View Full Version : NHC Hearts going back to a Romanov-style scattergun signing policy??

30-01-2017, 05:32 PM
I remember a few years back Romanov signed something like 11 players in one day for Hearts during the transfer window. They must be close to matching that this year?

What's going on there? You got the impression from the way Neilson used to talk that he was just a few building blocks away from assembling a side to challenge for the title, yet since Cathro arrived they seeem to signing an entirely new team. Was such a ruthless overhaul really needed so quickly, especially when you consider they were in second place before Cathro arrived? Also seems a big show of faith in a rookie manager whose aptitude for the role seems highly questionable based on his record so far.

30-01-2017, 05:37 PM
I remember a few years back Romanov signed something like 11 players in one day for Hearts during the transfer window. They must be close to matching that this year?

What's going on there? You got the impression from the way Neilson used to talk that he was just a few building blocks away from assembling a side to challenge for the title, yet since Cathro arrived they seeem to signing an entirely new team. Was such a ruthless overhaul really needed so quickly, especially when you consider they were in second place before Cathro arrived? Also seems a big show of faith in a rookie manager whose aptitude for the role seems highly questionable based on his record so far.

It's what big teams do

30-01-2017, 05:37 PM
I have a feeling most of the new signings will last longer than Cathro.

30-01-2017, 05:41 PM
Everyone loves a new signing or 10 but as we Hibs fans know it's quality not quantity that is needed.

Time will tell what path they have gone done, from what I have seen so far there is not much quality on offer. Maybe the new ones are different.

30-01-2017, 05:42 PM
They are all freebies who have been offered to other clubs in Scotland. Some will be utter dross but maybe one might be a gem! It's like us under Fenlon and that when we just signed folk for the sake of it and they aren't very good.

Hearts for me are in a bit of bother and they aren't bringing in quality that's for sure.

30-01-2017, 05:49 PM
Hopefully they're all of the same quality that the french boy Martin has shown so far. Possibly the slowest player in their side (I include Aaron Hughes) who looks lazy and afraid of a challenge. And they gave him a three and a half year contract :aok:

30-01-2017, 05:49 PM
Yip, reminds me of us under Fenlon. That went well!

30-01-2017, 05:50 PM
It seems a bit mad TBH, they were in a decent place in the league and apart from the cup they just needed to consolidate with a new rookie manager. Why on Earth would you sign an almost entire team of players from all over the shop in the January window? If a massive overhaul was needed, short term deals with a bunch of foreigners must be very questionable. I honestly can't see the point and would be really concerned if Hibs done this while in their (reasonable) position in January 😳

30-01-2017, 05:58 PM
They are all freebies who have been offered to other clubs in Scotland. Some will be utter dross but maybe one might be a gem! It's like us under Fenlon and that when we just signed folk for the sake of it and they aren't very good.

Hearts for me are in a bit of bother and they aren't bringing in quality that's for sure.

The Greek midfielder on paper looks like a decent signing. Has played at a high level including an UEFA cup final and capped 62 times for Greece. Goncalves was a good player when at St Mirren. May be two or three decent players in amongst the ridiculous quantity they are signing. Watched them against Raith, and the new lad Martin was utter dross though!

30-01-2017, 05:59 PM
Don't know if I'm missing some, but is it not only 4 in and 1 out?

It's a little unusual for January, but not ridiculous.

EDIT: Nope, I'm badly informed!

30-01-2017, 06:15 PM
Heart of Midlothian will play Hibernian. These are the words that have sparked panic in gorgie. Budgie and Potter know the ramifications of being knocked out the cup by us. Cathy probably doesn't understand what all the fuss is about as he's not been in the job long enough to have developed a hatred of hibs yet.
2/3rds of these players will probably not be there next season and that doesn't make for a successful run of results as we know only too well.

30-01-2017, 06:17 PM
Cathro's as clueless as Butcher and signing mare dross than Colin the clown and personally I think it's marvellous

30-01-2017, 06:22 PM

No, I think they've signed a total of 8 now. They let Muirhead, Rossi, Ozturk and Tony Watt go. They've also lost Paterson and Souttar to serious injuries.

In terms of numbers they're about the same as they were before the window. Paterson is a loss that they won't be able to replace, no matter how many free agents they sign.

30-01-2017, 06:23 PM

Did Vlad not also say it was his dream for his team to be 11 Lithuanian internationalists? He made a good attempt at that!

30-01-2017, 06:26 PM

You're missing loads.. they're not far off double figures for signings this window and they're nearly all foreign aswell.. it's been very strange and as others have said, it won't end well. Players that are available in January are usually unfit/haven't played in months/brutal

30-01-2017, 06:32 PM
The thing that gets me is that Cathro was part of the Scotland set up if I remember rightly. I would have thought he was all about brilliant, modern coaching methods and putting together a team of young scottish talent that he could mould..instead he seems to be panic buying a load of 2nd rate foreigners ! (the greek guy aside who, on paper looks like he should be quality).

30-01-2017, 07:15 PM
Signing a load of players at once is almost always a bad move as it just serves to put a manager under even more pressure if they don't work out. The way to do it is to gradually modify and tweak a side you inherit. That way you can claim the 'work in progress', 'its an evolution' type thing if results aren't so great. Strachan at Middlesbrough springs to mind. Put himself under huge pressure by signing about half a team. Never worked and next thing he's gone.

30-01-2017, 07:21 PM
Signing a load of players at once is almost always a bad move as it just serves to put a manager under even more pressure if they don't work out. The way to do it is to gradually modify and tweak a side you inherit. That way you can claim the 'work in progress', 'its an evolution' type thing if results aren't so great. Strachan at Middlesbrough springs to mind. Put himself under huge pressure by signing about half a team. Never worked and next thing he's gone.

Agree and there's a real possibility that they could lose their next 2 league games and be out the cup a week on Sunday. If that were to happen he'd have almost a full new team of short term contract foreigners, a very pissed off support and nothing left to play for. It may work out in his favour but to me he's just hit the gamble button and needs it to come up.

30-01-2017, 07:21 PM
It's ok.

What...eh?

30-01-2017, 07:34 PM

http://www.skysports.com/heart-of-midlothian-transfers

I count 8 in and 4 out

30-01-2017, 07:36 PM
It's ok.

What...eh?

This won't get old any time soon. :greengrin

30-01-2017, 08:12 PM
I have a feeling most of the new signings will last longer than Cathro.

Even the loan ones.

30-01-2017, 08:22 PM
Heart of Midlothian will play Hibernian. These are the words that have sparked panic in gorgie. Budgie and Potter know the ramifications of being knocked out the cup by us. Cathy probably doesn't understand what all the fuss is about as he's not been in the job long enough to have developed a hatred of hibs yet.
2/3rds of these players will probably not be there next season and that doesn't make for a successful run of results as we know only too well.

I imagine Levein is giving Cathy the Ludovico treatment as we speak.

Next time we see him he'll look haunted and be muttering about 'green vermin'.

30-01-2017, 08:22 PM
Barry Anderson creaming himself over one of the Greek players in particular. Be interested to know if he's ever actually seen him play.

Players that haven't played in months take weeks to get there sharpness back and that's when they've got 8 or 9 other fully match fit players carrying them to begin with. To try and build a team of players like this in January is nuts.

30-01-2017, 08:23 PM
They'll just have to sign them again.

30-01-2017, 08:24 PM
They'll just have to sign them again.

It's ok

(I don't care that joke has been used on this thread already)

30-01-2017, 08:25 PM
It's ok

(I don't care that joke has been used on this thread already)

That's ok too.

30-01-2017, 08:34 PM
http://www.skysports.com/heart-of-midlothian-transfers

I count 8 in and 4 out

Yup. 6 of the 8 are until end of the season. I thought Hearts were the 'model club' that other clubs aspired to?!

30-01-2017, 08:37 PM
Barry Anderson creaming himself

He owes it to himself.

SuperAllyMcleod
30-01-2017, 08:37 PM
So, 8 players in and 4 out means an additional 4 on the wage bill while the expected millions for Paterson, Nicholson and Walker hasn't materialised - more stand money thrown away!

I could perhaps understand it if they were in relegation trouble but the facts are that they will more than likely finish 4th or 5th so there should be no real panic to rebuild the squad in one transfer window - especially as the only reason they need to rebuild is because Cathro has to be seen to be putting his mark on the squad.

All in all, very confusing but has the potential to be highly entertaining for months to come.

30-01-2017, 08:41 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/where-are-they-now-11-hearts-signings-from-2006-january-window-1-4002287

One of these guys allegedly cost them £850k (worked out at £122k an appearance!) and another 500k. No wonder Hearts went bust.

30-01-2017, 09:18 PM
Maybe Romanov is still funding them from his bunker somewhere.

Marco G
30-01-2017, 09:48 PM
Barry Anderson creaming himself over one of the Greek players in particular. Be interested to know if he's ever actually seen him play.

Players that haven't played in months take weeks to get there sharpness back and that's when they've got 8 or 9 other fully match fit players carrying them to begin with. To try and build a team of players like this in January is nuts.
Hang on, they are all top class players of amazing pedigree, er except....ah yes, they have not been getting a game for months, and/ or did not have their contracts renewed, or have never played at a decent level since Barcelona reserves. But apart from that I am sure they will all be up to Barry's expected standard.

30-01-2017, 09:59 PM
Hearts have signed nine players this window - 4 defenders, 3 midfielders, two forwards. Just one more goalkeeper and midfielder and they have an entire team.

Oh, and five of these players were signed after it was confirmed they would play us in the cup. Five days ago.

30-01-2017, 10:01 PM
It's only a mad signing policy if 7 out of the 8 players are not clients of KSM sports and your director of football does not have a financial interest in that company along with John Colquhoun.
Im sure everything is above board and there are no conflicts of interest and all the FoH money is spent with the club's best interests at heart.
http://keysports.co.uk/

30-01-2017, 10:06 PM
It's only a mad signing policy if 7 out of the 8 players are not clients of KSM sports and your director of football does not have a financial interest in that company along with John Colquhoun.
Im sure everything is above board and there are no conflicts of interest and all the FoH money is spent with the club's best interests at heart.

Wow

That's a big story. If these signings don't work out this Is a huge scandal.

30-01-2017, 10:12 PM

Is this the agency that Potter uses?

Criswell
30-01-2017, 10:18 PM
Certainly someone's pressed the panic button! Scared about playing a "wee team" from a lower league?

30-01-2017, 10:19 PM

I was told that he has an interest in it and that 7 of the 8 players so far were clients.

30-01-2017, 10:31 PM
I was told that he has an interest in it and that 7 of the 8 players so far were clients.

Interesting if true. I'd heard from a former player that Potter only used one agent/agency. Maybe something in it

30-01-2017, 10:33 PM

John Colquhoun is certainly a registered director, Levein isn't but I assume there's other ways he could have a financial interest.

30-01-2017, 10:34 PM
John Colquhoun is certainly a registered director, Levein isn't but I assume there's other ways he could have a financial interest.

He's not a shareholder, either.

30-01-2017, 10:42 PM

Patterson, Nicholson and Souttar are all clients.

So is our very own James Tavernier. :greengrin

30-01-2017, 10:48 PM

All players that they wanted to move on for max fees. Looks like Sammaybe the only one they can sell in the short term

30-01-2017, 10:50 PM
They are absolutely bricking it....They cannot get turned over by hibs again.
Cmon hibs, pump them out again and they will have *****ed a shed load of cash un-necessarily...gotta love it. Helluva gamble.

30-01-2017, 10:53 PM
Interesting if true. I'd heard from a former player that Potter only used one agent/agency. Maybe something in it

Further evidence of this is the number of players brought in from or with recent experience of the Dutch/Belgian leagues last season. I'd bet they all have the same representation.

Anderson
Zeefuik
El Hassnaoui
Dauda
Djoum
Rherras

Of those 6, only 1 is any good so shows you the hit rate of this 'scouting' policy.

30-01-2017, 10:56 PM
Maybe Levein's realised that Budge's thought that third this season was failure also applied the him.

30-01-2017, 11:01 PM
Goncalves cost £170,000. I wonder if this is the old "speculate to accumulate" tactic. He manages a good goals to games ratio and is sold on at a healthy profit. Always a gamble.

30-01-2017, 11:13 PM
There's something funny going on.

I wouldn't be doing any work on this new stand without getting paid, in cash, up front. That is for sure.

They don't have long to bed these players in before they play us.

TBH I thought they'd been doing quite well since their "insolvency event" a few years ago and had got their act together.

It appears not.

30-01-2017, 11:21 PM
There's something funny going on.

I wouldn't be doing any work on this new stand without getting paid, in cash, up front. That is for sure.

They don't have long to bed these players in before they play us.

TBH I thought they'd been doing quite well since their "insolvency event" a few years ago and had got their act together.

It appears not.

Totally agree with this. It appears they are looking to appease and distract their gullible simpleton fans by unloading a truck load of new 'players' outside swiney.

Their season now hinges on one game against us. The sweat beads are becoming ever more noticeable and their Body Odour ever worsening.

What a bunch of sad delusional twisted Yams.

:giruy2:

Glory Glory

30-01-2017, 11:23 PM
They are having an absolute meltdown over there.

I love how they put that they signed Concalves for 200,000 Euros. It seems to be trying to make it seem as if it's not as expensive despite the fact the exchange rate is basically the same. Jambonomics again.

We've seen how the scattergun approach fails. Lets hope for the same for that mob:greengrin

Trainor
30-01-2017, 11:23 PM
They are absolutely bricking it....They cannot get turned over by hibs again.
Cmon hibs, pump them out again and they will have *****ed a shed load of cash un-necessarily...gotta love it. Helluva gamble.

Am I the only one a wee bit worried?

30-01-2017, 11:25 PM

Oh dear Yams.

Don't tell me you've fallen victim to another racket!

30-01-2017, 11:43 PM
Fyvie, Stanton and Insall all represented by Keysports. I can't see a list of foreign based players. A good socialist organisation if Colquhoun is involved surely 🤥

JT Fae The Toon
31-01-2017, 12:11 AM

Nope.

http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/heart-of-midlothian-fc/startseite/verein/43/saison_id/2016

31-01-2017, 12:32 AM
According to the PAOK forum Tziolis done OK for them but Skondras who has signed for Hamilton apparently seems to be better thought of. Time will tell.

31-01-2017, 03:07 AM
It must be infuriating and frustrating being a Hearts fan. After their brush with extinction they seemed to have got their house in order. Some decent young players and a steady consistent squad and a manager who did a great job in all honesty. All of a sudden Neilson leaves whilst sitting second for MK Dons in England's league one (very strange), they appoint a 30 year old manager with no management experience and immediately go into freefall, punt a few first team regulars and sign 9 (nine) players who are relatively unknown in the January transfer window. Just when it looked like the ship had steadied it seems to have gone very strange over the road. It's bizzare.

31-01-2017, 07:40 AM

There's a few players there who have been signed by Warburton. A look at their staff list on the website shows his daughter works there.

31-01-2017, 07:45 AM
It must be infuriating and frustrating being a Hearts fan. After their brush with extinction they seemed to have got their house in order. Some decent young players and a steady consistent squad and a manager who did a great job in all honesty. All of a sudden Neilson leaves whilst sitting second for MK Dons in England's league one (very strange), they appoint a 30 year old manager with no management experience and immediately go into freefall, punt a few first team regulars and sign 9 (nine) players who are relatively unknown in the January transfer window. Just when it looked like the ship had steadied it seems to have gone very strange over the road. It's bizzare.

The worrying thing for them is if it doesn't work out very quickly and we put them out of the cup, the place will be in melt down. It could be a fatal blow for Cathro, it's HUGE gamble with lots to lose and it would seem very little to gain. As you say it's totally bizarre! :confused:

31-01-2017, 07:55 AM

Lots of green and white graphics..

31-01-2017, 07:57 AM
Fyvie, Stanton and Insall all represented by Keysports. I can't see a list of foreign based players. A good socialist organisation if Colquhoun is involved surely 🤥

Champagne Socialism...

31-01-2017, 08:03 AM
There's a few players there who have been signed by Warburton. A look at their staff list on the website shows his daughter works there.

That's how football works.

31-01-2017, 08:13 AM
The worrying thing for them is if it doesn't work out very quickly and we put them out of the cup, the place will be in melt down. It could be a fatal blow for Cathro, it's HUGE gamble with lots to lose and it would seem very little to gain. As you say it's totally bizarre! :confused:

On top of the dozens of players he's bought, another thing he's now got is a ready made excuse for not succeeding.

"Would have got it right but wasn't given the time for the players to gel"......obviously you'd need to put a bit more waffle in there, rearrange the words a bit and reiterate you invented football coaching but that's the general gist of a ready made excuse Cathro now has.

31-01-2017, 08:13 AM
They apparently paid for Goncalves but what about the rest of them? Are they loans or free agent permanent deals?

31-01-2017, 08:21 AM
They apparently paid for Goncalves but what about the rest of them? Are they loans or free agent permanent deals?

The boy from Stoke reserves is on loan and apart from Goncalves the rest were free agents after having their contracts terminated or in Martin's case his contract coming to an end and not being renewed.

31-01-2017, 08:30 AM
As our game with them is after the window, Nicholson and Walker will not be sold until the end of the season.

You can guarantee that if we played them on say, the 18th January, both players would play the derby and immediately be sold on the 19th (provided no replay). Everything is about beating Hibs.

31-01-2017, 08:38 AM
As our game with them is after the window, Nicholson and Walker will not be sold until the end of the season.

You can guarantee that if we played them on say, the 18th January, both players would play the derby and immediately be sold on the 19th (provided no replay). Everything is about beating Hibs.

Didn't work that way with osman sow last season.

31-01-2017, 08:41 AM
Nicholson will leave for free in the summer

31-01-2017, 08:42 AM

It's easy for us to say that but the fact is that it is true. In threads on KB shortly after the draw, all they could talk about was an unthinkable defeat to us. I couldn't believe one of their established punters stating that the upcoming matches against Celtic, Sevco and Motherwell were irrelevant and no more than good preparation for their only significant upcoming match. :greengrin

31-01-2017, 09:59 AM
Didn't work that way with osman sow last season.

I wouldn't be surprised if one of Nicholson or walker departs today. Cathro saying they had a very light squad hence bringing in nine players. The money will need to come from somewhere and it won't be in selling Patterson. It is noticeable that most of the signings are just till the end of the season which is bonkers as bar the derby they have nothing to play for. And of course cathro sanctioned all the transfers. More than ever potter is in charge but of course won't be the fall guy if it goes belly up. He may be an Erse of the highest order but he isn't stupid.

31-01-2017, 10:47 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if one of Nicholson or walker departs today. Cathro saying they had a very light squad hence bringing in nine players. The money will need to come from somewhere and it won't be in selling Patterson. It is noticeable that most of the signings are just till the end of the season which is bonkers as bar the derby they have nothing to play for. And of course cathro sanctioned all the transfers. More than ever potter is in charge but of course won't be the fall guy if it goes belly up. He may be an Erse of the highest order but he isn't stupid.

I would be delighted if Walker leaves. He is their main goal threat now that Patterson is gone.

31-01-2017, 10:52 AM
You could call the Cathro revolution at the PB a catharsis.

31-01-2017, 11:27 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/where-are-they-now-11-hearts-signings-from-2006-january-window-1-4002287

One of these guys allegedly cost them £850k (worked out at £122k an appearance!) and another 500k. No wonder Hearts went bust.

That's an excellent article, amazing given it's the EN! Re the current signings the one who concerns me is Goncalves. He looked a player at St M & may be just what Yams need. I suspect he's also the only one brought in by Cathro. I would not be surprised if they're now frantically trying to sell Walker or Nicholson.

31-01-2017, 11:36 AM
That's an excellent article, amazing given it's the EN! Re the current signings the one who concerns me is Goncalves. He looked a player at St M & may be just what Yams need. I suspect he's also the only one brought in by Cathro. I would not be surprised if they're now frantically trying to sell Walker or Nicholson.
It's the Scotsman tbf. Can you really imagine Barry penning something in that tone? 😀

31-01-2017, 11:44 AM
Where's the money coming from?

Perish the thought that we'll have to wait another couple of years after the one stand is done before the first fan that isn't Mrs Budge gets a share certificate.

31-01-2017, 11:44 AM

Nicholson is out of contract in May, only get sweeties for him now.

31-01-2017, 11:46 AM
Nicholson will leave for free in the summer

Heard that also from a lad that pals about with him
Evidently it is more beneficial for him personally/financially to leave in the summer .
Can't quite fathom out Cathro's " plan for the future" looking at the quality he is signing in this window
As always " time will tell " :greengrin

31-01-2017, 11:47 AM
Goncalves looks a player to be fair

31-01-2017, 11:49 AM
Heard that also from a lad that pals about with him
Evidently it is more beneficial for him personally/financially to leave in the summer .
Can't quite fathom out Cathro's " plan for the future" looking at the quality he is signing in this window
As always " time will tell " :greengrin

Cathro's always got the words mixed up a bit to be fair, so maybe what he's on about is helping a few mercenaries plan for their futures?

31-01-2017, 12:51 PM
You could call the Cathro revolution at the PB a catharsis.
Or a cathstration

31-01-2017, 12:55 PM
Or a cathstration
Or a cathastrophy.

31-01-2017, 12:58 PM
I would be delighted if Walker leaves. He is their main goal threat now that Patterson is gone.

Correct. Assuming by gone, you mean injured :greengrin

It's quite funny over on that friendly, informative Heart of Midlothian messageboard how many of them are REALLY sure that they will beat us easily, but very very quick to point out that Cathro's job shouldn't be on the line if the unthinkable happens.

They are very much bricking it :greengrin

31-01-2017, 01:01 PM
Or a cathastrophy.

As an outsider looking in, his reign appears to be a Cathalogue of errors so far.

31-01-2017, 01:11 PM
Nicholson is out of contract in May, only get sweeties for him now.

I agree but I suspect his 2 recent appearances were to put him in the shop window. IIRC Yams were talking about him as a £4m player only last season!

31-01-2017, 01:23 PM
As an outsider looking in, his reign appears to be a Cathalogue of errors so far.
Was typing that a cathartic moment for you?

31-01-2017, 01:34 PM
Goncalves boy looks a good signing tbf.

31-01-2017, 01:48 PM
Or a cathastrophy.

Waiting for the eventual Cathroclysm to happen...

31-01-2017, 02:00 PM
Goncalves boy looks a good signing tbf.

I keep reading that but am not sure why?

He was meh at St Mirren a few years back and I haven't heard of him since

Mr_F
31-01-2017, 02:00 PM
Goncalves looks a player to be fair

Scored about 10 goals since leaving St Midden, no thanks

mowgli
31-01-2017, 02:09 PM
Where's the money coming from?

Perish the thought that we'll have to wait another couple of years after the one stand is done before the first fan that isn't Mrs Budge gets a share certificate.

Seven players out if Paterson and Souttar are included and 9 players in on frees apart from Goncalves but his fee was paid with the money taken for Muirhead and Juanma.

hibsmad
31-01-2017, 02:09 PM
I keep reading that but am not sure why?

He was meh at St Mirren a few years back and I haven't heard of him since

Just checked his career stats on Wikipedia.

133 games and 36 goals.

Although I remember him as a decent player, I don't really get all the fuss around his signing.

31-01-2017, 02:50 PM
They are without doubt using money earmarked for other things, they are also ****ting bricks we beat them in the cup again and this is pure panic buys in my opinion, never heard of any of the players they have signed.

Muppets.

31-01-2017, 02:52 PM
I would be delighted if Walker leaves. He is their main diving cheating bs'tard penalty winner now that Patterson is gone.

Fixed that for you :wink:

31-01-2017, 03:15 PM
Budgie kens that they're gonna struggle to hold onto the attendances they've been getting and are due to slump any time soon, derby couldn't have come at a better time for them in terms of giving them some revenge and a nice wee blanket for the fans to hide behind again.

31-01-2017, 03:22 PM
Where's the money coming from to pay all these new players wages etc plus build a fab new stand? The magic money tree?

31-01-2017, 03:35 PM
Just checked his career stats on Wikipedia.

133 games and 36 goals.

Although I remember him as a decent player, I don't really get all the fuss around his signing.

Decent return for a player who isn't an out-and-out striker.

31-01-2017, 03:46 PM
Where's the money coming from to pay all these new players wages etc plus build a fab new stand? The magic money tree?

They'll probably just not bother paying them. Seemed to suit the last regime.

31-01-2017, 03:49 PM
Concalves was very good at St Mirren.
He was on loan from the club Cathro was working for at the time and he obviously rated him.
However, he was a naughty boy (smoking and partying) and Cathro had McPhee keep an eye on him for the short time he was in Glasgow.
Since then Concalves hasn't made good on his potential.
Accordingly the question is whether Cathro is getting the same player he rated 4 years ago or is he getting an older more cynical player with a load more cigarette and partying miles on the clock.
Time will tell.

31-01-2017, 03:50 PM

Surely they wouldn't risk their entire future again over one wee derby-match ...................

31-01-2017, 04:19 PM
Surely they wouldn't risk their entire future again over one wee derby-match ...................

Wouldn't put it past them, they just can't help themselves.

But I have an inkling the Roseberrys are back handing them cash, not for the first time of course.

31-01-2017, 04:22 PM

But I have an inkling the Roseberrys are back handing them cash, not for the first time of course.
Not familiar with anything Yam - what are the Roseberrys?

31-01-2017, 04:28 PM

The numpty aristocrats from Crammond, no?

31-01-2017, 04:32 PM

They're borrowing it from themselves, though this time they really are. Only this time the wee wifey who has all the shares is sitting at the top of the money tree and fully intends to collect, circa 6.5%.

The Foundation of believers can keep pumping the dosh in and she will keep using it to deliver a bit of success and improvements to the ground on her watch, after she's achieved whatever the end game is they can start a share issue of sorts then. Must be costing the average yam direct debiter a bomb on top of their entry money to sit in a slum and still not get what they thought they were paying for.

31-01-2017, 04:35 PM

Makes sense, other than in return for a huge wedge of cash why on earth would you just suddenly design and wear that very odd away strip?

31-01-2017, 05:19 PM
Cathro had better be some kind of genius or the sugar is gonna hit the fan grand style.

31-01-2017, 06:03 PM

The Earl Of Roseberry Estate in Cramond.

Right shower of snobby bassas, that stupid strip they play in the family colours.

Fuds.

31-01-2017, 06:11 PM
Concalves was very good at St Mirren.
He was on loan from the club Cathro was working for at the time and he obviously rated him.
However, he was a naughty boy (smoking and partying) and Cathro had McPhee keep an eye on him for the short time he was in Glasgow.
Since then Concalves hasn't made good on his potential.
Accordingly the question is whether Cathro is getting the same player he rated 4 years ago or is he getting an older more cynical player with a load more cigarette and partying miles on the clock.
Time will tell.

A good summary. As you say, hopefully he's been out partying non stop since St M gubbed Yams in LC final!

31-01-2017, 06:27 PM
The Earl Of Roseberry Estate in Cramond.

Right shower of snobby bassas, that stupid strip they play in the family colours.

Fuds.

Why would they be giving them money?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

31-01-2017, 06:32 PM
Why would they be giving them money?

More money than sense?

"The club is delighted that the longstanding support of the Rosebery dynasty has been assured as the club continues its remarkable journey. Son of the current the Earl of Rosebery, Lord Dalmeny is a keen Hearts fan and his son, Caspian Primrose proved to be a fine mascot for the team when he took to the field for the victorious end of season encounter against Aberdeen."

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5279

31-01-2017, 07:52 PM
More money than sense?

"The club is delighted that the longstanding support of the Rosebery dynasty has been assured as the club continues its remarkable journey. Son of the current the Earl of Rosebery, Lord Dalmeny is a keen Hearts fan and his son, Caspian Primrose proved to be a fine mascot for the team when he took to the field for the victorious end of season encounter against Aberdeen."

I'm glad Hearts are taking their money as they sound horrible, even better that they appear to be wasting it on a load of foreign journeymen.

31-01-2017, 08:42 PM
Cathro had better be some kind of genius or the sugar is gonna hit the fan grand style.

Could his 'Genius ploy' be that we could be playing (with the exception of Gonclaves) an entire team we know SFA about ?

31-01-2017, 09:31 PM
Why would they be giving them money?Sent from my SM-A510F using TapatalkThey have already gave them £3 million as a "mystery donor" for the stand.

31-01-2017, 09:36 PM
They have already gave them £3 million as a "mystery donor" for the stand.
Loan or gift?

31-01-2017, 09:36 PM
I'm glad Hearts are taking their money as they sound horrible, even better that they appear to be wasting it on a load of foreign journeymen.

They are a very nasty bunch. Typical tory snobs of the worst type.

Glory Glory

31-01-2017, 09:46 PM
Loan or gift?

Hard to tell, you know what they are like, from what I hear it was a gift.

31-01-2017, 09:47 PM

So is there anything out there that confirms that money was handed over?

31-01-2017, 09:50 PM
They are a very nasty bunch. Typical tory snobs of the worst type.

Glory Glory

Lot's of run ins with the good people of Cramond I'm told, a mate who lives there tells me lots of complaints to the council about them, of what I don't know but not popular neighbours it seems.

31-01-2017, 10:07 PM
More money than sense?

Wow! The grovelling sycophancy in that statement is boak inducing

....and Caspian Primrose??? are they for f*****g real? Sounds like something from a movie where they prance around in tights with jeweled codpieces, having sword fights with rapiers and one hand on the hip...Have at you knave. I'm a prince don't you know

01-02-2017, 12:13 PM
If I was a Hearts fan I'd be really reassured by the following from Cathro:

"We are bringing in guys who know how to play football and who have played football before"

01-02-2017, 12:22 PM
If I was a Hearts fan I'd be really reassured by the following from Cathro:

"We are bringing in guys who know how to play football and who have played football before"
Quite amazing. He's gonna get himself sacked.

01-02-2017, 12:35 PM

Can any individual or institution or 'dynasty' :faf: make a gift of that size without incurring legal, financial issues. Just out of interest, you know?

01-02-2017, 12:37 PM
Can any individual or institution or 'dynasty' :faf: make a gift of that size without incurring legal, financial issues. Just out of interest, you know?

Don't see a problem with it.

Paperwork is key, though.

01-02-2017, 12:41 PM
Where were they when they went down the plughole? Can gift a wad of cash when the teams defence looks shaky but wouldnt pay the poppy bill?

01-02-2017, 12:45 PM
as cathro said himself..they've signed more players so are definately stronger.......plus they have the prolific esmael goncalves

01-02-2017, 12:46 PM

Intellectually, a genius he ain't. The two interviews I've heard recently, especially yesterday's, suggest he has communication difficulties, both in his inept choice of language, an incredible inability to construct sentences and a habit of saying the same thing twice in the same sentence. That aside, he might very well be a genius on the training ground.

01-02-2017, 12:51 PM
Cathro signings are effectively saying to the existing players "I have no confidence in you."

I'm sure that is reciprocated.

01-02-2017, 12:52 PM
Don't see a problem with it.

Paperwork is key, though.

What's the difference between that sort of 'gift' and the difficulty of me giving a an annual gift of more than £3,000 per annum to a relative?

01-02-2017, 12:56 PM
What's the difference between that sort of 'gift' and the difficulty of me giving a an annual gift of more than £3,000 per annum to a relative?

They're both allowed, which I thought was the point of your question.

Both may, as I think you're saying, have an impact on Inheritance Tax situations. In that respect, there's no difference. However, without knowing anything about the Rosebery's tax affairs.....I'm scoobied. :greengrin

01-02-2017, 01:02 PM
It's ok.

What...eh?

Uw wuh. Eh. Whats difficult?

01-02-2017, 01:08 PM

No idea how it works Jim, don't know the law on such things but like everything else at the PBS they will use any means possible to make sure no one finds out.

01-02-2017, 01:23 PM
They're both allowed, which I thought was the point of your question.

Both may, as I think you're saying, have an impact on Inheritance Tax situations. In that respect, there's no difference. However, without knowing anything about the Rosebery's tax affairs.....I'm scoobied. :greengrin

As far as I understand, you can gift £3k to anyone tax free. However, any amount over £3k is liable for inheritance tax and other taxes if the donor dies within 7 years of the donation. So if the 'dynasty' all popped their clogs in the next few years, HOMFC would be liable for a huge tax bill.

01-02-2017, 01:39 PM
As far as I understand, you can gift £3k to anyone tax free. However, any amount over £3k is liable for inheritance tax and other taxes if the donor dies within 7 years of the donation. So if the 'dynasty' all popped their clogs in the next few years, HOMFC would be liable for a huge tax bill.

That's a bit simplistic.

For one thing, we don't know "who" (as in individuals, trusts, companies etc) gave this so-called gift. (at the moment, it just seems like a Hibs.net myth to me :greengrin) So, IHT might not even be an issue.

Secondly, if there was any tax due, it wouldn't be HMFC that would be due it. It would be the estate of whoever had died.

01-02-2017, 01:40 PM
Intriguing tit bit in this interview with Robbo

"With the injuries we’ve had and players leaving we had to start the overhaul a little quicker than normal,” said Robertson. “It’s still a long-term view. If Craig had his way, Ian Cathro would have been there from the start, working with the developments and under 20s. So where he is now is not a deviation from the plan.

Read more at: http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/john-robertson-hearts-signings-won-t-affect-development-plan-1-4354411

What does this mean? Levein wanted Cathro instead of Neilson back in 2014? Or he wanted him as youth coach first before promotion to 1st team coach?

Certainly suggests who is driving recruitment at Hertz.