View Full Version : Match Updates Dumbarton 0-1 Hibs (Commons)

Pages : 1 [2]

14-01-2017, 03:38 PM
Joey Barton scores for Burnley :faf::faf:

His first touch of the ball as well!

14-01-2017, 03:39 PM
Cmon Hibs let's do this!!

hibs tightening up at the back...forster for commons

Joey Barton scores. Takes his total for the season up to one, I believe.

14-01-2017, 03:40 PM
His first touch of the ball as well!

Wonder if he had a bet on himself doing that

Chance for Boyle,

Clean through on the keeper and drags his shot wide.

Lendo
How long left?

about 8mins

14-01-2017, 03:41 PM
A certain Joey Barton scores for Burnley, oops not allowed to post that:greengrin

14-01-2017, 03:41 PM
Commons replaced by Forster

14-01-2017, 03:42 PM
Hibs free kick on the edge of the D...

Commons on the bench so McGinn to take but he shoots wide.

14-01-2017, 03:42 PM
For some reason i am confident we will hold on

14-01-2017, 03:44 PM
For some reason i am confident we will hold on

Hope your right Mr K

14-01-2017, 03:44 PM
It's only quarter past four. Will be very happy if still this way at 4.50.

Quarter past four where :s

14-01-2017, 03:45 PM
Blow up FFS!

Good defending from Dumbarton, Hibs corner.

We seem to back in top, much better Hibs.

Dumbarton clear off the line from a boyle shot, hibs with another corner

14-01-2017, 03:46 PM
We seem to back on top, much better Hibs.

3-3 dundee utd

Your watch must of stopped

It's five o'clock somewhere.

14-01-2017, 03:47 PM
Into stoppage time now, but no board.

Maybe slowband in the SODF household...

Utd equaliser

Saaake

14-01-2017, 03:48 PM
why is this so terribly slow, with no guests

Nade misses a sitter

Shot deflected to nade at the back post when it looked easier to score, Hibs hold on.

Utd 3-3 QotS

3-3 dundee utd

We can't influence what they do but we have to hold on and not lose ground to them.

Arabs equalize 3.3

**** 3-3 Dundee Utd.

Absolutely must hold on now hibs come on!!!!!!

14-01-2017, 03:49 PM
Cmon Hibs . See this out .

14-01-2017, 03:49 PM
They've just announced United goal on BBC with goal cheers too! Are we in a time warp, or are BBC trying to pretend that it's live?

14-01-2017, 03:50 PM
We must must hold on. Come on Hibernian!

14-01-2017, 03:51 PM
That will dae!

14-01-2017, 03:52 PM
Full Time.

T.F.F.T!

Yess good 3 points onwards and upwards

why is this so terribly slow, with no guests

Nade misses a sitter

It does it, just to piss you off and let you post the same bland guff every week.

Great win. 6 clear now.

14-01-2017, 03:53 PM
That sounded like a very comfortable victory.

LithgaeHibby
Thank God for that. With a bit of luck let's hope that that's the last time we have to see that sh***y ground for a good few years.

6 clear!

FT at tannadice,

6 points clear. :greengrin

14-01-2017, 03:54 PM
Well done Hibs....my heart rate is dropping now :flag:

It does it, just to piss you off and let you post the same bland guff every week.

oh hark you

MurrayfieldHibs
Splendid :thumbsup::thumbsup:

6 points in front of Ushighted.

Well Utd rescue a point but holding on puts us 6 points clear at the top. Great result

Most important thing... keeps the song alive. And Hibs goes 6 clear :thumbsup:

Good result for us today as we move 6 clear. Onwards and UPwards :flag:

Well done. Horrible wee place to go. 3 more valuable points.

*ding ding * All aboaaaaard *? 😀

3-3 at Tannadice. 6 points clear now. Great result.

Great win. Keeping Commons would be such a huge boost to our season and the squad. Hope it happens.

TrinityHibs
14-01-2017, 03:55 PM
and +15 on goals

Well done hibs.

3 points and a clean sheet.

Superb result, 6 clear and pushing on. Let's smash it Hibs.

A struggle by the sounds of it but 6 points ahead with a far superior goal difference is decent. Bring on the Rose 🏆

14-01-2017, 03:56 PM
There were some folk complaining earlier this season that we 'only' beat Dumbarton 1-0 in the eariler away fixture. Well we've gained six points on Utd from our corresponding away games at Dumbarton, and are now six clear.

14-01-2017, 03:56 PM
Sounds like we made hard work of that, even though its a pain that Utd equalised right at the end its still 6 points clear with a massive goal difference and I would have settled for that at the start of the day :greengrin

Even better, we now have our away fixtures against Falkirk and Dumbarton out of the way, two fixtures I hate ..... onwards and upwards :thumbsup:

14-01-2017, 03:57 PM
Dumbarton is a very tough place to go. A good three points and means we're now two wins clear at the top with a superior goal difference.

WS Hibs
14-01-2017, 03:57 PM
We all knew before the start of the season that we needed to grind out results like that. Six points clear, mon the Hibs.

14-01-2017, 03:58 PM
oh hark you

You are very welcome

A good win, think people underestimate just how hard it is to go to a park like that and win by actually playing football.

Outstanding Hibs, keep it up!

Goal difference means we are effectively seven clear. Also, before they played us, Utd had only conceded 3 in 10 - 6 in 2 now.

3-3 dundee utd

Just noticed that Morton are 5 behind DUFC with a game in hand..si they may start having to look over their shoulders..

At a place like that I couldn't care less if we had 10% possession and 1 shot on goal. 1-0 Hibs is all that matters. Good result.:aok:

high bee
14-01-2017, 03:59 PM
Thank God for that. With a bit of luck let's hope that that's the last time we have to see that sh***y ground for a good few years.

I think Dumbarton will stay up this year ;)

14-01-2017, 03:59 PM
Six points is a nice wee lead. It's in our own hands.

SonOfDavidFrancey
14-01-2017, 04:00 PM
Apologies for my back to the future act earlier. Definitely five o'clock now. Delighted that it was Nade that missed the sitter.

Commons last game according to his agent via Chick Young.

Result ground out. Job done. Well done Hibs :agree:

The Captain....
14-01-2017, 04:01 PM
This fixture was always a potential banana skin after the highs of last weeks performance against Utd. Glad we showed the character required to see that out and increase our league lead to six points.

SonOfDavidFrancey
Chick young reporting Commons has played last match in a hibs jersey - Gordon said Young had sat next to commons agent throughout the afternoon.

Commons last game according to his agent via Chick Young.

That would be a real shame; he could be the difference. However, he's too good for the Championship.

3 points

Next!

14-01-2017, 04:03 PM
All we can do is win.

United dropping points is nice but even if they win most of their games there's nothing they can do if we win all of ours.

Let's get the party started next week. :-D

14-01-2017, 04:04 PM
Hope your right Mr K

For a change i was Six clear and with injuries and dome playets not 100% at crucial time of season

Salt N Sauzee
14-01-2017, 04:05 PM
Dumbarton is a very tough place to go. A good three points and means we're now two wins clear at the top with a superior goal difference.

Christ it's no the Bernabéu!! :hilarious

14-01-2017, 04:06 PM
Just noticed that Morton are 5 behind DUFC with a game in hand..si they may start having to look over their shoulders..

sure the boy on the radio said their game in hand is against Raith again

14-01-2017, 04:06 PM

Similar stadium design though.

14-01-2017, 04:11 PM
Similar stadium design though.

And weather...

14-01-2017, 04:13 PM
Chick young reporting Commons has played last match in a hibs jersey - Gordon said Young had sat next to commons agent throughout the afternoon.

Would want a better source than that clown.

14-01-2017, 04:13 PM
Job done. Wasn't pretty but we move on to the next one.

14-01-2017, 04:16 PM

Would that be the same Chick Young who said Hibs had made no changes for the game today :rolleyes:

14-01-2017, 04:21 PM

It's a crap, bobbly pitch against a team happy to frustrate. They've had big results against Dundee United and other teams in the top half of the table this season.

Any other wise cracks you want to make after a decent win?

14-01-2017, 04:30 PM
Very good result for Hibs today at a clarty stadium

inglisavhibs
14-01-2017, 04:30 PM
A good win, think people underestimate just how hard it is to go to a park like that and win by actually playing football.
It's always the way after a really good performance. Many fans think the next game against weaker opposition is going to be easy. Neil Lennon will be delighted with the win and even more delighted with the United draw. There is still a long way to go with many tricky fixtures to come,including the next one at Queens on the dreaded astro pitch.

14-01-2017, 04:33 PM
I wasn't at the game, but from what I've heard so far I think a bit of praise is due to the Hibs defence and it's young goalkeeper for another clean sheet today.

And a big shout out to Nade for missing a sitter near the end too. GIRUY.

14-01-2017, 04:33 PM
It's always the way after a really good performance. Many fans think the next game against weaker opposition is going to be easy. Neil Lennon will be delighted with the win and even more delighted with the United draw. There is still a long way to go with many tricky fixtures to come,including the next one at Queens on the dreaded astro pitch.

It's a pity QOS didn't show a bit more character at 3-1 up but there you go.

14-01-2017, 04:36 PM

Who cares. DUFC aren't in same ballpark as Hibees

14-01-2017, 04:38 PM
Morton haven't lost at Cappielaw since March last year. 5 points behind Utd. We've both still to go there again.

14-01-2017, 04:39 PM
Who cares. DUFC aren't in same ballpark as Hibees

Opinions don't win or lose matches.:greengrin

14-01-2017, 04:41 PM
There were some folk complaining earlier this season that we 'only' beat Dumbarton 1-0 in the eariler away fixture. Well we've gained six points on Utd from our corresponding away games at Dumbarton, and are now six clear.

You "skoosh" this league by repeatedly beating teams 1-0, not dropping points at Dumbarton and keeping your head when things aren't going your way.

The people who were/ are demanding 4 and 5 nil wins every week know nothing about football and have presumably never seen what it was that made all the big teams the major forces in every league in every country.

14-01-2017, 04:43 PM
Morton haven't lost at Cappielaw since March last year. 5 points behind Utd. We've both still to go there again.very valid point. we struggled against them at xmas. would take their wee No 17 striker though:greengrin

14-01-2017, 04:44 PM
Morton haven't lost at Cappielaw since March last year. 5 points behind Utd. We've both still to go there again.

Our next trip is a midweek, too. Won't be fun.

14-01-2017, 04:49 PM
You "skoosh" this league by repeatedly beating teams 1-0, not dropping points at Dumbarton and keeping your head when things aren't going your way.

The people who were/ are demanding 4 and 5 nil wins every week know nothing about football and have presumably never seen what it was that made all the big teams the major forces in every league in every country.

Exactly. All this 'we need to score more goals', 'we need to beat teams 4/5-0' is a lot of rubbish. Rangers won the league in the second half of last season by beating teams 1/2-0 every week after the new year. The chasing pack will drop points. Leagues are won on tight defences, not by scoring plenty goals.

14-01-2017, 04:52 PM

Interesting how the table has changed since New Year though. Morton are closing on Utd again while we are building more of a cushion.

Not the two horse race anymore.

14-01-2017, 05:00 PM

I wouldn't believe **** all that prick of a human being said! Like the agent is going to tell that **** off roaster!

Another liar who fabricated 'serious assaults' on newco players.

Young = complete and utter grade a roaster fud! Simple

houstonhibbee
14-01-2017, 05:03 PM
Interesting how the table has changed since New Year though. Morton are closing on Utd again while we are building more of a cushion.

Not the two horse race anymore.
The title is ours to lose. Losing one game and drawing two from now should be at least enough to do it. We are good enough for that with our squad, coach, support and management

14-01-2017, 05:04 PM
I wouldn't believe **** all that prick of a human being said! Like the agent is going to tell that **** off roaster!

Not a fan of him then ?

14-01-2017, 05:05 PM
Not a fan of him then ?

Can you tell?! [emoji41]

SingaporeHibs
14-01-2017, 05:08 PM
6 points ahead after collecting 6 points at a ground Utd haven't collected any points, it's never easy playing at these grounds and there is very little in this. After all the years I expect a blip or 2 along the way but actually this year I think we're now ready to go on and skoosh this league 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬GGTTH

14-01-2017, 05:10 PM
The title is ours to lose. Losing one game and drawing two from now should be at least enough to do it. We are good enough for that with our squad, coach, support and management

We are well placed, for sure. Not quite 'the run in' yet so hesitant to predict exactly what's required, but we just need to focus on our own performances and all will be ok.

14-01-2017, 05:15 PM
We now need to keep winning our games and let the others worry about catching us!

14-01-2017, 05:24 PM
We now need to keep winning our games and let the others worry about catching us!

:top marks In 8 days, a narrow 1 point lead becomes 6. Psycologically huge. Far from putting pressure on Hibs, DUFC now need to win every game just to stay in touch. Great win today.

14-01-2017, 05:26 PM
:top marks In 8 days, a narrow 1 point lead becomes 6. Psycologically huge. Far from putting pressure on Hibs, DUFC now need to win every game just to stay in touch. Great win today.

Indeed! One game at a time for me! Win st all costs! I just want out of this Division!

14-01-2017, 05:27 PM

And we're not barcelona

14-01-2017, 05:30 PM
I think we require a maximum 40 points from 15 games to win the league. I work out United can only achieve 84 points.

14-01-2017, 05:30 PM
Tam McManus tweeting that Commons won't be back at Hibs. Great cameo by him. Bigger impact in a short time than Shinnie all season. Henderson, GMS or Christie may be possible.

The Leith Dutch
14-01-2017, 05:31 PM

With a game in hand too.
Played early next month against Raith.

Could make it interesting - not sure whether pressure to both stay ahead of Morton and keep up with us would improve or frighten Utd.

Either way 6 points with 15 games to play is a very nice cushion.

houstonhibbee
14-01-2017, 05:33 PM
Tam McManus tweeting that Commons won't be back at Hibs. Great cameo by him. Bigger impact in a short time than Shinnie all season. Henderson, GMS or Christie may be possible.
Is that his pinion or does he know something?
Seems a bit premature if talks are still to take place as is being reported in the media

14-01-2017, 05:47 PM
I think we require a maximum 40 points from 15 games to win the league. I work out United can only achieve 84 points.

I think United will achieve closer to 70 points than 80

It is very much ours to throw away

14-01-2017, 05:49 PM

We've turned a a 2 point deficit into a 6 point lead in 3 games.

14-01-2017, 05:55 PM
Is that his pinion or does he know something?
Seems a bit premature if talks are still to take place as is being reported in the media

Commons has scored a couple of vital goals for sure, though I wouldn't say he has exactly ripped things up, that's not a criticism because he clearly lacks match fitness. With SJM, Fyvie and ( hopefully ) McGeouch all fit and young Scott Martin certainly looking good enough for the first team we should have more than enough to win against any team in this division.

The one thing that stood out for me as far as Commons goes is his determination to get into the box when we have the ball wide in the final 3rd .... his goal today was a prime example of that. Its an example every one of our midfield players needs to follow, its no coincidence that Commons has a good strike rate for Celtic and has scored twice for us, whereas our goals return from midfield is average at best usually.

If we could replace him with the legend that is Liam Henderson or the very good, very young and very hungry Ryan Christie I would be more than happy.

14-01-2017, 06:13 PM
My reaction from today is we will play a hell of a lot better and lost or get beat. Tight horrible bobbly pitch. Fyvie back was great to see. Forster coming on was helpful, few late scares but overall a nice ugly 1-0 away win where others have faltered. Sat inf front of some dumbarton share holder i assume who thought he was kevin bridges. Total balloon. Well done queens too.

14-01-2017, 06:17 PM

McManus is just yet another blethering pundit. If they're going to make difinitive statements about players, they should qualify it with a few reasoned comments as to why they've arrived at their conclusions. If Alan Preston were to say that Commons will be back at Hibs, would he be believed? They're all nondescript chancers trying to manufacture a bit of streed cred in a sea of media manure.

14-01-2017, 06:20 PM
Commons has scored a couple of vital goals for sure, though I wouldn't say he has exactly ripped things up, that's not a criticism because he clearly lacks match fitness. With SJM, Fyvie and ( hopefully ) McGeouch all fit and young Scott Martin certainly looking good enough for the first team we should have more than enough to win against any team in this division.

The one thing that stood out for me as far as Commons goes is his determination to get into the box when we have the ball wide in the final 3rd .... his goal today was a prime example of that. Its an example every one of our midfield players needs to follow, its no coincidence that Commons has a good strike rate for Celtic and has scored twice for us, whereas our goals return from midfield is average at best usually.

If we could replace him with the legend that is Liam Henderson or the very good, very young and very hungry Ryan Christie I would be more than happy.

Or SJM plays with the shackles off and gambles more. I think young McGinn could add goals to his game.

14-01-2017, 06:26 PM
We can't influence what they do but we have to hold on and not lose ground to them.

dundee utd at Dunfermline and us at Dumfries in 2 weeks time will be interesting, both of them have hit a bit of form the last few weeks, so have we right enough :)

14-01-2017, 06:44 PM

Thought he was supposed to have retired at the end of last season, or did I get that wrong:confused:

Salt N Sauzee
14-01-2017, 06:47 PM
And we're not barcelona

Correct. We're better 😎

14-01-2017, 06:49 PM
Thought he was supposed to have retired at the end of last season, or did I get that wrong:confused:

Don't know but wish he would!

14-01-2017, 07:04 PM

He's taken his pension but carried on part time.

liscious_hibs
14-01-2017, 07:16 PM
My reaction from today is we will play a hell of a lot better and lost or get beat. Tight horrible bobbly pitch. Fyvie back was great to see. Forster coming on was helpful, few late scares but overall a nice ugly 1-0 away win where others have faltered. Sat inf front of some dumbarton share holder i assume who thought he was kevin bridges. Total balloon. Well done queens too.

MEDIOCRE! [emoji23] that guy was a fud

14-01-2017, 07:58 PM
McManus is just yet another blethering pundit. If they're going to make difinitive statements about players, they should qualify it with a few reasoned comments as to why they've arrived at their conclusions. If Alan Preston were to say that Commons will be back at Hibs, would he be believed? They're all nondescript chancers trying to manufacture a bit of streed cred in a sea of media manure.

Sounds as if you don't like BBC pundits, Jim.

Whatever brought that on? :devil:

Earlydelivery
14-01-2017, 10:08 PM
Lewis Vaughan MOM born and bred hibby .

houstonhibbee
14-01-2017, 10:10 PM
why isn't he coming through the academy?

14-01-2017, 10:19 PM
Sounds as if you don't like BBC pundits, Jim.

Whatever brought that on? :devil:

They're all sycophantic tossers playing the BBC game. A few months back I thought that McManus might bring a wee bit of fresh air to the proceedings but I think he's as boring as the rest of them.

14-01-2017, 10:25 PM

whether i talk guff or not what's with the insult ? i only said the board was going slow, and as for talking bland guff...look closer to home before flinging out undeserved/unmerited insults to others

14-01-2017, 10:26 PM

Was very impressed by him today :agree:

14-01-2017, 10:38 PM
att: 1,523 only 350 less than their gate v the rangers last season

maturehibby
14-01-2017, 11:17 PM
We would have been heading back there next sat3 if Bonnyrigg had not beaten them and by the same score as we won on Saturday shows how much a leveller that park is

coldingham hibs
15-01-2017, 08:18 AM
Match Highlights now on Sons TV.

15-01-2017, 08:54 AM
dundee utd at Dunfermline and us at Dumfries in 2 weeks time will be interesting, both of them have hit a bit of form the last few weeks, so have we right enough :)

We have luxury now of being able to lose two games. The same as we have lost all season so far. And even then DU couldn't afford to drop any points.

15-01-2017, 09:03 AM
We have luxury now of being able to lose two games. The same as we have lost all season so far. And even then DU couldn't afford to drop any points.

True but we've also drawn 6 games. We can't be doing that too often.

15-01-2017, 09:13 AM
Match Highlights now on Sons TV.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1pQAKoDs8iU

Good detailed highlights they looked good and unlucky not to get something. They should take a lot of credit as looked like they played good passing football and not just battling. We were a bit wasteful near the box attacking wise. Nade looked yards offside for his chance so maybe wouldn't have been given anyway. Great 3 points.

portyhibernian
15-01-2017, 10:31 AM
Hard fought win yesterday for sure, 3 points on the road always welcome though, however we get them. Dumbarton looked much better than Dundee United last Friday!

Earlydelivery
15-01-2017, 11:04 AM

Good detailed highlights they looked good and unlucky not to get something. They should take a lot of credit as looked like they played good passing football and not just battling. We were a bit wasteful near the box attacking wise. Nade looked yards offside for his chance so maybe wouldn't have been given anyway. Great 3 points.
Just watched it don't think newspapers gave us justice, we had the better chances overall.

15-01-2017, 01:57 PM

Excellent presentation, hibs under the cosh for periods, but feel Boyle should have done better when he went through to go one on one with the keeper. As to the ground tidy but 3 unpopulated sides give it the look of a well deveoped junior club.

15-01-2017, 02:53 PM
whether i talk guff or not what's with the insult ? i only said the board was going slow, and as for talking bland guff...look closer to home before flinging out undeserved/unmerited insults to others

You do it every week. We all know the board will slow with everyone refreshing the same thread but you cant help yourself posting about it.

If you have nothing better to do than count guests or note time which they are emptied, then I'd suggest you find some new interests.

15-01-2017, 03:11 PM

The site slowed noticeably for about 10 minutes max yesterday immediately after full time when there was likely a lot of F5 bashing going on. Guests were booted well before kick off yesterday and the site ran perfectly well with the exception of the afore mentioned 10 minutes.

I'll happily listen to criticism/opinions when it's merited but the last couple of weeks it's been totally undeserved. Last week there was a problem that was outwith our control and this weeks the sites performance was fine. It's no wonder Daves been short with you.

15-01-2017, 03:23 PM
The site slowed noticeably for about 10 minutes max yesterday immediately after full time when there was likely a lot of F5 bashing going on. Guests were booted well before kick off yesterday and the site ran perfectly well with the exception of the afore mentioned 10 minutes.

I'll happily listen to criticism/opinions when it's merited but the last couple of weeks it's been totally undeserved. Last week there was a problem that was outwith our control and this weeks the sites performance was fine. It's no wonder Daves been short with you.

still absolutely no need for the crude reply from him pb, ffs all i said was it was slow :aok: then he makes it personal wae his unnecessary cheap shot.... he should learn some manners from yourself:thumbsup:

15-01-2017, 03:30 PM
still absolutely no need for the crude reply from him pb, ffs all i said was it was slow :aok: then he makes it personal wae his unnecessary cheap shot.... he should learn some manners from yourself:thumbsup:

Crude reply? Ffs, I called your post bland guff. You would think I called you a hearts fan the way you are reacting.