View Full Version : Favourite Scotland match you attended?

Cletus
27-01-2017, 09:34 PM
Mine was 3-1 win v Spain WC qualifier in 1984 when Dalglish scored a peach.

Yours?

therealgavmac
27-01-2017, 09:39 PM
Mine was the 2-0 victory over Engerlund prior to the 1974 World Cup in West Germany.

IIRC John Blackley was immense that day

27-01-2017, 09:39 PM

Yours?

Same :agree:

PathheadHibby
27-01-2017, 09:41 PM
One nil at home against France, Caldwell goal.... atmosphere was amazing that day!

27-01-2017, 09:42 PM

Yours?

This!

27-01-2017, 09:43 PM
Vs Nigeria at craven cottage. My only Scotland game sadly!

27-01-2017, 09:46 PM
My first one. 0-1 v England 1978 pre Argentina. 92,000. Coppell scored. Scorching day. Ally's Tartan Army t-shirt on.

10 years old. First time ever at Hampden with my dad and uncles. Old North Stand. Such an exciting day for a young boy despite the result.

horseflesh
27-01-2017, 09:50 PM

Yours?

This as well, just a wee boy but remember the crowd singing "Arconada's wifes a whore" and wondering if he understood English!

lugz
27-01-2017, 09:51 PM
beating Holland 1-0 in the playoffs

ShinyFantastic
27-01-2017, 09:59 PM
Vs Nigeria at craven cottage. My only Scotland game sadly!

Lucky you!!

27-01-2017, 10:00 PM
2-0 against France in the peeing rain at Hampden. Italian 90 qualifier IIRC

Went with a few lads from the Beastie Bus. Cracking night and we played them off the park.

Fans were immense.

8 years later France won the world cup.

Hibbie_Cameron
27-01-2017, 10:01 PM
France 0 Scotland 1 with McFadden scoring.

A fantastic trip away and an unbelievable result

27-01-2017, 10:02 PM
Scotland v Czechslovakia at Hampden in 1973 to qualify for the 1974 World Cup. 100,000 there that night. Great scenes and memories.

Bobo
27-01-2017, 10:08 PM
Brazil 4 Scotland 1, Seville 1982 World Cup. Not a great result but a brilliant atmosphere before, during and after the match. :aok:

27-01-2017, 10:12 PM
My very 1st Scotland game.

Scotland 0 Brazil 1
World Cup Italia 90
Stadio Delle Alpi, Turin

houstonhibbee
27-01-2017, 10:16 PM
Same :agree:
mine also

Cletus
27-01-2017, 10:24 PM
One nil at home against France, Caldwell goal.... atmosphere was amazing that day!

My 2nd choice. Was extremely drunk though and enjoyed a brief nap in the 1st half!

Cletus
27-01-2017, 10:28 PM
This as well, just a wee boy but remember the crowd singing "Arconada's wifes a whore" and wondering if he understood English!

Haha, I was 9 and don't recall the chant but it would've meant f all to me at that time! Naive kid 😜

27-01-2017, 10:35 PM
France 3 - Scotland 0 (Parc de Prince)
1 point needed for qualification
France could not qualify
25,000 attendance
15,000 Scots

Alot of that France team went on to win World & Euro medals. A youthful team in the making at the time against an ageing underachieving Scotland squad.

I wore the Hibs away adidas strip (white)& took some stick from Johnny Hun on the Metro to the game & had my French compadre fine tuned on the vocals if "Italy Italy" he couldn't believe the Scottish support.
Fantastic week in Paris

1875STEVE
27-01-2017, 10:37 PM
my first was Scotland 1-0 Argentina

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=862bITLbc9A

I was 11.

My fave was 1-0 win over Holland in play-off.

27-01-2017, 10:38 PM
France 0-1 Scotland for the game, Norway 1-1 Scotland at World Cup 98 for the atmosphere on matchday & over the days before.

fulshie
27-01-2017, 10:45 PM
2-1 v Romania 1990. After another fruitless WC only approx 13,000 fans turned up. 0-1 down at HT and Roxburgh made a substitution that would save his job. Nevin off (I think) and Tom Boyd on for his first cap and he changed the game. We went on to win a 6 team group (only winners qualified) and qualified for our first Euro championship.

27-01-2017, 10:47 PM
Lithuania 0 Scotland 0, Craig Levein the master of football tactics, cold night in a dump of a stadium in a crappy town, terrible policing and treatment to get our way back to our coach walking via dark woods, really nice.

Davy Mac
27-01-2017, 11:04 PM

Went with a few lads from the Beastie Bus. Cracking night and we played them off the park.

Fans were immense.

Same for me, also, you mentioned the Beastie Bus which made me feel quite nostalgic, used to travel Artisan, great days and met some fanatstic characters.

Interestingly bumped in one old member recently and hasn't changed a bit, in fact time is but of a blink of an eye!

Rightly or wrongly I just can't get excited about Scotland though, miss the Hibs when the Internationals are on.

27-01-2017, 11:11 PM
My one & only match was u16 match against Saudi Arabia at the Wonga dome. Thousands locked outside and once again a full house and nae Yams insight.

27-01-2017, 11:17 PM
Scotland 1-0 Holland play off game. Brilliant atmosphere.

green with envy
27-01-2017, 11:19 PM
A toss up between 1-0 victory v England at Wembley '81 and Sweden 2-1 win Italia 90.

27-01-2017, 11:24 PM
Scotland 1-0 France at Hampden. One of my last Scotland games. I really enjoyed the under 21s play off (?) game against Iceland at Easter Road a few years back. Iceland won but it was a great game between two attacking sides for qualification.

Buc
27-01-2017, 11:33 PM

Yours?

Same for me. Had a great view of that goal. Not been to that many Scotland games since then. Pity.

E10 Rifle
27-01-2017, 11:55 PM
1990 Grand Slam v England, Murrayfield. Footie team haven't even come close since.

28-01-2017, 12:28 AM
If I can only choose one it has to be 1974 World Cup v Brazil in Frankfurt. Wonderful experience and we plYed the world champions off the park in a 0-0 draw.

Buc
28-01-2017, 12:36 AM
1990 Grand Slam v England, Murrayfield. Footie team haven't even come close since.

😀😀

cheltenhamhibee
28-01-2017, 01:22 AM

Yours?

Ditto

AndyB_70
28-01-2017, 02:00 AM
Paris. What a goal and what a night.

28-01-2017, 04:06 AM
Paris for me too, although it was the entire trip not just the match. On the Sat prior to the game watched the Lithuania game at Hampden in a boozer near Angel tube station in London and had some magic banter with England fans out for their game later on the same day. Returned to London the following w-end and went to Upton Park, cannae remember who the oppo were. Hibs let me down for a large coupon that would've paid for most of the week (drew with Falkirk after being 1 up then being reduced to 10 men).

hibeg
28-01-2017, 05:25 AM
The 1982 World Cup fortnight in Spain was magic. Sun, sea, bevvy and a victory v New Zealand.
Fav game though was the match v Brazil although we got pumped. What an atmosphere

Tom Hart RIP
28-01-2017, 05:40 AM
Ray Clemence game

28-01-2017, 05:44 AM
I've only seen Willie Donachie level with an own goal against Wales and Nemar take Scotland apart at Arsenal so my Scotland experiences don't hold many positive memories.

28-01-2017, 06:49 AM
Been to a few beauties, the Scotland 2-3 Spain game was a cracker. 0-2 down against the World Champs and we pegged them back to 2-2 - atmosphere was incredible! Desperately unlucky in the last minute to concede that 3rd goal.

Septimus
28-01-2017, 07:02 AM

Fans were immense.

Yes. This one. I bought three extra programmers for my son's pals which I put inside my shirt to keep them dry. We got home to Haddington at about 2 am and my wife had locked us out. The programmes were soaking too. Jim leighton was great in that game. I also lost my wallet and a couple of days later I had a call from a fellow supporter who had found it at Hampden and who then posted it to me. Altogether a memorable night.

28-01-2017, 07:05 AM

Yours?

Same with me also enjoyed beating France 2 0 pretty sure Franck was playing. Johnston scored 2.

28-01-2017, 08:35 AM
V Czechoslovakia, to qualify for the 74 WC, goals from the late great Jim Holton and Joe Jordan, to win 2-1, crowd was kept down to 100,000, for safety reasons!! Great days!!

28-01-2017, 08:59 AM
Mine was the 2-0 victory over Engerlund prior to the 1974 World Cup in West Germany.

IIRC John Blackley was immense that day

Scotland v Czechslovakia at Hampden in 1973 to qualify for the 1974 World Cup. 100,000 there that night. Great scenes and memories.

Brazil 4 Scotland 1, Seville 1982 World Cup. Not a great result but a brilliant atmosphere before, during and after the match. :aok:

If I can only choose one it has to be 1974 World Cup v Brazil in Frankfurt. Wonderful experience and we played the world champions off the park in a 0-0 draw.

All of the above are worth special mention, but my vote goes to the day in 1967 when Scotland became 'world champions' by beating England 3-2 at Wembley :greengrin

28-01-2017, 09:48 AM
Wembley 1999, 1-0 win but 1-2 on agg. Glorious failure.

28-01-2017, 09:52 AM
Scotland 2-1 Sweden Genoa 1990 World Cup. Amazing atmosphere and a rare tournament win. Absolutely no segregation.

28-01-2017, 09:53 AM
Home games it's
V Holland in the playoffs.
V France 1-0 Caldwell
Or v Ukraine 3-1, one of the most complete Scotland performances I've ever seen, against a decent team.

Away game
Has to be the 0-1 McFadden game in Paris. Everything about it was perfect. The weather, the craic, the March (unbelievable) and the result.

28-01-2017, 09:55 AM
I'm not exactly a regular at Scotland games but I've been to a few, and never once seen them win.

My first two games were against England, at Hampden in 82 then Wembley in 83, and we lost them 0-1 then 0-2 (I think). I still enjoyed going, though.

Incidentally, I went to the game at Wembley on an England Supporters bus from Basildon (long story), and the England Fans on the bus were very welcoming & friendly, which was more than could be said for the Rankers Fans in Trafalgar square the day before, who were singing the sash and generally acting like fannies.

28-01-2017, 10:03 AM
I've only seen Scotland win once in the flesh so Scotland 3-1 Canada at Easter road for me!

28-01-2017, 10:25 AM

Yours?

My first Scotland game too. The noise made by the Tartan Army was unbelievable.

Was that not his last goal for Scotland?

I also remember the crush at each goal. It was mayhem!

28-01-2017, 10:25 AM
beating Holland 1-0 in the playoffs

Being a younger member of the tartan army.. this was mine too. Was like a whole new atmosphere and experience for me. What a feeling when McFadden scored! My other great Scotland memories have all been under the influence, whereas I was completely sober (due to my age) at that game.

PeeKay
28-01-2017, 10:30 AM
November 1972 at Hampden. Beat Denmark 2-0 with goals from Dalglish and Lorimer. But my abiding memory was a wave of p!sh washing down the terracing at the end as the beer cans that had been used got knocked over! Happy days:rolleyes:

28-01-2017, 10:33 AM
France 0-1 Scotland for the game, Norway 1-1 Scotland at World Cup 98 for the atmosphere on matchday & over the days before.

Same for me. Bordeaux was amazing for those few days in '98.

28-01-2017, 11:10 AM
The 1-0 game in Paris.

28-01-2017, 12:35 PM
Hampden VS Czechoslovakia Holton and Jordan, 100 thousand plus, a noise I will never forget in a hurry just after we scored the 2nd goal.

Unbelievable atmosphere.

davy malcolm
28-01-2017, 12:47 PM
The game where we got pumped 4 1 far Brazil in Seville pre match and after match was fantastic and 1977 Wembley trip when we won 2 1

28-01-2017, 12:49 PM

Yours?

Spot on..same for me..Dalglish said in his autobiography that it was his favourite goal in his career !

28-01-2017, 01:40 PM

Yours?

Same mate . 73k at that game . Absolute carnage on the terrace when the goals went in .

28-01-2017, 02:52 PM
Italia 90, 2-1 v Sweden, just an amazing atmosphere and an all to uncommon win. Was at all 3 games in Italy and every minute of that trip was incredible. Opening ceremony against Brazil in 98 was a special match to be at as well. holland at Villa park was a good trip and decent result against a good side. Sadly my enthusiasm for attending Scotland games has diminished over the years.

28-01-2017, 03:10 PM
Was at Villa Park for Euro96 when we beat Switzerland 1-0 and would have qualified if England hadn't conceded late on against the Netherlands. Great atmosphere. Travelled over from Guernsey and was on the sauce all day.

spudhib
28-01-2017, 03:15 PM
Versus Australia in a playoff for Mexico 86 cracking atmos in a 2 nil win inc an amazing free kick from davie cooper

28-01-2017, 04:14 PM

Great night! The late great Jim Holton with the first and Joe Jordan with the winner!!

MKHIBEE
28-01-2017, 04:24 PM
Mine was 3-1 win v Spain WC qualifier in 1984 when Dalglish scored a peach

Yours?

That was mine although I haven't attended that many Scotland games

28-01-2017, 04:28 PM
The game against Czechoslovakia at Hampden in 1973. A qualifier for the '74 world cup with big Jim Holton and Joe Jordan scoring. Amazing scenes as 100,000 fans in the stadium went absolutely mental. What a night that was........

28-01-2017, 04:36 PM
Only been to 3 Scotland games. Argentina, Keith Wright's only cap against N Ireland and a 1-0 win against England
Gough scored on in Rous Cup. Knew they weren't really for me when a win against them didn't get me particularly excited compared to a Hibs win.

28-01-2017, 04:53 PM
Wales 0 v Scotland 2: World Cup qualifying match at Anfield in 1977.

Wales home match turned into a Scotland home match. My first experience of the crowd swaying on the Kop. Fantastic headed goal from King Kenny. A great save by Alan Rough from Toshack.

Scotland qualified for Argentina 1978, but that didn't turn out too well.

28-01-2017, 05:51 PM
It's fantastic reading all these memories.

The sad thing is that there is a whole generation that will only recall us getting beat by "minnows".

Scottish Football is now well behind the Irish Football - maybe not in terms of respective leagues though Dundalk did better than any other of the Scottish Europa League teams.

There seems to be a lot more good young Irish footballers making it in England compared to good young Scottish footballers. No facts to prove it, just a feeling.

28-01-2017, 08:05 PM
The game against Czechoslovakia at Hampden in 1973. A qualifier for the '74 world cup with big Jim Holton and Joe Jordan scoring. Amazing scenes as 100,000 fans in the stadium went absolutely mental. What a night that was........

Haven't been to many Scotland games but was at this one. A mates mum got tickets for the old main stand through her work. So, not only did we see a great game that qualified Scotland for the World Cup in '74 for the first time in my lifetime, we managed to keep dry through the match as well lol.:greengrin

30-01-2017, 03:34 AM
Only been to two - 2-0 v Austria at Celtic Park in about 1997? I think Kevin Gallacher scored a peach and Darren Jackson was playing possibly while still at Hibs.

Also went to the 2-1 defeat in Germany 2014. Unlucky that night but glad I got to see us score there. Went bonkers too!

Hoping to get a ticket for Hampden in June too.

30-01-2017, 05:44 AM
Great night! The late great Jim Holton with the first and Joe Jordan with the winner!!

Six foot two....

HibeeMassive
30-01-2017, 06:42 AM
Paris, France 0 - Scotland 1

Tickets in the home end, kilted up, with more Scotland fans around us than French. What a day, won't ever be beaten (at a Scotland match of course :greengrin)

30-01-2017, 07:00 AM
I haven't been to many, but my favourite is probably my first - Scotland 2 Sweden 0, 1981 - the crowd was almost 82,000.

30-01-2017, 07:37 AM
Gave up in the 80's after 5 or 6 games no wins and 1 goal, bad enough watching Hibs in those days.

30-01-2017, 07:41 AM
only been to 1 scotland game in my life . a 1-0 win against sweden at ibrox in the 90's

from what i remember our goal came early against the run of play , a dummy by darren jackson let someone clean through

sweden proceeded to batter us for the rest of the game , jim leighton was immense and kept us in it with a string of outrageous saves

30-01-2017, 07:47 AM
only been to 1 scotland game in my life . a 1-0 win against sweden at ibrox in the 90's

from what i remember our goal came early against the run of play , a dummy by darren jackson let someone clean through

sweden proceeded to batter us for the rest of the game , jim leighton was immense and kept us in it with a string of outrageous saves
Dummied the Swede from 30 yards out.. John McGilnlay, famous for being from Elgin got the goal. Leighton was superb.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

itslegaltender
30-01-2017, 07:49 AM
Two favourite memories.

Been at every home qualifying game since early 90's and was at Euro 96 and France 98. Not been to an away game for a while now, (over 10 years).

Game vs Switzerland at Villa Park.

Was in the Holte End which is the huge stand behind the goals. For 17 glorious minutes, thought we had finally qualified through to the next stage of a finals. Place was going mental, never heard a sound like it.

Other one was the Scotland 1 v 0 France game where Caldwell scored. I ended up with two of my kids either side who at the time were 6 and 7 year old. When Caldwell scored I had each kid in each arm jumping like a dafty, one of those special moments I will take to the grave.

Bill Milne
30-01-2017, 08:10 AM

This:wink:

Hillsidehibby
30-01-2017, 10:45 AM
Versus Australia in a playoff for Mexico 86 cracking atmos in a 2 nil win inc an amazing free kick from davie cooper

I was at the return leg in Melbourne. Crap 0-0 draw but was enough.

Favourite was 1-0 win at Wembley 1981

30-01-2017, 10:50 AM
England 1 Scotland 2 Wembley 1977. We took the pitch & goalposts home with us. Now where have I seen that since, can't think when.

30-01-2017, 11:34 AM
Scotland beating Ireland recently at Parkhead was a wonderful night. Atmosphere was amazing.

beensaidbefore
30-01-2017, 04:45 PM
0-2 V Italy in the San Siro 2004, possibly 05. Best atmosphere ever at a Scotland game, possibly best ever, circa 10k Scots who sang and danced for the entire match whilst getting pumped by Pirlo and co. A 20 minute rendition of doe a deer, on you tube for anyone who was there feeling nostalgic.

Home fans thought we were crazy, so much so there was big story in the gazzetta de la sport praising the tartan army. Will take a lot to beat that game.

30-01-2017, 05:34 PM
0-2 V Italy in the San Siro 2004, possibly 05. Best atmosphere ever at a Scotland game, possibly best ever, circa 10k Scots who sang and danced for the entire match whilst getting pumped by Pirlo and co. A 20 minute rendition of doe a deer, on you tube for anyone who was there feeling nostalgic.

Home fans thought we were crazy, so much so there was big story in the gazzetta de la sport praising the tartan army. Will take a lot to beat that game.

'We're gonna deep fry your pizzas'.

SonOfDavidFrancey
30-01-2017, 06:11 PM
1973 v CZ for me, along with all the other auld yins. Silence after CZ take the lead (Arthur montford's famous 'a disaster! A disaster for Scotland). Equalizer a big header. The winning goal - think Scotland hit the post, we all thought it was in, cheering just subsiding when I think Willie Morgan crosses again and big Jordan with a diving header. The scenes! My grandad went out and hired a colour TV next day so we would have one For the finals. It was about October!

beensaidbefore
30-01-2017, 06:26 PM
'We're gonna deep fry your pizzas'.

😂. Brilliant forgot about that. Such a good atmosphere. The one I remember is

We hate macaroni,
we hate bolognaise too... it's *****,
we are the Tartan Army,
and we love pies and stew.

The under 21s on Friday in Pavia was nearly as good. Police had riot gear on when we arrived and one of policemen tried to swap a boy his police hat for a glengarry on the way out. They couldn't believe what they were seeingnd how mental but good fun everyone was. Fun times.

30-01-2017, 06:31 PM
1973 v CZ for me, along with all the other auld yins. Silence after CZ take the lead (Arthur montford's famous 'a disaster! A disaster for Scotland). Equalizer a big header. The winning goal - think Scotland hit the post, we all thought it was in, cheering just subsiding when I think Willie Morgan crosses again and big Jordan with a diving header. The scenes! My grandad went out and hired a colour TV next day so we would have one For the finals. It was about October!

Pretty sure it was Billy Bremner

30-01-2017, 06:41 PM
Pretty sure it was Billy Bremner

https://youtu.be/OyQUI79WSW4

Terrible goalkeeping error as well.

HibbyDave
30-01-2017, 07:14 PM

This match for me... we even met a French guy at the turnstile wearing s hibs top.

01-02-2017, 09:27 AM
Scotland 2 (Wilson,Caldow) England 0 1962 Hampden

First victory over England at Hampden since before the war.