View Full Version : What you can and can't say on here

Tamhere1875
29-01-2017, 08:10 AM
Are the people who are administering this site turning in to Donald Trump lookalikes ? . It seems that if they don't like what is said in some posts they delete the post.so much for this being a site where supporters can put THEIR views forward and have THEIR say. Maybe it's time for another site a site where supporters can have their say was started and sites like the .net where left to die off. Freedom of speech is a great thing not something to be taken away from the people.

29-01-2017, 08:15 AM
Aye, admin pricks!

29-01-2017, 08:17 AM
Are the people who are administering this site turning in to Donald Trump lookalikes ? . It seems that if they don't like what is said in some posts they delete the post.so much for this being a site where supporters can put THEIR views forward and have THEIR say. Maybe it's time for another site a site where supporters can have their say was started and sites like the .net where left to die off. Freedom of speech is a great thing not something to be taken away from the people.

Quit the forum then. We wont stop you so goodbye.

In fact, we'll even help you out the door.

I'm guessing this is because I deleted your insightful question to Charlene which was 'are you doing this to get hibs director on your cv'

29-01-2017, 08:17 AM
There's always the off button, viewing is not compulsory.

29-01-2017, 08:18 AM
Wuit theWell, I can safely say....you look nothing like Trump ...😆

29-01-2017, 08:19 AM
Are the people who are administering this site turning in to Donald Trump lookalikes ? . It seems that if they don't like what is said in some posts they delete the post.so much for this being a site where supporters can put THEIR views forward and havje THEIR say. Maybe it's time for another site a site where supporters can have their say was started and sites like the .net where left to die off. Freedom of speech is a great thing not something to be taken away from the people.

Make Hibs great again?

29-01-2017, 08:23 AM

Admins.... Build a firewall for this chap and get him to pay for it.

29-01-2017, 08:24 AM

I personally think the admins do a great job and let many conversations go as long as they possibly can even if some are near to the knuckle. When they step in and delete posts you can be pretty sure it's because someone is taking the thread totally off subject with another motive or have just posted drivel/something that could leave the site open to legal action. They devote one hell of a lot of time to keeping this place running so you have to respect their decisions.

SloopJB
29-01-2017, 08:26 AM
Admins.... Build a firewall for this chap and get him to pay for it.

:not worth:not worth

I was was going to post a witty reply but you Trumped it.

29-01-2017, 08:27 AM
I personally think the admins do a great job and let many conversations go as long as they possibly can even if some are near to the knuckle. When they step in and delete posts you can be pretty sure it's because someone is taking the thread totally off subject with another motive or have just posted drivel/something that could leave the site open to legal action. They devote one hell of a lot of time to keeping this place running so you have to respect their decisions.

Agree

hibee316
29-01-2017, 08:31 AM

I think people confuse free speech with saying whatever crap comes into their mind as soon as they think it.

Rule of thumb;
Would you say it to the person in public?

If you did say it to the person in public, would you expect at best a dirty look from all those around or at worst a smack in the mooth because you are being a cheeky sod?

JimboHibs
29-01-2017, 08:38 AM
Agree

I know off 2 friends both staunch Hibbys who had their accounts banned with no other reason than a private message stating Hearts supporter account banned or something along they lines....make what you want if you think admin do a great job or not,personally I don't mind the place just don't take it too seriously.

29-01-2017, 08:40 AM
Likewise, admins allow contentious views and exchanges as long as it doesn't get personal or generally offensive. Very sensible in my view, doing a great job.

29-01-2017, 08:42 AM
Go make a new forum then, we'll be right behind you bud, promise.

29-01-2017, 08:43 AM
I know off 2 friends both staunch Hibbys who had their accounts banned with no other reason than a private message stating Hearts supporter account banned or something along they lines....make what you want if you think admin do a great job or not,personally I don't mind the place just don't take it too seriously.

We will never claim to get everything right in terms of who we let in, ban etc....just like every other forum will experience that too. Its an impossible job at times.

InchHibby
29-01-2017, 08:50 AM

By

29-01-2017, 09:06 AM
Ciao Tam. I look forward to the success of your new site. 👁 👁

29-01-2017, 09:06 AM

29-01-2017, 09:19 AM
If you look at most of the Scottish football website's hibs net is one of the best and fairest sites anywhere. If anything they let many things through I'd be tempted to bin some of which I would guess are posted by fans of other clubs( Hertz fans,cough.) Each to their own but those who want to let rip will do do on one site or another. Computer rage is all the rage so to speak especially when a team hits a sticky patch. Both McGhee at well and McKinnon at the Arabs are getting it tight from the fans. Can't see what there is to moan about just now to be honest except those who don't get a ticket for the pbs. Can't say admins task would appeal to me so carry on the good work guys.

29-01-2017, 09:34 AM
Has Tamhere become Tamthere?

29-01-2017, 09:40 AM
I have no idea which post or posts of yours were deleted,but, normally it is due to you going off topic or from what I remember abuse of other netters. The Hibsnet is one of the best and fair regulated fans forums you will find. I myself have been banned/warned due to going off on a tangent and deservedly so, i see you have only posted 100 odd times so before youre outed for a yam which is our want, I will give you the benefit of the doubt and ask you to also give Hibsnet the benefit of the doubt.

29-01-2017, 09:40 AM
A succinct explanation of what free speech is and isn't:

29-01-2017, 09:45 AM
TALIBAN.NET!

As said above I think some people confuse freedom of speech with just saying what you want with no regard for anyone else. The question that was removed, along with many other posts, was to get an important thread back on track and try to rescue it from the embarrassment it had become. If you want to ask 'are you only doing this for your CV?' maybe you can nip to the Hibs Club next week and ask each of the candidates to their face.

Oh ans I may well have a crap haircut but I look **** all like Donald Trump.

29-01-2017, 10:05 AM
I'm not sure starting a thread on hibs.net slagging the people who run hibs.net was ever going to help your cause.

29-01-2017, 10:10 AM
I'm not sure starting a thread on hibs.net slagging the people who run hibs.net was ever going to help your cause.

I think he should be allowed to raise the issue though if he feels it's unfair or inconsistent...

The admin guys have a thankless task - and run the site very well in my view ..but I'd like to think people are allowed to raise concerns if they have them ...people shouldn't be ostracised for it ...

29-01-2017, 10:22 AM
It's sometimes how it's said rather than what you say that causes offence?

I mean it's not yackback we're talking about here where disjointed offensive crap isn't blocked at all even when it's not really part of the debate or needed to make a point.

29-01-2017, 10:24 AM
Cheerio then. Good luck with the site. :faf:

29-01-2017, 10:45 AM
I think he should be allowed to raise the issue though if he feels it's unfair or inconsistent...

The admin guys have a thankless task - and run the site very well in my view ..but I'd like to think people are allowed to raise concerns if they have them ...people shouldn't be ostracised for it ...He could also have pmd an Admin instead to raise his concern instead of having a go, which he also done yest. I saw his post & it was ott so it was no surprise that post among others was removed.

The thread was intended as a communication point for users & the candidates. It wasnt there for folk to take pot shots at them & other users.

I had posts removed too as they were nothing to do with thread topic, Im not gonna spit the dummy out & take a pop at the Admins for it....****ers 😄

29-01-2017, 10:48 AM
By

Before you are caught by the elocution police on here it is bye. They have been on my case the last couple of days.😉

29-01-2017, 10:50 AM

Use your freedom of speech & delete this post.

29-01-2017, 10:51 AM
Has Tamhere become Tamthere?

Or Tamwhere are you now.

29-01-2017, 10:53 AM
Before you are caught by the elocution police on here it is bye. They have been on my case the last couple of days.😉

Which of course was completely unrelated to your picking on someone for mis-spelling 3 players names...

29-01-2017, 10:53 AM

Which was completely unrelated to your picking on someone for mis-spelling 3 players names...

What goes around comes around.

29-01-2017, 11:01 AM

The admin guys have a thankless task - and run the site very well in my view ..but I'd like to think people are allowed to raise concerns if they have them ...people shouldn't be ostracised for it ...

You think the OP was one that merely raised a concern?

29-01-2017, 11:02 AM
I think real hibs.net domain is available :-)

29-01-2017, 11:08 AM
You think the OP was one that merely raised a concern?

29-01-2017, 11:31 AM

Haha no bother then.

29-01-2017, 11:52 AM
I think people confuse free speech with saying whatever crap comes into their mind as soon as they think it.

Rule of thumb;
Would you say it to the person in public?

If you did say it to the person in public, would you expect at best a dirty look from all those around or at worst a smack in the mooth because you are being a cheeky sod?

Freedom, whether it applies to speech or in the wider sense, requires a certain amount responsibility by the individual.
Alas, this is the part most freedom seekers don't get.

I do agree however, that our freedom in general is being eroded day by day by all governments and I find that worrying.

29-01-2017, 12:15 PM
Haha no bother then.

[emoji2][emoji106]

29-01-2017, 12:38 PM
The admins have been very good for the 10+ years I've been on this site and I'm grateful that they give up their spare time to maintain it. I think they have the balance just right and the level of debate is usually quite good.

29-01-2017, 02:57 PM
The admins have been very good for the 10+ years I've been on this site and I'm grateful that they give up their spare time to maintain it. I think they have the balance just right and the level of debate is usually quite good.

Hear hear :agree: :aok:

29-01-2017, 06:59 PM

You definitely can't say that on here.

Or *****.

29-01-2017, 09:07 PM

You definitely can't say that on here.

Or *****.

I'm just glad we can still say ***** without those censorship happy admins getting all finger wavey.

31-01-2017, 05:18 PM
I have had a warning before ..... it wisnae ma fault & he started it :grr:

Anyway .... I think this forum is policed pretty fairly, even though I think the swear filter could be loosened a bit :greengrin

01-02-2017, 05:51 PM
I have had a warning before ..... it wisnae ma fault & he started it :grr:

Anyway .... I think this forum is policed pretty fairly, even though I think the swear filter could be loosened a bit :greengrinThat was due to pent up frustration because you were Nookieless... Im happy with the swear filter, in fact, it should be tightened more, not loosened. Surely folk can have convo/debate without ****ing using swear words every two ****ing sentences ya **** !! 😆

01-02-2017, 06:00 PM
That was due to pent up frustration because you were Nookieless... Im happy with the swear filter, in fact, it should be tightened more, not loosened. Surely folk can have convo/debate without ****ing using swear words every two ****ing sentences ya **** !! 😆

**** ***!!!!!!

01-02-2017, 06:19 PM
**** ***!!!!!!**** you tae 😆

01-02-2017, 06:50 PM
**** you tae ��

Hey, you've just given away my mate's password.