View Full Version : Palestine visit
24-01-2017, 10:15 AM
Hi has anyone visited Palestine? I'm going over with Palestine Solidarity Campaign in March. Obviously I know a lot of the suffering that the illegal occupation has caused but has anyone got any first hand knowledge?
24-01-2017, 10:21 AM
its impossible to visit palestine , it does not exist
24-01-2017, 10:32 AM
Yes it does
Palestine usually refers to: Palestine (region), a geographical and historical region in the Middle East.
You may not believe in the State of Palestine, but geographically it exists a region
24-01-2017, 10:34 AM
The State of Palestine is recognised by over 130 countries and has observer state status at the UN.
24-01-2017, 10:49 AM
24-01-2017, 10:55 AM
Was not expecting drivel like this. Also clearly shows the problem that we have to stop the illegal occupation of Palestine by Israel
24-01-2017, 11:19 AM
Was not expecting drivel like this. Also clearly shows the problem that we have to stop the illegal occupation of Palestine by Israel
its hardly drivel , at this moment in time there is no palestine . if there was already a palestine then why did they just have a big international conference advocating a 2 state solution for israel ? its because at the moment there is only the state of israel
and with the rate israel are grabbing land in the west bank and east jerusalem , the chance of there being a state of palestine becomes even less
24-01-2017, 11:34 AM
its hardly drivel , at this moment in time there is no palestine . if there was already a palestine then why did they just have a big international conference advocating a 2 state solution for israel ? its because at the moment there is only the state of israel
and with the rate israel are grabbing land in the west bank and east jerusalem , the chance of there being a state of palestine becomes even less
Palestine exists.
Yes it does
Palestine usually refers to: Palestine (region), a geographical and historical region in the Middle East.
You may not believe in the State of Palestine, but geographically it exists a region
I rest my case.
beensaidbefore
24-01-2017, 11:45 AM
All the more reason for a visit to the area then, before the US backed ethnic cleansing is complete.
24-01-2017, 11:46 AM
x2 !
Yip you are talking drivel. There in fact is a mural of Richard the Lionheart in the House of Commons. He is off to fight the Crusades, and it states on the inscription in Palestine.
24-01-2017, 11:53 AM
So now we've established I'm visiting a place that exists has anyone been ? We get a briefing before we go on what to expect and how to react to some of it but I'm keen to hear from someone who has been.
24-01-2017, 12:16 PM
x2 !
Yip you are talking drivel. There in fact is a mural of Richard the Lionheart in the House of Commons. He is off to fight the Crusades, and it states on the inscription in Palestine.
there will be stuff in the commons about yugoslavia too , does not mean it exists as a state
if palestine exists as a state then why are palestinians fighting to create their own state , why would you fight and kill people for something you already have ???
24-01-2017, 12:17 PM
x2 !
So now we've established I'm visiting a place that exists has anyone been ? We get a briefing before we go on what to expect and how to react to some of it but I'm keen to hear from someone who has been.
Lucky, meet Richard.
24-01-2017, 12:23 PM
there will be stuff in the commons about yugoslavia too , does not mean it exists as a state
if palestine exists as a state then why are palestinians fighting to create their own state , why would you fight and kill people for something you already have ???
Whether or not you believe in its existence as a state, as has been said already, the geographical area does exist.
24-01-2017, 12:25 PM
Whether or not you believe in its existence as a state, as has been said already, the geographical area does exist.
the area does exist and if you look on a map or an atlas it is known as israel
24-01-2017, 12:26 PM
The Palestinians are living under occupation as you fine well know.
beensaidbefore
24-01-2017, 12:27 PM
You are joking yeah? Why would they fight? Because their land is being stolen from them by another country. They are also being treated like animals by the Zionists, who are behaving in manner which is not too dissimilar to the way the Jews were treated by the Nazis. Ironic or what?
24-01-2017, 12:30 PM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palestine_(region)
Palestine (Arabic: فلسطين Filasṭīn, Falasṭīn, Filisṭīn; Greek: Παλαιστίνη, Palaistinē; Latin: Palaestina; Hebrew: פלשתינה Palestina) is a geographic region in Western Asia between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River. It is sometimes considered to include adjoining territories. The name was used by Ancient Greek writers, and was later used for the Roman province Syria Palaestina, the Byzantine Palaestina Prima, and the Islamic provincial district of Jund Filastin. The region comprises most of the territory claimed for the biblical regions known as the Land of Israel (Hebrew: ארץ־ישראל Eretz-Yisra'el), the Holy Land or Promised Land. Historically, it has been known as the southern portion of wider regional designations such as Canaan, Syria, ash-Sham, and the Levant.
24-01-2017, 12:34 PM
We're the mental hibees baby, we've got class, Mahmoud Abbas :wink:
Sorry, couldn't resist.
24-01-2017, 12:36 PM
There is also a population of 4.5million so if it doesn't exist, where are they? :greengrin
24-01-2017, 12:56 PM
So, if somebody from abroad is visiting Edinburgh, then according to your logic, they aren't visiting Scotland as Scotland doesn't exist as a state. Palestine definitely exists (but not as a state) and that's coming from me who normally falls marginally on the pro-Israel side of the fence.
24-01-2017, 01:15 PM
That depends on the map or atlas.
:troll:
To answer the OP, I've never been but will be really interested to hear your experiences lucky. Keep us updated. :aok:
24-01-2017, 01:25 PM
Not strictly true, it is generally shown as 'West Bank'.
24-01-2017, 01:30 PM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palestine_(region)
Palestine (Arabic: فلسطين Filasṭīn, Falasṭīn, Filisṭīn; Greek: Παλαιστίνη, Palaistinē; Latin: Palaestina; Hebrew: פלשתינה Palestina) is a geographic region in Western Asia between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River. It is sometimes considered to include adjoining territories. The name was used by Ancient Greek writers, and was later used for the Roman province Syria Palaestina, the Byzantine Palaestina Prima, and the Islamic provincial district of Jund Filastin. The region comprises most of the territory claimed for the biblical regions known as the Land of Israel (Hebrew: ארץ־ישראל Eretz-Yisra'el), the Holy Land or Promised Land. Historically, it has been known as the southern portion of wider regional designations such as Canaan, Syria, ash-Sham, and the Levant.
A bit like Patagonia
24-01-2017, 01:34 PM
So, if somebody from abroad is visiting Edinburgh, then according to your logic, they aren't visiting Scotland as Scotland doesn't exist as a state. Palestine definitely exists (but not as a state) and that's coming from me who normally falls marginally on the pro-Israel side of the fence.
im not on either side of the fence , until recently i had no interest in it
it seems to be a topic like brexit where certain people are in denial of the reality of the situation and rather than give reasoned answers resort to the belittlement and insults of anyone who may see things a little different or not be in possesion of all the facts
it happens alot on here
24-01-2017, 01:37 PM
A bit like Patagonia
Just warmer :wink:
24-01-2017, 01:38 PM
im not on either side of the fence , until recently i had no interest in it
it seems to be a topic like brexit where certain people are in denial of the reality of the situation and rather than give reasoned answers resort to the belittlement and insults of anyone who may see things a little different or not be in possesion of all the facts
it happens alot on here
That is the best description of your posts on this thread I have seen so far. :wink:
24-01-2017, 01:43 PM
That is the best description of your posts on this thread I have seen so far. :wink:
please explain if you will
who have i insulted , or belittled on any thread or post on here :confused:
feel free to quote me
im just stating the facts as i understand them
mmmmhibby
24-01-2017, 02:08 PM
feel free to quote me
Yer wasting yer time, the Palestinian people are supressed by guess who? The Palestinian Government.......billions in state aid poured into the hands of the wrong people never spent on infrastructure but into back pockets.
24-01-2017, 02:13 PM
feel free to quote me
The existence of Palestine, both geographically and politically has been explained by several posters on this thread, yet you are the one that is choosing to be
in denial of the reality of the situation
In 1947 the UN 'created' the state of Israel, Palestine was under British Empirical Administration between 1920 and 1948 until the Jewish Insurgency and the UN partitioned the former Palestine to accommodate a Jewish State of Israel. And you seem to think Palestine doesn't exist. Palestinians are trying to hold onto what is left of the West Bank and Gaza Strip from Israeli occupation.
Israel's occupation of Gaza, the West Bank and East Jerusalem is the world's longest military occupation in modern times
History lesson over.
24-01-2017, 02:19 PM
The existence of Palestine, both geographically and politically has been explained by several posters on this thread, yet you are the one that is choosing to be
In 1947 the UN 'created' the state of Israel, Palestine was under British Empirical Administration between 1920 and 1948 until the Jewish Insurgency and the UN partitioned the former Palestine to accommodate a Jewish State of Israel. And you seem to think Palestine doesn't exist. Palestinians are trying to hold onto what is left of the West Bank and Gaza Strip from Israeli occupation.
History lesson over.
im reading an article about it that was only published today , iv copied this quote
A spokesman for Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas (http://www.chron.com/search/?action=search&channel=news%2Fpolitics&inlineLink=1&searchindex=gsa&query=%22Mahmoud+Abbas%22) says the Israeli plans announced Tuesday deal a new blow to attempts to bring peace to the region and will promote extremism and terrorism.
Nabil Abu Rdene (http://www.chron.com/search/?action=search&channel=news%2Fpolitics&inlineLink=1&searchindex=gsa&query=%22Nabil+Abu+Rdeneh%22)h says the decision "disregards" international opposition to the settlements and is calling on the international community to take a "real and serious position" against Israel.
The Palestinians say settlements are undermining peace hopes by gobbling up the land where they hope to establish a palestinian state.
so this is abbas spokesman saying today they hope to establish a palestinian state , that suggests to me that there currently is not a palestinian state , so do you know something mahmoud abbas doesnt or are you just making up your own version of reality :confused:
24-01-2017, 02:24 PM
im reading an article about it that was only published today , iv copied this quote
A spokesman for Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas (http://www.chron.com/search/?action=search&channel=news%2Fpolitics&inlineLink=1&searchindex=gsa&query=%22Mahmoud+Abbas%22) says the Israeli plans announced Tuesday deal a new blow to attempts to bring peace to the region and will promote extremism and terrorism.
Nabil Abu Rdene (http://www.chron.com/search/?action=search&channel=news%2Fpolitics&inlineLink=1&searchindex=gsa&query=%22Nabil+Abu+Rdeneh%22)h says the decision "disregards" international opposition to the settlements and is calling on the international community to take a "real and serious position" against Israel.
The Palestinians say settlements are undermining peace hopes by gobbling up the land where they hope to establish a palestinian state.
so this is abbas spokesman saying today they hope to establish a palestinian state , that suggests to me that there currently is not a palestinian state , so do you know something mahmoud abbas doesnt or are you just making up your own version of reality :confused:
You are ignoring all of those who say that Palestine is also a region.
24-01-2017, 02:57 PM
You are ignoring all of those who say that Palestine is also a region.
i was ignoring the people that were trying to say palestine is a state
so what part of the region of palestine is the OP visiting ?
24-01-2017, 03:09 PM
Presumably the Israeli occupied territories I have already mentioned, Gaza Strip, West Bank, possibly the Gollan Heights. All names you might have hard on the news.
Meanwhile here's an article worth reading to help understand why you need to understand the politics of the Middle East to realise that Palestine exits.
http://www.middleeasteye.net/columns/imagine-world-without-palestine-1962266707
24-01-2017, 03:13 PM
Hi has anyone visited Palestine? I'm going over with Palestine Solidarity Campaign in March. Obviously I know a lot of the suffering that the illegal occupation has caused but has anyone got any first knowledge?
If you're taking Mick Napier with you,leave him there.
beensaidbefore
24-01-2017, 03:41 PM
A bit like Patagonia
Or even Lothian for an example closer to home.
24-01-2017, 04:24 PM
If you're taking Mick Napier with you,leave him there.
Not sure he'll be going as it's being organised out of London rather than Scottish PSC. Take it your not fan of him?
24-01-2017, 05:27 PM
Not sure he'll be going as it's being organised out of London rather than Scottish PSC. Take it your not fan of him?
No I am not, caused me a lot of hassle with his ridiculously wrongly directed protest at my previous place of work. A mouthpiece with a megaphone who pissed me off no end.
24-01-2017, 05:34 PM
No I am not, caused me a lot of hassle with his ridiculously wrongly directed protest at my previous place of work. A mouthpiece with a megaphone who pissed me off no end.
movements like the PSC tend to attract these types of nut jobs , what was he protesting your work about out of curiosity
24-01-2017, 05:43 PM
movements like the PSC tend to attract these types of nut jobs , what was he protesting your work about out of curiosity
Israeli involvement in ownership.
24-01-2017, 06:59 PM
Movements like the PSC, aye nae bother. For your information Mick Napier is anything but a nut job.
24-01-2017, 07:09 PM
Movements like the PSC, aye nae bother. For your information Mick Napier is anything but a nut job.
No, just a pain in the erse,well he was to me anyway :-)
24-01-2017, 07:14 PM
....because he takes a stance against massacres in Gaza, and supports the Palestinian struggle - you view him as a "nut job"? wow - that's some view.
24-01-2017, 07:22 PM
No, just a pain in the erse,well he was to me anyway :-)
There's a big difference between a pain in the erse, and a nut job. :greengrin I should know.
24-01-2017, 07:34 PM
....because he takes a stance against massacres in Gaza, and supports the Palestinian struggle - you view him as a "nut job"? wow - that's some view.
screaming down a megaphone outside somebodys workplace that may have a link to israel is hardly the behaviour of a sane person
hibs have an israeli goal keeper , would you be happy for this guy to hurl anti-semetic abuse at him down a megaphone ?
24-01-2017, 07:39 PM
If you buy a map in Saudi and presumably other Arab states you will see with a glance that Israel does not exist but is a place called Palestine. Natives from there that I met still held British people responsible for the creation of Israel so I would advise a cautionary approach. They can be very friendly if you're fighting their corner or helping to spread the word but they were also dancing in the street on 9/11. Fascinating as the middle east is concerning their religion/politics I always felt better when leaving them.
24-01-2017, 07:40 PM
screaming down a megaphone outside somebodys workplace that may have a link to israel is hardly the behaviour of a sane person
hibs have an israeli goal keeper , would you be happy for this guy to hurl anti-semetic abuse at him down a megaphone ?
i don't know the man, but i do know the organisation's chairman who is Jewish.... there is no direct link between challenging the state of Israel's actions against Palestine and anti-semitism...and in addition, not that I'm condemning it, neither is action against israeli owned businesses..
24-01-2017, 07:49 PM
i don't know the man, but i do know the organisation's chairman who is Jewish.... there is no direct link between challenging the state of Israel's actions against Palestine and anti-semitism...and in addition, not that I'm condemning it, neither is action against israeli owned businesses..
he has plenty videos on youtube , he's like scotlands answer to alex jones , jumping about the streets ranting down a megaphone about zionists and such like
24-01-2017, 07:52 PM
he has plenty videos on youtube , he's like scotlands answer to alex jones , jumping about the streets ranting down a megaphone about zionists and such like
just because he is paranoid , doesn't mean they're not watching him....
24-01-2017, 08:33 PM
I'm probably the most pro-Israel person on this forum but comments like that are quite unhelpful.
It's certainly not a sovereign state (although no doubt that will eventually change) but there has been an area known as Palestine for some time.
24-01-2017, 09:20 PM
I don't why your deliberately trying to annoy folk but I'll answer you anyway.
Ramallah
Hebron
Bethlehem, Aida Refugee camp and Lajee Cultural Centre
Jerusalem
Jericho
24-01-2017, 09:46 PM
There's a big difference between a pain in the erse, and a nut job. :greengrin I should know.
I'm not the type for making jokes about sexual innuendo but I had to fight really hard not to with this post.
24-01-2017, 09:47 PM
Makaveli sounds like a Hun.
25-01-2017, 07:59 AM
I'm not the type for making jokes about sexual innuendo but I had to fight really hard not to with this post.
11-03-2017, 04:33 PM
At the airport getting ready to fly out to Palestine. Looking forward to seeing the West Bank but obviously have some concerns over what's it's going to be like especially as the IDF are notorious for cracking down PSC activists. But the Palestinian people need help to expose the apartheid regime they are forced to live under.
11-03-2017, 04:44 PM
At the airport getting ready to fly out to Palestine. Looking forward to seeing the West Bank but obviously have some concerns over what's it's going to be like especially as the IDF are notorious for cracking down PSC activists. But the Palestinian people need help to expose the apartheid regime they are forced to live under.
Have a great trip and safe journey.
11-03-2017, 10:27 PM
Good luck - keep us up-to-date when you get a chance please.
12-03-2017, 04:23 PM
Just arrived in the West Bank. Two of our group detained at security looks like they may not be given entrance into Tel Aviv. Apparently new law has been passed if your work for an organisation that supports PSC they can refuse you entry. Stopped at a check point but soldiers were ok. Already seen the wall that keeps the Palestinians in. Sad sight but we are to get the message of the Palestinian people out there. Going for a walk round Jerusalem tonight.
12-03-2017, 06:07 PM
Hi has anyone visited Palestine? I'm going over with Palestine Solidarity Campaign in March. Obviously I know a lot of the suffering that the illegal occupation has caused but has anyone got any first hand knowledge?
I've visited as part of my visits to Isreal for educational trips (with my University to Yad Vashem). Very interesting trip. I found it a very different experience to what the news agencies portray.
ACLeith
12-03-2017, 07:31 PM
Just arrived in the West Bank. Two of our group detained at security looks like they may not be given entrance into Tel Aviv. Apparently new law has been passed if your work for an organisation that supports PSC they can refuse you entry. Stopped at a check point but soldiers were ok. Already seen the wall that keeps the Palestinians in. Sad sight but we are to get the message of the Palestinian people out there. Going for a walk round Jerusalem tonight.
Will be very interested to hear if your visit changes your initial opinions in any way. I know a number of people who have visited as part of their work and without exception have modified their views as a result. (I won't say which way!).
Would also be interested to hear your view on what you find out about the scale of the opposition amongst Israelis to their government. Criticising that government is NOT being anti-Semitic.
17-03-2017, 06:08 PM
Returned from Palestine last night, we were advised that we could not post anything on social media whilst there. I visited Ramallah and met with several NGOs including a group representing children who get arrested for throwing stones. The lawyer told us that 98% of the kids get convicted so they plea bargain and try get reduced sentences, usually 3 months. If they don't plead guilty they get a minimum of 12 months.
I visited Hebron and seen how the city has been split in two. The settlers protected by the Israeli army have taken half the city. No Palestinian is allowed in the settlements. There are 600000 settlers now in the occupied Palestinian land. This is a breech of the Geneva convention. An occupying army are not permitted to move its people into the occupied land. It's now 50 years since the 6 day war and the Israeli government are taking over Palestine. They now control 42% of the land and have military control over the rest whenever they want.
When in Jerusalem we went to the Aida refugee camp and Lajee Education centre. Check out the Lajee centres website. This was the centre the Green Brigade raise money for, £176000, they bought property and a garden to expand the centre.
http://www.lajee.org/index.php
I've returned shocked and saddened. It's an apartheid regime with total control by the Israeli government. They control everything from the roads, airport, water all the way through to the school curriculum. It's these reason why I support BDS(Boycott Disinvestment & Sanctions) https://bdsmovement.net and now can't see how a two state solution ever working.
17-03-2017, 06:27 PM
Who advised you not to post on social media and what would or could have happened if you did?
17-03-2017, 06:48 PM
Who advised you not to post on social media and what would or could have happened if you did?
Our guides, they were worried we'd get picked up and deported. We even had too wipe our phones. It was scarey at times. When Hebron we were shouted at by settlers and comforted by soldiers because we were in the settlement with a Muslim. We were entitled to be there but they don't want anyone seeing what's happening.
allmodcons
17-03-2017, 08:09 PM
Returned from Palestine last night, we were advised that we could not post anything on social media whilst there. I visited Ramallah and met with several NGOs including a group representing children who get arrested for throwing stones. The lawyer told us that 98% of the kids get convicted so they plea bargain and try get reduced sentences, usually 3 months. If they don't plead guilty they get a minimum of 12 months.
I visited Hebron and seen how the city has been split in two. The settlers protected by the Israeli army have taken half the city. No Palestinian is allowed in the settlements. There are 600000 settlers now in the occupied Palestinian land. This is a breech of the Geneva convention. An occupying army are not permitted to move its people into the occupied land. It's now 50 years since the 6 day war and the Israeli government are taking over Palestine. They now control 42% of the land and have military control over the rest whenever they want.
When in Jerusalem we went to the Aida refugee camp and Lajee Education centre. Check out the Lajee centres website. This was the centre the Green Brigade raise money for, £176000, they bought property and a garden to expand the centre.
I've returned shocked and saddened. It's an apartheid regime with total control by the Israeli government. They control everything from the roads, airport, water all the way through to the school curriculum. It's these reason why I support BDS(Boycott Disinvestment & Sanctions) https://bdsmovement.net and now can't see how a two state solution ever working.
You'll be voting Yes now that you understand the term 'occupation'.
On a serious note, sounds like a great experience (albeit scary and sad). I have a lot of sympathy for the Palestinians and think what goes on over there is a disgrace.
17-03-2017, 08:22 PM
You'll be voting Yes now that you understand the term 'occupation'.
On a serious note, sounds like a great experience (albeit scary and sad). I have a lot of sympathy for the Palestinians and think what goes on over there is a disgrace.
Cheers mate, it's unreal but not that the UN have said it's an apartheid regime maybe more will be done. Surprisingly most Palestinians just want peace and freedom to move around their own country.
Still a long way of yes but that's another discussion 😄
ACLeith
17-03-2017, 08:24 PM
Cheers mate, it's unreal but not that the UN have said it's an apartheid regime maybe more will be done. Surprisingly most Palestinians just want peace and freedom to move around their own country.
did you find it was worse than you had anticipated before you went?
allmodcons
17-03-2017, 08:30 PM
did you find it was worse than you had anticipated before you went?
Don't want to speak for Lucky, but I'll bet it was worse than he expected.
It's not until to see something terrible like this close up that you get your eyes opened as to the scale of the problem,
17-03-2017, 08:45 PM
Worse than imagined. The 700 km of wall, the demand of security for id and permits. The Palestinian people are slowly being driven from their land. If you imagine an old war movie with Nazi soldiers everywhere with guns and road blocks everywhere stopping searching and arresting people then multiply then you still don't come close. Residents of the West Bank are not permitted into Jerusalem without a permit. But we need people visiting and supporting the Palestinian people and BDS
ACLeith
18-03-2017, 11:39 AM
Worse than imagined. The 700 km of wall, the demand of security for id and permits. The Palestinian people are slowly being driven from their land. If you imagine an old war movie with Nazi soldiers everywhere with guns and road blocks everywhere stopping searching and arresting people then multiply then you still don't come close. Residents of the West Bank are not permitted into Jerusalem without a permit. But we need people visiting and supporting the Palestinian people and BDS
Your experience ties in with everyone who I used to work with who visited there. I did know some who were instinctively pro-Israel but who returned with a very different point of view. The tiny ray of hope they saw was that there was a greater opposition within Israel to the extreme Israeli government than the government would like to have made known - or which the western media publicises.
It's hard to see any hope in the current situation, but 30 years ago the Berlin Wall existed, as did the Soviet Union, apartheid in South Africa, with Nelson Mandela still languishing in jail and the thought that Gerry Adams and Ian Paisley would sit down together in government was crazy. So we must retain some hope that the Palestinian/Israeli situation will be added to that list.
18-03-2017, 04:39 PM
As long as it's a potential destination for you ;-)
I know a couple of folks from Gaza in Edinburgh and they often talk about being hemmed in, unable to do anything.
I can't see the 'west' forcing Israel's hand. Apparently though, there is a bit more pressure coming from within Israel. Have you seen any evidence of that? As in Israeli movements or groups who are looking for a solution and are against the hardliners like Netanyahu etc?
19-03-2017, 06:19 AM
We met with Israeli activists, who want the borders back to before 1967 but their numbers are small. They were saying a lot of the land grabbing was being done by Jews coming from the US and Eastern Europe.
19-03-2017, 07:46 AM
Glad it was a safe trip. :aok:
On the social media thing, I have a friend who lives and works in Ramallah (she teaches and uses music to help traumatised children) and we used to write hand written letters, pre-internet days. These letters would often arrive having been opened and re-sealed. When we started emailing, around the early 2000s, it twice happened that I received blank emails, just her address, a topic, but no content. I thought she had made a mistake, but eventually I asked her about this, and she said it was because they had been screened and wiped by Israeli 'intelligence' officers. Apparently, this was normal too, so it is not far fetched to assume that the warning you were given about posting on social media was real.
28-03-2017, 08:53 PM
Check out this video made by the Lajee center. It's extremely moving
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mUi3bxsCwUE
04-10-2017, 07:14 PM
Abby Martin talks about her visit to Palestine.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=568&v=rBRxt5ufnGg
Ryan69
13-10-2017, 12:43 PM
I went for a couple of days.
unlike what the media will have you believe......they generally work alongside Israelis.
Palestinians can freely cross the border providing they,or their families have no terrorist links. Which is fair game I'd say.
Watch out for the Palestinians ripping you off though....They are very good at it,along with pulling out the victim cards whenever they get the chance.
13-10-2017, 01:43 PM
unlike what the media will have you believe......they generally work alongside Israelis.
Palestinians can freely cross the border providing they,or their families have no terrorist links. Which is fair game I'd say.
Watch out for the Palestinians ripping you off though....They are very good at it,along with pulling out the victim cards whenever they get the chance.
Oh bloody hell.
Lemme get my popcorn......
13-10-2017, 01:52 PM
[emoji102]
beensaidbefore
13-10-2017, 04:27 PM
Oh bloody hell.
Lemme get my popcorn......😂😂
13-10-2017, 10:06 PM
I've no doubt this was an incredibly moving, and eye-opening experience, but I need to pick up on the bit in bold.
I've long-researched the water conflict in the Israel-Palestine region, and found it truly eye-opening reading about Israel's influence on Palestine's water accessibility. I initially thought that damming rivers that crossed between the two regions was the only way they could hamper Palestinian access to water, but delving a bit deeper unveiled some scary conclusions. Often, many Palestinian settlements are located proximate to an Israeli water company pipe, but aren't allowed to connect to it. They therefore rely on two primary options: 1) very expensive desalination facilities for brackish water, and seawater (with the transfer of spare parts or suitably qualified operators being significantly restricted by Israel), or 2) the delivery of water in trucks, which ramps up access costs considerably.
There are other factors at play, so to say Palestine's water limitations are PURELY a result of Israel isn't accurate at all (climatic conditions, low-lying topography, abysmal existing infrastructure that mostly contributes to water losses), but their actions certainly compound the misery of those already living under an oppressive authority.
I'm currently writing a book on hydropolitics across the globe and the situation surrounding Israel, Palestine, Syria and Jordan is truly horrifying.