other Scottish clubs on an emergency loan, which lasts between 1-3 months.

Other than that, the only other players that we can bring in will be those who are free agents as of tonight.

Do you not have to put up a case for it being an emergency? Sitting on the top of the league by a clear 8 points is hardly convincing.

31-01-2017, 10:26 PM

Think they are sensibly keeping their cash for next season.
Hibs are out of sight and the play offs are a long shot.

31-01-2017, 10:27 PM

Exactly. We're 8 clear and that gap is only going to keep growing. Stokes or Commons would have been nice, but they'd make no odds to the outcome of this season. We're going to win the league at a canter without them.

Do you not have to put up a case for it being an emergency? Sitting on the top of the league by a clear 8 points is hardly convincing.

I'm not too sure what the criteria is for making an emergency loan signing to be honest but that would make sense.

gordonced18
Done their meagre budget on some unknown winger 😀

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

31-01-2017, 10:28 PM
efe ambrose to blackburn apparently off. if he ends up with us this will go down as the worst deadline day ever.

:greengrin I had a big laugh at that

I dont understand Celtic's attitude with Commons. Understand they will want to play hard ball and hope Hibs (or another club) can offer more than £2k a week towards his wages but once it's gets to the end of the window, why keep him around? He's not going to play and saving £2k a week is surely better than nothing.

With folk like Stokes and Henderson they may still get a look in with their respective clubs so can see why there would be a reluctance to let them go 'on the cheap' but Commons is totally out of the picture.

No it's a fairly loose definition of the word emergency apparently.

31-01-2017, 10:29 PM
Exactly. We're 8 clear and that gap is only going to keep growing. Stokes or Commons would have been nice, but they'd make no odds to the outcome of this season. We're going to win the league at a canter without them.

Sort of agree but Commons was a big reason we have a lead at this point.

I'm not too sure what the criteria is for making an emergency loan signing to be honest but that would make sense.

There is no criteria, it is simply named an emergency loan.

I dont understand Celtic's attitude with Commons. Understand they will want to play hard ball and hope Hibs (or another club) can offer more than £2k a week towards his wages but once it's gets to the end of the window, why keep him around? He's not going to play and saving £2k a week is surely better than nothing.

With folk like Stokes and Henderson they may still get a look in with their respective clubs so can see why there would be a reluctance to let them go 'on the cheap' but Commons is totally out of the picture.
Agree. Don't get it.

31-01-2017, 10:30 PM
Sort of agree but Commons was a big reason we have a lead at this point.

:agree: Good point, Andy

31-01-2017, 10:30 PM

I think you just have to be Neil Lennon and call in a favour at your old employer for it to work.

31-01-2017, 10:32 PM
Signed a winger

Cheers, they may need five o them.

31-01-2017, 10:33 PM
The reports were that Commons is injured. Enough said.

31-01-2017, 10:33 PM

Bloodymindedness:dunno: or maybe they see a use for him coaching or mentoring younger players.

AL-Qaholik
31-01-2017, 10:34 PM
So, Commons and Stokes just have to sit on the erses for the next 6 months rather than actually playing for a team who clearly wanted them both?!

I'll never understand modern football...

31-01-2017, 10:36 PM
Done what Brog?

Sorry, their business is done.

31-01-2017, 10:39 PM
Sorry, their business is done.

Cheers, we no heard fi official hibs yet! :aok:

Ken
31-01-2017, 10:39 PM
I still think Stokes could happen

mentalhibee
31-01-2017, 10:40 PM
I still think Stokes could happen

What makes you think that?

31-01-2017, 10:41 PM
Yeah, looking at Twitter etc, it seems like it could still happen - hard to tell but I wouldn't say it's definitely off

The goalie
31-01-2017, 10:42 PM
What makes you think that?
Hibs are up to something or they would put the shutters down as they normally do when finished.

31-01-2017, 10:43 PM
Stokes looks to be 100% off. No signings after the manager stressed that he wanted one or two added, im sure he's delighted.

Hibs are up to something or they would put the shutters down as they normally do when finished.

The plot thickens!

Has Leeann not left Easter road and said stokes is off according to twitter

Ilovehibs
31-01-2017, 10:44 PM
Sky sports news just said that deals can be announced as late as 1am as long as the necessary paperwork was done by the deadline. Here's hoping for some late news!

31-01-2017, 10:44 PM
Think people are hoping for a miracle now :greengrin

31-01-2017, 10:45 PM
Has Leeann not left Easter road and said stokes is off according to twitter

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16472872_735824889919011_5298779633271829584_n.jpg ?oh=80e844c8b696ee14a51b3918b57deeac&oe=59151E9E

31-01-2017, 10:45 PM

Thing is with Commons, he can only play for so many clubs in a space of time, Celtc Hibs, and if he was to come back to Hibs for another emergency loan then it may rule him out from getting a move to the USA if that is on the cards for him, don't no the rules but sure you can only play for so many clubs in the space of 2 years, i think.

31-01-2017, 10:47 PM
So, Commons and Stokes just have to sit on the erses for the next 6 months rather than actually playing for a team who clearly wanted them both?!

I'll never understand modern football...

If Stokes didn't love playing in the Championship last season (he certainly fared better in the cup than the league) and equally doesn't want to risk souring memories of a beautiful way to end his time at the club rather than a potential risk to his reputation/legacy then i won't begrudge him his decision. He's already done the job for us and while a return would have been good we'll go up regardless. Still a legend in my eyes.

31-01-2017, 10:48 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16472872_735824889919011_5298779633271829584_n.jpg ?oh=80e844c8b696ee14a51b3918b57deeac&oe=59151E9E

If ever a facial expression said get the **** out my way before I boot you in the baws it hers right there.

31-01-2017, 10:49 PM
If ever a facial expression said get the **** out my way before I boot you in the baws it hers right there.
I take it Rougier45 took the photo then?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

31-01-2017, 10:50 PM
Ach well this was a let down. I'm aff tae see if the wife will let me have a sympathy s**g...........

31-01-2017, 10:51 PM
Thing is with Commons, he can only play for so many clubs in a space of time, Celtc Hibs, and if he was to come back to Hibs for another emergency loan then it may rule him out from getting a move to the USA if that is on the cards for him, don't no the rules but sure you can only play for so many clubs in the space of 2 years, i think.

He hasn't played for Celtic.

31-01-2017, 10:51 PM
The Tims seem like a ****ing nightmare to deal with.

31-01-2017, 10:52 PM

If I understand the rule correctly, a player can be registered to a maximum of three clubs between 1st July to 30th June the following year but can only play matches for two of those clubs.

Since Commons hasn't played for Celtic since 1st July 2016, he will be able to sign and play for another club before 30th June.

31-01-2017, 10:52 PM
Ach well this was a let down. I'm aff tae see if the wife will let me have a sympathy s**g...........

Nothing better than a sympathy snog, so I hear, HH

31-01-2017, 10:53 PM
First time I have been sucked into this Transfer Dead (line) day and have to say its a wee bit disappointing, a bit like finding out Santa Claus wisni real, but onwards and upwards as they say and who knows what the morrow will bring.

31-01-2017, 10:54 PM
If Stokes didn't love playing in the Championship last season (he certainly fared better in the cup than the league) and equally doesn't want to risk souring memories of a beautiful way to end his time at the club rather than a potential risk to his reputation/legacy then i won't begrudge him his decision. He's already done the job for us and while a return would have been good we'll go up regardless. Still a legend in my eyes.

Million percent. Will love Stokesy forever for what he done for us in the final. His first goal was sublime and the second got us back into it.

:not worth

Glory Glory

31-01-2017, 10:55 PM
Right so the Sun have said that we can't sign Stokes because the window has closed in England yet have just said that Blackburn can sign Ambrose from Celtic?

31-01-2017, 10:55 PM
Ambrose has signed for Blackburn who's agent is also stokes agent.

31-01-2017, 10:56 PM
First time I have been sucked into this Transfer Dead (line) day and have to say its a wee bit disappointing, a bit like finding out Santa Claus wisni real, but onwards and upwards as they say and who knows what the morrow will bring.

More like he came and drank the milk & ate the biscuits then pi$$ed off without leaving any pressies.

Right so the Sun have said that we can't sign Stokes because the window has closed in England yet have just said that Blackburn can sign Ambrose from Celtic?

Cos the windows open here?

hibbyboy1

What about the guy sitting on the ground

31-01-2017, 10:57 PM

Sorry not accepting that.

31-01-2017, 10:59 PM
Cos the windows open here?

So why can't we get Stokes if the Windows still open here? That's the point I was making

Ilovehibs
31-01-2017, 11:00 PM
What about the guy sitting on the ground

Looks like Kenny Miller in drag

Sorry not accepting that.

Sad to say that sometimes we just have to accept that "we can't always get want we want".

The window's slammed shut.

Very disappointing.

31-01-2017, 11:01 PM
So why can't we get Stokes if the Windows still open here? That's the point I was making

SLAM, Shut now.

31-01-2017, 11:01 PM
Horrendous window.

31-01-2017, 11:02 PM
Did Leipzieg manage to 'prise' Barrie McKay away from the huns for 6 million?

Glory Glory

mentalhibee
Poor show.

Sad to say that sometimes we just have to accept that "we can't always get want we want".

I'm thinking that one poster on .net tonight got all of what he wanted. And there isn't very much of it left...

Very, very disappointing!
I knew I should just have went to bed, couple of hours I wont get back!

31-01-2017, 11:03 PM
The Tims seem like a ****ing nightmare to deal with.don't knock them, they've been our feeder club for a couple of years now :wink:

31-01-2017, 11:04 PM
Well that's that then...massively underwhelmed Hibs...thanks for that

31-01-2017, 11:05 PM

Ambrose signed for Blackburn hours ago

Boydyhfc
31-01-2017, 11:06 PM
Disappointing not adding to the squad. However on a whole, this squad is getting us up and that's all that matters to myself and no doubt many others. Roll on Ayr and Roll on the Gunts!!

That's that then. We're 8 clear with a far superior goal difference and I would expect over the next 4 or 5 games that we'll end up about 14 clear. More than happy with the squad that we have and delighted we got through the window without losing Cummings or McGinn. Now lets get to work on retaining our Scottish Cup.

Don't get the negativity at all - sure it would have been nice to get another one or two of real quality in, but this season we've had major injuries to our first choice goalkeeper and our best two midfielders, and are still eight points clear at the end of January.

The squad is strong, and the one addition that we have made is a very good one, and filled a position that needed filled.

Ambrose signed for Blackburn hours ago

Nope

The club better hope that the wheels don't come off the promotion hopes and that we get a decent result in the derby or else they could be facing a bit of a backlash to the lack of activity in this window.

Extremely underwhelming.

31-01-2017, 11:07 PM
Same as most transfer windows this player coming that player coming done deal and at the end nothing.

31-01-2017, 11:08 PM
Well that's that then...massively underwhelmed Hibs...thanks for that

Boo hoo

31-01-2017, 11:08 PM
Poor window. Would like us to have improved the team for the league run in AND the Scottish Cup.

We've chucked a 8 point lead over Utd before already this season and Commons was part of the reason we built one up again. Club have gambled on us having enough to see this through and win at Tynecastle with what we have.

31-01-2017, 11:09 PM
Don't get the negativity at all - sure it would have been nice to get another one or two of real quality in, but this season we've had major injuries to our first choice goalkeeper and our best two midfielders, and are still eight points clear at the end of January.

The squad is strong, and the one addition that we have made is a very good one, and filled a position that needed filled.

:top marks it's actually our 3 best midfielders that have all missed significant periods.

31-01-2017, 11:09 PM
It's a bit disappointing when the manager just admitted on Saturday that his squad was short of players and we don't bring anyone in. It's a huge remainder of the season for us now and a wee bit of cover would have been nice. There must have been some players out there that would have done us a turn so hope we don't regret this.

31-01-2017, 11:10 PM
The club better hope that the wheels don't come off the promotion hopes and that we get a decent result in the derby or else they could be facing a bit of a backlash to the lack of activity in this window.

Extremely underwhelming.

No backlash from me. If the wheels come off its certainly not cause we don't have the players and it won't be because we haven't made any more signings on deadline day.

31-01-2017, 11:11 PM
The squad as it is should have enough to get the job done, my only concern is if we have an injury to Cummings. We struggled when he was not playing before and I worry if we lost him we don't have another goal scorer.

31-01-2017, 11:12 PM
Imagine if we now fail to win the league...oh my...

31-01-2017, 11:12 PM
I hope Hibs release a statement tomorrow with some sort of outline as to what went on tonight.
Although it does look as if it went right down to the wire, I would like to think that if they did shut up shop early they would have/should have told us.

31-01-2017, 11:13 PM

Agreed. One or two quality additions would have been nice but I don't think it was a necessity.

31-01-2017, 11:13 PM
The board and the CEO failed to back the manager who made it clear he needed a bigger squad. They are now taking a calculated gamble on promotion and defence of the Scottish cup. Granted the later is lower priority but there is a huge game a week on Sunday.

The fans have backed the club big time and realistically can't do anymore.

houstonhibbee
31-01-2017, 11:14 PM
I hope Hibs release a statement tomorrow with some sort of outline as to what went on tonight.
Although it does look as if it went right down to the wire, I would like to think that if they did shut up shop early they would have/should have told us.
Im sure they were there until all options had been exhausted.......

31-01-2017, 11:15 PM
Who can we sign who's a free agent?

31-01-2017, 11:16 PM
Attendances massively up and only 1 major signing in the entire window in this most crucial of seasons....I for one am not happy at that at all...very disappointing. We're too many eggs in 1 basket I wonder with the commons and Stokes deals...and what happened to the back up CH for Hanlon??

If the summer signings had been brilliant I don't think this window would have mattered so much but overall Lennon's transfer dealings have been poor imo. Our squad is not as good as last years, again imo.

connerg
Our rivals for promotion have signed a player from Barnet on loan. If they had got Cifti, different story, but they never.

31-01-2017, 11:17 PM
Im sure they were there until all options had been exhausted.......

My question would be were all the options through a Celtic speed dial? Alarming that only options we seemed to have were, well Celtic or ex-Celtic. I just don't know what we do in terms of scouting but it would appear not much.

Maybe we've signed Stokes but are no tellin anyone?

This place is actually pretty amazing, for want of a better word. We're the Scottish Cup holders, eight points clear at the top of the league, and had several days of plenty folk confident that we'll comfortably beat Hearts at Tynie next Sunday - yet we get to the end of the window with only two signings added to a very strong squad and suddenly folk are nervous that we're gonna chuck the league away?

31-01-2017, 11:18 PM
Who can we sign who's a free agent?

Commons, if Celtc release him as was being suggested previously.

dmc1875
31-01-2017, 11:18 PM
The squad has more than enough to win the league, and up top we have four strikers all capable enough. Cummings, keatings, holt and graham not to mention Boyle can also play there. Enough fire power and with Humphrey we can now play different formations.

A disappointing window and we are a bit light at CB but we still have more than enough

31-01-2017, 11:19 PM
Commons, if Celtc release him as was being suggested previously.

Only if he has already been released. We can't sign him if he's released after the window closes.

The squad is strong, and the one addition that we have made is a very good one, and filled a position that needed filled.spot on Stevie. :aok:real bonus if we get Hanlon back a bit earlier than expected, but great to see SJM back and looking like he's rarin' to go. he will do some damage in gorgie i'm sure

This place is actually pretty amazing, for want of a better word. We're the Scottish Cup holders, eight points clear at the top of the league, and had several days of plenty folk confident that we'll comfortably beat Hearts at Tynie next Sunday - yet we get to the end of the window with only two signings added to a very strong squad and suddenly folk are nervous that we're gonna chuck the league away?
But when your manager comes out at the weekend saying he needs to strengthen and we don't...it's pretty easy to see why most of us are disappointed. He must be too??

31-01-2017, 11:20 PM
Just be thankful they have the internet to keep them busy, and away from the streets throwing stones at moving cars.......

Kept Jason
Kept SJM
Kept Dylan
Still 8 points ahead
Tony's thread and all of us learning the Rougier actually scored 45 goals, when we thought it was only 4 (guy deserves a Scottish cup medal, or at least a Brian Kerr unseen work certificate)

It's been a good night. To all those complaining about having to watch sky sports and this thread, I had to go see the Natalie Portman movie Jackie, trust me you got the good end of the bargain.

Neil Lennon has said throughout he'd like to add to squad and said last week that we only had 19 fit players...that is why people are concerned...

31-01-2017, 11:21 PM
But when your manager comes out at the weekend saying he needs to strengthen and we don't...it's pretty easy to see why most of us are disappointed. He must be too??

He said we needed to strengthen? Or he just hoped to strengthen? Is there a link?

31-01-2017, 11:23 PM
It's not too late to sign free agents, if we need to that is

Calm down guys

Well no it's not easy to see why people are disappointed. As I said, we are Scottish Cup holders for the first time in 114 years and eight points clear at the top of the league. If people can't be happy under these circumstances, it's hard to see when they ever will be - unless they are just looking for any reason to moan.

The only comment I saw Lennon make at the weekend re: signings was that he wanted Commons but didn't need him.

He said we needed to strengthen? Or he just hoped to strengthen? Is there a link?
I don't have a link but he said we only had 19 fit players at weekend and he wanted 1 or 2 in...it's was his post match interview at QOS

31-01-2017, 11:24 PM
It's not too late to sign free agents, if we need to that is

Calm down guys

"Also rans" - no thanks.

31-01-2017, 11:25 PM
Well no it's not easy to see why people are disappointed. As I said, we are Scottish Cup holders for the first time in 114 years and eight points clear at the top of the league. If people can't be happy under these circumstances, it's hard to see when they ever will be - unless they are just looking for any reason to moan.

The only comment I saw Lennon make at the weekend re: signings was that he wanted Commons but didn't need him.
Then I suggest listening to his post match interview where he clearly states he wanted 1 or 2 in...we r disappointed coz me must get promotion this season and not to strengthen might come back and bite us later on...that's why!! It's not a reason to moan but genuine concern

31-01-2017, 11:26 PM
"Also rans" - no thanks.

Fraser Fyvie was released on the 2nd of February before we signed him. That's worked out pretty well has it not?

31-01-2017, 11:26 PM

Extremely underwhelming.:confused:have all of our closest league challengers suddenly attracted and signed seasoned internationalists, or wonder boys ? I am a tad disappointed, like most but we do have a strong squad that would be challenging right now, at the top end of the league above. The games that we have stuttered a little bit with lately, have coincided with the fact that we lost 2 main players from midfield, and our 1st choice GK. all due to injury , and yet we keep getting results

31-01-2017, 11:27 PM

I think too much is being made of those particular comments. What manager wouldn't have said they wanted to strengthen their squad? Every manager always wants to strengthen.

I wanted us to add but if we are going chasing players who are currently getting paid 7 or 8 times what we pay then there was always a chance we'd miss out. The Commons one is the one that annoys me most as I thought it became quite obvious it wasn't going to happen and I think we should have had a plan B on that one.

31-01-2017, 11:27 PM
Neil Lennon has said throughout he'd like to add to squad and said last week that we only had 19 fit players...that is why people are concerned...

McGeough, Boyle, Graham, Forster and Humphrey were all on the bench on Saturday - I fail to see where we're supposed to worry if when we've 'only' 19 fit players, the bench still has such strength in depth.

31-01-2017, 11:28 PM
I think Lennon's words were something along the lines of improving the squad from a position of strength. I'm not too disheartened but if we fail to go up this year major questions will be asked. As things stand I think we'll be fine but NL made his feelings pretty clear on the squad depth and we haven't done anything. I'd be keen to hear from the club why not

I don't have a link but he said we only had 19 fit players at weekend and he wanted 1 or 2 in...it's was his post match interview at QOS

I also wanted one or two in, but I certainly don't feel that it was a necessity. Far from it infact. Lets keep in mind that we have a very good squad of about 18 players and then some decent youth players after that. It would take around 5 or 6 injuries to starting 11 players just to bring our team down to Dundee Utds level and even then that should be enough to see off teams in this league.. and the chances of having over half your starting 11 injured is slim to none.

He hasn't played for Celtic.

He is contracted to them, don't no if that makes a difference if he has played or not.

31-01-2017, 11:31 PM
I think too much is being made of those particular comments. What manager wouldn't have said they wanted to strengthen their squad? Every manager always wants to strengthen.

I wanted us to add but if we are going chasing players who are currently getting paid 7 or 8 times what we pay then there was always a chance we'd miss out. The Commons one is the one that annoys me most as I thought it became quite obvious it wasn't going to happen and I think we should have had a plan B on that one.
Agreed it feels like we waited far too long on KC and never explored other options...I wonder what communication will come out from.Hibs tomorrow as still no review of window on official website

McGeough, Boyle, Graham, Forster and Humphrey were all on the bench on Saturday - I fail to see where we're supposed to worry if when we've 'only' 19 fit players, the bench still has such strength in depth.

Exactly. We had 5 players on the bench who would all start and probably could make a case for being the best player for each team in this league (minus maybe Andreu at Utd). This is with a few injuries in our squad and people are panicking that we won't have enough? :confused:

And 3-4 players getting injured wouldn't have an impact? Let's say Daz, Fontaine, Cummings and McGinn. Unless Hanlon is back we'll be into u20s for CB, Cummings has no replacement should he be injured, McGinn likewise. McGeouch plays one week and then out for three...

gegs70
Personally I thought we had a strong squad but possibly could strenghthen up front Stokes or commons would have been a fantastic addition...Im sure that we could still bring in some out of contract players but no point in signing players for the sake of it?

31-01-2017, 11:32 PM
don't knock them, they've been our feeder club for a couple of years now :wink:

That could change in the summer when we are in the same league as them.

HibernianJK
Attendances massively up and only 1 major signing in the entire window in this most crucial of seasons....I for one am not happy at that at all...very disappointing. We're too many eggs in 1 basket I wonder with the commons and Stokes deals...and what happened to the back up CH for Hanlon??

Tam Mcmannus said on twitter weeks ago Commons wouldn't happen because of wages. We could afford it for a month emergency loan but not for the rest of the season. I doubt that we tried very hard to get him back.

For so many years many on here have complained that we don't do our business early and leave everything until late in the window - this January we made our most important signing very early (in fact I think it was even announced that Humphrey was coming before the window even opened) and folk are now panicking because we didn't make any signings late on?

31-01-2017, 11:34 PM
And 3-4 players getting injured wouldn't have an impact? Let's say Daz, Fontaine, Cummings and McGinn. Unless Hanlon is back we'll be into u20s for CB, Cummings has no replacement should he be injured, McGinn likewise. McGeouch plays one week and then out for three...

But what are the chances of that? If we had of signed Stokes and Commons would you have then said what if Daz, Fontaine, Cummings, McGinn, Commons and Stokes get injured, we need more players? The chances of us ever having less than 4 or 5 experienced pros on the bench are very slim, why people think we need to have a bench full of them at all times in this league is beyond me.

Ken
31-01-2017, 11:35 PM
Don't get the issue with being unsuccessful with our signing targets. We've got 2 decent keepers, a defence with the best record in Europe.
Midfield of McGinn, Fyvvie, McGeouch, Boyle, Humphrey, Shinnie and Bartley.
Cummings, Keatings, Holt and Graham up top
Most of our core squad would walk into Utd's starting XI and they have made no decent signings this transfer window

31-01-2017, 11:36 PM
For so many years many on here have complained that we don't do our business early and leave everything until late in the window - this January we made our most important signing very early (in fact I think it was even announced that Humphrey was coming before the window even opened) and folk are now panicking because we didn't make any signings late on?
Not panicking mate but a bit disappointed is what most feel....we had a real chance to turn the screw on our rivals by making a signing or two at a time when we are in a strong position and we haven't...despite major vibes from.both lennon and LD that we would...it's underwhelming for fans

The board and the CEO failed to back the manager who made it clear he needed a bigger squad. They are now taking a calculated gamble on promotion and defence of the Scottish cup. Granted the later is lower priority but there is a huge game a week on Sunday.

The fans have backed the club big time and realistically can't do anymore.

Not being happy clappy but theres no evidence the board didnt try to back the manager. Who knows what the demands were from others involved..Id have like a couple of signings but think we will be fine as we are.

Whos to say new signings would have improved us. They may have but no certainty.

Extremely underwhelming.

There was only one priority this season for our club, to get promoted, anything else is a bonus to go with winning the league.

But what are the chances of that? If we had of signed Stokes and Commons would you have then said what if Daz, Fontaine, Cummings, McGinn, Commons and Stokes get injured, we need more players? The chances of us ever having less than 4 or 5 experienced pros on the bench are very slim, why people think we need to have a bench full of them at all times in this league is beyond me.

Quite and Handling scored yesterday on his return after long-term injury.

31-01-2017, 11:38 PM

An injury to Cummings is the big one. We don't have anyone else who scores regularly.

HibernianJK
31-01-2017, 11:39 PM
Not panicking mate but a bit disappointed is what most feel....we had a real chance to turn the screw on our rivals by making a signing or two at a time when we are in a strong position and we haven't...despite major vibes from.both lennon and LD that we would...it's underwhelming for fans

We turned the screw by going 8 points clear over the past month.

But my point is that it's so disappointing, not to mention perplexing, that folk are so easily underwhelmed given the last few months that we have had.

Quite and Handling scored yesterday on his return after long-term injury.
Is he now away on loan??

Did I say we needed to sign an experienced pro? No, but even a young player for next season that could do a job this season if called upon. I've witnessed many injury crisises at Hibs...can never be sure. 8 points is a cushion but hardly "it's wrapped up" territory. Not fussed by Stokes or Commons but not to attempt to sign a goal scorer should Cummings not be fit/on form is a gamble, sorry but it is.

31-01-2017, 11:41 PM
We turned the screw by going 8 points clear over the past month.
And 2 of those matches we won thanks to goals from Commons who is gone and hasn't been replaced...we still lack a goal scoring midfielder as we have done all season. Hopefully a fit Mcginn can fill the void goals wise

31-01-2017, 11:41 PM
I'm actually made up we might see some of the young lads in the development squad get some minutes. #youngteam

31-01-2017, 11:42 PM
But my point is that it's so disappointing, not to mention perplexing, that folk are so easily underwhelmed given the last few months that we have had.
But why rest on our laurels??

kevo1875
31-01-2017, 11:42 PM
Personally I would have liked to have seen us bringing in a left sided winger but this squad has quality right through it ..more than enough to win this league and hopefully make a good defence of the cup..GGTTH

31-01-2017, 11:47 PM
Did I say we needed to sign an experienced pro? No, but even a young player for next season that could do a job this season if called upon. I've witnessed many injury crisises at Hibs...can never be sure. 8 points is a cushion but hardly "it's wrapped up" territory. Not fussed by Stokes or Commons but not to attempt to sign a goal scorer should Cummings not be fit/on form is a gamble, sorry but it is.

We have young players in our first team squad that may be more prominent next season and can be called upon this year. Handling is coming back from injury, Crane features on the bench most weeks, Scott Martin has shown that he's more than capable of playing at this level. And unfortunately nobody that we have the budget to sign would be able to replace Cummings goals if he was injured. Graham however has shown he can grab goals when required as has Boyle. I highly doubt anyone that we would have been able to sign this window could offer more goals than they two would.

31-01-2017, 11:47 PM
Fraser Fyvie was released on the 2nd of February before we signed him. That's worked out pretty well has it not?

We also signed a striker who scored 22 goals in 42 starts for us outwith the transfer window.

31-01-2017, 11:48 PM
Is he now away on loan??

Isn't that Lewis Allen?

31-01-2017, 11:51 PM
Is he now away on loan??

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalknope, scored for the development squad

31-01-2017, 11:51 PM
But why rest on our laurels??

Firstly, I don't believe the club is resting on any laurels, it's pretty clear that we tried to bring in real quality in Stokes and Commons.

But my point is why are folk so easily agitated given the successes we've enjoyed since May. These are times to be enjoyed - God knows there's been plenty of the opposite in recent years.

31-01-2017, 11:54 PM
There was only one priority this season for our club, to get promoted, anything else is a bonus to go with winning the league.you did say there WAS only one priority this season, didn't you ? ( wee man in backround with gong ):wink:

31-01-2017, 11:56 PM
Just having a look at the squad, we have 20 what I would call first team players. That's not including Scott Martin who has shown he is more than capable of playing at this level and also not including Handling who's coming back from injury, Harris or Crane. Once you include Martin and Handling (I'm not including Harris as he's proven himself as useless and Crane hasn't had much of an opportunity to show what he can do) you're talking that we would need around 8-10 injuries/suspensions at any one time to our senior players to really leave us in a position where we're struggling big time, and even then that would just leave us very short on the bench. What are the chances of that? Pretty much zero.

Rocky
Laidlaw
Gallagher

More than enough.

Gray
Hanlon
Fontaine
McGregor
Forster
Stevenson
Crane

4 centre halves, 3 full backs and 3 of the centre halves are capable of playing full back if required. Slightly light at centre half possibly but I think it's stretching it to say another one was a necessity.

SJM
Fyvie
Dylan
Bartley
Martin
Handling
Shinnie
Humphrey
Harris
Boyle

7 CMs with McGinn and Shinnie more than good enough to play out wide if required and 3 wingers. Also got Keatings who can do a job in midfield or out wide of a front 3. Plenty.

Cummy
Keatings
Graham
Holt

Also got Boyle who can push up top when needed. Plenty.

Keep in mind that other than Martin and Crane every single person in that squad has a lot of first team appearances under their belt. We've got a good quality, versatile squad capable of playing multiple formations and also of decent depth.

31-01-2017, 11:57 PM
We have young players in our first team squad that may be more prominent next season and can be called upon this year. Handling is coming back from injury, Crane features on the bench most weeks, Scott Martin has shown that he's more than capable of playing at this level. And unfortunately nobody that we have the budget to sign would be able to replace Cummings goals if he was injured. Graham however has shown he can grab goals when required as has Boyle. I highly doubt anyone that we would have been able to sign this window could offer more goals than they two would.

I like Boyle and Graham looks handy but it saddens me if Hibs couldn't get a more natural goal scorer than they are even in the January window...

Boyle has pace to burn but has shown he lacks composure to be a proper goal scorer (3 one-on-ones in a single game and misses them all), Graham is handy but I doubt he's going to score more than 5-8 goals this season if that so...

Remember Cummings wasn't playing well (neither was the team mind you) when Dundee United took 1st from us. i just do not want a repeat...

01-02-2017, 12:04 AM
Just having a look at the squad, we have 20 what I would call first team players. That's not including Scott Martin who has shown he is more than capable of playing at this level and also not including Handling who's coming back from injury, Harris or Crane. Once you include Martin and Handling (I'm not including Harris as he's proven himself as useless and Crane hasn't had much of an opportunity to show what he can do) you're talking that we would need around 8-10 injuries/suspensions at any one time to our senior players to really leave us in a position where we're struggling big time, and even then that would just leave us very short on the bench. What are the chances of that? Pretty much zero.

Don't need 8-10 injuries before we struggle. I'll give you 5 - Daz, Fontaine, McGinn, Fyvie, Cummings. It's not just about who is senior and junior...we have key players without many quality choices should they be injured. Outside youth who replaces Gray? Stevenson? Who plays left wing when Humphrey plays? Also it would be unfortunate but say we get 4 defenders injured at once including the aforementioned Gray and Stevenson, we have what? Forster and youngsters? At least until Hanlon is back.

01-02-2017, 12:08 AM
Don't need 8-10 injuries before we struggle. I'll give you 5 - Daz, Fontaine, McGinn, Fyvie, Cummings. It's not just about who is senior and junior...we have key players without many quality choices should they be injured. Outside youth who replaces Gray? Stevenson? Who plays left wing when Humphrey plays? Also it would be unfortunate but say we get 4 defenders injured at once including the aforementioned Gray and Stevenson, we have what? Forster and youngsters? At least until Hanlon is back.

Thats the bit I'm getting at - not just with you by the way, but with all posters that are worried about the depth in our squad - your question is what if 5 of our 6 first team defenders get injured at one time... People can't really expect Hibs to sign more players just incase that happens? Especially keeping in Mind that Gray, Daz, Fonts and Lewis pretty much never miss a game through injury.

01-02-2017, 12:10 AM
I like Boyle and Graham looks handy but it saddens me if Hibs couldn't get a more natural goal scorer than they are even in the January window...

Boyle has pace to burn but has shown he lacks composure to be a proper goal scorer (3 one-on-ones in a single game and misses them all), Graham is handy but I doubt he's going to score more than 5-8 goals this season if that so...

Remember Cummings wasn't playing well (neither was the team mind you) when Dundee United took 1st from us. i just do not want a repeat...so it's a replica of Cummings you want, for cover?

01-02-2017, 12:16 AM
Thats the bit I'm getting at - not just with you by the way, but with all posters that are worried about the depth in our squad - your question is what if 5 of our 6 first team defenders get injured at one time... People can't really expect Hibs to sign more players just incase that happens? Especially keeping in Mind that Gray, Daz, Fonts and Lewis pretty much never miss a game through injury.Admins, can we please have a special ..".what if they're injured side forum"? this is getting crazy :rolleyes:

01-02-2017, 12:16 AM
Thats the bit I'm getting at - not just with you by the way, but with all posters that are worried about the depth in our squad - your question is what if 5 of our 6 first team defenders get injured at one time... People can't really expect Hibs to sign more players just incase that happens? Especially keeping in Mind that Gray, Daz, Fonts and Lewis pretty much never miss a game through injury.

No I don't but given what happened with our keepers and the fact we now have 3 fairly experienced goalies...it makes little sense we only have 1 natural goal scorer, 1 right back and 1 left back. Can't fill in all the blanks but surely there are players out there that can add to the squad and by signing 1 we might also be planning for next season? I assumed Hibs would be dealing in free agents anyway tbh.

21sMay
01-02-2017, 12:18 AM
I think some people need to remember just where we are as a club at the moment. We are currently in our 3rd year in the championship with a very good squad that wouldn't look out of place in the top 6 in premiership. We obviously tried to sign really quality players in commons and stokes ,which any team in Scotland bar Celtic(and most likely the rangers-for different reasons of course) would be delighted to have been in with a shout for their signatures. It so happened that we couldn't push these deals through and Lennon wasn't going to sign rubbish that managers of our club in the past have. We will cruise this league with the squad we have and have every chance of progressing in the cup, with a good bit extra in the bank for the summer window.

01-02-2017, 12:22 AM
so it's a replica of Cummings you want, for cover?

No, very funny though...people seem to forget that outside of Boyles good run we struggled badly to score goals. We did lose 1st place for a spell, our defence has a great record but our goals scored is hardly record breaking. All it takes is goals to dry up and we'll be 0-0 most weeks...hence why I said it's disappointing nothing was done. If we are champions come end of the season then all good but if anything else happens then this was a critical stage in the season and missed opportunities will be criticised heavily.

houstonhibbee
01-02-2017, 12:23 AM
I think some people need to remember just where we are as a club at the moment. We are currently in our 3rd year in the championship with a very good squad that wouldn't look out of place in the top 6 in premiership. We obviously tried to sign really quality players in commons and stokes ,which any team in Scotland bar Celtic(and most likely the rangers-for different reasons of course) would be delighted to have been in with a shout for their signatures. It so happened that we couldn't push these deals through and Lennon wasn't going to sign rubbish that managers of our club in the past have. We will cruise this league with the squad we have and have every chance of progressing in the cup, with a good bit extra in the bank for the summer window.

and we didn't lose anyone important either

01-02-2017, 12:30 AM
No I don't but given what happened with our keepers and the fact we now have 3 fairly experienced goalies...it makes little sense we only have 1 natural goal scorer, 1 right back and 1 left back. Can't fill in all the blanks but surely there are players out there that can add to the squad and by signing 1 we might also be planning for next season? I assumed Hibs would be dealing in free agents anyway tbh.ok mister mad person, why are you insisting that we must be signing players for the sake of it? next season is something that our club surely have thoughts on but the now, is the now and I am happy that we have people in charge who know how important it is to Hibernian fans that we are back where we want to be. cant see signing 1, which you have mentioned is going to be the answer to our prayers. we have a group of players that imho are taking us in the direction that we want. if we've missed out on a couple of possibles, I can live with that and wont panic.

connerg
01-02-2017, 12:32 AM
The Yams panic buy. Hibs didn't. They have a manager who shows no confidence. We have a manager who is relaxed and experienced.

01-02-2017, 12:37 AM
No, very funny though...people seem to forget that outside of Boyles good run we struggled badly to score goals. We did lose 1st place for a spell, our defence has a great record but our goals scored is hardly record breaking. All it takes is goals to dry up and we'll be 0-0 most weeks...hence why I said it's disappointing nothing was done. If we are champions come end of the season then all good but if anything else happens then this was a critical stage in the season and missed opportunities will be criticised heavily.cool yer jets man, Naebody forgets that we had a wee blip, but we kept getting some sort of results. we lost the top of the league for a week , I think. I am not dismissing D.Utd, or even Falkirk/Queens/Morton at this stage. only stating that we are not at the panic buying stage, and nor should we be!

01-02-2017, 12:39 AM
The Yams panic buy. Hibs didn't. They have a manager who shows no confidence. We have a manager who is relaxed and experienced.my thoughts:aok:

01-02-2017, 12:42 AM
do need to add though, that if we get a draw at the wongadome I will be superiourly chuffed, as if we get back to the Holy Ground we' ll pump them.:flag::greengrin

01-02-2017, 12:44 AM
We're winning the league handsomely and will be far stronger in this half of the season.

Don't really get the transfer window bedwetting.

This team will get us up. Let's save the activity for the close season and the Premiership.

inglisavhibs
01-02-2017, 12:44 AM

Remember Cummings wasn't playing well (neither was the team mind you) when Dundee United took 1st from us. i just do not want a repeat...
Oh aye and where do we pluck another Jason Cummings from? The squad got us to where we are now and we added the pace and width we needed. Support the current squad and we will be fine. We could also have signed another few payers and still not guaranteed promotion.

01-02-2017, 12:47 AM
ok mister mad person, why are you insisting that we must be signing players for the sake of it? next season is something that our club surely have thoughts on but the now, is the now and I am happy that we have people in charge who know how important it is to Hibernian fans that we are back where we want to be. cant see signing 1, which you have mentioned is going to be the answer to our prayers. we have a group of players that imho are taking us in the direction that we want. if we've missed out on a couple of possibles, I can live with that and wont panic.

Ah keeping it polite I see, "mister mad person". You know what unsurprisingly I don't care what you think. Not sure why me saying I'm disappointed and a bit concerned plus giving my reasoning offends you so much to give me such a derogatory comment? May I ask where I specified we should be signing for the sake of it as well? Pretty sure I've gave reasons whether you like them or not doesn't make it "for the sake of it". I won't descend in to name calling or any word play because I still am yet to see why a forum has to be so black and white, my way or the highway.

I have toyed with the idea of putting "admins, can we have a sub forum for moktonharps views with strict denied access for 'mister mad person'" on a post of this thread but I guess that'd be petty and I believe in free speech on forums strangely enough...maybe you should as well mister mean person

01-02-2017, 12:48 AM
We're winning the league handsomely and will be far stronger in this half of the season.

Don't really get the transfer window bedwetting.

This team will get us up. Let's save the activity for the close season and the Premiership.now now Bob, you and I know that calling anyone a bedwetter is not the done thing on this forum:wink: language Timothy

connerg
01-02-2017, 12:52 AM
We need to add to Hearts misery and knock them out the cup again and get promoted. The DD's will be getting cancelled and no money to finish the new stand.

01-02-2017, 01:07 AM
I'm not bothered that we didn't make a signing .... Stokes or Commons would have been good additions, but I'm positive we can win the league with the squad we have. I don't see any need to panic just because we haven't brought in any new blood.

connerg
01-02-2017, 01:21 AM
I'm not bothered that we didn't make a signing .... Stokes or Commons would have been good additions, but I'm positive we can win the league with the squad we have. I don't see any need to panic just because we haven't brought in any new blood.

Yes, but maybe they're both being lined up for next season.:greengrin

01-02-2017, 02:41 AM
my thoughts:aok:

Indeed. Signing another player won't make a huge difference either way. We've had load of injuries and we have still opened an 8 point lead. If we do get everybody fit some good players won't even make the bench.

01-02-2017, 02:43 AM
Having said that wouldve liked to seen cover for central defence with Hanlons issues. Still could get an emergency loan for a month could we not. In Neil we trust.

Cletus
01-02-2017, 03:57 AM
I'm completely comfortable with what we've got. Yes an addition or two would've been nice but personally I'd prefer we use our available funds to tie up the likes of McGregor and Fyvie, who are quality key players, on new longer deals. I'd expect some movement in this regard in the upcoming days and weeks.

01-02-2017, 05:00 AM
I am not too concerned that we neither signed Stokes nor Commons as I believe we have enough in the squad to win the league and said so earlier, I am though concerned at our transfer business this season for two reasons:

1) It shows a complete lack of imagination, WTF are we paying our much vaunted recruitment team for?

2) I supported the under investment in the summer window grudgingly as I believed at the time that we may face a large fine for the post cup final issue, but to not invest now when that proved not to be the case and season ticket numbers and attendances have rocketed is worrying.

Its either complacent in the extreme or an indication that we overspent massively last year and that this years wage bill is completely over the top and that the windfall monies from the cup, increased season ticket monies and attendances are needed to keep the ship afloat.

Lennon is a clever guy who knows how the game is played, for him to openly state that we need bodies in and not to get any is another concern.

We will win this league, but if heaven forbid we don't there are going to be some hard questions asked and hard times ahead

confused
01-02-2017, 05:13 AM
Signing players for the sake of it is crazy, if we are going to sign a player he must be superior to the player already in the team , otherwise why sign him ? Just to get splinters on his ---- ?
Frustrated ? Just because other teams make signings ? I reckon 50% of the players who moved clubs won't become any more than " bit " players , injuries ? They may happen ,they may not, but I certainly don't think we should be gambling wages to sit on the bench , Next season when we go up we will need to add a wee bit to the squad , but that's for another day ,

01-02-2017, 05:18 AM
Personally I think our squad is more than good enough with cover in most positions, and weve strenghtened appropriately by bringing in Humphrey. People like signings but historically transfers in January havent been overly successful for us (although there are exceptions). Another positive is that our rivals havent really done much in strengthening.

Canon Hannan
01-02-2017, 05:20 AM
I am not too concerned that we neither signed Stokes nor Commons as I believe we have enough in the squad to win the league and said so earlier, I am though concerned at our transfer business this season for two reasons:

1) It shows a complete lack of imagination, WTF are we paying our much vaunted recruitment team for?

2) I supported the under investment in the summer window grudgingly as I believed at the time that we may face a large fine for the post cup final issue, but to not invest now when that proved not to be the case and season ticket numbers and attendances have rocketed is worrying.

Its either complacent in the extreme or an indication that we overspent massively last year and that this years wage bill is completely over the top and that the windfall monies from the cup, increased season ticket monies and attendances are needed to keep the ship afloat.

Lennon is a clever guy who knows how the game is played, for him to openly state that we need bodies in and not to get any is another concern.

We will win this league, but if heaven forbid we don't there are going to be some hard questions asked and hard times ahead

Would finances have been the main reason for not signing some players? Maybe the Board have prevented Neil signing who he wanted? We will never know.

01-02-2017, 05:46 AM
Commons and Stokes were always ambitious at this level, and the fact that they have not went elsewhere indicates that they are perhaps more in the plans of the current club than we imagine.

Lennon only wanted players he could hang his hat on in this window. When you start moving to plan b and c, you lose that certainty, and he may have had more trust in his squad players than a lesser known quantity, who may not have even played this season.

01-02-2017, 05:47 AM
Would finances have been the main reason for not signing some players? Maybe the Board have prevented Neil signing who he wanted? We will never know.

If its other than finances or appropriate players not being available / willing to come, then I would suggest that Lennon wont stand for it.

The minute your employers start telling you that they wont rather than cant support your choices you are IMO doomed.

I don't believe that that is the case, I just think they tried and failed with their main targets. what concerns me is that there didn't appear to be any back up plans.

As for those saying why sign players to sit on the bench, there isn't a team in the land that cant be improved.

If we are signing players content to sit on the bench, they are the wrong players.

We will win the league, but the squad is unquestionably weaker than last years and the reasons for that concern me when revenues are or at least should be booming.

Looks to me that we bet the ranch on promotion last year and failed to achieve, if that is the case and we hadn't won the cup we would be totally screwed as revenues wouldn't be anywhere near their current levels.

I would find that a worrying scenario and if that is the case the board got very very lucky indeed with us winning the cup.

Its speculation on my part and we will never know, but it does raise questions as to why our transfer business this year has been so poor.

As to their being no requirement, I read every window on hear about us getting the targets in and integrated, if we are looking beyond promotion, surely we should be doing that for next season now and seeing if they fit in and can step up?

If we go up we will definitely need to strengthen and I would like to have to do a Hearts and ship in 8 at Xmas as the summer lot weren't good enough and we were languishing at the wrong end of the league.

01-02-2017, 05:48 AM

At Easter Road the head coach says who he wants. It's then up to the Head of football and CEO and delegates to negotiate based on board set budget parameters.

It's hardly Neil's fault that no signings have been made.

01-02-2017, 05:53 AM

We will if Hibs fail to win promotion. NL will be finished as a manager and will not hold back.

01-02-2017, 05:58 AM
Having had time to think about it, we should be ok in the league. Dundee Utd are on a poor run and as long as we don't go on another poor run like we did before Christmas, we'll win it.

Kris Commons has won us points and has been a big reason we have the lead we do and could have made the difference at Tynecastle next weekend,but it's now time for the likes of Shinnie and Keatings to chip in with a few more goals.

01-02-2017, 06:31 AM
I'm completely comfortable with what we've got. Yes an addition or two would've been nice but personally I'd prefer we use our available funds to tie up the likes of McGregor and Fyvie, who are quality key players, on new longer deals. I'd expect some movement in this regard in the upcoming days and weeks.