View Full Version : Scotland v Canada

15-01-2017, 12:19 PM
I see a friendly has been pencilled at Easter Rd for this international friendly on Wednesday 22nd March

15-01-2017, 12:34 PM
I see a friendly has been pencilled at Easter Rd for this international friendly on Wednesday 22nd March

Seen that too. Glad it's not Hampden.

15-01-2017, 12:36 PM
Seen that too. Glad it's not Hampden.

The way the team is playing they should have played it at Livingston. Interest in Ecosse is at rock bottom.

15-01-2017, 01:01 PM
May be interested if Strachan states that it is a good opportunity to give McGinn a start at his home ground.

Do you recall when Black was given the last couple of minutes in a previous game at ER. What sort of idiot would do that.

15-01-2017, 01:11 PM
May be interested if Strachan states that it is a good opportunity to give McGinn a start at his home ground.

Do you recall when Black was given the last couple of minutes in a previous game at ER. What sort of idiot would do that.

If we're in a good league position I'm hoping he'll give Hanlon or McGregor a chance of being in the squad - he won't though with a qualifier days later (sadly).

15-01-2017, 01:22 PM
I think he will start SJM. That might bring out a few hibees to the game. If ticket sales are slow they will announce that he is starting the day before in some attempt to drive sales ha ha.

15-01-2017, 02:57 PM
Any more than a fiver to get in would be too much.

15-01-2017, 03:02 PM

Craig Levein. No medals as a player or manager and a bitter negative reptile. Difficult to think of anyone else who would do that.

BigKev
15-01-2017, 03:09 PM
The Qatar game at Easter Road a couple of years ago was the worst support I've ever seen for an international. Think there was about 7000 there.

Won't be many more for Canada.

15-01-2017, 03:19 PM
The Qatar game at Easter Road a couple of years ago was the worst support I've ever seen for an international. Think there was about 7000 there.

Did Scotland not play Canada at a sold out ER under Vogts? Sure Ian Murray made his debut. Think Paul Fenwick might have played for Canada as well.

Lower capacity in those days right enough.

15-01-2017, 03:21 PM

It was one of the worst games I've ever sat through. Went for a pie and missed the only goal and some numpty streaking.

BigKev
15-01-2017, 03:26 PM
It was one of the worst games I've ever sat through. Went for a pie and missed the only goal and some numpty streaking.

Think I left after about 25 minutes!

15-01-2017, 03:30 PM

There was about 12K. Fans were sick of Levein. He then gave the Hibs fans in the crowd the GIRUY by bringing on Ian Black. Total roaster.

BigKev
15-01-2017, 03:31 PM
There was about 12K. Fans were sick of Levein. He then gave the Hibs fans in the crowd the GIRUY by bringing on Ian Black. Total roaster.

Levein game wasn't Qatar. Australia maybe?

15-01-2017, 03:33 PM
I think he will start SJM. That might bring out a few hibees to the game. If ticket sales are slow they will announce that he is starting the day before in some attempt to drive sales ha ha.

And dare I say Hanlon and Cummings

15-01-2017, 03:33 PM
Aye you're right! Qatar game was dire though right enough.

15-01-2017, 03:34 PM
Levein game wasn't Qatar. Australia maybe?

It was Australia, McGowan got his usual warm ER welcome

15-01-2017, 06:05 PM
Regardless of the fact it is at ER I hope he doesn't pick any Hibs players

Strachan is a tit and selfishly I don't want Hibs players to run the risk of getting injured in a meaningless friendly

pedroorange1875
15-01-2017, 06:27 PM
It will give Strachan the chance to run the rule over Scott Arfield, a Scottish midfielder constantly playing well in the English Premier League:grr:

Whilst he plays Greer, Maloney and Hutton just to make sure they are ok for that level and give them a chance

15-01-2017, 06:31 PM
Australia scored a screamer against us at Easter road. On the volley. Quite a good Australian contingent in the upper of the away end too

15-01-2017, 06:32 PM

Zzzzzz

15-01-2017, 06:38 PM
Did Scotland not play Canada at a sold out ER under Vogts? Sure Ian Murray made his debut. Think Paul Fenwick might have played for Canada as well.

Lower capacity in those days right enough.

Yep Scotland won 3-1, Stevie Crawford got two and Steven Thompson got the other one.

Would you believe that was more than 14 years ago!?

15-01-2017, 06:44 PM
Regardless of the fact it is at ER I hope he doesn't pick any Hibs players

Strachan is a tit and selfishly I don't want Hibs players to run the risk of getting injured in a meaningless friendly

Tut Tut why the dislike of wee Gordy :cb

15-01-2017, 09:59 PM
Australia scored a screamer against us at Easter road. On the volley. Quite a good Australian contingent in the upper of the away end too

I went to a game once and there were close on 80,000 of them :greengrin

MartinfaePorty
16-01-2017, 10:28 AM
To be fair, it's not midfield we are lacking in, as that's probably our strongest part of the team.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

16-01-2017, 12:42 PM
It will give Strachan the chance to run the rule over Scott Arfield, a Scottish midfielder constantly playing well in the English Premier League:grr:

Whilst he plays Greer, Maloney and Hutton just to make sure they are ok for that level and give them a chance

Hutton retired from international duty last year

16-01-2017, 12:44 PM
There isn't any chance of that happening unfortunately; Scott Arfield switched allegiances to Canada, already has 6 caps for them ha ha

I think that was his point.

16-01-2017, 06:03 PM
Yep Scotland won 3-1, Stevie Crawford got two and Steven Thompson got the other one.

Would you believe that was more than 14 years ago!?

Was at that game 👀 Thought it was about 6 or 7 years ago .

23-01-2017, 04:06 PM
Confirmed for 22nd of March at Easter Road.

£22 a ticket :hilarious

AZhibee
23-01-2017, 04:45 PM
On the World Cup expansion thread, there were a couple of disparaging remarks about CONCACAF, Scotland needs to win, despite it being a friendly.

23-01-2017, 04:53 PM
Confirmed for 22nd of March at Easter Road.

£22 a ticket :hilarious

That's a lot for a friendly

23-01-2017, 06:12 PM
22 quid...Seriously is that what they are asking ...?? Might be a record ow international crowd unless Strachan brings in New caps to raise people's interest ...no way am I paying that much to watch a staid, unimaginative and ageing team. great chance to blood a new line up !!

23-01-2017, 06:17 PM
£22 for an international doesn't seem that bad to me.

23-01-2017, 06:22 PM
22 quid...Seriously is that what they are asking ...?? Might be a record ow international crowd unless Strachan brings in New caps to raise people's interest ...no way am I paying that much to watch a staid, unimaginative and ageing team. great chance to blood a new line up !!

£15 & £5 for supporters club members - realistically almost the only people likely to bother with this hardly mouth watering clash.

23-01-2017, 06:38 PM
£22 for an international doesn't seem that bad to me.

That's for the game mate, not Gordon Greer.

23-01-2017, 06:54 PM
That's for the game mate, not Gordon Greer.

Hahahahaha briiant mate :-)