View Full Version : t2 Trainspotting

sarfoftheborder
27-01-2017, 07:41 PM
I've just seen the film today. Brilliant and a great sequel to the original. Lots of Hibs stuff, scarves, posters etc, and in particular a "We're all going to Hampden" t-shirt, a 2015/16 top (as of course worn on 21st May), and a videoclip of George Best playing for us. Highly recommended. GGTTH

27-01-2017, 07:47 PM
I'm staying off this thread until Monday lol, going to see it on Sunday.

TheSouthMoroccan
27-01-2017, 08:00 PM
How about this for a wee Hibs connection. My wee 8 year boy, who is season ticket holder, plays young Begbie in one scene. Non speaking part but that did not stop him telling his pals at school that he was in the film and used the f word liberally. He seems to think that now he is a film star he has a free pass on that particular word.

27-01-2017, 08:02 PM
I've just seen the film today. Brilliant and a great sequel to the original. Lots of Hibs stuff, scarves, posters etc, and in particular a "We're all going to Hampden" t-shirt, a 2015/16 top (as of course worn on 21st May), and a videoclip of George Best playing for us. Highly recommended. GGTTH

Not long back from seeing it. Really great film :hyper

27-01-2017, 08:04 PM
:hyper

27-01-2017, 08:17 PM
Guys, try and not spoil it for others, just say how brilliant it was without all the added info, let them find out for themselves.

7-Zip_Mike
27-01-2017, 08:41 PM
Loads of Hibs reference, great film.

27-01-2017, 08:55 PM
Jings, all this in the same weekend that the Midlothians have signed Stirling Albions player of the last two months, cannae see the Hibs getting much exposure through this myself. Not whilst the poppy thieves have hijacked the attention of the world anyway.

27-01-2017, 09:03 PM
How about this for a wee Hibs connection. My wee 8 year boy, who is season ticket holder, plays young Begbie in one scene. Non speaking part but that did not stop him telling his pals at school that he was in the film and used the f word liberally. He seems to think that now he is a film star he has a free pass on that particular word.

Excellent :aok:

27-01-2017, 09:05 PM
Brilliant story[emoji106]

Yer boys got something worth talking about for a long long time. Wish it was me[emoji1]

Glory glory to the Hibees.

7-Zip_Mike
27-01-2017, 09:16 PM
Dark hair and moustache, saw him?

djs69
27-01-2017, 09:23 PM
Even Spud was on the
Pitch....21/05/16.....no, wait , he's on the grass 🤣

27-01-2017, 09:26 PM
Incredible film, almost got emotional with nostalgia at times but also a great film in it's own right.

Silver Fox
27-01-2017, 09:29 PM
And a nice shot of Easter Road on a sunny day from Arthurs seat too :cb

27-01-2017, 09:29 PM

Can't wait!

27-01-2017, 09:38 PM
Saw it tonight too, it's is superb, highly recommended, loads of Hibs references and ever ER in the background from Arthur's seat

27-01-2017, 09:46 PM
Just out, funny seeing Brad Welsh acting, i didnt expect that.... film was barry

27-01-2017, 09:58 PM
Excellent. Did the first film justice. Good to see plenty Hibs references too.

27-01-2017, 10:28 PM
Thought it was OK. Doesn't hold a candle to the original though.

27-01-2017, 10:31 PM
I was at the cinema tonight, unfortunately I couldn't get a babysitter so I had to watch sing. I've never seen the cinema so busy as everyone went into watch T2. I felt like sneaking in to watch it, but I'll have to wait till next week.

allmodcons
27-01-2017, 10:51 PM
Not wanting to give too much away but how good was the 1690 club.

27-01-2017, 10:56 PM
Thought it was great. How they linked back was spot on...plenty of Hibs links too 🙂 I'll leave it at that till you have all seen it

The Pointer
27-01-2017, 11:02 PM

A young graduate engineer started with us from Bellshill who's really into cinema, and he was saying it was filmed in his local, a not very salubrious place (The Globe?). He's looking forward to seeing all the local gadgies in it.

Mantis Toboggan
27-01-2017, 11:12 PM
A young graduate engineer started with us from Bellshill who's really into cinema, and he was saying it was filmed in his local, a not very salubrious place (The Globe?). He's looking forward to seeing all the local gadgies in it.

That bit was amazing. The basis of that whole bit was in Filth though I think?
Was surprised to see tynecastle ahead of er though!

28-01-2017, 01:45 AM

Art imitating life - just a brilliant scene on so many levels. Irvine nailed it !

The sad thing is, after laughing did you sit and think 'jeez, there are folk like that still?'

Like I say, bravo Irvine, bravo - great film !

28-01-2017, 02:05 AM

Sure the 1690 bit is from porno

AZhibee
28-01-2017, 02:46 AM
:I'm waiti
Feb 10 release in US

Shearer
28-01-2017, 06:31 AM
:I'm waiti
Feb 10 release in US

Same as Aus 😩 can't wait

tanfield
28-01-2017, 06:36 AM
Sure the 1690 bit is from porno

In the book they manage to get a list of Rangers fans account details and use the 1690 pins to get money.

fishybeaver
28-01-2017, 06:42 AM
It was filmed in the buy bee at Saughton, they absolutely nailed those brain dead fools!!

28-01-2017, 06:57 AM

Brilliant :greengrin

We said the same on the way out. We decided that they were after a 'nostalgia' ground (a tip), rather than a sporting arena for the 21st Century...

DunblaneHibby
28-01-2017, 06:58 AM
Can't wait to see it. I was extra in it!

28-01-2017, 01:57 PM
Thought it was a pretty decent film, a good follow up. Loads and loads of Hibs content which made me smile all the way through

28-01-2017, 03:37 PM
It was filmed in the buy bee at Saughton, they absolutely nailed those brain dead fools!!
I was christened there 😂

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

vuefrom1875
28-01-2017, 04:09 PM

Absolute hoot!!

allmodcons
28-01-2017, 04:47 PM
Art imitating life - just a brilliant scene on so many levels. Irvine nailed it !

The sad thing is, after laughing did you sit and think 'jeez, there are folk like that still?'

Like I say, bravo Irvine, bravo - great film !

Aye. Really funny to watch but incredibly sad to think about.

GJ1875
28-01-2017, 09:51 PM

The guy singing Penny Arcade, is actually a big Celtic man

28-01-2017, 10:11 PM
The guy singing Penny Arcade, is actually a big Celtic man
Who is he? I know his face.

GJ1875
28-01-2017, 10:13 PM
Who is he? I know his face.

Alec Jackson, he drives for Fedex, stays out at Bonnyrigg, his band play gilmerton bowling club quite regular

28-01-2017, 10:19 PM
Alec Jackson, he drives for Fedex, stays out at Bonnyrigg, his band play gilmerton bowling club quite regular
FedEx.....he's probably delivered stuff to me :)

Does he play at Whistlebinkies?

seanshow
28-01-2017, 10:22 PM
Thought it was OK. Doesn't hold a candle to the original though.

same, I thought it was alright no more than that.
...good to hear young fathers and wolf alice getting an airing.

GJ1875
28-01-2017, 10:29 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;4922817]FedEx.....he's probably delivered stuff to me :)

Does he play at Whistlebinkies?

Quite possibly mate his band do a lot of pubs, clubs in Edinburgh, know they were playing at BMC club tonight

28-01-2017, 11:33 PM
Seen it tonight. So good! A huge number of Hibs references, so many more than the original [emoji16] Our cup winning strip that's in the background so often will look amazing when watching it back in years to come.
The 'Rangers club' scene was superb. Had them down to a tee.

29-01-2017, 08:13 AM
I thought it was brilliant, and I'd go as far as to say I thought it was better than the original.

RCNG
29-01-2017, 12:11 PM
Anyone know why Tynecastle was used in one scene?

Not a spoiler btw.

AndyB_70
29-01-2017, 12:14 PM
I was driving my daughter home from a friends house and we started talking about T2. She said her friends dad went to see it and thought it was rubbish. I implied that he must be a Jambo. Shock horror..... he is one of them puddle drinkers. They have no class.

29-01-2017, 12:19 PM
Anyone know why Tynecastle was used in one scene?

Not a spoiler btw.

"Scotlands worst toilet" :dunno:

Earlydelivery
29-01-2017, 12:36 PM
Went last night thought it wasn't a patch on the original

Barman Stanton
29-01-2017, 02:26 PM
Saw it on Friday as well. Thought it was excellent. May even prefer it to the original.

29-01-2017, 02:50 PM
Went last night thought it wasn't a patch on the original

The 2nd one was never ever going to be a patch on the first, People keep judging the 2 which is wrong.

I thought T2 was outstanding.

hibbydog
29-01-2017, 03:12 PM
Just seen it. Awesome. it's got everything- old mates, bits that made you laugh, bits that made you want to jump out your seat, and lots of tension. I even felt a bit emotional for spud.

And lots of hibby bits too.

yonder1875
29-01-2017, 03:35 PM
Good to see Greendykes on the big screen.

AZhibee
29-01-2017, 05:01 PM
"Scotlands worst toilet" :dunno:

😃😃😂

Salt N Sauzee
29-01-2017, 05:28 PM
Class film. Seeing it again this week.

29-01-2017, 05:31 PM
I might have to see it again. The halfwits clapping and cheering on Friday really annoyed me.

29-01-2017, 06:15 PM
The 2nd one was never ever going to be a patch on the first, People keep judging the 2 which is wrong.

They can't complain as they brought it on themselves with the continual referencing of the first film.

Seen it twice now. First time I thought it was interesting, but not as good as the first one. (That may have been due to the number of people who were obviously very drunk and loud, and treating it like an Edinburgh derby.)

Second time around I can see it's clearly a better film. Much more depth and the actors really have have the space to get right into the emotions of the characters.

29-01-2017, 07:00 PM
Class film. Seeing it again this week.

Same :hyper

Babyshamble
29-01-2017, 07:41 PM
Just back from seeing it.class film.few Hibs references in it as well.

29-01-2017, 07:58 PM
Loved it more than the original. Really clever.

HibbySpurs
29-01-2017, 09:20 PM
Thought it was brilliant...

Well worth a viewing... the 1690 club is hilarious

Niffy
29-01-2017, 09:24 PM
Seen it today - excellent. Was like catching up with old mates.
Even drove past Sick Boys flat on the way home.

darwenhibby
29-01-2017, 09:33 PM
Been trying to convince myself that I've not missed Edinburgh for the last 18 years until tonight
That was excellent top film best since the last one

vuefrom1875
29-01-2017, 09:35 PM
I might have to see it again. The halfwits clapping and cheering on Friday really annoyed me.

Go in the afternoon.... If possible!!

Northern Hibby
29-01-2017, 09:41 PM
Just been, really really enjoyed it, Spud must be 1 of the most endearing characters in Scottish film 😀

Johnny Clash
29-01-2017, 11:35 PM
Just back from the Ritzy in Brixton and I thought T2 was great.,rest of punters seem to like it too so well done to all involved. Loads of laughter at the 1690 bit. I'm sure folk down here think it's far fetched and fictional . Sadly not but the stupidity of it all was well dealt with using humour.

I've spoken to a few teenagers in London who are really into the Trainspotting thing even though they weren't born when the first film was made. So looks like a bit of a cult status continues which is good.

30-01-2017, 07:18 AM
Ewen Bremner was excellent in it.

nellio
30-01-2017, 01:07 PM
Really enjoyed it, superb.

I'm sure there's a bit where they are flicking channels on the TV and there's someone scoring against Hearts but its really quick so cant be 100% sure. Will need to see it again!

30-01-2017, 01:18 PM

Agree thought it was a really good follow up. Great scenes of Edinburgh also.

30-01-2017, 01:21 PM
Thought Robert Carlyle & Ewen Bremner were fantastic in it.

Really enjoyed the film, it's more of a 'follow up' to the first one rather than a 'follow on' as the main point of it is that it's been 20 years since the first one.

30-01-2017, 02:02 PM
Going tonight with my Dad and Brother. Can't wait.

01-02-2017, 08:16 AM
Saw it last night, really enjoyed it. A must see.

Would love to see a Rangers forum's take on it, bet a fair few will be changing their pin!

franks
01-02-2017, 08:40 AM
Saw it yesterday and a brilliant follow up from the first film. Plenty Hibs references not sure how I'd feel about it if I were a jambo. Excellent entertainment.

Superfurry72
01-02-2017, 09:08 AM
I thought it was just OK, quite enjoyable in parts but not remotely as good as the first one...mainly because some of the aspects of what passed for a plot were plainly ridiculous, particularly in regard to Begbie.

Happy to discuss this further when more people have seen it!

Loved the endless Hibs references too. Obviously.

01-02-2017, 09:09 AM
A real insight for those in the wider world and 21st century. Seen the film last night and thought it was hilarious. Won't be popular amongst the 17th century corners of Scotland and norn irn though.

01-02-2017, 09:09 AM
Already can't wait for it to come out on DVD. Was even better than I imagined it would be!

01-02-2017, 09:18 AM
It's a film almost entirely about another film... A pretty flimsy story but it's all about getting the gang back together. Moments of pathos, some chuckles and good Hibees references.
The music is rubbish though, or is that just me being an old duffer now?

01-02-2017, 01:23 PM
It's a film almost entirely about another film... A pretty flimsy story but it's all about getting the gang back together. Moments of pathos, some chuckles and good Hibees references.

In a word - Aye :wink:

Kavinho
01-02-2017, 02:03 PM
Glad I saw it last night rather than watching Jim White

01-02-2017, 02:22 PM
I watched it last night and thought it was excellent.

01-02-2017, 02:29 PM
I watched it last night and thought it was excellent.

Salt N Sauzee
01-02-2017, 02:30 PM
2nd viewing tonight.

High-On-Hibs
01-02-2017, 03:01 PM
I thought it was just OK, quite enjoyable in parts but not remotely as good as the first one...mainly because some of the aspects of what passed for a plot were plainly ridiculous, particularly in regard to Begbie.

The plot was never going to be perfect. How do you build a plot on a movie from 20 years ago that ended the way it did? I think they did a great job keeping it as entertaining as they did, as it could easily have been a complete borefest.

01-02-2017, 03:02 PM
The plot was never going to be perfect. How do you build a plot on a movie from 20 years ago that ended the way it did? I think they did a great job keeping it as entertaining as they did, as it could easily have been a complete borefest.

In the same way the book did it? :cb

01-02-2017, 03:16 PM
I still keenly await the screen debut of one Juice Terry.

High-On-Hibs
01-02-2017, 03:16 PM
In the same way the book did it? :cb

Aye, but that was based on 10 years later, the movie was 10 years ahead of that. :wink:

01-02-2017, 04:02 PM
I still keenly await the screen debut of one Juice Terry.

Yip, A Decent Ride could be the funniest film ever depending on who plays the part of JT

On another note, a former work mates house was used as the location for Rentons Dads house, the one with the balcony and the sofa in the front garden (the production team removed the fridge and burnt out mattress prior to filming)

can anyone guess where my pal lives?

beensaidbefore
01-02-2017, 04:15 PM
Yip, A Decent Ride could be the funniest film ever depending on who plays the part of JT

On another note, a former work mates house was used as the location for Rentons Dads house, the one with the balcony and the sofa in the front garden (the production team removed the fridge and burnt out mattress prior to filming)

Perishill?

beensaidbefore
01-02-2017, 04:18 PM

I agree re Begbie. How it took until the end of the film for him to end up where he did seems a flaw imo. All very convenient and quite unrealistic imo. The 1690 bit whilst amusing seemed quite irrelevant to the rest of the storyline.

beensaidbefore
01-02-2017, 04:20 PM

I felt very similar.

Johnny Clash
01-02-2017, 04:59 PM

I thought the music was great. Not sure who all of the bands were but Edinburgh band Young Fathers had a few songs and reallly added to the movie.

01-02-2017, 06:51 PM
Perishill?

not even close

tam4hibs
01-02-2017, 07:10 PM
not even close

Tell us then cause it's been annoying me since I seen it.

Spuds family were Craigmillar.
Think sickboy is in the flats in leith near the scrapyard/ Salamander st.
Banana flats make an appearance.
The leith bar was actually in glasgow I think.
Tynecastle gets a scene of you spotted it.

Eaststand
01-02-2017, 07:13 PM

I thought it looked like Royston mains / Boswall- aye/naw ?

Galahibby
01-02-2017, 10:03 PM
Saw the film with a few mates tonight and everybody loved it. It was a lot less 'shocking' and had more humour than the first one, which I liked. I was quite impressed they managed to get John McGinn to play Begbie's laddie :wink:

Keyser Sauzee
01-02-2017, 10:16 PM

Is it in Musselburgh, next to Pinkie Primary??

02-02-2017, 01:22 AM
Saw it tonight, loved it. Might have preferred it to the first one to be honest! Didn't expect to be this impressed.

02-02-2017, 01:54 AM
Is it good then? I normally loathe a sequel.. Is Begbie still a nutter?

CyberSauzee
02-02-2017, 02:24 AM
Not seen it yet. hopefully this weekend.

02-02-2017, 03:00 AM

muirhouse?

CyberSauzee
02-02-2017, 03:04 AM
muirhouse?

Moredun?

02-02-2017, 08:00 AM
Tell us then cause it's been annoying me since I seen it.

Spuds family were Craigmillar.
Think sickboy is in the flats in leith near the scrapyard/ Salamander st.
Banana flats make an appearance.
The leith bar was actually in glasgow I think.
Tynecastle gets a scene of you spotted it.

The port of sunshine bar was filmed in Clydebank

Salt N Sauzee
02-02-2017, 08:03 AM

Yes and very much so yes.

02-02-2017, 08:14 AM
Blackburn.

yonder1875
02-02-2017, 12:31 PM
I thought the music was great. Not sure who all of the bands were but Edinburgh band Young Fathers had a few songs and reallly added to the movie.

The Wolf Alice song 'Silk' near the end is a great tune and very fitting for that moment of the film.

02-02-2017, 12:36 PM
Blackburn.

is the correct answer... just round the corner from Subo's house in a wee cul de sac, they decorated his stair as well for the scene when Renton enters the house. Its no bonny but hes keeping it

02-02-2017, 01:48 PM
Blackburn.

Lancashire or West Lothian?

That is the question.

Niffy
02-02-2017, 02:03 PM
is the correct answer... just round the corner from Subo's house in a wee cul de sac, they decorated his stair as well for the scene when Renton enters the house. Its no bonny but hes keeping it

Whitehill view ? Will be swamped with tourists now.

02-02-2017, 02:46 PM

He's still a nutter but he's really really fit now. He managed to run from the Cav to the grassmarket, up to parliament square, back down Cockburn streets don't all the way along to the Castle terrace car park at full speed. [emoji3]

Salt N Sauzee
02-02-2017, 02:50 PM
He's still a nutter but he's really really fit now. He managed to run from the Cav to the grassmarket, up to parliament square, back down Cockburn streets don't all the way along to the Castle terrace car park at full speed. [emoji3]

Read today that it was actually Mr Carlyle's stunt double that done all the running in that scene.

02-02-2017, 03:16 PM

Still can't believe Cav is used in the film.

Spent many good nights there and going on Saturday night.

02-02-2017, 04:16 PM
Saw it this afternoon ..... brilliant! Was worried it would be a let down and tarnish the original. Had heard positive reviews, but you always need to see these hyped movies yourself I guess.

Begbie is a great character in it again and who knew he actually does have a bit of a heart eh?! Was a very nostalgic movie for lots of reasons. Some great shots of Edinburgh and plenty wee Hibs nods and references.

beensaidbefore
02-02-2017, 04:19 PM

How fake was the end to that scene? What happened to the arm?

02-02-2017, 04:59 PM
Lancashire or West Lothian?

That is the question.

Its fitting that on the same week that Tam Dayell passed away we have the return of The West Lothian Question...

definitely not Lancashire, it was Blackburn, West Lothian, just off Yule Terrace, a stones throw from The Boyle Residence, i wonder if Danny knew that..

02-02-2017, 09:04 PM
Saw it this evening and loved it [emoji106]

02-02-2017, 09:45 PM
Saw it yesterday, thought it was brilliant. Dare I say it I think I actually enjoyed it better than the original which I thought was great too. Whether it is actually a better film I will leave to the film experts and critics but their opinion doesnt really count much to me as I thoroughly enjoyed it regardless.

ionahibby
02-02-2017, 10:17 PM
Seen it tonight outstanding film! The 1690 club showed that lot perfectly!

03-02-2017, 07:03 AM
Read today that it was actually Mr Carlyle's stunt double that done all the running in that scene.
Really?

Salt N Sauzee
03-02-2017, 08:04 AM
Really?

Yep. http://dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/rutherglen-man-fills-begbie-trainspotting-9728926

03-02-2017, 08:09 AM
Yep. http://dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/rutherglen-man-fills-begbie-trainspotting-9728926
Well I'll be...

Stand-ins for movie stars? Whodathunkit.

[emoji48]

Kavinho
03-02-2017, 08:30 AM
Missed it was Record link til it was too late. .
Consoled myself with being able to copy out the text for others

Trainspotting 2

Andy Ferguson will be watched by movie goers the world over when he appears as Robert Carlyle's body double in the much anticipated sequel

BYDOUGLAS DICKIE

11:00, 1 FEB 2017UPDATED14:53, 1 FEB 2017

Andy sported a wig and fake moustache for the role

A Rutherglen man is set to be watched by millions of movie goers across the world as body double to Trainspotting’s iconic psychopath Francis Begbie.

Andy Ferguson, from Dalmarnock Road, was left stunned when the makers of Trainspotting 2 asked him to fill in for Robert Carlyle in certain scenes.

The 31-year-old was on set as an extra when producers spotted his similar build to the actor, who has brought the character back to the big screen.

Still just a student of acting and performance at Glasgow City College, Andy said: “I’m just dumbfounded by the whole thing.

“I went in for a day as an extra and was just asked out of the blue if I wanted to audition as Robert Carlyle’s body double. I don’t actually look like him, it was just our build, but when I put the wig and moustache on, there was a likeness.

“It was only supposed to be three days running about Edinburgh, but I ended up going in 14 times in all.

“It was mad. You’re very aware that you’re on camera and portraying a character someone else is playing.

“I didn’t really need to get into character. I had an understanding from reading the books and watching the original film, so I knew how to carry myself and I had plenty of direction on set.

Andy was introduced to Robert Carlyle and Ewan McGregor, with whom he shared a scene, on set.

But he admitted it wasn’t all plain sailing throughout filming.

“It was hellish running in those loafers,” he

“There’s a scene where I’m chasing Ewan McGregor through Edinburgh and we were laughing so much that my fake moustache fell off.

“Robert Carlyle didn’t really speak much but when I met him he gave me a pat on the shoulder and went to watch how I looked on screen.

“I didn’t really bother them, I just kept to myself.”

Trainspotting 2 is the most hotly anticipated British flick in years

It catches up with Renton, Sick Boy, Begbie and Spud 20 years after the original film which ended with Renton making off with the money they had made from a drugs deal.

Andy has already seen the finished work, heading along to an early-morning showing last Friday.

And he reckons fans of the original will not be disappointed.

“It’s really good, although it’s weird for me because I knew which bits were me,” he said. “I would suggest people watch the first one, if they haven’t already, and read the books.”

High-On-Hibs
03-02-2017, 03:43 PM
Seen it tonight outstanding film! The 1690 club showed that lot perfectly!

:agree: Square dancing redneck bawbags.

One_Sauzee
03-02-2017, 05:33 PM
Seen it last night.

There was a Hibs scarf/top/reference in almost every scene!

Good film but wish it followed the book closer. The book ending was something else. :thumbsup:

03-02-2017, 07:50 PM
Watched it again earlier. The 1690 scene was more funny 2nd time round.

21sMay
03-02-2017, 07:52 PM
Was the book a good read ? I've now seen both and was pretty happy with the second . Maybe now give the book a bash

03-02-2017, 07:55 PM
Just back and really enjoyed that. As said, the 1690 club is true is so many ways. Good to see lots of Hibs mentions and Edinburgh landmarks, was brought up just around the corner from the Greendykes flats. Spud's brilliant. 👍

03-02-2017, 08:01 PM
I genuinely think the 1690 club is a serious dig at how ridiculous it is that places like this still exist and making fun of the folk that still attend these places and act exactly as they do in the film.

beensaidbefore
03-02-2017, 08:15 PM
I genuinely think the 1690 club is a serious dig at how ridiculous it is that places like this still exist and making fun of the folk that still attend these places and act exactly as they do in the film.

If that's the case then I really don't think it's fair. What have they ever done to anyone to deserve this....

03-02-2017, 09:00 PM
Just back and really enjoyed that. As said, the 1690 club is true is so many ways. Good to see lots of Hibs mentions and Edinburgh landmarks, was brought up just around the corner from the Greendykes flats. Spud's brilliant. 👍

Just back from seeing it and Agree Spuds character and The facial expressions were incredible

03-02-2017, 09:04 PM
Was the book a good read ? I've now seen both and was pretty happy with the second . Maybe now give the book a bash

Nothing like the book
Edit: that wasn't much help, I didn't think porno was a patch on trainspotting much as I thought about the original film and T2. Would give it a read though as your taste may differ to mine!! 😉

03-02-2017, 09:08 PM
Universal praise for Ewen Bremner's performance as Spud. When I saw the first theatrical dramatisation of Trainspotting in The Traverse many moons ago, Ewen Bremner actually played the character Renton. He fitted the character I had in my mind of Renton whilst reading the book more so than Ewan McGregor did when he played him in the film.

03-02-2017, 10:45 PM

Funny as f#ck..though sad that we all know that sort of place and people are still going strong in the 21st century.

The Pointer
03-02-2017, 11:09 PM
Just back from seeing it in Oban. Thought it was brilliant, dramatic, cool, funny, thought provoking, violent, bigged-up Edinburgh and quite possibly a modern classic with all the wee touches Danny Boyle has put into it; and when has anyone said 'chorie' or 'likesay' in a Hollywood film?

Thought all the characters were tremendous but particularly, Ewan Bremner and then in the end Robert Carlyle. Johnny Lee has an incredibly convincing accent for an Englishman and played his role superbly and there were just the right amount of references to T1 to let you make the connection.

Also think someone must have done a recce of the Loudon Bar to get the 1690 Club so right.

Loved it and will see it again.

One_Sauzee
04-02-2017, 08:12 AM

Highly recommend the book. I think I finished it in about 3 days, couldn't put it down!

Green Man
04-02-2017, 08:15 AM
Also think someone must have done a recce of the Loudon Bar to get the 1690 Club so right.

Loved it and will see it again.

A Rangers fan in my work mentioned the other day that they'd been to the Louden before filming.

Tom Hart RIP
04-02-2017, 09:06 AM
Someone said the 1690 club was the Busy Bee? Long time since I've been there but it didn't look like the Busy to me?

04-02-2017, 09:26 AM
Someone said the 1690 club was the Busy Bee? Long time since I've been there but it didn't look like the Busy to me?

The outside was, not sure about the inside.

The Pointer
04-02-2017, 11:58 AM
It was filmed in 'The Orb' in Bellshill. :agree:

04-02-2017, 12:04 PM
Saw it last night and really enjoyed the film overall. The inclusion of the scene with Begbie's dad was brilliantly done. Also thought Spuds arc was the highlight, Ewan Bremner was superb.

Few negatives for me. Sick Boy was almost too decent, too nice! I expected more scheming from him, not sure this portrayal was all that consistent with the books. Begbie - maybe too psychotic? And as others pointed out, his story seemed the most far fetched. Well aside from Mikey Forrester becoming a crime lord that is!

Minor moans though, the nostalgia and just spending time with these characters was great and did justice to the original

04-02-2017, 12:10 PM
Highly recommend the book. I think I finished it in about 3 days, couldn't put it down!

The book is the main piece of work. It's funny and poignant. Welsh's best book by far.

The films are something else entirely. Very in your face and with soundtrack obviously.

04-02-2017, 12:42 PM
Saw it last night and really enjoyed the film overall. The inclusion of the scene with Begbie's dad was brilliantly done. Also thought Spuds arc was the highlight, Ewan Bremner was superb.

Few negatives for me. Sick Boy was almost too decent, too nice! I expected more scheming from him, not sure this portrayal was all that consistent with the books. Begbie - maybe too psychotic? And as others pointed out, his story seemed the most far fetched. Well aside from Mikey Forrester becoming a crime lord that is!

Minor moans though, the nostalgia and just spending time with these characters was great and did justice to the original

Yeah agree with sick boy he was far too nice in the film. Wasn't mikey a guy who owned a few saunas in the book so maybe not that much of a jump

Col_0762
04-02-2017, 11:43 PM
Not sure if I was imagining it, but when Renton and Sick Boy were back in the flat going on about Georgie Best etc to Veronica, near the end of that scene, there's a laptop showing a crowd celebrating. I'm 99% sure it was the Hibs support after Sir David's goal at Hampden. Would need to see it again as it was gone as quick as I seen it! Anyone else notice it?
I also thought T2 was better than the first one. Spud and Begbie the stand outs.

cocteautwin
05-02-2017, 06:34 AM
This doesn't come out in Japan until April. Argh. If anyone knows where it's available on the internet it would be most appreciated. Happy to pay iTunes or netflix fees if it's available anywhere.

05-02-2017, 10:50 AM
Amazing!!!

05-02-2017, 10:59 AM
Not sure if I was imagining it, but when Renton and Sick Boy were back in the flat going on about Georgie Best etc to Veronica, near the end of that scene, there's a laptop showing a crowd celebrating. I'm 99% sure it was the Hibs support after Sir David's goal at Hampden. Would need to see it again as it was gone as quick as I seen it! Anyone else notice it?
I also thought T2 was better than the first one. Spud and Begbie the stand outs.

I thought Sick Boy was the most convincing, thought Begbie was a bit of a joke character in this one.....Lots of great Hibs references, enjoyed it

Col_0762
05-02-2017, 11:04 AM
I thought Sick Boy was the most convincing, thought Begbie was a bit of a joke character in this one.....Lots of great Hibs references, enjoyed it

They were all good to be fair. Some of Begbie's wee one liners were good. Like telling his wife to just get him a plaster when he was bleeding was a belter. Agree re the Hibs. Good to see Begbie's jail cell with the posters and t-shirt and also all the stuff in Sick Boys' place and Rentons' old room. Was worth the wait!

05-02-2017, 11:33 AM
They were all good to be fair. Some of Begbie's wee one liners were good. Like telling his wife to just get him a plaster when he was bleeding was a belter. Agree re the Hibs. Good to see Begbie's jail cell with the posters and t-shirt and also all the stuff in Sick Boys' place and Rentons' old room. Was worth the wait!

Special mention for Veronica, what a honey:greengrin

Col_0762
05-02-2017, 11:42 AM
Special mention for Veronica, what a honey:greengrin

Haha. I was sat there hoping to see her pop into view with just that retro 70's jersey on! Maybe that'll be on the DVD extras!

The Pointer
07-02-2017, 11:24 PM
A mate went to see it at the Contemporary Arts Centre in Dundee at the weekend.

Full, nice crowd until the scene near the end where Renton is hanging from the cable with Begbie walking away, when a loud Dundonian voice shouts out from the back, "F*** off Begbie!"

08-02-2017, 08:37 AM
A mate went to see it at the Contemporary Arts Centre in Dundee at the weekend.

Full, nice crowd until the scene near the end where Renton is hanging from the cable with Begbie walking away, when a loud Dundonian voice shouts out from the back, "F*** off Begbie!"

Contemporary Arts Centre Dundee :confused:

RamblingJack
08-02-2017, 08:48 AM
Not seen it yet,doesn't translate too good into Spanish!...........I still watch 'The Acid House'..great wee stories.

08-02-2017, 05:11 PM

It ripped the pish out that mob. Totally and utterly 😊

Nice timing after our cup final glory over them too 😆

capitals_finest
08-02-2017, 09:58 PM
Very enjoyable film and a great job done by all involved.

The 1690 club is just beautiful. Captures the very essence of being a hun.

Some mild huns will probably take it as a dig while your average knuckle dragging Billy boy will possibly see it as a compliment.

majorhibs
08-02-2017, 10:12 PM
Not seen it yet,doesn't translate too good into Spanish!...........I still watch 'The Acid House'..great wee stories.

Polite Scottish, taking your time & putting lots of thought & effort in, doesn't translate good into Latino languages. Trainspotting....:hilarious

08-02-2017, 10:29 PM

Some mild huns will probably take it as a dig while your average knuckle dragging Billy boy will possibly see it as a compliment.

Most of the knuckle draggers probably don't even realise who the "Billy" in question is!

09-02-2017, 02:14 PM
Just about to see it.

AND An E
12-03-2017, 08:09 PM
Sorry for Necro'ing this thread. Seen this for the time last night and came to confirm that that was indeed Tynecastle in that scene. Interesting. Thought the film was fantastic. I was particularly happy with the character progression of Spud and Begbie, and performances of Ewen Bremner and Robert Carlyle. Plenty nostalgia, comedy and Hibs references throughout, which was great. That soft, slow soundbite of Born Slippy couldn't have been more perfect. I loved the various glimpses of Edinburgh scenery, especially that one long shot atop Arthur's Seat. The 1690 Club, brilliant. I don't want to jump the gun but, I reckon in years to come, T2 will be seen as far superior to the original. Cannae wait to see it again. EDIT - Somehow I can't format the post in proper paragraphs. Please excuse this grammatical atrocity.

Man Down Under
13-03-2017, 02:47 AM
I watched it in NZ with a rangers fan last week. He was laughing at the 1690 club, he actually had to explain it to me because I'm completely ignorant to all that carry on.
He said the Rangers fans will be raging and sure enough he went on bears den and said they weren't too pleased!
Great film, a lot of it was superior to the first one I reckon. I also liked how despite relying a lot on the first film to carry it, it kind of took the mick out of itself for being a little obsessed with nostalgia and trying to live in the past even though so much has changed since then.

Sent from my SM-J200Y using Tapatalk

13-03-2017, 06:00 AM

I thought the same thing at first, but later I realised that they were celebrating a "goal". :greengrin

13-03-2017, 06:16 AM
Watched the original before I went to watch T2 just to refresh the memory. I thought T2 was very good, the 1690 club my favourite scene. The original was hard hitting and pretty shocking at the time, found T2 much more light hearted and easy to watch, a very decent sequel.

13-03-2017, 07:07 AM
Saw on wednesday night. Not overly impressed really. Great characters, but lacking any depth of story. It was relatively short, which was a blessing. The 1690 club scene was quite amusing, had to explain to my English ladyfriend why this date was so significant to the less evolved.

Still, the scene is set for T3, wonder if the Dominion will still be here in 2037.

TrinityHibs
13-03-2017, 08:19 AM
Went on Friday and thought it was excellent. Spud and Begbie were stand out characters. It did make me wonder how many Sevconians actually use 1690 as their code for their bank card. A great bit of observation. I think the storyline was secondary to the relationships between Renton, Sickboy, Spud and to a lesser extent Begbie. Very well filmed and some great opportunities for Edinburgh spotting.

Renfrew_Hibby
13-03-2017, 10:10 AM
In my line of work we have reward cards for customers and where I work Celtic fans make up the majority. They require to set themselves a pin number. Probably 3/4s will have 1888. So I'm sure a fair % of sevconians will indeed use 1690 for pins/passwords ect.

13-03-2017, 10:52 AM
In my line of work we have reward cards for customers and where I work Celtic fans make up the majority. They require to set themselves a pin number. Probably 3/4s will have 1888. So I'm sure a fair % of sevconians will indeed use 1690 for pins/passwords ect.

I wonder how many Hibs fans use 1875 .

13-03-2017, 11:06 AM
i read online over a week ago that they were auctioning props etc from T2 for charity

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/scotland-now/piece-scottish-film-memorabilia-props-9951947

it's a link for the Daily Ranger so.. no likey, no clicky, no cry

13-03-2017, 01:43 PM
i read online over a week ago that they were auctioning props etc from T2 for charity

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/scotland-now/piece-scottish-film-memorabilia-props-9951947

it's a link for the Daily Ranger so.. no likey, no clicky, no cry

Some of the old hibs stuff in Renton's bedroom are up for auction i see.

13-03-2017, 08:13 PM

I hear the Pee-pul aren't best pleased about the pish taking 1690 club. Ah well! 😆

13-03-2017, 08:14 PM
Make a gid day out mind you, easy money from brain dead twats in the back country 😚